BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Eastern Massachusetts, Maine, Rhode Island and Vermont
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Boston Green Goods, Inc.?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?
Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Allergy Buyers Club.Com, Inc. is a distributor of healthy home products via the internet, catalogs and phone sales. The company sells and provides product comparison ratings on products such as air purifiers, dehumidifiers, humidifiers, steam cleaners, vacuums and bedding. 

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Boston Green Goods, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Boston Green Goods, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Boston Green Goods, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 28, 2003 Business started: 01/01/1998 in MA Business incorporated: 06/01/1998 in MA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Susan B Rodriguez, V.P. Sales & Customer Service Ms. Mercia Tapping, Owner Ms. M.J. McEldowney, Chief Operations Officer
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. M.J. McEldowney, Chief Operations Officer
Principal: Ms. Susan B Rodriguez, V.P. Sales & Customer Service
Principal: Ms. Mercia Tapping, Owner
Number of Employees

18

Business Category

ENVIRONMENTAL & ECOLOGICAL PRODUCTS & SERVICES WATER FILTRATION & PURIFICATION EQUIPMENT DEHUMIDIFYING EQUIPMENT BEDDING AIR CONDITIONING EQUIPMENT-ROOM UNITS AIR CLEANING & PURIFYING EQUIPMENT LIGHTS BULBS & TUBES Environmental Consulting Services (NAICS: 541620)

Alternate Business Names
Allergybuyersclub.com Greenandmore.com
Industry Tips
Hiring an Air Conditioning Contractor

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Boston Green Goods, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 45 Braintree Hill Office Park  Ste 300

    Braintree, MA 02184

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Web Addresses

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Communication/Mass Email
  • - eQuote
  • - Technical Support
  • - Sales
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/18/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered air purifier (********* ******** *** Air Purifier #******** ) from this Boston Green Goods wholly owned subsidiary, order number ******* on January 12, 2014. The item was supposed to have arrived already. It has not arrived and the company does not provide customer service. The website they have for order status does not provide any useful information on the status of my order (such as a tracking number). It only lists my order's status as "Drop ship status" which means nothing. The customer service line puts you into a voicemail that they never call back from. I got through once to the ordering phone number who would only forward me to the voicemail. On return phone calls, they must have blocked my phone number as they subsequently made it impossible to get anyone on the phone. They billed my american express card for $299.00 under reference number ****************** on January 14, 2014. This business clearly appears to be set up as a scam. If they ever answered their phone, did not block my line to the order number, or returned messages, I might feel otherwise.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to refund my credit card and also submit to an audit of their order fulfillment practices to be completed by an independent auditor. I would like background checks of ****** ******* and **** ********** (including former companies of their employment).

Business Response: This is in response to Mr. ****'s complaint.  First of all, I want to apologize for not responding sooner but for some reason we did not get the BBB complaint letter here at our office. We have been a loyal member of the BBB for 11 years with a high business rating that we promote on our website. I've researched Mr. ****'s order status information with my Customer Service Team here at Boston Green Goods, Inc.  The product he ordered from our website, AllergyBuyersClub.com, was a ********* ******** air purifier that is dropped shipped directly from the manufacturer for us.  The manufacturer notified us back on January 14th that this item was backordered.  We unfortunately were not notified in time to stop the order from being charged.  Usually the backorder status with ********* products is just a few days. However, because of a strong demand for this product around the holidays, we were later told it would be backordered until the end of January.  An email should have gone out to the customer explaining this back order status and to contact us about it directly.  If that did not happen, then the fault is ours for not communicating this information. The ********* air purifier came back into stock earlier this week and was shipped out to Mr. **** on 2/4 with a confirmed Fedex tracking number.  It should have been delivered either yesterday or today.  As for Mr. **** trying to reach our Customer Service department, I'm not sure why he was unsuccessful since we do have a full staff answering our toll free number, email and chats from 9-6pm EST Monday - Friday.  And we do pride ourselves on following up for any messages that are left.  Also, I want to be clear that we do not block any calls from coming in or have the technology to do so.  The AllergyBuyersClub.com website has been in existence since 2000 and we pride ourselves on helping customers provide the best product solution for their health needs with ratings, reviews and comparison information we have on our site and with the product experts we have on our staff.  I will reach out to Mr. **** today to make sure he received his product and to credit his count to make up for the delay in delivery and the obvious frustration he had in reaching us.

Sincerely,
**** **********
Marketing Director
Boston Green Goods, Inc.
Home of AllergyBuyersClub.com     

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/17/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a humidifier the beginning of January with no bill information. I was not happy with the humdifier and just wanted to return the item. I called the company (888-236-7231 ext ***;781-419-5500) I got no where with 3 calls they hung up on me. I finally reached *** ******* and asked for a return order Number with a form that I needed to take to Fed Ex She did not help at all but argued with me that they did not pay for any returns. They just put everything off due to the fact if we waited a few more days the 30 day return would make the product non returnable. We paid for the return ourselves costing us $52.83. We still have not received any information on the return. The authorization number we were to write on the box was *****. The original order number was#******* invoice #****** for the amount of 229.95. I still have not heard one thing from the company and have given up calling them as they dont answer the calls or get nasty with me. I want a full refund for the product. The humdifier was so flimsy we could not get it to stay together. We were so dissatisfied we put it all back in the box and called the company for a return number within 3 days of receiving the item. It was not damaged we never used it. Please i hope you can help me This company is a joke and not at all helpful. Thank you

Desired Settlement: full refund 229.95 plus shipping 52.83 Like they advertise on their website

Business Response: I sincerely apologize for the issues you have had with our company regarding the ****** humidifier you purchased.You were not satisfied with the product and wanted to return it. You had trouble reaching us as our main number which is unusual.We have Customer Service reps available Mon-Fri 8-6 and Sat and Sun 9-1. There is a voicemail box if all reps are on the phone.You did reach Sue who did not do anything intentionally to deter your return or refund.She created return authorization was created 1/23/13. I did not see the normal email in your order file that gets sent to a customer with this authorization.Possibly that email was sent from a regular email to you and not logged into our system. I will investigate why the usual procedure was not followed and ifwe can find record of it in a sent email folder. Our normal policy buyer to pay to ship it back to a specified location if the buyer does not like the product.  Your experience was not the type we wantany of our customers to have. The item you ordered is bulky so it was costly for you to return it to us.Given the inconvenience and delays you encountered with your return and refund which are not the way weusually handle these returns, we have made an exception to our policy and processed your refund in Paypal as you requested.We refunded the full purchase price of the item - 229.95 and refunded your account  for the cost to ship it back to our warehouse - 52.83. You were refunded 282.78 in Paypal this afternoon.Please let me know if you have any further questions. Thank you for contacting us with this information so we could resolve your issues. 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased two replacement filters from Allergy Buyers Club since we were moving to a new home and wanted to run an air purifier. Before purchasing we spoke to a CSR from *** on the phone who explained the filters would likely need replaced for the machine to run properly. We di not open open or use the filters. Since this is after 30 days the company will not refund/return the product. We think that this is unfare considering the CSR told us filters were needed for the unit to operate properly. The unit ended up not requiring new filters to operate properly. Their website has a no hassle return policy advertised.

Desired Settlement: We'd like to returned the un-opened/un-used filters for full credit. We will pay the return shipping.

Business Response: Note: for this case we had to make an exception to our published 30 day return policy and take back the 5 month old filters that the customer says are unopened.We will inspect them upon arrival back at our warehouse.  We waived the outbound shipping cost which is also an exception to our published remorse 30  return policy since the customer claimed that our rep recommended them.We asked the customer to pay for shipping back to us which they stated they would do in the complaint letter. So we are sharing the shipping cost which seems fair.  I hope this resolves this complaint to the customer’s satisfaction.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/31/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have contacted this company to be taken off their mailing list yet they continue to send me catalogs. I have placed one order, which was promptly returned for poor service and do not wish to receive mailing from them. I last contacted them some months ago and was assured that I would be removed from their mailings/database but they blatently lied to me and continue to send me catalogs that I do not wish to receive.

Desired Settlement: I wish to be removed from their mailing list and have my contact information deleted from their customer database.

Business Response: Dear *******,
 
We received a Better Business Bureau complaint letter in the mail  yesterday saying that you requested to be removed from our mailing list but were not.. When and how  originally did you make this removal request. Do you remember if you used our online removal request form on our site or contact us via phone or email?  We would like to figure out why your request was not done when you originally asked and make sure this does not happen to anyone else.
 
As of today we removed you from our email and mailing databases and contacted our catalog fulfillment company to remove your name as well. The only thing we were not able to do and we sincerely apologize for this was to  see if you were on the list for delivery of  the current catalog. Our latest catalog is in the post office's hands right now and due for delivery next week. We have no way of finding or stopping that one if you were on the list for that one. If we could stop it - we would.  
 
We are sorry that the removal from our mailing lists was not fully completed earlier but have done all that we can to ensure that you are removed from future mailings. 
Please let us know if these actions satisfy your removal request.
If you have any further questions or concerns please feel free to contact me.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #*******.

Regards,
******* *******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

10/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Complaint is regarding two purchases from same company. First purchase, (originally on back order) Dehumdifier $1534.00. Company refuses to credit full refund to credit card stating that shipping charges were incurred by company shipping product to my residence. I never received the product and had even contacted the shipper who stated the product was not shipped to my residence. Second purchase was related accessory to the first for $99.00 (Duct kit). I did receive and return this product and never received a refund. Company has failed to answer my last two email communications(below) On 05/26/2012, I spoke to customer service representative ****** ******** who detailed the return policy to me and said I would be responsible for $24.95 return fee, to which I agreed. I have numerous emails and hand written notes taken contemporaneously to the phone conversations regarding the return of the above items.

Desired Settlement: Fully refund purchases as agreed. To date, company owes me $99.00 for the duct kit and $75.05 for shipping.

Business Response: 2 issues in letter in BBB complaint # *******.
 
ISSUE 1: Shipping charge of $100 deducted from customer refund by Boston Green Goods when customer’s refund submitted on 7/3/12.

Background:

Customer **** ***** ordered a ***** ** dehumidifier and accessories 5/17/12. Accessories in stock and shipped.  Dehumidfier backordered per our confirmation email.
 
5/24/12- The ***** ** dehumidifier was shipped out on R&L Freight pro number *********
05/25/12 8:54:08PM Dehumidifier arrived at destination terminal .  Normally R&L will call to set up an appointment by calling the customer the day after it arrives at the destination terminal.
5/26/12 Customer called our Customer Service line  to cancel entire order. He received accessories but did not receive dehumidifier. He would like a refund he can not afford it.

Our Customer Service rep had information in front of him that only the accessories shipped and told the customer over the phone that the return ship fees for the items he received would be $24.95. ****** attempted to cancel the dehumidifier portion of the order with the shipper. He found out later that day that the dehumidifier had shipped on 5/24/12 and was given the pro #. We received the dehumidifier tracking # after ****** spoke to **** about the accessories.
 
We do not know if R&L attempted to call the customer to set up a delivery or not. We had to then pay for the dehumidifier to get sent back from the R&L terminal to the manufacturer and be inspected for a credit to our account. ****** instructed the customer had to ship back the accessories to our warehouse.
           
Later we received a product cost refund and our incurred shipping charges of $280.68 from the manufacturer. Not sure of the date of this contact.
 
We emailed customer our cancellation policy and how much his refund would be on 7/3/12.
 
Copy of our Order Cancellations policy If you have placed an order and would like to cancel it for any reason, please contact us immediately by calling the toll free number on the web site you ordered from and requesting CustomerService. Or click here to fill out our contact us form, click on the icon for the store from which you purchased (column on the right), and select "Cancel My Order" as the contact reason. We will do everything we can to stop your order from shipping, however we cannot guarantee this. If we cannot stop your order from shipping, you will be responsible for all shipping and handling charges both shipping to you and return shipping back to us.
 
We are writing to inform you that we have credited your account for the ***** ** Classic dehumidifier that was picked up from your location (R&L Freight terminal near customer) . We incurred costs of 140.34 shipping to you and 140.34 getting the unit back to us for a total of 280.68. We will absorb $180.68 of that cost as an exception to our policy above. We had to deduct $100 from your return amount for this unit as your part of the ship costs per our policy.  Your return amount for the ***** ** Classic will be $1534-$100=$1434.  Your return amount for the ***** ** Duct kit will be the full $99. We have decide to not charge you shipping fees for getting this duct kit to you as an exception to our cancellation policy.
 
Please allow 3-5 business days for these 2 credits to appear on your account.
  
2. Customer claims he was not refunded for the accessories:  Duct kit, filter kit (totaled $99) refund  and dehumidifier ($1534-$100 =$1434) shipping charges incurred) refund both submitted on 7/3/12.  Emailed this info to customer on July 3rd. See above
 
See all charges and refunds below:
Trans ID
Invoice Number
Trans Status
Submit
Date
Customer
Card Payment Method
Payment Amount
Settlement Date
Settlement Amount
**********
******
Refund
03-Jul-2012 15:51:28
*****, **** *
XXXX****

USD (99.99)
04-Jul-2012 00:14:21
USD (99.99)
**********
******
Refund
03-Jul-2012 15:05:14

****** **** *
XXXX****
USD (1,434.00)
04-Jul-2012 00:14:21
USD (1,434.00)
**********
******
Settled Successfully
23-May-2012 13:55:54
*****, **** *
XXXX****
USD 1,534.00
24-May-2012 00:15:28
USD 1,534.00
**********
******
Settled Successfully
17-May-2012 10:06:32
*****, **** *
XXXX****
USD 99.99
18-May-2012 00:15:18
USD 99.99
FINAL RESOLUTION: We issued a refund submitted 10/1/12 for the $100 in customer portion of shipping charges that we have chosen to absorb in exception to our policy.

Trans ID
Invoice Number
Trans Status
Submit Date
Customer Card
Payment Method
Payment Amount
Settlement Date
Settlement Amount
**********
******
Refund/Pending Settlement
01-Oct-2012 13:07:40
*****, **** *
XXXX****
USD (100.00)
USD (100.00
Emailed customer this information today
 
“We will absorb all of the shipping charges we incurred for your shipped dehumidifier, filter and duct kit order as an exception to our normal order cancellation and/refund policies.

We submitted a refund today to your card for the $100 shipping charge that we did not refund previously.  It should appear in a few business days on your statement. “
 
I hope this will resolve this issue with the BBB and the customer. Please let us know if you have further questions.

** **********
(C.O.O)

Replying for ***** ********* whom the complaint was addressed to at our organization AllergyBuyersClub.com

Boston Green Goods, Inc.
888 236-7231 x***
***********@bostongreengoods.com
 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

BBB Comments: The consumer indicated to BBB that the complaint was resolved.

3/6/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered three products that were described and are still described on their website as "being in stock" on January 31 order number 402241.  The orders per their website are to be shipped the next day.  Neither of the two primary products a "sound Shaper and the Sinupulse cleaner have been received to date.  They shipped within a day the salt for the Sinupulse cleaner --but that is of course useless without the machine itself.  There website states erroneously that within a day that you can track the shipment of goods.  When I write my order number down all it says is that it is "in shipment" which of course tells me nothing since you could get back and forth from Afghanistan during 3 weeks so that it obviously is not in shipment.  I have called numerous time, left an email on their system using their pre addressed message and got no response.  The second time after 2 weeks to "call the president about a concern" and most recently, today, after over three weeks I was put on hold when I asked to speak to their president was simply again directed to the customer service care which ended about 5 minutes later with a note to leave a number and the next service agent will call--I did leave a request for the president to call.

Desired Settlement: Send the two products that they have promised and stop the deceptive advertisements that goods are in stock and will be shipped in one day if the company knows that they are not in stock.  I have a sinus infection and my doctor suggested that these types of product would help it and help my wife and me sleep.  Also I would want a discount on this purchase because of the extensive aggravation that this has caused.  Finally I'd like a real person to call and explain what happened and why every means of communication I have tried, short of getting the Better Business Bureau, and if next the AG's Office of Consumer Protection, has failed to get any engagement from the company.

Business Response: All items ordered have been shipped and tracking does indicate that they have been delivered.  I apologize for the delay, but some of the items were shipped from the manufacturers and they did not apprise us of any delays. I received the voice mail message from Mr. ****** requesting a call from the president of the company, who has been unavailable, and called on both his cell phone and home phone, multiple times and have yet to be able to reach him.  I am more than willing to a discuss personally the cause for delays.  I am applying a discount to his purchase, as requested and will continue to attempt to reach Mr. ****** as he requested, but if I am unable to reach him I would encourage him to call me between 8 AM and 3 PM EST to discuss his concerns.  

***** ****** *********
Vice President of Sales & Customer Service

Boston Green Goods, Inc. 
45 Braintree Hill Park
Braintree, MA 02184

888-236-7231 ext. ***
Direct : ************
Fax: 781-843-2163
***@BostonGreenGoods.com

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a humidifier for my ailing mother on November 13, 2011.I also purchased two filters (unopened boxes) to be used in the years ahead. I was subsequently informed that Mother could NOT use the item and it would not be allowed by the facility in which she is living to be used for her. On January 13, 2012, when my mother had finally recuperated enough so I could focus on other matters, I called to inquire whether or not I could return the humidifier and the unused filters. Customer service said they would look into it for me but their policy was 90 days only for returns.Not only are they very inflexible, but no one even had the courtesy of returning my call. When I asked if I could return the UNUSED filters, I was quoted the mantra "returns only within 90 days". They were totally NOT helpful, NOT interested, NOT accomodating....afterall, they had made the sale, what did they care now?I think Purchasers need to be aware that their return policy is totally inflexible - and it includes UNOPENED, UNUSED items (this had never been explained to me) AND the customer service department needs to be more customer service oriented and more helpful.I will never do business with these people again, as all they are interested in is making the sale.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund for the unused, unopened filters in the very least and if possible for the humidifier also. We spent over $140.00 for these items and should have been treated better.

Business Response: While we appreciate that the customer was dealing with a
medical situation and feel badly, we do have a “30” day return policy.  As the item was purchased in November and not
reported that it could not be used until mid January this is well beyond our
window for returns.  Should the customer
still desire to return the unused filters, we will make an exception to our
policy (stated below) and at the customers expense have the items
returned.  She should contact customer
service Sr. Representative, ******* ******,
ext. ***, to make these arrangements.

 

We offer a 30-day return policy.



If your product is defective within 30 days of purchase, we will replace it as
soon as possible and happily pay all shipping costs to and from your location.

If you change your mind and wish to
return your purchase, we will be happy to accept your return. Certain products
are not returnable, including opened bedding, used apparel and custom ordered
products. It is against the law to resell opened bedding; therefore, it cannot
be returned. Please click on the store icon, below, where you made your
purchase for specific products that may not be returned:

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #*******.

Regards,

***** *****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

10/18/2011 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 1- I bought a dehumidifier - it didn't work and it cost me $50 to have it set up and then packed up for return 2-The second unit also cost me $25 for set up (I am a disabled senior and had to hire a handyman to do that for me) 3-The second unit appeared to not work. I called the company. The manager, ***** promised to call Danby and get back to me. I waited a week and never heard from her. 4-I called customer serviced- chatted with them on line- another promise to get back to me that never happened. 5-Finally I called Danby and got the necessary information. 6-The day I originally ordered the product, I specifically told them it was imperative that I get a hard copy receipt, that I have no printer. 7-To day, after weeks, I still have no receipt. I need the receipt for FEMA after the devastating hurricane we had here in NY. I believe it may be past the deadline now or close to it. 8-I ordered another dehumidifier from a rival company. The receipt arrived before the unit. That is how people should be treated. 9-Allergy Buyers continues to email 20 copies of the invoice at a time bv email, despite that I have told them by phone and email that I need a hard copy. 10-If it is too late to get reimbursement by FEMA due to Allergy Buyers negligance, I want a full refund to cover my loss. This is only right.

Desired Settlement: If it is past the deadline for FEMA reimbursement, I want a full refund for my loss. I need the unit due to the high moisture but it is not something I could afford without backing from FEMA and they knew it. They are such liars it's unbelieveable. They wrote that they called me over and over. My caller ID says no such thing.

Business Response:  
We mailed all previous hard copy order receipts (qty 5) via the US Postal
Service.
Unfortunately, we are unable to provide tracking numbers for
these mailed receipts. 
We have, however, sent another order receipt as well as
a UPS product call tag pickup label  to

the customer should the item be returned via UPS this
week signature required.  Ms. ***** had been
 informed of this via e-mail and the third attempt to
deliver will be made today. 
 
If Ms. ***** wishes to retain the unit, she should sign
for the receipt. If she wishes to return it a call tag
has been provided in the same UPS package  (tracking ****************** attached) which will be
no out of pocket cost. 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # *******.

[If you are rejecting the business's response please enter your rejection comments here.]

I believe that I have an email from these folks stating that they sent 10 original receipts/invoices with the price paid.  However, these were never received nor were any of their phone calls received.  They are back peddling.  To date, I have not received even one receipt/invoice paid in the mail - meaning snail mail.  This is what I requested on many occassions by phone, email and chat on their website I have no reason to claim otherwise.  All I wanted was to order this unit after getting the information from FEMA about remimbursment within a period of time otherwise, they won't reimburse. I stressed how important the time frame was and was promised that I would receive the receipt immediately.  It has been a full month and no receipt to date.  These people were aware that I hadnt received it. 

Additionally, I stress once again that the manager of the company, ***** swore that she would get back to me within a day and then some other person, saying he was a top level person said that same thing and apologized for ***** not responding.  Over and over it's been one disappointment after another  Now they have set things up so that I cannot be reimbursed.  They have to be accountable for this..it was not an oversight...it is depraved indifference and they are trying to lie their way out of it now.  There was still time to send a hard copy to me ...but over and over they didn't.  That is legally, bait and switch and there are other legal terms as well.  They took my money on false pretenses and now they should be held accountable and credit me back.  That is the very least they can do after the stress and anxiety they caused knowing that my region was declared a disaster area and that this was a health situation and financial burden for me without FEMA's assitance...which this company ruined.  SHAME ON THEM!

 

 

 

Regards,

******* *****

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

10/18/2011 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a defective product (Airfree purifier) around 12/20/08. I did not have time to test the product until about 5 to 6 weeks later and found that it did not work at all, even after I performed the troubleshooting instructions in the manual. I called AllergyBuyersClub.com in the last week of January 2009 and they refused to exchange/reimburse me since it was beyond their 30-day usage trial. Also, the product's box came with a smashed corner, likely from a fall before shipment since the outer shipping box had no damage. I was told to contact the manufacturer since there was a 2-year warrany. I called Airfree and the person there told me it was a 60-day warranty (contrary to the manual which lists a 2-year warranty). I questioned this and her supervisor was to call me but never did. I contacted Allergy BuyersClub.com for the last time in December 2009 to relay my poor treatment with Airfree and left a detailed message requesting someone to call me back and nobody ever called me. I did not document the dates and employees I spoke with for the phone calls to AllergyBuyersClub.com or Airfree. After I called Airfree in January 2009 I tried to call again later that Spring, but the man said if I had a receipt he could check this order, but if not, since his computer was down and they were closing in the next 20 minutes (at 6pm on a weekday), he said he would call me the next day and that never happened. After another call in May 2009, I received a copy of the order with Airfree's telephone number.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund to my credit card for the $199 I lost to their defective product. If AllergyBuyersClub.com wants this product back, then I would like them to send me a return shipping label.

Business Response: We sincerely regret that the customer feels they received a
defective product.  But as our return policy states, this was well outside
the return period. 

 

RETURN POLICY

We offer a 30-day return policy.



If your product is defective within 30 days of purchase, we will replace it as
soon as possible and happily pay all shipping costs to and from your location.

If you change your mind and wish to
return your purchase, we will be happy to accept your return. Certain products
are not returnable, including opened bedding, used apparel and custom ordered
products. It is against the law to resell opened bedding; therefore, it cannot
be returned. Please click on the store icon, below, where you made your
purchase for specific products that may not be returned:

 

The system that Ms. ************ purchased is a
very passive system with no fan or motor noise and is often perceived as not
working when it really is working.

 

The manufacturer warranty eligibility
is for 2 years if the unit is registered at the time of purchase and this is
included in the instruction manual.  “During this period, and upon proof
of purchase, this product will be repaired or replaced with same or similar
model without charges for parts or labor.  To obtain warranty service,
please send the product sales receipt (this was mailed to the customer on July
28,2009.)”

As the return policy is stated on
clearly on our website and on the customer’s receipt, we feel the customer’s
expectations for a refund after over 3 years is well outside both the return
and warranty periods.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # *******.

I originally requested to return this product about 45 days after I received it, not 3 years.  When I plugged it in, a light appeared and then went out after a few seconds.  The product was dropped and got damaged before it arrived at my home.  Many businesses do make exceptions to their rules.

Regards,

********** ************

 

 

Business Response: According to our records, the initial report (May 5, 2009)
of failure was five (5) months after receipt of the order. At that time a
customer service agent from our company contacted and left a voice message for
Ms. *********** to which she responded two months later on July 27, 2009.  On July 28, 2009 we mailed a copy of her
receipt so that she would be able to contact the manufacturer, according to
their warranty policy.    That was the last date of interaction with
our company.

 

This was extracted from Ms. ***********’s original
complaint, and she states that it was 13 months before she contacted the
manufacturer

 

“I received a defective product (Airfree purifier) around
12/20/08. I did not have time to test the product until about 5 to 6 weeks
later and found that it did not work at all, even after I performed the
troubleshooting instructions in the manual. I called AllergyBuyersClub.com in
the last week of January 2009 and they refused to exchange/reimburse me since
it was beyond their 30-day usage trial.”

 

It is now close to four years since the original purchase
made on December 8, 2008.

 

As the return policy is stated clearly on our website and on
the customer’s receipt, we feel the customer’s expectations for a refund after close
to four (4) years is well outside both the return and warranty periods.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********

It appears you did not document my call to you at the end of January 2009, approximately 45 days after I received your damaged product.  The fact that you did not wish to make a customer happy is bad business and the reason I purchased 3 Blue Air purifiers from another company.  Please take my name off all of your mailing lists.

Regards,

********** ************

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

10/14/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered what was suppose to be a stainless steel tank whole house water filtering system. Unfortunately what I received in the mail was some huge hunk of junk plastic bottle with moving stuff inside that sounds like rocks. I specifically ordered stainless steel and was told by Boston Green Goods verbally, as well as by email from the manufacturer, what I was ordered was suppose to be stainless steel. I received this order in the mail on 9/28/11, but when I got home from work it was after Customer Service business hours at Boston Green Goods had closed, so I had to wait until the next day on 9/29/11 to call them. I called at 5:17 pm and spoke with a person who said their name was ******* at 5:18 pm EST. After explaining to her the problem, at 5:20 pm EST I was transferred to a person who said their name was *******, and spoke with her. She said "by tomorrow morning by noon at the latest look for a return authorization email from me after I have contacted the manufacturer." I asked about a pre-paid return shipping label because she did not mention it, and she said "a *** return shipping label will be a separate email". However, on 9/30/11, when I received an email early from ******* at 9:03 pm EST it stated: "At this time we cannot find a record of anyone at our office advising you that this Whole House Water Purification System was stainless steel." This appears to be a smokescreen excuse, because they don't want to admit they made a mistake knowingly or unknowingly. However, I have emails from the manufacturer too specially stating the ******** *** *** **** models are a stainless steel tank, which Boston Green Goods apparently didn't care about. So this hunk of junk plastic that I received as a scam in the mail is definitely fraudulent and a bait & switch.

Desired Settlement: I want a complete refund of all charges to my Credit Card, and Boston Green Goods to pay for return shipping to wherever they had this junk sent to me from. Because it was not sent from Boston Green Goods in MA, but rather, some place in Jackson, MI according to the tracking number.

Business Response: It is never our intention to deceive a customer.  The customer in question did contact the manufacturer, that drop ships our orders, and the manufacturer confirmed that parts of the water filtration system were stainless steel.  We apologize for any misunderstanding on the construction of the filter.  We have issued call tags for the return of the item and as soon as we are able to determine that this unit is being sent back, we would be happy to refund the customer in full.   ***** ****** *********  

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved