Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Able Wood Floors

Phone: (401) 521-1505 99 Mauran Street, Cranston, RI 02910 http://ablewoodfloorsinc.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Able Wood Floors specializes in floor installation, refinishing, staining, coating, restoration, tile floors and rip outs.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Able Wood Floors meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Able Wood Floors include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Able Wood Floors
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 01, 1996 Business started: 03/01/1995 in RI Business under new ownership as of: 05/14/1997
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Rhode Island Contractors Registration and Licensing Board
1 Capitol Hill, Providence RI 02908
http://www.crb.state.ri.us/contact/index.php
Phone Number: (401)-222-1268 or TDD: (401)-222-6334
Fax Number: 401-222-1940
ricrb@doa.ri.gov
The number is 12273.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Shirley Miller, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Shirley Miller, Owner
Number of Employees

1

Business Category

FLOOR COVERINGS-CARPET, LINOLEUM, CERAMIC TILE, & LAMINATE TILE-CERAMIC-DEALERS TILE-CERAMIC-CONTRACTORS & DEALERS TERRAZZO FLOOR LAYING, REFINISHING & RESURFACING FLOOR HARDWOOD CUSTOM FLOORING Flooring Contractors (NAICS: 238330)

Products & Services

Able Wood Floors offers the following product(s): Hardwood flooring

Hours of Operation
M: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
T: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
W: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Th: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
F: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
S: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Su: Closed
Method(s) of Payment
Check
Money Order
Service Area
Able Wood Floors provides their services in MASSACHUSETTS, RHODE ISLAND.
Industry Tips
27 Questions For Home Owners Carpets and Rugs Read Before You Sign

Additional Locations

  • 99 Mauran Street

    Cranston, RI 02910 (401) 521-1505

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I chose this company to refinish the hardwood floors in my home. The work completed in the first day was unacceptable with many deficiencies and damages. She sanded without dust barriers and cranked the air conditioning system that sucked in extensive sawdust. She applied stain without finish or hand sanding in many areas along walls, cabinets and stairs. She didn't level off a section that she acknowledged from the original site visit. She sheared off a cabinet drawer ***** and damaged the custom cabinet drawer face. She applied the stain to the floor without doing the stairs at the same time because they weren't done yet. All examples of poor workmanship. Now I am back to the beginning with the addition of damage repairs. A formal complaint shall be filled with the RI Contractor's Registration Board for restitution.

Desired Settlement: I expect all occurring expenses to be performed to clean my home, clean both central air condition systems including the blowers, evaporator coils and ductwork with air filters and restore the finish of the cabinet drawer face with a replacement ***** .

Business Response: I am the owner of Able Wood floors. On Aug 7, 2015 I went to a job on ** ***** *** **********. Customer signed a contract with on what I was doing! Sand & Stain kitchen area (dining room). Also take a sand two board next to a sliding door. Sand & stain steps and railings. Fri I finished sanding and staining floor . Told cost. My worker would be back on Sat to do rest of sanding and staining. Then on Fri night he called me about the boards from water damage that he never told about. I also told ***** that I would take care of a draw that I scratched. I told **** I would address problems on Mon. My workers came in Sat. He told them to sand them but don’t stain. So he got all of this for nothing. Job was $3000.00. His floor was very uneven. Fixed that problem! Customer Decided to put his own plastic up, which did meet the floor. I told him said “ah” . Also blaming me for his  a/c which he said he’d cover them with plastic and after said he forget. Also blamed me me for putting on a/c. I don’t touch hear or a/c. If we can’t resolve problem, I want money for what we did. He would not let me back in house to resolve problem. What can I do?

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: False Statement #1:I did not sign a contract. The price was handed to me on the back of a business card. I signed a 2 part form that was for the stain color in which she took my copy I had left on site.  False Statement #2:She fully acknowledged the uneven boards because she advised to replace them when I showed her. I showed her pictures of the hot water radiant heating warm board made of foil covered particle board that is underneath and swelled from water damage that caused the boards to lift. I made sure she knew I wanted it all sanded down even because of how excessive the work was to replace the warm board that is obsolete and would have to be custom fabricated. She agreed and said it wouldn't be a problem. False Statement #3:She did not offer to take care of the damaged drawer. She handed ***** the knob and said, "I hit it with the machine." My wife looked and asked, "What about the drawer?" Shirley replied, "I don't know if I did that, but if I did it was because your husband had the plastic too low." Then she handed ***** 2 touch up pens for us to try and fix it ourselves. It needs a professional repair. They are expensive custom cabinets. False Statement #4:Only sent 1 worker, not plural. Probably just a typo. False Statement #5:The plastic I put up was secured a few inches above the floor. Bad excuse to use the plastic I put up when she should have done it or altered it herself. False Statement #6:Yes, she is to blame for my A/C units. It's common sense. You don't start sanding without dust barriers? I put up all the plastic because I was afraid it wouldn't get done and I was right! I even reminded her that it must be covered first. I guess she expected me to do it for her and it wasn't her problem. In closing, I'm appalled at her response but not surprised. When she came to get the trailer she left parked in my driveway she called my cell and asked, "Are you hiding?" I replied, "What do you mean?" She said, "I know your in there." I replied, "No I'm not. I'm out having dinner." She said, "You F... Liar!" So I said laughing and said, "Why don't you come to ******* *** on ******* ****** *** ** ***** ********** and tell me that!" Then she hung up on me. WARNING... DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY. I have a picture of a toilet she broke on a job she was doing last week and didn't tell anyone. Her worker used the toilet and it spewed all over the freshly sanded floor under it. His worker refused to deal with the constant problems and quit his job. A real circus act! BEWARE! Regards, ****** *******    


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Able Wood Floors
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)