This business is not BBB accredited.

Fotronic Corporation

Phone: (781) 665-1400 View Additional Phone Numbers 99 Washington Street, Melrose, MA 02176 View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Fotronic Corporation/Test Equipment Depot specializes in the sale and service of electronic test equipment.

BBB Accreditation

On 7/31/2015 this business's accreditation in the BBB was revoked by the BBB's Board of Directors due to its failure to adhere to the BBB requirement that Accredited Businesses meet and abide by the following standards:

  • 6A. Promptly respond to all complaints forwarded by BBB by:
    1. Resolving the complaint directly with the complainant and notifying BBB, or
    2. Providing BBB with a response that BBB determines:
      • is professional,
      • addresses all of the issues raised by the complainant,
      • includes appropriate evidence and documents supporting the business' position, and
      • explains why any relief sought by the complainant cannot or should not be granted.

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Fotronic Corporation include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Fotronic Corporation
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 30, 1994 Business started: 01/01/1992 in MA Business incorporated 01/01/1994 in MA
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Anthony J Foti Jr., President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Anthony J Foti Jr., President
Number of Employees


Business Category


Products & Services

Fotronic Corporation sells the following brand(s): Aaronia , Accu-Chart , ACR Systems , Advanced Fiber Solutions , AEMC , AJA Video , Altek , Ametek , Amprobe , Atrix , Avcom , Avex , B+K Precision , Caulk Master , Circuit Siren , Coast , Crescent , DK-Technologies , Druck , E-Mon D-Mon , ECG , Eclipse , Edgetech , Elenco , Emerson , Erem , Extech Instruments , EZ Digital , Fitel , Fluke , Fluke Networks , Gale , GE Druck , General Eastern , General Tools , Global Specialties , Hameg , Hamlet , Hart Scientific , Hewlett Packard , Hioki , Ideal , Innoventions , Instek , Invotel , JDSU , Kaltman Creations , Kenwood , KEP , Kester , Lascar , Leader , LG Precision , Link Instruments , Luxo , Magnum Pro , Megger , Meriam , Meterman , Milwaukee , OK International , P3 International , Pelican , Phabrix , Philips , Picotest , PIE , Plumb , PMK , Pomona , Pro-Line , PROMAX , Protek , ProVision , Psiber , PTV , QuadTech , Ramsey , Raytek , Reed , RIDGID , Rigol , Robinair , Rohde & Schwarz , Schomandl , Sencore , Skutch , Storage Battery Systems , Streamlight , Tektronix , Tektronix Video , Telaire , Test-Um , TIF` , Transmation , Trilithic , TV One , UniSource , Vertex Video , Vitrek , Wavetek Meterman , Weller , Winchester Engineering , Wiss , Wonwoo , Xcelite , Yokogawa

Fotronic Corporation offers the following product(s): Multimeter, Oscilloscope, Spectrum Analyzer

Method(s) of Payment
Open Account
American Express
Service Area
Alternate Business Names
Test Equipment Depot
Industry Tips
Electronics & Supplies

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Fotronic Corporation has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations


    99 Washington Street

    Melrose, MA 02176 (781) 665-1400 (800) 517-8431


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/11/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Placed two orders recently with this company (order # ********** and **********) both were to be shipped 'expedited'. Two day express in one case, next day delivery on the other. Both orders placed on a Weds., both orders received 5 days later on a Monday. Paid for express service...did not receive. Contacted '******** *.' to no resolve. I feel I should be reimbursed the fees associated with the expedited shipping. These orders were clearly NOT processed in time to have any chance of arriving within the time frame needed. I have all correspondence saved (emails) with dates (order placed) and other inquiries about my orders.

Desired Settlement: I would like for this company to take an honest look at whom is processing their expedited orders and impress on them the urgency and need to quickly process an order...if it is to be delivered within a certain time limit. This holds especially true if the item is to be 'drop shipped' from another source, since THEY need time to fill the order. I ship and receive packages everyday, many of them expedited shipments. I have no problem meeting the deadlines required to insure my customers get their packages on time. The very reason items are ordered (rush) is because they are badly needed. If the person receiving/processing the order(s) does not understand this, or care...then it causes the customer (who paid for the service) a great deal of inconvenience (at best). So, besides a 'refund' that I think is clearly due, a retraining exercise might be in order as well. Thank You for your time. Please contact me if you need additional information as concerns these purchases. **** *******

Business Response: Customer placed two orders on-line, as he mentioned:1. Order ********** was placed on Wednesday, May 27, 2015, 3:15pm (EDT). This order was received with insufficient time remaining to process prior to the daily scheduled parcel carrier’s pick-up.   The order was shipped the next day, ***** 2-day, as requested.  *****/UPS Express services transit times calculate only business days.  This statement is displayed in the Shipping Information of our web site, The shipment was delivered, as scheduled by the carrier, on Monday, June 1, 2015.2. Order ********** was placed on Wednesday, June 3, 2015, 9:21pm (EDT). The next morning, contact was attempted with the customer due the customer-provided shipping address was not on file with the customer’s credit card company.  Contactwas made and issue resolved.  The resolution to the credit card hold arrived too late for to the daily scheduled parcel carrier’s pick-up.  The order was shipped, Friday, the next day, ***** 1-day, as requested. The shipment was delivered, as scheduled by the carrier, on Monday, June 8, 2015.We strive for high level of customer service.  If the customer had contacted us at anytime prior to the shipments departure and notified us of the urgency, we could have changed the 2-Day to 1-Day service at no additional charge.  We could have elected the Saturday Delivery option for the 1-day shipment for the second shipment if the customer elected to pay the carrier’s fee.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below.  Dear Sirs,With regards to order ********** (an item you KNEW would have to be drop shipped),  you should have contacted me if there was any concern the order would not/could not be processed in time to arrive in the 2 day time span requested. You state in your reply that the order "shipped" the very next day (Thursday), so Thursday and Friday= 2 days. Business days! I received the item on Monday.Order ********** was also placed on a Weds. (apparently after hours, I understand that and do not count that as a day). The order was specified as NEXT DAY. So Thursday would have been an entire day to 'process' and ship. Your excuse/claim is that the order was somehow 'delayed' because of the shipping address given! Also NO contact was ever made with me. In fact, not so much as a confirmation of my order or invoice was sent to me until AFTER I contacted YOU on Friday. IF you have proof of an attempt to contact me or actual 'contact' (it didn't happen) please provide it. The 'shipping' address should in no way need to be 'on file' with the credit card company. I have ordered hundreds of items and had them to the same address using that card! If the billing address were incorrect, I could understand that. It was not.Lastly, you seek you seek to place the burden of 'contact' and notification of 'urgency' upon the customer? Surely you realize that the very reason someone orders an item 'expedited' is because of the URGENCY! Expedited shipping and urgency go hand in hand. Do you think your customers just 'maybe' need an item quickly, but they will call you if they REALLY need it? I send and receive expedited packages every day at my business. I've never attempted, nor heard of excuses like these. Regards, **** *******    

Business Response: Order ********** was placed in the afternoon with insufficient time remaining to process prior to the daily scheduled parcel carrier’s pick-up, as I previously stated.  The same time constraint applies to the drop-ship location. The order shipped, Thursday, the next day.  You stated, “your reply that the order "shipped" the very next day (Thursday), so Thursday and Friday= 2 days. Business days! I received the item on Monday.”  Yes, the order shipped Thursday.  However, Thursday + Friday does not equal 2 days with respect to air/express shipment methods and transit time calculation.  *** and ***** do not count the first day they are in possession of shipment as a transit day. The shipment was delivered, on-time as scheduled by the carrier, on Monday, June 1, 2015.  In summary, the order, placed late in the day, shipped the next morning via the 2-day method specified.  I do not understand how this appears to be unreasonable handling of the order.Order ********** was delayed because of the shipping address did not match the billing address.  This address check, and subsequent order hold, is necessary due the prevalence of on-line credit fraud.  There is a special response code received from the AVS (Address Verification System) to alert the merchant of possible fraud.  It is common practice for on-line merchants to require a shipping address to be on-file with the card-issuing bank to protect both, the merchant and card holder, from fraud.  We attempted to contact you to verify that you had placed the order with the different shipping address and this was not a credit card fraud situation.  We have email and/or telephone records to substantiate our contact attempts.  Also, I believe you returned a call or email that was placed to you.As you requested in your very first comment, we have reviewed the procedures regarding orders placed with an express shipment method.  Customers will now be advised frequent updates to their order status.

6/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased the iCelcius digital thermometer with probe on Wednesday May the 27th with a FedEx 2 day delivery. I was charged $13.78 for 2 day delivery. On Friday the 29th, I received an email that my sensor would not be delivered until Monday. It said that they don't deliver to residences on the weekend. It didn't say anywhere on the website that there are no residential deliveries on the weekend, meaning I just paid $14 for a package that would not arrive in the specified time that I needed it. I needed before Saturday as I was going camping for a week or so. Had I known this, I would have had the package sent overnite instead. On Friday we paid an additional $3 to try and have it delivered to my home. It still didn't make it to my house until Monday. I was not there. I paid an additional $3.99 for an app to monitor the temp in my camper. I was not happy about the situation but I figured since we camp a lot I would just use it on the next trips. When we got back into town and opened the box to try it out we realized that it didn't even fit my phone. I have an I phone 6. Again, the website said that this particular sensor would fit an ipad, iphone or ipod. It said nothing about having different models for different phones! I called them on June 11th and they said they would exchange it and would email me the details. When I received the email back on the 11th, they wanted me to pay to ship the product back to them and pay for shipping on the correct item. So now I have to pay to have the item shipped back to the company and pay for shipping back to myself. So that is $16 in addition to the $17 already spent on shipping plus the $3.99 on the app I had to purchase. The website is clearly lacking important details and I don't think that I should be penalized for it. I've sent them a email stating same on June 11th and have not gotten a response.

Desired Settlement: I would like for them to exchange the product at their expense or refund my money and I will be happy to ship it back.

Business Response: I am sorry for the confusion regarding the transit time for the FedEx 2-day service.  FedEx (and UPS) air services are always stated in business days.  Saturday Delivery is possible in most locations; however, this a specific option with an extra change that must be chosen when processing the shipment.  The shipment methods are defined on our web site at

The incompatibility with the iphone 6 was know to us as a distributor.  We depend on the respective product manufacturer to provide accurate specifications and publish what they have provided to us.

Due to the issues above, we sent an email on June 23, 2015 stating that we will accept the product return for a full refund, including all shipping charges.  A prepaid shipping label was attached to the email.  As of the time of this response, the label has been unused, the product has not been returned and the customer as not contacted us.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below.  [Here is the email that was sent. It does not match up with the rebuttal from infotronics.Good Morning, Your return has been processed and I have ordered the correct part number for you. You must pay for shipping costs to return the incorrect item as well as ship the new item. Please send your return to: RMA# ************ ************* ********** **********, MA ***** Please return original packaging and all contents that came with the item. Best regards, ******** *******Web Order ManagerPhone: ###-###-####Fax: ###-###-####****************@fotronic.comTest Equipment ******* ********** ********** MA *****   Regards, ***** *******    

Business Response: The email posted was prior to a telephone conversation between the customer and Customer Service Manager regarding the issues experienced.  We subsequently agreed to a full refund, including shipping costs.

This email was sent Tuesday, June 23, 2015 1:38 PM, along with an attached return shipping label:

Good Afternoon *****,

Thank you for your email. I apologize that our website is not
clear on what generation Iphones are compatible with the product you ordered.
I brought this information to my manager and they are going to fix this issue.
I have attached a pre-paid label for you to send your item back. Once we
receive the item, we will refund you for the full amount and your shipping

I wish there was more I could do, I am so sorry for any
inconvenience this has caused you.

Best regards,

******** *******

Web Order Manager

Consumer Response: I have not received the above email. Please forward again to ************ Thanks.

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #********. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved. 


***** *******

4/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: ordered a **** ******** voltage testor. Unit is defective, website says 5 days to return for credit or 30 days for return of defective item, has been less than 30 days and took months to get. Refused to take it back. Never received an invoice or receipt.

Desired Settlement: just replace the unit or credit my account for something else that works correctly, all I am asking for is fairness

Business Response: Customer placed his order for the **** ******** Voltage and Continuity Tester on 11/29/2013 (not 11/01/2013 as stated by the customer.)  Customer was advised of back-order and chose to wait the 3 weeks until the estimated shipping date.  Item shipped on 12/23/2013 and was delivered on 12/28/2013.  The customer stated correctly that we have a 5-day return policy; however, first contact by customer was on 1/21/2014 - 23 days after receipt of the item.  Specifically, our Return Policy is "After five (5) days, returns will be handled by direct contact and in accordance with the warranty terms of the item's manufacturer."  We offered the customer assistance with contacting the manufacturer for warranty service/exchange but he said "I'll get the information myself" and hung-up.  He called again at least two other times and again referred to the manufacturer for warranty service/exchange.  Our customer service representatives were distraught each time due the uncivil nature and rudeness of the customer.  His demeanor rendered any further assistance on our part impossible.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.    

2/15/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 11/19, I ordered a soldering iron online. Website advertised using UPS for online purchases which is why I selected Fotronics. When item shipped, I was notified it was shipped via Fed Ex. I immediately called and told Fotronics associate I would be refusing delivery. Fed Ex delivered item and I tried to schedule a pickup twice. Fed Ex failed twice to pick item up to ship to Fotronics. Fed Ex did pick up item and on 12/14, got a call from ******** at Fotronics wanting to know what to do with the package. I returned the call and explained because of the switch in shipper and the bad experience with Fed Ex (which is why I didn't want to use them), I wanted a credit to my MasterCard for $44.44

Desired Settlement: I want a credit of $44.44 on my credit card. They have the merchandise and I desire not to conduct business with this concern again.

Business Response:

Customer was promptly shipped his order; however, after receiving the shipment tracking information he became agitated that the carrier was FedEx. Apparently, he has had a previous bad experience and has chosen to boycott FedEx.

The customer was informed that despite our display of the UPS logo we note in a disclaimer that when the 'Free Ground Shipping' promotion is selected we reserve the right to select a different carrier. The customer informed us that he would be refusing delivery despite the timely shipment and free shipping. 

The package was delivered and the customer proceeded to complain to customer service personnel repeatedly regarding our choice of FedEx even though his order arrived without incident. The customer contacted FedEx and demanded retrieval of the shipment. FedEx complied and picked-up the package. This call tag and return shipment was billed to Fotronic's account and was not authorized by us.

The package was eventually returned to us by FedEx. Due to lack of a RMA number the receiving department could not process routinely. After research, customer service processed a complete refund, see attached.
I do understand the basis and rationale of this complaint. The customer ordered a product. He received free on-time delivery. He proceeded to contact FedEx and arrange a pick-up that was unauthorized and billed to our FedEx account. We acknowledged his return; however, due to lack of a return authorization prior to the return, the receiving department had to research why the package arrived to us. After it was determined it was a customer return, the customer was refunded in full.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy my concerns in reference to complaint.

This response is rife with inaccuracies. First off, I was "agitated" due to the fact I chose this going concern solely because they listed UPS as their shipper for internet sales, (I have a screen shot of this, which they recently changed), then switched their shipper without notifying me. Second, there was no "disclaimer" on their website at the time of purchase about "reserving the right to select a different carrier". Again, I have a screen shot of their website BEFORE they changed it. Third, I did not "repeatedly" complain to personnel. I figured once should have been enough. As it was, it took them nearly two weeks to contact me via phone and they never did respond to my emails. Fourth, Fed Ex did pick up the package, but not before two requests by me, (they failed to show up twice for the scheduled pickup of 11/27 & 11/28). I was finally credited for the full amount, but because of the response from this business, any negative listing toward Fotronics by the BBB should stand. I wish to thank the staff at the BBB - Eastern Massachusetts/Maine for their cooperation in resolving this matter.

Business Response:

The customer received a refund in full on 12/27/2012. All shipping charges and restocking fee were waived.  I would be happy to do whatever else is neccessary to resolve this complaint.

In summary, the customer selected a free standard shipping offer.  He assumed the order would be shipped UPS because he noticed the logo amongst the many logos displayed on the site in the checkout/promotion area at that time.  The free standard shipping offer terms at the time of this order clearly stated the order will be shipped by our carrier of choice, e.g. US Postal Service, and did not identify which carrier would be used.
For this order, we chose FedEx Ground service because they offered the best transit time. In conjunction with the free shipping offer, the shipment method is transparent to the customer. The tracking information was provided at time of shipment which identifies the carrier selected for the standard shipping, if needed.

The customer received his order undamaged and timely. He chose to return the items ordered solely on the basis that it arrived via FedEx even though the delivery was at no charge to him.  Again, no shipping or handling was charged per the offer selected by the customer and he received the goods ahead of the estimated delivery date and in perfect condition.

The customer then proceeded to barrage FedEx Customer Service and our Customer Service with telephone calls. FedEx ultimately conceded to the customer’s insistence and picked-up the package for return to us. This pick-up service was charged to our FedEx account and was not authorized by us. We incurred the charges for the call tag, return shipment and of course, the initial shipment to the customer. These charges amount to almost the entire value of the order which we had to absorb with no recourse.

We delivered the goods the customer ordered. In good faith, we accepted his return and waived all shipping and restocking charges. Any delay in the refund processing was due to the returned package not having an RMA assigned for routing. Once the package ownership was identified, the 12/27/2012 refund in full was immediately processed. The basis of this complaint is the customer’s personal vendetta with FedEx and not the quality or representation of the goods we sell.

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

I am rejecting the response because of the blatant lie regarding shipping.  It CLEARLY stated on their webpage that online orders were to be shipped via UPS. They have since changed it. I also resent the statement "The customer then proceeded to barrage FedEx Customer Service and our Customer Service with telephone calls". I called Fotronics twice and Fed Ex twice. I'd like to know what they're insinuating by using the term "barrage"? I received a credit on my card and for this reason I will deem the matter closed, but will not retract my negative mark with the BBB against the company.