This business is not BBB accredited.

Graduate Leverage, LLC

Phone: (781) 547-4100 View Additional Phone Numbers 400 5th Ave  Suite 600, Waltham, MA 02451 View Additional Email Addresses ! Graduate Leverage, LLC is Believed to Be Out of Business !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Graduate Leverage, LLC specializes in federal and private student loans for graduate and professional students. The company works with national financial aid offices and student body organizations to help graduates effectively manage their student loans.

GL Advisor, a division of Graduate Leverage, offers a unique service designed to help professional graduates navigate financial issues and make the best decisions regarding their debt and other financial matters.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because BBB has information indicating it is out of business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

37 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 10
Delivery Issues 3
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 24
Total Closed Complaints 37

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Graduate Leverage, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 4
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 24, 2006 Business started: 01/01/2003 in MA Business incorporated 01/01/2003 in MA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Massachusetts Executive Office for Administration and Finance
State House, Boston MA 02133
http://www.mass.gov/anf/
Phone Number: (617) 727-2040
Fax Number: (617) 727-2779
contactanf@state.ma.us
The number is 152158.

U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission
100 F Street, NE, Washington DC 20549
http://www.sec.gov/
Phone Number: 202-942-8088
Fax Number: 202-772-9295
help@sec.gov
The number is 5995595.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Pamela Harvey , Chief legal counsel
Number of Employees

30

Business Category

FINANCIAL PLANNING CONSULTANTS FINANCIAL AID SERVICES EDUCATIONAL FINANCING SCHOLARSHIP & FINANCIAL AID INFORMATION FINANCIAL SERVICES Other Financial Vehicles (NAICS: 525990)

Method(s) of Payment
Visa
MasterCard
American Express
Discover
Service Area
Graduate Leverage, LLC provides their services in ALABAMA , ALASKA , ARIZONA , ARKANSAS , CALIFORNIA , COLORADO , CONNECTICUT , DELAWARE , DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA , FLORIDA , GEORGIA , HAWAII , IDAHO , ILLINOIS , INDIANA , IOWA , KANSAS , KENTUCKY , LOUISIANA , MAINE , MARYLAND , MASSACHUSETTS , MICHIGAN , MINNESOTA , MISSISSIPPI , MISSOURI , MONTANA , NEBRASKA , NEVADA , NEW HAMPSHIRE , NEW JERSEY , NEW MEXICO , NEW YORK , NORTH CAROLINA , NORTH DAKOTA , OHIO , OKLAHOMA , OREGON , PENNSYLVANIA , PUERTO RICO , RHODE ISLAND , SOUTH CAROLINA , SOUTH DAKOTA , TENNESSEE , TEXAS , UTAH , VERMONT , VIRGINIA , WASHINGTON , WEST VIRGINIA , WISCONSIN & WYOMING.
Alternate Business Names
Graduate Leverage
Industry Tips
Educational Consultants Financial Planning Hiring a Financial Advisor Hiring a Financial Advisor - 5 Tips - Video Mutual Funds Newlywed Finances Read Before You Sign Scholarship & Financial Aid Scams Time to Make More Money

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    400 5th Ave
    Suite 600

    Waltham, MA 02451

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/22/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been a consumer of GL Advisors product for many years. Over the last several months, it has become increasingly difficult to get in touch with my advisor (listed as Familia Reyes) or anyone at GL. I had made several attempts the week of March 1, 2015. All calls were unanswered but I was sent an email asking me to schedule a consultation and to update my account information. I updated my account information on 3/5/15 and had a scheduled call at 530 PM on 3/10/15. The call never came and all attempts to reach the company went to voicemail or the number tried was no longer in service. Internet research indicated that it looked like the company may have gone out of business as its CEO was arrested and charged with fraud. I immediately went to my account to get rid of my credit card information. Unfortunately, there is no way to delete my information from the account! I then noticed a charge on my credit card for the monthly fee for March, after the company went out of business. I still have no way to get my card information out of the system and have had to deal with my bank. I am looking to be reimbursed $35.91 for fraudulent charges for a company that continues to automatically deduct money from my account but is apparently out of business and under investigation by the ***. I also have concerns as all of my personal information is in the system and they are now defunct.

Desired Settlement: Reimbursement of $35.91 and removal of all of my personal information from their system as they appear to be defunct.

4/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 2/19/15 I signed up for GL Advisor, a service provided by Graduate Leverage to assist physicians in consolidating student loans. I entered my credit card information as well as all my other information, and the online interface said I would be hearing from them shortly. Indeed, I got a form email from ****** **** stating that someone would be in touch. After 2 weeks, I still had heard from no one, and my payment had not been processed. I called their online customer service number and got no response, instead a form email asking me to set up an appointment via their online system. However, their online appointment system showed that they were fully booked to infinity with no appointments whatsoever. I called back several times and each time got back the same form email. Finally I was able to make an online appointment with ***** ******, and the receipt for this shows that person was supposed to call me, but never did. I called back, again am unable to reach a human, and got another form email to make an online appointment, which I did, with ****** *****. I never got that phone call either. I wrote several emails to their customer service email address and to ****** **** explaining the situation and that I wanted to cancel my membership. Instead, today on 3/20/15 they processed my payment for $225. Today, I am also noticing that the phone numbers listed on their customer service portion of their website "are not set up to receive calls."

Desired Settlement: I want a full refund, cancellation of my membership, and destruction of any records GL Advisor/Graduate Leverage may have of me.

4/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The issue with this company is that I have contracted with them to help consolidate and oversee my medical school loans. They were helpful in starting this process, however, did not see it through. When trying to contact them yesterday (3/17) I was unable to so. After some research, I have come to find that the CEO was arrested for securities fraud. It seems that everyone has abandoned the company at this point. Their website is active, however, none of the phone numbers work. I am able to access the appointment scheduling, however, there are no appointments available to be scheduled. The company has continued to charge it's monthly fee of $35.91 to my credit card despite being unavailable for consultation. I have now blocked the charges from my card. Also, I have a personal loan through GL Loan Servicing (a division of Graduate Leverage, LLC-same address as above). The phone number available on their website and on the signature line of their emails is also invalid. The last time I contacted them was in December 2014. However, given the turmoil of this company, I would like to speak with someone who can explain what is happening with the company and give me instruction on early payoff of this loan. I have tried multiple times to call the available numbers and they are invalid. The company does continue to take and process monthly payments for this loan despite not being available for consultation by phone, email or mail.

Desired Settlement: It is my hope that I could reach someone with the company so that I could severe all ties, ensure I was no longer contractually obligated to anything and pay off the remaining balance of the personal loan that I have with this company. I appreciate any assistance that can be provided in this manner.

4/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid GL advisor a fee of approximately $400 to organize my student loans and file the necessary paperwork to qualify for repayment programs that offered lower payment. They were unreachable when I inquired about my paperwork after I was notified that my loan payments were due and no paperwork had been submitted.I had to file the paperwork myself and apply for a deferment while the paperwork is processed. GL advisor did not provide the promised service.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of the fee that was paid.

4/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hello, I engaged GL advisors for loan support under a contractual agreement for the duration of my post graduate medical training. Annually, they file loan paperwork for me under this contract. This year, I have been attempting to contact them through email and phone without any success. I have called multiple numbers and emailed multiple different accounts. What is most concerning is that the phone lines appear to be all disconnected. They do have an active website which appears to be soliciting new clients. There is no notice of closure or bankruptcy filings. Upon further investigation, It seems that GL subsidiary financial firms have been under investigation for financial fraud, culminating in recent criminal convictions.

Desired Settlement: 1) response to email/phone calls for continued service as contractually obligated or 2) refund for payment.

4/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid $395 in October 2014 for a year-long contract from GL Advisor to help manage my veterinary school student loans. I tried numerous times to contact the company throughout February 2015 with no response or no message about what was going on with the company. I have found out through my own research that the CEO of the company has criminal charges pending against him and most (if not all) of the employees of the company have left. No email or other form of communication was sent to me or other clients as to what is going on. The worst part is, less than 6 months into my contract with the company, I am out my $395 and am left trying to scramble to figure out my loan situation.

Desired Settlement: A refund of the $395 fee I paid since the services I paid for were never rendered and the term of the contract was not carried out.

4/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am a physician in ******* TN who has paid GL advisor to manage my student loans for the next 3 years. Reapplying for income based repayment every year after my tax return. I have been trying to call them, email them, and locate them for weeks and all the phone lines are busy and no one has responded. The reason I am concerned is because they have ALL my information including my social security number, bank accounts, and loan information. Please help as I cannot reach or find out any information about this company.

Desired Settlement: Please explain what is going on with the company at this time. thanks!

4/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My student loans are supposed to be in income-based repayment based on my 2013 tax returns. I have an email from ****** **** at GL Advisor confirming that my 2013 taxes were received. As a result, my loan payments were supposed to be $0 every month. This month, however, I received a bill for more than $6000 from *******. I also was told to update my credit card information on the GL Advisor website, but I cannot access my account on the website. This is a problem I have had for months now and was told it would be attended to but no one has fixed it. I have emails confirming this problem and that it would be dealt with. I have tried for more than one week to contact GL Advisor regarding the two issues above but have not heard back at all. I have emailed ****** **** three times with no reply. I have called every day to three different numbers multiple times throughout the day and left a voicemail but no response and nobody picked up. I have posted on the facebook page but nobody answered. I posted on Twitter but nobody answered. I have sent an email through the website contact form but nobody answered. I am extremely disappointed and shocked by this service. I was told that I would be able to access my account and that my loans would be in IBR at $0 per month as it has been for the past several years, but now I get a bill for more than $6000 so I am forced to directly call the companies which is difficult for me since I am located in ******.

Desired Settlement: I would like an apology for this lack of service and I would like GL Advisor to call ******* and the other loan companies to put me back into $0 per month IBR, with a confirmation email that this has happened.

4/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hello,I have paid a one time fee for consolidating my student loans with GL Advisor's (they specialize in student loan assistance). Part of this service includes assistance and consultation with loan payment methods and taxes. I have tried unsuccessfully to contact them by phone or by email repeatedly and fear they have taken my payment and shut down. I would like to close my account with this company as it contains private information regarding my student loans.Thank you, ****** ****

Desired Settlement: Please make contact with GL Advisor to close my account and all private information.

4/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired this company to manage my student loan debt. I paid them for a full year. Services were to include filing an application to consolidate loans as well as qualifying me for the public loan forgiveness program which can take a few months. They have not contacted me since November 2014. I contacted my loan servicers and no application has been submitted. All phone numbers for the company are inactive. No one has responded to my emails.

Desired Settlement: I do not want to be charged for services that were not rendered.

4/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired GL Advisors (Graduate Loan Advisors) as a medical school graduate in 2012. They helped manage my student loans, including filing for income-based repayment through my lender. The first year they were hired, they even helped to file my taxes. I last spoke with a representative in the fall to let them know that I was getting married and my last name and financial situation would be changing in the near future. They told me to reach out to them again during tax season for advice on how to proceed with filing for taxes. The last email I received from them was August 2014 about scheduling an exit interview since I will soon be graduating from residency, and they wanted to let me know that they would be offering financial advising services for physicians beyond residency. I have called every phone number and sent an email to every contact that I have saved from previous emails. The emails get returned as "failed to send" and every phone number has been disconnected. I was never notified that this company was going out of business or being disbanded. I am EXTREMELY concerned that this institution has very sensitive personal information of mine including SSN, tax documents and all my student loan information. I want to know what happened to this company and what will become of this information. I am also worried that this will affect my student loan status as this company was responsible for re-filing for my IBR and I now need to find out if there has been any sort of time lapse in this which could affect my loan repayment and overall financial standing. If any information becomes available, I would like to be contacted IMMEDIATELY. In referencing previous emails, the GLA employees that I had been most in contact with were ***** ******** (analyst), **** ********* (advisor), ******* ******* (advisor), **** ****** (advisor). I often received generic emails from **************************. I hope this helps get to the bottom of this. I can provide documentation and emails as needed.

Desired Settlement: Since I received no notice from this company stating that there services would be terminated, I would like to be refunded the initial fee that I paid to hire this company. I believe it was not very much, in the ballpark of $400, but I would have to go back and check on this. I am much more concerned about securing my personal and financial information to make sure that this information does not end up in the wrong hands.

4/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have contacted GL Advisor multiple times over the last two weeks. Each phone call goes to voice mail. I have left 4-5 messages, all of which have gone un-returned. I sent and email which was not responded to. I made two phone appointments which were not kept by GL advisor. Now, calling this morning, it seems their phone is disconnected. I am concerned for the safety of my personal information.

Desired Settlement: I would like a cancellation of my account, deletion of my personal information, and a refund of my fee.

4/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased an agreement with Graduate Loan Advisors in January 2015. I provided them with access to my student loan accounts and access to charge my credit card monthly. I have been unable to reach them for three weeks. I have left several messages and sent several emails, attempting to reach them. I am concerned that this is a scam.

Desired Settlement: I would like to cancel my contract and no longer be charged for services.

4/3/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: It appears that the company GL Advisors is going under due to fraud charges against the CEO. The company can not be reached by phone, email, or their website. I have paid $420 for future financial advice which apparently will not be received. Furthermore, despite the company being unreachable, my credit card was charged again this month for an unauthorized charge (I had already completed payments).

Desired Settlement: I would like my funds returned in full.

4/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: An error has been made with the consolidation of my student loans and I am not able to get in contact with the company. I have email communications regarding what loans I wanted consolidated and those instructions were not followed

Desired Settlement: Correct the error and remove the acs( ****** ****) from the consolidation because that was what agreement

3/31/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid this company over $6000.00 in August 2014 for a college loan I co-signed for my niece ******** *********, they were supposed to apply the funds and have this account closed (paid in full) When I recently checked my credit report I discovered a negative rating from ****** **** ( who GL Loan was working for) I have bee trying t reach GL Loan to no avail and was hoping you can help me receive a full refund. I can be contacted for additional information anytime and I appreciate any help you can give me....Thank you ****** *********

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund of the payment this company received in August 2014 of $6712.00(

3/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company has been billing me for services, however, I have emailed my advisor and received no reply. In addition, all phone numbers have been out of service, all social media is down, and the website is no longer in service. There is no way to get in touch with anyone to discuss the services I have paid for, or to resolve billing questions.In addition, news has come out around legal issues and bankruptcy for the company, and no information has been given to clients as to how to proceed.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded for the month of March as I have not been able to get in touch with anyone to address these concerns as well as for me to receive the advising I have paid for.

3/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: the company has stopped ansewring calls, emails. called 44 times. they did not fulfill the services they were supposed to. i had to do the work myself as it required submiting paperwork to the government by a deadline. they need to refund me 400$

Desired Settlement: refund me 400$

3/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company claims to help organize loan repayment following any form of medical school. I enlisted their services for help with my PA school loans. After sending them the information they required (tax forms, pay stubs, SSN, bank account information, loan details, demographic information), they cut off their correspondence via email and their number became listed as "no longer working". However, they continued to charge my debit card, but never even contacted my loan provider. I have since canceled the debit card, but I am concerned that they have such personal information.

Desired Settlement: I have contacted my bank and they have put a temporary refund in my account as they look further into the matter.

3/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: GL Advisor did not provide the services they were hired to do. When first signing up, it was very easy to get a hold of people at the company to answer questions. Now that it is time for paperwork to be filed, no one is reachable. I called several times, leaving messages and never received a return call. I did however get an email that stated I needed to go to a website and fill out information to schedule a return call, which I did. I never received my call in the specified window, let alone after the fact. I called my loan company and they informed me that my paperwork had not been filed. This has caused me a great deal of stress and frustration. Not only did it take time, effort, and money to sign up with GL Advisor, I now have to rush to get paperwork done on my own before I am penalized.

Desired Settlement: I paid for a service that was not performed. This lack of service has caused me a great deal of unnecessary stress and aggravation, as well as put me at risk for penalization by the loan company. A refund is the LEAST we should all get.

3/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a large student loan with this company that I have the funds to pay off in full and I have contacted them more than ten times by phone and email with no success and have tried to issue to payment online multiple times with no success and this loan is accumulating interest at a very high rate. They have completely unethical busines practices and I have tried every number I could possibly find online and contacted them with every email I could find and I have had no success resolving this issue. I am going to have to hire a lawyer to resolve this or put the money in ******.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to process my payoff payment in full so that I can no longer have anything to do with their company.

3/26/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: There was a period of time after I had to change my debit card that my monthly service fee was not able to be drafted. I rectified this situation and corrected the card number in their system in January. On January 8, 2015, after I updated the card information, I was charged a one month fee of $35.91. On January 20, 2015 I was charged $143.64 which brought me up to date for all monthly fees missed which ranged from the months of September 2014 through December 2014/January 2015. At that time, as stated, I should've been up to date and current with all payments. Their automated system, for some reason, did not record the payment that was drafted on January 20, 2015 so on February 23, 2015 (post date not drafted date) I was charged $179.55 instead of $35.91 as I was supposed to be charged. This meant that I had been charged twice for the months of September 2014-December 2014/January 2015. I was also additionally charged an overdraft fee for a subsequent bill of $35 from my bank due to GL Advisor overcharging me by $143.64 on February 23, 2015 (post date not drafted date) as my family and I are on an extremely tight budget at this time. I have emailed and called GL Advisor dozens of times to get this issue resolved. Due to the bad weather they received any initial response was delayed. I finally spoke with my "head representative" regarding the issue to which she stated I needed to fax a copy of my bank statement reflecting the payments as their system did not show the payment from January 20, 2015. I complied with this request and pursed Famila ***** (my "head representative") to ensure that the fax had been received. She verified that the fax had been received on February 25, 2015 and that it had been forwarded to their billing department for review. Since that date I have yet to be able to get in contact, via email or phone, with any representative from GL Advisor. When I call the main lines there is an automated response saying "all circuits are busy, please try your call again later" and when I have called Famila's direct line the tone for a number being no longer in service is heard. I have also repeatedly tried to email Famila as well as the general "contact us" email for GL Advisor and no one has responded. My last email was dated 3/11/15 in which I, again, stated the problem of being overcharged, the lack of communication, and the need for rectification within 48 hours or I would be contacting you, BBB, and my bank in efforts to get the charge reversed (I am confident it is too late to have the charges reversed without additional cost).

Desired Settlement: I have requested that a refund of $178.64 be credited back to by checking account. This will cover the overcharge of $143.64 that I had already paid as well as the $35 overdraft fee incurred due to their error. I would like adequate communication from GL Advisor so that I can finally conclude this business matter as it has been going on for almost a full month and I would like to sever my relationship with GL Advisor going forward due to their poor communication and management.

3/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My name is ****** **** and I have recently graduated with my doctorate in veterinary medicine. Since graduating I decided that with all my student loans I would need help from a financial advisor to help apply for IBR, discuss payment options and just how to stay above water with all my student loan debt. I was able to contact them at anytime if I had questions and they were always available to schedule phone appointments. Everything was great until some of my loans started to come back into repayment and they are amounts that I cannot pay. For the past week I have been trying to get in touch with ANY of the financial advisors about my current student loans and the status of applications I have sent them. There is a link on the website that allows you to schedule an appointment with an advisor, there are no appointments available even 3-4 months out. I called all the phone numbers listed on the website - they are all recordings that ask you to stay on the line then hang up, or ask you to leave a message - I have left 3 voice messages this past week. I have emailed all the email addresses and the FIRST response I received today when I emailed client services stated the following: Good Day! Due to the recent snow storm over the weekend, our operations have been scaled down to a skeletal staff for the time being. We will try to respond to your emails as soon as we are able and we apologize for the inconvenience. Thank you! Regards, GL Advisor Team ###-###-#### ###-###-#### clientservices@gladvisor.com I do not understand how a snow storm (that occurred weeks ago) in this day and age can completely shut down a company that seems so technologically apt.

Desired Settlement: I would like to talk to someone about my financial situation. I wanted to assure that this company is still up and running and that this is not happening to other people, as I have lost trust in them. They have all my information (SSN, ID numbers, access to my loans, etc) and it is very unsettling not getting a PERSONAL response from anyone in their "office".

2/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I invested in GL Beyond Income Fund, and my IRA was in that fund. In October 2014, I attempted to transfer the funds to my Fidelity IRA and I was told at the time that I could only transfer part of the money in my GL Fund, and that I would have to wait until 1/6/15 for the rest to transfer. On 1/6/15, I was told that the fund was "frozen" because the account is under investigation by a Federal agency and that there is no way to know when or if I will be able to obtain my funds.

Desired Settlement: I want the money I deposited into the GL Beyond Income Fund to be transferred to my Fidelity IRA

Business Response: Due to pending legal and regulatory matters, all issues related to the GL Beyond Income Fund is in the sole discretion of the fund's Board.  A timeline for resolution cannot currently be provided, but it is the intention to come to a resolution in an expedited manner. 

9/9/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I became a customer of GL Advisor in 2011 after graduating veterinary school. I signed up for automatic monthly billing and automatic renewal. It took 3-4 phone calls and emails to get the account set up correctly. In December of 2013, my husband received a call from GL Advisor asking if he wanted to continue receiving their business. The agent stated that they had not received payment since May of 2013 when they went to run my card and it would not process. I was taken aback for 2 reasons: 1. Why were they contacting my husband? I was the primary on the account. He was grandfathered in. 2. If no payment had been received since May, why was I only being notified on of it now? Why would they continue service for someone who wasn't making payments? The answer came in a second phone call from another agent in which I was told that there had been an internal error in their IT department and that was why I had never received a call or email about the past due payment. The agent then stated that my fees from May 2013 to December 2013 would be compensated for the error. I gave my new credit card information and expected that to be the end of it. I also requested that the next time a payment issue arises to please contact me immediately. In May 2014, my IBR was due and GL Advisor estimated my monthly loan payments to be much higher than I expected for IBR. After an email exchange with "one of five advisors on my account" (what?!) I was dissatisfied and called my loan servicer myself for some answers. I got an accurate monthly amount and requested in writing that my account with GL Advisor be canceled in June 2014. I was assured in a response that it would be canceled immediately. In August of 2014 I received an email from GL Advisor asking my to update my contact information. I wrote back inquiring why I was still receiving these emails if I was no longer a customer. I was then told that I would have to pay the last years worth of fees because they had tried to run my card in January 2014, it didn't go through and I owed from May 2013-June 2014 as a result. When I reiterated what I was told about the May 2013 - December 2013 fees being waved the agent claimed to have no record of that and said my account would not be canceled without payment. I let him know that was illegal and he had to cancel my account. I stated that I would be willing to pay the fees from January 2014 - June 2014 ($200) and have not received any response. I want my account canceled and the May 2013 - December 2013 fees waived as I was previously promised.

Desired Settlement: Cancel my account and accept the $200 payment by mail.

Business Response: We will be reviewing the complaint and will be in touch with the client  within 48 hours. 

8/30/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In July of 2012, I purchased the services of GL Adviser for one year for my daughter, which I arranged to pay in a series of monthly payments. No one advised me that this would be considered an ongoing charge unless I cancelled it, nor did I sign anything to that effect. When the year was up, I heard nothing further from them, and considered our business arrangements complete. In July, 2014, I had a charge of $395.01 on my credit card which I could not identify. I tried to call the number next to the charge and was not able to reach a real person. I left my number in two messages. Today, I called the business directly and talked to an agent who could not explain why I have been charged two years later for a year of alleged service to my daughter for July, 2013 through July, 2014. I kept saying that had this charge happened when it was theoretically supposed to - in July of 2013, I would have caught it then and canceled service. I also find it interesting that the monthly payment plan changed to an annual payment. GL Adviser did not do what they said they would do with my daughter's information, and after further conversation, an even less attractive picture began to emerge of a company who mishandled my daughter's loans, submitted her paperwork six months late due to an adviser's negligent handling of the account, was told that because of that they would extend her contract for 6 extra months - but didn't - and did very little to deserve the initial $400 plus payment. For the purposes of this complaint, I was billed in July of 2012 for services until July 2013- that my daughter had been told would be extended through January, 2014. I was billed again in July, 2014 for service that allegedly had taken place from July, 2013 until July, 2014.

Desired Settlement: I want $395.01 restored to my account and since my daughter's account was handled negligently, no expectation of further funds from either of us.

Business Response: We have been trying to resolve the issue off line and might have neglected to update the complaint. Rest assured were taking actions on our end to ensure that were acting on the client's complaint in a timely manner. 

8/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired GL Advisor to handle my federal loans for me following graduation from veterinary school in 2012. I was satisfied from 2012-2013, but in 2013 management changed, and I have been unsatisfied since. Last year, they failed to notify me that my credit card information was not going through and therefore my monthly bill was not being adequately charged. I did not find out about this until July 2014 when they then started to try to charge my credit card for another year's service which I did not sign a contract for. For 3 weeks I have been attempting to resolve this issue, however the lack of adequate customer service leaves me running in circles. I received an email last week stating that they would cancel the renewed contract for this year if I paid the outstanding balance I owed of $143.36 by logging into my account and entering my credit card information; however, when I log in to my account it states that by entering my information I will be charged $450 for last year, and $450 for this year (totaling $900). I have instructed them twice that I will not enter my credit card until this information is corrected, but have received no response. I am trying to settle this matter before they decide to turn me over to collections, when I am actively trying to settle the outstanding balance with them. If this is how GL intends to conduct business for their company, I will make certain to inform all new graduates not to hire their services.

Desired Settlement: I want them to correct the balance currently shown on my account so that I may settle the outstanding charges and cut all strings with GL Advisor after such is done. I do not want to be charged $450 for a contract for 2014-2015 when I did not sign up for a renewal to occur.

Business Response: We will be reaching out to the client to resolve this issue off line. We'll provide updates in the coming days once a resolution has been reached. thank you!

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #********. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved.  Regards, ***************

8/12/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After graduating vet school in April of 2012 I signed up for GL Advisor's service as I was promised my loans, personal finance and taxes would all be handled through them. After taking months longer than was necessary and after my loan repayment was considered "late" my loans were eventually handled through IBR as promised, though this took many months, hours of my time and phone calls. My taxes were prepared and when I had them looked over, I was told "they had you pay in taxes you shouldn't have had to pay." After several inquiries about 401k and personal finance I was given the run around and gave up. I decided that I did not want to renew my contract after a year. I was never notified about my contract being renewed, it was just done for me without my knowledge. I submitted my own IBR with ****** *** (my loan provider) and it was processed. A few months later GL Advisor submitted another one without my knowledge. I called to inquire about this as I no longer thought I was a customer of theirs since I had not approved any contract renewal. I was assured that I was not being charged for this but that they had a task loaded in their computer and they had to follow through with it even if I wasn't a customer. I never heard another word from them until about a month ago, I got 4 emails saying they had attempted to charge my card but could not because the card had expired. I thought that was weird since I wasn't even a customer but did not think much of it until I saw several of my classmates complaining about how they were tricked into contracts and how they were being charged for stuff they didn't use either. I called GL Advisor to inquire about the issue. They said that even if I cancelled my contract today, I must keep them until February 2015 and I owed them a little over $100. After arguing with the person I spoke with I finally gave up and decided to file a complaint to see if I could both inform the BBB of their practices that I do not believe to be right and to cancel my contract immediately and not have to pay for a service I did not receive or use.

Desired Settlement: I would just like to cancel my contract that was renewed without my knowledge and not have to pay the balance owed for a service I did not use.

Business Response: We will be reviewing this dispute and plan to respond to the client within 24 hours. Regards, **** ******* GL Advisor | Managing Director

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below.  I never got the email with their response. I do not accept their response because they stated that they would contact me within 24 hours and I have yet to hear from them so no resolution has been offered Regards, **** *****  

7/22/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Following my cancellation of services with the company, I was charged $251.37 for services that I have not received. This company has not done anything on my behalf since their failure to process my taxes on time for 2012. I have received no communication from the company since that time, until this amount was charged to my credit card, again without communication from the company. When I called and said that the funds needed to be refunded I was told that they had provided "due diligence review" of my account and thus could not refund the full amount. They are still attempting to charge me $100 for services I have not received.

Desired Settlement: The full amount of the $251.37 charge should be refunded to me.

Business Response: Mr.*******,

Your concerns were quickly communicated to the customer service manager yesterday and I will be reviewing the matter with him today. We plan to get back to you shortly.


Regards,

**** *******
Managing Director

7/4/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired GLAdvisor in January 2013 to handle my student loans and made a lump sum of $495 for one year of service. I found the service extremely disappointing and decided that at the end of the year, I no longer wanted them to handle my loans. In January 2014, I went online to cancel my account,but I could not find where to do so, so I called GLAdvisor's main line. I spoke to a representative who agreed to cancel my account. After that phone call, I noticed that I still had online access to GLAdvisor's website, but in my account billing section, I was not billed at all between Jan 28, 2014 through June 28, 2014, so I believed the account had been cancelled. During those five months, I handled my student loans on my own, filing the appropriate paperwork and making phone calls to my loan servicer. On May 16, 2014, I received an e-mail from GLAdvisor informing me that they submitted a status change to my loan servicer on my behalf. I called GLAdvisor, asking what had been sent on my behalf, believing that they had made a mistake. After the call, I once again requested that my account be cancelled, which the representative assured me would happen. At this point, GLAdvisor had not billed me. On June 28, 2014, I received a notice on my credit card statement that GLAdvisor had billed me for $143.64. I called to inquire about the charge, seeing as I had attempted to cancel the service twice. The representative on the phone informed me that she would cancel my account, but I still owed the $143.64 for the document that GLAdvisor sent on my behalf on May 16. When I refused to pay for this service, seeing as I had attempted to cancel the service on two prior occasions, the representative launched an investigation to determine what happened. On July 3, the GLAdvisor representative contacted me again to follow up on her investigation. The representative explained the document that was filed on my behalf on May 16. I explained that GLAdvisor never contacted me prior to filing that document and I did not even know that GLAdvisor still considered me a client in their system, especially considering my prior phone calls and the lack of prior billing. I asked the representative to cancel my account and remove the $143.64 that had already been billed. When I did so, the representative notified me that she needed $395 to settle my account before she would proceed with the cancellation request.

Desired Settlement: Remove all outstanding charges and cancel my account

Business Response: I contacted Mr. **** by email the morning of July 4th. After an apology for the miscommunication and other concerns documented in complaint, I offered a refund of fees. In a follow up email, Mr. **** explained that he already contacted his credit card company to dispute the charges, rendering the refund unnecessary. We'll await the dispute notification and accept it, of course. Mr. **** also shared a number of details regarding his experience as a helpful critique to GL Advisor, providing insight into areas for improvement as well as immediate training for advisory staff. An open dialogue between Mr. **** and I now exists, as it relates to the nature of GL's services and the actions taken and ongoing to remedy previous and existing pitfalls.

Consumer Response:

6/2/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company services a graduate loan I took out last year. The loan was originally serviced by another company but has switched to GL Advisor. I have been attempting to make my monthly payment for May. In order to make payments, you have to visit the GL Advisor website. The website is inoperable and has been for more than a week. I have contacted GL Advisor customer service twice. Both times I was told that the only way to make my payment is through the website; they do not offer any alternate payment methods. So I can't pay my bill until they fix the website. Meanwhile, the loan is accruing interest. The customer service representatives have been completely unresponsive to my concerns, telling me instead that I just have to wait until the website is fixed. I believe this is extremely unethical, and I want all interest accrued in the month of May to be nullified.

Desired Settlement: I would like all interest accrued for the month of May nullified and removed from the principal amount.

Business Response: We have contacted the borrower directly and will resolve the complaint with him.

5/6/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I originally signed up with GL Advisor because during my initial phone consultation, the advisor stated that among other things, they would file my taxes for me. He also stated that there would be quarterly reviews in which a financial advisor would contact me to discuss my financial goals and situations. I have received neither, the company stating that they would no longer offer tax services long after I had signed up and paid my fee. I have also yet to receive one phone call that was initiated by GL Advisor. I called on December 9, 2013 and spoke to ******, and requested that I receive a refund of my fee as I have not received satisfactory service. The only thing GL Advisor has done for me so far is process my IBR documents. Even that was a delayed and inefficient process, taking months to complete, and I no longer trust that things will be done on time. I had submitted my part of the paperwork for the IBR process, and when I didn't hear anything back from GL Advisor I assumed the matter had been taken care of. However, I received an email weeks later, stating that I had sent the wrong document. I was very surprised to hear this because I thought everything had been completed. I have also never received any phone calls or emails from GL Advisor that they've initiated to discuss my finances. I set up an appointment once, and the advisor called me half an hour late, when my lunch break was over and I had to be back at work- he offered no apologies or even mention of the fact that he was late to call. When I spoke to ****** on December 9 2013, she said that the review of my account for consideration of a refund will take 30 calendar days. I called back on January 9, 2013, and ****** stated that she will need to call me back in 20 minutes after they review my account- this clearly showed me that they had not reviewed my account in the past 30 days, and they were reviewing it now only because I had called. She called me back and stated that they cannot give me a refund because I have received services from them. She also told me that the tax service was complimentary and they are not obligated to render this service. She also stated that when I signed up for GL Advisor back in summer of 2013, they were already considering not offering the tax service anymore. If this is the case, then the person I spoke to on the phone during my initial consultation should have mentioned this fact. He made absolutely no mention of this, when I had clearly expressed that tax filing is a big concern of mine. Now I will have to spend more time and money to file my taxes.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of $395. After I receive my refund, I want to close my account with GL Advisor.

Business Response: Ms. *** signed up on June 28th of 2013, 25 days after prospective and existing clients of GL Advisor were notified (by email) that tax return preparation and filing services would no longer be included with the standard annual fee. Consideration was given, as our annual fee for services of $495 for veterinarians was lowered to $395. Additionally, we advised clients that we still planned to offer these tax services as separate offerings and that fee schedules and other details would be available before end of 2013. After a detailed assessment of our offering and how it compared to client expectations and the marketplace, we announced in December that we would not offer ancillary tax preparation or filing services going forward. Again, consideration for this had already been given and explained as early as June 3, 2013. Soon after becoming a client, a member of our advisory staff reached out to Ms. *** on July 10, 2013 to walk through our plan of action, the packet of documents we had securely provided to her, and the steps she would be required to take in facilitating a successful partnership. A voicemail was left and a follow up consultation took place on July 15, during which the details of our proposed plan and additional requirements were discussed with an advisor from GL and Ms. ***. The next day an advisor specializing in retirement planning reached out to Ms. *** as well to discuss her previously self identified investment concerns, resulting in a voicemail and email being left for Ms. ***. Additional outbound emails were sent by our team in October to update Ms. *** regarding steps being taken by GL on her behalf to facilitate her plan. Finally, we emailed Ms. *** about our final decision to no longer offer tax services by email on December 9, 2013, including an invitation to discuss this with a member of our staff at her earliest convenience. While we are saddened to hear about Ms. ***'s disappointing experience, we reject her claims that she was not educated on the nature of GL's tax services as a separate offering at the time of her agreement to retain our services, that she was not provided consideration for the change in our service offerings (fee reduction that occurred on June 3, dropping fee from $495 to $395), and that GL never initiated contact with Ms. *** during her time as a client. We are happy to discuss her refund request with her separately and will work to expedite the process going forward.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint. "Ms. *** signed up on June 28th of 2013, 25 days after prospective and existing clients of GL Advisor were notified (by email) that tax return preparation and filing services would no longer be included with the standard annual fee." - Who did you notify? Your advisors or your clients? If you notified your clients, then I was obviously not included in your email list since I was not a client at this time. If you notified your advisors, then the advisor I spoke to on the phone was incorrect when he told me that tax services are included. The company should take responsibility for an employee's mistake. "Consideration was given, as our annual fee for services of $495 for veterinarians was lowered to $395." - According the the email I received, the fee reduction was touted as an enhancement "to help our clients save even more." If a service is no longer offered and there is a fee reduction because of it, then it's not really helping to "save even more," is it? More importantly, the email informing me of the fee reduction has NO MENTION that tax services are no longer offered. "Additionally, we advised clients that we still planned to offer these tax services as separate offerings and that fee schedules and other details would be available before end of 2013." - I do not recall receiving such information. I have no email record of it, and the advisor I spoke to for my free consultation before signing up never mentioned it. "After a detailed assessment of our offering and how it compared to client expectations and the marketplace, we announced in December that we would not offer ancillary tax preparation or filing services going forward. Again, consideration for this had already been given and explained as early as June 3, 2013." - It was never explained to me prior to December 2013. "Soon after becoming a client, a member of our advisory staff reached out to Ms. *** on July 10, 2013 to walk through our plan of action, the packet of documents we had securely provided to her, and the steps she would be required to take in facilitating a successful partnership." - Yes, I agree this conversation took place. "A voicemail was left and a follow up consultation took place on July 15, during which the details of our proposed plan and additional requirements were discussed with an advisor from GL and Ms. ***. The next day an advisor specializing in retirement planning reached out to Ms. *** as well to discuss her previously self identified investment concerns, resulting in a voicemail and email being left for Ms. ***." - My concern is that I never received communication by GL Advisor without me having to request a specific consultation. It's only common sense that YES, someone from GLA should call me if I request an appointment. The advisor at the time of sign-up stated that I would receive quarterly communication from GLA- That the company would INITIATE the conversation by sending me an email or phone call stating "Hey, we should talk about your finances!" "Additional outbound emails were sent by our team in October to update Ms. *** regarding steps being taken by GL on her behalf to facilitate her plan." - I received an email in OCTOBER for a document I sent in JULY, stating that I faxed the wrong document, hence my concern that things were not being done in an efficient, timely manner.  "Finally, we emailed Ms. *** about our final decision to no longer offer tax services by email on December 9, 2013, including an invitation to discuss this with a member of our staff at her earliest convenience." - And the answer I got was that I can get my taxes done somewhere else.  

Business Response: We have responded to the client via email and will work directly with them to resolve their complaint. We would like to note that we provided this client with a full refund in March, but that we are happy to hear what other resolution the consumer is seeking.

3/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Last year I signed up with the GL Advisor service to handle my student loans, and tax documentation. I received a phone call from ******* **** from this service to start the proceedings. However, my consolidation did not happen, and his filing of my student loan consolidation messed up the actual consolidation process with Federal Loans. I did get back in touch with GL Advisors in September to let them know of my dissatisfaction, and not receiving the service that I was promised, and at that time they promised me a full refund. However, they did say it would take a month to receive this refund. In October, the refund never came. I called back, and they kept passing me off to different people and they all had different answers. Then in November, I filed a complaint with BBB about not receiving the refund, as well as not receiving the services promised. I was then contacted by ******, a lawyer with GL advisors that offered only half of my payment to them. I let her know that would be unacceptable due to the nature surrounding the situation. I never heard back from her. Then my wife, ****, has called GL advisors over the past four days, and they all had different answers. They say that they need a finance manager to approve the refund, but that was not the case in September. I would like a full refund due to them not consolidating my loan, or filing my taxes. These were the two promised services.

Desired Settlement: I want the full refund.

Business Response: GL Advisor has resolved this complaint with Mr. ****** *****. Settlement of the concern included an apology for miscommunication and a full refund of fees paid to GL, a value of $395. The refund was issued by check on 03/18/2014. The apology and plan to refund all fees paid was communicated to Mr. ***** by phone on March 11, 2014 and a follow up call on March 17th confirmed that the check would be issued the following day. Additional follow up is scheduled to confirm the receipt of the check and address any other concerns the former client may have.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved. 

11/12/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am writing in regards to the lack of services received from GL Advisors on my behalf. I was originally lured into purchasing the service because I knew that I would be starting an internship and would be pressed for time. They claimed that they would handle all of the forms needed to complete the consolidation and IBR processes and I believed that they would deliver this service. I paid for the service around June 2013 and was initially impressed once ****** **** contacted me with a detailed plan and consult. This was short-lived, however. A month later, a consolidation of my loans had been processed, however, it was only a partial consolidation. ****** called me to discuss this issue. The consolidated amount was about $120,000, leaving over $180,000 of loans not consolidated. He called ******** ********* with me. At that time the customer service representative informed me that I could fill out the forms myself online and didn't need a 3rd party assisting me in that endeavor; this should have been a huge red flag to me, but I still trusted ******. I was told to check on the status of my loans from my undergraduate and graduate school. ****** told me that I had 90 days to get the rest of the loans consolidated. I did my part and contacted the schools and e-mailed ****** the results. He emailed me back and said that he would be back in touch with me once my graduate school got back in contact with me. I never heard back from ****** and then received a bill from ****** ***** in the amount of $800. I then e-mailed *** **** asking if he knew anything about the bill and gave him 7 days and never heard from him. I then called ****** ***** to see where the charge was coming from and they told me it was from the consolidation performed earlier and the lady allowed me to place the loan into forbearance and told me to consolidate the rest of my loans in October before my forbearance was up. She gave me the information to accomplish this. I was shocked, because the GL Advisors were supposed to be taking care of all of this and they had not upheld there end of the bargain. I called GL Advisors to discuss this issue further. After waiting on hold, I finally spoke to a representative. I explained the details of what had occurred and told him that I was very upset that I had to find out about the loan payment by calling ****** ***** and that ****** never contacted me. I explained that the entire purpose of me enrolling in their service was to save me time, however, I have spent more time trying to get in contact with someone from their office than it would take for me to fill out the forms myself. After that call, I submitted a formal request for a full refund and cancelation of my service ( I paid the year's service charge in advance). I received a notification acknowledging my request one week later (Sept 1). A week after the notification, I called GL and asked about my refund. The representative told me that it usually takes a month for the refund to be processed. He said that he would notify the billing department and see if they could speed it up. I then called after 30 days and spoke to another representative who said that they would look into it for me. I received a call from another advisor, but I was unable to return his call due to my work schedule. I called back to GL advisor and they told me **** had gone home for the day. I explained that my schedule was unpredictable and depended on what patient load I had that day. The guy said that he would speak with **** and get an update on the situation and call me back at 7:30 pm the next evening. I awaited his phone call and he never called. The day after that I called back and spoke to another representative. I told him the situation and he told me that the billing department had reviewed my case and determined that I was ineligible for a refund because they had processed a consolidation on my behalf and thus rendered services. I was very upset by this news, especially since this was the first that I had heard about this. I explained the entire situation and let him know that their customer service was despicable and unethical at best. They had not rendered the services agreed upon when I signed up. I asked if they would have charged me the whole year's amount if I had opted for the monthly or quarterly payment policy. He failed to answer this question and switched the subject. After about 30 minutes of discussion, he said that he understood my frustration and would re-open my case and promised to follow-up with me. It has been 3 weeks and he has failed to follow up with them. I feel as though this is just another stalling tactic. This is when I decided to file a formal complaint against them.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund in the amount of $395, so that I may finally have this matter settled.

Business Response: We have responded directly to the consumer about the complaint and are working to resolve it with him.

10/29/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have cancelled my account with GLAdvantage vis phone and email. I no longer have access to my online account because I have cancelled my services with them due to my extreme dissatisfaction. Despite this they have continued to deduct my monthly payment from my credit card for 5 months. I have spoken with an associate and supervisor numerous times and they continue to steal money out of my account. I don't know how to gt them to stop stealing money out of my account as I have spoken to a supervisor yet I have received no refund.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund with interest ($190), and never to be charged again for a service that I am not receiving. This company should not be allowed to continue to steal money from me.

Business Response: We will respond directly to the consumer to resolve the complaint.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

I believe that your company still owes me interest on the money that you stole from my account.  The 4 months you took money from me after I canceled your service, with 6% interest comes to $189.70 so you still owe me an additional $26.06.  

Business Response: We have responded directly to the consumer.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved.  

I still think it is unjust that the company stole from me and it should be published.

10/24/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Back in March, I decided to use GL Advisor to handle my student loans. I elected the monthly billing plan of $45 dollars per month and the first withdrawal was going to be on 4/22/13. On April 22nd, a withdrawal from GL Advisor for $45 was made out of my account, but on their website it stated that there was a billing issue and was unable to withdraw money from account. So May 22nd came around for my 2nd payment to be withdrawn and GL Advisor withdrew $90 instead of $45. I called them to find out why and they said that it was because they did not receive a payment from the April. I corrected them and even emailed them with a picture showing where my account was deducted $45 from GL Advisor. After this phone conversation, I decided to cancel my plan and did so through email because that is what they require. I called a second time in July because I still did not receive a refund for charging me twice for the month of April. I was told again to email stating I was entitled to a refund and to show where I was charged twice. I did and up until now I have yet to receive any response or refund of any kind.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be fully refunded for the double charge at the very least, if not, completely refunded for lack of communication and poor business.

Business Response: We have responsded directly to the customer about his complaint and will resolve the issue with him.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved. 

7/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife has been a client of GL Advisor since the fall of 2011. I am writing to describe what I believe has been a pattern of neglect and mismanagement of her account with GL Advisor. This pattern has been characterized by poor service, scant and inconsistent communication, and a failure to administer her account in a proactive and timely fashion. These failures on the part of GL Advisor have caused us undue levels of stress regarding the management of my wife's student loans and required a great deal of time and energy to sort out. They will also have a significant monetary cost due to the nature of her loans (income based repayment with her income expected to increase dramatically upon completion of her training) and the delay in eligibility for Public Service Loan Forgiveness following 120 payments. The following examples, without pretending to capture the totality of GL Advisor's faults, demonstrate the truth of these claims. The goal agreed upon by my wife and her first GL Advisor (**** *********) was to consolidate her student loans and place them all in Income Based Repayment. Per my recent conversation with one of GL's representatives, ****** ****, the consolidation process can take up to 90 days in the slowest case. Once the consolidation is complete, the processing of a request for Income Based Repayment can be expected to take another 10-14 business days. So even in the most conservative of scenarios one would have expected my wife's loans to be successfully consolidated and in IBR within the first six months of her becoming a client. Nevertheless, and much to our dismay, one of her Grad Plus loans was not consolidated, not placed into IBR, and allowed to fall out of forbearance in November 2012. This resulted in us receiving a notice that payment was past due. We were never contacted by GL regarding this loan. We were never told that it had not been placed in IBR and that a forbearance extension was recommended. Only by contacting the loan servicer ourselves were we able to find out why the account had gone into repayment and was past due. The loan was placed in forbearance again and again our desire to have it placed in IBR was stated to GL Advisors. Fast forward to April 2013. I was reviewing my wife's National Student Loan Data System profile and found that the aforementioned loan was still in forbearance and would enter repayment in May 2013. I called the loan servicer and their representative stated that their records showed no IBR request ever having been filed. It had been 16 months since my wife became a client and this loan had still not been dealt with in an appropriate fashion. When I spoke with Mr. **** on April 18, I was informed that the ACS loan was not in IBR because the "second consolidation (for 3 of the 4 grad plus loans) had not been funded, and IBR could not be processed until this took place." Again, we had never received any notification from GL Advisor regarding this situation nor of the need for any action on our part. If I had not called GL, I'm not certain my wife's advisory team would even have caught the impending end of forbearance for this loan in time to request yet another extension. It is very difficult to imagine a satisfactory explanation as to why 16 months had gone by and absolutely nothing had been done with this loan. Regarding another failure of service, my wife's summary page on GL Advisor's website had incorrect loan balance amounts for many months and was not updated to reflect her actual situation. She notified her second advisor (***** ********) of this in January 2013. At that time she also expressed many of the same concerns I am expressing now. Mr. ******** apologized and assured us that it was his job to demonstrate the value of GL's services and to improve our experience with GL going forward. He stated that there were some changes and updates taking place with the technology GL utilizes, but that the website would soon be updated to reflect my wife's current situation. On March 24, 2013, she again emailed Mr. ******** and inquired as to why the website had not been updated. She received no response. On April 11, 2013, she received an email from advisorgroup@gladvisor.com stating that the website errors had been reported to GL's team and were being worked on. Four months had passed since she first notified GL Advisor of these website mistakes and nothing had changed. Finally, the most recent example of GL's failure to provide agreed upon service is our taxes for 2012, to be filed by April 15, 2013. On March 5th, 2013, we uploaded to GL Advisor's website the appropriate documentation so that GL could file our taxes (a service supposed to provided complementarily to clients of GL's). After receiving no related communication from GL for a few weeks, my wife (in the aforementioned email to ***** ******** on March 24) inquired as to the status of our tax return and to see if any further documentation was needed. She again received no response. She finally called GL Advisor on April 2, 2013 and was informed that she had failed to complete her tax organizer on GL's website. She was also told that it was already too late for GL to file taxes on our behalf and that we should file them independently. Again, my wife was never informed by GL Advisors that she needed to complete a tax organizer and in fact received no communication from the company regarding our taxes until this April 2nd phone conversation. On April 8th, 2013 we filed our taxes independently via Turbo Tax. Our federal return and one of our state returns were accepted the same day and the second state return was accepted on April 10th. Incredibly, on April 11, 2013 my wife received an email from GL Advisor stating that taxes had been filed by them and accepted on April 4th! Ignoring for a moment that this email directly contradicted the phone conversation she had recently had with a GL representative, the IRS will not accept duplicate tax returns for the same social security number! It follows that either Turbo Tax had erroneously presented our successful filing of taxes and the acceptance of those filings, or that the April 11th email from GL was a blatant falsehood. The fact that the last update of my wife's information on GL's website was one that she completed on March 5th and no documentation of a completed tax return exists there suggest the latter very strongly. As you can see, GL Advisor has failed to provide the services for which they were contracted. GL's failures have cost us incredible amounts of time and energy and caused significant stress. Instead of proactive management, we have had to spur GL to action with repeated emails and phone calls. Instead of timely processing of consolidation and IBR requests, 16 months had passed and neither was complete. Instead of clear communication initiated by GL, we have had to inquire time and again as to the status of my wife's account and received confusing answers when we received any answers at all. Instead of accountability, we have dealt with multiple advisors, each of them offering apologies and promises to improve; promises which they have failed to keep. Instead of an accessible and accurate web interface, we went months without any corrections to the errors there and found the website useless in understanding how my wife's loans are being managed. Instead of taxes filed on time, we were forced to file them at our own expense at the last minute and then misled that they had actually already been filed by GL. In short, instead of a company working on my wife's behalf to simplify the management of her loans and minimize her financial burden, I feel very strongly that an ongoing relationship with GL is likely only to cause more harm. Considering all of the above, my wife and I requested that GL Advisors at the very least refund to us the $900 in service fees that we have paid. Additionally, we requested reimbursement for the cost of filing our taxes independently through Turbo Tax this year. The total cost for federal and state filings came to $104.97. We submitted this request on April 18th, 2013. GL Advisors acknowledged receipt of this request on April 20, 2013. Since then they have continued their pattern of poor service. On May 21, my wife emailed GL inquiring as to the status of the refund request. GL responded the same day stating that the request was still being reviewed and that refund requests normally take 30-45 days to process. At the time of that writing 30 days had passed since our initial request. On June 10th (50 days since the initial refund request), my wife again inquired as to the status of the request. GL replied the same day stating that the request was still being reviewed and that she could check on it at the start of the following week. On June 18th (58 days after the initial request), my wife again inquired as to the status of her pending request. GL responded the same day that the refund was in the final stages of approval. On June 26th, my wife again inquired of GL. GL replied the same day that they had sent a check for $450 on June 24th. On June 28th we received a check in the mail from GL Advisors in the amount of $450. Our original request clearly stated that the amount being sought was $900 for the service fees and $104.97 for the filing of taxes for a total of $1004.97. A refund of $450 is simply unsatisfactory; moreover, there was no explanation from GL as to why the amount was reduced. The same day we received the reduced refund, my wife emailed GL stating that, pending action by GL Advisors to refund the remaining $554.97, we considered the request unresolved. She also informed GL of our intent to file a complaint with BBB. On July 2nd, GL emailed to inform us that they had "escalated the refund request to upper management and they are currently conducting a secondary review of the initial refund." GL stated that they would "reach out to you the moment there is feedback." It has now been two weeks since GL sent that email. Given GL's history of delays and poor follow-through, we have decided to go ahead with this complaint.

Desired Settlement: As previously stated, we feel that GL Advisors/Graduate Leverage is responsible at least for refunding the remaining $554.97 that we initially requested.

Business Response: We have contacted the complaintaint and are resolving this matter directly with him.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

4 Customer Reviews on Graduate Leverage, LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart