BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Eastern Massachusetts, Maine, Rhode Island and Vermont
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of USA Fitness & Spa Carver, Inc.?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

USA Fitness & Spa Carver, Inc.

Phone: (508) 866-3677 Fax: (508) 866-3988 160 No. Main Street, Carver, MA 02330 http://usafitnessspa.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Basket Ball, Boxing, Circuit Training, Group Fitness, Xergames, Personal Training, Cycling, Weight Training, Women's Only Fitness and Volleyball.  Classes include Bodypump, Zumba, Low Impact Conditioning, Cardio Kickboxing, Spin, Spin 101, Step/Weight Interval Training, 20/20/20, Mat Pilates, Fitness Yoga & Group Fitness 101.  In addition they have Chiropractor services by Dr. Arne Winn and Physical Therapy by Baystate Physical Therapy available on site as well as a Steam Room, Sauna, Programs for Kids and Day Care.  Memberships include Student, Single, Couple, Senior, Family, Military & Professional Discounts and Member Rewards Programs. 

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that USA Fitness & Spa Carver, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for USA Fitness & Spa Carver, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating

Factors that raised the rating for USA Fitness & Spa Carver, Inc. include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on USA Fitness & Spa Carver, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 21, 2012 Business started: 07/01/2010 in MA Business started locally: 07/01/2010 Business incorporated: 07/01/2010 in MA
Type of Entity

S Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Brian Clifford, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brian Clifford, President
Number of Employees

7

Business Category

FITNESS CENTERS PERSONAL TRAINER WEIGHT CONTROL SERVICES. BASKETBALL CLUBS BOXING GYM WOMENS HEALTH THERAPY Fitness and Recreational Sports Centers (NAICS: 713940)

Hours of Operation
See Website for Hours of Operation
Method(s) of Payment
Visa
MasterCard
Discover
Check
Cash
Alternate Business Names
USA Fitness
Industry Tips
Health Clubs Health Clubs - 5 Tips - Video Weight-Loss Promotions

Additional Locations

  • 160 No. Main Street

    Carver, MA 02330 (508) 866-3677

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/1/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I cancelled my gym membership in writing on May 7, 2013 and my last payment (direct debit from my checking account) was to be 6/15/13. On 7/15/13, USA Fitness debited my checking account in the amount of $29.99. I called them shortly after this date and informed them of the error. They said they would mail me a check. It never came. I followed up on this with them. In the meantime, on August 15, 2013 USA Fitness debited my account in the amount of $29.99. I contacted my bank (Citizens Bank)and reported both occurences of fraud. Citizens reimbursed me for both debits. However, I also a put hold on my account so that USA Fitness could no longer debit my account for 6 months and the fee for this service was $35. On 8/22/13, I received a check from USA Fitness in the amount of $29.99 for the debit of $29.99 from July 15th. I took the check to USA Fitness' bank (Rockland Trust) and was informed that the check was NSF.

Desired Settlement: I would like USA Fitness to send me a refund for the $35.00 hold fee that I had to put on my checking account in order for them to stop fraudulently debiting my checking account.

Business Response: Customer was overcharged one month by the billing company making a human error.  A check was issued for $29.99.  Customer was upset that 2 classes were cancelled off the schedule that she attended.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

USA Fitness continued to debit my checking account for 2 months after I cancelled my membership.  I was issued a check which could not be cashed because of insufficient funds.  I had to issue a stop payment on my checking account in order to stop USA Fitness from continuing to debit my account.  I never complained about any classes being cancelled.  This is simply not true.

Business Response:

The billing company did not bill ahead two months after cancelling her membership. It was one month and  the company issued a refund. Nsf is not true this is completely false. We are willing to offer the client the stop payment fee with her bank charged her due to a our billing company charging her for an additional month.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1