BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Eastern Massachusetts, Maine, Rhode Island and Vermont
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Beacon Payments?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Beacon Payments offers secure, payment processing solutions and merchant services to small, medium and large merchants nationwide; developers, ISV's, and VAR's.

The business states they also assist merchants in achieving and maintaining PCI compliance, an integral part of processing transactions securely. Beacon Payments offers the following product(s): Credit Card Processing Terminals, Pin Pads, and Credit Card Processing Software.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Beacon Payments meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Beacon Payments include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Beacon Payments
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 29, 2011 Business started: 03/01/2008 in MA Business incorporated: 12/03/2008 in MA
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. David Selenow, Operating Partner Mr. Gerald Kadish, Operating Partner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Selenow, Operating Partner
Number of Employees

140

Business Category

CREDIT CARD – MERCHANT SERVICES CREDIT CARD & OTHER CREDIT PLANS-EQUIPMENT & SUPPLIES CREDIT CARD PROCESSING SERVICE Financial Transactions Processing, Reserve, and Clearinghouse Activities (NAICS: 522320)

Products & Services

Beacon Payments sells the following brand(s): Casio, Clover, Genius by Merchant Warehouse, Hypercom, Leaf, PC America, PointOS, Verifone

Beacon Payments offers the following product(s): Cash Advance, Check Processing, Credit and Debit Card Processing, Gift and Loyalty Card Programs, Mobile Phone Payment Acceptance, Mobile Phone Payment Applications, Point of Sale Equipment

Hours of Operation
M: 9:00 AM - 6:00 AM
T: 9:00 AM - 6:00 AM
W: 9:00 AM - 6:00 AM
Th: 9:00 AM - 6:00 AM
F: 9:00 AM - 6:00 AM
S: Closed
Su: Closed
Method(s) of Payment
Cash
Check
Visa
MasterCard
Discover
American Express
Refund and Exchange Policy
The business states they will refund qualifying purchases within 30 business days.
Industry Tips
Minimum Charges On Credit Cards Unauthorized Credit Card Billing

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/24/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was with beacon payments for atleast 3 years or more when I decided to cancel I contacted my sales rep ****** who told me to contact **** ****** which I did who assured my everything was taken care of in January (17th to be exact, I have his emails) I have been billed twice for no transactions via credit card just $50 for no reason whatsoever. I tried contacting him directly but of course he said he was working on it and he was not sure if any credit would go though, this is a fraudulent company stay away.

Desired Settlement: seller is dishonest

Business Response: ****,   I pulled all of the communication records on this and you did send your cancellation form to **** ****** on January 17th, who immediately forwarded it to customer service.  Looks like it was not handled properly at that point. In no way was this dishonest or intentional; However, we do take responsibility for the error in getting the form processed.  You have our apologies. Prior to reading and responding to this complaint a refund for February fees had already been requested and approved. You mentioned two months of fees, however I only see February fees billed in err.  You processed transactions and were billed properly in January and you will not be billed for March.

Consumer Response: They unfortunately do not respond to my emails so I left alone in the dark, not knowing if I was going to be billed for March or if the refund was processed.  This was my only hope in communicating with the company, I can forward any necessary emails to anyone that needs them.  I do accept to close the dispute as long as no further billing takes place and my refund is processed.  Companies cannot charge for services that are not rendered.   Thank you for your help I've tried several times on my own.

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved. 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

12/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: they offer a service which never was perform, they have been charging monthly to my account, call to cancel supposedly the service that i never used, they always tell me the are going to call someone outs to confirm cancellation as of right now I'm tire of trying with phone calls and I did send all paper work the ask for. very poor customer service

Desired Settlement: they have my back account the can deposit that money back to my account

Business Response: Although this was a miscommunication between our sales agent and the merchant we are taking responsibility and issuing a refund.  The merchant decided not to use the service after signing up with us.  We sent out equipment which was delivered to the merchant.  When the merchant requested to cancel we received the paperwork but the account was not closed because we did not receive our equipment back.  Our agent has either already picked up the equipment or will be picking it up this week.  We will have his account closed as soon as we receive it which will end automatic billing.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved. 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

11/3/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have called and emailed Beacon Payments for over 2 months regarding cancelling my credit merchant account, in which they replied twice (one by a local agent named ****, and another by one of their officer ***** *******) that my account was to be immediately cancelled, that no more charges were to be debited from my bank account. I now have 2 continuous months of bank charges of about $40 each month, which was promised over and over to be reimbursed. There is no reason that it should take over 60 days to cancel an account, reimburse any charges, and/or correct any billings. I have signed the form needed for cancellation and received a final confirmation cancellation email from ***** on Thursday, September 13, 2012 at 8:55 AM, yet more charges show up on my account in October. I sent another email to ***** last week, requesting an immediate refund, cancellation of my account, and no further charges within 2 business days before filing this complaint with the BBB. I have not yet received any reply; this business plainly ignores any request and has not even bother to reply to the email stating their explanations. Please have this business investigated for any further charges to other customers that never bother to complain every month when $40 is being charged for "minimum transaction and billing fees" even not supposedly CLOSED accounts. When I originally called in to cancel, I was forwarded to several numbers, saying I need to be cancelled through some "sister company" before they would even consider... that means trying to reach my local agent **** which never answer the phone any more. Please help notify any authority over this bad practice. To all future businesses, be careful of this name Beacon Payments, you can never cancel your account!

Desired Settlement: All charges for the last 2 months refunded. All future charges immediately stop. My account immediately cancelled. My bank account information completely erased from the billing system. All personal information and business information to be wiped out from their system.

Business Response: Hello,
this merchant contacted us on 9/12 to close his account.  He signed his cancellation form on 9/12 and his was closed on 9/12.  We emailed him on 9/13 to let him know we were having his account closed.

The merchant's account was open during the month of September and he was properly billed for September's fees within the first few days of October. There were no refunds discussed or promised. We will issue him a courtesy refund of $80 even though he was billed correctly.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/20/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was recommended by a Credit Card broker to switch to Beacon that they were a better company than Transtec. I filled out an application for it but have not heard back from Randy (the Credit Card broker that recommended the switch) or Beacon since then. Today I received an invoice stating that I was being billed $40. I've never received any service from Beacon and have never spoke with them, so this bill is invalid. There is also nothing about how they expect me to pay this $40. I called the phone number on this and a machine answered but hung up on me. I called back but the machine hung up on me again. Once again I've never received anything from Beacon about this service other than this statement of charges.

Desired Settlement: Of course this $40 charge needs to be dropped. Also I am pretty sure that I do not want to do business with a company that would charge me for services like this when I haven't even heard from them and didn't know if my application had even been received. Especially when they have a customer service machine that only hangs up on me. Beacon must cancel the application process. I will not be doing business with them.

Business Response: We apologize for any inconvenience our customer had which led him to file a complaint with the BBB. After receiving his first statement Mr. ******* reached out to us and informed us he would not be using our service because his previous processor was going to charge him a hefty fee to terminate his account. We closed his account and waived all fees related to his account upon receiving his request.  All of this was done within 48 hours. Please note we were proactive in resolving this prior to being contacted by the BBB and did so unaware Mr. ******* had escalated his complaint. Our company policy is to handle every situation with integrity. This processing account was closed immediately upon Mr. *******’s request.  The $40 fee was refunded.  I called the customer service phone number myself and was connected to a customer service representative in less than 2 minutes.

Consumer Response: I am very satisfied with Beacon's response to this complaint.  My reporting of this problem was perhaps too hasty.  I very much appreciate Beacon working with me and as I have told them, if the opportunity to sign up with a different company for credit card processing comes up, they will be the first ones I will call.  On the other hand the previous company, Transtec, has been a huge problem and very unethical.
Regards,

******** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1