BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Eastern Massachusetts, Maine, Rhode Island and Vermont
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are You the Business Owner of 911 Programs?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This Business is not BBB accredited

911 Programs

Additional Locations

Phone: (401) 773-7716 Fax: (401) 789-5487 555 Jefferson Boulevard, Warwick, RI 02886 http://www.911programs.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

The business 911 Programs specializes in training and certification for health careers including but not limited to Phlebotomy Technicians, Ekg Technicians, CNA, Nursing Assistants, CPR, Billing and Coding Specialists, EMT Basic, Emt Cardiac, EMS  and Patient Care Technicians.  

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for 911 Programs include:

  • Length of time business has been operating

Factors that raised the rating for 911 Programs include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

5 Customer Reviews on 911 Programs
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 5

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 18, 2012 Business started: 01/01/2012 in RI Business incorporated: 01/01/2012 in RI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Rhode Island Department of Health
3 Capitol Hill, Providence RI 02908
http://www.health.ri.gov
Phone Number: (401) 222-5960
The license number is 05453.

Rhode Island Department of Health
3 Capitol Hill, Providence RI 02908
http://www.health.ri.gov
Phone Number: (401) 222-5960
The license number is IC/EMT09946.

Type of Entity

S Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Valerie Howe, Vice President Mr. William Howe, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Valerie Howe, Vice President
Principal: Mr. William Howe, President
Number of Employees

2

Business Category

CPR TRAINING & CERTIFICATION ELECTROCARDIOGRAM TRAINING PHLEBOTOMY TRAINING & CERTIFICATION All Other Miscellaneous Ambulatory Health Care Services (NAICS: 621999)

Method(s) of Payment
Cash
Personal Check
Business Check
Cashiers Check
Money Order
PayPal
Service Area
911 Programs provides their services in CONNECTICUT , MASSACHUSETTS & RHODE ISLAND.
Licensing

911 Programs also Holds Certificates through the National Healthcare Association as a Billing and Coding Specialist, EKG Technician, Patient Care Technician, and Phlebotomy Technician.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

911 Programs has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    175 Metro Center Blvd Ste 1

    Warwick, RI 02886

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    555 Jefferson Boulevard

    Warwick, RI 02886 (401) 773-7716

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I attended the Phlebotomy Program at their school, while in my clinical rotation i asked if 100 draws would be sufficient and was told that it would be more then enough.I was at a site that was very very slow and was not making very many draws i was asked to be placed at another site and was told that i would be fine and not to worry, I just recently attempted to go to a job interview for my field and was told that in order to be hired anywhere in my field i would need to obtain another 100-140 draws. I was misinformed by my school which is now causing me to loose out on job opportunities i have tried contacting my school on a few occasions about this issue as well as others and have not received any returned calls or emails.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be immediately placed in another clinical rotation to obtain the necessary requirements for my certification.

Business Response: To whom it may concern.  Thank you for the opportunity to respond to this complaint.  I would like to address the complaints one at a time.

1. "I asked if 100 draws would be sufficient and was told that it would be more than enough. I was at a site that was very slow and was not making very many draws i was asked to be placed at another site and was told that i would be fine and not to worry"The required successful venipunctures for National Certification is 30 but 911Programs prefers a minimum of 100 to demonstrate competency.  The complainant was placed at our main training hospital where 70% of our students are placed--all successfully.  She contacted the clinical coordinator one week into clinical concerned that she would not obtain the minimal sticks and requested a site relocation.   The minimal expectations above were reviewed with the student and she was advised to continue with her current site.  The first week of clinical is always less productive because students have to complete site training.  She was in fact told not to worry because both the clinical preceptor and myself were confident that she would meet the expectations by the end of her rotation--which she ultimately did.  I have never had a student leave this hospital with less than required.  She was reminded that as long as she obtained a minimum of 100 and demonstrated competency, she would be all set to graduate.  The words used were "all set" not "more than enough"  I would be happy to share our email conversations if necessary in a non public forum.

2. "I just recently attempted to go to a job interview for my field and was told that in order to be hired anywhere in my field i would need to obtain another 100-140 draws.(240 total) "No school or training program has control over hiring requirements for any particular site.    Our program  curriculum already exceeds the national standards.   We are very proud of the job acquisition rate of many of our graduates. In order to protect the privacy and reputation of the complainant, I do not wish to address this particular accusation any further.

3. " I was misinformed by my school which is now causing me to lose out onjob opportunities "The clinical requirements and the clinical policy is reviewed in detail during orientation and the complainant signed receipt and understanding prior to the first day of class.  I am unclear as to what misinformation was given to this graduate by the school.  The requirements are also noted on the top of the clinical documentation form.  We have many new graduates who have obtained employment within a few months of certification--many of whom were hired by the same lab the complainant interviewed with.  In order to protect the privacy of the complainant, I cannot share school and clinical performance documentation that may shed more light on this concern.  The complainants job search difficulties are not due in any way to the schools failure to provide adequate training in accordance with a Nationally recognized program.  In order to protect the privacy and public reputation of the complainant, I do not wish to address thisparticular accusation publicly with any further information.

4.  "I have tried contacting my school on a few occasions about this issue as well as others and have not received any returned calls or emails."  The timeline for the complainants first concern to the office during her clinical rotation as noted above was as follows:   4/19/13:  Email from complainant expressing concerns regarding the ability to acquire enough sticks to graduate   4/20/13:  Clinical Coordinator Response   4/20/13:  Complainants reply   4/21/13:  Clinical Coordinators Response/ Resolution  I believe this documented timeline of responses is too the contrary(DOCUMENTATION CAN BE PROVIDED IF NEEDED) The timeline for the complainants most recent concerns withdetails is as follows:   8/19/13:  Complainant came to the school and met with theClinical Coordinator Asst. at which time she requested EXTRA clinical experience   8/20/13:  Complainant called and left voice mail regardingthe same request.   8/21/13:  Clinical coordinator responded:  Graduate wasinformed that although it is usually difficult to arrange EXTRA externship experience because the rotations are filled with  current students, we might be able to squeeze her in to a potentially vacated spot by a student who was injured and unable to report.  She expressed gratitude. 

Please  note that this complainant had already graduated and successfully completed the National Certification Examination.  Also note that the school was under no obligation to extend this courtesy and was doing so in an effort to help.  When able, we do not hesitate to go above and beyond.  This potential opportunity did not pan out for reasons which I would prefer not to divulge in a public forum in order to protect the privacy and reputation of the complainant.Once again, I believe this documented timeline is reasonable and clearly contradicts the graduates statement that the school did not respond.  This complaint is unfounded. (DOCUMENTATION CAN BE PROVIDED IF NEEDED)Upon notification of the graduates BBB complaint, 911Programs contacted the graduate and requested a  to discuss her concerns, to review our policies and obligations and to hopefully dissolve the unrealisticexpectations.   

On Sept 10th, the complainant, accompanied by a family member, met with school administration.  During this time, we reviewed once again the policies of the school as well as the fact surrounding the programs clear fulfillment of our obligations to provide a qualityphlebotomy program which prepared and qualified this graduate with the ability to successfully pass the National Certification examination.  No promises or guarantees were broken.  Although, the graduate acknowledged much of what I have provided in this response, I do not believe she feels it is resolved and I believe she may still hold the school responsible for her inability to receive a job offer after interview.Based on the facts surrounding this issue, 911Programs feels that these complaints are a result of unrealistic expectations on the part of the complainant.  Administration feels that it has made adequate and timely attempts to resolve these complaints and that the fault is being placed on the wrong entity. She is requesting to immediately placement in another clinical rotation to obtain the necessary requirements for her certification.  911Programs has fulfilled our obligations as set forth by our policies and proceduresas well as the curriculum standards.  The student was provided with a quality education and a Hospital internship which resulted in National Certification.  She is already Certified!We Would love to be able to control the job market and guarantee and find a job for every graduate if we could,  but that expectation is unrealistic.  We are a health career training institute and we provide the education and the resources to succeed, but we are not recruiters and cannot determine how students will interview.   It is unfortunate that the complainant has not yet received a job offer.  We wish her the best in her job search!

Sincerely,
******* ****

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved