Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

National EMS Institute, Inc.

Phone: (800) 497-6732 Fax: (508) 436-4730 90 Main St, Carver, MA 02330 http://www.rapidsafety.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

NATIONAL EMS INSTITUTE offers training programs to prepare students for the DOT and OEMS curriculum, and to prepare students to enter the EMS workforce through training and academic support.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that National EMS Institute, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for National EMS Institute, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

8 Customer Reviews on National EMS Institute, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 5
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 8

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 23, 2009 Business started: 01/01/2001 in MA Business incorporated 04/01/2010 in MA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Massachusetts Executive Office of Health & Human Services
One Ashburton Place, Boston MA 02108
http://www.mass.gov/eohhs/
Phone Number: 617-573-1600
Fax Number: 617-727-5134
The number is E862464.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mark E Cohenno , President Mrs. Melisssa White Jr., Vice- President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark E Cohenno , President
Principal: Mrs. Melisssa White Jr., Vice- President
Number of Employees

3

Business Category

CPR TRAINING & CERTIFICATION ADULT & CONTINUING EDUCATION All Other Miscellaneous Ambulatory Health Care Services (NAICS: 621999)

Products & Services

National EMS Institute, Inc. sells the following brand(s): National EMS Institute

National EMS Institute, Inc. offers the following product(s): AED sales, CPR training, EMT training

Hours of Operation
M: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
T: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
W: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Th: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
F: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
S: Closed
Su: Closed
Method(s) of Payment
Cash
Check
MasterCard
Visa
American Express
Discover
Refund and Exchange Policy
The business states please check their website for refund information.
Service Area
National EMS Institute, Inc. provides their services in MASSACHUSETTS.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

National EMS Institute, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/8/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called regarding enrolling in a 16 day intensive EMT training course with National EMT Training Service. I talked to ******** at their front desk who was in charge of scheduling people for the course. I made ******** aware that I would be missing three days and would have to make them up after the fact. ******** had to get approval from her superior as to me being able to miss the days and still continue with the course. After ******** got the information from her superior, she said that I would be able to complete the course. Only after I got the guarantee that my deposit would be honored, was I willing to spend the $250. I emailed my instructor for the course, ****** ***** regarding what chapter in the book I should be up to on 12/22/15. This was six days before I was scheduled to attend the course. ****** did not reply to my email, even though I had him confirm later that I had his correct email address. Based on the conversations I had personally guaranteeing that I would be able to attend this course, I drove to the Carver location and prepared to attend the class. When I arrived I was told by ******** that their commitment to allowing me to attend the course would not be honored, and that I would not be able to get a refund. I then asked for the Vice-president, ******* *****, to explain to her the circumstances and how I was deliberately misled. ******* reiterated what ******** had said, despite me showing her the email to my instructor that was left unanswered. I asked *******, "What did I do wrong in this situation" to which she couldn't answer. ******* then said that they would keep the $250 regardless and the only course of action I would have is to pay another $50 to get the money transferred to another course. I then asked for **** E. *******, the owner. Upon introduction, ****; who had been caught up to the situation by *******, asked whom I had spoken to initially. ******** then said "Sorry, that was me. I was the one who told him, but I got approval from my superior." **** re-iterated that they would be keeping the $250. He said that even though they misled me on the phone, I was not entitled to a refund, nor would they wave the $50 fee to have my deposit transferred. **** then had ****** ***** come to me and explain that the course was too far advanced to join at this point, and that I was misled when I was told that it would be possible. I then showed him the email, and had him confirm that the email address I had sent my message to was his. ****** confirmed that the email address was in fact his. Given the facts of the case, I asked him if he could justify keeping my money, even though I was lied to? He could not answer. I then asked him if he could write down the reason why I was not getting a refund and then sign his name. He refused and instead brought up the website policy regarding returns. This policy does not cover goods or services that had fraudulently been acquired.

Desired Settlement: I want my deposit to be refunded, given that it was taken from me under false pretenses. I also want the issue to be addressed and resolved to ensure that It does not happen again.

Business Response: 12/14/2015 - Mr. ***** ******* did enroll into our 16 day program starting on 12/21/2015. However there was never any correspondence between ******** and himself regarding missing three nine hour days when the program is only 16 days long. I myself have listened to the recorded phone lines for such information but could not reveal such claim, nor would a long time employee ever have agreed to such terms as a 100% attendance is mandatory for all Massachusetts EMT programs.12/21/2015 - Mr. ******* never showed up on 12/21/2015 but was called several times to see if he was coming to the course but Mr. ******* never answered the phone or called us back. 12/28/2015 Mr. ******* showed up at 9am for class and was told that he would not be allowed into this course due to the time he had missed in the course, he did at that time talk to the BLS Director ****** ***** to see if there was anyway to work this out and Mr. ***** said because you have already missed 27 hours of a 140 hour course that he thought it would be best to transfer into the next boot camp. I myself (**** *******, President) did speek to Mr. ******* but he never mentioned that he wanted his $250.00 back because we would not let him into the course. He did however ask for the transfer fee to be waived and we granted a $50.00 transfer due to the lack of funds he said he had because he was joining the Peace Corps. At this time he became irate and said that he no longer to talk to me and walked out of my building only to come back in and threaten going to the BBB. During enrollment and the application that was filled out he signed the following:The total fee is due in full by the first day of class. The application fee and the initial deposit are nonrefundable and must accompany the application when applying for a seat in our program. Deposit MUST be in the form of a credit card, cash, or money order. PERSONAL CHECKS ARE NOT ACCEPTED.NO EXCEPTIONS. A total of $250.00 is required to hold your seat. Seats are filled in the order that deposits are received. It is important you return your application/deposit as soon as possible. Your Healthcare CPR fee is included in total fee and is non refundable. State and National certification fee's are not included in the total fee and are the responsibility of the student. I understand and agree that I am entering an EMT training program sponsored by National EMS Institute Inc. I agree to pay tuition of $975 for the scheduled Fast Track course, the scheduled Boot Camp rate for this course, or the scheduled Hybrid/Online rate for this course, and realize that submission of this application and no-refundable fees commits me financially to a position in the program. This is evidenced by my signature on this date. I accept total full responsibility for payment for the program regardless of my status in the program.

2/17/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: There were two significant misrepresentations on the website for this company. One was that the 18 day EMT bootcamp was an 18 day program. I accordingly calculated hotel costs and associated living expenses based on this figure. However, once I had paid the registration fee, they revealed that in fact, with holidays and weekends, the program would in fact last closer to 30 days, which shifted the financial calculus. In addition, the company stated that shuttle service was available upon request. What they completely neglected to mention was that this would cost 800 dollars. These two costs were enough for me to withdraw from the program. I still paid significant amounts of money prior to that point, and I would like that money reimbursed.

Desired Settlement: I would be satisfied if the money that I spent on the materials and on the registration was refunded to me. I spent approximately 100 dollars on uniforms, 100 dollars on the textbook, and 250 dollars on registration fees.

Business Response: There are a number of reasons that it is not a valid complaint. 1- If you go straight to our website, it states clearly in numerous places that our 18 day program is a Monday through Fridaycourse. It also shows the beginning and end dates of each program in numerous places. Anyone who goes to our website, can see that clearly.2- The shuttle service is again on the website and clearly says that you have to call for pricing, so obviously its not free. I have emails from Mr . ***** that shows how he is attempting to get his own transportation and never asked about the shuttle service. 3- Our refund policy is also clearly stated on the application as well as the procedure for withdrawing from the course. Mr ***** only paid the $250 deposit and the $250 deposit is nonrefundable which is also clearly stated on the application that he filled out. We spend a significant time making sure that we communicate with students and potential students to make sure they know of every aspect of the course. We aren't in business to fool people, we are in business to educate and train quality EMT's. We have students come from every part of the country who don't have these problems. Just in this 18 day program alone, we have students who travelled from Iowa, Florida,  and Connecticut just to name a few of the students.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #********. Please add your rejection comments below.  First of all, the website has changed since I initially signed up for the service. Now, the dates are clearly delineated. However before, I only learned of the dates of this "18" day program through the acceptance package which was after paying the deposit. Secondly, while they may have changed the phrasing, it did not say call for pricing until I got the pamphelet. Until then, it said shuttle service available upon request, which does not imply a cost, let alone a very significant one such as 800$. Finally, I put more money than just the deposit, the money spent for the uniform which was never actually used. They have lost no money for the money spent on materials. At the very least, they could refund that. Regards, ****** *****  

Business Response: We take pride on giving our students information about the courses in advance and recommend early enrollment to our students to ensure their seat is reserved for the program. Our schedule is listed in 3 different places on our website with beginning and end dates, pricing, location of the program, and seats available. We have never had a course listed without an end date on our website. We understand that transportation and accommodations can become costly but we explain the costs to potential students when they contact us. We have a "Frequently asked questions" section of our website on the EMT Boot Camp (Become an EMT in 18 days page) directly below the schedule. In this section it states:1.) Q: Does National EMS Institute Inc. offer Housing to Students?A: Yes, National EMS Institute Inc. is able to offer discounted rates with alocal hotel in the area, since most of our students are from out of state.Housing is available on a First come, First Serve basis. Contact our HousingDirector, ******* ************** for pricing information.2.)Q: Do you have a shuttle service? A: YES National EMS Institute does have a shuttle service available, Call forPricing. Want to drive yourself? We also have contracted rates for rental cars.This information has not changed since our application was created on January22nd, 2013.On our websites application in the refund policy (https://www.rapidsafety.com/index.php/medical-transportation-student-application)It states "Refund Policy: Full payment is required by the start of thefirst class. Your application fee, initial deposit, and CPR certification feeare non refundable. Withdrawals from the program prior to course start datemust be made in writing and sent by certified mail. 1. A student will receive:     a. 100% refund up to 14 days prior to first classdate.     b. 50% refund up to 7 days prior to first classdate.     c. There is no refund 6 days before first classdate.Refunds will be returned within 30 days from first class date. The Application fee ($250) is non-refundable. ****** ***** never sent a certified letter of withdrawal from our program. These are terms he agreed to in our application process. Mr. ***** was in contact with a Customer Service Representative via email regarding the end date of the course. She explained that the Mr. ***** has emailed one of our customer service representatives about the end date of thecourse where our representative explained that the course would end on December 2nd because of the days off for the holiday. We have many students who travel distances to our programs and we adjust the class schedule around the holidays so they can travel home to be with their families. This also allows our staff the days off for the same reasons.  The email sent regarding the end date of the program was sent on September 3rd to ******. As of September 30th he was still in contact with our customer service representative asking if there was public transportation from Boston to Carver. The end date didn't appear to be an issue in his emails over those 27 days. Our online store does have a no refund policy which is clearly stated at the top of this page, again, this information has not changed. The no refund notice can be seen (http://neistudentstore.bigcartel.com) Mr. ***** did order a uniform totaling $101.93, however, there is no order for a $100 book. He only ordered uniform polo shirts, student tools kit, and a belt. Usually we hold the student uniforms at our campus until they arrive. Where ****** did not ever arrive to take our program we are more than willing to ship him his ordered items, however, company policy does not allow a refund. We would need the address he would like them sent to.We did not mislead this person in any way possible. We train over 450 students yearly in our EMT programs and this is the first complaint regarding information not being provided on our end. We make sure our website is up to date and correct weekly. The only information that changes is course dates, ONLY WHEN, adding a new course. We also will add buttons as seen on the website on the homepage with upcoming courses, the clickable scrolling pictures at the top of our page, and adding new courses mostly continuing education programs for current EMT's. These changes are made only for accessibility for potential students. We wouldn't have anyone in our programs if the information wasn't provided. If the student felt as if he didn't have all of the information for the course he could have waited to enroll and contacted with any additional questions. We have a live chat feature on our website, multiple phone lines, an overnight answering service that the student could have spoken with a real person and left their information or questions, and there are email addresses listed on the website that the student could have contacted if there was anissue or concern. Our no return policies have been in effect for 13 years. This policy is non-negotiable. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused Mr. *****, but they are clearly stated on our website. If he were to speak with anemployee over the phone or live chat feature, they would be able to explain this as well. We have document copies of Mr. *****’s application with agreement, the stated emails (above), and his uniform order #YAAD-809891 of $101.93. These documents can be provided to the Better Business Bureau if needed.  


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

8 Customer Reviews on National EMS Institute, Inc.
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart