BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Eastern Massachusetts, Maine, Rhode Island and Vermont
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of R.I. Home Improvement, Inc.?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

R.I. Home Improvement, Inc.

Phone: (401) 739-1000 Fax: (401) 739-1003 View Additional Phone Numbers 1815 Post Road, Warwick, RI 02886 http://www.rihi.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

R.I. Home Improvement, Inc. provides home improvement services including siding, windows, roofing, cabinet refacing, sun rooms and basement refinishing.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that R.I. Home Improvement, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for R.I. Home Improvement, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

36 Customer Reviews on R.I. Home Improvement, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 33
Neutral Experience 2
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 36

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 01, 1977 Business started: 01/01/1949 in RI Business started locally: 01/01/1949 Business incorporated: 01/01/1956 in RI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Massachusetts Office of Consumer Affairs & Business Regulation
10 Park Plaza, Boston MA 02116
http://www.mass.gov/ocabr/
Phone Number: (617) 973-8787/888-283-3757
Fax Number: (617) 973-8799
consumer@state.ma.us
The license number is 105026.

Rhode Island Contractors Registration and Licensing Board
1 Capitol Hill, Providence RI 02908
http://www.crb.ri.us
Phone Number: (401)-222-1268 or TDD: (401)-222-6334
Fax Number: 401-222-1940
ricrb@doa.ri.gov
The license number is 6115.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Anthony Aurgemma, Co-Owner Mr. John Aurgemma, Co-Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Anthony Aurgemma, Co-Owner
Number of Employees

45

Business Category

CONTRACTORS-GENERAL RESIDENTIAL WINDOWS-WHOLESALE & MANUFACTURERS WINDOWS-REPLACEMENT WINDOWS-INSTALLATION & SALES VINYL SIDING SUNROOM & SOLARIUM DESIGN & CONSTRUCTION SIDING CONTRACTORS SHEET ROCK & BLUE BOARD-INSTALLATION & REPAIR ROOFING CONTRACTORS ROOFING CONTRACTORS - COMMERCIAL HOME IMPROVEMENTS HANDYMAN SERVICES GLASS-REPLACEMENT & REPAIR DESIGNERS-BUILDINGS CABINET REFACING BUILDING CONTRACTORS-RESIDENTIAL BASEMENT - REMODELING All Other Specialty Trade Contractors (NAICS: 238990)

Products & Services

R.I. Home Improvement, Inc. offers the following product(s): Cabinet Refacing, replacement windows, roofing, sunrooms, vinyl siding

Method(s) of Payment
Check
Visa
MasterCard
American Express
Alternate Business Names
Rhode Island Home Improvement RIHI
Industry Tips
27 Questions For Home Owners Building Contractors - Residential & Commercial Cabinet Makers Finding a Reliable General Contractor - 5 Tips - Video Handyman Services Hiring a Building Contractor - 5 Tips - Video Hiring a Carpenter Hiring a Contractor Hiring a Roofer Hiring a Roofer - 5 Tips - Video Hiring a Siding Contractor Hiring a Waterproofing Contractor Hiring an Excavating Contractor Hiring an Insulation Contractor Home Builders Home Improvement Home Improvement Projects - 5 Tips - Video Read Before You Sign Remodeling & Renovation Contractors Windows

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

R.I. Home Improvement, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 374-4492(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The contract was cancelled in the time required and failed to return the deposit

Desired Settlement: Return my deposit

Business Response: First and foremost, as co-president of RIHI, please accept both my personal and professional apologies, for RIHI misinterpreting your desire,and any related inconvenience that we may have caused you. As you are aware,immediately upon receiving your complaint, I called you personally and left a message on your voicemail. Subsequently, having not heard back from you, I personally drove to your home last evening to hand deliver the return of your $500 deposit, though unfortunately you were not home.  However we did make arrangements for you to come to our offices today to receive this refund.Based upon a review of the telephone call recordings and internal communications tracking, we were under the impression that you still may have wanted RIHI to complete the contract. According to our records, you indicated that you needed about two weeks to check with your bank, and also to get a quote from another window company. We didn't have a problem with this because we knew that in the end RIHI would be your choice, based on the quality of our products and the high level of service we deliver consistently. Our goal at RIHI is to not only delight our customers by providing them with a wonderful experience, but to make them life-long fans of RIHI. Suffice it to say, we were confident that you would also be a fan. We look forward to an opportunity to be of service to you in the future.  Please call me personally when you have made that decision.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/31/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Recent complete window replacement (june 2012). Windows are not properly sealed outside and wind and rain enters openings and causing water damage to inner part of windows and home structure.

Desired Settlement: Business has been out several times to fix issues caused during install. I just want the windows properly sealed around the aluminum facing to keep water and air out. I did not replace all of my windows and pay $25K to make them worse. They are good windows but the install portion of the service has been poor.

Business Response: Hello, I am in reciept of the customer email from the BBB, I don't know what else to say:  Mr. *********** sent RIHI an email at 5:47 pm on 10/29/12 during the hurricane, I emailed him back approximately 12 minutes after (5:59pm) during the hurricane. Stating we would be out as soon as the weather permitted.  please see attached email. I recieved the BBB email this morning at 4:48am.  My staff was at his site at 11:14am this morning.  Prior to my staff arriving at his home earlier today I emailed him at 9:22am this morning to let him know we would be at his home between 10:30am and 11:30 am, we also called 2x and left a message prior to arriving. We arrived at his home and while we were in his driveway we attempted to contacted Mr. *********** at a secondary number my office staff was able to locate, and was able to speak with him he directed us to 1 lower window in the dining room on the right side of the home that had water coming in at the top of the window during the storm, there was a small section that had lifted up approx 1/2" not sure if the storm had popped it up and or any other vibration had done so. I did notice there had been holes cut into the side of the home from an A.C. unit.  Regardless of how it happened we resolved it.  We also stated we would be back tommorrow morning at 10:00 am. Mr. *********** wife will meet us their to service any interior work that may be needed to  the top of the window. I truely believe this type of response and service is exceptional. 

Consumer Response: First...the installation of the AC units has nothing to do with the leaking windows, they are not even in the same area as the leaking window(s) so please do not even try to make that correlation.  Second, the installation process has had issues from the start back in June.  I was worried about the sealing issue back then and was assured by the senior installer (***) that the windows would not leak.  I have attached an email chain from the original install as evidence.  I do not have an issue with the windows, they are top rated, the issue is with the installation process, it seems to need rengineering.  I do not understand the amount of attention the windows have needed given the price paid, there is a disconnect and ******* coming out so quickly is great but that does not address the issue with his installation process and sealing the windows.  It makes no sense to replace older single pain windows that never leaked water with new ones that leak.  I just want to be confident that the windows are sealed outside properly and right now my wife and I are not and are concerned other windows have the same issue and did not show it during the rain and wind.  I want to be competely up front and transparent about this and ensure everyone accepts responsibility.  *******, I tryly believe your installation process needs to be looked at, no harm there.  

Business Response: I guess I'm having a difficult time understanding our dialog yesterday.  You send me an email, I responded within minutes. Then you see fit to file a BBB claim against me. When I said I would be out ASAP. Have I ever never responded to any of your questions or concerns? Regarding the a.c.unit I mentioned only because the metal trim on the 1 window that leaked was up a small amount again I mentioned because of the wind of the hurricane or from vibration I just don't know the answer. I do know that it did not happen from nothing. Being that stated no worries we took care of it. To address your chain of emails that you forwarded each one of the items you mentioned was addressed months ago in fact no where in your emails does it speak about your concern of window leaks.  We addressed sealing of the windows when I came to your home months ago to view your concern about the screens not fitting properly. I said when we come out to fix the screens we would seal around the windows. This was the only time we addressed this. In fact when we had our team members out we adjusted the screens, sealed the trim around the windows and even fix your storm door that had nothing to do with the work we performed. I truly believed that's the relationship we built. I would also like to clear up your statement on windows leaking, yes 1 did leak in the hurricane not several as indicated. Again to reiterate I believe it popped up during the storm or some form of vibration. I would like you and whoever else may read this all you have to do is call me or send me an email like you did yesterday and we will always take care of you per our warranty.  Finally, As I stated to you when we originally met I appreciate all your comments it's how we as a company continue to grow and learn from our customers and continue to be a leader in the home improvement industry! 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #9278770.  I do believe ******* needs to do spot checks with his installs at the very least.  He puts a lot of trust in his crews to do quality work and there were issues during the install.  I am the consumer, someone ignorant to the install process at first in many ways but who quickly learns what to look for.  ******* is a standup business man but my hope is an official complaint will help in the end with his taking action to improve the install process.  

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

10/26/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A contract was signed with Rhode Island Home Improvement to overlay our roof. Throughout the sales presentation, the sales representative detailed the top quality service that RIHI's reputation has been built upon. That service was to include professional service beyond that which a typical contractor could provide, a supervisor on site during the project, and a thorough clean-up of our property upon completion. On three occasions, RIHI staff arrived at our residence in unmarked vehicles and without any identification; the first time unannounced to measure our property for proper materials ordering. It is a reasonable expectation for a company that claims to be larger and more professional than a single contractor to have at least one vehicle on site identifying the company. Instead, we saw either personal vehicles or panel vans without lettering or magnetic signage on all site visits. The first day our project began with crew members arriving in unmarked vehicles and commencing erecting ladders and throwing bundles of shingles on our roof with no knock on our door. The project manager arrived approximately 90 minutes after the crew. He did come to the door, but mainly to inform us that they would be leaving after patching the hole from our now removed chimney (coinciding boiler work) due to rain. The following day, again a crew arrived without announcing themselves. Our first indication of work was shaking ceiling fans and light fixtures at 8am. During the sales presentation, the sales representative assured us that site clean up was a primary concern on all jobs. As we have two dogs and a small child that was a powerful point. There would be a visual clean up for debris as well as a magnetic rollover to collect any metal that may have fallen. After the crew that failed to announce their arrival left our home without notice, I walked the perimeter of the house and gathered enough shingle pieces, wood shards, and nails to half fill a gallon storage bag. These pieces were large enough to be plainly seen from my 6' perspective, some measuring over 8". I also found 5 nails near where the crew had their materials delivered. All of these shortcomings prompted me to email both the sales representative as well as the president of the company whose email is listed on the BBB listing. Approximately 4 hours after sending my email I received a reply email requesting a time for the president of the company as well as his staff to visit our home to address these issues. Both presidents, both of the company's project managers, as well as workers arrived at our home at 12:30pm. They immediately apologized for our disappointment and wanted to discuss the matters with us and their staff in the same room. The project manager, who arrived unannounced and without identification the previous week, gave a fair account of the timeline for our project and our interactions. One president asked if we had met the supervisor who had been at our home. Up until this point, we were unaware a site supervisor was ever present - he had never introduced himself or knocked on our door. We were home throughout the entire project. We then began a walkthrough to search for more debris and insure that the roof had been installed to their company's standards. One president of the company accompanied me on the ground while the other climbed to our roof with a worker to check for debris and inspect the job. On his way up the ladder one president was kind enough to remove some leaves blocking a downspout. He also found several pieces of shingle and packaging in our gutters that were left by the crew. They informed us that this was not uncommon and one of the reasons for a final walkthrough after the roof has been completed. A worker also ran the magnetic roller over our property once again to ensure that no nails were missed. He found several more. The second president took the opportunity to try and sell us on having our siding and windows redone by RIHI in the future. We finally returned indoors to close our discussion and escape the rain. Again, apologizing for our disappointment in the service was the theme. We were told that the roof looked fabulous and that the company felt it had been installed correctly. We never disputed that fact. We signed a completion form indicating that we agreed the roof had been installed completely. Despite our disappointment with the service provided by RIHI, one of the president's asked us if we would be interested in providing a video testimonial for their website. We declined as we were still dissatisfied with the overall service. They felt their more than timely response with a personal visit to our home should have been service enough to satisfy us. When we reinforced that we felt we had not received the services promised by the sales representative, one of the president's actually said, "We may need to discuss having our sales representative not paint such a perfect picture. No job is going to go perfectly." The company that claims a 64 year reputation for quality products and services actually said that they would rather lower their standards being sold to customers than provide the full service they had promised us when we signed our contract. A few hours after the second clean up walkthrough (which I don't believe is standard procedure), I walked to my car parked in the street. I found 2 approximately 5 inch roofing nails and a hook blade for a utility knife in the driveway. We also discovered a black scrape on our siding that appeared to be from a shingle rubbing against it. The president of the company did provide his email, direct line, and cell number; but having him come back to pick up a few things and apologize didn't seem necessary and wasn't going to improve out opinion on the company's service.

Desired Settlement: After receiving other quotes, we chose Rhode Island Home Improvement because of their reputation for quality and service as well as their numerous options for financing. Despite their price being double that of a typical contractor their sales representative exhaustively explained their superior products that RIHI exclusively distributes, detailed the on-site service we would receive during our project, and explained the various methods for clean up, removal, and disposal of debris from job sites. We did not receive any of the services we anticipated and presumably paid for. The entire administrative staff coming to our home with extra workers failed to find all of the debris, particularly nails in the driveway that could have damaged RIHI's vehicles, our plumber's vehicle, our insulation contractor's vehicle, or our personal vehicles that I'm still not confident parking in our driveway. We believe a minimum 10% credit for the full purchase price including our deposit should be applied to the Wells Fargo credit line that RIHI facilitated opening for this project.

Business Response: I am writing with reference to complaint #9259225- ****** *****. Firstly I must say that RIHI’s utmost interest is too consistently strive toward perfection and to ensure that concerns such as Mr. *****'s are properly and expediently dealt with. I provide the following narrative to best convey this process. As I mentioned, RIHI constantly strives for perfection, when and if there's ever a customer concern, we respond immediately to assess and address all concerns whether substantive or frivolous. Upon receipt of Mr. *****'s e-mail, RIHI’s management team immediately was in contact with all individuals involved with his installation. After meeting with management staff to discuss the content of Mr. *****'s e-mail, I, as co- president of RIHI, promptly sent an e-mail to Mr. ***** to request an immediate meeting at his home along with my staff members so we could address his concerns. I also indicated to Mr. ***** that I could be at his house within one hour. We subsequently set a meeting for 12:30 PM the same day. 12:30 PM, **** ******** co president, along with me, **** *******; production manager, as well as the entire crew and their supervisor, punctually arrived at Mr. *****'s residence to address his concerns and thoroughly inspect the work that had been completed. After speaking with Mr. *****, we begin our inspection. I personally got onto the roof to perform an up-close visual inspection of the installation, and found that it looked great, incidentally, Mr. ***** agreed. I also found that a portion of gutter and downspout on his house was filled with leaves and I clean them as a courtesy, at no charge to Mr. *****. During the inspection, Mr. ***** expressing his dissatisfaction with the existing siding on his home and suggested that he planned to have it replaced in the future. **** invited Mr. ***** to visit our showroom and take a look at what RIHI has to offer, when he's ready. Regarding Mr. *****'s comment about debris left behind. There were many leaves, as well as dog feces in the rear yard, (Mr. ***** warned me about, of which, I appreciated ) maybe a few small pieces of shingles, or a few nails were missed by the magnet we use however, as Mr. ***** stated he had filled half of a 1 gallon storage bag, (one quart of debris). Recognizing the scope of the work that we did, and the leaves on the ground, one would think the clean- up was quite thorough, especially in light of the very small quantity that he actually found. When RIHI did the final inspection on October 12th, we had the crew once again run the magnet over his property to check for nails and or other debris and found virtually nothing. Mr. ***** contends that he found 2; 5 inch roofing nails in the driveway, and was concerned that his plumbers’ vehicle, or insulating contractors’ vehicle, (which were parked in the driveway) or his vehicle could have been damaged by the nails. Well, roofers don't use 5 inch roofing nails; frankly I'm not sure whether they even exist. Maybe, the nails fell from the trucks of the other two contractors in the driveway after we left the site. They certainly didn't come from RIHI, but yet, Mr. ***** complained to RIHI about them. Why? For many years, RIHI has earned its reputation by providing its customers with top-quality products and prompt courteous service; we are saddened to hear that Mr. ***** feels differently. Suffice it to say, we responded to his concerns quite expediently, the installations that he received as well as the quality of the materials are superb. At the conclusion of the final site inspection on October 12, 2012, Mr. and Mrs. ***** signed a completion certificate indicating that they were pleased with the work that had been done. Based upon the above, we respectfully request that this complaint be closed and removed from our record. Summary of Facts: October 4, 2012 Jack ******* our production manager stopped by the *****’s residence being that he was in the area, knocked on the door and introduced himself to Mrs. *****.  Job was set up to begin on October 10 2012. October 10, 2012 RIHI began job as promised, rained that day ended up just covering over chimney that was removed from plumber, Mr. ***** was told we will return to work  October 11, 2012 October 11, 2012 crew returned to home as promised work began, approximately 12:30pm **** ******** one of our managers stopped by the home. At that time **** asked Mr. ***** if he was happy, he stated yes.   Per Mr. ***** comments in claim to BBB, Mr. ***** indicated he was home all day; he left at 3pm, yes the crew left around 4:15pm he was not home. October 12, 2012 received email from Mr. *****. We were at his home within hours of email. To respond to his concerns. We also did our final walk around with Mr. ***** in order to complete the contract,  please refer to the copy of the contract were you will see  Completion Certificate by Purchaser.  The Completion Certificate was signed by both parties. Please see attached document.  Job is completed within specific time frames laid out per contract and per discussion. Please see start and completion dates highlighted on contract. Prior to me leaving I gave my direct cell number and desk top number in the event Mr. and Mrs. ***** had any questions or service related items and to please call me at any time, I stated even if he found 1 nail that may come up over time to just call me and we will right back out.   Also, upon my arrival to my office I emailed him with the same info. (Please see attached document) October 12, 2012, during my visit. Mr. ***** stated the only reason he chose our company is because we offered financing and the other company did not. Lastly, I firmly believe thru the facts, we delivered the exemplary service that RIHI has been known to deliver for many years!  It is my opinion; by trying to paint a negative picture at the end of a project to negotiate a better price is completely inappropriate.  

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # 9259225. Mr ********, I am not negotiating a better price after the work has been completed. I am filing grievance for having been sold services that were never delivered as well as unprofessional behavior from all levels of your company. Again, you failed to mention that your crew failed to announce themselves to anyone in my home before commencing work. The supervisor was unknown to me before your personal visit to my home the day after job was completed. Your sales representative made it very clear that a supervisor would be on site and in contact with us throughout the project. I also believe my comments to your representative on Thursday Oct. 11 were more along the lines of "Things look like they are moving along, but I have no idea what they are doing." The representative smiled, nodded, and asked for my signature to secure a building permit approximately 30 hours after the job was originally scheduled to begin. Again, in my line of work a professional would have secured all permits and certificates before commencing work. While it is true that your staff paid an immediate visit to our home, the tone from everyone of your staff members aside from yourself was so condescending and unhelpful that we never wanted you or your staff to return to our property for any reason. My wife actually advised me against filing this complaint as she didn't want to endure another interaction with RIHI.  We were sold professional service, a knowledgable site supervisor, and a thorough cleanup of our property. We feel that the level of professionalism was so much lower than any other contractor we interacted with that week that we are dissatisfied and feel as if we did not receive our monies worth. We were unaware that there was even a site supervisor present on our job site until you told us the day after the job was completed. We feel we did not receive our monies worth. And while there was seasonal debris and droppings from our small dogs, most of the debris I found was larger than any of those things. We did not get our monies worth for the inadequate cleanup we were sold on. I have attached 3 photos to provide visual evidence of these complaints. First is a photo of all the debris in the bag provided to RIHI on their visit in response to our initial complaint. The water bottle shows scale and clearly indicates that these were not small pieces of debris and all found easily with the naked eye shortly after the crew left our site, this included finding 5 "standard" roofing nails in the driveway. Next is a photo of damage that we presume resulted from a shingle or debris falling against our siding. And lastly, a photo of the "non-roofing" nails and hook blade utility knife that were found in our driveway after the secondary cleanup. The roofers were the only folks using nails on our job site. Cellulose insulation installers and plumbers do not often use such fasteners. While I don't know if these are RIHI's, I know they aren't mine and appear to be of a roofing type head. All of these shortcomings were expectations set by your sales representative of services to be provided. We did not establish these standards, RIHI did. We paid RIHI over $4000 more than the contractor we had planned on hiring because of these service standards being established by RIHI. RIHI did not deliver these services as promised by your representatives BEFORE the job. We are requesting compensation after the job as we could not have foreseen such a wealth of misinformation to have been included in the two and a half hour sales pitch. While you may believe you provided a satisfactory roof installation, everything that was promised to happen below the roof line was not delivered and we feel we should be compensated. Charging for services established by RIHI and not delivering is embarrassing.  

Business Response: Mr. *****, I have reviewed your response and again I find it completely misleading to the actual facts. Please see below another copy of the facts. Summary of Facts: October 4, 2012 **** ******* our production manager stopped by the *****’s residence being that he was in the area, knocked on the door and introduced himself to Mrs. *****.  Job was set up to begin on October 10 2012. October 10, 2012 RIHI began job as promised, rained that day ended up just covering over chimney that was removed from plumber, Mr. ***** was told we will return to work  October 11, 2012 October 11, 2012 crew returned to home as promised work began, approximately 12:30pm **** ******** one of our managers stopped by the home. At that time **** asked Mr. ***** if he was happy, he stated yes.   Per Mr. ***** comments in claim to BBB, Mr. ***** indicated he was home all day; he left at 3pm, yes the crew left around 4:15pm he was not home. October 12, 2012 received email from Mr. *****. We were at his home within hours of email. To respond to his concerns. We also did our final walk around with Mr. ***** in order to complete the contract,  please refer to the copy of the contract were you will see  Completion Certificate by Purchaser.  The Completion Certificate was signed by both parties. Please see attached document.  Job is completed within specific time frames laid out per contract and per discussion. Please see start and completion dates highlighted on contract. Prior to me leaving I gave my direct cell number and desk top number in the event Mr. and Mrs. ***** had any questions or service related items and to please call me at any time, I stated even if he found 1 nail that may come over time the grass that we did not see to just call me and we will right back out.   Also, upon my arrival to my office I emailed him with the same info. (Please see attached document) October 12, 2012, during my visit. Mr. ***** stated the only reason he chose our company is because we offered financing and the other company did not.   To clarify your rebuttal comment the permit was pulled on October 4, 2012; the article you had to sign on the 11th was an affidavit stating that you are the homeowner. The town does not allow the contract between company and consumer to state ownership of the property. Also the town supplied affidavit allows the contractor to do work for the consumer. Regarding the pics that you forwarded. Thank you.  One can clearly see your intentions. Even if the 2 nails you show in the pics are RIHI’s, although that are not roofing nails. Why didn’t you call me as we discussed prior to me leaving your home?  I stated please call me for anything at any time, if you find a nail etc. I will be right out for you. This was prior to your complaint. Also why did you lay out the 4 or 5 pieces  of scrap along with other items like the bee’s nest, grass, on your wall. Was it to make the debris found look bigger? (And yes we did miss those small items during our first clean up) what was your intent then?  Thursday the day we actually did your roof. Mr. *****. Along the entire installation 1 and ½ days you knew exactly when we were coming to your home that was relayed to you directly. I honestly believe we both know the truth. Mr. *****. Understanding the dialog we currently have.  I want you to know I take great pride in servicing our customers. Again, I cannot reiterate enough to please call me ASAP if there is anything service wise that needs attention.  

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #9259225.  It is quite obvious that we have quite different points of view on this matter and will not be ending this discussion with the customer feeling we've gotten what we paid for. We will have paid substantially more than an average price for less than average and unprofessional service. RIHI will have received their payment and moved on to their numerous other projects. I am closing this case with the BBB as I haven't another minute to spare debating semantics with you. Your company is a disappointment in our opinion. I will be making that known to as many people as possible through all mediums necessary. I sadly had several responses from Facebook friends who had similar experiences with RIHI window installers. Most other industries live by the maxim that the customer is always right. You and your brother have taken every opportunity to tell us how wrong we are about our own perception of our experience with RIHI; let alone insisting your version of the facts are more accurate than ours. Best of luck in the future, but I assure you that your reputation in the modern public's opinion is far from award-winning.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

9/16/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A company came to my house and gave me an estimate on my roof and windows. They told me I needed I deposit of $100 minimum, which I did. I was told that my deposit would be refunded if cancelled in three days. I cancelled in a day and a half four different ways: by fax, phone, email, and postal mail. This was in April 2012 (5 months ago). Since then I have emailed them, and called by phone numerous times to the company and to the salesman. The receptionast passed me on to another lady who said it was passed on to her supperiers for review. They have my address, email address, and telephone number and still have not contacted me.

Desired Settlement: Do not let this company get away with this with me or anyone else, and refund my deposit.

Business Response: Good Morning,

Let me start of by giving our sincerest apologies to Mr. *******. From our lastconversation with Mr. ******* we had thought he was going to apply for a towngrant and that RIHI was still a possibility to assist in the Home Improvementsfor this client. We are immediately sending back his $100.00 deposit along witha $50.00 Visa gift card for there inconvenience. Again, our apologies for the misunderstanding.

Sincerely,
******* ********

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/9/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable