BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Eastern Massachusetts, Maine, Rhode Island and Vermont
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Chariho Furniture?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Chariho Furniture

Phone: (401) 539-9043 10 Richmond Townhouse Rd, Wyoming, RI 02898 http://www.charihofurniture.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Chariho Furniture is a full line furniture store. Featuring Southern New England's finest selection of American made, solid wood furniture and bench-made custom leather and upholstery. Professional interior design service available in store or in home.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Chariho Furniture meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Chariho Furniture include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Chariho Furniture
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 20, 1991 Business started: 11/01/1987 in RI Business started locally: 11/01/1987 Business incorporated: 03/30/1989 in RI
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Edward Smith, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Edward Smith, President
Number of Employees

14

Business Category

FURNITURE DEALERS-RETAIL DINETTE SETS MATTRESSES HOME FURNISHINGS FUTONS Furniture Stores (NAICS: 442110)

Products & Services

Chariho Furniture sells the following brand(s): Clayton Marcus, D.R. Dimes, Gat Creek, Harden, Henkel Harris, Serta

Chariho Furniture offers the following product(s): American made home furnishings, Amish Furniture, Bedrooms, Bookcases, Chairs, Cribs, Desks, Dining rooms, Home Office, Leather Furniture, Mattresses, Media Centers, Recliners, Reproductions, Sleep sofas, Sofas, Youth Furniture

Method(s) of Payment
Cash
Check
Visa
MasterCard
Discover
American Express
Layaway
Financing
Refund and Exchange Policy
The business states they have a 14 Day return available on in stock items except mattresses and upholstery. No returns or refunds on special orders.
Alternate Business Names
Mattress Depot Division of Chariho Furniture
Industry Tips
Buying Furniture Finding a Reliable Furniture Store - 5 Tips - Video

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The chairs I purchased developed deep gouges after common use. Other than occasional holiday or small dinner parties are others than myself and husband sitting on our chairs. Those who sit on chairs do not have hard or sharp objects in back pockets or on clothing design. There is no evidence of gouging, tears or scratches on any other furniture that people living or visiting in my home sit on, including leather, fabric or wood. The first gouged occurred within days after purchase. This concern raised my attention and I began observing what people were wearing and how they sat. There was nothing that I saw out of the ordinary or concerning in what was worn. We have no pets or small children in the house. Chariho Furniture sent a representative to my home, but told me that it had to be things in people's pockets or on garments. This is not the case.

Desired Settlement: I would like to purchase different chairs from Chariho Furniture and am willing to pay the additional balance of what the replacement will cost.

Business Response:

RE: Customer complaint file number *******

On April 13, 2013 a call was recieved regarding what the customer described as "gouges" in their dining chairs. It was explained to them that scratches and/or gouges caused by a customer are not warranted or in any way a factory defect. Even though this was the case, we sent our staff out the very same day to inspect the dining chairs to insure that this issue was in fact caused in the customer's home, giving every benifit of doubt to the customer and providing excellent customer service. At that time it was determined that the finish was not defective and that something had scrtached the items since the customer took delivery on them.

On May 8, 2011, this customer custom ordered a New England made, solid cherry table with six chairs. On July 13, 2011 the set was delivered along with a leather sofa they had also ordered. Each and every piece is carefully inspected in our facility prior to delivery to a customer. Upon delivery the customer received, inspected and signed that it was "received in good condition". We have attached a copy of the original delivery receipt with the customer's signature indicating that it was received and it was in good condition.

As stated, on April 12, 2013, 21 months after the customer received the set, the customer called to state that the finish was gouged. Had there been a factory defect with this product a contact would have been long made before having over a year and a half elapse.

The scratches in the chairs were inspected and it is very evident that something has caused this. We have absolutly no idea how these chairs were used for the past twenty one months. They could have been stood on. People could have had sharp objects in their pockets. Children or adults may have sat with their foot on the chair causing buckles or other sharp objcets to damage the finish. Regardless of how they were damaged, they were not delivered that way. It did not just happen without someone causing it to.

The set is excellent quality but we have no way of controling how it is treated and used in a customer's home. The finish of a piece of furniture, or an $80,000 automoblie is not warrantied. It is manufactured to be durable but, of course can be damaged with improper use or just an unintended accident.

The seats on this set can be refinished and that would be my suggestion to this customer. It is not a defect and is not warrantied. Should they be refinished, the chairs will scratch again if they are used the same way they have been over the past 21 months. The product is solid wood and the finish is durable. There is no such thing as an indistructable lacquered finish.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1