Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

USA Fitness & Spa Carver, Inc.

Phone: (508) 866-3677 Fax: (508) 866-3988 160 No. Main Street, Carver, MA 02330 http://usafitnesscenter.net



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Basket Ball, Boxing, Circuit Training, Group Fitness, Xergames, Personal Training, Cycling, Weight Training, Women's Only Fitness and Volleyball.  Classes include Bodypump, Zumba, Low Impact Conditioning, Cardio Kickboxing, Spin, Spin 101, Step/Weight Interval Training, 20/20/20, Mat Pilates, Fitness Yoga & Group Fitness 101.  In addition they have Chiropractor services by Dr. Arne Winn and Physical Therapy by Baystate Physical Therapy available on site as well as a Steam Room, Sauna, Programs for Kids and Day Care.  Memberships include Student, Single, Couple, Senior, Family, Military & Professional Discounts and Member Rewards Programs. 


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that USA Fitness & Spa Carver, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for USA Fitness & Spa Carver, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on USA Fitness & Spa Carver, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 21, 2012 Business started: 07/01/2010 in MA Business started locally: 07/01/2010 Business incorporated 07/01/2010 in MA
Type of Entity

S Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Brian Clifford, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brian Clifford, President
Number of Employees

7

Business Category

FITNESS CENTERS PERSONAL TRAINER WEIGHT CONTROL SERVICES. BASKETBALL CLUBS BOXING GYM WOMENS HEALTH THERAPY Fitness and Recreational Sports Centers (NAICS: 713940)

Hours of Operation
See Website for Hours of Operation
Method(s) of Payment
Visa
MasterCard
Discover
Check
Cash
Alternate Business Names
USA Fitness
Industry Tips
Health Clubs Health Clubs - 5 Tips - Video Weight-Loss Promotions

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

USA Fitness & Spa Carver, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 160 No. Main Street

    Carver, MA 02330 (508) 866-3677

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/5/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: To Whom It May Concern: I signed up for a membership in January 2015 with USA Fitness of Halifax/Carver Ma. A few short months into the membership, I stopped going due to an injury that prevented me from working out. Once I was healed, I tried to start working out again, but it still wasn't comfortable for me. At that point, I went in to cancel my membership in late July 2015. I spoke to several women at the Halifax location and I completed the cancelation paperwork. They told me that there is a 30 day cancelation policy and the $35.00 would still be deducted from my account in August, but I could still use the facility if I wanted to. I agreed to the cancelation policy and signed the paperwork. In August, the Halifax location closed, leaving just the Carver location available to all members. I called Carver and spoke to '****' on August 28th, to make sure that my cancelation paperwork was all set and that I would not be charged for September. She informed me that because of the move, all of Halifax member's paperwork is shuffled and in the office. She said she would look through it and get back to me, but if I was charged for September they could reimburse me. **** never contacted me back and I was charged another $35.00 in September. At that point, I contacted my bank and tried to get the direct withdrawal account disconnected. The bank informed me that they do not have control on their end and I would need to contact USA fitness to have that canceled. I waited a few weeks before calling back and after being charged another $35.00 for October, I called the gym back on 10/8 and spoke to a man, whom I did not get his first name. He told me that the cancelation policy is actually 60 days, but because I was told 30, they would work to get September and October reimbursed to me, totaling $70.00. He said that he would contact the billing company that they go through and he would get back to me no later than Friday, October 9th. I received no call back from him and have been unable to contact them since. With the beginning of November being just days away, I would like to file a complaint as I am confident that I will be charged another $35.00 in November. There is no reason why I should continue to be charged $35.00 a month, going on 3 months, for a membership that I canceled in July. I have exhausted all avenues trying to contact them to get the issue resolved. USA Fitness has failed to contact me back or refund me the $70.00. Thank you, ****** **

Desired Settlement: To Whom It May Concern: My desired outcome would be for September and October's $35.00 payments to be refunded to the card they have on file or by check sent in the mail. If I am charged next week for November as well, I expect $35.00 to be refunded to me in addition to the $70.00 from September and October. My credit card information needs to be removed from their billing companies database and my cancelation paperwork needs to be processed in USA Fitness's database if it has not already. Thank you, ****** *.

Business Response: To whom it may concern, Looking at Ms ****'s agreement the billing company has a signed 12 month agreement that she has not fulfilled to date. They will not give any refund on this claim. We will forward this agreement to Ms **** and she may be liable for the 4 months remaining her original Usa Fitness agreement. We have canceled her membership now as a courtesy and have never received any dues after Octobers club dues.Regards,******* ********

10/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed up at the beginning of June for a three month membership for $150.00 and also purchased $70.00 in babysitting vouchers. When I arrived for my workout and to drop off my kids in the daycare the A/C was broken and it was 80 degrees in the gym. Apparently per the employees it happens all the time. I explained to ***** who works the front end and the one who signed me up that I cannot work out in this heat and I certainly cannot leave my 3 month old and my 2year old in there daycare. ***** said to me she completely understood and she would reimburse my CC they had on file. It is now the end of August and I still have not received any monies back. I have called 2X a week every week since I spoke to ***** and I have been told they are taking care of the problem. Today I left another message to have owner call me again and if I don’t hear back from him today I was contacting the BBB. I was told by associate that he will be in all day today and will contact me. Here we are again and I have not been called. He obviously has no intention of giving me my money back.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund mailed back to **** *** ** ******** ** ******

Business Response:  Thank you, for sending this information to my attention. Ms ******** joined for 3 months this summer and did purchase a punch card for our childcare area. It took approximately1 week with two different companies to get the parts get out to the building and do the final repair. This has never happened at the location in 7 years. We believe the problem lies in the fact that members cannot bring an infant into the childcare room until they are at least 9 months of age. Temporarily not having Ac happens and it is unfortunate Ms ******** was offered an extra week onto her membership and a free childcare card for the inconvenience. We thought this was fair and it was brought to her attention. A front desk attendant could never offer a refund without a managers approval. We would be happy to offer her a 4 month gift certificate and a free month into the childcare area?

Consumer Response: This complete response is full of out right lies. First I was instructed by his staff that I could bring my child in after 3 months. As a matter of fact the daycare supervisor also informed me this as well. ***** who has been my constant contact at the fitness center told me the a/c issue has been happening almost every summer for the past 5 years. ***** was the employee who charged me for the 3 months and also charged me 90$ in daycare. I spoke to ***** who said she would refund my card and she apologized to me many times for the inconvience this has caused me. I will also be contacting the main office of USA fitness and I will proceed to bring this to small claims if a full refund is not sent to me.  Regards, ***** ********    

1/31/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called the gym and requested a cancellation form to be sent to my address via mail August 25th 2014. I was told it would take approximately 60 days for the cancellation to process and that I may be billed for that unused gym time. I understood and agreed with the terms. I filled out the cancellation form and mailed back to the gym. I dated the form the day received the form and I mailed it, September 7, 2014.I was charged the entire month of September, and October which is 60 days. I was charged an additional $22.99 for the month of November which makes billing an additional 30 days-which is now 90 total days I have been continually charged for a simple cancellation. I called the gym for two days and my calls weren't returned until the third day. I was told that they weren't refunding me my November installment as the billing cycle started the first of every month. My issue becomes that: I've been a responsible consumer, requested the cancellation a week in advance to the billing cycle, but only received the cancellation form a week after. When I asked for the credit back, in poor business practice, they refused, citing he form was received after the billing cycle. It's common knowledge that it does not take 60 days to cancel a request, and further more I explained that I could no longer attend the gym for health reasons. They could issue a credit easily enough but refuse.

Desired Settlement: Because I was billed $22.99, I had already tried to pay for an investment which bounced. Further more I lost this investment because of the charge.$22.99- 90 day charge$39.00-Insufficient fund$587.00 for the class I lost_______$648.99

Business Response: It is clearly written on the contract that you may only cancel in person so we are able to submit the information and signature to the billing company or by certified letter which protects both parties. Which neither was done correctly to get this over to the billing company. The member was in a 24 month agreement and only paid 6 month under this contract the last month getting returned back to the billing company. The sales person was a female attendant of the club and a 8 year employee with only raving reviews from our clients. We called the billing company on her behalf and allowed her to be released out of the 24 month contract after she claimed she had health reasons to this employee. We are sorry that she is dissatisfied but we feel we helped her making two different exceptions on her behalf on our in house cancellation policy and her releasing her from the contract she had at the gym.    Regards,Member Services

11/1/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I cancelled my gym membership in writing on May 7, 2013 and my last payment (direct debit from my checking account) was to be 6/15/13. On 7/15/13, USA Fitness debited my checking account in the amount of $29.99. I called them shortly after this date and informed them of the error. They said they would mail me a check. It never came. I followed up on this with them. In the meantime, on August 15, 2013 USA Fitness debited my account in the amount of $29.99. I contacted my bank (Citizens Bank)and reported both occurences of fraud. Citizens reimbursed me for both debits. However, I also a put hold on my account so that USA Fitness could no longer debit my account for 6 months and the fee for this service was $35. On 8/22/13, I received a check from USA Fitness in the amount of $29.99 for the debit of $29.99 from July 15th. I took the check to USA Fitness' bank (Rockland Trust) and was informed that the check was NSF.

Desired Settlement: I would like USA Fitness to send me a refund for the $35.00 hold fee that I had to put on my checking account in order for them to stop fraudulently debiting my checking account.

Business Response: Customer was overcharged one month by the billing company making a human error.  A check was issued for $29.99.  Customer was upset that 2 classes were cancelled off the schedule that she attended.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

USA Fitness continued to debit my checking account for 2 months after I cancelled my membership.  I was issued a check which could not be cashed because of insufficient funds.  I had to issue a stop payment on my checking account in order to stop USA Fitness from continuing to debit my account.  I never complained about any classes being cancelled.  This is simply not true.

Business Response:

The billing company did not bill ahead two months after cancelling her membership. It was one month and  the company issued a refund. Nsf is not true this is completely false. We are willing to offer the client the stop payment fee with her bank charged her due to a our billing company charging her for an additional month.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on USA Fitness & Spa Carver, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart