Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Ruggieri Carpet One Floor & Home?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Ruggieri Carpet One Floor & Home

Phone: (401) 942-1700 Fax: (401) 463-5945 View Additional Phone Numbers 1191 Pontiac Ave, Cranston, RI 02920 http://www.ruggiericarpetonecranston.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Ruggieri Flooring, Inc. sells and installs tile, carpet and custom flooring.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ruggieri Carpet One Floor & Home meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Ruggieri Carpet One Floor & Home include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Ruggieri Carpet One Floor & Home
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 01, 1998 Business started: 01/01/1949 Business started locally: 01/01/1949 Business incorporated: 02/04/1991 in RI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Rhode Island Contractors Registration and Licensing Board
1 Capitol Hill, Providence RI 02908
http://www.crb.ri.us
Phone Number: (401)-222-1268 or TDD: (401)-222-6334
Fax Number: 401-222-1940
ricrb@doa.ri.gov
The number is 6782.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Paul Ruggieri, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Paul Ruggieri, President
Number of Employees

8

Business Category

CUSTOM FLOORING TILE-CERAMIC-DEALERS TILE-CERAMIC-CONTRACTORS & DEALERS TILE & GROUT-CLEANING & RESTORATION TERRAZZO ORIENTAL RUGS FLOOR MATERIALS FLOOR INSPECTION CARPET LAYERS CARPET & RUG DEALERS-NEW Floor Covering Stores (NAICS: 442210)

Products & Services

Ruggieri Carpet One Floor & Home sells the following brand(s): Bellisima Tile, Bigelow, Green Select, Mirror Lake Laminate, Rustic River Hardwood

Ruggieri Carpet One Floor & Home offers the following product(s): Carpet, Green Floors, Hardwood, Laminate, Tile, Vinyl

Hours of Operation
M: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
T: 9:00 AM - 5:30 PM
W: 9:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Th: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
F: 9:00 AM - 5:30 PM
S: 9:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Su: 12:00 PM - 4:30 PM
Method(s) of Payment
Mastercard
Visa
Discover
American Express
Service Area
Ruggieri Carpet One Floor & Home provides their services in RHODE ISLAND.
Alternate Business Names
Ruggieri Brothers
Industry Tips
27 Questions For Home Owners Carpet & Rug Cleaning Services Carpets and Rugs

Additional Locations

  • 1191 Pontiac Ave

    Cranston, RI 02920 (888) 748-7161 (401) 942-1700

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 748-7161(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/10/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ruggieri’s claimed floor had issue of “mold” and referred to “seepage of water or some moisture from a tropical source, such as snow boots or moisture from an entrance.” Nationwide found no damage sustained to kitchen floor. “No evidence of water intrusion to your kitchen floor.” Ruggieri’s employee removed piece of the floor on 2/28/14, floor was repaired on 4/29/2014.

Desired Settlement: The whole floor $2561.20 because of no guarantee, no warranty because Ruggieri’s employee removed piece of flooring on 2/28/14 and claimed (see above complaint) Nationwide found no damage.

Business Response: We are not aware of any current issues Mrs. ********** is experiencing. Not aware of any warranty or guarantee issues as well. Ruggieri Carpet One repaired at no additional expense to Mrs. ********** her laminate flooring. At this time, I have no idea what her request is currently. The laminate flooring was left in pristine condition when repaired. There were no additional evidence of any mold or mildew from any trapped moisture from any outside source. This case has been rectified and closed since last spring.
Regards, **** ********,  President, Ruggieri Carpet One.
 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below.  I have sent all the records to the BBB regarding this flooring matter. Mr. ******** is well aware of what happened with the Armstrong floor his company installed.  The floor is not warranted or guaranteed, because a ********'s installer took a piece and flooring and ********'s Floor claimed issues (mold etc.) to the floor.  Nationwide Insurance found the claim from ********'s Flooring to be  wrong.  Now, I'm left with a floor that I have to replace in two years and Mr. ******** claims that he knows nothing about the situation after numerous complaints.  This is very unprofessional and obvious Mr. ******** is not concerned about customer satisfaction.   If this is how ********;s Flooring treats customer the BBB should take action immediately.? Regards, ******** **********  

Business Response: What is this lady talking about???? Her homeowners insurance with Nationwide has nothing to do with her manufactures warranties. She has no further issues we corrected them for her at no cost to her. The small amount of mold was removed and new material replaced, the floor was not installed with mold on it. The issues then were caused my her negligence and we corrected those issues... We stood by her and helped her rectify her problem area.   She has no problem now!!!!  So please ask her to close the book on this issue... She just is not happy with her flooring choice in which there is nothing I can do to resolve. Regards, **** ********, President    Ruggieri Carpet One

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Regards, ******** **********    

3/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In early November, 2013, I visited Ruggieri Flooring, Inc. to review and select carpeting for an estimate to be provided to carpet the stairwells and landings in my home. The sales person who assisted me was ***** *********** whose contact information includes an email address of *****@ruggieriflooring.com. Mr. *********** came to my home on November 7, 2013 to measure for the carpeting and review the area that was to be carpeted. On or about November 20, 2013, he provided me with a written estimate that included specific installation instructions, e.g. a New York style installation. As the contract specified the charge of a stocking fee for cancelling the contract, I specifically contacted Mr. *********** to ascertain what a “New York style” installation was BEFORE I placed my order to ensure that it was the specific type of installation that I was looking for. Having secured the information I needed, I placed the order with Mr. *********** and gave him a $1,100 deposit. The installers arrived on December 9 to make the installation. Upon review of the staircases that were to be carpeted, they determined that they could not install the carpet as I contracted for because the stair treads were not of even size; some did not have enough room to effect the installation I had contracted for. The installation that they could potentially offer me would have resulted in a result that I did not want nor would I have ordered had I known in advance that what I wanted wasn't possible. Unfortunately, Mr. *********** made an error in his estimation and review of the project. That was apparent to all of us. On December 9, I sent the installers away and promptly called Ruggieri Flooring to cancel my order because they were unable to honor the installation I had bargained for. Later that afternoon, one of the owners of the company, **** Ruggieri, called me to attempt to persuade me to accept an alternative installation. Although he was not at my home when the above referenced conversation with the installers took place nor has he ever been to my home, he completely mischaracterized the nature of the conversation and the discussion that was had with the installers. His purpose was to bully me into accepting an alternative installation that I neither wanted, trusted, nor contracted for. The alternative was for me to lose a certain portion of my deposit despite the fact that this was his company's mistake. Mr. *********** expressed to me that he was in the room with Mr. Ruggieri when our conversation took place and was so embarrassed by what had transpired that he immediately called me back on his cell phone to apologize and as a representative of the company, promised me that I would get my entire deposit back. He acknowledged to me on more than one occasion that my cancellation was not a matter of changing my mind but rather, his company’s inability to effect the installation I bargained for. On or about December 20, 2013, I received the refund check from Ruggieri, but it was not for the full amount. $274 had been deducted from it despite Mr. **********’s representation that I would receive a full refund. Since that time, Mr. ********** has been trying to get me the balance of my money back but he has been unsuccessful. Ruggieri Carpeting in wrongfully witholding $274. I have copies of emails and cancelled checks to substantiate my claim.

Desired Settlement: I want my full deposit refunded and the balance of $274 refunded to me.

Business Response: The customer who is an interior designer, who should have know the differences between a waterfall installation or a NY Style capping installation totally surprised me that she did not know the apparent difference when asked her preference of installation.    The customers  stairway / stair treads were not evenly placed where some stairs had more of a nose overlap than other stairs. I strongly recommended a waterfall method of installation which is the most common method. A waterfall method can achieve the same effect only that it is not tightly wrapped under the front nose of the step and tacked in place. We could have installed the carpet waterfall method and at the bottom of the nose, tack in the sides to give it the appearance of the stair nose protrusions to be more even.   She would not even give us the opportunity to show her a sample look on how we could achieve this installation. The customer would not except our explanation or really give us any opportunity to make her happy. She was determined to just cancel the special order.   The customer placed  a special purchase of a non cancellable carpet. Cancellations and handeling fees come with a cost which I applied to her refunded initial deposit. It is her perogative to cancel an order and not accept an installation but it is not without consequential cost to both her or ourselves as a retailer. We have also clearly posted in our showroom our cancellation policy to circumvent issues like this customer.    As previously stated, an attempt was made by Ruggieri Flooring to make this installtion pleasant, but the customer was resistant. We did not want to proceed with an installation as originally contacted and have them disappointed with the final appearance.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

Attached to this response is a copy of my contract.  The fact of the matter is that I contracted for a specific installation, a New York style installation.  I made specific strides to ensure that the installation I was after was possible BEFORE I placed the order.  Unfortunately, the vendor's representative did not properly assess the situation when he came to measure, making that installation impossible.  A copy of the email to Mr. ********** explaining the problem and the need to cancel the order is also attached.  I did not contract for a waterfall or any other type of installation, and was unwilling to accept the substitute that this vendor tried to force me to accept That is my prerogative, contractually and otherwise.  Had I known that I was unable to obtain the installation style I wanted, I never would have placed the order.  It is really that simple.  They are now trying to penalize me for their error and for not accepting "their" substitute. The contract speaks for itself.  Mr. ********** understood that and not only represented to me that I would receive a full refund but, as evidenced by the last email attached, it was obvious that he kept trying to do so.  He would not have done so had I simply changed my mind about the order or cancelled on a whim.       

Business Response: Mrs. ********** can still have her installation as contracted, but she as an interior designer should clearly know how it will appear after it is completed. Mr. & Mrs *********, who have walked these stairs many times over the years of living at their residence never question our measurer or raised concern to the measurer as to the appearance of a carpet installed. Most designers as she is claimed to be usually works with a very keen eye, Our very best installers brought it to light prior to installation. They know what their final work would look like and they wanted it to be nothing short of their best abilities.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

We seem to keep going around in circles.  I contracted for a specific installation because Ruggieri's representative told me, in advance, upon his inspection that it was possible.  As it turned out, the installers determined that it was not.  Of course I know what it would look like for them to proceed nonetheless under the circumstances.  And therefore it was rejected.  Had Ruggieri informed me before I placed the order that it would not be possible, I would not have contracted with them.  It is that simple.  Whether I am a design professional or not, is irrelevant.  Mr. ********** promised me the return of my full refund under the circumstances and I have every reason to expect it.  

8/13/2012 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered flooring from this business on teh 16th of July . I was told by my saleswoman - ***** ******** that it would be in on Monday the 23rd - she explained how the trucks come from Texas on Monday's and Thursday and the order would not make the Thursday shipment. I went back into the store on Saturday July 21rst to return a sample book - and the woman at the front desk - upon checking in the samples - said that she thought my order was in - checked in the computer and said that it had an ETA of the 21rst and she'd check in the back. I told her to call me if it was in so I could tell my contractor. She called me later that morning and told me that it was not in - but it would be on the Monday's truck (23rd) so alert my contractor. I told my contractor it would be in on the 23rd - he changed his schedule again. Come Monday the 23rd - my contractor called the office and was told the flooring was still not it. At this point I called my sales person and I called **** Ruggieri - the owner to express my concern. My Ruggieri told me in no uncertain terms, that no one should have told me that the product would come in in a week - that normal delivery was 2-3 weeks, that the product I ordered was one of his most popular lines and the sales people know that. I repeated to him what I was told on two occassions and he basically told me that it was untrue. Finally - the materials were due in yesterday, Monday July 30th. I went in to the showroom on Saturday , July 28th to make sure my Saleswoman, ***** had the matching cove base noted in the computer by style code and color so my contractor could pick that up on Monday with the rest of the order. ***** said that "this way anyone could help him since she would not be in early on Monday".. My contractor went to the store early Monday morning and went to the front desk and gave the woman the slip for the order of vinyl flooring and while she was handling that he told her that ***** had noted the color and stock number of the cove base that he was to pick up. He was told that "no one can help you with that since ***** is not in" He asked again, knowing that I had told him that is was already in the system, and the woman told him again that no one could help him - he would have to come back when ***** was in. He went back at 3:00 that day and ***** was in and she was able to get the cove base for him and she was surprised that he was coming in so late in the day. Needless to say - he did not finish my job yesterday and was totally put off by the way he was handled. My contractor has been in business for some time and had never had the amount of headaches he's had with my little job. I went back into the store last night (7/30) to talk to *****. I asked her to step away from the desk as there was another young lady at the counter. I told ***** what had transpired and she was shocked to hear that that is what happened. She reiterated that she did not know why anyone couldn't have helped my contractor in the morning since all was in my customer screen on the computer. No one even offered to look. I feel the showroom could have called me - I had the stock number, called ***** - or looked in their own computer. I drafted a letter to **** Ruggieri last nite and emailed it to him. This morning he called me with a very argumentative attitude and basically called me and my contractor liars!. He said he simply does not believe that happened yesterday - he even said that he has dealt with "so and so" before - alluding to my contractor - yet the name that he mentioned IS NOT my contractor. He talked over me and wished me "good luck" with any complaint. His attitude was cocky and he kept talking over me and telling me that he did not believe that any of this happened. They have been in business for years in Cranston - that does not give them the right to bully a customer and give them poor customer service. ***** ******** has been very helpful and very concerned about my dissapointment with this order - yet the owner of the company lacked any concern and actually placed the blame on me and my contractor. Very POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE and I plan to let anyone I talk to know of my experience with them

Desired Settlement: I had written, in my email to Mr Ruggieri that I thought he could "eat the cost" of my small job or make some ammends. Not only did he not offer anything to that end - he did not even get close to an apology for the way I told him I was handled!

Business Response: We unfortunately have a customer, who is also a very satisfied repeat customer who had some issues in reference to delivery date of her ordered vinyl flooring. The vinyl flooring came from the manufacturer from Georgia and not from Texas.
From time of initial order processing, cutting, wrapping and shipping, delivery normally takes approximately two weeks, very rarely less than two weeks. She said she ordered it on the 16TH of July, we received it on Friday the 27th which was 11 days and her contactor and his installer picked it up on Monday morning the 30th of July. Her contractor and his installer in which we know personallynever came into the showroom but did meet one of our sales associates in our warehouse as she was entering to begin her day of work. The installer greeted her with a kiss and reviewed the order he gave her. The order ***** ********* gave to her contractor did not have any additional moldings listed but our associate was willing to help. Everyone was very cordial and they decided to return to our showroom later in the day for the vinyl base molding. The vinyl base molding is the very last item to be applied after the installation of the vinyl and not needed before and would not pre-empt the installation process. ***** ********* lives approximately 5 minutes from the showroom and it would not be an out of the way trip for the installer to return.

The installer had no reason not to install her floor as she expected, he was her installer not Ruggieri's. She is apparently upset that the total renovation process is taking longer than she expected.. not Ruggieri's fault. Most times when you renovate, the process does indeed take longer than expected because of unexpected snags. ***** ********* is bitter and trying to put the entire blame on Ruggieri's. She could of not waited until the last minute to place an order and she would have received it before her scheduled installation. Our entire staff is well known for their great caring assistance to our customers and how we do our best to satisfy everyone. ***** ********* is a very unreasonable and bitter person that needs to get all her facts  straight before she puts blame on Ruggieri Flooring Inc.

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

I would love to know who the contractor that Mr Ruggieri is referring to - they don't know my contractor personally - having never dealt with him before - My contractor did not meet anyone with a "kiss" totally absurd - I think Mr Ruggieri may have his contractors confused.....I am NOT a repeat customer - although my mother had bought from this establishment when the current Mr Ruggieri's father owned the firm.

I resent being termed "bitter person" by a business owner who has never even met with me and was quite argumentative and agressive towards me when we talked on the phone. I find this to border on lible and may - since this is in print - show it to an attorney.

The placing of the blame on my contractor is just avoiding the truth and has nothing to do with my complaint about the lack of service I received and the inconsistent information I was told.

If anything, I thought that a reputable business person would respond to a customer with a calmer and more positive demeanor and least offer an apology for me "feeling that I was slighted" even if he did not feel the same way. The fact that he has "manufactured" a story - that does not even elude to the same contractor with such drama enflames the situation even more.  I would like a copy of all this correspondence should I decide to take further action.



 

Business Response: I am very sorry that ***** ********* feels that she was treated unfairly or with the lack of respect that she feels she received. It is not only my understanding but also comments from our associates who worked with her contractor with which
I have written. Never at any time were her contractor or his installer treated inappropriately. She was never able to give a reason why as to what happened after her men picked up her vinyl flooring the morning of July 30th and why it was not installed that day.Her installer had more than ample time to have it completed for her. He apparently had another reason not to installer it that day which is not my concern. ***** ********* is trying to put the blame on Ruggieri Flooring for no reason. As I said in an earlier comment, we supplied the product which required us to create a special order for ***** *********, we were not contracted to do the installation. If we were I would not have scheduled an installation until I knew for sure that we had the material at our warehouse facility. Hopefully it it now installed to her satisfaction. I do know that the installer was unfamiliar with the product and asked our associate about installation... ***** ********* it's time you let things rest and carry on with knowing that you are one of the more fortunate to have the ability to have something new were other are less fortunate and also have good health to also enjoy where again many people do not... Life is to short to be angry enjoy all that our good God has afforded us. Be well and stop this non-sense.

Regards,
**** Ruggieri, President Ruggieri Flooring Inc.