BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Eastern Massachusetts, Maine, Rhode Island and Vermont

This Business is not BBB accredited

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Dunham's Furniture sells furniture for living rooms, dining rooms and bedrooms, mattresses, futons, recliners, couches, stained glass, home accessories, and more.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because it is out of business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Dunham's Furniture
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 31, 1998 Business started: 01/01/1991 in ME
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Jim Dunham, Partner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jim Dunham, Partner
Number of Employees

6

Business Category

FURNITURE DEALERS-RETAIL GLASS-STAINED & LEADED BEDS-RETAIL FUTONS MATTRESSES HOME FURNISHINGS Furniture Stores (NAICS: 442110)

Service Area
Dunham's Furniture provides their services in CONNECTICUT , MAINE , MASSACHUSETTS , NEW HAMPSHIRE , RHODE ISLAND & VERMONT.
Industry Tips
Buying Furniture Finding a Reliable Furniture Store - 5 Tips - Video

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1221 Broadway

    Bangor, ME 04401 (207) 947-0179

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    183 Spring Street

    Dexter, ME 04930 (207) 924-3066 (800) 343-2664

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    192 Elm Street

    Newport, ME 04953 (207) 368-2088

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 343-2664(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations

X

According to information in BBB files, this business is no longer in business.


Complaint Detail(s)

7/24/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a lift chair in the Dexter Store of Dunham's Furniture on 7/11/13. It was delivered the afternoon of 7/12/13. I used it through 7/17/13 into the early morning (6:30 A.M.) of 7/18/13. A physical condition requires that I sleep in a recliner as I cannot lie flat on my back, and, as I also need help getting out of the chair, a "Lift Chair" is the answer. I have a lift chair in my winter home in Florida, provided by the Veterans Administration Health Care System, which I have had for years and still deals comfortably with my health issues there. However, the VA only provides one chair, so I have to buy my lift chair for my home in Maine. Thus, my purchase of the lift chair from Dunham's Furniture. The chair felt comfortable in the store, but when I brought it home and began using it, increasingly my bottom sank into the bottom cushion, until I bottomed out with only a thin layer of "something" between my bottom and the very hard inflexible springs of the seat. Experiencing considerable pain in my bottom as a result, I realized other hard surfaces were hurting my back and my elbow. I decided to go back to Dunham's of Dexter to report the chair as defective, to ask them to take the chair back and to refund my money. I was unsuccessful, told it was not Dunham's problem, but the problem of the company Dunham's gets them from, which has the chairs made in China (the country) and I would have to deal with them and their Warranty process. Dunham's, through the manager, although they were the Sellers, the receivers of my money, the issuers of the Dunham's receipt, accepted absolutely no responsibility other than stipulating that they were only the agent for exercising the warranty of the company that obtained the chair in China.. The manager said he would come out to my home to establish the validity of my claim. He later telephoned me to reiterate Dunham's position that they bore no responsibility for the defective chair. The conversation was unpleasant and ended when the "manager" hung up on me. I posted this much of the complaint on the Company's (Contact) site. Following this, another manager, brother to the manager from the Dexter Store, came out, sat down in the chair, bounced in it a couple of times, got up and stated he could find no problem with the chair. I observed that he had more natural padding on his bottom than I have, but being a gentleman did not mention it. He, then, allowing that some padding might take care of it, suggested that I put some in. I insisted it was Dunham's problem as I had purchased the chair from them. He stated the same position as before, but with a significant addition. Now he stated I would have to pursue the warranty through the company they had purchased it from. I told him I bought it from Dunham's and they were responsible for making me a satisfied customer, and that I would only be dealing with them as the responsible party. He disagreed, and left. My question is: Am I left with no choice except to pursue this matter in Small Claims Court? **** ******* ** **********

Desired Settlement: Dunham's will take the chair back and refund my money.

Business Response: Mr. ********** informed me [******] when he came in to purchase the chair how much he needed to use the chair. We only had two (2) lift chairs in stock so I called our other store, located in Bangor, to see what we had for stock there. I was told we had one (1) lift chair there soI had that one chair brought to our Dexter location so Mr. ********** would have three (3) choices of lift chair for him. Once the third lift chair was in our store I called Mr. ********** so he could come try all three. He came into the store and after trying all three lift chairs, decided he was happiest with the comfort of the lift chair he chose to purchase.

I make an effort to tell ALL of my customers, once they decide to purchase a *********** lift chair, that if they have any issues with the lift chair *********** will send their own technicians to the customers homes to cover any warranty issues. I am quite confident that I informed Mr. ********** of this policy as well. 

The lift chair was delivered to Mr. ********** on July 12th, as he stated. He came into our store on July 18th and demanded that we were to take back the lift chair and refund him his money. When I asked him what was wrong he said that the chair seat was hurting his bottom, a complaint we've never received about this or any other *********** lift chair. He also mentioned that the arms were too hard and uncomfortable, another complaint we've never had previously. The manager, ***, then joined the conversation and told Mr. ********** that he would have to take a look at the chair and determine if it needed to be repaired or replaced. Mr. ********** was adamant that he was to get his money back and return the chair. The warranty, which is through *********** NOT Dunham's Furniture, states that *********** is responsible for any repairs of deficient lift chairs but does not state that the customer must get their money refunded. Mr. ********** kept talking over *** while *** was trying to explain that warranties didn’t cover refunds but did cover repair or replace.  Before he left Mr. ********** insisted that we take back the chair and refund his money stating, "If I say so, you'll do it!" That was when *** handed Mr. ********** back his receipt and said, "I'll be out to look at it [the chair].” Mr. ********** left the store.

Later in the day *** called Mr. ********** to say he'd be coming to look at his chair and proceeded to explain that if he found anything wrong with the chair that *********** would also send out a technician to look at the chair to see what they would do for him. Mr. ********** immediately became confrontational and refused to accept that as his option. He kept speaking over *** as he was trying to explain that any warranty issues are handled though ***********, not Dunham’s Furniture. At no point whatsoever did *** say to Mr. ********** that it was “not Dunham’s problem, but the problem of the company in China”. *** had the phone number for ***********, located in Pennsylvania, ready to give to Mr. ********** but as he was being very argumentative toward *** he (***) ended the call, not by hanging up on Mr. **********, but by saying, “OK, that’s enough. Have a good day” and ended the call.

The following day, July 19th, the owner of the store ***** Dunham (whom Mr. ********** thought was another manager and ***’s brother) called Mr. ********** and made arrangements to go to his house to look at the lift chair. Once there, ***** sat in the chair, not “bounced” as Mr. ********** claimed, for what he assumed to be five minutes and could not feel the springs or the chair “bottoming out.” ***** could not find anything structurally wrong with the chair but suggested to Mr. ********** that a foam cushion may ease any discomfort. Without there being any structural problem with the lift chair, there is no viable reason for Dunham’s Furniture to refund Mr. **********’s money.






Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

Business Response: Dunham's Furniture has contacted *********** and asked that a technician contact Mr. ********** to further discuss any structural and warranty issues he has with his lift recliner. 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

10/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 7/14/12, my husband and I ordered an oversized chair (chair and a half) and an ottoman from Dunhams Furniture in ******, Maine. We ordered with ***** and paid in full with our debit card. We were told that these items were not in stock and would have to be ordered and would take 6-8 weeks. We understood and went ahead with our order. I contacted them on 9/07/12 and asked for an update on our order since it was now 8 weeks and we hadn't heard from anyone. ***** said he never guaranteed 6-8 wks and like life there are never guarantees. He said that the warehouse the furniture is in could go up in flames or that the truck could get in to an accident and all of our furniture would be lost. I advised him that I understood there are no guarantees but he did quote 6-8 weeks and I was simply following up. He then said it should hopefully be here soon. I asked if he could find out from the company when it is scheduled to ship. He said he'd see what he can do. He called me back and said it'd be to his store on 9/14/12. He contacted my husband on 9/14/12 and said they made a mistake and that our furniture was leaving the warehouse on 9/14/12 and it would be a week. They offered a loaner chair. My husband asked me to contact them and let them know if I wanted the loaner. Since my grandparents were arriving that week from *****, I agreed to the loaner. They delivered it the same day and I was happy with their accomodation. Today is 9/23/12 and we hadn't heard anything from them yet,. We were in town and thought we'd stop to check the status of our chair and ottoman. My husband went to the window where ***** was sitting and explained to him that we have been waiting on furniture. He told the story to him and ***** called him a liar. ***** said they never tell anyone 6-8 weeks. My husband explained again what was said and the timeline of things. Again, ***** called him a liar and then told my husband he can smell a skunk. So, my husband asked "are you calling me liar and a skunk". ***** told him if that's how he wanted to take it, he could. He said people always come in and say things like that. My husband explained he wanted nothing for free, he just wanted to know where our furniture is. He then told my husband to leave the store. My husband asked why he was asking him to leave. He said he was just trying to explain our side of the story and again just wanted to know when our furniture would be in since we hadn't heard anything. ***** continued to call him a liar and was very rude and condescending. My husband wasn't getting anywhere so decided to leave. I then called and spoke with *****. I told him I understood he was rude to my husband and called him a liar. He then told me that I am a liar as well as my husband. He kept on calling us liars and I said at this point I would like to just cancel our order and return the couch we already received. He laughed at me and said that wasn't going to happen. He just kept on with rude remarks, calling us liars and laughing. I hung up on him. He called my husband back and said it was a huge mistake on their part to give us a loaner. He said that we better make sure it is returned as we received it or we will be sorry. We felt like, at this point, we were being harrassed by *****. At no point, would we ever think of ruining something that is not ours. When we got home, I did look at our receipt and it does so that down payments and other payments are not refundable. The problem is the way in which we were treated. We just moved here from Iowa and needed furniture. We were treated so poorly that we would just like to return all furniture and get a full refund.

Desired Settlement: We would like a full refund and all furniture returned.

Business Response: The furniture was delivered, in its entirety, to the customer the Tuesday following the complaint. The customer accepted the delivery and signed the invoice acknowledging the furniture was delivered in good condition. It is our understanding that by accepting the delivery the customer no longer has a dispute against us. She also apologized to us for her harsh language to the owner. 

Also, while the customer was waiting for the arrival of their ordered furniture, we delivered a "loaner" chair to the customer's house. We told them they could use the "loaner" chair while they were waiting for their chair to arrive to our store for us to deliver to them. We made every attempt to help make the situation easier for the customer and delivered their furniture as soon as we received it. When we have to order furniture, the arrival time to us is completely out of our hands. We can only deliver special ordered furniture as fast as we receive it. 

Consumer Response:

We did in fact accept the furniture because we had already paid for it in full and were told by ***** that we would not be getting a refund from his store because all sales are final. There are no refunds or cancellations on orders. The furniture was in fact delivered in good condition. As I did state, they did give us a loaner chair and we appreciated their accomodations. However, that does not take away from the fact that we were treated very poorly by ***** and he said some very harsh things to both my husband and myself. I responded to his harsh words in a way anyone would and I did in fact apologize for my language because it was out of character for me and I thought that ***** might apologize as well and we could put this behind us. However, that did not happen.  I will go ahead and keep the furniture but I will also let everyone I know be aware of this company and their poor customer service. I don't feel it was fair that we could not cancel/return furniture that we did not have and were unhappy with. I will take this as a lesson learned......not to ever shop at Dunham's Furniture again.

Business Response:  I understand that the customer was treated poorly in our Bangor store. I sincerely apologize from the bottom of my heart for this. This is not a habit we've made in the 21 years we've been in business.  I can completely understand that ***** can be a **** (he even fired me once and I'm his daughter-in law) but his actions should not and do not reflect on how we treat customers on a daily basis. We do try to get the correct information to customers but unfortunately we are not always given correct information from our manufacturers. When we give delivery dates to customers for special ordered merchandise, such as 6-8 weeks, it is an approximation not a guaranteed time frame. We don't have a policy that states if we (the store) haven't received ordered furniture by XYZ date the customer will get their money back. We couldn't stay in business that way. We order the furniture and have to wait for it to come in, just like the customer does.

The General Manager, ***, in our ****** store does all of the ordering for all of the stores. We have to order furniture; we don't manufacture any of it ourselves. The brand which the customer purchased is a company that we order truck loads from. By ordering in this manner it takes longer than normal to compile enough items to fill a truck then once the truck is full it still takes a minimum of 7-10 days for the truck to arrive to us. *** told ***** to tell the customer a MINIMUM of 8 weeks but apparently ***** told the customer 6-8 weeks. When the customer began to inquire about delivery status, *** called the company to receive an expected delivery date (to us) and was given a date which we passed on to the customer. When that date came and went *** called back and received another date which also turned out to be false. Finally, when the truck did arrive at our ****** store on 9/24/12 we put it on our delivery truck, sent it to our ****** store, and it was delivered to the customer on 9/25/12. There was absolutely no way we could have delivered the furniture to the customer any sooner than we did. 

As far as the manner in which the owner, *****,
treated the customer, there is no excuse for his behavior. I have no control
over his words or actions. He can be very rude and disrespectful, especially
with his condescending laugh (I know EXACTLY what the customer was talking
about). He will never apologize to the customer, even though they deserve it.
He simply does not ever apologize for his actions or words (he never apologized
to me for firing me and I'm married to his son). There is nothing I can do to
say how sorry I am for the way the customers were treated and I will not defend
*****'s actions.



If the customer ever decided to give us another
chance, which doesn't sound very likely, I would very much like to ask that
they come into our ****** store and see either myself, Tricia, or the General Manager, ***. We make every effort to treat customers with the
respect they deserve. We know how we like
to be treated as customers and that's the way we treat our customers. Since ***
does all the ordering he gets the information first hand from the
manufacturers. However, if we are given false information from our companies we
have no way to know that we are passing on false information to our customers.



Again, I truly apologize to Mr. and Mrs ***** for the way they were
treated by both ***** and *****. I wish there was something I, personally,
could do to make the customer feel better about the situation. In the end, Mr.
and Mrs. ***** ordered a product from us and the product was delivered to them.
I agree, that ***** said and acted inappropriately to the customers. I wasn't
present for any of the conversations, but I don't need to be to know how rude
and condescending ***** can be. As I said, there is no excuse for his actions.
Aside from apologizing for the actions of others, I don't know what else I can
do. I'm sorry for any ill feelings from Mr. and Mrs. ***** toward us and hope we
can someday earn their trust back.



****** ******

Consumer Response: Thank you, ******, for your response. I appreciate that you understand how we felt dealing with *****. I figured we wouldn't receive an apology from him but I do thank you for your time and response.