BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Eastern Massachusetts, Maine, Rhode Island and Vermont

This Business is not BBB accredited

Richie's Home Furniture

Phone: (617) 884-9060 Fax: (617) 884-8985 280 Revere Beach Parkway, Chelsea, MA 02150

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Richie's Home Furniture offers new furniture for kitchen, dining room, bedroom, living room as well as specializing in beds and mattresses. They also carry leather furniture and accessories.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Richie's Home Furniture include:

  • 9 complaints filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint filed against business
  • 1 complaint filed against business that was not resolved

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 4
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Richie's Home Furniture
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 24, 1992 Business started: 01/01/1978 in MA
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Richard Kelly, Owner Mrs. Kathy Flaherty, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Richard Kelly, Owner
Number of Employees

5

Business Category

FURNITURE DEALERS-RETAIL MATTRESSES BEDDING BEDS-RETAIL FUTONS FURNITURE-CHILDRENS

Service Area
Richie's Home Furniture provides their services in BOSTON, CHELSEA, EAST BOSTON, EAST LYNN, LYNN, MALDEN, PEABODY, REVERE, SAUGUS, WEST LYNN & WINTHROP, MA.
Industry Tips
Buying Furniture Finding a Reliable Furniture Store - 5 Tips - Video

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    280 Revere Beach Parkway

    Chelsea, MA 02150 (617) 884-9060

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a bedroom set from this business back in August 5th, 2013, which I paid in full $3,325 on my visa before it was delivered. After the bedroom set was delivered and they set up themselves, I saw a cracked piece at the bottom of the foot board. I called them right away and I even went to the business and was told that they would replace it right away, and that same day August 15th I sent a picture of the broken footboard right to her phone in front of her which I still have. Was told it would be replaced right away it was a defective piece and they needed the picture to send to the company. Never happened. I have tried many many times calling them to get a new footboard for my bed. I was told anywhere from it was backorder, they were trying, sorry your a good customer, it will be delivered last week in Sept. but most likely first week in Oct. again never happened. Finally in the end of October they tell me they will deliver it on November 7th 20133. Needless to say the new replacement footboard was never delivered. I again called (they never before called me about this I did all the calling) and I have the recording from the wife and I quote "I am not sure what is happening with that bed. If you can give me a call back and we can schedule a very small window so it completely controlled. so I can force it out. I am not sure whats holding it. If they are calling and not getting the right number but if I am calling and getting your message" end of quote. With that I called and got the owner and to my surprise they never had the replacement bed??? I told him why did she tell me that and now it was well the company only makes those beds once a month and so on and so on many different stories or tales as to why they have not replaced my footboard. That business has lied to me countless times. This is the first time after many years purchasing furniture there that I am not totally disappointed. To make matters worse I purchased another bed on the day I gave them the picture of my broken footboard??? so not only did I have a damaged bedroom set, I ordered another bed from them because they said they would take care of it. Really??? I told the owner I myself am a business woman and I would never ever treat a customer no matter how big or small the job was. I told him that if I did not hear from them by the 1st of December I would have to take further action to have that footboard replaced. While I do understand that things happen, absolutely. However, I do not expect as a consumer to be treated in that manner. When all I wanted was not a new bed, not a new set, not even a refund. All I wanted was a "replacement footboard" for the defected product that I received. Here it is January 2014 and no replacement, no phone calls, emails, I have nothing but a broken footboard! If you sell a product you should fix whatever issues arise from that purchase. Without any inconvenience to me.

Desired Settlement: I still would like for the footboard to my bed be replaced with a new one as I have asked countless times over and over. I will not settle for a "repair".

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

12/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed a furniture order in August 2013 for a sofa and a recliner chair. They delivered the sofa the end of September but no chair I was told it didn't come in and would be on there next truck the end of the week. It is now October they brought a recliner to my house it was not the recliner they showed me when I ordered my furniture, it was small and the wrong color it did not match the sofa. The delivery drivers apologized and told me that they would leave it and to use it until the correct one came in, they said they would pick up this chair when they delivered the right one. I then called Richie's Furniture and spoke to ***** the office manager who told me she would swap it out and she had ordered the right size recliner. I was told she would have it in a couple of days. I was disappointed my order was wrong all around. I took her word and agreed to that, after a week I called her to find out the status of my chair as it had already been paid for. ***** told me she would call me back she never did. After 3 weeks of no chair and several calls to the store, I was told on October 18th that the chair had come in and I would love it, and they would deliver it on Monday the21st in the morning. I waited till 1:00 and I then called the store and spoke to Richie ***** the owner and was told they had a couple of local deliveries and would be there later on in the day. Needless to say they never showed up. I have called several times, left numerous messages to call me back and I wanted the chair they left picked up and my money back and I was going elsewhere.I feel I have been more than patient with Richie's Furniture enough is enough. I have been lied to, given the run around, my calls not returned. This whole situation is frustrating and very upsetting. I bought the furniture in good faith and it is obvious they are not going respond back to me, nor give me my refund as I requested. There way of doing business is shady and dishonest. I wish I had checked with the BBB and the posted reviews before making this purchase. I am hoping you are able to help me with my complaint and request Thank you for your time and attention to this important matter! ******** *******

Desired Settlement: Refund

Business Response: This is a favor that was asked of us after the delivery was made. If we delivered the wrong chair she would not have signed for it without making a note on delivery. She called weeks later and said she wanted a bigger recliner. We brought in several she didn't like or want to pay for. As we stand now, we went beyond to help. Hard to get a larger and pay the same. We will continue to help her but we did deliver the chair she bought

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint .   In reference to complaint ******** this was no favor or were the willing to help me, if that was the case I would not have to of notified the BBB. This whole thing has been a nightmare since I made this purchase back in August. I ordered a sofa and the chair, the sofa was delivered the end of September but no chair. Richie's Furniture told me it did not come in and it would be in the following week. Well I called them on a daily basis speaking to ***** and ******* only to be told no chair yet this went on until October. All they did was pass the buck, when they did call me in October they told me they had the chair and would deliver it on that Saturday. The delivery drivers came and the chair was in a box which the opened when they got into my house. Well it was not the chair I had ordered it was the wrong color green and did not match the sofa I had purchased. When ****** ordered my purchase he told me the chair went with the sofa. The chair was also to small and not the one he showed me in the store. When he met my husband who is 300 pounds the chair they sent looked like it was for a child. I told the delivery drivers it was the wrong chair and I proceeded to call to call the store and spoke to ***** who told me they would swap it out and was sorry. ***** told me just keep the chair until the new one came in on the following week. I did not feel comfortable signing and paying for something that was wrong. Se told me don't worry about it we will pick it up when the new one comes in. ***** also told me she had ordered bigger chairs and t come to the store that weekend to pick the one I wanted. Well when I got there my husband and I saw ****** who stated no chairs yet. I told him I wanted the one delivered picked up and my money refunded. Once again I was told don't worry about it give it a couple of days. Finally after calling and calling I ended up leaving a message to come and get the chair and t refund me my money. I never heard from them again. As far as not wanting to pay and additional money that is a lie, when I did speak to ***** I asked her what the difference would be she told me she would all me back and the ne chair would be delivered on that Monday. I called ****** on that Monday to find out what time I was being delivered and how much I owed as I wanted to have the correct amount of money for the drivers. Never heard back from them an I waited all day for a delivery that never came. If Richie's Furniture thinks I am just going to go away it's not happening!! Next time when I need furniture I will make sure I am dealing with a reputable company.  

Business Response: We sold Mrs. ******* a sofa and recliner. She received what she ordered. Upon delivery she did say she wasn't happy with the size of the recliner. We told her we would order a larger recliner and we would switch it for her. While the chair was on order she filed this complaint. The larger chair is here. I tried calling Mrs. ******* to make the switch she didn’t return the call. Ultimately Mr ******** has what she ordered.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/13/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had purchased a mattress from Ritchies furniture that was defected. I had talked to Ritchie and his sales agent ***** from Apr 2013 to July 12 2013. Ritchie was suppose to replace the mattress with a new one. First he said someone would be out to look at the mattress and no one showed up to look at it. When I spoke to Ritchie he had said that he had sick calls. After that he had said that he knew what mattress he was going to send me but when I had spoke to him about when he was going to deliver it, he had said that week so I waited and no one showed up. His answer to me after trying to get in touch with him after leaving many messages was he did not do too much business that week so he wasnt able to deliver the mattress. At the time I was living in ***** NH and was taking a trip to Germany in June and that i would be back the first week of July but I was moving to ***** ***** on July 12. He said no problem when I get back from Germany to call him and that he would deliver my mattress. I returned from Germany on July 3 and called him all week to see when he was going to deliver the mattress but he never answered the phone. I had explained to him that this was going on since Apr and that I could not sleep on the mattress because It had a ball of material that was coming up in the middle of the mattress. I finally reached him on July 11 the day before I was moving and he had said to me no problem that he would be there the next day to deliver my mattress. Well the day I was moving I had called him in the morning and he had said he would be there in an hour to deliver the mattress. I had told him i was leaving the apt by 12 noon because I had to bring back the key. I waited till 1pm and called him. I spoke to ***** which told me that Ritchie was not there and there was no deliveries that day. She tried calling him on his cell phone but never answered her. So now I am living in ***** ***** and he wont deliver a mattress because it is too far away. He had 4 months to replace this defective mattress

Desired Settlement: I think Ritchie should either come and pick up the defective mattress and replace it with the one he was suppose to replace it with or give me my $800 back. He had said that he would not deliver it because I am 3 hours away. If he did what he was suppose to do we would not be having this conversation. What gets me upset is that I spoke to him on his phone and he promised it would be replaced before I moved. I would never recommend this furniture store to anyone.

Business Response: This will be the 3rd mattress change. First two did not meet requirements for replacement but we did. Now she is 3 hrs away.  We told her she has to pay a delivery charge

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

12/20/2012 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My fiance and I originally ordered an ******'s sectional from ******'s son, who is also named ******, in September. He said that it would be delivered in 4-10 days. On October 13, we called back and they had not checked on the order since then so ***** looked in the computer and said that the parts were not showing as available for the next two months and she was not sure when it would come in. On that same day we went into the store to choose a different sectional that would be in within 7-10 days and ****** Sr. rush ordered it and hoped that it would be in within 4 days. On October 19, we called to check the status on the order and later on they delivered the wrong sectional. The sectional was a different style, different color and the chaise was on the wrong side. The deliverers said that they could leave it so at least we could have something to use until it came in. We went back to ******'s to reorder the correct one and ***** offered to cover the price difference on a different ******'s sectional because the one was not available and we did not get the original sectional that we wanted. Again, we were told that it would be delivered within 7-10 days, but it is now November 12 and we have been stuck with a disfunctional sectional for more than 3 weeks. It was finally delivered today around 5:30pm. We are extremely disappointed in the amount of time that this delivery and multiple reordering processes have taken. Needless to say, we will not be ordering our bedroom set from ******'s as planned.

Desired Settlement: On the first order date with Richie's son, we put down a $50 down payment on a bedroom set to start a payment plan. Their policy is no refunds, but we do not want to order anything else from them after the experience with the sectional. We would like a full refund of the $50 down payment which was going towards the total balance on the bedroom set.

Business Response: Customer purchased this living room on layaway, came up with the money faster than they expected. When they made payment in full we said that we had to order set and it would take a few weeks. They claimed they were without a set and needed a set in a hurry. We said that we had the same set with the change on the order slip that we could deliver and it worked fine or we could change when other set came in. This was agreed before time of delivery and order by then and received by then. After delivery they came in and asked to change the set all together. They picked out a new set and we delivered the set all is fine. We more than accomadate the customer. As far as 50 deposit another lay away that she does not want now. It is a lay away not refundable. As stated on bill of sale and posted in store. Her complaint is unjustified.

Consumer Response:

We did originally expect to purchase the bedroom set first, but when we came in to make the order on the sectional (instead of make a layaway payment) ****** said that it would be no problem. If the first delay in receiving the sectional (waiting more than the rush order time) was the only problem, I would not have made a complaint. ***** had to reorder the correct sectional after the one that we originally ordered was not available for an unknown length of time, which was why we were forced to come back in to choose a different sectional. After ***** placed that order and the wrong one was delivered we had to come in again to show her the correct one, which she had to place an order for. ****** has the emails as proof of that discrepancy, ***** did not know which sectional should have been delivered to our home. We waited for weeks to receive the correct order after that. After it was all straightened out, it took three months and several visits and phone calls to receive a sectional that was not even our first choice. Please explain how that is providing customer satisfaction and appropriate accommodations. I understand that the policy is no refunds, but in my perspective an appropriate accommodation for the extensive wait would be to refund the $50 deposit. It is due to the poor customer service and lengthy delivery time that we refuse to do more business with ******'s in purchasing a bedroom set. Regards, **** ****

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

12/19/2012 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On May 17th 2012, I purchased a couch, love seat, mattress, and box spring set at ******’s home furniture in ******** ** ***** at a total cost of $2071.00 paid with my Mastercard. ****** the owner of the local furniture store stated that we could pick up the furniture at any time and that his mattress set was priced at an unbeatable price. A week later I came across the same set at another furniture store for a better price and decided to purchase the mattress and box spring at the other store. I called and notified ******’s that I was cancelling part of the order. ****** the owner then informed me that I would only receive a store credit for the cost of the merchandise, totally $599.00 and could choose another item from his store. I returned to his store later that week and ordered a ****** dining room server ( item # 403-95). ****** told me that he would be in touch with either myself or my boyfriend by the next week on the delivery date of the server. A few weeks went by and I never received a phone call in regards to the furniture. I called ****** and left him several voice mails. I few days later ****** called and told me that he “went to the warehouse to pick up the server but it was the incorrect piece and was reordering it .It would take another week to arrive”. The following week I spoke with ****** again and set up a delivery date for the server. That Friday at after 5pm ****** delivered a server to my home. However, the server that was delivered was not a ****** server and again was the incorrect piece. I confronted ****** on the issue and told him I would not accept the piece. ****** insisted on leaving the incorrect piece in my garage stating he “would pick up and haul away the incorrect piece when the correct one was delivered”. 1 week later ,after several more phone calls on the status of the correct server and no response, ****** finally called me to let me know that the ****** server I originally ordered was discontinued and he would not be able to get me the piece. At this point I was very frustrated with the issue and asked if he could refund me the cost of the server. ****** was very stern about only giving me a store credit and told me I should return to the store to choose another piece. It had been well over two months and I still had not received my furniture. That Saturday I returned to ******’s store to chose yet another server. However there were none that peaked my interest and asked ****** again if I would just get my money back because there wasn’t anything else I was interested in. He simply stated “ it’s a store credit only I will not refund your money”. I was upset that I was being forced into choosing a piece I was not interested in but settled and made a decision on another piece and a storage ottoman. When I was about the price of the new server ****** told me that item was more than what my credit was for and it would cost me another $200.00 to get both pieces and he could have it ordered by next week. Infuriated after all the trouble I had already gone through I asked if he could discount both items for the inconvenience therefore they would fit into my credit price range. He refused and told me I was “already getting a deal buying the server without the dining table”. I told ****** I would not pay him anymore money until I the correct furniture arrived, since he had already charged my credit card and I had not received all of what I had originally ordered. Again he told me he would be in touch with me by Monday August 20th on the status of the order. The following Tuesday August 28th I finally got in touch with ***** the other owner of ******'s Furniture and she had informed me that the second server I was forced into choosing also had " no expected delivery date" however the ottoman was available. For the second time in a row I could not get the server I wanted. I refused to purchase anything else from ******'s furniture ever again and demanded that they come pick up the wrong furniture that they left sitting in my garage. ***** told me that she spoke with ****** and he would come to pick up the incorrect server that Friday August 31st after 5pm when I was home from work. My boyfriend and I waited until 7pm for ****** and he never showed. We left several voice mails. On Monday September 3 2012 (LABOR DAY HOLIDAY) ****** called us at 11am asking if he could come pick up his furniture. He arrived 20 minutes later than he has said, in his flip flops, and proceeded to then bargain another deal to allow me keep the incorrect server plus the ottoman for the credit price. My boyfriend simply stated " this is not the piece of furniture my girlfriend wanted or ordered please take it out of my house". I will never do business with ******'s ever again nor refer any friends or family to him !!

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund of my store credit of $599.00. I never received the correct piece of furniture, was left with the incorrect piece in my garage for weeks, and he could not obtain the correct piece for me. I feel i deserve a full refund for my trouble and lack of furniture.

Business Response: Ms. ****** purchased 2 items and we made a package price and this was a layaway. When she was ready she wanted to drop 1 item and she was told the difference would be a merchandise credit. She ahs been very difficult using the credit.

Consumer Response:


 I would like to clarify that the original server that I ordered and never received was a single piece. Because of ******'s store credit only policy I was forced to choose another server. My credit for the original server was a credit of $599.00. The second server I ordered was listed in ******'s catalog at a price of $399.00 leaving me with a credit of $200.00. Since he refused to refund me the rest of the credit ,I was again forced to choose yet another piece to full fill this credit . This is when I chose a storage ottoman.  Both pieces were ordered the same day at the same time. I made it clear to ****** that I would not accept any furniture or give him any more money until both pieces arrived because of my prior experience.  ****** could only obtain the ottoman but again failed to acquire the second server. Therefore again did not receive my entire order but only 50% (HALF) the of the so-called "package" deal.

On Monday September 17, 2012 I spoke with ***** at ******’s Furniture after receiving a voice-mail from ******, himself, on Thursday Sept 13, 2012. ***** informed me that ****** was willing to refund $200.00 of my credit if I took the ottoman that was shipped. Unfortunately, I am still without a server ( the main piece I was looking for). I believe that I should at minimum be refunded the cost of the server ($399.00) that for the second time they could not ship to me. I told ***** that I was no longer interested in the ottoman because I was not receiving the entire “package” I agreed to. I also offered to pay a restocking fee for the ottoman if need be.  However, I simply am asking for a refund of my money for my trouble and lack of furniture.  

Due to this prolonged issue my money has been tied up in a credit  with a store that cannot obtain the furniture I am looking for. Nevertheless I refuse to do any more business with them including taking an the ottoman without the server. I do not want half the “package” I want the whole order I was forced to purchase. I am IRRATE for being accused of being a difficult customer. I have given ******’s home furniture AMPLE time and opportunities to acquire my furniture which they failed to do on multiple occasions. I have been without furniture and money for months and have had enough aggravation from his poor business practices . I made the mistake of trying to support a local business and have only had problems with his store. The basic principle of “ The customer is always right” should fall into place here. I deserve to be compensated for my trouble. Refunding me $200.00 out of $599.00 and still leaving me without a server I need  just doesn’t cut it.
 

Regards,

******** ******

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: The business failed to resolve the complaint issues.

9/3/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a mattress in 2009 that was defective and they replaced the mattress. The mattress they replaced now is sinking in the middle to the point of if you sleep on it you will wake up with a back ache. I have only had this mattress since 9-9-2010 which i had to pay 95.00 more.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund for the mattress because i feel that this is the second mattress i have purchased and they dont even last 1 year. I do not have any faith in richies furniture and would never buy another piece of furniture from him or recommend any one to him.

Business Response: In response to ***** ***** mattress problem.  We were in the process of her complaint. First she has to have a copy or the bill that we require. Then we have to inspect it. We have no problem replacing a defective mattress if it meets the requirements.  Thank you for your help

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/21/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I made a purchase on March 30, 2012, in the total amount of $1,674 dollars. I simply changed my mind on the 18th of April 2012 with a cancellation request, and was told that they were not going to refund me my money back in the full amount but instead only 1,100 of the amount and demanding that I come into their store to accredit the 1,100 amount to my card. I am in East Providence, RI, and I have not received any of the furniture prior to the cancellation phone call I made on the 18th of April, also one of the items that I purchased had yet to be delivered to their warehouse, and that was the bed/ dresser and mirror. The dresser and mirror was separate charges within the total amount of $1,674. At the time of the purchase the Couch and love seat was in their warehouse I was told, but the bed/ dresser and mirror which is part of a set had to be ordered. So the total items in the order was the couch love seat bed/ dresser, and mirror. I was waiting on the bed/dresser and mirror items to come to their warehouse on order. I have now idea why they are keeping four-hundred dollars from me in the refund and cancellation request.

Desired Settlement: Full Refund Amount payed back to the credit/ Debit card on my file!

Business Response: This purchase was made and was special order and pay for the merchandise and we are now warehousing the merchandise. Our restocking is 25% on special orders. That is the deduction that will be made and the rest will be refunded

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns.

Are they gonna re-embers me the full amount, I need it now because I am waiting for it to pay for the selected furniture at the other store so that I can have furniture in my house. It has been a month now since I have made the purchase with them and no furniture in my house. I need that re-embersment quickly and in full. If they charge me for the ordering for the bed in place of its cost, then I would have not only payed for the bed but the cost of the order as well and they will have both the payed for bed and order cost covered by me, with me with no re-embersment of the bed back, therefore only leaving me with the couch set payed back to me. This is why I need the payment in full, and when I canceled the order they where within timely reason to cancel the bed from coming to them, they told me over the phone they were not and gonna pay for it then turn around and charge me.

 

 

Business Response: In reference to her claim that she needs the whole money to pay for her furniture, she made an order and brought in special for her the furniture she purchased here. cancelled for a new purchase somewhere else why? As I said, we have a re-stocking fee for it is the reason we take more up front

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/27/2011 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The china where we keep our plates and glasses are missing glasses so there is a whole on one side of the china. i had called dozen of time to have them deliver it and i even went to their place to get it but they would not give it to me. they told me they would deliver it but i havent recived anything. it has been months.

Desired Settlement: Either Replace it or give me the glasses

Business Response: #*******

In response to complaint
From ******** ******* *** **** ****** *********** **

Glass was missing on side of her Hutch, ordering replacement glass took to long because came in broken.  At this time we replaced missing glass and the matter is taken care of.  We apologized to customer for delay and appreciate your help.

Thankyou
******

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #*******.

Regards,

******** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/19/2011 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Monday June 13 2011 walk into business Richies Home Furniture ,******* **** inquiring about Quenn set of mattress.Employee ********* offer to help to show us what was available in the store . i purshased a set ofQuenn mattress from richies for $364.00 (cash)including delivery .they schedule for the next day from 2 to 6pm. which the delivery guys deliver upon they schelude not what we had arrange .on delivery after i got home from work after 3pm noticed that the Boxspring was to wide to bring to my second floor unit.I call within minutes the furniture store attempe 4 to 5 times, left voicemail for the store to call us back ASAP ! no call back at all from furniture store after and hour.so i decide to drive to store .********** was at the store so i explain to employee about my situation ,ask him to please call his dad to see if he owns another store so i can pick uo the splits for my set.he call another store and he stated they won't be i till friday and the best he can do for us to put the bed on the floor till we get the spits.And that we need to get out of the Furniture store because he was closing.The next business day the furniture store was closed .So need to wait till thursday to speak with ******* (owner) explain to him refused to listen and the best he could do is Refund me $25.00 dollars for the boxspring, after paying for delivery.I felt insulted because i work very hard for my money a single parent richies took advantage of me .that is how they make money not to is because the furniture store is good .Wish i would have read this reviews before i enter that place .Avoid this store is like a "PLAGUE".Thank you again ******,***** and ********** for your customer service.NEVER AGAIN.

Desired Settlement: i would like the full retail value of the boxspring mattress is brand new not used or touch still in plastic of the store.Thank you

Business Response: The consumer attempted to return the box spring because it would not fit in her house. She asked if she could exchange it for splits which we did not have in stock, but were able to obtain with time. It would take at least 2 days to get them. This was unacceptable to her. The consumer's boyfriend then came into our store, and intimidated my son to the point where he was so shaken up he had to close the store early. We have no obligation to them at this point at time. I will offer them $25 for the box spring, but that is it. Thank you.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1