BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Eastern Massachusetts, Maine, Rhode Island and Vermont
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Wendell's Furniture, Inc.?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Wendell's Furniture, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (802) 861-7700 697 Hurcules Drive, Colchester, VT 05446 http://www.wendellsfurniture.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Wendell's Furniture, Inc. is a retail furniture store offering a full line of furniture for the home and office. The Vermont Bed Store offers all bedroom furniture and mattresses. The other 3 locations have a full line of furniture.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Wendell's Furniture, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Wendell's Furniture, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

5 Customer Reviews on Wendell's Furniture, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 4
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 5

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 31, 2000 Business started: 04/23/1999 in VT Business incorporated: 12/31/2003 in VT
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Ryan Farrell, Exec Mr. Wendell Farrell, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ryan Farrell, Exec
Principal: Mr. Wendell Farrell, President
Number of Employees

15

Business Category

FURNITURE DEALERS-RETAIL BEDS-RETAIL FURNITURE-CHILDRENS FURNITURE - RUSTIC BABY FURNITURE MATTRESSES Furniture Stores (NAICS: 442110)

Hours of Operation
M: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
T: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
W: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Th: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
F: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
S: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Su: 11:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Service Area
Wendell's Furniture, Inc. provides their services in NEW YORK & VERMONT.
Alternate Business Names
Vermont Bed Store Wendell's Furniture Plattsburgh Wendell's Loft Wendell's Sleep Center Wendell's St. Albans
Industry Tips
Buying Furniture Finding a Reliable Furniture Store - 5 Tips - Video

Additional Locations

  • 100 Lake Street

    Saint Albans, VT 05478 (802) 527-8360

  • 4050 Williston Road

    South Burlington, VT 05403 (802) 861-7777

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    60 Smithfield Blvd

    Plattsburgh, NY 12901 (518) 310-1430

  • 697 Hurcules Drive

    Colchester, VT 05446 (802) 861-7700

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/8/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This issue starts back 3 years ago when we purchased a futon from their Colchester location. The Item ended up being faulty and cracked at a seam it should not have cracked at. Wendells did, after SEVERAL phone calls and a year later, came up with an acceptable settlement for the problem. We were offered 150$ store credit. To us we found that acceptable. Now to the problem at hand. We decided to use the store credit we had to purchase a sofa from the St Albans location. We went in and found a sofa we liked November 7th 2012, Since the st Albans location was having a store closing sale we got it at a decent price and put down a downpayment and used our credit to get the sofa ordered. We were told that the sofa would take about 4 weeks to arrive. It is now 12/23/2012, we have made about 10 phone calls to this location and heard every excuse about why we have not received it yet, the latest date we were told to expect the sofa was now the 2nd week of January. We have been told several times that next week it will be in and then when we call its not and to call the following week. After about the 4th time calling, we were told taht they ran out of the fabric color that we had ordered our sofa in and that wendells had to "re-order" the sofa. We have spoken with everyone and even Wendell himself and have not gotten a resolution. The best colution taht we were offered was they agreed to let us borrow a sofa from their warehouse to use until ours comes in, only we would have to go pick it up. We live 100miles round trip away from the location. Not too convenient. When we have asked about getting another sofa we were told that we could not change our order to anotehr item using our store credit and down payment until our sofa came in.

Desired Settlement: Free delivery of product, money off, another item replacing the one we had originall ordered

Business Response:

Wendell's received the complaint via BBB on 12/24/2012.  Customer was contacted same day and complaint was resolved immediately. The sofa was delivered at no charge on 1/15/2013, our next available delivery date. In addition, in August 2012 we warrantied their original purchase (at full cost to our business) even though it was 2 years out of warranty; customer did not respond to our offer of warranty until November 2012. Customer used her warranty credit toward a sofa which was unfortunately on back order from the manufacturer and took longer to arrive than anticipated. We also would have happily delivered a loaner sofa at no charge, but our delivery schedule was extremely overfull due to a sale going on at that time, so we offered to allow customer to pick up loaner sofa and that offer was declined. Wendell's Philosophy is to always Take.Care.of.The.Customer, and we did so in this situation. We also appreciate the customer having brought this situation to our attention, so that we can train new staff members on one of our core values, "Responsiveness".  We were able to improve our systems and communication so that future customers will not be frustrated over delays beyond our control, and will feel confident working together with us to find suitable resolutions to any experiences that require extra resources and creative problem solving. Our goal is that all customers are so happy with their Wendell's purchase that they refer family, friends, and return for future purchases, so that more houses feel like Home.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1