Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

American Consumer Credit Counseling (ACCC) is a non-profit 501(c)3 organization. The business offers credit counseling, debt management and finacial education to consumers nationwide.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that American Consumer Credit Counseling, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for American Consumer Credit Counseling, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

11 Customer Reviews on American Consumer Credit Counseling, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 10
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 11

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 19, 2007 Business started: 01/01/1991 in MA Business incorporated 09/17/1992 in MA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Massachusetts Division of Professional Licensure
1000 Washington Street, Suite 710, Boston MA 02118
http://www.mass.gov/ocabr/government/oca-agencies/dpl-lp/
Phone Number: (617) 727-3074 or TTY: (617) 727-2099
Fax Number: (617) 727-1944
The number is 913275.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Donna M. Conley, Vice President Mr. Steven R. Trumble, CEO Ms. Tracey Macomber, Quality Assurance Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Donna M. Conley, Vice President
Customer Contact: Ms. Tracey Macomber, Quality Assurance Manager
Principal: Mr. Steven R. Trumble, CEO
Number of Employees

150

Business Category

CREDIT & DEBT COUNSELING SERVICES All Other Nondepository Credit Intermediation (NAICS: 522298)

Hours of Operation
M: 9:00 AM - 11:30 PM
T: 9:00 AM - 11:30 PM
W: 9:00 AM - 11:30 PM
Th: 9:00 AM - 11:30 PM
F: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
S: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Su: Closed
Method(s) of Payment
Personal Check
Cashiers Check
Money Order
Automatic Bank Withdrawal
Service Area
American Consumer Credit Counseling, Inc. provides their services in ALABAMA, ALASKA, ARIZONA, ARKANSAS, CALIFORNIA, COLORADO, CONNECTICUT, DELAWARE, DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA, FLORIDA, GEORGIA, HAWAII, IDAHO, ILLINOIS, INDIANA, IOWA, KANSAS, KENTUCKY, LOUISIANA, MAINE, MARYLAND, MASSACHUSETTS, MICHIGAN, MINNESOTA, MISSISSIPPI, MISSOURI, MONTANA, NEBRASKA, NEVADA, NEW HAMPSHIRE, NEW JERSEY, NEW MEXICO, NEW YORK, NORTH CAROLINA, NORTH DAKOTA, OHIO, OKLAHOMA, OREGON, PENNSYLVANIA, PUERTO RICO, RHODE ISLAND, SOUTH CAROLINA, SOUTH DAKOTA, TENNESSEE, TEXAS, UTAH, VERMONT, VIRGINIA, WASHINGTON, WEST VIRGINIA, WISCONSIN, WYOMING.
Alternate Business Names
ACCC
BBB Program Participation

BBB Community Patrons
BBB Community Patrons are like-minded businesses that see ethics as the key factor in creating a stronger, healthier business community.

BBB Community Patrons' additional financial support enables BBB to pursue distinctive, mission-based programs focused on ethics that would not be possible if not for the generous backing from BBB Community Patron Sponsors.

Licensing

As a non-profit financial education and credit counseling organization, ACCC is mandated to comply with all state and federal laws. In order to conduct business as a legal entity, ACCC must have a Certificate of Authority to do business within a state. ACCC has attained a Certificate of Authority in all 50 states as issued by the Secretary of State including the District of Columbia. ACCC is licensed in every state where it is required.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

American Consumer Credit Counseling, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 130 Rumford Ave
    Ste 202

    Auburndale, MA 02466 (800) 769-3571

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: As per my part of an agreement under Florida law regarding 60 day deferment of a small loan, I sought a credit counselling session with this company on 10/06/2015. The credit counselor I spoke to was very polite, courteous, and professional. I spent about 20 minutes on the phone with this credit counselling session, and after completion the counselor directed me to log in into the company's website for documentation regarding the session. A 26 page packet was provided with a budget plan and several other items in regards to the counselling session, but did not include the date I called or the name of the counselor I spoke to. I contacted the company in order to try and obtain this additional piece of documentation in order to fulfill my requirement of completing a credit counselling session, and was told that the 26 page packet was automatically generated and that they could not issue any other documentation regarding the session. It seems utterly ridiculous on its face that this company which could take my given personal information to do things such as run a soft credit check and provide me with a budget plan after a half hour counselling session cannot add two small pieces of information already in their system to a letter with their official letterhead and email it to me. I am not asking them to verify anything illegal or untrue with this piece of documentation, just to confirm for a 3rd party that I did intend have a required counselling session and with whom I had it on what date It seems like poor customer service in general.

Desired Settlement: I wish for this company to resolve this issue by providing me with the documentation that this credit counselling session did occur, who it occurred with, and on what date.

Business Response: The client was contacted immediately and we provided the needed information for which he was grateful.  Although this was an unfamiliar request to the counselor, the issue should have been escalated to someone in management.  ACCC will always strive to work with clients to accommodate their needs when it is something within our power.  Moving forward, all counselors have been advised of the proper way to handle client requests when there is no specific process in place.  All complaints can be escalated to the Quality Assurance Manager if the client is not satisfied.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #********. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved.  Regards, ****** *******

4/12/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I enrolled into American Consumer Credit Counseling in November of 2011. I had 2 credit cards of my own enrolled and my ex had several of his enrolled. We were both on the same account. When my ex and I had split accounts. I still had my 2 credit cards on my account. I had a ******** card with 6.99% interest and then I had my *** **** card with 0% interest. I was told that ******** would not come down with their interest rate. I have checked my American Consumer Credit Counseling account every month along with my ******** account with *******'s credit card and ******** account. My ******** account matched up perfectly with my ACCC account. My ******* account never matched up with my ACCC account. I had called ACCC about this and they had directed me to call ********. ******** had shown that I had a 22.90% rate where ACCC was showing 0%. ******** had told me that my account was closed and that ACCC had taken over the account... which I knew because I had sought out ACCC for financial help. I have been counting down the months for the past year because I could not wait to make my final payment in April 2015 to ACCC. When I logged into my ACCC account today, it says that I have an ESTIMATED balance of $1,043 with an interest rate of 11.45%. I called ACCC TWICE today. I was told that ******** doesn't give an immediate rate (whatever that means) and that their system just updated and this is my balance. I asked why is their system is just NOW updating? After 3 years of me being a client? The guy told me to call ********. So I did. ******** told me that I have to deal with my ACCC . The second time I called ACCC the lady hung up on me. Then... ******** from ACCC called me and said that she had a message for her to call me because they lost contact with me and called me back and left a message (which they never called or left a message). I explained to ******** what was going on and she said, "well, once we have an account that is coming close to payoff"... they send a request to the creditor for an accurate balance and interest rate. I want to know why ACCC let me believe that my interest rate was 0% for 3 years and 4 months! If I would have known that I did NOT have a 0% interest rate... I would have NEVER continued to make the minimum payment!

Desired Settlement: I want my account to reflect what it did last month. It is absurd that I have spent the last 3 years thinking that my account would be paid off in April of 2015 based off of the interest rate they had given me. And now... it's March 2015 and I am told that it was a mistake in their system. If I would have known this... I would have transferred my balance to a 0% interest card and kept rolling it on to other 0% interest cards until it was paid off.

Business Response:

ACCC is working directly with this client to help resolve her issue and the client has agreed to a goodwill gesture as a proposed solution. 

To address issues mentioned in the complaint, attached is the client’s original paperwork dated 11/16/2011 that indicates the interest rate on her ******* account “VARIES” and that the creditor provides a “credit of 25% or 50% on the finance charge.”  In this case the client received a 50% rebate of her interest, essentially cutting her 22.9% interest rate in half, which is a substantial benefit offered through ACCC’s program.  The customer service records show that once the client’s call was disconnected, a return call was made, and then a supervisor proactively called to follow-up.

ACCC does it’s best to maintain accurate records for our clients. Some of the data in our system is provided to us directly from the client’s creditors during the proposal process.  In this case, the electronic file sent from the creditor indicated a 0 in the interest rate field, which was reflected in our system.  However, that was a reporting error by the creditor.  The client called us on February 13, 2013 and the client was informed again (in a recorded call) that the creditor statement will always have the correct balance and that the interest reduction is shown as a partial credit on the finance charges each month.  On our Statement of Accounts and on our website, we clearly indicate that the balance is only an estimate and clients must monitor their creditor statements for accurate balances.  If there is a discrepancy, ACCC will research the issue to ensure the client is receiving the correct benefits.

Per the client’s request to have her balance lowered, there is no way for ACCC, or any other agency, to make a creditor waive a valid balance on an account.  We will continue to monitor the progress of the client’s account to ensure she is receiving the benefits of the program.

2/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I began with ACCC in February 2012, my client ID#****** to pay a delinquent credit card. This entire time I have not heard a word and the payments have come out every month (I have never missed a payment). I called them on January 12, 2015 to get the pay off amount. The first person I spoke with stated "it's around 1500.00 they don't tell us anything". I called back several times, I spoke with "********* " and she called a few management companies with me on the line, one place was ****** with **** and ****** who had no information. ********* was going to disconnect with them and stated if we got disconnected she would call me right back, that didn't happen so I called back again and got another person who could not tell me where my payments were being sent. I find this to be very disturbing and as of this writing I have not been contacted by anyone. I thought by dis enrolling someone would contact me but they have not. I just want to pay this off.

Business Response: ACCC worked directly with this client to help her resolve her issues with the third-party creditor.  All payments made through ACCC were distributed to her creditor, a collection agency, which we were able to confirm for the client.  Apparently, the collection agency transferred the client’s account back to the original creditor without notifying the client or ACCC.  Although the client is no longer active with ACCC, we were able to help her locate the account and obtain a valid payment address to complete her final debt payment. The client understands that ACCC had no control over this situation and stated that she was grateful for ACCC’s assistance with this matter.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #********. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved.  Regards, ******* *****

2/8/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I spoke with ACCC to get some information regarding credit counseling and what options I may have. The representative explained the options, one of which he stated he would send the documentation for me to sign before starting the process. However, he would contact ******** to get them started, as their processing time is long. It was understood I would need to talk this over with my husband before I commit to anything, and the representative assured me that nothing would happen unless I signed and returned that paperwork. ACCC charged my bank account $608, then $38, I placed on stop on both charges as they are fraudulent. I never agreed to work with ACCC as I never signed the contract. They sent letters to all my creditors closing my credit accounts, and tried to charge me a ridiculous amount of money, over withdrawing my account by $411. After contacting ACCC they stated that they don't wait for the signed contract as a lot of their customers "forget" to sign and return the contract. They would refund the $608 once I proved they charged my account, which I did. They did not refund the amount, the stop payment through **** ** ******* didn't allow the $608 to go through. In speaking with other representatives from ACCC they stated they did nothing wrong as they had a verbal agreement with me. They did not, as it was stated in the call, nothing would happen until I returned the signed document. They fraudulently charged my bank account, closed all my credit accounts, which are now giving me a hard time getting them reopened. This is hurting my credit substantially and ACCC does not care.

Desired Settlement: I would like ACCC to reimburse me for the damages incurred to my bank account over withdrawal of $35 dollars in bank fee's. I would like ACCC to send letters to me, my creditors, stating that I am not enrolled in any credit/debt management program, send a letter to the three reporting credit bureaus stating the same, and reimbursement of my time and energy undoing what they wrong fully did. I have to spend hours on the phone with the credit card companies, write letters to request my accounts be reopened and I've taken a hit on my credit report and thus FICO scores. ACCC has all but ruined my financially, when I was just researching options. I decided not to use ACCC because I did not want my credit debt handled in a way where I was not paying the amounts I actually owed. I want to pay my debts down myself, as I accrued it. Working with a credit counceling agency hurts your credit. My ultimate goal is to get my debt paid down and get my credit score up. I've never been late on a payment. ACCC needs to make this right.

Business Response: We regret that this client did not believe there was value in the debt management program, which has helped thousands of consumers to repay their debt in full and reestablish their credit.  ACCC will work with the client to ensure that we come to a satisfactory resolution.  We apologize that the client’s complaint did not receive a single call resolution which s the goal at ACCC.  We would like to clarify a few points, as we believe it does a disservice to ACCC and to the industry in general. Regarding the client’s comment that she did not want a solution that did not pay what she actually owed: Debt Management Plans that are offered through non-profit credit counseling agencies like ACCC are designed to pay the full amount owed to your creditors.  (This is very different than Debt Settlement companies whose programs are designed to pay less than the full balance, will negatively impact your credit, and may result in a tax obligation.) Regarding the statement that working with a credit counseling agency hurts your credit:  it was explained to the client that initially there may be a drop in your credit simply because you are closing your accounts. However, by making regular payments in a Debt Management Program and reducing your overall debt, your credit score will likely improve over time.  So, working with a Credit Counseling agency to pay off your debt is a good solution for many consumers. A verbal contract does in fact authorize an agency to withdraw your first payment and this information was conveyed in detail during the call.  The client provided her bank account information, chose the date for withdrawal and agreed to the amount of the payment.  It is important to note that clients can contact ACCC at any time to cancel the program without penalty.  Unfortunately, the client did not contact us prior to the date of the payment draft. As ACCC records every call for quality assurance, we were able to review this particular call to address the complaint.  Upon review of the call, the ACCC counselor did provide accurate information to the client. The client was informed of the exact dates when her creditors would be contacted and her payment withdrawn and she verbally acknowledged that information. The enrollment fee of $39 and her first payment of $608 was drafted on the agreed upon date.  Only $20 of the $608 payment was an ACCC fee.   The remaining funds were to be disbursed directly to her creditors.  ACCC is widely recognized for having one of the lowest fee structures in the industry. We did not refuse to refund the client’s money.  As the client stated in her complaint, she put a stop payment on the funds, therefore ACCC never received the funds.  ACCC is currently working directly with this client and her creditors to resolve the matter.  Since the client placed a stop payment on the funds, ACCC did not ever receive her funds.  However, as a courtesy, we covered her $35 overdraft fee.  We are confident the matter will be settled very shortly. ACCC worked with the client to ensure that all her accounts were successfully reopened and returned to original status.  The client indicated that she is very satisfied with the result and will update the BBB accordingly.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

11 Customer Reviews on American Consumer Credit Counseling, Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart