9/16/2014 Do not take your clothes to this cleaners. Two expensive blouses ruined after giving explicit instructions about the care. When I got the blouses back and complained, the owner blamed me for the damage and said I dropped them off like that and I must not have noticed it. They have numerous locations. I wouldn't take my clothes to any of them due to their lack of taking responsibility for ruining my clothes.
This customer had a NEGATIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by Catherine L. on 9/16/2014 | Submit a Customer Review
X

Comments

Comment from the Business This customer’s sister brought in two blouses admittedly damaged by her with her home iron. She pointed out the burn hole at the bottom of the black & white polyester blend blouse to our Customer Service Representative. She asked that our seamstress repair the burn hole at the bottom and then send it to be cleaned. That was done and the customer paid $15.00 for the repair plus the cleaning charge. There was nothing that could be done to repair the melted fabric in the center of the blouse. As for her pink lined blouse, the sister had again admitted a home iron was used on the front side seam. She pointed out where the fabric had melted and specifically asked that “no hot iron” be used on the blouse to further the damage. The pink blouse went through the usual cleaning process and mechanical action that all garments do. During that process the side seam damage became more noticeable, specifically the weakened melted fabric broke down further due to her initial damage. This lined blouse was blown out with steam and no iron was used on it. However, if an iron were to be used on it, it would have been our industry standard, smooth surface, Teflon iron shoe specially designed to NOT melt or burn ANY kind of fabric. Our process to either blouse caused no additional damage. All of this was explained to her in a professional and courteous manner. We think it unconscionable for this customer to expect compensation for a problem she admitted to causing. We have been in business for 26 years and have always honored the BBB’s practices and policies. This situation was no exception. We’re sorry her blouses are unwearable, but it was through no fault of ours. by on 9/23/2014

Report Abuse Why as a customer if I was trying to swindle the dry cleaner would I admittedly tell them I burned them myself. The mark in the center of the black and white blouse was not there when the blouse was dropped off otherwise why would I waste $15 to get it fixed. The owner says he has been in business for 26 years. It doesn't matter how long.he has been in business. The pink blouse he speaks of was when i dropped iit off was only damaged at the bottom in the corner. When I got it back it was damaged all the way up the side and right in the center of the pink blouse threads from an embroided flower were pulled and hanging. He says a steam iron was used well I don't think a steam iron would pull a thread. The blouse was not like that when I dropped it off. Again why would I spend the money to have them cleaned if they were unwearable. It is un conscionable to me for this owner to claim that I brought them in like that. He is not telling the truth because both of those blouses were not brought in like that!!!! I would absolutely say it you have nice clothes do not bring them there!!! I don't care about the money at all it is the principle and the fact that these blouses were unique and I will not be able to dinar others like them!!! That is what angers me the most!! It is the principle of it all!! by Catherine L. on 9/27/2014

Comment from the Business Being in business 26 years and a BBB Accredited Business since joining in 1990 means quite a bit to us as business owners. Continuously investing in state of the art equipment, allowing us to take great care of each and every garment that passes through our production facility is essential to operating a reputable business. We are not in the business of damaging clothing; if that were the case we would have been out of business a long time ago. Again, let us assure you nothing was burned or melted with our equipment and dry cleaning cannot rectify home iron burns. All your sister’s special instructions and notation of iron burns are documented on flag tags and typed messages that are date and time stamped in our system. Your embroidered pink blouse was cleaned exactly as the manufacturers care label indicated. If there was any damage to the embroidery then we suggest you take this garment back to the place of purchase. An excerpt taken from the “Fair Claims Guide For Consumer Textile Products” published in accordance with the American National Standards Institute, Inc. states the following about trims and buttons and textile performance: “The Federal Trade Commission has ruled that items attached to or made an integral part of a textile product, such as beads, sewn-on belts, linings, collars, ribbons, shoulder pads, and fasteners are expected to have the same qualities of colorfastness, dimensional stability, and appearance retention as the major component materials. Any failure of these parts in prescribed cleaning and finishing is considered a failure of the whole product and is the responsibility of the manufacturer. A textile article that is cleaned by the method prescribed on the care label is expected to undergo the process with no problems. It is specifically expected NOT to: (1) shrink or stretch out of size or shape, (2) lose color, change color, or stain other garments, (3) become yellow, gray, or otherwise discolored, and (4) become stiff or limp, matted, fused, or otherwise changed in texture.” Perhaps the retailer will overlook the home iron burn damage and consider doing something for you regarding the loose threads. In closing, again we are sorry your blouses are unwearable, but it was through no fault of our processing methods. We stand by our work and our record of facts. by on 10/1/2014

Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
3 people found this review helpful .
4/17/2014 Placed three pairs of drapes/curtains in for cleaning. Took my slip that showed I owed $28.50 for the cleaning. Went to pick them up today only to find that the bill has more then double. Woman at counter was quite rude in discussing the problem and I have demanded a call from the manager about this issue. So far no call. This is unethical and I would never recommend this business to anyone. Sandwich store at ** ****** *** *** ***
This customer had a NEGATIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by Jim F. on 4/17/2014 | Submit a Customer Review
X

Comments

Comment from the Business I’m surprised to see this negative review considering the issue was satisfactorily resolved within hours of his complaint. The customer received a call from me, the owner within hours of his interaction with our store manager. I agreed with the customer that there was definitely a mix up on our part with invoicing. I told him we would honor the original pricing on his invoice. I apologized for his inconvenience and assured him I would address the issue with my store manager. I personally went into his account and made the necessary adjustments as soon as I hung up the phone so the customer would not be inconvenienced a 2nd time when picking up his order. The customer received a response and a resolution before close of business that day. It is our practice to resolve issues in an expedient and fair manner. I hope this customer agrees and remains a valued customer of Capeway Cleaners. by on 4/22/2014

Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
8 people found this review helpful .