Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Realistic Fitness

Phone: (207) 730-7204 442 Us Route 1 Ste 3, Scarborough, ME 04074 http://realisticfitnessclub.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Realistic Fitness (formerly Family 24 Fitness) is a full service fitness center.  The center offers personalized fitness and wellness programs for all ages.  All adult memberships include 24 hour access to the facility for convenience.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Realistic Fitness include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

27 Customer Reviews on Realistic Fitness
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 27
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 27

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 29, 2012 Business started: 12/01/2011 in ME Business incorporated 12/01/2011 in ME
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Jamie Graham , General Manager Ms. Paula Camire, Managing Member
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jamie Graham , General Manager
Number of Employees

4

Business Category

FITNESS CENTERS HEALTH & WELLNESS EXERCISE & PHYSICAL FITNESS PROGRAMS INDOOR FITNESS HEALTH & FITNESS PROGRAM CONSULTANTS HEALTH CLUBS & GYMNASIUMS GYMNASIUMS Fitness and Recreational Sports Centers (NAICS: 713940)

Products & Services

Realistic Fitness offers the following product(s): 24 Hour Fitness Center Access, Professional Personal Training

Hours of Operation
24 hours a day, 7 days a week
Method(s) of Payment
MasterCard
Visa
American Express
Discover
Automatic Bank Withdrawal
Online
Service Area
Realistic Fitness provides their services in MAINE.
Industry Tips
Health Clubs Health Clubs - 5 Tips - Video

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Realistic Fitness has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    442 Us Route 1 Ste 3

    Scarborough, ME 04074 (207) 730-7204

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Complaint is on the service of Family 24 Fitness. I became a member on 1/14/14 where I paid $50.fee and $19.99 first months dues. We set up autopsy where the company took autopsy from my account. On 3/7/14 I received a call from a representative from Family 24 Fitness who stated that they attempted the autopsy and it did not go through. She asked if card was part of Target compromise and I advised yes. She asked for new number and I did not have card with me. At that point she stated that if I did not take care of by 3/11/14 I would be reported to credit bureau. I could not believe that she would threaten my credit. I proceeded to advise I wanted to end my membership based on her threat and she stated that I still needed to pay for March and come on and sign cancellation. I asked since I did not become a member until 1/14/14 and her call was 3/7/14 why would I need to pay since it had not been a full 2 months. She stated that I had to pay or again the threat with the "credit bureau". I went to the gym on 3/8/14 and paid as indicated as to not have them impact my credit. Unfortunately the compromise was not my fault and from a service perspective this company could have handled differently.

Desired Settlement: Feel company should be accountable for damaging of individuals credit when the above circumstances apply and that they should be looking at here billing practices as a monthly fee should be for a month period.

Business Response: We were not sure why this person was upset by a courtesy call that we provided to save her money and hassle.  We believe this member misunderstood the purpose and intent of our call.  When a member defaults on their dues, our member management company will automatically take over the retrieval of the past due amount plus fees, after a short period of time.  But we understand that many cards were compromised in the Target breach.  So as a courtesy, we contacted all delinquent account holders to remind them to update their information and bring any defaulted account current at no additional cost to our members.  We tried to explain this in our courtesy calls.   Despite the fact that our membership agreement states that all late payments will be charged a late fee to cover the additional administrative costs of recovering past due payment(s), we allowed a grace period and calls were made to help them avoid the additional $20 late penalty fee that becomes mandatory once our member management company takes over delinquent accounts. We do not threaten to report any member to a credit bureau, as we have no direct affiliation with any credit reporting agency.   Our courtesy call is simply to ask each member to update their billing information and bring their membership dues current as per the membership agreement.  When this member opted to cancel her membership because of the call, as a courtesy to her, we contacted our member management company and also requested to have them waive the required 30 day notice policy, which is agreed to at the inception of membership privileges, thereby saving her an additional $20.  We continue to offer our members a low cost option for their fitness, with the most lenient cancellation policy in the industry.  We spend time and money to contact our valued members when their accounts are in default before they are assessed penalty fees.  We do not know of any other fitness facility that offers that level of service anywhere in the industry.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

2/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was sent an email from the general manager stating that my membership was terminated immediately stating that I violated policy. I asked to see the policies of the establishment however they were never provided to me. He never called or emailed me to discuss the issue prior the email that said my membership is cancelled. I also had to pay for a full month of the gym which I was no longer able to use. I would think twice before joining this gym because your membership can be terminated at any time and you could be stuck paying for a service that you can no longer use. Well I guess only if you break their policies which are NOT posted on their webpage or in their facility so this makes it difficult to know if you are in compliance or not. This is the absolute worst customer service I have ever received from a business.

Business Response:

Unfortunately, this member violated policies on many occasions and management finally had to make the difficult decision to let her go as a member.  This member verbally mistreated an employee in front of other employees and members when asked not to leave her belongings on the floor at the front of the club long before the one mentioned below. We do provide free lockers for our members and have several signs posted in our facility regarding this policy.  Her behavior during this was overlooked by management and the member was allowed to continue her membership for some time until it came to our attention that this member was sneaking a small child into the gym during non-staffed hours putting the child and other members at risk.  It is a strict policy that children are not permitted in the fitness area with treadmills and weights for their own safety and the safety of other members.  This member was informed of our policy by staff on at least 2 occasions before we had to take action.  After several chances to comply and after checking the videos (we have 24 hour surveillance for off-staff hours), we confirmed that this violation of our policy had happened on many occasions beyond just the three we already knew about.  Three employees and a few other members also confirmed that they had seen her child in the facility with her.  Our safety policy regarding children is posted in the facility on the door of the Kid’s Club that we provide on three days and four nights a week for members with children. 

We refunded her the unused portion of the month that she had already paid for in the amount of $5.25 and mailed documentation to her showing that the refund was issued.   We had to make a very difficult decision for the safety of everyone.  Had she complied with the original requests and utilized the Kid’s Club like the other parents, we would not have had to take this action.

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

When the employee spoke to be me about having my child there she stated that he could not be on the equipment and that he could sit at the table and chairs in the corner. I asked my child to sit in the corner and that is what he did. She never stated that he could not be in there. I have never seen a policy on the door nor did she reference the policy on the door to me when she spoke to me. The General Manager never called or emailed me to discuss the issue with me he just sent me an email stating that my membership was revoked. If the manager did his job properly he should have contacted me to discuss the issue. I actually called the manager to discuss the issue and I was very rudely dismissed on the phone.
 
The other issue with Family 24 is that there is not a place to put personal belongings except for in the locker room. They expect you to take your shoes off by the door, walk barefoot across the whole gym to the locker rooms and put your belongings in a unlocked locker. There are no keys or locks provided.  I have had things stolen from locker rooms before so I do not like to leave my things in the locker room. I was advised by police in the past that locker rooms are a prime place of theft since there are no video cameras inside. Since this gym has open 24 access and there is no one monitoring the door I wanted to be very careful with my things.
 
One day I had left my things on a shelf in the front where my shoes were. As I am working out a man comes in and starts picking up my keys and jacket (which is an expensive jacket and had some money in it) and starts carrying it away. I had no idea who the man was and I asked him to give me my things. He told me to “relax” and he was just moving them into the office. I had no idea who he was (there was nothing identifying him as an employee like a t-shirt or name tag). I told him that I thought that it was very rude that he just picked up people’s things which now according to the manager is verbally attacking him. Also I would like to note that there were 5 people in the gym at the time so he could have easily asked the 5 people if the items belonged to them and to move them. I am sure most people would not appreciate having their personal belongings including money and keys touched by anyone.  

I appreciate the manager bringing up the issue with the clothes because it highlights just another area where there was bad customer service.

Business Response:

In response to this person's assessment:
When our Kid’s Club director witnessed this young child in the free weight area and on a moving treadmill, she spoke to this member about our safety policy regarding children in the gym.   As a courtesy to this member, she allowed the woman to have her child wait in the sitting area that one day.  She did not say that children could wait there during un-staffed hours every time the woman came in.  Our policy regarding children in the gym is clearly posted on our Kid’s Club door for all members to see.  After reviewing surveillance video of the young child on equipment on numerous occasions, and speaking with staff and several members who witnessed the child in the gym on multiple occasions, we were left no choice but to revoke her membership for the safety of other members and her child.  Upon receiving notice, this member decided to contact us to insult our staff, threaten us with a BBB complaint and demand that we allow her to continue using the club.  She was politely told that we would review the case by discussing the situation with the management, including the Kid’s Club director and by checking the recordings of the times in question.  After a thorough review, we decided to refund the remaining five days in the amount of $5.25 to this member and uphold the original decision to revoke the membership for everyone’s safety.

In response to moving her personal items; on the day in question, the General Manager entered the club and found several members had left belongings by the door of the club.    In an effort to keep the club tidy and organized for everyone to enjoy, we do ask that members place their personal items in the locker rooms provided.  Considering there were many members in the club and being unable to tell who owned the items, the Manager decided to bring the belongings to the safety of the administrative offices (a much safer location than beside the exit) so as not to interrupt the members during their workouts.  Being in plain sight and wearing his Family 24 Fitness hat and jacket, the intention was to politely ask the members to use the lockers provided for their personal belongings.  Before taking several steps, this woman approached the manager with a raised voice in a very confrontational manner.  He patiently asked her to calm down as he tried to explain who he was and what his intention had been, but this woman would not allow him to speak as she yelled at him.  There were other members in the club who were shocked by the woman’s reaction, politely asked for their belongings at the conclusion of their workouts and agreed to use the lockers from that point on.  The Manager thanked them and thought nothing else of the incident with the upset woman.

Family 24 Fitness provides free locker service to all of our members.  In an effort to keep our membership at a reasonable cost for everyone, we do ask that members bring their own lock with them to secure their belongings (locks are sold for $5 at ******* ****** Co in the same building) and take their things with them when they leave so that all of our members have an opportunity to use a locker.   As a courtesy, we do offer several boot trays at the entrance for boot storage if members choose to do so.  It is not a requirement that members change their shoes at the door.  We appreciate the many members who opt to leave their wet footwear in the boot trays, so as not to track snow and mud into the gym during inclement weather.  We have a great group of members and have never had any reports of stolen items in over a year of business.

We strive every day to provide the best customer service that we can.  We offer affordable rates with no contract required, provide free lockers and have a Kid’s Club designed to encourage a healthy lifestyle.  Our staff is knowledgeable and friendly.  We make every effort to treat all of our members and guests with the utmost respect but unfortunately there are people who feel that the rules put forth for everyone should not apply to them.  A business that caters to the general public must make decisions for the better good of the patrons that use the service and often the people that break the rules are the same ones that wish to publicly disparage the company that would not give in to unreasonable demands and unacceptable behavior.   We have refunded her unused membership in the amount of $5.25, but we can’t allow this member to put other members at risk by continuing to allow a small child on gym equipment.   We wish her the best and hope that she finds what she’s looking for in a fitness center.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

I do not wish to have any further communciation with this business. However I would like the public to know what bad customer service I recieved on multiple occasions. If they were clear with their policies and if the general manager had any customer service skills or managerial skills both instances of issues would have never happened.