Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

R.I. Home Improvement, Inc.

Phone: (401) 739-1000 Fax: (401) 739-1003 View Additional Phone Numbers 1815 Post Road, Warwick, RI 02886 http://www.rihi.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

R.I. Home Improvement, Inc. provides Home Improvement services including Siding, Windows, Roofing, Cabinet Refacing, Kitchens, and Bathrooms.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that R.I. Home Improvement, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for R.I. Home Improvement, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

40 Customer Reviews on R.I. Home Improvement, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 36
Neutral Experience 2
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 40

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 01, 1977 Business started: 01/01/1949 in RI Business started locally: 01/01/1949 Business incorporated 01/01/1956 in RI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Massachusetts Office of Consumer Affairs & Business Regulation
10 Park Plaza, Boston MA 02116
http://www.mass.gov/ocabr/
Phone Number: (617) 973-8787/888-283-3757
Fax Number: (617) 973-8799
consumer@state.ma.us
The number is 105026.

Rhode Island Contractors Registration and Licensing Board
1 Capitol Hill, Providence RI 02908
http://www.crb.state.ri.us/contact/index.php
Phone Number: (401)-222-1268 or TDD: (401)-222-6334
Fax Number: 401-222-1940
ricrb@doa.ri.gov
The number is 6115.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Anthony Aurgemma, Co-Owner Mr. John Aurgemma, Co-Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Anthony Aurgemma, Co-Owner
Number of Employees

45

Business Category

CONTRACTORS-GENERAL RESIDENTIAL WINDOWS-WHOLESALE & MANUFACTURERS WINDOWS-REPLACEMENT WINDOWS-INSTALLATION & SALES VINYL SIDING SUNROOM & SOLARIUM DESIGN & CONSTRUCTION SIDING CONTRACTORS SHEET ROCK & BLUE BOARD-INSTALLATION & REPAIR ROOFING CONTRACTORS ROOFING CONTRACTORS - COMMERCIAL HOME IMPROVEMENTS HANDYMAN SERVICES GLASS-REPLACEMENT & REPAIR DESIGNERS-BUILDINGS CABINET REFACING BUILDING CONTRACTORS-RESIDENTIAL BASEMENT - REMODELING All Other Specialty Trade Contractors (NAICS: 238990)

Products & Services

R.I. Home Improvement, Inc. sells the following brand(s): Andersen, Bath Planet/ BCI, Certainteed, Conastoga, Crane, Exterior Portfolio, Foundry, GAF, Harvey, IKO, Interstate, Mastic, Norandex, Protec, Royal, Tamko, Wood Impressions

R.I. Home Improvement, Inc. offers the following product(s): Bathrooms, Cabinet Refacing, Exterior Siding, Kitchen Cabinet Refacing, replacement windows, Roofing, Sunrooms, vinyl siding, Windows

Method(s) of Payment
Check
Visa
MasterCard
American Express
Service Area
R.I. Home Improvement, Inc. provides their services in RHODE ISLAND.R.I. Home Improvement, Inc. provides their services in HARTFORD County CT, NEW HAVEN County CT, NEW LONDON County CT, TOLLAND County CT, WINDHAM County CT, BARNSTABLE County MA, BRISTOL County MA, ESSEX County MA, MIDDLESEX County MA, NORFOLK County MA, PLYMOUTH County MA, SUFFOLK County MA.
Alternate Business Names
Rhode Island Home Improvement RIHI
Industry Tips
27 Questions For Home Owners Building Contractors - Residential & Commercial Cabinet Makers Finding a Reliable General Contractor - 5 Tips - Video Handyman Services Hiring a Building Contractor - 5 Tips - Video Hiring a Carpenter Hiring a Contractor Hiring a Roofer Hiring a Roofer - 5 Tips - Video Hiring a Siding Contractor Hiring a Waterproofing Contractor Hiring an Excavating Contractor Hiring an Insulation Contractor Home Builders Home Improvement Home Improvement Projects - 5 Tips - Video Read Before You Sign Remodeling & Renovation Contractors Windows

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

R.I. Home Improvement, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed a contract for siding on dec. 20, 2014, they were suppose to secure financing and perform the work in 4 to 8 weeks. Talked to them on jan, 8th 2015 and provided information for financing. Did not hear anything since. Called april, 10th, and was told they left a message on march 5th, though we recieved no message, and my wife was home when they said they called. They stated the only two times they co tacted us was jan 8th, and march, 5, and they have not secured financing. Asked for $1,000 deposit back, for breach of contraxt, and was told no. They took my money and ran with it.

Desired Settlement: All I want is my money back for failure to communicate, and obtain financing

Business Response: Tell us why here..I am disheartened to read of Mr. and Mrs.  ******* correspondence, and very muchconcerned about the disconnect of communication, or misunderstanding that seemsto exist regarding the status of their financing. As a family business, with atradition of excellence for over 60 years, our customers are very important tous, and as such, an appointment was set, on my behalf, to personally meet with Mr.and Mrs. ******* on Friday, April 24, to discuss their contract with RIHI, andas always, reach an amicable solution.

1/31/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A sales rep from Rhode Island Home Improvement used high pressure sales tactics. Insinuating a deposit was needed to lock in a price of a product. The stipulation was to be a payment under a set amount per month or the deposit would be refunded. RIHI was unable to work with us and did not return phone calls. When we were able to contact the sales rep, they again tried to use high pressure tactics to keep the sale. This has been ongoing since April. Messages have been left with the companies service managers with no call back or resolution.

Desired Settlement: We are looking to have our deposit refunded in full.

Business Response: Tell us why here...On or about October 9, 2014, RIHI informed Mr. and Mrs.********, that despite its best efforts, we were unable to obtain the necessaryfinancing for them within the payment that they needed to fit their budget. Asa result, RIHI canceled the contract, and on October 14, 2014, sent Mr. andMrs. ******** their $200 deposit back.Suffice it to say, we were quite surprised to have receivedthis BBB inquiry, assuming that they received the refund check in the mail.After speaking with Mrs. ********, we came to the mutual conclusion that it mayhave been delivered to a neighbor in error.  In the interest of providing Mr. and Mrs. ********, quick,courteous, customer service, my brother, **** ********, co-president of RIHI,personally met with Mrs. ******** at our showroom in Warwick, andhand-delivered their refund.  As always, our number one priority each day, is to provideour customers with the best products and legendary service, it is what the RIHIfamily strives for each, and every day. Sincerely,*******  ********Co president- RIHI

7/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The contract was cancelled in the time required and failed to return the deposit

Desired Settlement: Return my deposit

Business Response: First and foremost, as co-president of RIHI, please accept both my personal and professional apologies, for RIHI misinterpreting your desire,and any related inconvenience that we may have caused you. As you are aware,immediately upon receiving your complaint, I called you personally and left a message on your voicemail. Subsequently, having not heard back from you, I personally drove to your home last evening to hand deliver the return of your $500 deposit, though unfortunately you were not home.  However we did make arrangements for you to come to our offices today to receive this refund.Based upon a review of the telephone call recordings and internal communications tracking, we were under the impression that you still may have wanted RIHI to complete the contract. According to our records, you indicated that you needed about two weeks to check with your bank, and also to get a quote from another window company. We didn't have a problem with this because we knew that in the end RIHI would be your choice, based on the quality of our products and the high level of service we deliver consistently. Our goal at RIHI is to not only delight our customers by providing them with a wonderful experience, but to make them life-long fans of RIHI. Suffice it to say, we were confident that you would also be a fan. We look forward to an opportunity to be of service to you in the future.  Please call me personally when you have made that decision.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

40 Customer Reviews on R.I. Home Improvement, Inc.
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart