Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Hub Spot

Phone: (888) 482-7768 Fax: (617) 812-5820 25 1st St Fl 2, Cambridge, MA 02141 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


HubSpot offers inbound marketing software that helps businesses get found on the internet by the right prospects and convert more of them into leads and customers. HubSpot helps your company get found by your best qualified prospects in search engines, blogs and the blogosphere, and social media. Once these qualified visitors are on your website, HubSpot helps you convert more of them into leads and paying customers through landing pages, lead intelligence and marketing analytics.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Hub Spot meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Hub Spot include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Hub Spot
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 4
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 20, 2010 Business started: 06/01/2006 in MA Business incorporated 07/09/2007 in MA
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Brian Halligan, CEO Mr. Michael Redbord, VP Services Mr. David Stack, CFO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brian Halligan, CEO
Principal: Mr. Michael Redbord, VP Services
Number of Employees


Business Category


Products & Services

Hub Spot offers the following product(s): HubSpot Inbound Marketing Software

Service Area
Hub Spot provides their services in MASSACHUSETTS.
Alternate Business Names
HubSpot, Inc.
Industry Tips
Domain Name Services Helping Customers Find You - Video Internet Marketing Services Is Your Digital Marketing Outdated? Is Your Digital Marketing Outdated? - Video

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Hub Spot has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 25 1st St Fl 2

    Cambridge, MA 02141 (888) 482-7768


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/19/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We started conversations with an inbound marketing agency that was a partner of hubspot in July. From the beginning we were open with him regarding our finances and what we had to invest. There was a lot of back and forth — figuring out what was fair in terms of a retainer and what increase in sales we could reasonably see from working with this agency. The biggest issue for us was the $10K a year (paid up front) to Hubspot, this simply would’ve killed our cashflow. In late August because of our marketing agency's self proclaimed “status” with Hubspot they was able to work with the sales team at Hubspot and negotiate an agreement where we would make quarterly payments to hubspot. That was definitely a plus, this was still a huge bet — but we had good faith in the agency. On August 28th he forwarded me an activation link to sign the contracts with Hubspot and get payments set up. It’s important to note that at this time, I had never been given a demo of hubspot, and I had never once spoken with a sales rep at Hubspot. I looked at the sign up fees on August 29th and I had some questions. 2 days (August 31st) later our agency responded to my email and CC’d "********" a salesman from Hubspot. ***** responded to my initial inquiry about the first cycle billing and we hopped on a brief call to elaborate the first quarter fees, the call lasted about a minute and he only explained the fees. Later that afternoon I received an email from *****x reminding me to sign up that day — “...Please do fill it out by end of day today as we can only offer the quarterly payment terms and discount in August…” After feeling a ton of pressure from both the agency and *****x to finalize things (because this was the last day of the quarter, and as ******* explained, the only reason they’re giving me this deal was to meet their quota), I signed up. The usual time I take to review contracts and consult with my lawyer was hastened to meet the deadline. August 31st was the first and only day I had contact with Hubspot. No trial, no demo — just sign and pay here. The next few months were expensive and awful. Initially we were placed at the ********* agency with a girl named ***********. She had no idea how to use hubspot and the content she created was amateur. Every week we would circle back to the same issues we were having the previous weeks. Our first RSS email was sent out totally incomplete with a “New Module - Add content here” section completely forgotten. At the end of October we decided we had to stop working with the agency. By October we had spent over $11K on the agency, hubspot, updating our site so that our customer information would feed into hubspot via ******* ******* and ******** advertising — all of these efforts brought in a meager $276 in sales. We understood that inbound marketing would take sometime but after spending $11K we knew $276 in sales was unsustainable and this was compounded on the poor work of the agency. Our experience was absolutely awful and to this point no one has been able to help us get out of our contract and a license to hubspot that will go completely unused.

Desired Settlement: Cancellation of the contract and no further charges.

Business Response: We had started the conversation regarding the HubSpot portion of the contract the week prior, and continued to speak with the business owner over the course of this week. We have come to an agreement on the HubSpot portion of the contract, and have confirmed together that both parties are amenable to the proposed solution.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #********. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved.  Regards, ***** ****

11/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We hired a hubspot Diamond certified marketing company in February 2015. Their marketing plan required us to sign up for hubspot. After several months of reviewing the quality of the work output of the marketing company I had to fire them for incompetence. They cost us about $50,000 in fee's and lost sales. We continued to run one campaign through hubspot with no immediate plans to add any more. In October I contacted hubspot via email and telephone and explained our situation and requested to cancel our hubspot account. My request was elevated to ****** who told me he was the principal of the company. I explained the entire situation to him. He told me that I signed a 1 year contract and that there was no way to cancel it. He said he would speak with his legal team but most likely the contract could not be canceled. I asked him why he could not cancel it as he was the principal. He said it could not be done. I told him any business owner can cancel a contract if both parties agree. He said he would "go to bat for me" and get back to me in a couple of days. Over a week has passed and he has not responded. The actions of this company are ridiculous. If we treated or customers like this we wouldn't have many left. I did not request a refund for the period we ran the campaign, just to cancel the services moving forward. My request would cost them nothing other than revenue for a service that was not being utilized. I explained to ****** that after we found a competent marketing company we would return to hubspot. Based on there lack of response to date, they may have lost a customer for life.

Desired Settlement: Cancel the contract effective 10/31/15

Business Response: We have had one of our managers contact the customer and resolve the issue.  Based on conversations with the customer we believe this issue to be closed.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #********. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved.  Regards, **** ****

8/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We signed up to hubspot based on a set of understandings that now seem to be different then i understood.. We didn't start using the system at all, and we didn't take the training yet. we already came into problems.. there was no service, or training was delivered yet by hubspot, i did attend one webinar, that was more of a get to you webinar with maybe a tad of training that was not really training... They started working on designing my page after specifically agreeing that they wont start it until we have a new site design ready. They told me that it includes a coaching program to help grow my business and yes in some way it does, but now i see only in helping me grow my business by selling their business, in essence they are charging me to be a salesman for their company. I originally understood that I had to sign a contract but my clients would be able to be month by month as I will be doing the on-boarding, which as they put it, is time and cost intensive, therefore they need to have a year contract... so in my clients case where they are not doing the onboarding I should be able to decide if they are locked into a contract.. They told me specifically that are very flexible and wont let a client not get signed up because of a technicality.. I had a client that was willing to pay the full amount, but he didnt want to be locked into a year contract and they didnt budge at all. I brought a client to the table, Hubspot told me that they will be able to setup monthly payments for my clients but only if they agree to a 12 month term.. I have the same issue with another client.. I specifically explained to the hubspot sales rep that I do not lock my clients into contracts, this way there is less of a barrier to entry for my clients and .. and its already not going as it was suggested.. my clients never feel locked in... and they shouldn't. this doesn't work with my business model, which i spent time explaining.. I was so clear about that..

Desired Settlement: please cancel contract and refund my payments.

Business Response: We have contacted this customer and come to a mutually agreeable resolution.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:The good people at Hubspot reached out to me and worked everything out to my satisfaction.  Regards, **

12/18/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On the Hubspot site there is no way to cancel the service. I do not want the sidekick service anymore and I no longer authorize any further charges to my bank account.

Desired Settlement: Cancel the Sidekick service and stop charging my bank account.

Business Response: We have cancelled the account and stopped all billing as requested.  We have also sent a communication to the customer directly.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #********. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved. 


****** *******

6/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hubspot signed me up for a yearly contract without informing me that it was a yearly contract. I have cancelled my card and they continue to bill me for the service. Make sure when you sign up with these scammers that they tell you its a one time payment and not for the year otherwise they will continue to bill your account.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting a refund for the payments made after the first payment and a cancellation of my account. This is

Business Response: We have discussed the matter with the customer and issued a refund for the period in question.  We believe the issue is resolved.

4/12/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Here's a breakdown of my experience with Hubspot I hired a local marketing agency in my hometown. The agency gave me a quote with a monthly rate and explicitly stated that I could leave the contract at any point without any consequences. In the contract, I was quoted a $300/month rate for a third party service/tool (hubspot) that the agency requires to do their work. No mention of any locked in term with them. Because I had never heard of Hubspot, I did some research. I checked their pricing page ( which states the monthly rates of the service (no mention of yearly). Further still, I contacted a sales rep to clarify exactly what the service did and what I could expect. Again, I was quoted the monthly rate and no mention of annual contract. The local marketing agency sent me the link to pay for Hubspot services. I followed the link, accepted the terms of service, and paid $300. 3 months later, I decided to cancel the contract with my local marketing agency. They brought to my attention that I had signed a year long contract that I couldn't back out of with Hubspot ($300/month). I've contacted Hubspot directly and they're unwilling to budge. They have no contract with my actual signature on it, only evidence that I ticked a terms of service box. My argument is that their language and methodology is so obviously deceptive. Nowhere on their pricing page does it mention the year long contract. Their sales rep never mentioned the year long contract. The only place it's mentioned is in the fine print, in ambiguous language, right before you make the payment. I've also found around the web many other customers who have had a similar experience. I feel like I was totally deceived during this entire process. I don't want a refund for the months I've used, but I'd like to be able to exit my contract based on the above experience. IT would be nice if Hubspot changed their pricing page and sales strategy to be a bit more transparent with their customers.

Desired Settlement: Cancellation of my contract

Business Response: I am sorry about your experience.  When purchasing software, or anything for that matter, you should be given clear and accurate information regarding terms.  I will make sure that you are allowed to cancel your contract.  Feel free to email me directly at if you'd like to discuss this further.  I'd be happy to set up a phone call.  If price was the only reason for your cancellation, I'd like to make up for your bad experience by working with you to find a way to keep you on the software at a price that you feel is fair.

5/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My company, ************** ****, pre-paid $9,410.00 for a year of HubSpot services on 3/27/2013. I chose to pre-pay in order to get a discount. The sales rep, *** ********, assured me on the phone that I could cancel at any time and receive a refund of the pro-rated portion of services not received. Due to technical issues migrating my website to HubSpot, the service did not become operational until May 8, 2013. On May 14, 2013 I called HubSpot to cancel the remaining services because ************** **** will no longer actively market its services , and therefore there is no need for HubSpot in-bound marketing services. The reason for this change is that I accepted a full-time position with a different company. HubSpot refuses to refund any part of the $9,410.00 I paid, even though I only consumed $270.00 worth of service for HubSpot Migration Services. For a micro-business like ************** **** where I am the only employee, the sum of money paid for which NO services will actually be rendered is huge. I expect people to act with integrity and honor their word. Clearly, the sales rep told me an untruth. As the previous owner of Online Trading Academy Colorado where I had employees and at other companies where I was an executive, whenever a customer was told something incorrect by my employee, I stood by the customer. I gave a refund and apologized for my employee's bad behavior. That's how companies build a good reputation and grow profitably. I want a refund of $9,140.00 for services that have not and will not be rendered.

Desired Settlement: Due to technical issues migrating my website to HubSpot, the service did not become operational until May 8, 2013.

Business Response: ***** and I spoke today by phone and reached an agreement to resolve the complaint.