BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Eastern Massachusetts, Maine, Rhode Island and Vermont

This Business is not BBB accredited

Treasure Brokers

Phone: (866) 645-9108 Fax: (401) 921-1899 51 Colonial Ave, Warwick, RI 02886 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.treasure-brokers.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Jarred's Homegoods is a treasure broker for furniture, antiques, jewelry, accessories, and more.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Treasure Brokers include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Treasure Brokers
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 03, 2012 Business started: 05/11/2008 in RI Business started locally: 05/11/2008 Business incorporated: 05/11/2008 in RI
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Linda J Cody, President Mr. Jarred T Cody, Vice President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Jarred T Cody, Vice President
Principal: Ms. Linda J Cody, President
Number of Employees

8

Business Category

ESTATE SALES PRECIOUS & SEMI-PRECIOUS METALS PAWNBROKERS JEWELRY-RETAIL JEWELRY-REPAIRING JEWELRY MANUFACTURERS JEWELRY DESIGNERS JEWELRY BUYERS JEWELRY APPRAISAL INTERNET AUCTION SERVICE GOLD, SILVER & PLATINUM DEALERS GOLD BUYERS FURNITURE-USED FURNITURE REPAIRING & REFINISHING FURNITURE MANUFACTURERS EQUIPMENT & SUPPLIES FURNITURE DEALERS-RETAIL ESTATES - APPRAISALS, SALES & AUCTIONS CONSIGNMENT SERVICE CONSIGNMENT SERVICE - ONLINE CLOTHES-CONSIGNMENT & RESALE AUCTIONS-INTERNET AUCTIONEERS-ONLINE ANTIQUES-REPAIR & RESTORE ANTIQUES-DEALERS ANTIQUES-APPRAISERS Trusts, Estates, and Agency Accounts (NAICS: 525920)

Hours of Operation
M: 12:00 PM - 6:00 PM
T: 12:00 PM - 6:00 PM
W: 12:00 PM - 6:00 PM
Th: 12:00 PM - 6:00 PM
F: 12:00 PM - 6:00 PM
S: 12:00 PM - 6:00 PM
Alternate Business Names
Cody, Inc. Jarred's Homegoods
Industry Tips
Buying Furniture Buying Gold Clothing Finding a Reliable Furniture Store - 5 Tips - Video Gold Dealer Jewelers and Jewelry Stores

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Treasure Brokers has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    51 Colonial Ave

    Warwick, RI 02886 (866) 645-9108

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Customer Service
  • - Communication/Mass Email
  • - eQuote
  • - Technical Support
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I consigned several pieces of furniture to them . Here is what I am owed and when it was due. $470.61 to be mailed on 02/28/2014

Desired Settlement: I want the payment of 471.61 due for the sale of my furniture and I want it now. Owner will not return calls. And we have contacted him a number of times. since the beginning of January.

Business Response: Hello ****, Due to some in-house complication with our check processing, Your replacement check has not gone out.  Your check is on our top list of priorities and we will work to process it as soon as possible.  Thank you for your patience.  Amount Due $470.69 Sorry for any inconvenience

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

This has been going on for months.I have received similar messages before and have lost trust in this business.  I have not received the check yet. When I receive the check and cash it, then I will consider that the complaint has been resolved.

Business Response: ******* ***** Money Order ***********

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/20/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed a contract with Jarreds Homegoods in January to sell some of my household items on consignment. I was told that I can request payment the first seven days of the following month if anything has been sold. I attempted to request payment every month since and have been given the complete run around. They request that you submit the payment request online on their website which I attempted several times to no avail. It is not a user friendly program. I spoke to two of the employees there and have been told different things. I have gone in person to pick up my check and they will not give it to me because they said I have not "followed the procedure" for requesting it first. After a few frustrating months of attempting to pick up my (menial) check, I finally spoke to ****** who told me he would process it for me and to come in within the first seven days of June. Last Friday, June 7th, I went in to pick up my check only to be told AGAIN that I did not submit the request. I admittedly raised my voice and told them I cannot believe this is happening and one of the female employees said she "apologizes that I can;t seem to understand their procedure" !!! I feel this was a degrading remark and utterly unprofessional. After much hesitation by the owner, I was finally give the check request to sign and then told my check will be mailed to me by the end of July! It is not so much the money as it is the extremely poor communication and riduclous procedure. Most of all, I am not happy with the way I was spoken to.

Business Response: Customer did not make request during first 7 days of the month as stated in contract (see attached). 

Customer made request in-store (see attached) on 6/7  and received check on 7/31 as stated on request payment form.

Customer deposited/cashed check on 7/31 and posted on our account on 8/1/13 (see attached)

Customer did not request resolution in BBB Complaint.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1