Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Ruggieri Carpet One Floor & Home

Phone: (401) 942-1700 Fax: (401) 463-5945 View Additional Phone Numbers 1191 Pontiac Ave, Cranston, RI 02920 http://www.ruggiericarpetonecranston.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Ruggieri Flooring, Inc. sells and installs tile, carpet and custom flooring.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ruggieri Carpet One Floor & Home meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Ruggieri Carpet One Floor & Home include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Ruggieri Carpet One Floor & Home
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 01, 1998 Business started: 01/01/1949 Business started locally: 01/01/1949 Business incorporated 02/04/1991 in RI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Rhode Island Contractors Registration and Licensing Board
1 Capitol Hill, Providence RI 02908
http://www.crb.state.ri.us/contact/index.php
Phone Number: (401)-222-1268 or TDD: (401)-222-6334
Fax Number: 401-222-1940
ricrb@doa.ri.gov
The number is 6782.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Paul Ruggieri, President Mr. Bernie Mallon, Sales Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Paul Ruggieri, President
Number of Employees

8

Business Category

CUSTOM FLOORING TILE-CERAMIC-DEALERS TILE-CERAMIC-CONTRACTORS & DEALERS TILE & GROUT-CLEANING & RESTORATION TERRAZZO ORIENTAL RUGS FLOOR MATERIALS FLOOR INSPECTION CARPET LAYERS CARPET & RUG DEALERS-NEW Floor Covering Stores (NAICS: 442210)

Products & Services

Ruggieri Carpet One Floor & Home sells the following brand(s): Bellisima Tile, Bigelow, Green Select, Mirror Lake Laminate, Rustic River Hardwood

Ruggieri Carpet One Floor & Home offers the following product(s): Carpet, Green Floors, Hardwood, Laminate, Tile, Vinyl

Hours of Operation
M: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
T: 9:00 AM - 5:30 PM
W: 9:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Th: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
F: 9:00 AM - 5:30 PM
S: 9:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Su: 12:00 PM - 4:30 PM
Method(s) of Payment
Mastercard
Visa
Discover
American Express
Service Area
Ruggieri Carpet One Floor & Home provides their services in RHODE ISLAND.
Alternate Business Names
Ruggieri Brothers
Industry Tips
27 Questions For Home Owners Carpet & Rug Cleaning Services Carpets and Rugs

Additional Locations

  • 1191 Pontiac Ave

    Cranston, RI 02920 (888) 748-7161 (401) 942-1700

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/10/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ruggieri’s claimed floor had issue of “mold” and referred to “seepage of water or some moisture from a tropical source, such as snow boots or moisture from an entrance.” Nationwide found no damage sustained to kitchen floor. “No evidence of water intrusion to your kitchen floor.” Ruggieri’s employee removed piece of the floor on 2/28/14, floor was repaired on 4/29/2014.

Desired Settlement: The whole floor $2561.20 because of no guarantee, no warranty because Ruggieri’s employee removed piece of flooring on 2/28/14 and claimed (see above complaint) Nationwide found no damage.

Business Response: We are not aware of any current issues Mrs. ********** is experiencing. Not aware of any warranty or guarantee issues as well. Ruggieri Carpet One repaired at no additional expense to Mrs. ********** her laminate flooring. At this time, I have no idea what her request is currently. The laminate flooring was left in pristine condition when repaired. There were no additional evidence of any mold or mildew from any trapped moisture from any outside source. This case has been rectified and closed since last spring.
Regards, **** ********,  President, Ruggieri Carpet One.
 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below.  I have sent all the records to the BBB regarding this flooring matter. Mr. ******** is well aware of what happened with the Armstrong floor his company installed.  The floor is not warranted or guaranteed, because a ********'s installer took a piece and flooring and ********'s Floor claimed issues (mold etc.) to the floor.  Nationwide Insurance found the claim from ********'s Flooring to be  wrong.  Now, I'm left with a floor that I have to replace in two years and Mr. ******** claims that he knows nothing about the situation after numerous complaints.  This is very unprofessional and obvious Mr. ******** is not concerned about customer satisfaction.   If this is how ********;s Flooring treats customer the BBB should take action immediately.? Regards, ******** **********  

Business Response: What is this lady talking about???? Her homeowners insurance with Nationwide has nothing to do with her manufactures warranties. She has no further issues we corrected them for her at no cost to her. The small amount of mold was removed and new material replaced, the floor was not installed with mold on it. The issues then were caused my her negligence and we corrected those issues... We stood by her and helped her rectify her problem area.   She has no problem now!!!!  So please ask her to close the book on this issue... She just is not happy with her flooring choice in which there is nothing I can do to resolve. Regards, **** ********, President    Ruggieri Carpet One

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Regards, ******** **********    

3/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In early November, 2013, I visited Ruggieri Flooring, Inc. to review and select carpeting for an estimate to be provided to carpet the stairwells and landings in my home. The sales person who assisted me was ***** *********** whose contact information includes an email address of *****@ruggieriflooring.com. Mr. *********** came to my home on November 7, 2013 to measure for the carpeting and review the area that was to be carpeted. On or about November 20, 2013, he provided me with a written estimate that included specific installation instructions, e.g. a New York style installation. As the contract specified the charge of a stocking fee for cancelling the contract, I specifically contacted Mr. *********** to ascertain what a “New York style” installation was BEFORE I placed my order to ensure that it was the specific type of installation that I was looking for. Having secured the information I needed, I placed the order with Mr. *********** and gave him a $1,100 deposit. The installers arrived on December 9 to make the installation. Upon review of the staircases that were to be carpeted, they determined that they could not install the carpet as I contracted for because the stair treads were not of even size; some did not have enough room to effect the installation I had contracted for. The installation that they could potentially offer me would have resulted in a result that I did not want nor would I have ordered had I known in advance that what I wanted wasn't possible. Unfortunately, Mr. *********** made an error in his estimation and review of the project. That was apparent to all of us. On December 9, I sent the installers away and promptly called Ruggieri Flooring to cancel my order because they were unable to honor the installation I had bargained for. Later that afternoon, one of the owners of the company, **** Ruggieri, called me to attempt to persuade me to accept an alternative installation. Although he was not at my home when the above referenced conversation with the installers took place nor has he ever been to my home, he completely mischaracterized the nature of the conversation and the discussion that was had with the installers. His purpose was to bully me into accepting an alternative installation that I neither wanted, trusted, nor contracted for. The alternative was for me to lose a certain portion of my deposit despite the fact that this was his company's mistake. Mr. *********** expressed to me that he was in the room with Mr. Ruggieri when our conversation took place and was so embarrassed by what had transpired that he immediately called me back on his cell phone to apologize and as a representative of the company, promised me that I would get my entire deposit back. He acknowledged to me on more than one occasion that my cancellation was not a matter of changing my mind but rather, his company’s inability to effect the installation I bargained for. On or about December 20, 2013, I received the refund check from Ruggieri, but it was not for the full amount. $274 had been deducted from it despite Mr. **********’s representation that I would receive a full refund. Since that time, Mr. ********** has been trying to get me the balance of my money back but he has been unsuccessful. Ruggieri Carpeting in wrongfully witholding $274. I have copies of emails and cancelled checks to substantiate my claim.

Desired Settlement: I want my full deposit refunded and the balance of $274 refunded to me.

Business Response: The customer who is an interior designer, who should have know the differences between a waterfall installation or a NY Style capping installation totally surprised me that she did not know the apparent difference when asked her preference of installation.    The customers  stairway / stair treads were not evenly placed where some stairs had more of a nose overlap than other stairs. I strongly recommended a waterfall method of installation which is the most common method. A waterfall method can achieve the same effect only that it is not tightly wrapped under the front nose of the step and tacked in place. We could have installed the carpet waterfall method and at the bottom of the nose, tack in the sides to give it the appearance of the stair nose protrusions to be more even.   She would not even give us the opportunity to show her a sample look on how we could achieve this installation. The customer would not except our explanation or really give us any opportunity to make her happy. She was determined to just cancel the special order.   The customer placed  a special purchase of a non cancellable carpet. Cancellations and handeling fees come with a cost which I applied to her refunded initial deposit. It is her perogative to cancel an order and not accept an installation but it is not without consequential cost to both her or ourselves as a retailer. We have also clearly posted in our showroom our cancellation policy to circumvent issues like this customer.    As previously stated, an attempt was made by Ruggieri Flooring to make this installtion pleasant, but the customer was resistant. We did not want to proceed with an installation as originally contacted and have them disappointed with the final appearance.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

Attached to this response is a copy of my contract.  The fact of the matter is that I contracted for a specific installation, a New York style installation.  I made specific strides to ensure that the installation I was after was possible BEFORE I placed the order.  Unfortunately, the vendor's representative did not properly assess the situation when he came to measure, making that installation impossible.  A copy of the email to Mr. ********** explaining the problem and the need to cancel the order is also attached.  I did not contract for a waterfall or any other type of installation, and was unwilling to accept the substitute that this vendor tried to force me to accept That is my prerogative, contractually and otherwise.  Had I known that I was unable to obtain the installation style I wanted, I never would have placed the order.  It is really that simple.  They are now trying to penalize me for their error and for not accepting "their" substitute. The contract speaks for itself.  Mr. ********** understood that and not only represented to me that I would receive a full refund but, as evidenced by the last email attached, it was obvious that he kept trying to do so.  He would not have done so had I simply changed my mind about the order or cancelled on a whim.       

Business Response: Mrs. ********** can still have her installation as contracted, but she as an interior designer should clearly know how it will appear after it is completed. Mr. & Mrs *********, who have walked these stairs many times over the years of living at their residence never question our measurer or raised concern to the measurer as to the appearance of a carpet installed. Most designers as she is claimed to be usually works with a very keen eye, Our very best installers brought it to light prior to installation. They know what their final work would look like and they wanted it to be nothing short of their best abilities.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

We seem to keep going around in circles.  I contracted for a specific installation because Ruggieri's representative told me, in advance, upon his inspection that it was possible.  As it turned out, the installers determined that it was not.  Of course I know what it would look like for them to proceed nonetheless under the circumstances.  And therefore it was rejected.  Had Ruggieri informed me before I placed the order that it would not be possible, I would not have contracted with them.  It is that simple.  Whether I am a design professional or not, is irrelevant.  Mr. ********** promised me the return of my full refund under the circumstances and I have every reason to expect it.