BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Eastern Massachusetts, Maine, Rhode Island and Vermont
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are You the Business Owner of WordStream?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This Business is not BBB accredited

WordStream

Phone: (617) 963-0555 Fax: (617) 812-3078 177 Huntington Avenue, 16th Floor, Boston, MA 02115 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.wordstream.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

WordStream's keyword management solution is an innovative platform designed to meet the specific needs of search marketers. We believe that a comprehensive, up-to-date and well-organized keyword taxonomy lays the foundation for successful PPC and SEO campaigns, and that no other software available on the market offers a comparably powerful and complete suite of keyword management tools. WordStream is a scalable, collaborative online workbench that combines keyword grouping and organization capabilities with actionable keyword analytics and Google AdWords integration. WordStream makes strategic use of automation to reduce time spent on repetitive manual tasks, enabling search marketers to increase their relevance and productivity while reducing online advertising spend for higher ROI.
WordStream's unique features include:
Ongoing, data-driven, personalized keyword discovery through the use of a JavaScript tracker that continuously pulls keywords from search-driven site visits.·        
Intelligent keyword grouping tools for quick and effective keyword segmentation, informing more relevant ad groups and search-friendly information architecture.·        
Negative keyword tools to help search marketers filter out unwanted traffic and irrelevant clicks, reducing wasteful PPC spending.·        
Ad text tools to guide search marketers in the creation of relevant, compelling PPC text ads.·        
Workflow tools to help search marketers prioritize tasks based on relevance to goals.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for WordStream include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on WordStream
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 16, 2009 Business started: 07/01/2008 in MA Business incorporated: 07/16/2008 in MA
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Ralph Folz, CEO
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Chris Butts, Exec
Principal: Mr. Ralph Folz, CEO
Number of Employees

50

Business Category

SOFTWARE PRODUCTS INTERNET MARKETING SERVICES MARKETING CONSULTANTS

Industry Tips
Domain Name Services Helping Customers Find You - Video Internet Marketing Services Is Your Digital Marketing Outdated? Is Your Digital Marketing Outdated? - Video

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

WordStream has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    177 Huntington Avenue, 16th Floor

    Boston, MA 02115 (617) 963-0555

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Communication/Mass Email
  • - eQuote
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/28/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: the salesman pitched a consulting service that did not perform even close to what were told and sold. here is the letter i sent to them:*******, Your questioner screen keeps crashing when i hit done.. so here is our problem with wordstream .After second session with ***** we were no further than we started, actually just further behind, .we started completely over with adwords after our decision. ***** comment on 2nd meeting was that he has not looked at our account yet. Disappointing. Also he answered 4 questions during last session with the response "yes and no", with no explanation on yes or no. If i don't know something i just say so. I feel the money you collected from us was poorly spent. Currently i would not recommend your services. Just writing this make me feel angry about the money and feel entitled to a partial refund of my money! You did not even come close to fulfilling ****'s sales pitch. Sorry to be so mean but it's the truth. Both of my partners, present for both meetings, got the same feel. We going to file a BBB complaint in your state. We are unhappy customers!

Desired Settlement: refund our money for non performance. really what we received was that you missed our first online consultation. then pawned us to ***** who must be new, he did log on and show up for 2 online meetings, AND YOU DID BILL ME!.

Business Response: Thank you for giving us the opportunity to respond to the complaint. We are very sorry that *** ********'s experience with our Customer Success Specialists did not live up to the expectations set during the sales process. We take great pride in the expertise of all our consultants and there are instances when personal styles and/or needs are more difficult to match. We would really like to continue to work with *** ******** and his partners to find them the correct consultant that can help them with their campaigns. From looking at the account today, I can see a lot of opportunity. Our consultants are trained to provide guidance and assistance to seek out each opportunity and move the account's performance forward. We truly do apologize if the consultants to date have not worked. I would like the opportunity to provide him and his partners with one of my most experienced consultants. He is not currently taking on new customers but I believe his insights, guidance and diligence is exactly what *** ******** is looking for.

On 8/21 I attempted to reach *** ******** multiple times to discuss his challenges. He did respond to a survey link I sent and on Friday morning about an hour before the complaint was filed I called and emailed *** ******** to schedule a time we could speak on the phone about his comments. I did receive a reply from *** ******** about the time this complaint was filed that he would be amenable to a conversation but wanted to schedule it with his partners as well. I followed-up on his email today looking to get that meeting scheduled.

WordStream is a do-it-yourself paid search marketing platform that helps our clients grow their businesses. Our Premier Consultants provide consulting services to help guide and advise our clients on the best ways to improve their accounts. They provide best practices, learnings and insights for those new to paid search and provide strategy, brainstorming and advanced tactics to those who have more expertise with paid search. We have over 30 years of combined experience across our Premier Consultants and I  know we can provide a solution to *** ********.

Kindest regards,

******* Yerardi
VP Customer Success
********** *********************** ************

Consumer Response:


 You recived our email about our position and dissatifaction with your services. you did not even come close to meeting your salesman's ****'s pitch when he sold us your package. you had a money back option if we were not satisfied. review the meetings we had nothing got done. again the service is noty what you sold me. periiod. do all ,the fancy letters you want. bend the truthlike you did in your letter.

You'v set my advertising program back in time and money. IM DONE WASTING ANY MORE TIME WITH WORDSTREAM OR THIS MATTER. 




[

 

 

Business Response: *** ********, I truly would like to meet to discuss and today, sent you a number of times between Thursday and Friday to help with scheduling. This does not have to be contentious and we truly would like to resolve this amicably. However, the best path is through a discussion. I request that we get a meeting scheduled soon to resolve this together.

Best,
*******

Consumer Response:

 


*******,

 More of your company's dishonesty. You and i have already contacted each other,  for a meeting monday.  i had my partner here monday but you were not available.  And then you write this as if im avoiding you. all you all crooked there?



 

 

 

8/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: **** ********* was the representative from Wordstream that initially contacted me to sell me on their service. He made promises just so I'd sign up with his company. Upon signing up everything he promised I did not want to do business with this company. After bringing this to the attention of **** I received a response of "You must have faith in the product". He told me that I would not be charged anything for 2 weeks. After signing up Wordstream started making attempts to charge my card on file. When I brought this to the attention of **** he said "I dropped the ball" and then expected me to just deal with it. The next thing I was promised is that he'd get me in touch with a Google rep the day that I signed up, this did not happen. These are some of the emails that were exchanged Me: You told me this on the 2nd " *****, We missed the deadline for the $200 off promotion. However, I can still push your bill date out two weeks if you would like to jump on board and try it out. " ****: "On 6/4/2014 6:05 PM, **** ********* wrote: I misinterpreted your email and sent out the new agreement without pushing the start date out. " Me: "But you said you could do that so I said let's go ahead and signed up. I am on a very tight budget this month and trying to allocate funds for the PPC budget as it is." ****: "*****, I dropped the ball on that, just being honest with you. You will love working with us. The software is unbelievable and Ben will provide great service on the 2 consulting calls. It seems we are getting off on the wrong foot but I promise you will see the benefits in the long run. " I don't think anyone would ever trust their representative if they were lied to just so they'd sign up. **** never attempted to make things right. He just expected me to deal with it as he moved onto the next sale. I explained to **** that I was on a very tight budget yet he did not care and neither does his company. I brought this to their attention and nothing was done since I wanted my agreement voided.

Desired Settlement: I want my agreement to be voided as if it never happened. I have not even signed in after signing up because of all the lies.

Business Response: Wordstream has 1,600 customers (most who are billed monthly) and billing procedures are highly automated and rigid as it would be impossible to accurately bill customers any other way.  Sometimes, we do push out the start date (billing date) of a new contract a little bit and turn the software on which results in a little free use.  It looks like our sales rep promised this but did not move out the start date on the contract.  This is an unfortunate error and should have been corrected.  However, this start date/billing date is clearly spelled out on the contract.  So if the customer had pointed this out before he signed it, it could have been changed.  But once it is signed, it kicks off an automated process of billing people on their billing date (which is the start date).  There is no human intervention and nothing underhanded was done on purpose.

Matter of fact, Wordstream goes out of the way to have very clear terms and conditions and make sure the customer know what they are buying.  That is the only way to run a successful business in the age of the internet, social media, etc.  Being transparent is one of our core values.      
        
Before signing up:  1.) The customer utilized our Free PPC Grader program. 2.) The Grader found some items that could be improved. 3.) In order to make sure our software subscription was a fit, we provide everyone a free 7 day trial and a product demonstration that was tailored to their needs. 4.)Then when the customer decides to buy, Wordstream prides itself on being clear with its customers and the terms and conditions.  This is why to date, Wordstream has not adopted a click to accept model and required customers to sign an Order confirmation that spells out the Terms and Conditions. 

Also, Wordstream is very customer orientated.  How this slipped through the cracks is something we will look into as we do not like this.  But, we cannot undo what was done; as too much time has passed.  But, we can refund the 1st payment to the customer to make up for the error during the sales process.   But we cannot void the contract in fairness to all parties.  We recommend the customer engage with their Customer Success Representative.  We are confident if they do this, they will see the initial experience is not what Wordstream is all about and they will be successful.    


 

Also, Wordstream is very customer orientated.  How this slipped through the cracks is
something we will look into.  But, we
cannot undo what was done; as too much time has passed.  But, we can refund the 1st payment
to the customer to make up for the error during the sales process.   But we
cannot void the contract in fairness to all parties.  We recommend the customer engage with their
Customer Success Representative.  We are
confident if they do this, they will see the initial experience is not what
Wordstream is all about.    

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below. 

Why would I or anyone ever work with a company that did nothing but lie to them within the first day. The trust has been broken. I contacted billing and let them know what was going on. They gave me some time to decide what I wanted to do BUT when my decision was to cancel it was a problem. I would never do business with Wordstream or recommend anyone to use their service.

Regards,

***** *********

 

 

Business Response: Nobody lied to anyone in this case.  We do not bury things in fine print or anything of the sort.  Everything was clearly spelled out in the contract the customer signed.  There was an honest mistake made by both sides and somehow it was not resolved in a timely manner.  When they were expecting two free weeks and we offer a full month, we are being more than fair.     

7/18/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/4/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We worked with wordstream for 6 months, during that time we had some challenges with them and discussed our termination of the agreement. Wordstream made several unauthorized charges to our credit card witch is what ultimately drove us to stop working with them. We did notify them that we would be terminating prior to the next billing cycle. Upon our termination they decided to again charge our credit card without permission for $2,000.00. This amount of money was for work they never completed they say its in there cancellation policy. Our credit card company did dispute in favor of our company the last incident where wordstream tried to take advantage of us for $3,000.00. After reading another review I see that this practice is common for this company.

Desired Settlement: Refund money that you never worked for!

Business Response: This customer never wants to live up to the terms of their agreements.  This is now the 2nd time they have signed a contract with us and then attempted to renegotiate the terms in their favor as they move along.  In addition, there was an additional time where we made a customer friendly concession on one of the agreements; a concession we did not need to make and agreed to it over email.  They then went back on that agreement, decided it was not enough, and filed a complaint with BBB and disputed payments with their credit card company.   They claim we are an unscrupulous company.  This cannot be the furthest thing from the truth.  We write agreements that are clear and easy to understand.  This way there is no mistakes or misunderstandings.  We then live to the agreement; whether the situation at hand benefits us or not.  This customer is the exact opposite.   They just sign or say whatever they want to start doing business.  And then make false accusations when they do not get their way. Their word or signature means nothing. I would not recommend doing business with them.  The detail of this “complaint” is as follows.      This customer had two separate accounts with us.  Both started in June of 2013 and had 6 month minimum commitments.  These commitments are clear.  However, part way through the commitment period, the customer wanted to cancel one of their accounts.  Even though we had no obligation to do so, we allowed them to cancel and even credited some of the funds already paid to their active account.  This was an agreement that the two parties agreed to.  This was the email agreement mentioned above.    So, we stopped charges on both accounts; including the one that was active.  This was because the active account still had a credit balance due to the credit applied from the other account. For some reason, against the agreement we made, and at a later date, they went and disputed the charges on the inactive account even though they were valid.  Remember, we did not have to make any concessions. However, since these funds were in dispute, we had to re initiate payments on the active account as the credit balance no longer existed; due to their actions.At this point, it became clear this was not going to be a good relationship and they canceled.  This $2,000 payment they are disputing is the final 2 payments (at once) since the funds we were applying were in dispute.  We had stopped those payments per the agreement we thought we had made.  We had to receive payment for the work we were doing.  So, there will be no refund.  To use the customer’s words, “This is money we worked for.”     

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint. 

There is no truth to the comments made by wordstream. The person who is responding each time is the actual person that I had a difficult time working with so we are not going to get any truthful results.  There is no other way to paint this picture, wordstream took advantage of us and charged our credit card without our consent. They did not earn there money in fact there own employee found it odd that we were being charged for two accounts when he did the initial set up. Below is a email I sent to my Wordstream Rep on Dec 2nd. If my rep thought I would be billed $2,000.00 he would have stated that in his email to me confirming that we wish to cancel. If he knew that there was a 30 day cancellation process why didn't he make that clear upon my cancellation? It may be in the 400 page contract of small words but I would think upon exiting that they could have stated there position loud and clear. By the way, none of there competitors hold anyone to a 30 day cancellation, they all say that this is just wrong! Hi *** and ****,   Hope you guys had a great holiday! We are going to move our PPC campaign to Acceleration Partners effective December 4th. Please do not bill our credit card for your management fee for the month of December.  I will leave the account open to you till we have acceleration partners take over so please do your best to leave us in good shape.  We are not leaving because of your performance we are leaving because of  the unpleasant person in charge of your finance/customer service.  It was a pleasure working with both of you.  Thanks Guys! ***** ********, President*** *** **********, Inc. **** **** Street******, IL ***** Office ************ • Cell ************ • Fax ************ **** ********** ***********@wordstream.com via bounce.secureserver.net 12/2/13to *****, *** Hey *****, I hope you had a good holiday too.  I processed your cancellation this morning.  I’ll make sure your account is in order before the new agency takes over.  Thanks,**** Wordstream  

Business Response: Again, this customer is trying to twist the truth to fit their stance.
 
• This is not the “unpleasant corporate person” that he was working with.  Responding to those complaints is not that persons responsibility.  I have reviewed all the correspondence, agreements, etc.  I have offered constructive criticism to that person where appropriate.  However, everything I see shows we went above and beyond to satisfy this customer with multiple compromises.
• The “unpleasant corporate person” he is referring to is the VP of Customer Success.  She is very customer friendly and is always looking for a win/win for the customer and the company.  However, this customer was not interested in a win/win.  They wanted us to work for free and forfeit all rights.  This is even though we were clear about terms from the beginning.
• The customer claims the cancellation policy “may be in the 400 page contract of small words.”   This is not the case.  The contract is attached.  It is a 4 pages contract where we had them initial the cancelation policy. We have attached it for proof.  I am not sure what else we could do. 
• In addition, I have attached an email exchange that reiterates the cancellation policy.  They even acknowledged they may need another month past the 6 months to find a new company.  But since they end up transitioning to a new company faster than expected, we are supposed to again forfeit our rights. 
• We have attached an email that:  
o Shows they originally agreed to the first compromise and he was even seemingly satisfied.  
o Then he contested the charges, spoke with us, and they was ok for the 2nd time.    
o Then, he was threatening to cancel his agreement if we did not bend our rights further.  As it had become clear that this customer does not live to their word, we would not compromise further.  Especially since their actions already caused us harm.
o In this email, again, we were above board and told them about the cancellation policy again.
• His rep would not have known about the billing situation when they canceled.
• The customer emailed the “unpleasant corporate person” when he saw the charge and it was explained at that time what they were.  That these were for the charges we had not done due to the fact we thought we were crediting other funds.      

There will not be a refund as these charges are valid.  

1/7/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired Wordstream to run am online advertising campaign for two of my service based businesses. I had a bad feeling about running my construction company (*********) because I had poor results in the past from other companies. I did sign an agreement however the results were so bad that I asked to suspend the account after 1 month. I was told that my account would be suspended till I reinstated it. Wordstream decided to bill my credit card anyway for three monts without my direct consent. When I brought this to there attention they apologized and offered to forget about the term of the contract and refund my money for build inc. After talking with them further they said they wanted to credit my other company *** *** rather than issue a check or a refund on our credit card. I think this was easier for them because of the credit card however that is not our concern. So we disputed the amount which was $3,000.00 on our card and that's when they called me to talk about it. The woman was really mad and said that this really damaged there account with there credit card agency and that there would be consequences up to $6,000.00. I asked her to be a little more understanding of our decision and that I didn't know that it was this big of a deal for her. I told her that we would continue our other business with her (*** *** Insulation) and hope that this situation would just resolve itself. Well a month later I got a letter from the credit card company stating that Wordstream was contesting our dispute. So I emailed Wordstream and asked why they have changed there mind? They made it complicated and said that because we disputed the charge that the deal they made to refund our money is off. What I don't understand is why they offered to refund our money and then changed there mind because we didn't want to accept there method of payment. They wanted to credit *** *** for $3,000 and then have *** *** pay I build inc. we choose to dispute the charges and have the money refunded like it should be. I emailed back and forth for several hours asking them to work this out so we can continue our relationship with *** *** but the woman I am dealing with is not interested at all to work this out. I would like them to do what they said.

Desired Settlement: Refund money owed and continue relationship.

Business Response: *** *** is a returning customer to WordStream. He was with us in the past and he came back due to the stellar work we provide. He did come on with his construction company with some trepidation.  However he seemed committed to seeing what happens over the 6-month contract. All of our Managed Services contracts have a 6-month commitment because it takes time to get everything working well in a PPC account. In the first month, we drove three conversions plus phone calls for the business. At the time of requesting to suspend the service, we were told it was because the business was doing well on its own and increasing the budget in the PPC account  to truly make it work didn’t seem like an investment ****** wanted to make at the time.  Given *** *** was a returning customer and one we felt we had a good relationship with, we offered to suspend the remaining three months of the ****** contract commitment and apply the funds received to date to the *** *** account. Work was done on the ****** account to get it up and running and we do not provide refunds for services rendered. However, in this case, we create an option to apply the funds to *****’s other business and continue onward. *** *** and ***** agreed to this so we thought it was all settled.

About a week after WordStream felt we had agreement, we were informed by *****’s credit card company that there was a requested charge back on the funds paid on the ****** contract to date. We asked ***** about this and were told that his other business partner didn’t like the agreement and wanted to get reimbursed for all funds. WordStream discussed the consequences of this with ***** in October and was clear that once a dispute is lodged against us, we cannot continue with the original agreement. ***** understood this and stood by his business partner in their dispute as they felt the money should be fully refunded. I also explained to ***** at that time that once a dispute is lodged against us, we are required to provide documentation to the credit card company on the original agreement. Although he feels we “contested his dispute”, we merely replying to their chargeback. In the discussion in October, I told ***** that WordStream would live with whatever the credit card company came back with since that was their selected course of action versus continuing with the original agreement.

On November 19th, I received multiple emails from ***** asking why we couldn’t go back to the original agreement and apply the funds to the ****** account. I explained again that their decision as business partners to contest the charge took the original agreement off the table as we now have to defend ourselves against charges that were valid and due based on the contract signed. We would love to keep *** *** as an account, however, we felt we provided a very fair original agreement. Because their selected path did not pan out as planned, we are now being blamed and discredited again.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

Wordstream  offered to return $3,000.00 to * ****** **** because they charged for services that were not provided. Wordstream manages goggle adwords accounts and they only managed one month for * ***** but continued to charge us for three months of service that they did not preform any work for. They were not specific on how they were going to return the funds although they mentioned offering our sister company the money as a credit. We took it upon ourselves to dispute the charges so that they went back to the company that was out the money. We had no idea that this would backfire we though we were handling this properly.  The bottom line is there was an agreement to return $3,000.00 and when the time came to actually do that, wordstream went back on there word. Currently we have removed our sister company from doing business with wordstream because of this issue we have experienced.    

Business Response: The customer is accusing Wordstream of going back on their word.  However, this cannot be any further from the truth.  Matter of fact, this customer went back on their word twice.

1.  They signed a contract for 6 months service.  It is apparent that they customer does want to acknowledge or live up to the contract that they signed.  However, at Wordstream, we take the time to write clear and fair contracts.  This way there is no misunderstandings and we can hold both parties to the agreement.  This 6 months minimum is really clear.    

2.  However, in order to be customer friendly, without any legal obligation, we were willing to break the contract and credit the funds towards their other account.  The customer agreed to this compromise.  However, after they spoke to their business partner and their business partner did not like the terms of the agreement; for the second time, they broke the terms of their agreement with Wordstream and disputed valid charges.  They never came back to Wordstream and ask that we reconsider the method which we were willing to refund this money.  They just disputed the charges.      

Once the customer disputed the credit card charges, Wordstream needs to provide proof these are valid charges.  If Wordstream had not responded to these disputes, it would adversely affect its rating with the credit card companies and raise the cost of all it’s charges. Wordstream cannot allow their credit card processing fees to increase because a customer disputed valid charges and wants to consistently renegotiate their agreements. 

It is unfortunate that they canceled their other account.  However, since the minimum commitment has passed on their sister account, that is their legal right.  We believe this is short sided as Wordstream has done great work for them. Sometimes, companies need to agree to disagree and move on.  Unfortunately, this is the path the customers choose.         

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint. 

As I already stated Wordstream took advantage of * ***** and charged $3,000.00 for work they never did and now there customer service person is trying to defend there position.  Lets ask them a question and see what they say, Wordstream, did you preform services for the $3,000.00 that you stole? If you say yes, please check with your Employee who disagrees because I will include his email in my next response. Furthermore I have had a third party analyze my goggle adwords account for * ***** and you didn't even have any money in the account to spend so how could you possibly have spent any time on this account? I will also be able to include that in my next response to BBB. Good luck answering that question honestly!

Wordstream is now accusing *** *** of going back on its word witch is also far from the truth. There own team pressured me into setting up * ***** and said we would try this and see. We had previously worked with ***** a fortune 500 company that does similar services to Wordstream and they were unsuccessful so I told Wordstream that I had my doubts and there employees reassured me that regardless of the contract we would work something out. I was brought to Wordstream by one of there employees that left *****, he said they would have better success than where I was at. When Wordstream charged my credit card $3,000.00 two of there own employees told me via email that they also felt that was unfair, I will include this in my next email if needed. The person that is responding to to my BBB is the same inconsiderate person that I delt with in there customer service which is why this conversation will continue until someone is tired of reading. This individual at Wordstream would rather loose a customer than put her own guard down for just a moment and work with her clients rather than punish them. 1. I understand contracts but I also understand performance. Wordstream could not preform to the ability that they said. We got zero value from there work with * *****. There own employee said that * ***** should just add a $500.00 spend onto *** *** because it did not make sense for Wordstream to manage such a small account. I did have conversation with there Employees about how to return our money and he said that we could decide how we wanted to take it. Truthfully we had no idea that when we disputed the charge that Wordstream was running to get there boxing gloves. It is because of this that we pulled our sister company from them.  2. Wordstream NEVER told me that this was the only way of getting our money back. This is a great part because this is where Wordstream says that they wanted to refund our money and they they changed there mind.   This sentence below is untrue. We take credit cards and this is not the case! Once the customer disputed the credit card charges, Wordstream needs to provide proof these are valid charges.  If Wordstream had not responded to these disputes, it would adversely affect its rating with the credit card companies and raise the cost of all it’s charges. Wordstream cannot allow their credit card processing fees to increase because a customer disputed valid charges and wants to consistently renegotiate their agreements.   Funny that this customer service says at the end that our sister company has canceled because we lasted full term. When I called to cancel *** *** the same woman was again very rude and she said that we have a 30 day cancellation period! HA.... We can continue to write back and forth :) the truth is that Wordstream is probably a good company but they have a few bad eggs working for them that one day they will hopefully seed out. I still believe that they stole $3,000.00 and lied about a variety of different things. If I was them I would have rather kept a customer and worked through the issues. One unhappy person/client has a way bigger effect than one happy client.        

5/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a web tool that never worked form Wordstream. Wordstream admitted that the tool never worked and gave us a refund for several months of service with the promise that the tool was being "fixed by their technicians" Month after month the tool never worked but we were given refunds with the promise that the tool was being fixed. Wordsteream admitted that they had technical issues proven by their refunds. I informed Wordstream that we were not satisfied with the product and the contract was not valid. We had not used Wordstream's tool for several months, however Wordstream began to charge us again for their service. I disputed the charges with my credit card company. The card company refunded some of my charges but not all of the charges because too much time had lapsed form the beginning of the contract. Wordstream is still fighting the refund my card company gave me. As I can see from other complaints that Wordstream has a big problem.

Desired Settlement: Give us all our money back

Business Response: We take a lot of steps to be transparent about our terms and conditions.  We write clear and concise contracts that spell out the most important terms of the agreement.  We have them sign and initial the most important parts.  We are not a company that has one of those long and confusing “Click to Accept” terms and conditions that nobody reads.  Thus, we expect all customers and Wordstream to live up to the agreement. 

When there are problems with our software or there is a gray area in terms, we always error on the side of the customer.  In the world of internet marketing and social media, we will never be successful with scrupulous business practices.  However, when we are within the terms of our contract, we will enforce the agreement.  This is only fair to all parties; Wordstream, customers who abide by the terms of the agreement, etc. 

However, there are always customers who no matter what, believe they deserve an exception and will do anything to get what they want; even resorting to hyperbole. 

·     This customer claims they want $3,000 back.  However, total charges that have not been refunded is $2,095. Where did the other $905 come from? 
·     This customer mentions that from other complaints” that Wordstream has a big problem.”  In our 4+ years of business, we now have 3 complaints on the BBB.  Of which we have responded to all of them and all of them have the same theme.  This is less than 1 per year.  Most would call that a stellar track record. Unfortunately, sometimes there are times when parties must agree to disagree.    

With this customer, we are at a point where we need to agree to disagree.  To that point, they have disputed their charges with their credit card company and we have filed paperwork necessary to affirm these charges are legitimate.  In addition to this, this customer recently requested an additional copy of their contract.  We can only assume this is to help them with their dispute.  We promptly provided them with an additional copy.  In the end, we will live with the decision of the credit card company (who are often biased towards the consumer).  However, due to the fact we believe we are within the Terms and Conditions, we will not be issuing any further refunds.  

Wordstream, 
VP of Finance

2/16/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company has no information regarding there cancellation policy. I canceled my service with them prier to the next service charge of $299. They still changed me the $299 and refused to refund my money.

Desired Settlement: I would like my $299 back.

Business Response: The customer is inaccurate to say that we do not have information about our cancelation policy.  When a customer signs up for our service we take great steps to ensure that we set very clear terms and conditions.  Thus, we have not implemented one of those, “Click to accept” models where it is very likely the person just clicks and does not read.  We require the customer to execute a 5 page Order Confirmation that spells out the key terms and conditions; cancelation policy being one of them. 

I have attached a copy of the order confirmation. The only page that is missing (page 4) is their payment details.  This is not included for security purposes.  However, you will see on page 5 (the page they sign) that there is a whole section called “Cancellation Policy.”  In addition, when you visit our PPC Pricing Page and go to Frequently Asked Questions, one of the questions is:  “How Do I cancel my account?”  Answer is, “Simply notify us in writing that you’d like to cancel.  We ask for a30-day notice before your next billing period.”  Finally, the terms and conditions in the Order Confirmation refers to our Master Subscription Agreement that is on the website.  Our Master Subscription Agreement also states the cancelation policy.We take great pride in being transparent with our policies. 

We are not trying to “deceive” people into extra payments.  That is no way to run a business.  However, because we take great steps to be upfront with these policies, we do not make exceptions to this policy.  We think it is fair to all parties, including other customers who abide by the policy, to enforce the policy for all customers.  We are sorry this customer feels this is unfair.  But we truly take all steps to ensure we are up front with our policies.  Therefore, in fairness to all parties involved, we will not be issuing a refund.

Regards,
*********** *****
Wordstream, VP of Finance   

6/13/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They promised the product would do certain things, which they claim it does on the website. They pretend like they give you a free trial and when you try to upload to your adwords account, it will not allow you. Sales person says that it will do exactly what the trial show and when you upload after payment, it will do exactly that... like improve adwords scores etc. I was dissatisfied because it did not do what the sales person said it would. Instead of spending 20 minutes like their website says and sales person insisted, it took me hours to write creative ads for which I got little or no traffic. I requested a cancellation of contract because it was not exactly what the sales person explained it is. I was assigned a trainer who had poor knowledge of Google Adwords. She giggles and breaths deeply, like she is on something. Totally unprofessional and unpleasant having a conversation. They lie about the trial as complete. It is not because they do not allow you to upload the work using their tool to your account until paid. I was mislead to think this was something different (automation and time saving) than it actually is (tedious, time consuming ad writing for gazzilion ad groups which get little or no traffic) This is not what I am looking for.

Desired Settlement: Refund asap!

Business Response: Dear Better Business Bureau,

We have attached our response to Mr. ******'s complaint. Please let us know if you require or desire any additional information.

Thank you,
******* *******
VP Customer Success
WordStream

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

I have signed the contract on 4/17. I had a conversation with the trainer on Thursday4/19. On 4/20 I let your sales person and trainer know that this is not what I am looking for and not to charge my card and you went ahead and charged anyways. I only got one day of real life use of your website and found out real fast that this is going to take more time than will save me (unlike what the salesperson promised me.. 20minutes/wk). After hours of ad writing I got little or no traffic. Total waste of time.

If this was what I am looking for, I would pay you a whole year upfront and get the best price possible. Unfortunately it is not and we both need to understand that and part. Your sales person wasted my time giving me the impression of what I am looking for, a more focused approach rather than a broad approach with less relevant keywords.

I was willing to forgive and part amicably. However you chose to charge my credit card and wast even more of my time. Filing a complaint with BBB is hardly an *** assault. Neither, an article about your company on Silicon Valley Venture Capital, Nor, a complaint with the DA for your fraudulent claims of compiling 1 billion keywords. (That is 10 million times more than their are words in the English language). You have not sold me any software. All you gave me was access to your website for 1 day, for which you want to be paid $399.




 

 

Business Response: Dear Better Business Bureau,

WordStream continues to feel that we have been transparent, upfront and honest with regard to the contract signed by Mr. ****** as well as the capabilities of the software. Neither our software or Google Adwords directly would provide Mr. ****** with the results he was looking for within just 1 day of use and without employing the brains and business acumen needed to make intelligent decisions about the keywords to bid on, the ad text to describe what a company is selling or the negative keywords to add to ensure you do not match on irrelevant terms. Essentially what Mr. ****** tried to do by cancelling prior to the delayed start date he personally and specifically asked for is use the software for free. Therefore, our stance on this issue remains the same. We are willing to let Mr. ****** out of the 6-month commitment he signed on 4/17/2012 and treat him as a month-to-month customer and charge him the full month-to-month fee of $399.

WordStream considers this a fair solution and if Mr. ****** agrees, we would charge the outstanding amount of $100 and end his contract and access to the software on 5/31/2012. WordStream takes great pride in our software and care with
our customers. We are truly sorry that Mr. ****** was not satisfied by our product; however we must be fair and equitable with all contracts and charge for the use of our subscription software.

Thank you,
******* *******
VP Customer Success
WordStream




Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

On one hand you say that the software cannot be used in 1 day on the other hand you want a payment of $399 for 1 day use. You also claim to give full access to the software for 7 days for free. I will be pursuing other avenues through consumer affairs, attorney general and I will be writing to you soon under the provisions of Massachusetts General Laws, Chapter 93A, Section 9, the Consumer Protection Act.