Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Furniture.Com, Inc. provides internet based applications for retail furniture stores. This company is not affiliated with Furniture.com located in Framingham, MA.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Furniture.Com, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Furniture.Com, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Furniture.Com, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 15, 2002 Business started: 01/01/2000 in MA Business incorporated 01/01/2000 in DE
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Miguel Contessi, Controller Mr. Robert Klocek, Customer Support Supervisor Mr. Carl Prindle, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Miguel Contessi, Controller
Principal: Mr. Robert Klocek, Customer Support Supervisor
Principal: Mr. Carl Prindle, President
Number of Employees

20

Business Category

FURNITURE DEALERS-RETAIL Furniture Stores (NAICS: 442110)

Alternate Business Names
Furniture.Com
Industry Tips
Buying Furniture Finding a Reliable Furniture Store - 5 Tips - Video

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Furniture.Com, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/30/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My initial order is ********* and it has been a nightmare since I place the order. After my original delivery was delayed an extra month, I decided to wait only to receive multiple damaged items. I called the company and they sent some replacement furniture which was also defective and then sent more defective furniture to replace the original defective furniture. Finally, after 3 attempted deliveries of defective furniture they sent a tech out to repair some of the stuck drawers. He fixed some of them but the rest still do not work correct and my chest is still cracked. After speaking with****** in customer service I was told I would receive an extra 5% back off my original purchase price plus the delivery fee to keep the furniture as is. He verified with his manager and I was told in a few days I would see the money, no later than 1/8/14. I called ****** on 1/14 and he told me they can’t do the refund anymore after making the promise.

Desired Settlement: My initial order is ********* and it has been a nightmare since I place the order. After my original delivery was delayed an extra month, I decided to wait only to receive multiple damaged items. I called the company and they sent some replacement furniture which was also defective and then sent more defective furniture to replace the original defective furniture. Finally, after 3 attempted deliveries of defective furniture they sent a tech out to repair some of the stuck drawers. He fixed some of them but the rest still do not work correct and my chest is still cracked. After speaking with ****** in customer service I was told I would receive an extra 5% back off my original purchase price plus the delivery fee to keep the furniture as is. He verified with his manager and I was told in a few days I would see the money, no later than 1/8/14. I called ****** on 1/14 and he told me they can’t do the refund anymore after making the promise. I want to receive what I was promised, a 5% discount plus shipping charges by ******. The total return amount should be over $200.

Business Response: Customer is correct about delays of delivery with a total delay of three weeks from original promised date. What customer failed to mention was we had already processed a 10% credit issued back on December 9th due to inconvenience. When he called again to mention issues were still happening with the items, our rep was not aware at that time customer had already received that extra credit and offered a credit to the customer. When the second credit was requested and found out that customer had already been issued a credit due to inconvenience, the new request for credit was not processed. After a new conversation with customer with our rep, the rep explained we could not process that additional credit and he had the option to return the merchandise which he refused to do.  At this point we could offer the customer an additioanl 5% credit of the merchandise for a total of $104.12 plus its tax portion.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

The facts presented by Furniture.com are not accurate.  I was issued the first credit for the inconvenience of waiting a month for my order to arrive and for it arriving damaged.  The second credit was promised and then taken back because Furniture.com did not do their research first.  They also never called me and I had to call them only to find out they took back the promised credit.  They have since offered me another credit to keep the furniture as is which is what the second credit was really about, not the inconvenience.  I still have damaged furniture but will keep it simply because every time they do an exchange there is always another problem.  The quality of the furniture is poor and it is delivered damaged whether it's a crack, ding, or stuck drawers.  They only provided the second credit because I persisted and told them I would return everything piece by piece.  No customer should have to take this type of action for a business to do the right thing.  It's simple: If you deliver broken furniture, credit the customer.  If they wish to keep it as is, give them a larger discount since it will save you money in the end.  I hope they learn from this incident but it is too late for me.  I will never again shop at Furniture.com and Value City Furniture (where it actually comes from) because of their poor morals and ethics.  Treat customers the way you would like to be treated.

Business Response: Mr. ******** called back and spoke to Customer Care.  After the follow-up conversation we have processed a credit for $222.49, this was processed back to Mr. ********’s credit card on 1/27/2014

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved.