BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Eastern Massachusetts, Maine, Rhode Island and Vermont
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Rhode Island Remodeling, LLC?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Rhode Island Remodeling, LLC

Phone: (401) 487-3992 40 Nardolillo Street, Johnston, RI 02919 http://www.riremodel.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Rhode Island Remodeling LLC is a residential and commercial home improvement contractor specializing in exteriors, siding, vinyl siding, roofing, gutters & downspouts, aluminum trim, storm windows & doors, door & window installation and sales, shutters, and shingles.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Rhode Island Remodeling, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Rhode Island Remodeling, LLC include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Rhode Island Remodeling, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 16, 2009 Business started: 04/16/2009 in RI Business incorporated: 04/16/2009 in RI
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Rhode Island Contractors Registration and Licensing Board
1 Capitol Hill, 2nd Floor, Providence RI 02908
http://www.crb.ri.gov
Phone Number: (401)-222-1268 or TDD: (401)-222-6334
Fax Number: 401-222-1940
The license number is 32564.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Michael Carparco III, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Carparco III, Owner
Number of Employees

3

Business Category

REMODELING & RENOVATION CONTRACTORS GUTTERS & DOWNSPOUTS DOORS DOORS - REPAIRING CONTRACTORS-GENERAL RESIDENTIAL & COMMERCIAL BUILDING CONTRACTORS-RESIDENTIAL & COMMERCIAL ALUMINUM FABRICATORS WINDOWS VINYL SIDING STORM WINDOWS & DOORS SIDING MATERIALS SIDING CONTRACTORS SHINGLES ROOFING CONTRACTORS ROOFING CONTRACTORS - COMMERCIAL Residential Remodelers (NAICS: 236118)

Hours of Operation
M: 7:00 AM - 8:00 PM
T: 7:00 AM - 8:00 PM
W: 7:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Th: 7:00 AM - 8:00 PM
F: 7:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Method(s) of Payment
Cash
Check
Money Order
Service Area
Rhode Island Remodeling, LLC provides their services in RHODE ISLAND.
Alternate Business Names
RI Remodeling
Industry Tips
27 Questions For Home Owners Building Contractors- Residential & Commercial Finding a Reliable General Contractor - 5 Tips - Video Handyman Services Hiring a Building Contractor - 5 Tips - Video Hiring a Carpenter Hiring a Contractor Hiring a Roofer Hiring a Roofer - 5 Tips - Video Hiring a Siding Contractor Hiring a Waterproofing Contractor Hiring an Excavating Contractor Hiring an Insulation Contractor Home Builders Home Improvement Projects - 5 Tips - Video Read Before You Sign Remodeling & Renovation Contractors Windows

Additional Locations

  • 40 Nardolillo Street

    Johnston, RI 02919 (401) 487-3992

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contracted with Rhode Island Remodeling to strip my existing roof and install a new roof. Several months after the installation I noticed the roof was leaking into the second floor living quarters. I have contacted the owner on several occasions but he refuses to come and correct the leaking problem.

Business Response: I have been back to the Home since back in 2011 when this occurred. I have gone back out to the home and there does not seem to be any leak. He has had me feel the wall that he felt was damp. I have tried to explain to him that I don't see any water. I will reach out to the consumer and see if I can go by again.

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

He has not been back to my house since June, 2011 although I have called him several times sine then. He always has an excuse why he can't come out and look to see what is going on with the leak. The inside wall is now bubling from the moisture from the leak that is obviously penetrating the wall.

Business Response: Until  I see a leak from the roof I n not fix a leak based on bubbling paintin a moisture filled attic. I will need some evidence that the roof is leaking. Then will be happy to fix any issues.  

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

Mr. ******* came by my house on Wednesday, February 6 and again did not agree with me that what he saw was a result of the roof leaking. I again tried to explain to him that prior to him installing the new roof  there was never any evidence of leaking in the house. At this point, I intend to get a licensed roof inspector to document what he finds and at that point I will consult with an attorney

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

2/28/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife and I, ******* ** **** went into contract with Superior Home Improvement (**** *******, License #****) in November 2004 to have a new roof put on our home. The new roof was completed in November 2004. Overall, we were pleased with the work, however **** had been contacted on a few occasions since that time; the last time in November 2011 (Veteran's Day Weekend). He was contacted due to leaks in the garage and the sun room in our home. **** did come out on 3 different occasions during this course of time, the last time in 2010. As a result of the continuous leaking in these areas, we have white mold. The first time he came out in 2004, soon after the completion of the roof; **** sent out the lead roofer who worked on our home to add a small flashing outside the Cedar shingle siding over the existing roof shingle to prevent further water entering the garage. However, this did not work and the flashing was not installed in the area in which water was/is entering the garage. The following summer in 2005, **** came out to take a look of the water and ice/snow damage from the previous winter. The affected areas are in the garage and the sun room ceiling. **** then caulked the areas with roofing caulk and suggested that I apply the same caulk every year. This became a temporary fix for the sun room area, but did not help in the garage. **** further recommended that I apply bleach/water mix on the ceiling to take out the water stains on the plastered ceiling in the sun room. This has not worked and the ceiling needs replastered. **** came out one last time in the spring of 2010 after we had continued leaks in the garage and in the sun room. We also had water damage in the master bedroom. **** suggested to re-caulk those areas and that the leak in the master bedroom is likely from the chimney. He further suggested that water was coming from a window on the garage side of the home and recommended we caulk and cap the window. We have not had any further leaks in the master bedroom, but repairs need made (cosmetic from water stains). We continue to have leaking in the garage and sun room areas; white mold evident as a result. I had made calls to **** during the summer of 2011 to have him address the continued concerns. I would have to make several calls before he would return my call then promising to come out and look over the situation. Since the situation had not been resolved, I hired another contractor. The contractor applied ******* roofing caulk thick in the area on the garage side and on the sun room side of the house. He futher capped the window on the same side of the garage and the attic window. He caulked the window on the garage side of the home. Despite these efforts, water continues to enter the garage anytime it rains. The contractor indicated that he is 99.9% confident that there is no existing flashing on either area, therefore causing the significant leaks. He also had a co-worker of his inform me of the same concern as has my brother-in-law who has roofing experience. I have mentioned this to **** in the past and he wanted to place blame on painters I had hired in 2008, stating "my guy's would not have forgotten to put flashing on the roof." There is partial flashing on the right corner on the sun roof. All the other flashing is absent. The painters I hired had nothing to do with the roofing, removing shingles or any portion of the roof; the simply painted the exterior of the home. **** guranteed the material(s) he used on the roof for 30 years and the labor for 10 years with a "gurantee of no leaks" written on the contract. We have 2 years left on his labor warranty and have had continued leaks since the winter of 2005.

Desired Settlement: We would like the roof repaired and completed in the proper manner; installing the proper flashing in the areas in which flashing in needed. We would also like the damaged drywall in the garage removed and replaced. Furthermore, we would like the sun room ceiling re-plastered in the damaged areas. We would expect Superior Home Improvement to complete the work and to pay for all costs of repairs, including the drywall and ceiling repairs.

Business Response: I have offered take the siding off then house and install step flashing that isnt there, and i told the consumer that I would do that at cost. As soon as the weather breaks we will be able to do that work.

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #*******.

Regards,

**** ****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1