Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

H.O. Electric

Phone: (617) 489-6324 Fax: (781) 862-6324 24 Leicester Rd, Belmont, MA 02478 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.hoelectric.com View Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

H.O. Services is your residential Electric-Drain Cleaning-Heating-Cooling Specialist. We are an electrical contracting company providing homeowners the best Electric-Drain Cleaning-Heating-Cooling repair service in Greater Boston. This family owned establishment shows up on time and in uniform, and most jobs can be completed the same day. They offer upfront pricing, meaning that you will know the price of the job before the work begins. If you're looking for residential Electric-Drain Cleaning-Heating-Cooling service or electrical repair in the Greater Boston, MA area and are interested in scheduling an appointment with this company, please call us at: 617-489-6324.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that H.O. Electric meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for H.O. Electric include:

  • 10 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for H.O. Electric include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

8 Customer Reviews on H.O. Electric
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 4
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 4
Total Customer Reviews 8

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 10, 2004 Business started: 01/01/1990 in MA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Massachusetts Board of State Examiners of Electricians
1000 Washington Street, Suite 710, Boston MA 02118-2130
http://www.mass.gov/ocabr/licensee/dpl-boards/el/
Phone Number: 617-727-9931
Fax Number: 617-727-9932
The number is 13852.

Massachusetts Board of State Examiners of Electricians
1000 Washington Street, Suite 710, Boston MA 02118-2130
http://www.mass.gov/ocabr/licensee/dpl-boards/el/
Phone Number: 617-727-9931
Fax Number: 617-727-9932
The number is 34114.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Howard Oven, Owner Customer Service, Complaints
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Howard Oven, Owner
Principal: Customer Service, Complaints
Number of Employees

5

Business Category

ELECTRIC CONTRACTORS-RESIDENTIAL & COMMERCIAL ELECTRIC CONTRACTORS-RESIDENTIAL COMPUTER NETWORKS TELEPHONE COMMUNICATIONS SERVICES TELEPHONE CABLING SECURITY SYSTEMS CONSULTANTS Electrical Contractors and Other Wiring Installation Contractors (NAICS: 238210)

Products & Services

H.O. Electric sells the following brand(s): Airscape Fans, Casablanca Fans, Fantech, Generac Generators, Insteon Home Automation, ITE Siemens, Nitescaping, Tamarack Fans

H.O. Electric offers the following product(s): Briggs Stratton, Eaton, GE, Kohler

Hours of Operation
Available 24 Hours
Method(s) of Payment
Credit Cards, Check
Refund and Exchange Policy
The business states that all of our services are backed with a full two-year warranty with the option of a lifetime warranty.
Service Area
H.O. Electric provides their services in BELMONT, MA.
Alternate Business Names
H.O. Services HO Electric
Industry Tips
27 Questions For Home Owners Buying a Home Security System Computer Software - 5 Tips - Video Computers - Software and Services Finding a Reliable Home Security System - 5 Tips - Video Hiring an Electrician Hiring an Electrician - 5 Tips - Video Read Before You Sign Telephone Communication Services

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

H.O. Electric has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/12/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I scheduled a service call with this company for 11/24/2015 for the purpose of evaluating the installation of a whole house fan. I contacted them as they are listed on the fan manufacture's website. I paid a $99 fee for the visit with the understanding that I would receive some type of proposal or recommendation that would allow me to determine a path forward with this installation. After several phone calls, I have yet to receive any information from this company. I believe that they have not provided my with the service for which I paid.

Desired Settlement: Initially, all I wanted was a written proposal for the type of fan that would be recommended along with an installation cost so that I could decide whether to do the job or not. Based on the negative response from the service provider now, I would prefer to have the service charge (for which no discernible service was provided) refunded.

Business Response: We don't recall performing any work for this person.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below.  The comment from the business is inaccurate.  On November 24, 2105 two gentlemen from HO Electric came to my house to provide me with an recommendation and estimate for the installation of a whole house fan.  After completing the review, the two collected a $99 service call charge and left.  I fully expected a written evaluation, recommendation and estimate of the work to be done.  As of this date, I have not received anything that would assist me with my decision. Regards, ****** ****    

Business Response: We gave *** **** an Estimate as well as an Invoice. Please see attached Estimate #**** in notes " By signing below, homeowner acknowledges receiving Estimate". *** **** signed both the estimate as well as the attached Invoice #****. Please se as well. I believe the customer is confused. We also have documents of the customer contacting us on 5/24/2011 at 4:57 PM about a whole house fan (see attached).

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below.   Thanks for providing evidence that I signed the invoice.  I may be a little confused because I never got a copy of the estimate.  The signature was provided on a small portable device designed to process the debit card transaction.  I don't recall ever seeing the actual estimate.  After looking at the document, it is entirely possible that I never received it because the email address was incorrect.  I believe that the pdf sent as part of this effort is the first time I've seen the estimate of $499. Now that I do see that, I would just like to follow up by asking if that estimate is for the installation of any whole house fan or was it for a specific type that may have been mentioned but not described in the estimate. Thanks for your response so far! Regards, ****** ****    

Business Response: You paid a $99 dispatch fee as your location was over 1 hour from our location. That is what you agreed to in a recorded phone conversation. Our policy is to always give a written estimate as we obviously want the job. That is why we went over 1 hour to your house for. A written estimate was given to you at that time. The estimate that you received was for the type of fan described to you that day.

11/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I filed a previous complaint about H.O. Electric because the owner and an employee came to our apartment 2.5 hours late to an appointment without apologizing and outside of their available appointment time windows. I filed a previous complaint detailing the incident, which I will rehash here: after they spent an hour trying to figure out if they could install a thermostat (after I found them as a recommended installer of **** Thermostats). They said they couldn't install it and offered to sell me and install a programmable thermostat for $765. I declined, because that's an absurd price. Then the owner tried to charge me $59 for an "appointment fee." I said no, because they didn't come at the appointment time. The owner, "******" then started swearing and shouting and calling me a snake and saying that I should be ashamed of myself. I asked them to leave immediately. That brought on further swearing. Once out in the hallway of my apartment ****** was still swearing at me and I again asked him to leave immediately. I was five feet away from the two workers in my doorway and ****** said "don't push me" loudly, which was calculated to get my neighbors to hear such a statement. I then stepped out of my doorway and held the door open for them to exit. My wife and newborn child were present for the swearing and shouting and my wife can attest to the fact that I never laid a finger on him. ****** claimed that he had a right to be in my condo building and that it was a public place, which it most certainly is not as there is a clear sign that states "no soliciting/no loitering." After they finally left, I call the company to voice my displeasure with the outburst of swearing and the attempt to charge me for service that was not provided and an appointment time was not met. The receptionist was professional and courteous and said that she would have an owner call me. I received a call, retold the sequence of events and the man on the phone said, "yeah, but I've got two employees that will swear that you threatened them." I said that your employees' willingness to lie doesn't make it true. At that point I recognized the voice as ******'s and I stated as such. ****** then started swearing and denigrating my profession (attorney) and said that we were all snakes and then hung up on me. I called back and said that we must have gotten disconnected. That prompted another tirade filled with cursing. At that point I filed my first complaint with the BBB. The business' response was that I was not a customer of theirs. That is flat out lie as the company sent me an invoice for the $59 appointment fee today. I have a pdf of the invoice and a copy of the email confirming the appoint, which clearly proves that I was a customer. I have never faced such an unprofessional barrage of swearing or such blatant deceit and I hope that you consider revoking their BBB accreditation.

Business Response: *****; Thank you for bringing this to our alleged matter attention. Please call us to rectify your situation at ************. thank you

7/27/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In response to my inquiry about central A.C. services thru an operator, I got a call back from an employee of H.O. who asked if a crew could come to my house between 2 and 4 that day. He told me of a $59 charge for an appraisal visit. I said OK. 2 o'clock came and went. At 2:30 I thought I should check my understanding of the time-slot arrangement. I went to a confirmation email I had, and it said "2 PM" and "Duration [Do Not Use] 2.00 hrs." This seemed to imply a 2:00 arrival and a visit that could take 2 hours. Still, I tried to double check by calling the company. I got 2 successive recorded voices asking me to wait for momentary assistance. After about 5 minutes, I gave up. My partner and I went out at about 2:55. At a few minutes past 3, when we were in traffic on Rte 1, I got a call from the crew who said they were near our house. Would we be there? I explained that we couldn't get there soon and that it was difficult to re-schedule anything at that moment. A few minutes later I got a bill for $59, and 2 mornings later I got a call from Advanced Collection Services! There was no time even to write a check and mail it in (had I intended to do so)! I have had three communications from the collection agency and no acknowledgment from H.O. of what I initially described politely as a misunderstanding. My sense now is that they are out to make as many bogus $59 "calls" as often as possible. I am still loath to pay this fee, since I tried every which way to explain my situation and was not given any option to reschedule before they summarily issued the bill! Please advise. Thank you.

Desired Settlement: I would like H.O. Electric to send me a brief apology and let me know that the collection agency will cease dunning me for $59. I certainly don't want my excellent credit rating to be besmirched by this obnoxious business.

Business Response: One May 5th, 2015 **** ******* contacted out company to have out HVAC team come out and engineer the project of installing a new A/C system. On a recorded line per FCC regulations **** agreed to a $59 dispatch fee that we waive if any work is accepted. She also was told that her appointment time was a 2pm-4pm window in which the truck would arrive. She agreed to this as well as a 24 hour cancellation policy so that if she wanted to cancel or reschedule we could have 24 hours to book a different call and keep our company moving smoothly.  Our truck was dispatched out and was set to arrive right in the middle of the promised window around 3pm. The technicians called **** 15 minutes prior to their arrival and **** had stated that she would not be available for the appointment but could be **** by 4pm. We asked her if she would like to rescedual to avoid paying the dispatch fee for her misunderstanding and she stated to the technician that "no, I have another contractor". We sent an invoice for $59 (the agreed upon amount if no work was performed) to **** and never got payment. **** sent an email to us stating that she would not be paying and this was our fault. We had no choice but to push the matter to collections.To summarize: **** booked an appointment window and decided to leave her residence during her window time. Then when we tried to chalk it up to a misunderstanding and not point fingers we asked just to rescedual. She stated she did not want to rescedual and had other contractor. We as a company have recorded phone calls and emails supporting the facts and will continue to deliver excellent service and be the transparent and upfront company we have been for 25 years. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below.  H O claims, and repeats and repeats the claim that I said (on my cell phone, while driving in traffic) that I had another contractor. This is simply not true. H. O. was the first contractor we had called. We had no other contractor under consideration, although we did, a month later, contract with another business with great success. I could not reschedule anything at that moment (on my cell phone while driving in traffic). And barely 5 minutes after we ended that conversation (which I'd like to hear, if it was recorded), I received a bill from H. O.  Two mornings later, I had a call from a collection agency. What kind of good-faith customer relations does this demonstrate?  H. O. continues to rely on the conversation I had with them when first trying to make an arrangement with them. I do not dispute the content of that conversation. What I do complain about is the information about their visit that appeared in an email (which I quote to you in my initial complaint), and which I have a copy of. I also complain that my own good-faith effort to clarify their appraisal procedure failed because they had no one to answer my phone call. And I complain that they billed me without a word of explanation or apology before I'd even reached my home again that afternoon, and that they sent my "case" to a collection agency before they even had word that I was objecting to the bill. There is no way that a check could have been mailed to H. O. in time to obviate the call from the collection agency. Regards, **** ********    

Business Response: **** stated on a recorded line that she refused to pay the agreed upon dispatch fee of $59 or reschedule. Therefore, we had no option other than send to collections. To resolve, pay the amount you agreed to for the appointment. We would be happy to reschedule the appointment as well to resolve the situation.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below.  No, I never stated that I would not pay the $59 on any recorded line. I received the bill by email after hanging up with the appraisal crew. It was after hearing from the collection agency (who, incidentally, addressed me as "Mrs. *********" in one bit of written correspondence that I have) within less than 60 hours of having had the brief cell phone discussion with the crew, that I began to decide that H O Electric deserved no pay from me. They were, I concluded, out to get as many $59 payments as possible from prospective customers by deliberately confusing appraisal schedules.Regards, **** ********    

2/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Made an appointment for furnace repair between 12 to 2pm, around 1:45pm, the owner of the business called and asked me to wait for another 2 hours and asked for credit card number to pay dispatch fee in advance. No one show up for the day. With an 8 days old infant at home, we had to turn to others for help. Even worse, I received an invoice in the email for the dispatch fee of $59 without getting service.

Desired Settlement: Refund and an offical apology from the company

Business Response: This person is not one of our customers

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #********. Please add your rejection comments below. If i'm not your customer, then how do you explain the attached invoice? Regards, **** **  

Business Response: This occurred just yesturday and paperwork had yet submitted to office. The attached Invoice had been sent by our technician in the field who had pulled of a job and was dispatched to **** ** as an emergency call, no heat. **** scheduled a same day appointment and agreed to our terms and conditions promising to pay a dispatch fee of $59. He also agreed to our cancellation policy as **** submitted his credit card info. Indicating he would be invoiced if he cancelled. H.O. Electric was on ****s street as he called to cancel. We were not late as well. BBB, this was the blizzard of 15, no cars or trucks were permitted on roads. We gather cc info from customers for this very reason not to be exploited by irrational customers. FYI, all our calls are recorded by FCC rules for this very purpose. **** has slandered us on Line in multiple locations. His accusations are untrue. We have contacted our atorneys. Of slander is not removed, we will be forced to take **** to court.

1/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This issue relates to service performed at * ********** ***** ******* **, on July 29, 2014. My primary complaint is that two weeks after completing a repair the unit failed again and they refused to repair it without additional charges. I got another company to fix the problem and it was caused by a bad part that H.O. should have found on the initial diagnosis. (The H.O. technician who responded to the second call claimed the problem was caused be a rodent being struck by the fan. Really.) Additional complaints are: 1) Pricing policy was not explained up front: On my initial call for an AC unit repair I was informed that there would be an automatic $150 "call out fee" that would be charged if I refused their service. They did say this charge would be deducted from any service charges. When the technicians got there they explained there would be an $850 "diagnosis fee" and if I didn't pay that I would be out the $150. I talked them down to $420 to diagnose the condenser unit only. What they should have said on the phone is that I would be charged $420 before they lifted a finger. 2) Refusal to provide details of the work performed: After the diagnosis they explained that the unit required "several parts" and the repair would cost an additional $460. When I asked what parts were required they said a capacitor and some other "things." I agreed to the repair and paid the bill. I asked for an itemized receipt which I never received. I have since written two letters asking for a receipt to no avail. (From other complaints I've read, this seems to be their policy.) The technician from the company that fixed the problem told me that the only part that was new was the capacitor. The problem was fixed by installing a new contactor and the unit ran fine for the rest of the summer. 3) High Pressure Sales Pitch: After the initial diagnosis the head tech immediately switched into sales mode. "This unit is 15 years old and is going to be nothing but trouble ..." "The diagnosis fee will be applied to the price of a new unit..." "We can have a new unit up and running tomorrow..." I got the same pitch on the second call out. I'm sure the techs are paid on commission and the company really wants to sell new units rather than fix old ones. I explained that the home owner (my late brother-in-law) was dying of cancer and that I was not in a position to buy a new unit for his house.

Desired Settlement: I would like all but the initial $150 call out fee refunded. They obviously miss-diagnosed the problem and I should not be charged for unnecessary repairs. I would also like an apology.

Business Response: Sorry to hear about your issue. In review of your account, we performed a repair at your in laws house 6 months ago. This is the first complaint of this I have heard from you. If you complained, it wasn't to management. Like I said, Otherwise I would have heard of it. Had I known about this issue with in the past half of a year, I would have resolved your issue at no additional cost to remedy your situation, that is how we work. All of our work was performed according to a signed flat rate contract. In review of your contract, no wrong doing was done by H.O. Electric. Infact, you as the customer signed the contract stating you were completely satisfied with the work performed. This matter is out of my hands since you had someone else work on the unit 6 months ago and never gave us a chance to resolve the issue. Again, this was a potential matter of issue 6 months ago, this is Jan 2015.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below.  Five months is certainly not an excessive time for filing a complaint.  Besides, I wrote two letters requesting an itemized receipt which I never received (attached).  I also never received a copy of the contract that they claim I signed.  I did scribble my name on a tablet (I was told it was to authorize the work) - I guess I thought a reputable member of the BBB could be trusted not to cheat me.  Apparently I was mistaken.  They had a chance to fix the problem when their technician came out a second time and diagnosed the problem as a mouse hitting the fan when the actual problem was a burned out contactor.  If they choose to make an offer of compensation, I will consider it.  Otherwise I will undertake legal action.  I am sure the licensed technician who made the final repair would be willing to testify. Regards, ****** ****    

12/13/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: H.O. Electric took advantage of a me, a young female homeowner. I called the company because my heat was not working and the service was a very negative experience as explained below. Upon entering my home, the two technicians from H.O. Electric asked to see the furnace. They "looked at it" for less than 10 minutes and said they could not determine a problem, so they said they had to run a full diagnostic test for $462. I asked if this would include everything in terms of further cost and they said it would if they could figure out the problem and fix it without any new parts. If they needed any new parts, I would just have to pay for the parts. They did not mention anything about extra labor fees. They made me sign an agreement contract on a tiny digital tablet, without allowing me to fully see the terms of agreement. I feel like this was a scare tactic because I am a single young homeowner who has never dealt with this before and I needed heat as this was a time sensitive matter. After they ran the diagnostic test, they came inside to tell me that they figured out the problem and that I needed a new gas valve. I asked how much the part would cost and they said it didn't go by the part, they just called their boss and it would be an additional $680. That is not the information I received before I signed off on the diagnostic test. Had they told me the extra fee would be "whatever the boss tells them" I never would have agreed to the test. ALSO, if they properly showed me the entire document on the tiny digital tablet, I would never have signed it. When asked, H.O. technicians at no point showed me a run down of cost. i.e. labor, parts, etc. It is at that point when I asked to be invoiced the $462 and they would not leave. They told me I had to either pay on the spot by check or credit card. I said please tell the owner to invoice me and one of the men was persistent on me paying right then. I refused and again said please have the owner invoice me and the technician said "you don't want to do that. It will go right to collections." Another example of a scare tactic. The invoice was emailed to be almost instantly after the technicians left. Overall, my experience with H.O. Electric was nothing but negative. I was taken advantage of and completely scammed. Being a young female homeowner, they knew what they were doing in exploiting me. This company must be stopped. Please look into this matter. I am very upset.

Desired Settlement: H.O. Electric should waive the $462 fee for the diagnostic test that I agreed to pay upfront due to unethical exploitation and practices. The technicians never explained the run down of cost and the whole situation was unethical and a scam.

Business Response: **** ****** ****** is not a young female homeowner that was taken advantage of as she portraysherself to the BBB, but a cunning, manipulative professional who doesn't wantto pay her H.O. Electric bill as agreed upon per signed contract. ****'s professionaltraining and history experience (see below) grants her an opportunity toexploit and allure companies into working for her and then not paying forservices rendered. She "Strategizes"as she tries to intimidate and blackmail small companies to simply go away without collecting or she slanders them on line with bad reviews like the BBB. Thisis what she has been trained to do. As she states below, her expertise included:Negotiated rates, deals, and contracts with companies. https://www.linkedin.com/pub/****-******/20/773/274.As a result, **** was never "takenadvantage of and completely scammed" It is true that **** is new to homeownership.**** called H.O. Electric because she had no heat on a Sunday in December. H.O.Electric was there the next morning as **** specifically requested to fix herheat. Upon arrival, H.O. Electric gave **** options to repair her faulty heatingsystem. Since **** is not only a home owner but a landlord with a tenant,fixing her heating system should be a good thing. Overall, ****'s experiencewith H.O. Electric should be good as well. ****'s faulty heat, is her onlynegative. I think she is unhappy with her heat, not H.O. Electric. ****, welcometo homeownership. H.O. Electric is very transparentin the way we conduct our business. We are up-front on our flat rate pricing.As a result, no break down is given on parts and labor. We collect C.O.D. Allof our calls are recorded according to FCC rules. Customers agree to our termsand conditions prior to scheduling. All of our terms and conditions are locatedin plain site on our contract. **** agreed to all our terms and conditions uponsignature when she contracted us. As a result, there is no basis for ****'scomplaint.   SummarySpecialties:marketing, public relations, advertising sales, andsocial mediaExperiencePublicist****** ********** *********August 2011 – Present (3 years 5 months)******, MA• Generate regional campaigns for clients• Coordinate campaign execution between internal departments, third-partyvendors, and media outlets• Conceptualize campaign strategy, determine program directives, clarify scopeof projects, and identify solutions• Develop content including media and promotional partner pitches, social mediaposts, service press releases, and complete audience surveys• Coordinate PA press tours, red carpet events, VIP parties, advancescreenings, and creative stunted events • Delegate responsibilities amongst support team, oversee timelines, and ensurecampaign objectives are meto Notable campaigns: ************* and ***** ********** *********, ******* ** **** and “****** ** ***** *********, *********** and ******** ********** ********** ******* ***** and **** ***** ***** ******* ****Publicity and Promotions****** ********** ********* March 2011 – August 2011 (6 months)AccountExecutive*** ************ ***** ***June 2010 – October 2010 (5 months)¦ Successfully sold print advertising space to properties andbusinesses throughout Massachusetts¦ Conducted market research, identifed emerging market trends, and introducedmarketing strategies¦ Developed new corporate and small business accounts through effectivemarketing, cold calling, and follow-up¦ Negotiated rates, deals, and contractsPublicity and Promotions Intern******** **********June 2007 – August 2009 (2 years 3 months)¦ Researched marketing information for U.S. theatre locations¦ Conducted competitive market analysis of promotional and sponsorship programs¦ Created Media Advisories and Press Releases to attract media partners ¦ Observed development of children’s programming and reported successfulfigures ¦ Strategized creative plans to promote theater openings and eventsMarketingand Promotions Representative******* ***** *****February 2009 – May 2009 (4 months)¦ Developed marketing strategies for weekly events, whichincreased overall attendance ¦ Managed advertising by means of various social networking methodsSkills·                                Advertising·                                SocialMedia·                                PressReleases·                                SocialNetworking·                                PublicRelations·                                Marketing·                                MarketResearch·                                SocialMedia Marketing·                                MarketingStrategy·                                CompetitiveAnalysis·                                ********·                                Publicity·                                MediaRelations 

9/22/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I called HO Electric to schedule an appointment for an estimate on an electrical problem, I was told there would be a $59 service call fee, which I agreed to. They told me that fee would be applied to the cost of repair, if I decided to proceed with repair at that time. They never disclosed that there would be a so-called "diagnostic fee" of $650 until the technician arrived, which he told me would probably and usually includes the cost of repair. He would not give me an estimate without pre-payment of this "diagnostic fee." I opted for the repair. He spent an hour there and not until after he made the repair did he tell me there was an additional $200 fee for the repair he'd already done. I consider this to be deceptive practice.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of half the expense; i.e., $400.

Business Response: *** called us because she had no power in her bathroom and hallway areas of her condominium. She
requested a same day appointment in ******, MA. ******, MA is approx. 1 hour away from our office in rush
hour traffic which is when she requested the appointment.
Our customer service representatives who record all of our calls as per *** rules stated our terms
and conditions. *** accepted our terms and conditions prior to scheduling.
When the service technician arrived on time, he could not find anything obviously wrong. As a
result, he offered *** a Level 2 diagnostic of $650.00 to thoroughly go through
out her condominium and find out what is wrong and why there is no power. ***
was told, if there is a connectivity issue, HO would cover that in its
diagnostic cost. If a repair is needed, we would come back to the table and represent
additional options. *** told him she needed this done and she could not get any
other electrician to do the work. She said her friend "The Electrician"
would not travel as far as ******. *** signed our Contract and requested us to
perform the work. The HO electrician spent many hours pulling everything apart
to find out where the power failed. The fault was finally discovered in other
room. A repair was made. *** seemed content that the job was done quickly as
she seemed annoyed with the whole process taking too long. She also stated that
she had to get back to ********** which was far away considering it was rush hour
traffic. Upon completion, *** signed our contract again stating she was completely
satisfied upon leaving and paid us by credit card which was swiped. As a
result, *** signed our contract 3 times and twice for credit card vouchers.
That's 5 signatures. She said she was happy with the work done! Now she's
unhappy???

BBB, this is obviously
a case of buyers remorse as she must have asked her friend "The Electrician",
who would not go as far as ****** how much he would have charged.

Consumer Response:



I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below. 

 

Regards,

*** *******

 

 

Business Response: ***, we don't want any customer to be unhappy. Please call us so that we may apply a credit on your account toward any future job. Thank you

Consumer Response:

 

I do not want a credit on a future job, since I will not use this company again.  I want a credit on this job.

Regards,

*** *******

 

 

5/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted HO Electric because it was determined that I needed an installation of a common wire for our Nest thermostat, which Nest determined via troubleshooting with myself and Nest. The sole reason I contacted HO rather than another provider is because HO was listed on the Nest website as a Certified Nest Technician that was close by. When I booked the appointment I made it clear I needed a "common wire installation" as this was already diagnosed. I was told there would be $59 service fee for the visit that would be waived if I service was performed, which seemed reasonable, I guess. When I looked outside before the appointment I noticed they were stopped in front of the house in a bus loading area, apparently waiting. I opened the door and they then asked if they could park in the driveway. Once inside I again explained that I needed a common wire installation for the Nest thermostat because it was diagnosed as not having enough power. Much to my surprise I was told that prior to any "diagnostic" that there was a "diagnostic fee" of $465. $465 just to look at the wiring. I thought this number seemed very high, but I assented since they were "Certified Technicians" from the Nest website, and I believed that part of that amount would go towards the installation of the wiring. I have worked with other electricians who have never charged me such a fee. Person A claimed this was a Level 2 Diagnostic and it should even be a Level 3 Diagnostic. I started to feel this was a bait and switch situation, but since they were certified and here, I felt pressure to give them a credit card and get the work done. Because they made it clear that they weren't going to even look at what needed to be done without upfront payment. A lot of time was spent by Person A explaining what needed to be looked at and done to Person B, who was clearly a trainee. When Person A was finished loo**** at the wiring, he said he was going to the truck to write up "my options." I thought this strange since there really were no options, just install the common wire. After a few minutes both A and B come back with a plain yellow lined sheet of paper with a written list of 4-5 "options." The first option was for over $2300, for services, contracts, warranties, yearly tune-ups, preferred hours of service, 24 hour service, for a package for heating, cooling and what else I'm not sure. This was clearly a bait and switch and a pressurized upsell (I simply wanted the wire installed, which was what I made the call for. I didn't call them and ask to be upsold.). There were a few other options all the way down to the last one, which I thought was listed as $375 to install the wire. He corrected that number to $575. So, in total, the charge to install the wire, on a thermostat that was already installed and wor**** fine throughout the winter, but needed the common wire for the cooling, was $1,045. Nest said they would reimburse me for the install of the common wire, and that amount should have been $200-400 roughly. When I got the total for $1045, I explained to Person A that I would need to contact Nest because this number was now 5 times what it should be. I contacted Nest and spoke with someone there who indicated they would not be able to pay for this amount. They said that in this case, they could reimburse me the "diagnostic fee", which I though was most considerate, though I would still not have a wor**** thermostat, and no common wire installation. The person at Nest even spoke with Person A who painsta****ly explained the obvious and there was no change in the numbers. It would still cost $1045, no change in any cost. I thought that was strange also, as Nest provides them a referral for work that HO might be more accommodating. I asked Person A and B to please put the wiring back on the thermostat and leave. The thermostat is not fixed. This company engages in unethical, pressured upselling and bait and switch when a simple job needs to be done, egregious pricing for a diagnostic that was already troubleshooted. Egregious pricing for work that wasn't done. And a pressured sell to pay for the "diagnostic fee" upfront before even loo**** at the problem. And this diagnosis? No surprises. I even told them there were other wires in the box that belonged to a no-longer-in-use thermostat in another area of the house. It wasn't diagnosed by them, I told them. To add insult to injury, I received an email from HO Electric, while Person A and B were still here, a newsletter about the benefits of fans (what a joke, we don't have any). So they also signed me up for their newsletter without my consent. And the yellow lined paper with the many "options"? It disappeared with them.

Desired Settlement: Refund of $465 for no installation rendered. This money will be put to an ethical electrician doing the install of the common wire. Apology. BBB and public awareness of HO's questionable business practices.

Business Response: -*** **** (the homeowner) was performing her own electrical work. She unsuccessfully tried to connect her Nest thermostat to 2 separate systems; heat and AC. As a result, she caused the AC to malfunction. -Her system is a complicated heat / ac system; a boiler in the basement with an AC air handler in the attic. This is some what uncommon in our area and more complicated than a simple consolidated system. -The Nest technician that the **** is referring to was not on the job site, but in California on the phone. As a result, Nest could not possibly diagnose the problem accurately with out being on the job site. This is not a "one size fits all" scenario. -Also, H.O. Electric does not rely on other peoples diagnostic whether they are in person or on the phone. As a result, options were offered to the homeowner. **** agreed to a $59 dispatch fee to come out to the home. Upon arrival, HO gave in writing an upfront price to diagnose her system. Homeowner agreed and the dispatch fee was waived. This is all explained on the phone prior to scheduling. It is also recorded per FCC rules and regulations for accuracy. -**** agreed in writing to a Level 2 diagnostic of $486. -The terms and conditions are clearly included in the Contract A 0833 (see attached). -She signed her name 4 times; Signing to authorize us to perform the diagnostic of $468, signing he credit card slip for payment, signing she was complete and satisfied upon completion. -Furthermore the technicians who were out on the job site were praised by the customer for being prompt and professional.  -How is this bait and switch if we gave you the exact price for 6 different options before going ahead with any work. We gave you the exact price of $59 to get the truck out the job site, we gave the exact price of $486 to diagnose what the issue at hand was, and we gave a exact prices for options to rectify the customers issue after tracing out their handy electrical work. Between each exact price for and exact task the customer was well aware that she could say "no" as we do not use pressure tactics when we present options.   -Please have *** call us direct to give her a credit toward any additional work as we were under the impression that she was completely satisfied from her signing in the contract and her positive attitude towards our staff.   

Consumer Response: Let me clarify what I mean by bait and switch. When I placed the call to schedule the appointment, the scheduler told me that, should I not accept service, I would be charged a service fee of $59. Understood. However, there was NO mention on this call that, once here inside my home, I would be asked to pay an upfront fee just to look at the job. Had that been mentioned, I would have asked how much and then politely declined. The bait is H.O. Electric will come out and do the job and if you don’t want them to, you’ll be charged $59. The switch is once inside my home there is an heretofore unmentioned upfront fee just to take a look at what needed to be done. This is a deceptive pricing practice.  Legitimate, honorable servicepersons usually show up, quickly examine the problem, provide a total of what the job will be and, if approved, get to work and complete the job. I have renovated homes and worked as a GC in this process, and never, I repeat, NEVER have I had a serviceperson demand a “diagnostic fee”, PAID UP FRONT, once inside my door just to tell me what needed to be done. Nest and myself already knew what needed to be done. This is a clear form of bait and switch and possible coercive extortion. It is an unfair and deceptive business practice at best. On what was being billed as “the hottest day of the year” (it was a high of 87 degrees), demanding upfront payment that, if not paid, work will not get done and the house will cook, this is a borderline shakedown. Further, legitimate companies do not leave the premises to write up “options” on a plain piece of yellow-lined paper with a pencil that start at over $2300. Now we are really in bait and switch territory. Of course the lowest cost was $375 to install the wire, in addition to the $465 they were already paid. Then Person A suddenly changed $375 to $575. Why? I remember saying to Person A when he said he was going to go and write up my “options” that there aren’t options, there is one option: install the common wire, the request of the service call. Period. No upsells, future services, just that job that they were asked here to my home to complete. More wasting of my time being sold something I did not ask for and the job is not getting done as the temperature rises. The bait is H.O. Electric will install the common wire for a reasonable, standard price. The switch is a surprise upfront diagnostic fee once inside my home to just look at the job without doing it, and unwelcome upsell options starting at over $2300. If you are so good about providing options and being so ethical, why did you not leave this paper with me? Some background: I had contacted Nest about our thermostat over the weekend and together we troubleshot that it wasn’t receiving enough power and that a common wire installation was needed. Nest kindly said they would take care of the cost of the common wire install. H.O. Electric was listed on Nest’s website as a Certified Nest Technician and was the closest to my home. That’s the only reason they were chosen. We have a house electrician in whose service we are most pleased. But since Nest was paying, I thought using one of their certified techs from their site would make it easier and the transaction more fluid.  So when I was then told that it would be $465, up front, just to look at the job, I was very skeptical. But since Nest said they would pay for the service, and this company was listed on their website as a Certified Nest Technician, I reluctantly went forward. I imagined that Nest had probably dealt with H.O. Electric before and I, as the temperature increased, was still trying to give the company the benefit of the doubt.   As Person A left to write up “options”, I started to become very worried about who I let into my home, but I tried not to show it. My plan was to see what the total would be when they returned with “options” to install the wire and if part of the diagnostic fee would cover that. As the diagnostic fee of $465 was even more than the approximate cost to install the wire, I felt it only right to contact Nest immediately with whatever the total was going to be, since it was clearly going to be much higher than assumed and make sure they would cover the cost as promised. Plus I also wanted Nest to know what kind of contractor we were dealing with, and at least have them on the phone while HO Electric was in my home. I wasn’t the only one getting the shakedown. As I told H.O. Electric that Nest was paying for the wire install, Nest was getting a shakedown, too. Of course, Nest wasn’t going to be extorted either and said they would not pay for the common wire installation. This was helpful to me, because I could tell Person A and B that since Nest would not pay this exorbitant amount, to please put everything back as it was, and that the job couldn’t go forward. If Person A and B believed I was fine and happy with their “service” (again, what service?), they were seeing me do everything I could to get them out of my house without incident. I spent many hours into the night trying to calm down after they left. The house was hot and I felt violated by their deceptive practices in my home.  Let me be clear: When the thermostat company, from whose website H.O. Electric was referred, declines paying their “certified technician” H.O. Electric because of egregious price gouging ($1,045 for a common wire installation), I am not alone in believing H.O. Electric is engaging in highly unscrupulous practices. Additionally, while the technicians were still here, not fixing my thermostat, I received an email from H.O. Electric about the benefits of fan placement and cooling. H.O. Electric, without my consent, put my name on their email list and started sending me their newsletter. This is a violation of the CAN-SPAM Act, as there was no affirmative consent (my email was harvested by the schedulers without my consent a few hours earlier) and there was no prior relation and no work was done or completed. And today, I received another email from them, as**** to rate their service. What service? The job wasn’t done. As I immediately unsubscribed through a link in the first email, this second email is problematic. Just further insult to injury. Finally, regarding the diagnostic. Our system works perfectly and was fine for many seasons with another thermostat. Our Nest thermostat was fine all through the colder months. It simply needed a common wire to provide adequate power to handle the cooling. The system is not complicated. A good electrician could look at the wiring at the boiler and the air intake and tell us in 10-15 minutes what was needed. Person A spent an inordinate amount of time, slowly tal**** to Person B about what to look for, what was needed. In short, Person A was training Person B, and I was paying for it. I refuse to accept H.O. Electric’s offer to contact them. H.O. Electric has proven itself to not be the caliber and quality of company I usually work with, and do not feel comfortable having them in my home ever again. I am see****: 1. The return of $468. This will go toward a legitimate electrician doing the job. 2. An apology, in writing. 3. The removal of all my information, including email and phone number, from any and all email lists, call lists, third party reseller lists, sales lists, customer lists immediately. 4. To list on Nest’s website referral page the $59 service fee and the upfront diagnostic fee, so other consumers will be aware of this most unusual practice and can make an informed decision before servicepersons are inside their dwelling. 5. H.O. Electric’s schedulers to tell consumers on the boo**** call that in addition to a $59 service fee if service is declined, there will also be a non-negotiable up-front “diagnostic fee” with stated low and high level dollar amounts based on H.O. Electric’s Level 1 through Level 3 (and possibly higher - I was asked to pay for a Level 2 Diagnostic Fee of $465) as this is a highly uncommon practice that most consumers, and their wallets, are not anticipating.  6. I am see**** $150 for my time and duress in having to speak with the thermostat company (one call alone was 43 minutes), to provide paperwork to them, to apprise them of this situation, and respond in detail to over eight emails and counting. All of this I wouldn’t have to do if H.O. Electric came out and quoted a fair rate for this installation and did the job ($1,045 is at least 3-5 times the going rate, and Nest was not going to pay that amount). Instead I am facing a week without cooling and it is requiring more of my time and money to schedule a conscientious professional to do the work.

Business Response: H.O. Electric has a consistent business policy; We do not perform free estimates or free diagnostic work. No services are free.   When a customer calls our call center at any time or date, our representatives who are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, indicate that we charge a $59 dispatch fee to drive a technician(s) out to a customers property at a scheduled time and date or same day service. This dispatch includes gasoline, trained technicians, and a truck stocked with parts to do almost any job without going to a supply warehouse. We also allow customers the ability to pay by credit card or financing. We inherit these fees as a company. We are up front about our policies in order to be transparent to our callers. We also record our calls per FCC rules for training purposes. As a result, our service is superior to our competition.   If a customer asks us to estimate a job like installing a light switch or a light, we give an up front price as we work by the job - not the hour. If a customer hires to install a switch or a light, we waive the dispatch fee. If a customer does not hire us to install a switch or a light, we charge the $59 dispatch fee and we are on our way to the next job. It is just that simple. All this is explained by our customer service representatives prior to scheduling. We do not schedule unless this is approved by the customer. It is also reiterated upon arrival to the customer's house if the customer schedules the appointment. Many of our competitive business associates run this way with the high cost of gas in our trucks and the expense of trained employees including 24 hour service.   ***, If a customer has a malfunction or a fault like in a heating or AC system like in your case, we offer the customer a diagnostic fee of different levels depending on how much diagnosis is needed. In the diagnosis, we take out tools in order to take your heating / AC system apart, diagnostic equipment like meters etc… and troubleshoot what is wrong in order to resolve a problem. This is unlike an estimate where tools or diagnostic equipment are not needed. If a problem can be repaired by connecting wiring or manipulating existing wiring, we include that service at no extra charge in order to rectify the situation. If faulty parts or additional wires are in need of replacement or installation, we come back to the table and present options to do that task. If a customer accepts a diagnosis fee as a task option, our dispatch fee is waived similar to any requested task. If a customer does not accept a diagnostic task fee, we charge the dispatch fee and we are once again on our way to the next job. Again, it is just that simple.   The Nest Company should not diagnose a heating / AC problem over the phone as in your case. They are in California and can only make assumptions what is happening in Massachusetts. They are clearly not diagnosing a situation. ***, when you go to the doctor, he or she always diagnoses for themselves before treating the patient. This is common place. Also, the doctor never takes another doctors assumptions with out diagnosing for themselves. They certainly never diagnose over the phone. If The Nest Co. mislead you, that is not OK. In regards to how long it took us to diagnose the issue at hand or how many technicians were dispatched out to your house, we find that irrelevant. If anything, us taking the time to meticulously go through your system to make sure that everything was functioning properly is to your benefit. You had already agreed to a Level 2 diagnoses, the beauty of this being the price never changes whether it takes us 1 hour or 4 hours to make sure we know what is making your system not functioning at an optimal level. Upon our diagnoses we not only discovered that the Nest was improperly wired but that your air handler need cleaning, and the boiler needed a cleaning and tune up as well. We wrote these options down because it is important for the home owner to know what needs to be done for safety purposes; whether that day or shortly in the future. We give the customer the choice of how much or little work they would like us to do that day and never pressure them into an option.    We do not always have internet service or computers at customers houses. As a result, our technicians write down options on paper in order to present them orally to a customer. We try to include at least 6 options in order to give a customer freedom of choice as to what they want us to do. As a result, we never force ourselves or our opinions on any customer. ***, In regards to any e-mails received by you, just unsubscribe on the e mail below. You won't get another one. Pretty simple. In regards to your bullet #6, you are seeking money for your time. Yet, you think H.O. Electric should donate our time for free. This is clearly unrealistic and hypocritical. ***, in short, we do not have deceptive business tactics and do not try to up sell as you insinuate.

Consumer Response: On the contrary, I have great respect for my time and yours. I had a most reasonable expectation that, upon scheduling service with you it would be completed when you were here. That was not the case. It is now requiring more of my time to get the work scheduled and complete and be on-site for this work. While you were here, with Nest on the phone, you could have made a price adjustment to complete the work, or used the diagnostic fee payment toward actually working and doing the job. You chose not to do that. Unfortunately it took a BBB complaint for you to even offer that. And that took time for me to do. So you have proven to have no respect for my time. When someone comes to my house to provide a service, there is no charge to simply look at the problem. If this is your modus, you should tell people this when they are booking the call. I wonder why you don't? I'm glad you record your appointment calls; listen to them and see what you choose to leave out. By not being forthright the consumer is stuck with paying an exorbitant fee to just look at the job, or $59 to get rid of you.  The job was completed by a reputable company. I was not charged a "diagnostic fee" before this work was done. It took 45 mins to an hour to complete. And the cost? It was $175.  Let me remind you you were charging me $575 for this job. That's four hundred dollars more! Eight hundred and seventy dollars more in total! After your "diagnostic", how could you be so incredibly off in pricing? You engage in deceptive business practices and price gouging. I am still seeking: 1. The return of $468. This will go toward paying the legitimate electrician who did the job. 2. An apology, in writing. 3. The removal of all my information, including email and phone number, from any and all email lists, call lists, third party reseller lists, sales lists, customer lists immediately. 4. To list on Nest’s website referral page the $59 service fee and the upfront diagnostic fee, so other consumers will be aware of this most unusual practice and can make an informed decision before servicepersons are inside their dwelling. 5. H.O. Electric’s schedulers to tell consumers on the booking call that in addition to a $59 service fee if service is declined, there will also be a non-negotiable up-front “diagnostic fee” with stated low and high level dollar amounts based on H.O. Electric’s Level 1 through Level 3 (and possibly higher - I was asked to pay for a Level 2 Diagnostic Fee of $465) as this is a highly uncommon practice that most consumers, and their wallets, are not anticipating.  6. I am seeking $150 for my time and duress in having to speak with the thermostat company (one call alone was 43 minutes), to provide paperwork to them, to apprise them of this situation, and respond in detail to over ten emails and counting. All of this I wouldn’t have to do if H.O. Electric came out and quoted a fair rate for this installation and did the job ($1,045 is SIX times the going rate, and Nest was not going to pay that amount). Instead I went a week without cooling and it required more of my time to schedule a conscientious professional to do the work, who completed this for a total of $175.

4/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted H.O. Electric to install a resistor I received from **** as resolution for the above referenced Case Number. The reason I contacted HO rather than some other service provider is because they were listed on the **** website as the closest certified technician. When I arranged the appointment, I made it very clear that I needed someone to install a resistor that **** sent me for my furnace. When HO's two technicians arrived at my house and met with my wife, they tried to upsell her on a $465 furnace tune-up. My wife explained that the heating system worked perfectly well, and the only reason we had contacted HO was to install the part sent by **** (this service call was pursuant to the instructions of the **** specialist who assisted me). My wife declined the tune-up and asked that the technicians simply perform the installation that had been requested and agreed to by HO when the service call was scheduled. The technicians refused to perform the installation and were rude to my wife (basically suggesting that, as woman, she had no idea what she was talking about and was not in a position to make decisions). The HO technicians’ lack of professionalism was sufficiently reprehensible, but to send me a bill for refusing to perform the simple service they were called for (installing the **** supplied part) because we declined to engage them to perform an unnecessary $465 tune-up is at best a an unethical and deceptive business practice. Now they have sent my "account" to collections for the $59 bill. This company is ridiculous.

Desired Settlement: Apology. Recession of $59 bill for no services rendered. Public awareness of HO's questionable business practices.

Business Response: Dear Attorney ******; You are correct in that you arranged an appointment with us. However, you failed to be there for your appointment. Instead, your wife sat in for you. She clearly did not want to be in the position you gave her. She indicated that she was not the decision maker for your house. In fact, she complained about all the other people that have worked on your property and acted annoyed with us as well. She also complained about the heating in your sun room which had nothing to do with your **** or us. Councilor *****, You have an unusual heating system; one that is not typically found in a normal house. From my perspective, you have a potentially illegal house located on the same property of your main house. The workmanship including the heating system appears to be shoddy at best. The furnace is stuffed into a small closet that does not have make up air per law. To inspect your system, tools are required as the heating system is stuffed into a closet and is not readily accessible. We cannot ethically charge you to install a resistor that **** sent to you for your furnace if we don't think it will fix your particular problem. Also, H.O. is required by law to file a permit for even the smallest job. H.O. Electric never tried to up sell a furnace "tune-up" either. First of all, we contacted you at work by phone upon arrival. We indicated that we would call you back once we had been situated with your system. You agreed to that. Then, your wife called you back approx. 15 times but you would not answer your phone despite the fact that you agreed to accept the calls for decision making purposes shortly before. We suggested to your wife a level 2 diagnosis to open up your furnace from the closet area and figure out why your having a **** thermostat compatibility issue. This price would have also included getting the system running with the **** even if we had to install additional relays and power supply. She said; "my husband wants it done and he won't answer, go ahead and do it". We said that we felt uncomfortable doing anything that someone did not want us to do and helped her to reason, maybe hold off on the work. She demanded us to just put in the resistor given by ****. She said: "If it doesn't work, my husband is a lawyer. He will sue ****". We said that we did not want to get involved with any potential law suit. She then got frustrated with the fact that she still could not reach her husband even though he told her to, that she became rude, kicked us out of her home and said she would not pay us the agreed dispatch fee. Councilor ******, H.O. Electric dispatched 2 technicians (next day service) to your house who gave premium service. They were at your house for over an hour, half of which was trying to call you on the phone. I don't think $59 is unreasonable for this level of service especially when you agreed to it prior to scheduling. Further, H.O. Electric does not "engage in unethical and deceptive business practice". We take your threats very seriously and ask you to reconsider now that you have all the facts. Sincerely, ****** **** H.O. Electric IN: 2014-01-23 08:54 am LIS Do you have an electrical, plumbing, heating, or cooling issue?: HEATING Calls re: **** THERMOSTATS should be scheduled with HVAC (NOT electrical). If scheduling MULTIPLE SERVICE TYPES, reference *** * for instruction! What kind of problem are you having or what type of service do you need?: HE NEEDS A RESISTOR INSTALLED FOR A **** THERMOSTAT. Are you a previous customer?: NO Are you a Value Plan Member?: How did you hear about H.O. Services: **** WEBSITE If Yellow Pages, What Page?: If Internet, which search engine did you use?: What is your Name: ***** ****** Address: ** ******** AVENUE City: ****** State: MA Zip Code: ***** In case something comes up, what is the best email address for you?: ******@GMAIL.COM Phone #: (***)******** Alternate #: (***)******** Caller ID: (***) ******** Thank you Mr/Mrs___. Let me share with you what to expect during your service visit. I'll be sending out a fully trained professional in a truck stocked with thousands of parts. We call it our Warehouse on Wheels, which means that most repairs can be done right then while we're there. When our technician arrives he'll do a thorough evaluation of the issue, as well as your system. He'll determine what caused the problem & what is needed to make a safe repair. Then he'll give you, in writing, a Straight Forward Price before the work is started, as we work by the job not by the hour. At that time, you can decide if you would like to proceed with the repair. In order to get our technician out to you we do have a dispatch fee of only $59 (M-F 8a-4p), but we will waive the fee if you agree to have the work done when we come out or if you are a Value Plan Member. (AFTER HOURS: M-F 4p-8p is $150; M-F 8p-8a, W/Ends, & Holidays is $300 - fee never waived for after-hour service). We schedule in 2 hour windows. What day would be best for you? Is caller questioning or not wanting to book due to the fee?: NO IF CALLER WANTS AFTER-HOUR ER SERVICE: I do need a credit card # to secure your ER service. You may pay by another method, but we will charge the dispatch fee to the card if you cancel the service after we have dispatched our technician. Card #: Exp date: 3 digit CSV (security code on back of card)?: ALT S to Open Schedule If caller requests a tech there at 730a, we can accommodate that. Just book the 8a appt & note in Comments that tech should be there at 730a. In Scheduler: use the appropriate Provider for the type of service requested (ELECTRICAL, SERVICE or PLUMBING/HVAC, SERVICE). Appt day?: THURSDAY Appt Date?: 1/23/2014 Appt Time?: 2PM-4PM I'll need to indicate to your service technician how you will be paying for the service call. How will you be paying?: VISA Thank you for calling H.O. Services. Your appt time is ___ (use callers name). Comments/Notes: DONE/GUY HIT RETURN TO GO BACK TO FORM >>>>>>>>>> END OF FORM <<<<<<<<<<

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

Since H.O.'s comments were directed primarily toward me, I will respond in place of my husband.   To start, it's unfair to make a judgment that I sat in for my husband and didn't want to be in the position he gave me.  We are partners and make decisions together.  I never said I wasn't a decision maker.  I needed input from my husband since the scope of what you were pressuring me to commit to was not in the scope of what my husband contacted you to preform. I take offense that you say I complained about all the other people that have worked at our property.  I indicated that my husband likes to do things himself and that some work done in the house by the prior owner wasn't the best.  As far as acting annoyed with you, that wasn't until you declared not once, but twice that "we're out of here". But I'll get to that later.   I mentioned our family room was not heating up sufficiently and while you were here maybe you could look and get back to me with a recommendation and quote to fix it. You didn't spend more than 5 minutes looking at our furnace.  Regarding our poolhouse, it isn't illegal. Per our assessment, we have a multi-house property. Not sure what your motives were for stating that. Regarding the poolhouse thermastat, your recommendation was to complete a full diagnostic on our furnace for $465.  We were told by **** that all we needed was to have a resistor installed on our furnace to make the **** thermastat function properly.  You gave me a song and dance about how we wouldn't be happy with your work if in the end it didn't solve our problem.  I indicated that **** said this was what we needed and that H.O. was at the top of their list of vendors to use.  Again, you talked about **** being a young company and the reps we talk to are young and don't fully understand how these heating systems work in this area.    So, yes I did try to contact my husband several times.  Why? because this recommendation was completely out of the scope of what was expected.  Ultimately, I did tell you to just install the part that **** sent and said we needed, as that was my husbands expectation of what service you would preform.  I never demanded you to do so.  You inquired what if it doesn't work. You didn't want us to be unhappy with your work.  I explained that if H.O. installs the part supplied by **** and it doesn't resolve the issue, we would deal directly with ****, since that's the part they said we needed to make the thermastat work. Not happy with that answer, you asked how we were going to do that. I said that my husband is an attorney and would deal directly with ****.   I didn't realize saying the word attorney would cause such a problem.  The older gentleman, I believe the owner of H.O., immediately said "We're out of here". I took offense saying because I said my husband is an attorney and would deal with **** (not H.O.) you want to leave and not preform the service you were called to preform. The younger gentelman tried to talk and work with me, however, the older man again said "We're out of here".  I said if you're out of here and refuse to install the part, don't charge me for a service visit and I told them to leave.  I was extremely offended and found their behavior to be unprofessional and simply unacceptable.   Lastly, you were never at my house for over an hour.  You arrived at approximatley 11:25 am and left at 11:57. That's 32 minutes. Not that it matters. Even if you were here for more than an hour your behavior would still be unacceptable.

Business Response: Please send us a copy of a paid Invoice on a proper letter head from another licensed electrical contractor company stating that by installing the "mere" resistor your heating system **** thermostat problem was rectified. Please also send a copy of the electrical permit filed by this contractor as mandated by the Comm. of Mass. for even the smallest amount of electrical work.  Upon receiving, we can fairly examine your situation further.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

When I arranged to have the resistor installed, we were not advised at that time or at the time you visited the site that an electrical permit would be required for any of the work.  It seems a bit disingenuous to start introducing new concepts/excuses at that this stage of the dispute.  Upon receipt of the following, we can hopefully resolve this matter: 1) Formal apology for the inconvenience and undue aggravation your business practices have caused my family; 2) Rescission of the unfounded $59 invoice that you have irrationally pursued and sent to a third-party collection agency in an effort to tarnish my credit; and 3) Restitution for all costs and out-of-pocket expenses incurred to resolve this matter including correcting any false information logged with the credit reporting agencies.  

2/5/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Saturday morning, Jan 4, 2014 my heating system was down. I called H.O. Services for emergency heating service call. Lady who picked up the phone did not have the schedule of emergency calls. She told me the emergency call will cost me $300 in addition to the cost of a repair. She told me that if I want to get on emergency service schedule, I have to give her my credit card number. My response was that I am not comfortable giving my credit card number before I know when service technician will come to my house. She said that an emergency plumber technician will call me to schedule my service call, as soon as she contacts him. I gave my credit card number with understanding that I will be charged an extra $300 once the service is rendered. Over one hour passed by and plumber did not call. Our house was cold (40-47 deg in most rooms) and we had a 93 year old woman and two children staying in our house. While waiting a call, I turned electric master switch on the furnace few times on and off to initiate control board power-on reset. That action started the furnace to operate. As soon as I was assured that my heating system was working again, I went upstairs to call the plumber to cancel emergency call. Before I was able to make a call plumber called me to schedule his visit. I told him that I am cancelling the service. His response was that, my credit card will be charged regardless. I tried to refer to my earlier conversation with the lady who answered my call, the emergency technician said that he will have the H.O. Services’ owner call me. A few minutes later, H.O. Services’ owner called. I tried to resolve the issue with him. In his angry voice he offered me only one out of two choices: to cancel the call and pay $300 or proceed with emergency call. When I questioned his cancellation policy, he yelled at me and become rude. I canceled my credit card to prevent the unjustified charge. Angry owner called me again and threatened me with a court process and told me that he will put a lien on my house. He insisted that their policy was communicated to me over the phone and that he has a recording of my conversations, even though I was never informed that my conversation was being recorded. I received invoice from H.O. Electric on $300 with “10% will be assessed on all unpaid balances after 90 days”.

Desired Settlement: I would like H.O. Electric to cancel their invoice ****** from 1/4/2014 on $300

Business Response: Emergency Dispatch Fee No Heat (Customer Cancelled
Appointment After Dispatch)

Blizzard conditions. Public asked to stay indoors (see attached). *****************************************************************************

Customer informed of cancellation policy upon scheduling.

 

Customer was notified of our policy; see below: "IF
CALLER WANTS AFTER-HOUR ER SERVICE: I do need a credit card # to secure your

ER service. You may pay by another method, but we will charge the dispatch fee

to the card if you cancel the service after we have dispatched our technician.









IN:  ********** ***** ** ***

Do you have an electrical, plumbing, heating, or cooling issue?: HEATING

  If scheduling MULTIPLE SERVICE TYPES, reference M/C 7 for instruction!

What kind of problem are you having or what type of service do you need?:

HE DOES NOT HAVE HEAT. IT STARTS RUNNING AND
THEN SHUTS OFF AGAIN.





                  
Are you a previous customer?: NO

                  
Are you a Value Plan Member?:

           How did you hear
about H.O. Services: INTERNET SEARCH

                   
If Yellow Pages, What Page?: N/A

  If Internet, which search engine did you use?: UNKNOWN



 What is your Name: ***** *******

           Address: *** ************* ***               ***** *********                      ****** ** *** ***** *****

 In case something comes up, what is the best email address for you?:

 ***************

 Phone #: (************   ********* ** ****           ****** *** ***** ********

Thank you Mr/Mrs___. Let me share with you what to expect during your service

visit. I'll be sending out a fully trained professional in a truck stocked

with thousands of parts. We call it our Warehouse on Wheels, which means that

most repairs can be done right then while we're there.

When our technician arrives he'll do a thorough evaluation of the issue, as

well as your system. He'll determine what caused the problem & what is
needed

to make a safe repair. Then he'll give you, in writing, a Straight Forward

Price before the work is started, as we work by the job not by the hour. At

that time, you can decide if you would like to proceed with the repair.

In order to get our technician out to you we do have a dispatch fee of only $59

(M-F 8a-4p), but we will waive the fee if you agree to have the work done when

we come out or if you are a Value Plan Member. (AFTER HOURS: M-F 4p-8p is $150;

M-F 8p-8a, W/Ends, & Holidays is $300 - fee never waived for after-hour

service). We schedule in 2 hour windows. What day would be best for you?



Is caller questioning or not wanting to book due to the fee?: NO



IF CALLER WANTS AFTER-HOUR ER SERVICE: I do need a credit card # to secure your

ER service. You may pay by another method, but we will charge the dispatch fee

to the card if you cancel the service after we have dispatched our technician.

    Card #:
***************                *** ***** *******

       * ***** *** ********* **** ** **** ** ******* ***



                            
ALT S to Open Schedule

If caller requests a tech there at 730a, we can accommodate that. Just book the

         8a appt & note in Comments
that tech should be there at 730a.



  In Scheduler: use the appropriate Provider for the type of service
requested

               
(ELECTRICAL, SERVICE or PLUMBING/HVAC, SERVICE).

  Appt day?: SATURDAY       Appt Date?: 1/04/2013     Appt
Time?: SEE COMMENTS



I'll need to indicate to your service technician how you will

be paying for the service call. How will you be
paying?:      CHECK



Thank you for calling H.O. Services. Your appt time is ___ (use callers name).

Comments/Notes:

LCM/GUY CELL



                   
HIT RETURN TO GO BACK TO FORM

Consumer Response:

 

I was never told for dispatch fee. Lady told me for additional $300 charge for emergency call - it was Saturday.

Emergency call was cancelled before it was scheduled. Any dispatch did not happened. Service was cancelled at the time when technician called to schedule his coming. Nobody from H.O. Services showed up at my house, simply because service was never scheduled.

 

 

 

Business Response: H.O. Electric calls are handled by an unbiased third party. They are recorded per FCC rules. Previously attached is the actual phone call. Saturday calls are considered emergency calls for us. Our technician was dispatched that day from his house before the cancellation took place. As a result, the fee applies as agreed to prior to submitting credit card info.

Consumer Response:

A service was cancelled before it was scheduled. I did agree to pay an emergency fee, not a "dispatch" fee. I could not accept the charge for a “dispatch" to not scheduled job.

 

 

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

8 Customer Reviews on H.O. Electric
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart