Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Beacon Payments

Phone: (877) 986-4445 Fax: (617) 986-4449 25 Temple Pl  Unit 2L, Boston, MA 02111 http://www.beaconpayments.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Beacon Payments offers secure, payment processing solutions and merchant services to small, medium and large merchants nationwide; developers, ISV's, and VAR's.

The business states they also assist merchants in achieving and maintaining PCI compliance, an integral part of processing transactions securely. Beacon Payments offers the following product(s): Credit Card Processing Terminals, Pin Pads, and Credit Card Processing Software.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Beacon Payments meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Beacon Payments include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Beacon Payments
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 29, 2011 Business started: 03/01/2008 in MA Business incorporated 12/03/2008 in MA
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. David Selenow, Operating Partner Mr. Gerald Kadish, Operating Partner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Selenow, Operating Partner
Number of Employees

140

Business Category

CREDIT CARD – MERCHANT SERVICES CREDIT CARD & OTHER CREDIT PLANS-EQUIPMENT & SUPPLIES CREDIT CARD PROCESSING SERVICE Financial Transactions Processing, Reserve, and Clearinghouse Activities (NAICS: 522320)

Products & Services

Beacon Payments sells the following brand(s): Casio, Clover, Genius by Merchant Warehouse, Hypercom, Leaf, PC America, PointOS, Verifone

Beacon Payments offers the following product(s): Cash Advance, Check Processing, Credit and Debit Card Processing, Gift and Loyalty Card Programs, Mobile Phone Payment Acceptance, Mobile Phone Payment Applications, Point of Sale Equipment

Hours of Operation
M: 9:00 AM - 6:00 AM
T: 9:00 AM - 6:00 AM
W: 9:00 AM - 6:00 AM
Th: 9:00 AM - 6:00 AM
F: 9:00 AM - 6:00 AM
S: Closed
Su: Closed
Method(s) of Payment
Cash
Check
Visa
MasterCard
Discover
American Express
Refund and Exchange Policy
The business states they will refund qualifying purchases within 30 business days.
Industry Tips
Unauthorized Credit Card Billing

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Beacon Payments has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 25 Temple Pl
    Unit 2L

    Boston, MA 02111

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/27/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Although by signing a contract for Credit Card processing we were told No FEES at all except one flat 2.7% fee we were charged a $ 49.00. We decided to let it go this fee. But after we in writing closed the account they continue charging, our request to speak with the manager were never honored, the agent promised twice to refund our money and nothing happen. Because we already suffered an scam from ******** **** ******** phone **** *** ** ** we do not want to suffer another scam by a company that is under the umbrella of the BBB

Desired Settlement: Refund and not to touch our account again

Business Response: Mr. *******,     We received your written cancellation form on July 1st, which was after June billing closed and was sent off for ACH. This is the reason you were billed a few days after you submitted your cancellation form.Prior to this complaint we already issued a refund for all fees except for $9.29 which was charged for transactions processed.  The $9.29 in fees is less than the 2.70% you mentioned.The refund will hit your bank account no later than July 31st as promised.The $49 was billed for a card reader for your cell phone which you purchased.  This was also refunded prior to this complaintYou mentioned filing this complaint due to the actions of our competitors. We're sorry others have burned you in the past.  That is not the way Beacon Payments does business.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #********. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved.  Regards, ****** ******* The facts and dates  the seller is bringing are not accurate, but on todays date i can say,the seller completely resolved this complaint. I thank you a lot for your intervention and wish the seller good luck as well as thank them for finally solving this question 

7/20/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was accesively solicited by an employee of their business. Multiple visits per week. I initially had hesitation about doing business with a door to door sales person. Because of the issue of full disclosure. This representative assured me giving my information would only result in a pre approval. He had made over a dozen attempts in accessing a voided check by myself. Our last contact he said the company had a new policy and would only need my verification from my bank. A few days ago I received a package from *** with equipment. I don't even know the terms of the agreement. I'm very upset and have made several attempts to cancel this account.

Desired Settlement: Cancellation of services and no further contact

Business Response: Our apologies for the trouble you had with our sales person.  I am happy to help you resolve this by phone if the following explanation and resolution does not satisfy you.  My name is ***** ******* and you can reach me directly at *** *** *****We received your signed Merchant Processing Application and Agreement which we processed on 6/30/2015 and shipped equipment on 7/2/2015. We are glad to assist you in returning the equipment and closing this account. You should expect an email with a prepaid *** shipping label via email within 24 hours.  Simply box up the equipment and give it to any *** driver or drop it off at any *** dropbox.  If you incurred any charges to your account they will be refunded. We strive to always do the right thing and maintain an excellent reputation.  Please be aware this is a rare occurrence for us and it is more then exception than the rule.

3/24/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was with beacon payments for atleast 3 years or more when I decided to cancel I contacted my sales rep ****** who told me to contact **** ****** which I did who assured my everything was taken care of in January (17th to be exact, I have his emails) I have been billed twice for no transactions via credit card just $50 for no reason whatsoever. I tried contacting him directly but of course he said he was working on it and he was not sure if any credit would go though, this is a fraudulent company stay away.

Desired Settlement: seller is dishonest

Business Response: ****,   I pulled all of the communication records on this and you did send your cancellation form to **** ****** on January 17th, who immediately forwarded it to customer service.  Looks like it was not handled properly at that point. In no way was this dishonest or intentional; However, we do take responsibility for the error in getting the form processed.  You have our apologies. Prior to reading and responding to this complaint a refund for February fees had already been requested and approved. You mentioned two months of fees, however I only see February fees billed in err.  You processed transactions and were billed properly in January and you will not be billed for March.

Consumer Response: They unfortunately do not respond to my emails so I left alone in the dark, not knowing if I was going to be billed for March or if the refund was processed.  This was my only hope in communicating with the company, I can forward any necessary emails to anyone that needs them.  I do accept to close the dispute as long as no further billing takes place and my refund is processed.  Companies cannot charge for services that are not rendered.   Thank you for your help I've tried several times on my own.

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved. 

12/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: they offer a service which never was perform, they have been charging monthly to my account, call to cancel supposedly the service that i never used, they always tell me the are going to call someone outs to confirm cancellation as of right now I'm tire of trying with phone calls and I did send all paper work the ask for. very poor customer service

Desired Settlement: they have my back account the can deposit that money back to my account

Business Response: Although this was a miscommunication between our sales agent and the merchant we are taking responsibility and issuing a refund.  The merchant decided not to use the service after signing up with us.  We sent out equipment which was delivered to the merchant.  When the merchant requested to cancel we received the paperwork but the account was not closed because we did not receive our equipment back.  Our agent has either already picked up the equipment or will be picking it up this week.  We will have his account closed as soon as we receive it which will end automatic billing.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved. 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on Beacon Payments
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart