Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Joseph J. DelVendo Electrician

Phone: (617) 594-1549 5 East Border Circle, Medford, MA 02155 http://www.trustthisbiz.com/josephjdelvendo_electrician


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Joseph J. DelVendo Electrician specializes in small electrical services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Joseph J. DelVendo Electrician meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Joseph J. DelVendo Electrician include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Joseph J. DelVendo Electrician
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 31, 2003 Business started: 01/01/1997 in MA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Massachusetts Board of State Examiners of Electricians
1000 Washington Street, Suite 710, Boston MA 02118-2130
http://www.mass.gov/ocabr/licensee/dpl-boards/el/
Phone Number: 617-727-9931
Fax Number: 617-727-9932
The number is 38978.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Joseph DelVendo, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Joseph DelVendo, President
Number of Employees

2

Business Category

ELECTRIC CONTRACTORS-RESIDENTIAL & COMMERCIAL CABLE SPLICING ELECTRIC CONTRACTORS-COMMERCIAL ELECTRIC CONTRACTORS-RESIDENTIAL LIGHTING TELEPHONE CABLING Electrical Contractors and Other Wiring Installation Contractors (NAICS: 238210)

Industry Tips
27 Questions For Home Owners Hiring an Electrician Hiring an Electrician - 5 Tips - Video Read Before You Sign

Additional Locations

  • 5 East Border Circle

    Medford, MA 02155

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/12/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Mr. ******** took two months to install two sets of roof heating cables. After first appointment kept cancelling appointments to finish the job and after the first appt. would only agree to come nights to finish the job rather than during regularly scheduled business hours as promised. The electric clasps he installed on our brand new roof have ripped off six shingles and one of the two sets of cables has never worked. He has acknowledged that one of the electric boxes he installed is not working but continually cancels mutually agreed upon appointments to fix the problem. Meanwhile he has cashed our check for $2300.

Desired Settlement: I would like a cashiers check for $1150 returned to us, equivalent to cost of half of heating cables which do not work.

Business Response: In response to the BBB inquiry the following information is submitted, as a licensed Electrician work was performed on November 2, 2015- November 25, 2015 at the property located at ** ***** ****, *********, Ma. *****. The property owner is ******* ******. The work involved installation of heated roof coils. On a date after installation, i received a phone call from Mr. ******. he informed me that one side of the roof cables were not working. He informed that after the winter weather clears, would I come out to see what the problem was. On April 19, 2016 I had an appointment at approx 1 PM on April 19th we agreed that I would be out to his residence on April 22, 2016 at 1:00 pm to assess the situation. I subsequently sent Mr. ****** a text at 12:15 pm saying I am still coming. I was working on a electrical  power outage in ******* and would be delayed for a couple of hours. Mr. ****** agreed to this by text message. At 2:29 PM Mr. ****** sent a text saying if I was not there by 5 PM to forget it. I said okay- he then said he wouldn't wait anymore. he asked what I meant by Ok. My attempt to reach an accord with Mr. ****** and maintain communication with him was stopped by his telling me not to contact him. 

5/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Feb. 23, Joseph Delvendo took down my dining room chandelier because the wiring was old and appeared to be defective. I gave him a deposit of $75.00 and he took the light fixture and all the parts away with him. I have telephoned him frequently and asked him to reinstall the light. I am 82 years old with poor balance so I need the light on at night. Once he said he was coming at 3:30, but I had a doctor’s appointment then, as I told him. Another time I warned him there was a policeman on duty that day that would not let me get to my house. The policeman did not understand the construction problems. On all other days everyone was able to come in spite of construction. Most times Joe would say he was coming and I would wait in all day, but he never came. The telephone number he gave me is different from his ads: ###-###-####. I said he had an unusual name. He said he was the only one to have that name.

Desired Settlement: Can you ask Joseph to bring back the light and install it. He is listed with the BBB with wonderful reviews. I do not think these show the full picture.

Consumer Response: Mr DelVendo came to my home, and was able to replace the proper dimmer switch and bulbs. He was very helpful and and I am very happy with the results. Regards, ****** ********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Joseph J. DelVendo Electrician
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)