Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Capital Bankcard

Phone: (888) 655-1653 Fax: (617) 778-6770 1 Federal Street 2nd Floor, Boston, MA 02110 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.capitalbankcard.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Capital Bankcard develops and offers secure, payment processing solutions and merchant account services to developers, ISV's, VAR's and merchants nationwide. We also assist our merchant in achieving and maintaining PCI compliance, an integral part of processing transactions securely.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Capital Bankcard meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Capital Bankcard include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 15 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

15 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 6
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 15

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

8 Customer Reviews on Capital Bankcard
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 7
Total Customer Reviews 8

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 07, 2011 Business started: 01/01/1998 in MA
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Ran Beng, Research and Processing Team Lead Mr. Henry Helgeson, Co-CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Ran Beng, Research and Processing Team Lead
Principal: Mr. Henry Helgeson, Co-CEO
Customer Contact: Ms. Nikkya Murdock, Client Services Team Lead
Related Businesses
Cayan
Number of Employees

200

Business Category

CREDIT CARD PROCESSING SERVICE ELECTRONIC EQUIPMENT & SUPPLIES CREDIT CARD & OTHER CREDIT PLANS-EQUIPMENT & SUPPLIES Financial Transactions Processing, Reserve, and Clearinghouse Activities (NAICS: 522320)

Products & Services

Capital Bankcard offers the following product(s): Credit Card Processing Software, Credit Card Processing Terminals, Pin Pads

Hours of Operation
M: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
T: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
W: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Th: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
F: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Method(s) of Payment
Visa
MasterCard
Discover
American Express
Personal Check
Business Check
Cashiers Check
Debit Card
Money Order
Service Area
Capital Bankcard provides their services in ALABAMA, ALASKA, AMERICAN SAMOA, ARIZONA, ARKANSAS, CALIFORNIA, COLORADO, CONNECTICUT, DELAWARE, DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA, FLORIDA, GEORGIA, GUAM, HAWAII, IDAHO, ILLINOIS, INDIANA, IOWA, KANSAS, KENTUCKY, LOUISIANA, MAINE, MARSHALL ISLANDS, MARYLAND, MASSACHUSETTS, MICHIGAN, MINNESOTA, MISSISSIPPI, MISSOURI, MONTANA, NEBRASKA, NEVADA, NEW HAMPSHIRE, NEW JERSEY, NEW MEXICO, NEW YORK, NORTH CAROLINA, NORTH DAKOTA, NORTHERN MARIANA ISLANDS, OHIO, OKLAHOMA, OREGON, PALAU, PENNSYLVANIA, PUERTO RICO, RHODE ISLAND, SOUTH CAROLINA, SOUTH DAKOTA, TENNESSEE, TEXAS, UTAH, VERMONT, VIRGIN ISLANDS, VIRGINIA, WASHINGTON, WEST VIRGINIA, WISCONSIN, WYOMING.
Industry Tips
Electronics & Supplies Unauthorized Credit Card Billing

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Capital Bankcard has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1 Federal Street 2nd Floor

    Boston, MA 02110 (888) 655-1653

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/2/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 7-1-2014 I signed paperwork for "******* ****" a smooth talking sales lady for "*** **** ****** ******" AKA "****** **** ***********"; to whom I had faxed our previous credit card processing statements to, for review. ******* declared I had been scammed into paying high rates for processing our customers credit card payments, of which she promised to retrieve $871.66 of those fraudulent charges by our previous credit card processor; which she did! Thank her very much, she kept her word that time which increased my confidence in her immediately. She also promised in the a written contract to place us into a “Non Cancel-able Equipment Finance Lease Agreement” (for $84.44 per month) with “******** ******* ******** ***. (Lessor)”. But if Capital Bankcard broke our contract of (“Interchange Plus” pricing @ .30% + $.10 per Credit or Debit Card Transaction, & +$.07 per Pin Debit Card Transaction) I could still cancel the “Non Cancel-able Equipment Finance Lease Agreement” (for $84.44 per month) with “******** ******* ******** ***. by simply filing a request of release with Capital Bankcard; who would then have to assume the “Non Cancel-able Equipment Finance Lease Agreement” (for $84.44 per month) with “******** ******* ******** ***. (Lessor)”. May 13th 2015 I called Capital Bankcard & spoke with a **** and then also ***** ***** who authorized the return of equipment to them, who sent us a return label to send the leased equipment back to them; promising to assume or buyout the “Non Cancel-able Equipment Finance Lease Agreement” (for $84.44 per month) with “******** ******* ******** ***. (Lessor)”, which we used & returned the Equipment as they instructed. However Capital Bankcard failed to buyout the “Non Cancel-able Equipment Finance Lease Agreement” (for $84.44 per month) with “******** ******* ******** ***. (Lessor)” Therefore “******** ******* ******** ***. (Lessor)” has continued to draft our checking Account for the $84.44 per month ever since. And we have sent them numerous notices via fax, & email asking Capital Bankcard to keep their promise and assume; buy out our lease which **** & ***** ***** promised they would. Capital Bankcard holds the equipment (at **** ******** **** ****** *** ********* ** ***** in a box with a ***** tracking #*********** on it, picked up here at **** ****** *** ********* ** ***** June 1st) ******** ******* ******** *** has charged ****** ***** ********* $84.44 per month since the 1st of June 2015 for equipment we don't even have. I do sincerely thank Capital Bankcard for that refund check #**** for $84.44 for that first charge ******** ******* ******** ***. charged us on June 1st 2015 Following is a copy of the notice I sent them June 11th 2015 I **** ****** Executed the fore said option To: Capital Bankcard / ****** **** *********** / Agent ******* ******* I hereby serve notice in writing; You must Buy out the remainder of our “Non Cancelable Equipment Finance Lease Agreement” for $84.44 per month for $2,833.42 by July 1st 2015. Please write our Lease #*******

Desired Settlement: We simply ask for a refund from ******** ******* for $624.08 & clear our account!

Business Response: Hi ****,I apologize about any confusion or delay in your equipment lease issue. We will refund the amount you have requested and this will come in the form of a check.  Please note we are not ******** ******* nor is Capital Bankcard affiliated with ******** ******* therefore you will need to speak to them to clear any debts etc. Best regards,

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below. I remind you of the promise to buy out our “Non Cancel-able Equipment Finance Lease Agreement” (for $84.44 per month) with “******** ******* ******** ***. (Lessor)” because Capital Bankcard broke our contract by switching us into a “Tiered Program” (without notice to us or our consent) running our Qualified Debit Cards @ .50%, Qualified Credit Cards @ 1.69%, Mid Qualified Credit Cards @ 2.49%, Non Qualified Credit Cards @ 2.99%. Not “Interchange Plus” pricing @ .30% + $.10 per Credit or Debit Card Transaction, & +$.07 per Pin Debit Card Transaction; which is what our contract promised.You even sent us 2 return labels to send the leased equipment back to you; promising to assume or buyout the “Non Cancel-able Equipment Finance Lease Agreement” (for $84.44 per month) with “******** ******* ******** ***. (Lessor)”, which we used & returned the Equipment as you instructed with the first return label that you sent.However Capital Bankcard failed to buyout the “Non Cancel-able Equipment Finance Lease Agreement” (for $84.44 per month) with “******** ******* ******** ***. (Lessor)”Therefore “******** ******* ******** ***. (Lessor)” has continued to draft our checking Account for the $84.44 per month ever since. And we have sent you numerous notices via fax, & email asking Capital Bankcard to keep your promise and assume our lease which **** & ***** ***** promised you would.Capital Bankcard holds the equipment (at **** ******** **** ****** *** ********* ** ***** in a box with a ***** tracking #*********** on it, picked up here at **** ****** *** ********* ** ***** June 1st) ******** ******* ******** *** has charged ****** ***** ********* $84.44 per month since the 1st of June 2015 for equipment we don't even have.I do sincerely thank Capital Bankcard for that refund check #**** for $84.44 for that first charge ******** ******* ******** ***. charged us on June 1st 2015 06/01/2015 $84.44 Corporate ACH Lease Payment ******** ******* 06-15-2015 -$84.44 Capital Bankcard Paid with Check #**** by US Mail; Thanks! 07/01/2015 $84.44 Corporate ACH Lease Payment ******** ******* 08/03/2015 $84.44 Corporate ACH Lease Payment ******** ******* 09/01/2015 $84.44 Corporate ACH Lease Payment ******** ******* 10/01/2015 $84.44 Corporate ACH Lease Payment ******** ******* 11/02/2015 $84.44 Corporate ACH Lease Payment ******** ******* 12/01/2015 $84.44 Corporate ACH Lease Payment ******** ******* 01/04/2016 $84.44 Corporate ACH Lease Payment ******** ******* 02/01/2016 $84.44 Corporate ACH Lease Payment ******** ******* 02/02/2016 -$84.44 Reverse Corporate ACH Debit PNC Stopped Payment 02/01/2016 $33.00 Reverse Service Charge for Stopped Payment 04/25/2016 $2,000.00 **** Paid the "Buy Out" of Lease agreement with ******** ******* Total $2,624.08 Unpaid Charges Capital Bank Card Promised to Pay 2-11-16  I hereby implore Capital Bankcard to retain your integrity by immediately sending another refund check for $2,624.08 to: ****** ***** ************* ****** ************ ** ***** Thank You for your Prompt Attention to this mater!  Sincerely **** * ******   ] Regards, **** ******    

Business Response: Hi ****,Capital Bankcard has never promised to buy out your lease with ******** ******* Systems. I would suggest further investigating this with the agent that sold you this account. Please note we refunded the initial amount that you requested in this complaint as a courtesy and will not be refunding anything beyond that.Best regards,   

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below.  May 13th 2015 I called Capital Bankcard & spoke with a **** and then also ***** ***** who authorized the return of equipment to them, who sent us a return label to send the leased equipment back to them; promising to assume or buyout the “Non Cancel-able Equipment Finance Lease Agreement” (for $84.44 per month) with “******** ******* ******** ***. (Lessor)”, which we used & returned the Equipment as they instructed.Because Capital Bankcard broke our contract by switching us into a “Tiered Program” (without notice to us or our consent) running our Qualified Debit Cards @ .50%, Qualified Credit Cards @ 1.69%, Mid Qualified Credit Cards @ 2.49%, Non Qualified Credit Cards @ 2.99%. Not “Interchange Plus” pricing @ .30% + $.10 per Credit or Debit Card Transaction, & +$.07 per Pin Debit Card Transaction; which is what our contract promised.Yes you sent us 2 return labels to send the leased equipment back to you; promising to assume or buyout the “Non Cancel-able Equipment Finance Lease Agreement” (for $84.44 per month) with “******** ******* ******** ***. (Lessor)”, which we used & returned the Equipment as you instructed with the first return label that you sent. Why do you not go back & pull those "recorded conversations"?Sincerely  **** * ******  

Consumer Response: 7-1-2014 I signed paperwork for "******* ****" a smooth talking sales lady for "*** **** ****** ******" AKA "****** **** ***********"; to whom I had faxed our previous credit card processing statements to, for review.******* declared I had been scammed into paying high rates for processing our customers credit card payments, of which she promised to retrieve $871.66 of those fraudulent charges by our previous credit card processor; which she did! Thank her very much, she kept her word that time which increased my confidence in her immediately.She also promised in the a written contract to place us into a “Non Cancel-able Equipment Finance Lease Agreement” (for $84.44 per month) with “******** ******* ******** ***. (Lessor)”. But if Capital Bankcard broke our contract of (“Interchange Plus” pricing @ .30% + $.10 per Credit or Debit Card Transaction, & +$.07 per Pin Debit Card Transaction) I could still cancel the “Non Cancel-able Equipment Finance Lease Agreement” (for $84.44 per month) with “******** ******* ******** ***. by simply filing a request of release with Capital Bankcard; who would then have to assume the “Non Cancel-able Equipment Finance Lease Agreement” (for $84.44 per month) with “******** ******* ******** ***. (Lessor)”.May 13th 2015 I called Capital Bankcard & spoke with a **** and then also ***** ***** who authorized the return of equipment to them, who sent us a return label to send the leased equipment back to them; promising to assume or buyout the “Non Cancel-able Equipment Finance Lease Agreement” (for $84.44 per month) with “******** ******* ******** ***. (Lessor)”, which we used & returned the Equipment as they instructed.However Capital Bankcard failed to buyout the “Non Cancel-able Equipment Finance Lease Agreement” (for $84.44 per month) with “******** ******* ******** ***. (Lessor)”Therefore “******** ******* ******** ***. (Lessor)” has continued to draft our checking Account for the $84.44 per month ever since. And we have sent them numerous notices via fax, & email asking Capital Bankcard to keep their promise and assume; buy out our lease which **** & *****  ***** promised they would.Capital Bankcard holds the equipment (at **** ******** **** ****** *** ********* ** ***** in a box with a ***** tracking #*********** on it, picked up here at **** ****** *** ********* ** ***** June 1st) ******** ******* ******** *** has charged ****** ***** ********* $84.44 per month since the 1st of June 2015 for equipment we don't even have.I do sincerely thank Capital Bankcard for that refund check #**** for $84.44 for that first charge ******** ******* ******** ***. charged us on June 1st 20154-25-2016 **** negotiated a pay off balance with ******** ******* of $2,000.00, which we paid in full.I do sincerely thank Capital Bankcard for that refund check #4352 for $624.08 for charges ******** ******* ******** ***. charged us through Feb 2016We simply ask that they keep their word & pay the final buy out amount as promised $2000.00  

Business Response: Hi ****,Please keep in mind it is your responsibility to know who your lease is with. Capital Bankcard is not in any way affiliated with ******** ******* Systems and we have no control over them; nor would we assume any liability with respect to your contract with them.Best regards,

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below.  I very well know who I had the lease with. I also very well know that on May 13th 2015 I called Capital Bankcard & spoke with a **** and then also ***** ***** who authorized the return of equipment to them, who sent us a return label to send the leased equipment back to them; promising to assume or buyout the “Non Cancel-able Equipment Finance Lease Agreement” (for $84.44 per month) with “******** ******* ******** ***. (Lessor)”, which we used & returned the Equipment as they instructed.However Capital Bankcard failed to buyout the “Non Cancel-able Equipment Finance Lease Agreement” (for $84.44 per month) with “******** ******* ******** ***. (Lessor)”Therefore “******** ******* ******** ***. (Lessor)” has continued to draft our checking Account for the $84.44 per month ever since. And we have sent them numerous notices via fax, & email asking Capital Bankcard to keep their promise and assume; buy out our lease which **** & *****  ***** promised they would.Capital Bankcard holds the equipment (at **** ******** **** ****** *** ********* ** ***** in a box with a ***** tracking #*********** on it, picked up here at **** ****** *** ********* ** ***** June 1st) ******** ******* ******** *** has charged ****** ***** ********* $84.44 per month since the 1st of June 2015 for equipment we don't even have.I do sincerely thank Capital Bankcard for that refund check #**** for $84.44 for that first charge ******** ******* ******** ***. charged us on June 1st 2015 And also for the $624.08 Capital Bankcard Paid with Check #4352 by US Mail; 04/23/2016 Thanks!4-25-2016 I negotiated a pay off balance with ******** ******* of $2,000.00, which according to ***** *****'s promise you still owe us, because Capital Bankcard broke our contract of (“Interchange Plus” pricing @ .30% + $.10 per Credit or Debit Card Transaction, & +$.07 per Pin Debit Card Transaction. Regards, **** ******    

Consumer Response: 7-1-2014 I signed paperwork for "******* ****" a smooth talking sales lady for "*** **** ****** ******" AKA "****** **** ***********"; to whom I had faxed our previous credit card processing statements to, for review.******* declared I had been scammed into paying high rates for processing our customers credit card payments, of which she promised to retrieve $871.66 of those fraudulent charges by our previous credit card processor; which she did! Thank her very much, she kept her word that time which increased my confidence in her immediately.She also promised in the a written contract to place us into a “Non Cancel-able Equipment Finance Lease Agreement” (for $84.44 per month) with “******** ******* ******** ***. (Lessor)”. But if Capital Bankcard broke our contract of (“Interchange Plus” pricing @ .30% + $.10 per Credit or Debit Card Transaction, & +$.07 per Pin Debit Card Transaction) I could still cancel the “Non Cancel-able Equipment Finance Lease Agreement” (for $84.44 per month) with “******** ******* ******** ***. by simply filing a request of release with Capital Bankcard; who would then have to assume the “Non Cancel-able Equipment Finance Lease Agreement” (for $84.44 per month) with “******** ******* ******** ***. (Lessor)”.May 13th 2015 I called Capital Bankcard & spoke with a **** and then also ***** ***** who authorized the return of equipment to them, who sent us a return label to send the leased equipment back to them; promising to assume or buyout the “Non Cancel-able Equipment Finance Lease Agreement” (for $84.44 per month) with “******** ******* ******** ***. (Lessor)”, which we used & returned the Equipment as they instructed.Had they not promised this I would not have switched back to EVO!However Capital Bankcard failed to buyout the “Non Cancel-able Equipment Finance Lease Agreement” (for $84.44 per month) with “******** ******* ******** ***. (Lessor)”Therefore “******** ******* ******** ***. (Lessor)” has continued to draft our checking Account for the $84.44 per month ever since. And we have sent them numerous notices via fax, & email asking Capital Bankcard to keep their promise and assume; buy out our lease which **** & *****  ***** promised they would.Capital Bankcard holds the equipment (at **** ******** **** ****** *** ********* ** ***** in a box with a ***** tracking #*********** on it, picked up here at **** ****** *** ********* ** ***** June 1st) ******** ******* ******** *** has charged ****** ***** ********* $84.44 per month since the 1st of June 2015 for equipment we don't even have.I do sincerely thank Capital Bankcard for that refund check #**** for $84.44 for that first charge ******** ******* ******** ***. charged us on June 1st 20154-25-2016 **** negotiated a pay off balance with ******** ******* of $2,000.00, which we paid in full.4-2-2016It has become apparent that "******** *******" is an UNLAWFUL entity designed to defraud it's lessee merchants. ******** ******* obviously employed a fraudulent, con artist to acquire these "Non Cancelable Leases" which she promised (verbally) could be assumed, or bought out by Capital Bankcard, whom she claimed to represent as well, should Capital Bankcard default in any way.See the evidence for yourself; obviously these two mega companies have co conspired to bate & switch their customers to UNLAWFULLY DEFRAUD us.I pray every potential merchant of theirs gets the opportunity to see this evidence & steer clear these bandits who have allied with the ENEMY who only want to STEEL, KILL, & DESTROY!

Business Response: Hi ****,   We have already covered the cost of your equipment. Please note the lease you have with ******** ******* system is non-cancelable therefore with or without the equipment you will need to continue paying it. Capital Bankcard is not affiliated with ******** ******* Systems and will not assume responsibility of your lease agreement with them; therefore we will not be giving you the $2,000.00 you are requesting.   Best regards,

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below.  This is not what you would find ***** ***** promised me, if you go pull your recorded conversations from May 13th 2015 (those where only recorded for your protection evedence not the customer's?)when I called Capital Bankcard & spoke with a **** and then also ***** ***** who authorized the return of equipment to them, who sent us a return label to send the leased equipment back to them; promising to assume or buyout the “Non Cancel-able Equipment Finance Lease Agreement” (for $84.44 per month) with “******** ******* ******** ***. (Lessor)”, which we used & returned the Equipment as they instructed.However Capital Bankcard failed to buyout the “Non Cancel-able Equipment Finance Lease Agreement” (for $84.44 per month) with “******** ******* ******** ***. (Lessor)”Therefore “******** ******* ******** ***. (Lessor)” has continued to draft our checking Account for the $84.44 per month ever since. And we have sent them numerous notices via fax, & email asking Capital Bankcard to keep their promise and assume; buy out our lease which **** & *****  ***** promised they would.Capital Bankcard holds the equipment (at **** ******** **** ****** *** ********* ** ***** in a box with a ***** tracking #*********** on it, picked up here at **** ****** *** ********* ** ***** June 1st) ******** ******* ******** *** has charged ****** ***** ********* $84.44 per month since the 1st of June 2015 for equipment we don't even have.I do sincerely thank Capital Bankcard for that refund check #**** for $84.44 for that first charge ******** ******* ******** ***. charged us on June 1st 20154-25-2016 **** negotiated a pay off balance with ******** ******* of $2,000.00, which we paid in full. So I simply want what Capital Bankcard promised a full refund of the $2,000.00 Until then I must continue to post the following about them as my duty to warn any and all who want to know; It has become apparent that "******** *******" is an UNLAWFUL entity designed to defraud it's lessee merchants. ******** ******* obviously employed a fraudulent, con artist to acquire these "Non Cancelable Leases" which she promised (verbally) could be assumed, or bought out by Capital Bankcard, whom she claimed to represent as well, should Capital Bankcard default in any way.See the evidence for yourself; obviously these two mega companies have co conspired to bate & switch their customers to UNLAWFULLY DEFRAUD us.I pray every potential merchant of theirs gets the opportunity to see this evidence & steer clear these bandits who have allied with the ENEMY who only want to STEEL, KILL, & DESTROY! Regards, **** ******

2/6/2016 Problems with Product/Service
9/14/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ***** ******* a representative for Capital Bankcard called me initially to offer credit card processing service. During the initial call she asked what service did I use and what fees I was paying. I told her I was using ****** for a fee of between 2.5% - 2.9% total depending on the method of transaction. She said that I was paying too much and she could offer me 0.5% plus $0.15 per transaction total. It sounded too good to be true so I asked her again in very clear to understand language. "What is the total out of my pocket, everything included?" She insisted that it was 0.5% plus $0.15, but then said there was a monthly fee (I forget the exact amount but think it was $7.95). I told her I was not interested in a monthly fee service because I didn't use the service that much. After that call she called me again saying that she had been able to eliminate the monthly fee. She also emailed me all of this staying the 0.5% and 0 monthly fees. I said in that case lets go ahead. Now after my first transaction of $5350 I get a charge for $201.18 which comes to 3.76%, not only is this not even closed to promised but way more expensive than any other service I know. I am a reasonable person and understand she's got to make a sale, but when the customer is honest and tells you upfront what they're paying and you continue lying, that to me is pushing it far beyond the limits of any reasonable sales tactics and into scam.

Desired Settlement: I've made 2 sales through the system 1 for 5350$ and one for 1400$. I'd like the company to keep the promised fee only (0.5% of $6750 = $33.75 + 2 transactions of $0.15 = $0.30 + monthly fee of no more than $7.95 - Grand Total $42) and refund the additional charges. After that's done I would like the company to close this account permanently.

Business Response: Our sincerest apologies for this inconvenience. Please messageus your MID and the best number to contact you at and a member of our customercare team will reach out as soon as possible.

Consumer Response:    [Because there are only 2 options and this is a request for more information I had to choose reject so that this is not considered closed. MID: *************** ] Regards, ****** *****    

Business Response: Hello, I will be calling you at 11 am EST today to further assist you.

Consumer Response:    [Spoke to ***** ****** on July 7 and forwarded emails of the promised service for 0 fees. She said that she would talk to her manager. I have not heard back.] Regards, ****** *****    

Business Response: Hello,I am speaking to my manager today and will give you a call back with the refund amount. I do apologized it has taken so long.Regards,

Consumer Response: [This is the 3d time someone contacts me to tell me they'll be calling with a solution but has not followed up on that.] Regards, ****** *****    

Business Response: I do apologized it has taking so long. i will get an answer to you by end of business day.

Consumer Response: [I received the following message on the 12th, no one has given me any details though. I'm surprised that you say you are still working on it. "All issues associated with Case #***** - "BBB Complaint" have been resolved and the case has been closed. Please call us at 1-888-******** with any additional questions you may have. Thank you.Capital Bankcard Support] Regards, ****** *****    

Business Response: Finally have an answer, I will refund $215.00 back to merchant on Friday and force close his account.
I am sorry that it has taking so long as we were waiting on the agent in question. The merchant will have his refund within 21 business days.

Consumer Response: [The solution is what I expect, but the way things have been going I will have to wait for the refund to be credited before i can accept it here.Thank You!] Regards, ****** *****    

9/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed up with a company called "** ********" who contracts with or sets up a contract with Capital Bankcard. I have had numerous issues with this company with them never returning phone calls, not taking phone calls, fake email accounts, fake telephone numbers, fake business office, and flat out lies to consumers. ***** ****** with ** ******** did nothing but lie in order to get me to sign a contract. After signing a contract ***** had no further contact and refuses to return calls.fake

Desired Settlement: I want my contract canceled imediatlly with Capital Bankcard and ** ********.

Business Response: Hello,Our sincerest apologies for this inconvenience. Someone will be contacting you very shortly.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #********. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved.  Regards, ******* *****

8/25/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: the sales rep *** **** ****** took a check for $300.00 from me, made out to his name for a new credit card machine he said would be delivered in a couple of days. it's been months and no credit card machine and I cannot get a hold of him. when I called the company they said they had no one by that name working there.

Desired Settlement: I would like my $300.00 back and the company to accept responsibility for their employees dishonest practice

Business Response: Hello,I will be contacting you this morning in regards to your complaint.Thank you

Business Response: Please advised the merchant I have put in the request for $300.00 and she should see the refund with 21 business days back to her account.

8/25/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I work for a non-profit that opened a cafe in early 2014 which closed later that year. We were using Capital Bankcard as our merchant service. Because of staffing changes, our account with CB was not cancelled when the business closed. When I realized this, I contacted our merchant broker on March 16th of this year to cancel the account. He said that we needed to sign a paper to cancel; he never got back to me concerning the paper despite several messages I left with him. 3 weeks later I spoke with *** at Capital Bankcard; he sent me to another dept for cancellation. I called *** in the cancellation dept and left a message. The next day I spoke with *** and requested our account to be closed. He sent me a web link to cancel via the internet, which I did on 4-22-15. Our account was debited again at the beginning of May. I called *** in cancellation again on May 11th and left a message; he did not return my call. I went to the website again and cancelled again, just in case there was any doubt; the next day they deducted another $100. Our account has been debited the monthly fee of $40 during this whole process of trying to cancel the account, in addition to other unexplained charges from Capital Bankcard. We have not processed any credit cards through CB since February of this year, and yet they continue to debit our account over and above the base fee. In February we processed $25 in payments and were charged $30 in extra fees the following month. The charges since our attempt to cancel are as follows: $119 on 4/2/15; $40 on 5/4/15; $100 on 5/12/15. In addition, these charges have incurred $205 in overdraft fees (since the business is closed and does not have money sitting in the bank.

Desired Settlement: I would like a confirmation from Capital Bankcard that our account has indeed been cancelled, and a refund for the charges (and overdraft fees) incurred after our request to cancel on 3-16-15, totaling $464.

Business Response: Hello,In researching your account, I show that it has been cancelled effectively 4/22/15.I will give you a call today regarding a refund.Thank you.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********.Summer, please make sure you have our costs total when they call.  I so hope we are around for that call. Regards, ******* *****  

Business Response: Emailed merchant in regards to bank statement in order to refund the fees. received response back the office manager is on vacation and will send them as soon as possible.

8/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I've been trying to cancel my account for a week now. Nobody call me back and everytime a call them there's nobody Available On Cancelations department. Nobody respond my emails and they just keep having me going around in circles.

Desired Settlement: I need Cancelation of my account inmedeatly

Business Response: Hello,I do apologized that no one has gotten back to you. I will force close your account and have your agent contact you for the refund.Thank you

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below. Regards, **** ******    

1/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My company was contacted by Global Data Specialists (GDS) about our credit card processing. Global set us up with Capital Bank Card. After about a month I realized that the charges that were agreed upon were more than they should have been. I contacted GDS and they would not return any calls. I contacted Capital Bank Card and we talked about the pricing. After a short conversation with ***** from Capital Bank card I realized we were not looking at the same contract. I faxed him my contract and he emailed me what he had for my company. They were not the same contract and there were differences in the signatures. We are a hair salon and there are 3 people/businesses using this machine. The same was true with all three. I contacted Capital Bank card again and spoke with ****** ********. He informed me that Capital had looked into the situation and that they had taken all accounts brought into Capital from GDS away. He indicated that he would look into it and get back with me. Well he did and told me they would honor the contract I had signed with GDS since it was not fault of mine that I had been fraudulently led to Capital Bank Card. They did refund some charges, but it was not the amount that should have been. I have spoken with ****** ******** MULTIPLE ***es and he keeps telling me his manager, *** *****, will have to make the decisions. After months of dealing with ******, I asked for *** *****'s number. I finally got it. Called and left several messages...never a return call. Finally I was able to get ***. He said he would honor part of the contract and make some other restitutions for ***e and trouble. He said he would call me back after reviewing the case. He had ****** Call me. ****** did not have the same resolutions that *** had. I asked ****** to transfer me to *** and of course, *** was not at his desk, but ****** assured me that *** would call by the end of the day. And that did not happen either. I have 2 other people in my shop who have accounts thru Capital Bank card and they have been asking me what is going on with this for months. I have been trying to give them an answer for 5 months. ****** and *** do not seem to be bothered with the fact, and they both know, that this is causing problems with my employees as I can't tell them when they will be getting their refunds and why the company is charging more than they agreed upon. This is straining relationships with these 2 employees and the company. They are loosing faith in my that I can handle this problem when I keep giving them the excuse I am getting which is "Someone will call you by the end of the day". I feel that Capital should take legal action against GDS. I informed them that I would have to if they did not. I would seem like a big company like Capital Bank card would want to take down any company that was dragging them into fraudulent contracts. I have a police report and an investigator working on the case for me against GDS, but I want the simple resolution from Capital Bank card and that is to honor the contract that myself and the 2 other employees had signed as they said they would back in August. It doesn't seem like all of the run around is necessary but thqat have dragged this on for over 5 months. I run a small business and the time it takes to deal with these issues is not productive to my business. I have spend countless hours dealing with Capital and GDS. I just want what is promised to me. It's not that hard.

Desired Settlement: Honor the contract we signed and the one they said they would honor in August and the refund of charges over and above what the contract said from the start date of June 5, 2014. ALSO: I first made a statement on the BBB site and **** **** on the chat services said that a complaint would be better. I am going to try to delete my statement, but she said since I cannot do both, to let you know and that you could go with this complaint and I want a resolve tot his problem.

Business Response: Hello, I'm sorry to hear about your experiences with Capital Bankcard, after speaking with *** regarding your account, 2 refunds have been issued in the amount of $168.08 and $79 - both issued on 12/9/14.Please let me know if you have any other questions.Thank you, **************@merchantwarehouse.com

1/13/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had been using Capital Bankcard processing service for my business about 3 years, and I decided to switch to different processor when they keep increasing the service fee. I stopped using Capital Bankcard on 10/15/2014, and called them to cancel on 10/30/2014 (there was no one picking up phone, and I had to leave a detailed message including my account number, phone number, etc., telling them if they need anything else, please contact me). However, no one has contacted me ever since. Then, I found out they’re still charging me fees, withdrawing $85.95 from my bank account on 12/03/2014. I called them back and asked them to explain what this charge was for. They could not give me the reason, and just told me to call a sale consultant. When I called the person who helped me to set up the account 2 yrs. ago, he said he would help me fix this issue. But, I've never heard from him since then, not even after I left two more messages. I am filing this complaint to BBB as this is to me a serious violation of consumer rights.

Desired Settlement: Return my money by 01/15/2015, And I hope Capital Bankcard will stop this kind of improper practice.

Business Response: Hello *****, I am sorry to hear about your services with Capital Bankcard. Please know that you account has been closed and I am reaching out to inquire about a refund. Please note that because that account was formally closed on 12/5/14 (after the second business day) you may receive a bill for the month of December. I will include that amount in your total refund.if you have any questions, please email me at *********@merchantwarehouse.comThank you, *****

9/25/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
8/25/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Never fully except service. Called and told agent not to come and install. Due to being misinformed of full charges of service until review contract. Was not informed of swipe fees until last minute contract signing. Charged monies without receiving any service. Cannot talk to a person had to leave a message. No waiting on phone form someone it just shot you to answering machine.

Desired Settlement: Get money back, and do not ever call me again with their poor service.

Business Response:
We just spoke over the phone to confirm that we are closing out this account and refunding you for the month of July.

Thank you, 

Consumer Response:
I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #********. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved. 

Regards,

3/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our small business switched to Capital Bankcard and were told our yearly fee would be waived as we had just paid it. Also not consistently getting the rates that we were quoted. Tried to resolve this on our own and discussed with sales rep. Was told money would be refunded and was not. Not responding in a timely manner. I have been pursuing issues with them for a couple of months. Other issues include customer service. Also told CAPITAL BANKCARD would close our other card reader accounts. We have been fighting with other carriers and CAPITAL BANK CARD trying to get six months worth of fees returned. This fee charging has caused our bank accounts to be over drawn. No sense of urgency in responding to us in a timely manner. Bait and Switch? Product_Or_Service: Bankcard Processing

Desired Settlement: Refund Expect a full refund of all business monies lost. This includes *** ***** ***** & ********** and *** ***** *****. Expect six months worth of fees returned we were incorrectly charged for because of CAPITAL ONE did not follow up although repeated phone calls. Overdraft charges. Summary of charge were given to sales manager a month ago...NO RESPONSE except it was elevated to supervisor. Supervisor has yet to contact us.

Business Response: I'm unable to refund anything on either account; the merchant is being charged fees that were signed off on and agreed to on the merchant application. Additionally, she has continued use of her *** ***** ***** and ********** account to date. 

3/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On July 5th, I emailed my account representative with Capital Bankcard informing him that I was switching merchant accounts, and that whatever was necessary for me to fill out or sign to terminate my status with his company to please provide me with. After the change was made, my account rep stopped in and tried to keep me from switching, I informed him that I had already switched and to please cancel my account so I was no longer billed. That was the last I heard from my rep, *** ****. After being charged the $40 minimum on 9/03/14, I again emailed my rep telling him I would like him to process the cancellation of my account, and if I needed to sign any paperwork, please let me know so I can get it done. I got no response via email or phone, so I called the customer service number. I was told the rep was the one that needed to process the cancellation. I was charged again on 10/3 and again called the customer service number. They told me they would email me a form to sign and send back. I got the form and sent it back unsigned as the signature field said the signature was optional. Again on 11/3 I was charged another $40, I informed them I emailed them the paperwork but it was still charged. They again told me I needed to contact my account rep, I told them I couldn't get in touch with him. They told me they would contact him and tell him to get in touch with me. Another month goes by with no contact, my account is charged another $40 on 12/3. After another call to customer service, I am told the email I sent my previous 'cancellation form' was no longer valid and is why they didn't get my form. Again they emailed me a form, this one completely different than the first form I got, however the email address I was to send it to was the same email address that was supposedly no longer valid. This time there was no 'optional' next to the signature line so I signed it and sent it back. I was told during my repeated calls that if I was interested in a refund to contact my sales rep. Again I told them I could not get in touch with him, and they told me they would get him in touch with me. I told them the last time they said that he still never got in touch with me. I left him messages and emails with no response. The constant misinformation, lack of help, and desire to push me off on someone I could no longer get in touch with, made this process very frustrating. I felt like no company could be this inept at following through with a simple request that I'm sure they grant on a daily basis. I could only assume the people I spoke with were poorly trained, or purposely confusing. I was told I would get call backs, forms, and other kinds of information, that I never got. I was told twice they would have my sales rep contact me, that never happened. I was given different phone numbers, some of them seemingly routing me back to the people I was just talking to. After my last $40 charge on 1/3 I again called them back, this time they assured me the cancellation went through but since it was in December they got the cancel form, they still had to charge me... despite that I had not processed with them since July. My last email to my rep was in January, I told him I would use legal means to recuperate my $200 in fees if need be. My initial emails and requests that went ignored would hold up quite well in court. I have still never heard from him. It's time for Capital Bankcard to stop hiding behind their sales rep and take responsibility that his failure is also their failure. I could have paid 2-3 months of fees with a lot of annoyance and aggravation and would have let it go. Now it's a matter of principle, 5 MONTHS of being run around. I want my ill begotten fees back.

Desired Settlement: My final processing was in July. I paid through that month both the processing fees and maintenance charges. My calls and emails for cancellation went ignored for the next 5 months, I want those 5 months of fees refunded. And I don't want to be told to deal with my sales rep one more time.

Business Response: After reviewing the notes on this account, it is clear that the merchant did his due diligence in getting his account closed and the failure to do so lies with his sales agent. I will send a check for the requested dollar amount to the address on file. I apologize for the disconnect in getting your account closed out.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved. 

3/9/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A *** ** **** approached me representing Capital Bankcard for a credit card machine for my new business. He said that I could get approved for a terminal depending on my credit score. When he was in the office he said the paperwork I was signing was paper work to see if I qualified for a terminal at $49 a month. A week later I received the terminal and at the same time noticed unauthorized transactions going through my account of $95 bringing my account to a negative balance of $261.91. When I called him he said that I either pay the one time fee of $95 with no monthly fee or pay $49 a month. Today I look at my account and another $95 have been charged and another $49.09 as well. This company is a rip off!! I never signed any paper work for these transactions to come through my account. This preferred merchant processing president is a fraud. When the merchant company called me they referred to an agent by the name of *** ***** which I never met or dealt with. He keeps changing his stories, He needs to be fired and fined! If my fees are not taken care of I will be taking this to a legal representative. I have a clean honest record with all banks I am affiliated with and this is ruining my credibility as a new business owner, a new customer at a new bank, and my credit! I am a very upset individual at this moment and I regret the day I met him!

Business Response: We spoke to this merchant and it was determined that while she has worked with a sales agent that is a contractor through our company, her merchant account is through another processor that the sales agent also works with. We're unfortunately unable to assist as this account is not ours.

12/3/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Capital Bank Card was our Credit Card Merchant Bank that would process and deposit credit card income for ********** Auto Body located in *******, CT. We began to question deposit discrepancies on June 16, 2013 and of course notified Capital Bank Card to discuss the issue but where told that our deposits were in Escrow because our Banking entity Union Savings Bank rejected the deposits. This is untrue and we submitted three times an Omaha NACHA Update Request Form with the our existing banking information. Capital Bank Card still insisted that USB would not accept the deposits. ******* ******, Assistant Vice President of Union Saving Bank sent at letter to Capital Bank Card on August 19, 2013 to validate that the banking information provided is correct and the account is open for deposits. The only activity was on August 23, 2013 as Capital Bank Card was attempting to debit $395.15 from the account not make our deposit. They cannot debit their fee before depositing what is owed since June 16, 2013. On September 25, 2013 we also filed a complaint with the State of Connecticut Department of Banking, Consumer Affairs Unit, ****** *********, Examiner and who will make an inquiry on our behalf as well but we were advised to file this complaint with BBB for assistance. We have read many consumer complaints against Capital Bank Card, Merchant Warehouse and First Data these separate companies are owned and operated as one. They are fraudulent and need to be held accountable for their failure to up hold banking ethics. ********** Auto Body, LLC ** ***** Street *******, CT ***** ************ Capital Bank Card Merchant Number *************** We have since setup Merchant Services with Union Saving Bank but ********** Auto Body's is owed $5,543.13 plus interest and we would like to register a complaint regarding the banking practices of Capital Bank Card. Our several attempts to resolve this on our own has failed and I am seeking your assistance. Your help in this matter would be greatly appreciated.

Desired Settlement: A check for $5,543.13 to be mailed to ********** Auto Body, LLC

Business Response: We have spoke to this merchant and confirmed that we are going to be sending out the funds due via check. We offered to initiate a wire transfer but the merchant's legal counsel would prefer a check. The amount of that check will be $1095.81. The breakdown of how we reached this dollar amount is as follows: We received an ACH reject on 6/20/13 for a refund of $3986.25 that was run on 6/14/13 back onto an ******** ******* card ending in ****. Our month end fees for June ($278.64), July ($116.51), August ($32.95), and September ($32.95) also rejected back to us. All of these debits were rejected back to us by the bank on file with an ACH reject code of "Bank Account Frozen". These items total $4447.30. We diverted a total of $5543.11 for batches occurring between 6/25 and 7/13.  $5543.11 - $4447.30 = released balance of $1095.81 via check #****.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by Capital Bankcard and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint. First, I would like to thank you for your assistance with our complaint as it is truly appreciated. Attached is our Credit Card Batch History with Capital Bankcard. The deposits we did not received are noted from 6/26/13 to 7/15/2013 for a total of $5,543.11. You will find that the transaction for $3,986.25 that Capital Bankcard is trying to debit from our funds was successfully deducted on 6/19/13. We will pay the June 2013 fee for $395.15 but the remaining fees we will not. Our deposits stopped on 6/25/13 and they have been holding the funds since that date without interest so we expect a final check for $5,147.96. Best regards, **** ******** ********** Auto Body Sole Member    

Business Response: Our records show that these debits rejected back to us. In order to get clarification on this, we will need to see bank statements for the time period in question showing that these amounts were successfully debited. They can be faxed to ************.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint. I have faxed the documents requested to ************ on 11/6/13. I have also attached the statements for both June and July 2013 as well as the credit card transmittal receipts for the BBB to review because I want the BBB to see that a balance is still due and we now want all fees paid back as well.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

8 Customer Reviews on Capital Bankcard
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart