BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Eastern Massachusetts, Maine, Rhode Island and Vermont
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of New England Dental Associates, LLC?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

New England Dental Associates, LLC

Phone: (508) 541-6886 Fax: (508) 541-6886 View Additional Phone Numbers 233 West Central Street, Franklin, MA 02038 http://www.nedasmile.net

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Dr. Jamila Khalil is a full service dental center with specialties in General Practice, Family Dentistry, Pediatric Dentistry, Implantology, Endodontics, Crowns & Bridges, Orthodontics- Invisaline, Restorative & Preventative Care.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that New England Dental Associates, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for New England Dental Associates, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on New England Dental Associates, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 19, 2004 Business started: 01/01/1994 in MA Business incorporated: 01/18/2000 in MA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Massachusetts Executive Office of Health & Human Services
One Ashburton Place, Boston MA 02108
http://www.mass.gov/eohhs/
Phone Number: 617-573-1600
Fax Number: 617-727-5134
The license number is DN17797.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Dr. Jamila Khalil, DMD, Owner Mrs. Theresa Long, Patient Coordinator Ms. Kristina Murphy, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Dr. Jamila Khalil, DMD, Owner
Customer Contact: Mrs. Theresa Long, Patient Coordinator
Number of Employees

3

Business Category

DENTISTS DENTISTRY - COSMETIC DENTIST - DENTAL IMPLANTS Offices of Dentists (NAICS: 621210)

Products & Services

New England Dental Associates, LLC offers the following product(s): Teeth Whitening

Hours of Operation
M: 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
T: 9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
W: 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Th: 9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
F: Closed
S: 8:00 AM - 1:00 PM
Su: Closed
H: Closed
Method(s) of Payment
Cash
Check
Visa
MasterCard
Discover
Industry Tips
Before Visiting a Dentist Finding a Reliable Dentist Finding a Reliable Dentist - 5 Tips - Video

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (508) 541-8274 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

4/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On May 31, 2012 I purchased 2 front teeth veneers;considered a cosmetic surgery so at the time I paid using me carecredit. However, on January 27, 2014 1 of my front tooth veneers broke/cracked; this brought me back into the dental office. The broken veneer was replaced with a temporary while New England Dental Assoc. sent out for my new one to the lab;2 weeks. At this time of service I paid in full for new veneer again using my carecredit. I did question warranty due to I haven't had them for too long, and they are very expensive procedure; which at the time I was told they weren't covered. On February 10 my new veneer was back in; the shade of the tooth didn't match my other teeth so it was sent back out. On February 24 my 2nd veneer was back from the lab; it was put in with consent from myself & opinion of dental staff if it matched. As soon as I step outside to my car the tooth didn't match in the natural light, and was longer than my other tooth. Dissatisfied with this product and the amount of money I paid I wanted it fixed. I was very aggravated with this process. The dentist gave me a number to contact the lab in order for me to meet myself so we could match my tooth; come to find out the lab was out of a house. I was upset so I took matters into my own hands and called the lab where my first veneers purchased in 2012, and one of the first things said was that if broken they have a 10 year warranty on their products. At the time of my first purchase there was no information on warranty included from the dentist and was denied when I asked. I demanded an explanation saying "she didn't do business with that lab anymore". I demanded they use the first lab. My third veneer returned March 17 and was perfect. I asked for a refund due to the fact I purchased a new veneer when it was covered under warranty; I was reimbursed $150 by check. I then requested an explanation of my bill seeing it was still costly; and mistakes that could have been avoided on the dentist side. She voided a warranty.

Desired Settlement: I tried calling; specifically April 10th and my call has not been returned. Seeing that I used my carecredit she already received the money for the procedure so she seems not too worried about this situation. She voided a warranty due to the fact "she doesn't use that lab anymore". I should not have to pay for her mistakes. When I called April 10 all that was noted on my account was that I purchased a veneer for $921, no note of $150 check sent to me by mail. A new charge should have been opened

Business Response: ******, I am sorry you were displeased with our services to you. However, we had explained to you prior to starting the work to fix your broken veneer on 1/28/14 that the work done only had a warranty for 1 year. We had reviewed this before we started to avoid confusion with you. We had also gone over that the shade match itself would be difficult considering we were trying to match the shade of another veneer. We had sent the pieces of the broken veneer to a new lab to best match the shade, and did not charge you for cost of material considering if we had sent it to the original lab, that we no longer worked with, they would not have charged you either. When the veneer came back on 2/10/14 we had decided, with your input as well, that the shade was incorrect. We sent it back with a new shade, and even sent the shade guide insert we had chosen just to insure a good match. When this veneer was inserted on 2/26/14 Dr. ******, her assistant, as well as yourself looked under the light in our operatory as well as the natural light near the window of our operatory and you were satisfied with shade and shape of the veneer. Upon further inspection of the veneer in natural light you had called saying you were displeased with the size and shade. We got you back in our schedule to as soon as possible understanding that this can happen. On 2/27/14 you brought your mother in with you to discuss the fees you were being charged, and you had then informed us you had called that lab to inquire about the fees we had charged you. From our understanding, after also speaking with the lab, they had told you there was no charge to the material. We explained to both of you what we had explained before; we were charging you our service fees, some of which were not covered by your insurance. You both said you understood we removed the veneer and took a new impression which you took with you to the lab to get a custom shade match. This lab still charged for the fees for remaking the veneer. We had sent the entire case to them, with the original pieces of your veneer, as well as the veneer made at the other lab that was not the right size and shade. On 3/19/14 we inserted the final veneer from the lab you requested, and you approved of the shade and shape and did not mention anything about the fees. We did recommend you get a night guard to avoid the veneers fracturing in the future. During this process you had also chipped the filling that was on your natural tooth structure. Dr. ****** had fixed that with no cost to you as a courtesy for the confusion with the veneer and the lengthy amount of time it had taken to get the right shade. We had then received a call from your aunt asking about the fees you were charged, and we explained to her exactly as we had explained to you the process we had gone through with your case. Also, on your original veneers, we had given you a discounted price of $392 on each veneer we had made for you. For your replacement veneer we gave you a discounted price of $149, along with a $150 refund. Dr. ****** had decided to refund you $150 via check that we mailed out to you, because we are very sorry you had been displeased. The $150 dollar refund however could not be put into your ledger because you have a zero balance with us, if we had put in a $150 credit to you, then your account with us would have a positive balance, meaning we would have refunded you $300. We apologize for any part of this procedure explanation that you found confusing, we tried to explain the process and fees to you on multiple occasions, and you left each time saying you had understood.First of all I Natalie (office manager) was out of the office due to a death in my family. You spoke to our office on Thursday April 10th, our office was then closed Fri-Sun there fore explaining why your call was not immediately returned.  As I returned to the office on Monday 4/15/14 I received a message to call you back, I did, no answer. I have called you twice since Monday April 14th.  When you came in back on 1/27/2014 you did NOT pay full price for the veneer. You paid $921, full price no discount is $1070. When you originally had these veneers done you again did NOT pay full price. You paid $678 for each veneer, meaning you received a $784 discount.We refunded your account $150 on 3/24/2014. Taking the refund into account you were charged a total of $771 which is our cost for the lab fees and the work that went into remaking your temporary and your veneer, the exam that the doctor did to evaluate everything , xrays to determine the status of your tooth, and the build up she did due to your natural tooth underneath being cracked. 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

I did not receive any missed calls or voicemails until Tuesday April 15 at 6:21PM. If you did call before there should have been a message left just like all prior times I was contacted. I don’t see why the veneers I have purchased in 2012 are involved with this, if they were or weren’t billed right that is not my fault. When I referred to “paid in full” is to the fact that I didn’t have any outstanding balances on my account and put the $921 on my carecredit. I requested an itemized bill, in order to see my charges billed because $771 is still a lot of money not to have some explanation of charges. I do have dental insurance that covers xrays, and fillings etc; seeing my filling cracked with one of the temporary tooth probably due to the extensive process of the correction of the 2nd veneer. So a claim should be put to my dental insurance instead of billing me out of pocket. The lab fees shouldn’t be my responsibility due to the mistake of your office not using the first lab where I had a 10 year warranty on my veneers, sending my original to all the other labs you decided to use. My original veneer was not sent to this lab because I had to drive my own molds to the lab in ******** and drop them off and they asked me where the original was, taking my own time. I don’t understand why the deductions are being made from the $921 when it should have been refunded (in some form), due to the warranty. Then a NEW charge/claim should then been opened for Dr. ******’s services. It should not be a continuous deductions of original payment billed because I should have not been billed for a new veneer. This case had a lot of complications that could have been avoided if policy of the warranty was followed. This is a poor way to conduct business.

Business Response: ******, As we previously stated, we are very sorry for the confusion over fees for this procedure. We would love to resolve this issue with you, and you are welcome to call our office if need be. We can not send you an itemized list for this procedure simply because we do not have one. All dental procedures have a flat fee. This fee includes all materials used during the procedure and we can not break it down any further for you. That is just the way dental fees are set. We did refund you money as a courtesy to try and give you the best experience at our office, as we do not want any patient to be dissatisfied with us. Unfortunately, we do not see any other way to explain this situation to you other than how it has already been explained.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

I want to get this resolved also, can you please tell me if you charged my insurance company for the x-rays, and filling seeing earlier you stated those were some of the make-up of the charges that were billed to me.    

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

1