Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

J.P. McCurdy Electrical Services, Inc. provides electrical services for residential and commercial customers. The company also provides "smart home" integration and automation technology, standby generator systems of any size, fire alarm systems, intrusion alarm systems, video surveillance systems, and lighting control.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that J.P. McCurdy Electrical Services, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for J.P. McCurdy Electrical Services, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on J.P. McCurdy Electrical Services, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 31, 2003 Business started: 01/01/1999 in MA Business incorporated 03/29/2009 in MA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Massachusetts Board of State Examiners of Electricians
1000 Washington Street, Suite 710, Boston MA 02118-2130
http://www.mass.gov/ocabr/licensee/dpl-boards/el/
Phone Number: 617-727-9931
Fax Number: 617-727-9932
The number is 20172.

Massachusetts Office of Consumer Affairs & Business Regulation
10 Park Plaza, Boston MA 02116
http://www.mass.gov/ocabr/
Phone Number: (617) 973-8787/888-283-3757
Fax Number: (617) 973-8799
consumer@state.ma.us
The number is 39801.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John P. McCurdy, President Mrs. Judy Goldman , Office Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mrs. Judy Goldman , Office Manager
Principal: Mr. John P. McCurdy, President
Number of Employees

7

Business Category

ELECTRIC CONTRACTORS-RESIDENTIAL ELECTRIC CONTRACTORS-RESIDENTIAL & COMMERCIAL ELECTRIC EQUIPMENT-SERVICE & REPAIRING AUDIO-VISUAL CONSULTANTS ELECTRIC CONTRACTORS-COMMERCIAL ELECTRIC EQUIPMENT-BACKUP SYSTEMS ELECTRIC EQUIPMENT-TESTING & MAINTENANCE AUDIO-VISUAL EQUIPMENT-DEALERS ELECTRICAL POWER SYSTEMS MAINTENANCE ELECTRICAL POWER SYSTEMS (RESIDENTIAL & COMMERICAL) - BACKUP SYSTEMS ELECTRIC VEHICLES - HOME CHARGING STATION Electrical Contractors and Other Wiring Installation Contractors (NAICS: 238210)

Products & Services

J.P. McCurdy Electrical Services, Inc. sells the following brand(s): Briggs and Stratton, Control4, GE, Honeywell, Lutron, Schneider Electric, Square D

Method(s) of Payment
Cash
Check
Visa
Master Card
American Express
Industry Tips
27 Questions For Home Owners Hiring an Electrician Hiring an Electrician - 5 Tips - Video Read Before You Sign

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

J.P. McCurdy Electrical Services, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 17 Walnut Rd

    Swampscott, MA 01907 (781) 595-7074

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/15/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We hired this company in December-2014 for above mentioned work. They came to my house and started work on around 12/08/2014(Exact date don't remember because they rescheduled twice). Project Manager name is **** ******. Based on certain percentage of work completion he asked us for payments and we paid accordingly on time. I am writing review(which is basically a complaint about this company). Today its 04/15/2016 and still they have not finished entire work. Our house is a mess with the electrical garbage still lying around and no light in the entire house. We have lamps all over the place. We hired this company to remove ***** and tube with regular electric wiring as per code. We also added few more line item as mentioned below. 1. ***** and Tube removal from entire house and replacing with regular electric wiring as per code. 2. Electrical panel upgrade to 200 AMP(Service upgrade). 3. New(Extra) Switches and receptacles. 4. Addition of few New(Extra) light fixtures. Completed Work : ----------------- 1. ***** and Tube removal from entire house and replacing with regular electric wiring as per code. - I will say this is partial BECAUSE they didn't put back all light and fan fixtures back to the ceiling. 2. Electrical panel upgrade to 200 AMP(Service upgrade). Pending Work : --------------- 1. Around 45 customized Wall plate replacement(This include both switch & receptacle plates) along with foam insulation behind the plates to be put up. Reason : We ordered brass switch plates which came in the middle of December 2014 since the work had started and we had already informed the electricians and the manager **** about these. The electricians working on the job said that since these were brass plates they would only put these after the town inspection as they didn't want any hassle during inspection because these were brass plates. They never came after inspection. 2. To put all light fixture back on ceiling, hutch lighting Reason : couple of light fixture didn’t come on time because of 2015(January - March) winter storm. According to ****(Project Manager ) suggestions that we get complete inspection done and his crew will come back once shipment arrives and then they will put everything back on ceiling we went ahead with the inspection like fools. 3. Put 4 way switch at two places and 3 fan dimmers Reason – Switch was not available at that time because we only got informed about it once the work started. ***** and ***** the electricians working on the job at the time put dummy switch as a placeholder for inspection in one place and the other hole was left empty. The inspection took place with the empty hole in the wall. Instead of fan dimmers they have put regular switches in the rooms. 4. Doorbell - After removing ***** and tube doorbell stopped working. ***** the electrician promised that he would look into this but that was also never looked into. Currently doorbell not working and the wire has been cut off. 5. New Light outlet installation in back porch falls directly above the back door, which needs to be moved away from door so that any hanging light fixture will go over there. The light fixtures both at the front and back entrance needs to be replaced. 6. Previously installed Two fan fixtures that wobbles(installed after ***** and tube replacement), It looks like it has not been installed properly. 7. All their garbage was left for us to dispose off. 8. They didn't give us warranty slips or even retain the packaging of the common lights they have put in our basement and attic although we had requested for those. Disputed Item : --------------- Apart from above mentioned pending work there are few disputed item which is mentioned below. 1. hutch LED strips : This is unpaid item. The kind of agreement with ****, the manager, on this item was that, if we like those strips then we will keep that otherwise will return. BUT after January 2015 we never connected with each other and decision on this item remains pending. 2. Basement Light : 5 basement flash light remains unpaid, which I don’t have any idea. I paid all amount in full before inspection. I tried to talk to **** the manager (brief explanation is mentioned below) which has been a fruitless conversation.

Desired Settlement: Finish all the pending work that is installing all light fixtures, correcting incorrectly installed fixtures, putting our doorbell back, putting the hutch light, put switches in places and fan dimmers, correct the position of porch lights and install them properly, put new switch and receptacle plates, and give us the warranty slips for the light in attic and basement.

Business Response: This is an unfortunate situation. The customer and service contractor (contractor)   entered into a contract to do electrical work at the customer’s home, initially the   removal of Knob & Tube wiring. As the customer states in his first paragraph:   “We hired this company to remove knob & tube with regular electric wiring   as per code. We also added few more line item….”   The customer did add some work, which was included in the contract and added   some work, which was not. The contractor charged him for the “add-ons” that were   not covered in the contract. This was the root of the problem. The customer felt if   the electricians were on site, then any additions, regardless of what they may be,   were covered. That is not how the electrical business works, especially when it   comes to purchasing parts not covered under the contract.   In addition, the customer approached two of the contractor’s electricians and   offered to pay them to do work on their own, “after hours”. Theses electricians have   been with the contractor for over ten years and refused the customer’s offer. This   added more fuel to what was becoming an unpleasant working environment.   The contractor lost money on the job trying to appease the customer. The   contractor could go into more detail, but he believes that anyone reading this   complaint could possibly draw a conclusion the perhaps the customer is a bit   unreasonable.   The contractor has been in business for 35 years with a better than 95% approval   rating. The contractor is not perfect and has made mistakes, but he has always been   willing to do whatever it takes to correct the situation to satisfy the customer. In   this case, nothing will suffice. However, the job was completed and past the   municipal electrical inspection as completed.   We are willing to perform any new work which must be in writing in a new contract, with an approved signature by the customer and under a new electrical permit. But all invoices due from the last work must be paid up in full. All our work thus far has been signed off as completed in a good professional workmanship manor by the ********* ********** **********

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below.  I don't know what so called "add-ons" they have done while working.This is false and wrong statement from JP McCurdy electrical company that I offered their electrician to do side work at my house.(Note that I told same thing to J*** ******* in one of eMail conversation with him in March 2016). Also, they fooled me and finish town inspection without putting light fixture back to the ceiling(You will see in below mentioned explanation or attached document).According to me, JP MCCURDY office is trying divert the actual problem. Instead of finishing the pending work they are misleading the situation by giving all those false statement which is not true. If you(business) has been in business for 35 years with a better than 95% approval rating then why you are doing this to me. As per my experience you are not a good company to work with.Let me try to give more information about the entire context, hope that would be helpful.(I am also attaching explanation in word doc for better readability)Overall:-We hired this company in December-2014 for above mentioned work. They came to my house and started work on around 12/08/2014(Exact date don't remember because they rescheduled twice). Project Manager Name is **** ******* Based on certain percentage of work completion he asked us for payments and we paid accordingly on time. I am writing a complaint about this company, today its 04/28/2016 and still they have not finished entire work. Our house is a mess with the electrical garbage still lying around and no light in the entire house. We have lamps all over the place. There is little reason behind this which I would like to share:    My question to JP MCCURDY office is, I paid the $18199 amount that was asked on time and they are not sending their crew for $450 disputed amount (according to me I paid for everything, except led hutch light strips). Even if the amount is due the company should first finish pending work or agree on some mutual solution instead of keeping me in the lurch. The owner hasn't agreed to anything and only the project manager has said that he will put all the light fixtures up but the owner hasn't agreed to anything. The company just wants another payment from me and I DON'T TRUST THEM AT ALL ANYMORE.   Detailed Information:- Company crew came and started working BUT the way they worked every day was not very convincing. They always seemed to be in a rush because of which they incorrectly installed switches which they changed but disfigured our walls with their pencil drawings which were never taken care off. They never cleaned work area properly after work completion on that day. Our new *** TV had dust all over when we forgot to cover the living area once such was the level of unprofessionalism and don't care attitude. We told them so many times about this but there were no changes in their cleanliness. Eventually we ended up cleaning our house every evening and then preparing the house for work the next day which was a tiring job for us. For preparing the house the next day we had to move and cover the furniture because the electricians didn't do anything. Somehow they finished Knob and Tube removal work, Electrical panel upgrade and installed a few extra new Switches and receptacles which we asked for.    They didn't finish light fixture installation (only 3 of our light fixtures were delayed) but there are no light or fan fixtures in the entire house.    In 2015(January-March) we had a series of severe winter storm in Boston area and because of some production issues 3 of our light fixtures, which we ordered online, weren't delivered on time. These came only towards the middle of March. Due to this fact and the work situation **** (Project Manager) suggested that we get the town inspection done and when the light fixtures will arrive then his crew will come back and install all new and old light fixtures.   .  In order to do this he demanded us to clear all remaining dues and only then he will proceed to get an inspection date. I asked him why he was asking for full payment without work completion as his crew was coming back for work completion but he said its company process and he won't be able to finalize inspection date unless paid in full. By considering the good rating and reputation of this company I paid remaining balance in full, AND now I am regretting for that mistake.         Our 3 light fixtures came in March-2015 and when I tried reaching **** then got no response from him(or an occasional response like he is busy and doing me some favor). I made several phone calls, texted him and even dropped follow up mails to get in touch with him. However the responses were always delayed. He texted me saying he will call me tomorrow (that tomorrow never came). These follow up sessions continued for several months. While doing all this I also start getting unpaid Bill from JPMccurdy office for couple of basement lights which according to them I hadn't paid. I responded back and included **** in the conversation and asked for explanation. **** never responded back. I was very busy with my office work that time but still followed up with mails over the time addressed to **** but didn't get any prompt response. I got couple of further mails regarding payment issues and got frustrated and decided instead of running behind **** it would be better to communicate with JPMccurdy office. So I started communicating with the office executive in August-2015 **** and ***** assisted me on this matter. They looked into this issue, and internally spoke with **** and finally told me that I never paid for few basement lights which they installed and the company crew will come and finish work only when I paid. Even then the scope and nature of unfinished work isn't defined and they haven't agreed to finish everything.      I was so tired and frustrated with their unprofessional behavior. I don't know how many payments **** reported to the company billing department. I denied their charges and told them its disputed amount and I will not pay without proper explanation. I suggested looking into all payments which I gave to **** and come up with a solution. Instead of understanding the problem and agreeing to some mutual solution they have asked me to pay first. This issue dragged for long and became very ugly finally **** ******* (company owner) came into picture visited our house and started looking into this issue. He got involved in November – 2015 onward. He looked into this matter and dug out all possible issue points. I gave him all payment details with date and check number. Two of these payments were Cash amounts and one cash payment entry was missing in billing department.  I told **** that I don't have any proof for one particular cash payment for that we went to the nearby **** ** ******* ATM machine in JPMcCurdy utility van. Once **** came to know that we (myself and **** ******), which **** denied, in his company utility van then he checked   his company vehicle movement in *** tracking system (according to **** all of his company vehicle is equipped with *** tracking system) and noticed that one of his vehicle spotted at the **** ** ******* ATM location as per *** tracking system records. It looks like **** ******* enquired this incident to **** ****** and he might have cooked up all stories that, I offered two of their electrician (based on above response from business) and they might be working at my house on that particular day as a part of side Job and they took company van. All these things I came to know few months back in one of the previous e-mail correspondence with **** *******. (If needed I can provide all e-mail conversation with ****).      I believe **** ******* understood the situation and said he will look into this and take advice from his lawyer and get back to me. ****'s last mail on this matter was on 28th March 2016. I waited for few more weeks for his response and followed up with mail too. I have not received response till now and decided to report this incident to Angie's list forum (from where I hired this company) and to BBB so that others don't get fooled by this company. Regards, ******** *****    

Business Response: This is an unfortunate situation and McCurdy Electric regrets any inconvenience the company may have caused the customer.  The customer has detailed the events that occurred, but there are a couple of points that need to be stated and made clear.  It is McCurdy’s desire to resolve this issue that will satisfy both parties since no one in this dispute is entirely without fault.  As the customer mentioned, McCurdy Electric was hired to remove “knob & tube” wiring and replace it with updated wiring.  There were two issues at play here.1.      The customer needed to replace knob & tube within specific number of days to receive a lower insurance premium.  The insurance company set the deadline.2.      The customer also needed to get any electrical work inspected by the town’s electrical inspector in order to show proof that work had been done and was within code.The contract called for the removal of knob & tube, plus the installation of standard light fixtures, standard devices and associated switch-plates.  There were change orders along the way that were billed outside the original contracted price, which the customer paid. The knob & tube was removed.  At the request and approval of the customer, McCurdy Electric installed standard fixtures, devices and switch-plate as specified by the contract.  This enabled the customer to have the work completed and inspected to meet the insurance company’s deadline.  All this happened and the work was approved, the job finished. Shortly after the job was completed per contract and after the final inspection, the customer contacted McCurdy Electric requesting installation of new light fixtures and specialty switch-plates.  McCurdy Electric was surprised thinking the job had been completed per contract.   The three fixtures the customer had ordered online were three large 25lb chandeliers.  They were not UL approved and would not have passed inspection.  In addition, these chandeliers had a 24” diameter medallion that needed to be modified with box extensions and additional wire conductors to interconnect to our replacement ceiling lighting outlet box before hanging the chandelier.  This was outside the scope of the contract and is not considered “standard” lighting fixtures.  However, the reason ******* refused to hang the chandeliers is because none of the chandeliers were UL approved, required by code.  The chandeliers  were  also “two-wire” without a grounding  wire bonding the metallic parts.  This is a safety hazard and if installed would jeopardize the homeowner’s safety as well as McCurdy’s Electrical license. The customer also mentioned that he wanted to replace the newly installed standard switch-plates with specialty brass plates, which he had just purchased.   ******* was willing to do this but told the customer that it was a change order and the he would be charged accordingly.   ******* had done the required work according to the contract.  Any additional work was considered a change order.  Any work involving  non-UL approved fixtures would not be considered. This issue here was safety.  If the customer would like to get the opinion of the town’s electrical inspector regarding the legality of the chandeliers, ******* suggests that the customer should contact the local electrical inspector. Resolution Proposal******* wants to resolve this unfortunate dispute.  As such, below is ********* proposal: To resolve the issue, McCurdy Electric will do the following:1.      ******* will modify outlet boxes to accommodate the customer’s medallions that are now in place on the ceiling at no cost to the customer.2.      ******* will install the chandeliers provided they are UL approved at no cost to the customer.NOTE:  Modification to accommodate medallions and the installation of the chandeliers will require a new permit.  The customer shall be responsible for attaining all permits associated with this job.3.      ******* will change out the existing switch-plates with the customer-supplied brass switch-plate at no cost. The Customer will do the following:1        Pay for any and all permits required to do the above work including municipal fees associated with the inspection if there are any..2    The outstanding balance of $828.91 paid in full before work is started for the following:·        Rope lighting installed around the dining room hutch·        The five 7” **** Light fixtures installed in the basement.  


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on J.P. McCurdy Electrical Services, Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart