This business is not BBB accredited.

Richie's Home Furniture

Phone: (617) 884-9060 Fax: (617) 884-8985 280 Revere Beach Parkway, Chelsea, MA 02150 https://www.facebook.com/pages/Richies-Home-Furniture/112665332146447

! Richie's Home Furniture is Believed to Be Out of Business !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Richie's Home Furniture specializes in new furniture for kitchen, dining room, bedroom, living room as well as specializing in beds and mattresses. They also carry leather furniture and accessories.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because BBB has information indicating it is out of business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Richie's Home Furniture
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 24, 1992 Business started: 01/01/1978 in MA
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Richard Kelly, Owner Mrs. Kathy Flaherty, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Richard Kelly, Owner
Number of Employees

5

Business Category

FURNITURE DEALERS-RETAIL MATTRESSES BEDDING BEDS-RETAIL FUTONS FURNITURE-CHILDRENS Furniture Stores (NAICS: 442110)

Service Area
Richie's Home Furniture provides their services in BOSTON, CHELSEA, EAST BOSTON, EAST LYNN, LYNN, MALDEN, PEABODY, REVERE, SAUGUS, WEST LYNN & WINTHROP, MA.
Industry Tips
Buying Furniture Finding a Reliable Furniture Store - 5 Tips - Video

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    280 Revere Beach Parkway

    Chelsea, MA 02150 (617) 884-9060

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a dining room set (table and 4 chairs) and had it delievered on 7/24/14, when the furniture arrived and upon the delivery man (man that delivers for ****** ) putting it together with his assistant, my daughter who was home at the time to recieve the delivery, called me to tell me that the table has a dent on the corner, as if someone dropped it. She gave me the delivery mans number which is ***** *** **** who then gave me ******s cell number which is ***** *** ****. I called ****** and he stated that either I can keep the furniture and he would take $70 off of the price or I could have another one ordered and sent. I chose to have another ordered. ****** informed me that it would take about 10 days. Now ******'s store at the time was getting ready to relocate and at the time of the purchase, they said they were still unsure of their new location, this was at the beginning of July that I was infromed. I have called both his cell and the store phone number which both state the mail box is full. I am very unpleased with the "new" furniture with the DENT, if I had been home during the delivery, I would of had them take the furniture back. My daughter on the other hand was only there for the delivery and needed to leave for school. She did not have time to wait for them to take apart the furnture they had just put together, the set has been unused and is still sitting in the same spot they left it. I want my NEW table as promised by ****** and by the way it isn't even sturdy! It is very wobbly, I only move it around while cleaning. I have pictures of the table from the date it was delivered and I have both men's cell number. I do not know what else I can do to rectify this problem.

Desired Settlement: I want either a new table and chairs as I was promised that is put together properly. If I am unable to receive the new furniture I want the purchased amount of the set in full which is $270

9/11/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered furniture from them on two occassions 3/8/14 and 4/1/14. I made a deposit for each at the time of order and have not received the merchandise. They will not return phone calls and have not provided an expected delivery date. When I last was able to speak with them in person, I received false promises about my orders but was also informed that the building they were in has been sold and that they needed to vacate it by the end of July 2014. I tried visiting their location on Saturday August 9, 2014 and the place was closed and looked vacant. I also tried reaching them on Monday, August 11, 2014 by phone and their voicemail says it cannot take any messages. I have asked my credit card company to dispute the deposit charges and I am sending the establishment a letter informing them that I am cancelling my orders.

Desired Settlement: Refund my deposits and cancel my orders.

6/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service
12/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed a furniture order in August 2013 for a sofa and a recliner chair. They delivered the sofa the end of September but no chair I was told it didn't come in and would be on there next truck the end of the week. It is now October they brought a recliner to my house it was not the recliner they showed me when I ordered my furniture, it was small and the wrong color it did not match the sofa. The delivery drivers apologized and told me that they would leave it and to use it until the correct one came in, they said they would pick up this chair when they delivered the right one. I then called Richie's Furniture and spoke to ***** the office manager who told me she would swap it out and she had ordered the right size recliner. I was told she would have it in a couple of days. I was disappointed my order was wrong all around. I took her word and agreed to that, after a week I called her to find out the status of my chair as it had already been paid for. ***** told me she would call me back she never did. After 3 weeks of no chair and several calls to the store, I was told on October 18th that the chair had come in and I would love it, and they would deliver it on Monday the21st in the morning. I waited till 1:00 and I then called the store and spoke to Richie ***** the owner and was told they had a couple of local deliveries and would be there later on in the day. Needless to say they never showed up. I have called several times, left numerous messages to call me back and I wanted the chair they left picked up and my money back and I was going elsewhere.I feel I have been more than patient with Richie's Furniture enough is enough. I have been lied to, given the run around, my calls not returned. This whole situation is frustrating and very upsetting. I bought the furniture in good faith and it is obvious they are not going respond back to me, nor give me my refund as I requested. There way of doing business is shady and dishonest. I wish I had checked with the BBB and the posted reviews before making this purchase. I am hoping you are able to help me with my complaint and request Thank you for your time and attention to this important matter! ******** *******

Desired Settlement: Refund

Business Response: This is a favor that was asked of us after the delivery was made. If we delivered the wrong chair she would not have signed for it without making a note on delivery. She called weeks later and said she wanted a bigger recliner. We brought in several she didn't like or want to pay for. As we stand now, we went beyond to help. Hard to get a larger and pay the same. We will continue to help her but we did deliver the chair she bought

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint .   In reference to complaint ******** this was no favor or were the willing to help me, if that was the case I would not have to of notified the BBB. This whole thing has been a nightmare since I made this purchase back in August. I ordered a sofa and the chair, the sofa was delivered the end of September but no chair. Richie's Furniture told me it did not come in and it would be in the following week. Well I called them on a daily basis speaking to ***** and ******* only to be told no chair yet this went on until October. All they did was pass the buck, when they did call me in October they told me they had the chair and would deliver it on that Saturday. The delivery drivers came and the chair was in a box which the opened when they got into my house. Well it was not the chair I had ordered it was the wrong color green and did not match the sofa I had purchased. When ****** ordered my purchase he told me the chair went with the sofa. The chair was also to small and not the one he showed me in the store. When he met my husband who is 300 pounds the chair they sent looked like it was for a child. I told the delivery drivers it was the wrong chair and I proceeded to call to call the store and spoke to ***** who told me they would swap it out and was sorry. ***** told me just keep the chair until the new one came in on the following week. I did not feel comfortable signing and paying for something that was wrong. Se told me don't worry about it we will pick it up when the new one comes in. ***** also told me she had ordered bigger chairs and t come to the store that weekend to pick the one I wanted. Well when I got there my husband and I saw ****** who stated no chairs yet. I told him I wanted the one delivered picked up and my money refunded. Once again I was told don't worry about it give it a couple of days. Finally after calling and calling I ended up leaving a message to come and get the chair and t refund me my money. I never heard from them again. As far as not wanting to pay and additional money that is a lie, when I did speak to ***** I asked her what the difference would be she told me she would all me back and the ne chair would be delivered on that Monday. I called ****** on that Monday to find out what time I was being delivered and how much I owed as I wanted to have the correct amount of money for the drivers. Never heard back from them an I waited all day for a delivery that never came. If Richie's Furniture thinks I am just going to go away it's not happening!! Next time when I need furniture I will make sure I am dealing with a reputable company.  

Business Response: We sold Mrs. ******* a sofa and recliner. She received what she ordered. Upon delivery she did say she wasn't happy with the size of the recliner. We told her we would order a larger recliner and we would switch it for her. While the chair was on order she filed this complaint. The larger chair is here. I tried calling Mrs. ******* to make the switch she didn’t return the call. Ultimately Mr ******** has what she ordered.

12/13/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had purchased a mattress from Ritchies furniture that was defected. I had talked to Ritchie and his sales agent ***** from Apr 2013 to July 12 2013. Ritchie was suppose to replace the mattress with a new one. First he said someone would be out to look at the mattress and no one showed up to look at it. When I spoke to Ritchie he had said that he had sick calls. After that he had said that he knew what mattress he was going to send me but when I had spoke to him about when he was going to deliver it, he had said that week so I waited and no one showed up. His answer to me after trying to get in touch with him after leaving many messages was he did not do too much business that week so he wasnt able to deliver the mattress. At the time I was living in ***** NH and was taking a trip to Germany in June and that i would be back the first week of July but I was moving to ***** ***** on July 12. He said no problem when I get back from Germany to call him and that he would deliver my mattress. I returned from Germany on July 3 and called him all week to see when he was going to deliver the mattress but he never answered the phone. I had explained to him that this was going on since Apr and that I could not sleep on the mattress because It had a ball of material that was coming up in the middle of the mattress. I finally reached him on July 11 the day before I was moving and he had said to me no problem that he would be there the next day to deliver my mattress. Well the day I was moving I had called him in the morning and he had said he would be there in an hour to deliver the mattress. I had told him i was leaving the apt by 12 noon because I had to bring back the key. I waited till 1pm and called him. I spoke to ***** which told me that Ritchie was not there and there was no deliveries that day. She tried calling him on his cell phone but never answered her. So now I am living in ***** ***** and he wont deliver a mattress because it is too far away. He had 4 months to replace this defective mattress

Desired Settlement: I think Ritchie should either come and pick up the defective mattress and replace it with the one he was suppose to replace it with or give me my $800 back. He had said that he would not deliver it because I am 3 hours away. If he did what he was suppose to do we would not be having this conversation. What gets me upset is that I spoke to him on his phone and he promised it would be replaced before I moved. I would never recommend this furniture store to anyone.

Business Response: This will be the 3rd mattress change. First two did not meet requirements for replacement but we did. Now she is 3 hrs away.  We told her she has to pay a delivery charge

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.