BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Eastern Massachusetts, Maine, Rhode Island and Vermont
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Brimar, Inc.?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Brimar, Inc.

Phone: (800) 846-0007 Fax: (781) 383-6392 100 Glades Rd, Scituate, MA 02066 http://www.exoticflowers.biz View Additional Web Addresses

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Brimar, Inc. offers same-day nationwide delivery of flowers, plants, fruit baskets and related gift items. The company is also a retail flower shop and garden center. The company was established and incorporated in Massachusetts in 2000. The company employs ten people. Mr. Paul Trifiro is the is the President of the company. Any questions or problems may be directed to the attention of Mr. Trifiro.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Brimar, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Brimar, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Brimar, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 16, 2003 Business started: 01/01/2000 in MA Business incorporated: 04/03/2000 in MA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Paul Trifiro, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Paul Trifiro, President
Number of Employees

10

Business Category

FLORISTS-RETAIL GIFT BASKETS & PARCELS GARDEN CENTERS FRUIT BASKETS Florists (NAICS: 453110)

Products & Services

Brimar, Inc. offers the following product(s): Flowers

Method(s) of Payment
Visa
Discover
MasterCard
American Express
Refund and Exchange Policy
The business states that their refund policy is as follows: We know that when you place your order with a florist, you are entrusting us to insure that your sentiments and thoughts are conveyed with the utmost care. That is why we back your purchase with a 100% unconditional money back guarantee which we feel is the strongest in the industry. If, in the unlikely event, you are dissatisfied with your purchase for quality or design reasons, we will promptly replace it with another item in order to insure your total satisfaction. If you choose, we will have your delivery picked up and promptly refund your total purchase price. Because of the perishable nature of flowers, all we ask is that you contact us within 24 hours of delivery.
Alternate Business Names
Exotic Flowers & Garden Center ExoticFlowers.biz Flowers All Over Flowersallover.com
Industry Tips
Florists

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Brimar, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations

This survey does not collect personally identifiable information.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/9/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered flowers for my Uncles Funeral in Alaska. The add said they would let me know if there was any issues with the order before so I could make another choice. The flowers never arrived and I never recieved a call saying they would not arrive. I call the night of the funeral and I was informed someone would call me the next morning..no call..I got a email in which I emailed back saying I want someone to call me. I called the number again infact three times and was treated with so much disrepted I got upset an said thing I should not of..but non the less they said no one would call me and I could cancell the order if I chose to..really..I asked for a manager and they said they do not have one. I cancelled the order. That was on Wed today is friday and they are still holding the funds. I called and they said I would have to wait at least five days I said no they could call and cancell the sale pending..the man said he did not need me to tell him how to do his job and he read the notes and said I was rude and he did not need to talk to me any more..I said yes I was upset the other day and I am calm now ..he said he did not care and that one of the people I talked to the other day filled a complaint against me and they were going to charge me with something..really..so here I am ..asking for you to please look into thing company ..When I call the corp office I got put on hold and then hung up of before any one answered and then call back again with no answer and then thephone went dead and the third time a busy signal.

Desired Settlement: The company investagated to see if it is a real company and they customer service educated on handle a issue. I am not even sure they are a business

Business Response: As a result of a computer error the customer’s order did notprint at our affiliate florist in Alaska and as such was not delivered. As soon as we were made aware of this problem we immediatelyemailed the customer and offered her one of two options: cancelling the orderfor an immediate refund or having the order delivered to a family member alongwith an explanatory note stating that the delivery missed the intended servicesas a result of technical issues.As a third generation florist with over forty five years ofexperience handling customer relations I have long felt that to best serve ourclients all communication, either positive or negative, be done in writing inorder to provide documentation for all parties. This was explained to thecustomer and she would have nothing to do with it – she was intent on beratingand attempting to humiliate anyone and everyone she could at this company.Without getting into specifics, she used language to two ofmy employees that would make a sailor blush! No one deserves to be spoken to insuch a derogatory manner and as a company we choose not to lower ourselves toher level by resorting to profanity and name calling.A copy of all correspondence between the parties isattached.Bottom line is an error was made; we tried to resolveit to the best of our ability but were treated worse than animals. The customerwas never charged a dime, nor will she be.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: **** ******* Drive **********, AL *****

December 28, 2012

Better Business Bureau 1210 South 20th Street **********, AL 35205

I would like to file a claim against Sandy's Flowers, 1482 Pearson Avenue SW, **********, AL 35211 AND Flowers A11 Over (see attached page).

On December 13, 2012, I ordered flowers from Flowers All Over (a teleflorist) for a funeral on December 14, 2012, at ******* Chapel in **********. I live in **********, AL - 100 miles from **********. I arrived at the Chapel as the funeral service was beginning. When I saw the arrangement, I could not believe I had been charged $99.68 for that shabby, cheap-looking arrangement. I was embarrassed to know that my name was on that arrangement sitting by the casket.Had I seen the arrangement before the funeral , I would have personally removed it- it looked that bad. When I placed my order, I talked at length with the person that took my order about what I wanted. The arrangement  that was delivered consisted of 10 white carnations and 10 red carnations - totally unacceptable. I returned to ********** Friday evening (the 14th), and the next morning I immediately called the Funeral home to find the name of the local florist that delivers the arrangement. I then called Sandy's Flowers and learned they were closed on Saturday and Sunday. On Monday morning, I talked with Sandys and was told that they deliver the arrangement in question and they prepared the special arrangement which was requested by Flowers All Over, and if I was unhappy with the arrangement, I should take it up with Flowers All Over.

She gave me a telephone number and I immediately called Flowers All Over and was told if I was not satisfied, I could file a complaint by email which l did immediately. Their email reply informed me that I should have notified them BEFORE the funeral therefore alter the flowers has been used, they could not give me a refund, but they offered me a very small refund which I refused.

As you will see from the attached copy of Flowers All Over's Web site, they proudly state “we back your purchase with our 100% UNCONDITIONAL money back guarantee which we feel is the strongest in the industry.” The website also shows a “BBB rating” I have Written them several emails (see attached), and reminded them of the “100% satisfaction guarantee”, and they refuse to honor their guarantee.

It is my belief that since Flowers All Over and Sandy Flowers knew that this was an out-of-town order, and assumed the out-of-town person who placed the order would not see what was actually delivered, they deliver an inferior arrangement and charge an inflated price. I feel that I have been scammed, and I am due a full refund.

I would appreciate any help you can give me.

Sincerely,
******* **********
BETTER BUSiNESS BUREAU, 1NC.

Desired Settlement: Unspecified - see attached

Business Response: The attached email string basically says it all and we see no need to repeat ourselves.The customer ordered flowers over the telephone (vs online as the great majority of people do) and was disatisfied with what was sent. Please refer to our initial email dated December 18th (12:54 PM ET) for elaboration.We offered her a substantial discount of 36% and she insists on a full refund even though she had full use of the flowers during the visitation and the services. That generous offer is now off the table.Bottom line is if she was truly humiliated she would have had the funeral director remove the flowers immediately and then ask for a full refund.  We consider this matter closed.

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

The Business' reply stated " the customer order flowers over the telephone (vs online as the great majority of people do)". What does that have to do with this complaint???? If they do not want to receic=ve orders over the phone, they should not publish their number. In the Business' reply, they stated that I had received "full use of the flowers during the visitation and services". The "full use of the flowers" in no way added to the funeral or comfort of the deceased's family, but was a detraction. The business stated " if she was truly humiliated she would have had the funeral director remove the flowers immediately". When i first saw the flowers, the service was in progress. To have interrupted the service, and have the Funeral Director remove the flowers would have drawn further attention the pitiful arrangement and would have further not only humiliated me, but the deceased's family as well.

I do not consider this matter closed; and I believe I deserve a full refund.

Business Response: Our website offers two arrangements that are close in description to what the customer ordered; one is priced at $59.99  (*******) and the other is priced at $74.99 (*******). The first item has exactly 20 red and white carnations where the second, more expensive basket, has approximately 24-26 red and white carnations and is made in a more expensive container.

The customer ordered a funeral basket of red and white carnations with gladiola added. The only piece we offer that is similar to this is priced at $99.99 (********). The customer may have visualized something but we do not sell visualizations, we sell flowers designed as close to the items pictured on our website for the prices we post. That is why we previously stated that this was a phone order - the customer basically ordered something "off the menu" and made up her own price - a recipe for disaster.

Common sense and over 40 years in the sympathy business dictates that if the basket was so "...shabby and cheap looking..." the funeral director would not have set it "...by the casket." Funeral directors take great pride in the professional appearance of their rooms and are very selective in where they place flowers. Never have I seen a shabby funeral basket placed up front - next to the casket.

In good faith we offered the customer a discount of 36% that she describes as "...very small."

We handle thousands of orders and pride ourselves on a sterling reputation. That reputation has been hard earned over many years and we take great offence in being described as a scammer. Sometimes you have to draw the line with a customer who is being unreasonable and just say no - Ms ********** is unfortunately that customer.

No adjustment is offered - the customer received what she paid for. 

  

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/13/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased flowers on 7/24 for a funeral on 7/25 in the AM. I reviewed the website and found an arrangement that looked plentiful and full of flowers which was very nice and appropriate for the occasion. This was supposed to be 24" high by 20" wide, and as stated prior full of flowers. When I arrived at the service on 7/25, the daughter of the deceased said to me, 'thank you for the flowers'. I looked around and realized the small arrangement, which was in the proper color group, but half as small as I thought it was going to be. I mentioned something to my sister-in-law who was sitting right next to me, and she stated that this looked nothing like what I showed her on the previous day. The flowers were few, you could see through the arrangement and there was only one tall flower in the back of the arrangement which was oddly placed. I was embarrassed of the arrangement due to the family relationship.

As soon as I got home, I called the online floral company, and told them what happened. I was told by the lady who answered the phone that I needed to send an email to customer service, which I did immediately. The woman also asked me 'if I took a photo' to which my response was no - it was a funeral. I finally got a response back later that evening and the company said they contacted the florist, and the gentleman there said it was correct. I also know what I ordered and what was sent. They also went as far as contacting the funeral director, who said it was a funeral arrangement. Now they are claiming that I am just hung up on the basket that the arrangement was in. This is not true, the arrangement was not the dimensions it was supposed to be, and there were half as many flowers than there should have been. This company offers an 'unconditional money back guaratee', which mean 'without conditions'but the still refuse to give me a refund. This is not what I ordered and was unacceptable, and not the size or amount of flowers that it should have had and yes it was in a wicker handled basket - which is not appropriate for a funeral.

Desired Settlement: I want a full refund of the purchase price which was $79 plus dollars.

Business Response: The customer's main complaint is and was the container that this arrangement was made in. She expected a paper mache' funeral container and when she received a more expensive wicker basket she was not happy because the overall height was less than she expected.

The type and height of the container obviously determines the overall height of the arrangement which she feels was about 8" lower than the "Approximate" dimensions listed on our website. We explained to her that due to local design preferences, the florist uses only wicker baskets. We also explained that, as is the norm in the floral industry, all graphics are representations and the actual product is subject to local/regional design styles and product availability.

Our florist delivered a funeral basket in the same colors chosen by the customer (yellow and white) and according to his written statement it was filled to full and complete value. ($60.00). Since the customer waited until the piece was discarded (even though the florist's name & telephone number was on the card) to initially complain, it basically was her word against the florist.

In order to attempt to settle this equitably we spoke to the funeral director who handled this service; Mr ******** *******. Mr *******, who coincidentally knows the customer personally, told us that the arrangement was clearly not a table arrangement but in fact, a funeral basket.

Our position is clearly outlined in the attached email correspondence with the customer which we respectfully submit for review. We do have a 100% satisfaction policy but it requires that the customer give us the opportunity to pick up the unsatisfactory item. This customer unreasonably expected to have flowers at the service, receive a "thank you" from the deceased's family, have the service conclude and only then, seven hours after the fact, complain and ask for a full refund.

If this was a restaurant, it would be the same as completely eating a meal and when presented with the bill, refusing to pay because the portion was too small. If the customer was dissatisfied, she could have easily and discretely contacted us or the florist either from the funeral home or on her way to the church services. This service was held in a very small (pop. approximately 8,800) rural town (as previously mentioned the funeral director knows the customer) serviced by only two florists so it would not have been difficult to complain in a more timely fashion.

We always stand behind our product with confidence and take great pride in the level of service we have provided the public for years as evidenced by our A+ BBB rating. We also have a responsibility to our florists to insure that when they properly fill an order to value, that they are paid for their services.

This customer received exactly what she paid for (according to both the florist AND the funeral director); delayed making her initial complaint until after the services were completed (which made picking up the basket impossible) and still wants a refund. With all due respects, we can not comply with her request.  








 

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

I am not sure why this company believes I am hung up on the basket when in fact it was the amount of flowers and the width and height that I am complaining about.  This is absoluately ridiculous that this company things I would know or even care what type of basket, it was the height and the dimensions that the advertisied flowers were supposed to be.  They were not 24" high, and they were not 20" wide.  The flowers were minimal, and were not worth the money I paid.  Flowers All Over advertises a 'unconditional money back guarantee', which I fell within those guidelines, and they are being totally ridiculous to think I am going to reach over to a funeral basket, in front of the casket where the deceased was, and look at the card that was there and what florist sent these flowers.  It is correct, this location is is a small town, but I just googled Florists, with the City and State of Carbondale, PA - and there were over 25 locations that came up within the 20 mile radius.  There are not only 2 florists as this person from Flowers All Over claims. 

Also, they contacted the funeral director, Mr. ******* [not ******] - need to do a little more homework; and we do not personally know each other.  He knows my sister, because his sister and my sister played sports together about 35 years ago.  I actually had to tell him who I was, so this claim is false as well.  I do not and never have personally know this funeral director or his family, I know of them.  Also, I would like to break this timeframe down for you, because for some reason Flowers All Over believes I waited an unreasonable amount of time to contact them.  When in fact, their response time to me, was extremely long.  I arrived at the funeral home at about 8:15 am, and was thanked for the flowers - there were only 6 arrangments there, including mine [which was the smallest of them all].  So of course, someone will thank you, they do that even when you do not send anything - it is typcial or at least it is in Pennsylvania to thank people for attending a funeral services, and especially for sending flowers, food, etc.  We left there and went to the church, and then to the cemetary for the mass and burial.  Then back to the funeral home where they had a gathering for people afterwards.  I do not own an Iphone and cannot look up this information, I was not going to go back into the funeral home and look for the cards, and assumed that the flowers would have been given to the family, or brought to the cemetary - like they usually are.  If I knew they were going to throw them away, I probably would not have sent them to begin with. 

I actually just found out know that nothing was done with the flowers, until this person just said something.  I have never known that the flowers from a funeral are thrown out and not brought to the cemetary.  Needless to say, as soon as I got home, I called up the "1-800" because up until I got home, I still did not have their phone number, or any knowledge of what florist sent these flowers.  Then I was told to send the email, copy attached which was sent on 7/25/2012 @ 12:26:49.  I am not sure why they are saying I contacted them 7 hours later, this is also false.  As you can see, there is a pattern of this company stating or accusing false information; which I would like to point out.  I was not contacted by the florist, even though my cell phone and home phone were on the order, if they were going to make any changes to this arrangement.  And as you can see from the reply, from this company, the florist did put this in a smaller basket, which made the overall arrangment small than what was depicted and advertised. 

Apparently they are just trying to convience themselves that they did nothing wrong, when in fact they did.  This was not what I ordered, which was clearly acknowledged, it was smaller than what was advertised - and I was not happy with this arrangement, and contacted them immediately to fix the issue.  PLEASE, this was a funeral, do you really think I am going to take a picture of the flowers, which were right next to the casket, as I was asked over the phone; OR do you think I was going to reach over and take the envelope from the card to see what florist sent this arrangment.  The comments are ridiculous and totally obsurd.  The only thing they florist got right, was the color - NOTHING ELSE.  This was not what I ordered!

 

 

Business Response: The customer initially contacted us was by telephone on July 24th at 3:05 PM ET. She was asked to send an email expressing her concerns which was sent to us at 3:27 PM ET.; seven and 1/2 hours after the services had begun and well after the flowers had been disposed of.  This seems to be the only item that can be documented (and is not someone's "opinion") and even on this point there can be no agreement as she claims to have sent the email at 12:26:49; three hours earlier.

We have both a certified florist and the funeral director that tell us one thing and a customer telling us another. The "proof" would have been the offending arrangement which could have been easily picked up (and fully refunded) if the customer called us earlier.  Time is of the essence when you are dealing with a perishable or with sympathy flowers. The fact is that she waited until the product was discarded before complaining; therefore severely limiting our options.



Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

I do not care if it were *** himself that made this arrangement, or a certified florist - this is not the arrangement that I ordered and I have a ** year old *********-woman, along with several other people that can tell you that this arrangement was not what I ordered and also much smaller than the dimensions listed.  Please send a copy of what the arrangement was supposed to look like and you will get a totally different answer from the funeral director.  This arrangement was no were near the size of what I ordered.  Also, the email and time stamp came right from my computer, in my sent items.  I am in pa and I do not believe there is a time difference unless the time zones in pa and am changed.  I SENT the email when I got home from the funeral, I am not sure how else to explain this.  WHEN I GOT HOME I CONTACTED YOU IMMEDIATELY.  When someone dies it is not a drive-thru service, you spend time with the family to comfort them.  I called within you required guidelines and explained the situation.  It is as clear as that.  I was not satisfied with what was sent, and it was not what I ordered, and was much smaller than what was described.  How would I know what happened to the flowers, just like anyone else, they would go to the cemetery to be put on the grave or to the families home.  


 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.