Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Buy the Fire

Phone: (207) 539-9930 712 Main St, Oxford, ME 04270 http://buythefire.com/



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Buy The Fire is a family owned business specializing in selling, installing and servicing pellet, wood, gas, coal and electric heating appliances, chimney sweeping and inspections, relining chimney systems. There is a retail showroom


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Buy the Fire meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Buy the Fire include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Buy the Fire
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 24, 2009 Business started: 02/01/2007 in ME Business incorporated 08/05/2008 in ME
Type of Entity

Partnership

Business Management
Ms. Diane M Ferry, Owner Mr. Donald Ferry, Co-Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Diane M Ferry, Owner
Principal: Mr. Donald Ferry, Co-Owner
Number of Employees

5

Business Category

FIREPLACES CHIMNEY RELINING GAS-PROPANE CHIMNEY CLEANING STOVES-WOOD, COAL, ETC. FIREPLACE EQUIPMENT-WHOLESALE & MANUFACTURERS All Other Specialty Trade Contractors (NAICS: 238990)

Products & Services

Buy the Fire sells the following brand(s): Dutchwest, Empire, Heat&Glo, Heatilator, Quadra-fire, St. Croix, Vermont Castings

Buy the Fire offers the following product(s): Accessories, Fireplaces, Greenfire, Hampton, Hitzer, Inserts, Liners, Piazetta, Regency, Stoves

Method(s) of Payment
Cash
Check
Visa
MasterCard
Discover
American Express
Refund and Exchange Policy
The business states they have a re-stock fee of 25% on all non-stock products within 30 days of purchase or order.  No refunds on parts or fuel.
Alternate Business Names
Chimney Sweep Installations, LLC
Industry Tips
Hiring a Chimney Cleaner

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Buy the Fire has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 712 Main St

    Oxford, ME 04270 (207) 539-9930

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/13/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Regency Fireplace Insert model #****** on November 4, 2014 from Buy The Fire, ****** Maine. It was installed on November 26, 2014 I wasn't given the proper verbal instructions on how to operate the insert at the showroom nor at home. If I had been told about it in the showroom I would not have purchased it. When I opened the door to add more wood, the fan blew embers out and into my face. I believe this is a fire hazard and the fireplace insert is unsafe. I called the business and was told I was supposed to turn off a fan before opening the door. When I told the clerk I felt it was a fire hazard she commented "that's what you have insurance for", and was told that once the insert was installed it was mine. I am still waiting for one more piece to the stove because it wasn't up to code after they installed it. They told me the piece would be delivered in a week and that was over 8 weeks ago.

Desired Settlement: I was willing to upgrade to a larger and better wood stove, knowing it would be more expensive, but wasn't give the option. I now at least want the part to be delivered, that hasn't been as of yet. I still believe this fireplace insert isn't safe. I'm not sure what to do about it, since the company will not help me.

Business Response: We have been trying to contact Mr. **** to install a mantel shield.  The wood insert is installed to code.  Mr **** called to complain that the insert was much more work than he had anticipated.  I reviewed the fact that if the embersare falling out near the bottom of where the air is taken in for the blower and then exited at the top of the insert as he was loading it, either he needed to be more careful with the embers or to turn off the fan when loading.  Mr**** also complained about the size of the insert.  This is the largest insert that would fit into his opening.  I never told Mr **** that was what he had insurance for.  Never!!!  We are more than willing to go back out to Mr ****'s toreview operation of the insert again.  We do not take product back after it has been installed and used.  We review everything at the time of sale in the store to insure customer satisfaction.  We also talk about wood and seasonedwood to provide the customer with an expectation of heat output.

1/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: December 9, 2014 To: Buy The Fire Principal: Ms. ***** * *****, Owner Principal: Mr. ****** *****, Co-Owner From: ******* ****** Trustee of (The Great North American Realty Trust owner of *** ********* **** ********, ME *****) Re: Revised Final Invoice for material and labor to install woodstove flu Dear Mr. & Mrs. *****, I am writing to you about my concerns regarding your final billing for labor and material as it relates to the installation of a flu pipe for a wood stove. ***** ******* and I are trustees of The Great North American Realty Trust which owns the aforementioned property where work was contracted to be performed by your company. In October of 2013 we contacted your company to perform an inspection of an existing triple layer air spaced flu pipe with damper that had functioned exceptionally well for over a decade. We requested this inspection as a requirement by our house insurance underwriter. Two of your employees inspected the flu pipe and informed us that it did not meet the state fire code, regardless of how well it worked because the flu was not factory manufactured and therefore they could not issue a compliance certificate to our insurance company. Both Mr. ******* and I have been General Contractors for over 30 years on Cape Cod and decided we would install the required factory manufactured pipe required. We requested and received a quote from your company to supply us with the necessary materials to be installed. The cost of the materials was $1,672.01. Due to our demanding schedules we were unable to install the pipe ourselves and in July of 2014 requested and received a quote from your company to supply all the materials and labor for the required manufactured flu pipe. The quote we received was for $2,498.53. We reviewed the quote and paid the required (50% $1,225.00) deposit to begin the process of ordering the material and setting an installation date. Your company scheduled the installation for Friday August 29, 2014. Mr. ******* and I live 250 miles away, and we each had to take a day from work to be at the house during the installation to ensure all work and materials were as quoted. We had called earlier in the week to confirm an early morning appointment. After repeated calls all day on Friday the 29th, two very young employees of Buy The Fire arrived at 3:30PM in the afternoon. Mr. ******* and I questioned whether or not they had enough daylight left to complete the job or if they would have to finish up on Saturday. They informed us that they did not work on weekends, at which time we informed them we had taken a day of from work and travelled 250 miles just to be here for the installation. It was decided they would proceed immediately and Mr. ******* and I would assist in any way possible as we have 60 years of construction experience between us. We stressed to your employees that we would not be back for a month and the job must be completed before we left. The installation consisted of removing and existing two story triple layed pipe and replacing it with the insurance company mandated factory manufactured pipe. Again, I remind you the only reason we were installing a new pipe was to obtain a compliance certificate for our insurance company. After two hours the workers had the old pipe removed. They then proceeded to collect all the parts from their trailer to assemble the new pipe. They discovered that they did not have the properly sized pieces to complete the assembly. They told us they would have to order the correct pieces and come back as soon as the pieces came in. They estimated this to be no more than two weeks. It was at this time that I communicated our concern to your office, that we still needed a certificate of compliance for the pipe to obtain our house insurance. An inspection certificate was sent out to us even though the job was only ½ completed. The certificate had the wrong street number on it. I contacted your office and they resent the certificate and wrote over the old number the correct house number. Apparently we were not worth the three minutes it might have taken to fill out a new inspection form. We were later contacted by your office and told the needed parts had arrived and set an appointment of Wednesday September 10, 2014. Again Mr. ******* and I had to take time off from work and travel 250 miles to ensure the proper installation. On Tuesday September 9, 2014, I e-mailed your company to confirm the install date of Wednesday September 10, 2014. We were having our annual end of summer pig roast with 20 guests, and would need the stove up in running with the weather turning colder. I was called late in the afternoon of the same day and informed the appointment was actually set for the following Wednesday September 17, 2014. I was very upset and after explaining that we had 20 people coming to the house and that your company was ruining our annual event, I hung up the phone. I was called sometime later and informed that you were able to shift the schedule around and would be up on Wednesday September 10, 2014 as originally scheduled. Mr. ******* and I couldn’t get up to the house until after 5 p.m. on Wednesday September 10, 2014. When we did arrive we observed the new flu pipe had in fact been installed. We had given the installers the location to the gate key as well as leaving them a note where to find roof shingles and roofing nails. We also left a brand new damper with instructions to please use it rather than the old one. Upon close inspection Mr. ******* and I noticed that when the workers reinstalled the shingles on the roof they used 3” sheetrock screws instead of the roofing nails. We also noticed the damper we had instructed the workers to install was not installed and a different type of damper was installed instead. Upon testing this new damper we realized it would not open fully and the pin did not go all the way through both pipes and made it impossible to know if the damper was open or closed or somewhere in between. I later called your office regarding this and was informed that you have had other complaints regarding these pre-manufactured damper systems. As contractors for over 30 years Mr. ******* and I were dumbfounded by the fact that you know you have a defective product, yet you install it anyway. I was contacted by your office in November 2014 and asked why we had not mailed out the final balance. I explained that you never sent us out a final bill, and we believed that because of the aggravation, lost time at work, less than professional service and defective product installed that you were not going to be looking for any more funds. I told your office to scan me the final payment invoice for my review. The invoice you sent was for a total cost of $3,016.93. This is $617.38 above the price you quoted to supply the labor and materials to install the new pipe. I’m sure what has happened is that you incorrectly measured and therefore quoted an insufficient amount of materials to perform the task. Both Mr. ******* and I have had the same occur in our own businesses, but we never hold our customers responsible for our mistakes, and neither should you. Had you given us this higher quote to begin with we most likely would have looked for another bid or performed the work ourselves. This is a classic bait and switch scenario that goes on all to much in the building trades. I was at the property on December 3-5, 2014 to meet with the house insurance inspector. The temperature dropped to 0 degrees farenheight because the damper was not working properly the fire in the woodstove would not stay lit, and I nearly froze to death. Additionally the entire house kept filling with smoke. To say I was annoyed by this situation is putting it mildly. Being Contractors, both Mr. ******* and I understand that scheduling and material problems happen all the time. However the manner in which this situation was handled and is still be handled is totally unacceptable. Mr. ******* and I want to know how you are going to rectify the situation of the improperly working damper and overpricing as well as compensating us for the aggravation your company has caused. We look forward to your timely response. ******* ** ****** P.O. Box *** **** ******* ****, MA ***** ***** ******** ********@yahoo.com CC: Maine Better Business Bureau

Desired Settlement: Want bill corrected and a properly working damper installed.

Business Response: Please see attached


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

4 Customer Reviews on Buy the Fire
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart