BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Eastern Massachusetts, Maine, Rhode Island and Vermont
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Capital Bankcard?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Capital Bankcard

Phone: (888) 655-1653 Fax: (617) 778-6770 1 Federal Street 2nd Floor, Boston, MA 02110 http://www.capitalbankcard.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Capital Bankcard develops and offers secure, payment processing solutions and merchant account services to developers, ISV's, VAR's and merchants nationwide. We also assist our merchant in achieving and maintaining PCI compliance, an integral part of processing transactions securely.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Capital Bankcard meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Capital Bankcard include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 6
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

10 Customer Reviews on Capital Bankcard
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 8
Total Customer Reviews 10

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 07, 2011 Business started: 01/01/1998 in MA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Henry Helgeson, Co-CEO Ms. Diana O'Donnell, Research and Processing
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Henry Helgeson, Co-CEO
Customer Contact: Ms. Diana O'Donnell, Research and Processing
Related Businesses
MerchantWarehouse.com. Inc.
Number of Employees

200

Business Category

CREDIT CARD PROCESSING SERVICE ELECTRONIC EQUIPMENT & SUPPLIES CREDIT CARD & OTHER CREDIT PLANS-EQUIPMENT & SUPPLIES Financial Transactions Processing, Reserve, and Clearinghouse Activities (NAICS: 522320)

Products & Services

Capital Bankcard offers the following product(s): Credit Card Processing Software, Credit Card Processing Terminals, Pin Pads

Hours of Operation
M: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
T: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
W: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Th: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
F: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Method(s) of Payment
Visa
MasterCard
Discover
American Express
Personal Check
Business Check
Cashiers Check
Debit Card
Money Order
Service Area
Capital Bankcard provides their services in ALABAMA , ALASKA , AMERICAN SAMOA , ARIZONA , ARKANSAS , CALIFORNIA , COLORADO , CONNECTICUT , DELAWARE , DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA , FLORIDA , GEORGIA , GUAM , HAWAII , IDAHO , ILLINOIS , INDIANA , IOWA , KANSAS , KENTUCKY , LOUISIANA , MAINE , MARSHALL ISLANDS , MARYLAND , MASSACHUSETTS , MICHIGAN , MINNESOTA , MISSISSIPPI , MISSOURI , MONTANA , NEBRASKA , NEVADA , NEW HAMPSHIRE , NEW JERSEY , NEW MEXICO , NEW YORK , NORTH CAROLINA , NORTH DAKOTA , NORTHERN MARIANA ISLANDS , OHIO , OKLAHOMA , OREGON , PALAU , PENNSYLVANIA , PUERTO RICO , RHODE ISLAND , SOUTH CAROLINA , SOUTH DAKOTA , TENNESSEE , TEXAS , UTAH , VERMONT , VIRGIN ISLANDS , VIRGINIA , WASHINGTON , WEST VIRGINIA , WISCONSIN & WYOMING.
Industry Tips
Minimum Charges On Credit Cards Unauthorized Credit Card Billing

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Capital Bankcard has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1 Federal Street 2nd Floor

    Boston, MA 02110 (888) 655-1653

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/25/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
8/25/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Never fully except service. Called and told agent not to come and install. Due to being misinformed of full charges of service until review contract. Was not informed of swipe fees until last minute contract signing. Charged monies without receiving any service. Cannot talk to a person had to leave a message. No waiting on phone form someone it just shot you to answering machine.

Desired Settlement: Get money back, and do not ever call me again with their poor service.

Business Response:
We just spoke over the phone to confirm that we are closing out this account and refunding you for the month of July.

Thank you, 

Consumer Response:
I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #********. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved. 

Regards,

3/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our small business switched to Capital Bankcard and were told our yearly fee would be waived as we had just paid it. Also not consistently getting the rates that we were quoted. Tried to resolve this on our own and discussed with sales rep. Was told money would be refunded and was not. Not responding in a timely manner. I have been pursuing issues with them for a couple of months. Other issues include customer service. Also told CAPITAL BANKCARD would close our other card reader accounts. We have been fighting with other carriers and CAPITAL BANK CARD trying to get six months worth of fees returned. This fee charging has caused our bank accounts to be over drawn. No sense of urgency in responding to us in a timely manner. Bait and Switch? Product_Or_Service: Bankcard Processing

Desired Settlement: Refund Expect a full refund of all business monies lost. This includes *** ***** ***** & ********** and *** ***** *****. Expect six months worth of fees returned we were incorrectly charged for because of CAPITAL ONE did not follow up although repeated phone calls. Overdraft charges. Summary of charge were given to sales manager a month ago...NO RESPONSE except it was elevated to supervisor. Supervisor has yet to contact us.

Business Response: I'm unable to refund anything on either account; the merchant is being charged fees that were signed off on and agreed to on the merchant application. Additionally, she has continued use of her *** ***** ***** and ********** account to date. 

3/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On July 5th, I emailed my account representative with Capital Bankcard informing him that I was switching merchant accounts, and that whatever was necessary for me to fill out or sign to terminate my status with his company to please provide me with. After the change was made, my account rep stopped in and tried to keep me from switching, I informed him that I had already switched and to please cancel my account so I was no longer billed. That was the last I heard from my rep, *** ****. After being charged the $40 minimum on 9/03/14, I again emailed my rep telling him I would like him to process the cancellation of my account, and if I needed to sign any paperwork, please let me know so I can get it done. I got no response via email or phone, so I called the customer service number. I was told the rep was the one that needed to process the cancellation. I was charged again on 10/3 and again called the customer service number. They told me they would email me a form to sign and send back. I got the form and sent it back unsigned as the signature field said the signature was optional. Again on 11/3 I was charged another $40, I informed them I emailed them the paperwork but it was still charged. They again told me I needed to contact my account rep, I told them I couldn't get in touch with him. They told me they would contact him and tell him to get in touch with me. Another month goes by with no contact, my account is charged another $40 on 12/3. After another call to customer service, I am told the email I sent my previous 'cancellation form' was no longer valid and is why they didn't get my form. Again they emailed me a form, this one completely different than the first form I got, however the email address I was to send it to was the same email address that was supposedly no longer valid. This time there was no 'optional' next to the signature line so I signed it and sent it back. I was told during my repeated calls that if I was interested in a refund to contact my sales rep. Again I told them I could not get in touch with him, and they told me they would get him in touch with me. I told them the last time they said that he still never got in touch with me. I left him messages and emails with no response. The constant misinformation, lack of help, and desire to push me off on someone I could no longer get in touch with, made this process very frustrating. I felt like no company could be this inept at following through with a simple request that I'm sure they grant on a daily basis. I could only assume the people I spoke with were poorly trained, or purposely confusing. I was told I would get call backs, forms, and other kinds of information, that I never got. I was told twice they would have my sales rep contact me, that never happened. I was given different phone numbers, some of them seemingly routing me back to the people I was just talking to. After my last $40 charge on 1/3 I again called them back, this time they assured me the cancellation went through but since it was in December they got the cancel form, they still had to charge me... despite that I had not processed with them since July. My last email to my rep was in January, I told him I would use legal means to recuperate my $200 in fees if need be. My initial emails and requests that went ignored would hold up quite well in court. I have still never heard from him. It's time for Capital Bankcard to stop hiding behind their sales rep and take responsibility that his failure is also their failure. I could have paid 2-3 months of fees with a lot of annoyance and aggravation and would have let it go. Now it's a matter of principle, 5 MONTHS of being run around. I want my ill begotten fees back.

Desired Settlement: My final processing was in July. I paid through that month both the processing fees and maintenance charges. My calls and emails for cancellation went ignored for the next 5 months, I want those 5 months of fees refunded. And I don't want to be told to deal with my sales rep one more time.

Business Response: After reviewing the notes on this account, it is clear that the merchant did his due diligence in getting his account closed and the failure to do so lies with his sales agent. I will send a check for the requested dollar amount to the address on file. I apologize for the disconnect in getting your account closed out.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved. 

3/9/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A *** ** **** approached me representing Capital Bankcard for a credit card machine for my new business. He said that I could get approved for a terminal depending on my credit score. When he was in the office he said the paperwork I was signing was paper work to see if I qualified for a terminal at $49 a month. A week later I received the terminal and at the same time noticed unauthorized transactions going through my account of $95 bringing my account to a negative balance of $261.91. When I called him he said that I either pay the one time fee of $95 with no monthly fee or pay $49 a month. Today I look at my account and another $95 have been charged and another $49.09 as well. This company is a rip off!! I never signed any paper work for these transactions to come through my account. This preferred merchant processing president is a fraud. When the merchant company called me they referred to an agent by the name of *** ***** which I never met or dealt with. He keeps changing his stories, He needs to be fired and fined! If my fees are not taken care of I will be taking this to a legal representative. I have a clean honest record with all banks I am affiliated with and this is ruining my credibility as a new business owner, a new customer at a new bank, and my credit! I am a very upset individual at this moment and I regret the day I met him!

Business Response: We spoke to this merchant and it was determined that while she has worked with a sales agent that is a contractor through our company, her merchant account is through another processor that the sales agent also works with. We're unfortunately unable to assist as this account is not ours.

12/3/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Capital Bank Card was our Credit Card Merchant Bank that would process and deposit credit card income for ********** Auto Body located in *******, CT. We began to question deposit discrepancies on June 16, 2013 and of course notified Capital Bank Card to discuss the issue but where told that our deposits were in Escrow because our Banking entity Union Savings Bank rejected the deposits. This is untrue and we submitted three times an Omaha NACHA Update Request Form with the our existing banking information. Capital Bank Card still insisted that USB would not accept the deposits. ******* ******, Assistant Vice President of Union Saving Bank sent at letter to Capital Bank Card on August 19, 2013 to validate that the banking information provided is correct and the account is open for deposits. The only activity was on August 23, 2013 as Capital Bank Card was attempting to debit $395.15 from the account not make our deposit. They cannot debit their fee before depositing what is owed since June 16, 2013. On September 25, 2013 we also filed a complaint with the State of Connecticut Department of Banking, Consumer Affairs Unit, ****** *********, Examiner and who will make an inquiry on our behalf as well but we were advised to file this complaint with BBB for assistance. We have read many consumer complaints against Capital Bank Card, Merchant Warehouse and First Data these separate companies are owned and operated as one. They are fraudulent and need to be held accountable for their failure to up hold banking ethics. ********** Auto Body, LLC ** ***** Street *******, CT ***** ************ Capital Bank Card Merchant Number *************** We have since setup Merchant Services with Union Saving Bank but ********** Auto Body's is owed $5,543.13 plus interest and we would like to register a complaint regarding the banking practices of Capital Bank Card. Our several attempts to resolve this on our own has failed and I am seeking your assistance. Your help in this matter would be greatly appreciated.

Desired Settlement: A check for $5,543.13 to be mailed to ********** Auto Body, LLC

Business Response: We have spoke to this merchant and confirmed that we are going to be sending out the funds due via check. We offered to initiate a wire transfer but the merchant's legal counsel would prefer a check. The amount of that check will be $1095.81. The breakdown of how we reached this dollar amount is as follows: We received an ACH reject on 6/20/13 for a refund of $3986.25 that was run on 6/14/13 back onto an American Express card ending in ****. Our month end fees for June ($278.64), July ($116.51), August ($32.95), and September ($32.95) also rejected back to us. All of these debits were rejected back to us by the bank on file with an ACH reject code of "Bank Account Frozen". These items total $4447.30. We diverted a total of $5543.11 for batches occurring between 6/25 and 7/13.  $5543.11 - $4447.30 = released balance of $1095.81 via check #****.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by Capital Bankcard and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

First, I would like to thank you for your assistance with our complaint as it is truly appreciated. Attached is our Credit Card Batch History with Capital Bankcard. The deposits we did not received are noted from 6/26/13 to 7/15/2013 for a total of $5,543.11. You will find that the transaction for $3,986.25 that Capital Bankcard is trying to debit from our funds was successfully deducted on 6/19/13. We will pay the June 2013 fee for $395.15 but the remaining fees we will not. Our deposits stopped on 6/25/13 and they have been holding the funds since that date without interest so we expect a final check for $5,147.96.

Best regards,
**** ********
********** Auto Body Sole Member    

Business Response: Our records show that these debits rejected back to us. In order to get clarification on this, we will need to see bank statements for the time period in question showing that these amounts were successfully debited. They can be faxed to ************.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

I have faxed the documents requested to ************ on 11/6/13. I have also attached the statements for both June and July 2013 as well as the credit card transmittal receipts for the BBB to review because I want the BBB to see that a balance is still due and we now want all fees paid back as well.

8/10/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We signed up with Capital Bankcard via local agent. The agent had spent months discussing the benefits of Capital Bankcard and after quoting favorable rates and assuring us that their would be no risk in trying out CB we switched merchant services. The main issue with Capital Bankcard were repeated accounting errors. This required full time double checking on our part which was time consuming and costly. Ultimately we determined after approximately one year to switch to another service. Capital Bankcard proceeded to charge us $10,000 which I believe they called a early termination fee. The fee was taken directly from our account without prior notice and even after the local agent assured us verbally that there was not fee with terminating. Note that all of their equipment was promptly returned.The last few weeks has been some back and forth between the CB local agent and CB each claiming that the other is responsible for charging the fee and that neither can reverse the charge. Its my hope that this was an isolated event and that Capital Bankcard quickly resolves this matter

Desired Settlement: Refund the full amount of the cancelation/termination fee.

Business Response: The merchant signed off on contracts that show there are early termination fees on their accounts. I have attached one of these applications for review. We are unable to refund fees that the merchant agreed to on a legal contract. The early termination fee can be found on the second page, section 6, and is listed as "Early Termination Fee".

6/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When starting my business I hired Capital Bankcard to service my credit card account. I had to put a deposit on a credit card machine in the amount of $99.00 and was told that when I terminated their sevice I would recieve my deposit back. I followed all of their instructions and turned in the machine over a month ago and have yet to see my deposit. My local agent ignores my calls and text messages since I asked when I might recieve the deposit back so I could close my account. Capital Bankcard only tells me they will "e-mail" another department who will take care of it. No response from anyone so far.

Desired Settlement: I just want my deposit back.

Business Response: This deposit was paid directly to our outside sales agent. We are currently working with them to verify the details of the contract and to see if this deposit is in fact refundable.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

1/20/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: CAPITAL BANK CARD MADE AN UN-AUTHORIZED DEBIT IN THE AMOUNT OF $29,877.00 ON NOVEMBER 21, 2012. I CALLED MY BANK THAT I HAVE MY BUSINESS AND CHECKING ACCOUNT. I TALKED WITH **** THAT DAY 11/21/2012 ABOUT THIS ARBITRARY SITUATION AND INFORMED THEM OF THIS FRAUDULENT ACTION. I WANTED THEM TO BE MADE AWARE OF THIS HORRENDOUSE MISTAKE! I HAVE NEVER PURCHASED ANYTHING FOR THAT PRICE! WHY WAS I NOT INFORMED? WHY WAS THE CLAIM NOT SUBMITTED UNTIL THE DAY AFTER THANKSGIVING MAKING ME LOOK LIKE I DID NOT COMPLETE MY DUE DILIGANCE! I DID NOT MAKE THIS TRANSACTION. THIS IS THEFT! OUTRAGEOUS AND SICKENING TO THINK HOW THIS COULD HAPPEN WHEN I TAKE SO MANY PRECAUTIONS AGAINST IDENTITY THEFT! THEY SENT ME A LETTER SAYING THEY DENIED THE COMPLAINT 2 WEEKS LATER BECAUSE IT WAS NOT REPORTED WITHIN A 24 HOUR PERIOD. WELL I DID REPORT IT THE VERY SAME DAY! tHANK GOD I WAS NOT ON HOLIDAY FOR THANKSGIVING! I HAVE BEEN PHYSICALLY ILL OVER THIS, I HAVE ******** *****, ************, I AM STILL IN PT FOR A FALL DOWN A FLIGHT OF STAIRS, I HAVE ***** *********, ************, A ***** CONDITION, **************, ****** AND HAVE CHRONIC *********, CHRONIC ********* PROBLEMS, AND HAVE ***** ******. DO YOU THINK ANY OF THIS HELPS MY STATE OF HEALTH? I HAVE NOT BEEN SLEEPING AND I HAVE BEEN PUT INTO A FLAIR UP WITH FEVERS AND CHRONIC JOINT PAIN AND MUSCLE SPASMS THAT ARE EXASPERATED BY TENSION SITUATIONS THAT CREATE SERIOUS PHYSICAL TRAUMA TO MY BODY! I WANT THIS PERMANENTLY CORRECTED AND I WANT A LETTER IN WRITING AND ORIGINALLY SIGNED THAT THIS WILL NEVER HAPPEN OR REPEAT ITSELF AGAIN! AS IT HAS HAPPENED BEFORE.

Desired Settlement: AS STATED BEFORE I WANT THIS CLEARED OFF MY ACCOUNT IN WRITING THAT THIS WILL BE RESOLVED AND NOT BE REPEATED. I WANT A SIGNED WRITTEN STATEMENT CLEARING ME OF ALL DEBT! I PARTED WITH THIS COMPANY BACK IN MARCH OF 2012 BECAUSE OF SIMILAR SITUATIONS. THEY REVERSED THE CHARGES THEN 3 MONTHS LATTER CHARGED ME AGAIN REVERSING THEIR DECISION TO COVER THE CLAIM AFTER WEEKS OF PROVING MY INNOCENCE. I HAD NOTHING TO DO WITH THIS AND HAVE HAD NO BUSINESS WITH CAPITAL BANK CARD FOR OVER 9 MONTHS! I WANT AN EXPLANATION OF THE REASON FOR THIS INJUSTICE AND COMPENSATION FOR THE FEES THAT WERE INCURRED FOR MAKING MY ACCOUNT WITHOUT ENOUGH FUNDS IN IT!!!!!!!

Business Response: I apologize for the confusion surrounding this issue. In December 2011 through January 2012, there was an error that led to this merchant receiving deposits from us in excess of $135,000. Documentation surrounding these deposits has been provided to this merchant previously. To date, we have only recouped $91,000 of these funds and have attempted upon several occasions to regain the rest of the lost monies. Should the merchant have additional questions about this, she can certainly continue to work with the supervisor she was previously dealing with, ****** *******. Ms. ******* was also working with the merchant's bank at her request and has had no communication received from them after we provided them with the appropriate timeline of the issue.

10/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Basically it has taken over a year to cancel my service with them. numerous phone calls and e-mails were they have sent me the cancellation forms and I have correctly filled them out and sent them back and i would hear nothing for weeks so i would get in contact with them again and it was like they received nothing. while in the mean time they have collected over $200 in fees from me. I recently contacted them again and all it took was a simple e-mail and a link for me to cancel and took two minutes! If it was that simple why couldn't it have been done that way a year ago and $200 less ago!

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund for the services that i paid for that i was not using and that took over a year to cancel. I have documentation of the first few times i contacted them and im sure they have documentation as we!

Business Response: We apologize for the cancellation process being drawn out and made unnecessarily complicated for this merchant. We will certainly honor the request for a refund. This will be sent out via check to the address we have on file and the merchant can expect this within 14 business days.