This business is not BBB accredited.

Don Dickel Wood Floors

Additional Locations

Phone: (207) 223-4955 128 Main Street, Winterport, ME 04496 http://www.dondickelfloors.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Don Dickel Wood Floors specializes in the installation, repair and design of hard and soft wood floors.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Don Dickel Wood Floors include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Don Dickel Wood Floors
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 12, 2004 Business started: 01/01/1989 in ME Business incorporated 03/26/2003 in ME
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Don Dickel, Partner Ms. Abbie Thompson, Partner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Don Dickel, Partner
Principal: Ms. Abbie Thompson, Partner
Number of Employees

4

Business Category

FLOOR LAYING, REFINISHING & RESURFACING CARPET & RUG DEALERS-USED CUSTOM FLOORING HARDWOOD FLOOR CONTRACTORS CONTRACTORS- FLOORING CARPET & RUG DEALERS - PERSIAN/ORIENTAL RUGS HARDWOOD FLOOR MAINTENANCE FLOORS - LAMINATE FLOOR COVERINGS & INSTALLATION FLOOR RESURFACING FLOOR REMOVAL, RESURFACING AND REFINISHING FLOOR REFINISHING FLOOR HARDWOOD Flooring Contractors (NAICS: 238330)

Service Area
Don Dickel Wood Floors provides their services in MAINE.
Alternate Business Names
Dickel Floor Corp.
Industry Tips
27 Questions For Home Owners Carpet & Rug Cleaning Services Carpets and Rugs Finding a Reliable General Contractor - 5 Tips - Video Hiring a Carpenter Home Improvement Projects - 5 Tips - Video Read Before You Sign Remodeling & Renovation Contractors

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    128 Main Street

    Winterport, ME 04496 (207) 223-4955

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 118

    Winterport, ME 04496

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/16/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife and I hired Don Dickel to refinish our downstairs. The floors still had issues that were supposed to be fixed but afterwards we were told that those issues (black spot near fridge, spaces in livingroom) were as good as they will get. We paid them even though we were not really happy. Within a month, the floors began separating at seams causing huge gaps. The so-called finish that was supposed to be applied looked worn off completely. Our floors are all scratched despite precautions. We were told we had a one year warranty but when we tried to contact Don Dickels we were told we would receive a call - NO call. We wrote numerous emails to which we got no response. We are so disappointed with our floors. They look so much worse now than they ever did.

Desired Settlement: all we ever wanted was to receive what we paid for- NOT to be stuck hiring another company

Business Response: When the initial estimate was done I found dog urine near a planter/jar in the living room.  The customer said as he pointed to multiple dogs outside his sliding door but one in particular “its him”.  I explained the finish I suggested would help, but dog urine cannot sit.  I also told him that water based finishes look different than oil based finishes.  But I felt that they needed the extra protection to help protect his floor from the dog wetting issue.  I did not say the finish would hold up to endless and long laying puddles of urine.  The urine would have to be cleaned up, not left laying.  When drafting the contract I made sure to mention clean up for just this reason.  Mr. ******** signed my contract. Before the work began I spent a long time on the estimate answering questions.  My concern wasn’t my finish holding up under reasonable circumstances, it was if the homeowner could get used to the different look of water based over the oil based.  While the work was being done the homeowner had concerns on the agreed upon finish.  I explained that water based finish lays lower in the wood and doesn’t look thick and goopy like the old oil based finishes.  I offered to put oil based on the floor.  He said no, the water based was fine.  The crew continued.  When we finished, the floor was beautiful.  We didn’t hear another word from the customer but….we had a difficult time collecting the final payment.  I had to make multiple calls.  Finally after weeks and weeks of trying, we got our payment. We didn’t hear anything from Mr. ******** until two weeks ago when we were mentioned on an abstract consumer website that linked to facebook called www.rippedoff.com which didn’t leave a name only initials.  We had no idea who wrote the article.  Slowly we are putting things together.  We got a call late fall from a male how left a partial message saying something to the effect :Hey these floors aren’t holdin’ up!”  No name, no number. We have a program with a local high school with students manning our phones and gaining proper business experience.  They take and record phone calls during the day and from the voice mail.  I looked back through the phone log and we got a call from someone who didn’t leave name or number.  Now we get this, absolutely bizarre claim.  Besides Mr. ******** saying he wasn’t happy with the finish we put on his floors, the other claims don’t make sense.  All we did was sand and finish his wood floors.  We didn’t install them.  Gaps and cracks can’t be caused by what we did.  They can be caused on installation or by expansion and contraction over the seasons in a house that settles or a floor that was miss laid.  We did not lay the floor.  It was down when we got there. On my site estimate, I saw normal expansion cracks throughout the floor but nothing huge and nothing we could have done.  I don’t promote filling them.   I suggest you visit this mans house unannounced and see for yourself what the floor might go through.  Considering his strange and harsh claims we will not go back to the house because it is a hostile and strange situation.  With the work we put into discussion before we sand and how the floor looked with a product we use in restaurant, I feel we can’t offer any more to this person and considering his approach, we don’t wish to associate with him. Our track record speaks for itself.  We have been in business since 1983.  We have a good reputation.  We are human and are not perfect, but do right by our customers ESPECIALLY if it is our fault.  Mr. ******** wanted a floor that held up like concrete but looked like wood.  We took the time and explain the product, sanded the floor and produced a good end result and charged a fair wage for the work. Mr. ******** couldn't get used to the look of the light commercial water based finish and I suspect has allowed his pets to have their way with it.  We can’t change his lifestyle or train his pets for him. I try to avoid disappointed customers and be as careful as I can explaining work we do. Sincerely, ***** ********

Consumer Response:



I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

First of all, the floors have nothing to do with supposed dog urine. The ENTIRE area that was refinished have huge gaps, warping, and waves. Dickel flooring is just trying to make us appear as if we did something wrong in maintaining floors. We did have a couple spots from our 2 pound dogs that were resolved. Our complaint is that the ENTIRE floors and not specific spots. For instance, the huge black spot and gap at fridge that Dickel claimed they would sand and fix is STILL there.
Also, we most certainly did contact Don Dickel numerous times via email and phone. Our calls and emails were NEVER returned. Also, we had lived in home for 2-3 years prior to hiring Dickel and the floors were not totally warped with HUGE gaps. This problem only occurred AFTER we hired Dickel floors. I am not an expert on hardwood floors but considering the floor was not warped and full of huge gaps prior to hiring Dickel flooring, it is only obvious that our floors were never sealed or stained properly.  When we hired Dickel we specifically pointed out a small area near the stairs that looked a little warped and we were told that this would be smooth like new after refinishing. This small area that had NOTHING whatsoever to do with dogs is now how our ENTIRE floors are.  
In conclusion, it is clear from the lack of response by Don Dickel as well as their false claims trying to blame our problems on dog issues, that Don Dickel has NEVER honored their warrantee or backed their work. And we invite ANYBODY to come into our home at ANY time and see for themselves that the floors are horrible with NO problem pertaining to dogs.  In fact, our dogs are never even on the floors in question.  I just want to add that all we ever wanted was to get our floors refinished. If the huge gaps and warps are not the result of Don Dickel not applying proper sealants then why did our floors NOT have these obvious and severe issues PRIOR to hiring Don Dickel?   We are not unreasonable people and we have grown frustrated and anger at watching our floors warp more and more and spaces grow and grow. We felt our only recourse was to try and complain considering we were NEVER given any reply from our NUMEROUS attempts to contact Don Dickel.(and shame on them for trying to blame problems on dogs when DOn Dickel flooring knows that the problem is NOT at al related to dog urine. Had DOn Dickel given us enough respect to come over and see problems, they would see for themselves the problems that occurred only after they refinished floors. We NEVER expected our money back or anything more than help from Don Dickel after we contacted them within 2 months of work. What did they expect us to do when they never returned our calls??
Thank you for your anticipated reply

Business Response: A floor buckling isn't a by product, end result or malfunction of a wood floor refinishing. Excessive moisture creates buckling.  Excessive moisture creates stains. Excessive moisture exposure creates wood to expand then dry out and then... gaps. Our work doesn't involve excessive moisture of any kind.  Situations like leaking water hoses on refrigerators or pipes cause excessive and long term exposure to water. Our company just sanded the floors and refinished them with a light commercial polyurethane. What we do doesn't create buckles!   It is a unrelated subject which Mr. ******** needs to know doesn't concern us.  All we can suggest regarding the buckling is check your pipes!   When estimates are done we never, absolutely never promise stains will be 100% removed. There are almost eight thousand customers in our data base.  They know  we do our bet but until we actually begin to refinish the wood floors we can't tell how deep the stain goes. The day the estimate was done..there was dog urine on the floor.   Please note Mr. ******** hasnt denied that fact.  It was enough of a concern for us that on the contract on line 6 we included that no finish will fight dog urine if left to set for extended periods of time.   The contract also said payment was requested on the last day.   Mr. ******** was not home on the last day.  Mr ******** signed the contact! We waited weeks for final payment which included multiple emails and phone calls.  Mr. ******** finally paid... and never mentioned one word of being unhappy with our work.    My name is ***** ********. I did the original estimate.  I stand behind my word and work and find it offensive that this was even given a chance to tarnish our company's reputation. When the contract was drafted I wrote it to emphasise my concerns. Even though light commercial finish wears really well in restaurants dog urine is another story.   Light commercial finish doesn't  let the dog urine set on the floor for long periods of time without staining and Mr. ******** was informed by me verbally several times (I had a hunch) and written into  his contract.   When we left Mr. ********s house the floor was terrific and Mr. ******** was without complaint.   We know how we left them.  Mr. ******** mentioned  in the BBB letter that he welcomed people to come to his home and look at his floor.   I suggest you do.  It will explain a lot.    Sincerely, ***** ********

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.  

First of all, Don Dickel has NEVER come to see what our issues are. They are trying to blame dogs for ruining ENTIRE downstairs when the rest of hardwood that was NOT touched by them is fine. Yes, when we 1st met with Dickel there were a couple small spots from dog and a water stain under friedge (which is STILL there). But, how can they claim WHAT is wrong considering they have NEVER contacted us after our repeated attempts to contact them? Also, in the very beginning we were ok with the floors even though they were never great. Our issus began within a couple months. We have watched the ENTIRE downstairs slowly buckle, warp, and HUGE separation between planks. The spaces have just grown due to floors NEVER being properly sealed. Dickel never even did under fridge and in at least one closet. Also, my wife poimted out to Don DIckel that the area at bottom of stairs had the edges a bit raised and the wood warped- which was an issue that had NOTHING to do with an animal- and they told us that these areas would be smooth when done...As of now there is NO finish on floors and they are warped, scratched, and they look like waves.  DOn Dickel floors cannot claim that dogs have caused our ENTIRE 1st floor is from dogs. If they had come over at least ONCE after our repeated attempts then they could see for themselves that dogs have NOTHING to do with problem....And, since they left we have done what DOn Dickel told us regarding cleaners. We also do not wear shoes on floors either....So, have them come here and they will see what the problems are and have been since merely a month after job complete instead of trying to blame it on dogs. (BTW- the dogs had NEVER EVER peed in the center of floors) Please have Don Dickel explain how dogs that have not peed in middles of each floor could cause damage??? Please come see---Had Don Dickel responded to us we would not have had to resort to complaining but our frustration has grown as we have watched our floors warp. Have them come here and point out to US how the dogs have ruined floors while the dogs are upstairs more than downstairs and the upstairs is completely fine. Only the floors that Dickel did are ruined. We are not out there to speak bad. We only wanted what we paid for and what we were told ew were paying for. Don Dickel should have backed their work by coming here and seeing what we are upset about instead of totally ignoring us and giving us NO recourse other than to complain. If it is due to dogs then COME SEE FOR YOURSELF before trying to make us look negligent. Thank you for your time. 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Don Dickel Wood Floors
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)