BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Eastern Massachusetts, Maine, Rhode Island and Vermont
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Fotronic Corporation?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Fotronic Corporation

Phone: (781) 665-1400 View Additional Phone Numbers 99 Washington Street, Melrose, MA 02176 http://www.testequipmentdepot.com View Additional Web Addresses

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Fotronic Corporation/Test Equipment Depot specializes in the sale and service of electronic test equipment.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Fotronic Corporation meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Fotronic Corporation include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Fotronic Corporation
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 30, 1994 Business started: 01/01/1992 in MA Business incorporated: 01/01/1994 in MA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Anthony J Foti Jr., President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Anthony J Foti Jr., President
Number of Employees

32

Business Category

ELECTRONIC TESTING EQUIPMENT ELECTRONIC EQUIPMENT & SUPPLIES-REPAIRING ELECTRONIC EQUIPMENT & SUPPLIES ELECTRIC EQUIPMENT-TESTING & MAINTENANCE All Other Miscellaneous Electrical Equipment and Component Manufacturing (NAICS: 335999)

Products & Services

Fotronic Corporation sells the following brand(s): Aaronia , Accu-Chart , ACR Systems , Advanced Fiber Solutions , AEMC , AJA Video , Altek , Ametek , Amprobe , Atrix , Avcom , Avex , B+K Precision , Caulk Master , Circuit Siren , Coast , Crescent , DK-Technologies , Druck , E-Mon D-Mon , ECG , Eclipse , Edgetech , Elenco , Emerson , Erem , Extech Instruments , EZ Digital , Fitel , Fluke , Fluke Networks , Gale , GE Druck , General Eastern , General Tools , Global Specialties , Hameg , Hamlet , Hart Scientific , Hewlett Packard , Hioki , Ideal , Innoventions , Instek , Invotel , JDSU , Kaltman Creations , Kenwood , KEP , Kester , Lascar , Leader , LG Precision , Link Instruments , Luxo , Magnum Pro , Megger , Meriam , Meterman , Milwaukee , OK International , P3 International , Pelican , Phabrix , Philips , Picotest , PIE , Plumb , PMK , Pomona , Pro-Line , PROMAX , Protek , ProVision , Psiber , PTV , QuadTech , Ramsey , Raytek , Reed , RIDGID , Rigol , Robinair , Rohde & Schwarz , Schomandl , Sencore , Skutch , Storage Battery Systems , Streamlight , Tektronix , Tektronix Video , Telaire , Test-Um , TIF` , Transmation , Trilithic , TV One , UniSource , Vertex Video , Vitrek , Wavetek Meterman , Weller , Winchester Engineering , Wiss , Wonwoo , Xcelite , Yokogawa

Fotronic Corporation offers the following product(s): Multimeter, Oscilloscope, Spectrum Analyzer

Method(s) of Payment
Open Account
Discover
MasterCard
Visa
American Express
Service Area
Fotronic Corporation provides their services in ALABAMA , ALASKA , AMERICAN SAMOA , ARIZONA , ARKANSAS , CALIFORNIA , COLORADO , CONNECTICUT , DELAWARE , DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA , FLORIDA , GEORGIA , GUAM , HAWAII , IDAHO , ILLINOIS , INDIANA , IOWA , KANSAS , KENTUCKY , LOUISIANA , MAINE , MARSHALL ISLANDS , MARYLAND , MASSACHUSETTS , MICHIGAN , MINNESOTA , MISSISSIPPI , MISSOURI , MONTANA , NEBRASKA , NEVADA , NEW HAMPSHIRE , NEW JERSEY , NEW MEXICO , NEW YORK , NORTH CAROLINA , NORTH DAKOTA , NORTHERN MARIANA ISLANDS , OHIO , OKLAHOMA , OREGON , PALAU , PENNSYLVANIA , PUERTO RICO , RHODE ISLAND , SOUTH CAROLINA , SOUTH DAKOTA , TENNESSEE , TEXAS , UTAH , VERMONT , VIRGIN ISLANDS , VIRGINIA , WASHINGTON , WEST VIRGINIA , WISCONSIN & WYOMING.
Alternate Business Names
Test Equipment Depot

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Fotronic Corporation has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 99 Washington Street

    Melrose, MA 02176 (781) 665-1400 (800) 517-8431

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 517-8431(Phone)
  • (408) 884-2273 (Fax)
X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

4/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ordered a **** ******** voltage testor. Unit is defective, website says 5 days to return for credit or 30 days for return of defective item, has been less than 30 days and took months to get. Refused to take it back. Never received an invoice or receipt.

Desired Settlement: just replace the unit or credit my account for something else that works correctly, all I am asking for is fairness

Business Response: Customer placed his order for the **** ******** Voltage and Continuity Tester on 11/29/2013 (not 11/01/2013 as stated by the customer.)  Customer was advised of back-order and chose to wait the 3 weeks until the estimated shipping date.  Item shipped on 12/23/2013 and was delivered on 12/28/2013.  The customer stated correctly that we have a 5-day return policy; however, first contact by customer was on 1/21/2014 - 23 days after receipt of the item.  Specifically, our Return Policy is "After five (5) days, returns will be handled by direct contact and in accordance with the warranty terms of the item's manufacturer."  We offered the customer assistance with contacting the manufacturer for warranty service/exchange but he said "I'll get the information myself" and hung-up.  He called again at least two other times and again referred to the manufacturer for warranty service/exchange.  Our customer service representatives were distraught each time due the uncivil nature and rudeness of the customer.  His demeanor rendered any further assistance on our part impossible.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.    

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

2/15/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 11/19, I ordered a soldering iron online. Website advertised using UPS for online purchases which is why I selected Fotronics. When item shipped, I was notified it was shipped via Fed Ex. I immediately called and told Fotronics associate I would be refusing delivery. Fed Ex delivered item and I tried to schedule a pickup twice. Fed Ex failed twice to pick item up to ship to Fotronics. Fed Ex did pick up item and on 12/14, got a call from ******** at Fotronics wanting to know what to do with the package. I returned the call and explained because of the switch in shipper and the bad experience with Fed Ex (which is why I didn't want to use them), I wanted a credit to my MasterCard for $44.44

Desired Settlement: I want a credit of $44.44 on my credit card. They have the merchandise and I desire not to conduct business with this concern again.

Business Response:

Customer was promptly shipped his order; however, after receiving the shipment tracking information he became agitated that the carrier was FedEx. Apparently, he has had a previous bad experience and has chosen to boycott FedEx.

The customer was informed that despite our display of the UPS logo we note in a disclaimer that when the 'Free Ground Shipping' promotion is selected we reserve the right to select a different carrier. The customer informed us that he would be refusing delivery despite the timely shipment and free shipping. 

The package was delivered and the customer proceeded to complain to customer service personnel repeatedly regarding our choice of FedEx even though his order arrived without incident. The customer contacted FedEx and demanded retrieval of the shipment. FedEx complied and picked-up the package. This call tag and return shipment was billed to Fotronic's account and was not authorized by us.

The package was eventually returned to us by FedEx. Due to lack of a RMA number the receiving department could not process routinely. After research, customer service processed a complete refund, see attached.
 
I do understand the basis and rationale of this complaint. The customer ordered a product. He received free on-time delivery. He proceeded to contact FedEx and arrange a pick-up that was unauthorized and billed to our FedEx account. We acknowledged his return; however, due to lack of a return authorization prior to the return, the receiving department had to research why the package arrived to us. After it was determined it was a customer return, the customer was refunded in full.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy my concerns in reference to complaint.

This response is rife with inaccuracies. First off, I was "agitated" due to the fact I chose this going concern solely because they listed UPS as their shipper for internet sales, (I have a screen shot of this, which they recently changed), then switched their shipper without notifying me. Second, there was no "disclaimer" on their website at the time of purchase about "reserving the right to select a different carrier". Again, I have a screen shot of their website BEFORE they changed it. Third, I did not "repeatedly" complain to personnel. I figured once should have been enough. As it was, it took them nearly two weeks to contact me via phone and they never did respond to my emails. Fourth, Fed Ex did pick up the package, but not before two requests by me, (they failed to show up twice for the scheduled pickup of 11/27 & 11/28). I was finally credited for the full amount, but because of the response from this business, any negative listing toward Fotronics by the BBB should stand. I wish to thank the staff at the BBB - Eastern Massachusetts/Maine for their cooperation in resolving this matter.

Business Response:

The customer received a refund in full on 12/27/2012. All shipping charges and restocking fee were waived.  I would be happy to do whatever else is neccessary to resolve this complaint.

In summary, the customer selected a free standard shipping offer.  He assumed the order would be shipped UPS because he noticed the logo amongst the many logos displayed on the site in the checkout/promotion area at that time.  The free standard shipping offer terms at the time of this order clearly stated the order will be shipped by our carrier of choice, e.g. US Postal Service, and did not identify which carrier would be used.
 
For this order, we chose FedEx Ground service because they offered the best transit time. In conjunction with the free shipping offer, the shipment method is transparent to the customer. The tracking information was provided at time of shipment which identifies the carrier selected for the standard shipping, if needed.

The customer received his order undamaged and timely. He chose to return the items ordered solely on the basis that it arrived via FedEx even though the delivery was at no charge to him.  Again, no shipping or handling was charged per the offer selected by the customer and he received the goods ahead of the estimated delivery date and in perfect condition.

The customer then proceeded to barrage FedEx Customer Service and our Customer Service with telephone calls. FedEx ultimately conceded to the customer’s insistence and picked-up the package for return to us. This pick-up service was charged to our FedEx account and was not authorized by us. We incurred the charges for the call tag, return shipment and of course, the initial shipment to the customer. These charges amount to almost the entire value of the order which we had to absorb with no recourse.

We delivered the goods the customer ordered. In good faith, we accepted his return and waived all shipping and restocking charges. Any delay in the refund processing was due to the returned package not having an RMA assigned for routing. Once the package ownership was identified, the 12/27/2012 refund in full was immediately processed. The basis of this complaint is the customer’s personal vendetta with FedEx and not the quality or representation of the goods we sell.

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

I am rejecting the response because of the blatant lie regarding shipping.  It CLEARLY stated on their webpage that online orders were to be shipped via UPS. They have since changed it. I also resent the statement "The customer then proceeded to barrage FedEx Customer Service and our Customer Service with telephone calls". I called Fotronics twice and Fed Ex twice. I'd like to know what they're insinuating by using the term "barrage"? I received a credit on my card and for this reason I will deem the matter closed, but will not retract my negative mark with the BBB against the company. 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.