Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Realistic Fitness

Phone: (207) 730-7204 442 Us Route 1 Ste 3, Scarborough, ME 04074 http://realisticfitnessclub.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Realistic Fitness (formerly Family 24 Fitness) is a full service fitness center.  The center offers personalized fitness and wellness programs for all ages.  All adult memberships include 24 hour access to the facility for convenience.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Realistic Fitness include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

9 Customer Reviews on Realistic Fitness
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 9
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 9

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 29, 2012 Business started: 12/01/2011 in ME Business incorporated 12/01/2011 in ME
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Jamie Graham , General Manager Ms. Paula Camire, Managing Member
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jamie Graham , General Manager
Number of Employees

4

Business Category

FITNESS CENTERS HEALTH & WELLNESS EXERCISE & PHYSICAL FITNESS PROGRAMS INDOOR FITNESS HEALTH & FITNESS PROGRAM CONSULTANTS HEALTH CLUBS & GYMNASIUMS GYMNASIUMS Fitness and Recreational Sports Centers (NAICS: 713940)

Products & Services

Realistic Fitness offers the following product(s): 24 Hour Fitness Center Access, Professional Personal Training

Hours of Operation
24 hours a day, 7 days a week
Method(s) of Payment
MasterCard
Visa
American Express
Discover
Automatic Bank Withdrawal
Online
Service Area
Realistic Fitness provides their services in MAINE.
Industry Tips
Health Clubs Health Clubs - 5 Tips - Video

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Realistic Fitness has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    442 Us Route 1 Ste 3

    Scarborough, ME 04074 (207) 730-7204

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Complaint is on the service of Family 24 Fitness. I became a member on 1/14/14 where I paid $50.fee and $19.99 first months dues. We set up autopsy where the company took autopsy from my account. On 3/7/14 I received a call from a representative from Family 24 Fitness who stated that they attempted the autopsy and it did not go through. She asked if card was part of Target compromise and I advised yes. She asked for new number and I did not have card with me. At that point she stated that if I did not take care of by 3/11/14 I would be reported to credit bureau. I could not believe that she would threaten my credit. I proceeded to advise I wanted to end my membership based on her threat and she stated that I still needed to pay for March and come on and sign cancellation. I asked since I did not become a member until 1/14/14 and her call was 3/7/14 why would I need to pay since it had not been a full 2 months. She stated that I had to pay or again the threat with the "credit bureau". I went to the gym on 3/8/14 and paid as indicated as to not have them impact my credit. Unfortunately the compromise was not my fault and from a service perspective this company could have handled differently.

Desired Settlement: Feel company should be accountable for damaging of individuals credit when the above circumstances apply and that they should be looking at here billing practices as a monthly fee should be for a month period.

Business Response: We were not sure why this person was upset by a courtesy call that we provided to save her money and hassle.  We believe this member misunderstood the purpose and intent of our call.  When a member defaults on their dues, our member management company will automatically take over the retrieval of the past due amount plus fees, after a short period of time.  But we understand that many cards were compromised in the Target breach.  So as a courtesy, we contacted all delinquent account holders to remind them to update their information and bring any defaulted account current at no additional cost to our members.  We tried to explain this in our courtesy calls.   Despite the fact that our membership agreement states that all late payments will be charged a late fee to cover the additional administrative costs of recovering past due payment(s), we allowed a grace period and calls were made to help them avoid the additional $20 late penalty fee that becomes mandatory once our member management company takes over delinquent accounts. We do not threaten to report any member to a credit bureau, as we have no direct affiliation with any credit reporting agency.   Our courtesy call is simply to ask each member to update their billing information and bring their membership dues current as per the membership agreement.  When this member opted to cancel her membership because of the call, as a courtesy to her, we contacted our member management company and also requested to have them waive the required 30 day notice policy, which is agreed to at the inception of membership privileges, thereby saving her an additional $20.  We continue to offer our members a low cost option for their fitness, with the most lenient cancellation policy in the industry.  We spend time and money to contact our valued members when their accounts are in default before they are assessed penalty fees.  We do not know of any other fitness facility that offers that level of service anywhere in the industry.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

9 Customer Reviews on Realistic Fitness
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart