Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Vision Payment Solutions

Phone: (207) 321-3428 Fax: (207) 321-3427 320 Cumberland Avenue, Portland, ME 04101

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Vision Payment Solutions is an experienced, fast-growing merchant account service provider, delivering comprehensive solutions across all payment forms, card brands and merchant segments. Our management team has over 60 years of experience in the financial services industry, including more than 30 years within the electronic payments field working for some of the industry’s largest and most successful companies.

We serve a diverse range of merchants, from 5-star restaurants to multi-site quick serves, local retail stores to national chains to internet storefronts, the corner convenience store to multi-lane grocery stores. No matter what your business requires, we can respond with the ideal solution.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Vision Payment Solutions meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Vision Payment Solutions
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 31, 2003 Business started: 01/01/2003 in ME Business incorporated 11/03/2010 in DE
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Eric Hannelius, Owner Mr. Thomas Stone, Co-Founder & Chief Operating Officer
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Eric Hannelius, Owner
Principal: Mr. Thomas Stone, Co-Founder & Chief Operating Officer
Number of Employees


Business Category


Industry Tips
Five Steps to Building an E-Commerce Site - Video Five Steps to Building an E-Commerce Site for Your Small Business Unauthorized Credit Card Billing

Additional Locations

  • 320 Cumberland Avenue

    Portland, ME 04101


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/30/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Despite repeated efforts by us. Company has continued to over charge fees, each time promising to fix the errors but never doing so. PCI Fee - Compliance Completed and Submitted July 12, 2014 Please refund $13.99 x 8 = CP FANF – Fee waived per *** ***** Please refund $2.00 x 8 = CNP FANF – Fee waived per *** ***** Please refund $9.00 x 8 In addition all fees need to be updated and adjusted retroactive per the July 21, 2014 agreement with *** *****. I really don’t understand why you are not applying the adjustments as per our agreement? This lack of follow through seems highly unethical.

Desired Settlement: Refund of all unauthorized fees

Business Response: Merchant requested a rate review in July of 2014. Specific rateswere adjusted, as were the fees associated with his gateway. No adjustmentswere requested, or granted related to FANF, or his monthly PCI Fee. We are in possessionof very specific emails, and phone conversations related to this. An additionalattempt was made to review this complaint with the merchant on 1/28/15. After abrief discussion,  he made derogatorycomments about VPS, and stated that he has moved his merchant accountelsewhere. VPS has specific contracts in place, and all related noticesregarding pricing and fee sets charged. No rebates will be forthcoming.

Consumer Response: The merchant is not honoring its writtencommitmentsand is not reputable - this is flat out fraud!Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below.  The merchant is not honoring its written commitments and is not reputable - this is flat out fraud! Regards, **** ******  

Business Response: Despite the merchant’s accusations, VPS stands by itsoriginal response. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below. The vendor is not honoring its written commitments and is not reputable - this is flat out fraud!Merchant has failed to respond to written requests, basically they are holding merchants hostage.    Regards, **** ******  

12/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had purchased a new credit card machine from Vision Payment Solutions on 10/20/2014. I received the new machine on 10/21/2014. After hooking up the machine and batching out credit card transactions, we noticed that we were not receiving funds into our bank account. I then called Vision Payment Solutions and had to have each batch transaction forced through. We did not receive funds into our business account until 8 days after hooking up this machine. During this time, we had returned checks and fees accumulating because of no funds being deposited. I spoke with a supervisor and she advised me that they would be sending out a new credit card machine and to send the defective one back. She also told me that she spoke with someone above her and advised me that would receive a credit to our account due to the defective machine. I proceeded to get a run around with Vision Payment Solutions as to when this matter would be resolved through their corporate. I called them every day for 6 days and after the frustration of still not receiving a response, I took it upon myself to email the CEO, **** *********, of Vision Payment Solutions. Surprisingly, I received a phone call the same day from ******* at Vision Payment Solutions that they offered me a 3 month credit off of our statement at $90 total. I believe this is a joke of an offer, considering we were out of pocket $2,105 in cash for returned checks and non sufficient fund fees.

Desired Settlement: I would like for the company to refund the money that we were physically out of pocket, which was $2,105. Vision Payment Solutions is a big corporation and they have insurance through FSLIC to cover situations like these. We have been with this company for over 5 years and I believe they were in the wrong for sending a defective machine and should make the situation right.

Business Response: Vision Payment Solutions has acknowledged that anequipment malfunction created a situation where credit card transactions didnot settle properly from 10/24/14 through 10/27/14 into the merchants bankaccount.  On the 27th ****** ****** ****** reported the problem andour customer service department intervened and manually settledtransactions into your account. The issue was corrected, new credit card processing equipment was provided and as suchtransactions continue to process and settle normally.  Due to this error, VPS offered to pay all ofthe returned check / nonsufficient fund fees the merchant incurred equaling$363, from their financial institution for the time period while they were notreceiving deposits. As a valued customer for the past 5 years, VPS also hasoffered to provide the new credit card processing equipment at no cost.The outstanding discrepancy is that the merchant believeswe have an additional obligation to pay for the actual amount of the bouncedchecks that they claim would not have been issued if the merchant had beenaware they were not receiving deposits. It is our opinion that this is unfair as the checks themselves are theirbusiness expenses and not losses suffered as a result of the equipmentmalfunction.  At this time, it is ourposition that fair compensation for this unfortunate event is to cover all ofthe bank fees incurred, as well as providing free equipment should beconsidered acceptable.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below.  They are not taking any liability for installing faulty equipment. Their faulty equipment, which they do not dispute, caused deposits not to appear which lead to a false amount to which we were drafting from.  If their device worked properly, we would not be discussing this matter with the BBB, Ohio AG, and the FTC. They must take the blame for their faulty device. What is unfair is that they feel no obligation in giving devices that malfunction. They need to and eventually will compensate us for their mistake. We wish for the BBB to see their cheap attempt at a resolution as exactly that - cheap. Regards, ***** ******    %3

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Vision Payment Solutions
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)