Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Family Dental Associates

Additional Locations

Phone: (781) 944-0072 Fax: (781) 944-0454 636 Main St, Reading, MA 01867 View Additional Email Addresses http://Familydentalsite.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Family Dental Associates also known as Family Dental at Reading, is a group dental practice providing general and specialty dental care.   Including,  braces, root canals, extractions, periodontic services as well as traditional dental care. Dental services are provided for children and adults.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Family Dental Associates meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Family Dental Associates include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Family Dental Associates
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 04, 1993 Business started: 01/01/1982 in MA Business incorporated 06/25/2003 in MA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Massachusetts Board of Registration in Dentistry
239 Causeway Street, Boston MA 02114
http://www.mass.gov/eohhs/gov/departments/dph/programs/hcq/dhpl/dentist/
Phone Number: 1-800-414-0168 or 617-973-0971
Fax Number: 617-973-0980
dentistry.admin@state.ma.us
The number is DN14926.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Dr. May Mu, D.M.D. Ms. Denyse Johnson, Marketing
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Denyse Johnson, Marketing
Principal: Dr. May Mu, D.M.D.
Number of Employees

10

Business Category

DENTISTS DENTISTS - ORAL SURGEONS DENTISTRY - COSMETIC DENTISTRY - CHILDREN DENTIST - PROSTHODONTIST DENTIST - PERIODONTIST DENTIST - DENTAL IMPLANTS DENTISTS - ORTHODONTISTS Offices of Dentists (NAICS: 621210)

Hours of Operation
Saturday and evening hours available
Method(s) of Payment
Visa
American Express
Discover
MasterCard
Cash
Most Insurances Accepted
Care Credit
Alternate Business Names
Family Dental at Reading
Industry Tips
Before Visiting a Dentist Finding a Reliable Dentist Finding a Reliable Dentist - 5 Tips - Video

Additional Locations

  • 108 Merrimack St

    Haverhill, MA 01830 (978) 521-3322

  • 160 Winthrop Ave

    Lawrence, MA 01843 (978) 725-0072

  • 636 Main St

    Reading, MA 01867

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/11/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In June, 2013, I had a cleaning and mentioned that my gum was swollen. A dentist, Dr. *******, looked at the tooth and recommended a root canal. I was quoted $1,375.00. I was not told that this process would have additional costs such as a crown or filling the tooth after it was drilled for the root canal. They had adequate time and XRays to show that a crown was not going to be necessary. I had two visits with the specialist and was scheduled for a third in July to complete the root canal work. The specialist got sick and I expected that the office would find a replacement to complete the work. It was only after I received two bills for the balance and told the office I would not pay until completed, that they set up an appointment with a Dr **** from *******. He indicated that it was okay to fill the tooth holes drilled to do the root canal. The office set the appointment with Dr ******* to fill the holes with a permanent filling. The specialist doesn't do the filling. I had the bill in my hand on that day for the balance due of $342.00 and I asked if that was the balance, they said yes and I paid it. I received notification from the insurance company that they were billed an additional $150 for the filling. When I called the office, the girl said that any filling or crown would be extra. Does it make sense that they would leave the holes open after the root canal and that it would be extra to complete the work? Or does it make sense to quote me all the possible charges to begin with so I understood the amount? With four visits, they had ample opportunity to explain any additional charges. I have had trouble with their billing in the past. There is going to be a difference in what the insurance company pays and the $150.00 of $90.55. I don't think that I should have to pay the balance due when I wasn't quoted the amount and it should have been included in the original estimate.

Desired Settlement: I would like a detailed bill sent to me that states waiver of the balance due and paid in full.

Business Response: Family Dental Lawrence patient balance

Dear *****,    I was surprised to see this issue come up,  I assured you during our telephone conversation  on 10-7 that I would write off the balance due from the filling on the root canaled tooth.   You never gave me the chance to follow thru with that.I have attached a statement  with account paid in full.Just to clarify a point,  the endodontist did fill the tooth with a temporary filling, this is normal procedure.   Usually within a week to ten days you see your general doctor for a permanent restoration either crown ar composite.   The front desk and doctor usually review the procedure with the patients this is standard policy.   I apoligize if you feel they did not advise you that there is an additional cost for the permanent restoration.I hope this settles the issue and we can close it I have mailed the statement you requested today.

****** *******
Family Dental Lawrence

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.  I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved.

3/25/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This dental office has been harrassing me about a balance resulted from the negligence of their billing group for almost a year. I tried numerous times to clarify that it was NOT my responsibility for this balance. I visited the office, tried to make appointments to meet their office manager, but never successfully met this person. Instead I kept receiving bill statements for almost a year. Eventually I sent in my statement in December 2012 asking them to stop harassing me and that they should be responsible for their negligence. They never acknowledged the receipt of my statement even though I asked for it. Instead another bill statement came in with handwritten "Last Notice" without any signature. Recap of the events: - In early November 2010, I had a dental procedure performed at Family Dental Reading Office. - In early March 2012, I received an email from Family Dental. That was the first email that I received from Family Dental in regards to this matter. Even at that time, I was NOT asked to pay the balance. I was simply asked to send in my insurance card. Below are the email communications. The office staff didn’t even know the exact claim time limit at that time, which I found out later by calling my insurance company to be one-year. The timing (16 months after the procedure) that the office staff finally reached out to me was well beyond this one-year time limit. From: familydental_reading@verizon.net To: ************@hotmail.com Subject: ** Date: Thu, 8 Mar 2012 11:56:13 -0500 Hello, We have gone through old claims and see that ins still hasn't paid on an old appointment of yours. They are requesting a copy of your medical card front and back for an ext you had done in 2010 Could you please emial us a copy of your card ? Thank you, ***** From: *** ***** To: familydental_reading@verizon.net Sent: Saturday, March 17, 2012 2:01 PM Subject: RE: ** That's strange. Actually I need to make an appointment for teeth cleaning and can bring in the card meanwhile. For the appointment, I prefer an appointment later of any working days, the later the better. Emails will be the best way to reach me. Thanks, ** 3/21/2012 Reply ? Family Dental Reading To red ***** I can make an appointment for you, no problem you can call the office at any time. can you email the card to us so we can get that sent to the insurance? they have a time limit on their claims Thank you - I contacted my insurance companies right after I received the email from the office stating that there was a time limit on the claims. The insurance companies confirmed that the time limit on the claims to be one-year, which meant by the time that I was contacted by Family Dental via email dated March 8, 2011 (16 months after my procedure), the claim had already fallen out the time limit window. - I immediately contacted Family Dental about this finding and inquired what had caused this delay in getting the claim to go through. The office staff at the time explained that it was because they could not reach me. I told her that could not be true. Had they ever tried to reach me like they finally did in March 2012, they would have reached me anytime they had tried. My mailing address did NOT change. I did NOT receive any mails in regards to this matter. My email account did NOT change. I checked it regularly and did NOT receive any emails either until recently and as soon as I found out the email, I responded right away. My phone number did NOT change. I did NOT receive any voicemails. There was never any delay or negligence or no action from my end. The only explanation is that they did NOT reach out to me before March 2011 due to their negligence. - Only after the office realized that the claim fell out of the insurance allowed one-year window, they started to chase after me and asked me to pay for the balance, which is ridiculous since it is NOT my fault that the office staff was not competent enough to understand there was one-year claim time limit, and it is NOT my fault that the office staff neglected to contact me to facilitate the claim process. I have been nothing but responsive and cooperative during the whole process as soon as the office staff reached out to me. - In summer 2012, I tried to set up an appointment to see the office manager to settle this matter, but never succeeded. Instead, I have been bombarded by the mails and phone calls asking me to pay the balance, which is ridiculous. They never tried to reach me as hard when the procedure was first performed, only after they found out their negligence had caused the insurance not to pay the balance, had they started to mail me, call me, email me. -In December 2012, after being bombarded with bill statements, I sent in my statement on this matter, including copies of my paystubs of the time when the procedures were performed showing my medical and dental insurance coverage at that time. I received no respone, no acknowledgement of receipt of my statement. I called the office to make sure that the statement was received in January 2013. Then came another bill statement with handwritten "Last Notice". -- The office should NOT impose the consequence of their negligence/no action to me, who has been responsive and responsible in every communication.

Desired Settlement: Stop asking me to pay the balance, which is NOT my responsibility at the first place. Had their billing staff been more competent, the claim would have NOT fallen out of insurance company's allowed one-year window. I paid my medical and dental insurance premium each month already, therefore, it is NOT my responsibility for paying their negligence.

Business Response: Family Dental Associates
160 Winthrop Avenue
South Lawrence, MA  01843
TELEPHONE (978) 725-0770

Complaint *******

March 14, 2013

Dear BBB and **,
I am responding to the above mentioned complaint. This is a simple Issue of us never receiving the medical insurance information for ** and perhaps better communication needed from both parties.

**, you are correct the insurance company does have time limits. However as long as we establish an initial claim within the 12 month period they work to resolve issues that may take longer. We submitted the claim in a timely fashion to your dental insurance. They rejected this claim with the explanation it should be submitted to your medical insurance first. We did make several-attempts to contact you asking to provide medical insurance information.  On 5-12-12 our notes say "patient got messages about needing medical but wasn't sure what her medical was. It also states that patient was going to call delta of MA and see if she can get them to cover the 11/10 extraction. As we know, Delta at this time said no due to time limitatìons.

**, we still do not have your medical information, what did receive an ernaîl 12/12 with a copy of your paystubs proving you pay your medical and dental insurance but not what it is.

I apologize if you feel this was harassment of any kind that is not our intention. However, we send out bills every month with request for payment. Unfortunately, many people wait until a delinquency notice is sent before addressing the issue. **, l also, did leave at least 2 messages on your voicemail regarding the balance that yes it was your responsibility due to never receiving medical insurance information. I was never aware that you wanted to setup a meeting with me only to call you. I will make sure my staff gives me that information, perhaps the issue would have been resolved sooner.

As I stated earlier, better ànd more timely communication would have benefitted both of us. We are 3 years into this issue I think both of us should let this go and consider it resolved.

Please advise.
****** *******

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

I am not sure if I understand the last sentence of the response quote "I think both of us should let this go and consider it resolved". Does this mean the office will stop harassing me by sending any more bills? If yes, I will consider the issue resovled. No need to read the below. If I get any more bills, then the issue is not resolved. I will pursue the issue until the office takes the responsibility of their negligence. And below is my response to the Response made by Family Dental. 1. Quote the Response "This is a simple Issue of us never receiving the medical insurance information for ** and perhaps better communication needed from both parties". The statement is not true at all.

I faxed over my medical information in March 2012 after I received the emails from Family Dental and talked with the office on the phone. When I physically visited the office, the front desk person also made a copy of my medical information. I visited the office at least twice to meet the office manager for this issue although never got the chance to meet her at all. By making such a statement, either the responder admits the incompetency of their office staff to colloect this important information from me while I was physically at the office; or the responder lies about not having my medical information on file. 2. Quote the Response "We did make several-attempts to contact you asking to provide medical insurance information" These attempts only took place after March 8, 2012, 16 months after the procedure was performed, which already fell out of the insurance allowed 12 month claim window. 3. Quote the Response "On 5-12-12 our notes say "patient got messages about needing medical but wasn't sure what her medical was. It also states that patient was going to call delta of MA and see if she can get them to cover the 11/10 extraction". The statement conflicts with itself. I am a very well-organized person. I of course know what my insurances are (both Dental and Medical).

As shown in my original complaint, I even attached my pay stubs (26 months after the procedure was performed) to show that I paid my medical and dental insurance premiums at the time of the procedure. It is the office staff who was not competent enough to follow up with the rejected claim from my dental insurance. They only discovered the outstanding balance many months later as quote their first email to me "We have gone through old claims and see that ins still hasn't paid on an old appointment of yours. They are requesting a copy of your medical card front and back for an ext you had done in 2010. Could you please emial us a copy of your card ? ". Please note, 16 months after the procedure was performed, the first email I received from the office was asking for my medical information, NOT asking me to pay the balance, NOT a bill statement. Had the office staff was competent enough, she should have known that by the time she emailed me, it was already 4 months out of the insurance allowed window. Only after the office discovered the claim had fallen out of the insurance allowed window, had they started to chase after me for payment. 4. What's more, it was me who found out the 12 month window and informed the office. Then the office contacted my medical insurance and confirmed that the claim did fall out of the 12 month window. Quote the Response "As we know, ***** at this time said no due to time limitatìons", if they didn't have my medical information as claimed in the Response, how could they contact my medical insurance and get the response "no due to time limitations"?! The Response is filled with self-conflicts/lies. They refused to admit it's the office's incompetency/negligence that results the balance. I have been nothing but very responsive and responsible. 5. Quote "I was never aware that you wanted to setup a meeting with me only to call you. I will make sure my staff gives me that information, perhaps the issue would have been resolved sooner". If what said here was true, it is another example of incompetency of your office staff. I called the office numerous times to set up appointments with the office manager and even visited the office physically at least twice hoping to meet you in person. And I put that information in my "Statement of Delinquency", but never got any acknowledgement from you at all. 6. Quote the response "what did receive an ernaîl 12/12 with a copy of your paystubs proving you pay your medical and dental insurance but not what it is". So you did received my email and my "Statement of Delinquency". When I sent my "Statement of Delinquency" after I received the delinquency bill, I specifically requested in my email dated Dec 21, 2012 that quote "Please reply to this email to confirm that the office received this email and my response letter". However, I never received any reply or any sort of communication to this day.

In January 2013, after a few weeks without getting any acknowledgement from the office in regards to my "Statement of Delinquency", I called the office to see if the email was received. The front desk person confirmed that the manager did receive the email and the Statement. Then I was puzzled because even I specifically put in the request for the office to confirm the receipt of my email, the request was still neglected or ignored! The sequence of events explains very clearly what had happened and the incompetency/negligence/arrogance of the office It's time for the office to take the responsibility and admit the negligence, instead of harassing me.    

Business Response: Yes please consider the issue resolved with no more bills.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.