This business is not BBB accredited.

Leo's Furniture & Bedding, Inc.

Phone: (802) 893-2188 Fax: (802) 893-5072 146 Brentwood Drive, Colchester, VT 05446


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Leo's Furniture & Bedding, Inc. / Furniture World of Vermont, specializes in the retail sale of all types of in-home furnishings: ranging from a line of mattresses and futon bedding to kitchen sets, sofas and bedroom furniture, and reclining sofas and chairs. The company states they deliver in northern New York and all of Vermont.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Leo's Furniture & Bedding, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Leo's Furniture & Bedding, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 07, 1997 Business started: 06/01/1986 in VT Business incorporated 05/09/1996 in VT
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Daniel T. Martello, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Daniel T. Martello, President
Number of Employees

7

Business Category

FURNITURE DEALERS-RETAIL DINETTE SETS WATERBEDS-DEALERS MATTRESSES FUTONS FURNITURE-CHILDRENS-RETAIL Furniture Stores (NAICS: 442110)

Method(s) of Payment
Cash
Personal Check
Business Check
Cashiers Check
Money Order
MasterCard
Visa
American Express
Discover
Debit Card
Refund and Exchange Policy
The business states that their refund policy is as follows: Factory ordered merchandise cannot be cancelled. A 25% restocking fee will be assessed on all approved exchanges or cancellations. We offer a 30 day comfort guarantee on all mattress purchases.
Alternate Business Names
Furniture World of Vermont
Industry Tips
Buying Furniture Finding a Reliable Furniture Store - 5 Tips - Video

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    146 Brentwood Drive

    Colchester, VT 05446

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/28/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order on Saturday 6/15/13 for multiple pieces of furniture, including a table, chairs, barstools, mattress, adjustable frame, couch and a loveseat. We were told that our dining room and bedroom furniture would be delivered in 7-10 days and that our couch would be delivered in 4-6 weeks. Our bed was delivered on 7/3/13, which caused a very large scratch in our hardwood floor (which still has not be repaired), and our dining set was delivered on 8/7/13 approximately 1.5 hours later than scheduled delivery time. During the week of 7/29,( 6 weeks after we placed our order) I inquired about our couch. At that time, we were told that the manufacturer had just received the fabric and our couch would be started soon. I requested to have our order cancelled due to the length of wait time and the fact it hadn't been started. I was denied that request and was told the manufacturer, ****, said so. I contact **** independently and directly to inquire about the delay, the factuality of it, and why we were never notified of the delay. **** requested that I get the order number from Furniture World of VT (Leo's), and they would be able to check into it. (I have the email string from the manufacturer ****). I contact FW of VT and they REFUSED to give me that information and allow me to research with the company directly. I was informed that **** would be shipping our furniture on 8/19/13. I have contacted FW of VT multiple times to inquire about the products I have ordered and the status of delivery. I was informed on Wednesday, 9/4/13, that my order would most likely be in on Friday or Monday. I contacted FW of VT today, 9/6/13 in the early AM to check on my order, and never received a call back. I called at 4:14pm today to see where the order is, and I was informed that they won't KNOW, not delivery, until Monday. This order that was supposed to take 4-6 weeks, has now been 12 weeks, more than double of the amount time quoted. Throughout this process, each time I spoke with *******, she was inconsistent with time frames, (I was informed today that I was always told 6-8 weeks, which is indifferent as it has now been 12 weeks), rudeness on the phone, and not receiving phone calls back to update me on my order.

Desired Settlement: I want the order I have placed at a discounted rate due to the time frame and frustration I have had to deal with. I want the scratch in my hardwood repaired. If my order can not be delivered by Wednesday 8/11/13, I want my order to cancelled, any refunds due applied and no restocking fee or charges applied to our account.

Business Response: This response is in reference to Complaint # *******. All the furniture has been delivered to ***** ********** except for the Sofa and loveseat.Which is due in late today  or tomorrow. I sent her an article Last week that was posted in Furniture Today magazine explaining the problem was with ********* ****** aka **** Furniture. When I quoted her 6-8 weeks That was the information that We had at the time of the order. We had no idea that a top 100 company was not being shipped fabric due to not paying there suppliers. Every time I checked  on her order I was given a ship date and they changed it not me. I had no control over this delay and as a result we will no longer be doing business with **** going forward because of the uncertainty of the company.***** called me a few days later and apologized for screaming at me. I was never rude to her at anytime. I have given her 2 free deliveries as of today and I will be giving her a 3rd free delivery due to the delay from ****. That is $190.80 that I am paying because of the delay. As far as the scratch on her floor. I talked to her floor supplier and authorized the repair with her sales lady *** for $175.00 last month. I gave her my name and billing address and she was going to call ***** and schedule a time to do the repair. I then called ***** and told her that I spoke to *** and authorized the repair. ***** was angry with me last week  because THEY have not called her. I explained to her That I can not do the scheduling for another company and they are supposed to call her and schedule a date. This too is beyond my control I made the call and that is all i can do.***** is aware of the status of delivery on the living room furniture and I will deliver it as soon as it gets here.I have attached the article that I sent to ***** as well.

Sincerely
******* ********
Furniture World of Vermont


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Leo's Furniture & Bedding, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)