Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Carpenter Home Systems

Phone: (802) 922-6913 View Additional Phone Numbers 2617 Huntington Road, Richmond, VT 05477 http://www.carpenterhomesystems.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Carpenter Home Systems specializes in Home Performance consulting and Improvements, Remodeling and Renovation. Services include Energy Consults, Stairwells built, Tile, Wood and other Flooring Installed, Kitchen, Bathroom, Attic and Basement Remodeling, Additions, Painting and Carpentry.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Carpenter Home Systems meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Carpenter Home Systems include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Carpenter Home Systems
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 19, 2012 Business started: 06/01/2006 in VT
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Brian D. Carpenter, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brian D. Carpenter, Owner
Number of Employees

1

Business Category

CONTRACTORS-GENERAL RESIDENTIAL BATHROOM REMODELING CARPENTERS HOME IMPROVEMENTS FLOOR COVERINGS-CARPET, LINOLEUM, CERAMIC TILE, & LAMINATE FLOOR HARDWOOD REMODELING & RENOVATION CONTRACTORS CUSTOM FLOORING BASEMENT - REMODELING ATTIC REMODELING KITCHEN & BATH - DESIGN & REMODELING HARDWOOD FLOOR CONTRACTORS HOME ECONOMICS CONSULTANTS CONTRACTOR - HOME PERFORMANCE HOME REPAIR & MAINTENANCE Residential Remodelers (NAICS: 236118)

Hours of Operation
M: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
T: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
W: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Th: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
F: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
S: Closed
Su: Closed
Method(s) of Payment
Cash
Check
Refund and Exchange Policy
The business states 1 year guarantee with all work.
Service Area
Carpenter Home Systems provides their services in WASHINGTON County VT.
Industry Tips
27 Questions For Home Owners Carpets and Rugs Finding a Reliable General Contractor - 5 Tips - Video Handyman Services Hiring a Carpenter Hiring a Contractor Hiring a Roofer - 5 Tips - Video Hiring a Siding Contractor Hiring a Waterproofing Contractor Hiring an Excavating Contractor Hiring an Insulation Contractor Home & Building Inspection Services Home Improvement Home Improvement Projects - 5 Tips - Video Read Before You Sign Remodeling & Renovation Contractors

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Carpenter Home Systems has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2617 Huntington Road

    Richmond, VT 05477 (802) 922-6913 (802) 434-3432

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Carpenter Home Systems built a bathroom in our basement. The sub-floor seam bulged resulting in ceramic tiles cracking across the floor. We would like the floor tiles replaced at no charge and the sub-floor repaired. I have sent ***** ********* four emails requesting he contact us regarding the cracked ceramic tiles and sub-floor. He has never responded which is unacceptable. In general we are disappointed with this contractor. A number of issues arose during this project: 1) Concrete floor in our basement was cut without adequate dust abatement resulting in concrete dust throughout our home; 2) the toilet drain pipe was installed too close to the shower; 3) the closet that was installed was supposed to be a linen closet but was set up as a coat closet; 4) paint job was poorly done - light paint coverage and paint drips visible. ***** ********* the owner blamed us for the incorrect location of the toilet when we never discussed where the exact spot was to be. Based on the original location of the toilet drain it would have been installed within inches of the shower door. He moved the toilet over 12 inches then billed us $1,000 for the work to correct this problem.

Desired Settlement: I would like ***** ********* to contact us to address the cracked floor tiles and sub-floor issues. If he is not agreeable to this then we would like a refund equal to the amount that would be required to have another contractor to make the repair.

Business Response: This customer decided not to pay his bill, and a stop-work order has been issued.
All construction was built to International Building and plumbing codes. Customer's wife sited that the placement of toilet flange was "too close for her mother in law" whose large physique required extra space. Change order was verbal, but resulted in a dispute. No other items were made aware at the final walk through, and nothing came up until the bill was issued.

Consumer Response:  First it is disappointing that ***** ********* did not respond to four email requests to repair the floor tiles which have cracked across the width of the floor due to the subfloor floor buckling.  Sample pictures attached.  Secondly it is more disappointing to read the response about the bill and a stop work order.  There is no stop work order to issue as the work is completed.  See completed toilet photo.  The bill that was referenced as unpaid was a disputed charge over the location where the toilet was installed.  The original location of the toilet drain was too close to the shower.  Had we not called it out as a problem it would have been installed where the edge of the toilet would have been inches from the shower door.   See attached photo of orignal toilet install.  When we called this problem out ***** ********* he stated that it was to code.  It was clear that where the toilet drain was located was a measurement error.  It would have been uncomfortable for anyone to sit on a toilet butted up against the shower door.  In essence we would have had a toilet four inches from the shower door then a space of 30 inches between the toilet and the vanity.  We requested that he relocate the toilet to a suitable location.  He explained that we would have to bill us to move it as it was to code.  I did not agree with this .  Attached is a photo of the toilet after was moved and installed which is normal spacing for a toilet.  Brian billed us an extra $1,000 to relocate the toilet drain.  I disputed this charge.  After going back and forth with Brian on the disputed charge and just wanting to be done with this project I agreed to split the difference with him.  I think I was more than fair.  Attached is the email logs of our communication as well.  At this point we just want our toilet floor to be repaired either by him or another contractor.Regards, ****** ******  

Business Response: A stop work order due to nonpayment has been issued. Since this matter has not been addresses in more than 90days by the client, no future work will be done. 

Consumer Response:  ***** ********* continues to provide an unacceptable response and appears to think that responding that a stop work order was issued as a way to avoid fixing his poor workmanship.  I am not sure were this goes from here from a BBB perspective.  I have attached pictures of our bathroom in my previous post which shows that the bathroom is completed and there is no work to stop.  The only work left to do is to fix the quality issue with the tile floor installation.   Regards, ****** ******