Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Hub Spot

Phone: (888) 482-7768 Fax: (617) 812-5820 25 1st St Fl 2, Cambridge, MA 02141 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.hubspot.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

HubSpot offers inbound marketing software that helps businesses get found on the internet by the right prospects and convert more of them into leads and customers. HubSpot helps your company get found by your best qualified prospects in search engines, blogs and the blogosphere, and social media. Once these qualified visitors are on your website, HubSpot helps you convert more of them into leads and paying customers through landing pages, lead intelligence and marketing analytics.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Hub Spot meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Hub Spot include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Hub Spot
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 20, 2010 Business started: 06/01/2006 in MA Business incorporated 07/09/2007 in MA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Brian Halligan, CEO Mr. David Stack, CFO
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Frank Auger, Director of Account Management
Principal: Mr. Brian Halligan, CEO
Number of Employees

200

Business Category

SOFTWARE PRODUCTS MARKETING PROGRAMS & SERVICES MARKETING CONSULTANTS INTERNET MARKETING SERVICES Marketing Consulting Services (NAICS: 541613)

Products & Services

Hub Spot offers the following product(s): HubSpot Inbound Marketing Software

Service Area
Hub Spot provides their services in MASSACHUSETTS.
Alternate Business Names
HubSpot, Inc.
Industry Tips
Domain Name Services Helping Customers Find You - Video Internet Marketing Services Is Your Digital Marketing Outdated? Is Your Digital Marketing Outdated? - Video

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Hub Spot has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 25 1st St Fl 2

    Cambridge, MA 02141 (888) 482-7768

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/18/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On the Hubspot site there is no way to cancel the service. I do not want the sidekick service anymore and I no longer authorize any further charges to my bank account.

Desired Settlement: Cancel the Sidekick service and stop charging my bank account.

Business Response: We have cancelled the account and stopped all billing as requested.  We have also sent a communication to the customer directly.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #********. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved. 

Regards,

****** *******

6/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hubspot signed me up for a yearly contract without informing me that it was a yearly contract. I have cancelled my card and they continue to bill me for the service. Make sure when you sign up with these scammers that they tell you its a one time payment and not for the year otherwise they will continue to bill your account.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting a refund for the payments made after the first payment and a cancellation of my account. This is

Business Response: We have discussed the matter with the customer and issued a refund for the period in question.  We believe the issue is resolved.

4/12/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Here's a breakdown of my experience with Hubspot I hired a local marketing agency in my hometown. The agency gave me a quote with a monthly rate and explicitly stated that I could leave the contract at any point without any consequences. In the contract, I was quoted a $300/month rate for a third party service/tool (hubspot) that the agency requires to do their work. No mention of any locked in term with them. Because I had never heard of Hubspot, I did some research. I checked their pricing page (http://www.hubspot.com/pricing#?currency=USD) which states the monthly rates of the service (no mention of yearly). Further still, I contacted a sales rep to clarify exactly what the service did and what I could expect. Again, I was quoted the monthly rate and no mention of annual contract. The local marketing agency sent me the link to pay for Hubspot services. I followed the link, accepted the terms of service, and paid $300. 3 months later, I decided to cancel the contract with my local marketing agency. They brought to my attention that I had signed a year long contract that I couldn't back out of with Hubspot ($300/month). I've contacted Hubspot directly and they're unwilling to budge. They have no contract with my actual signature on it, only evidence that I ticked a terms of service box. My argument is that their language and methodology is so obviously deceptive. Nowhere on their pricing page does it mention the year long contract. Their sales rep never mentioned the year long contract. The only place it's mentioned is in the fine print, in ambiguous language, right before you make the payment. I've also found around the web many other customers who have had a similar experience. I feel like I was totally deceived during this entire process. I don't want a refund for the months I've used, but I'd like to be able to exit my contract based on the above experience. IT would be nice if Hubspot changed their pricing page and sales strategy to be a bit more transparent with their customers.

Desired Settlement: Cancellation of my contract

Business Response: I am sorry about your experience.  When purchasing software, or anything for that matter, you should be given clear and accurate information regarding terms.  I will make sure that you are allowed to cancel your contract.  Feel free to email me directly at fauger@hubspot.com if you'd like to discuss this further.  I'd be happy to set up a phone call.  If price was the only reason for your cancellation, I'd like to make up for your bad experience by working with you to find a way to keep you on the software at a price that you feel is fair.



5/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My company, ************** ****, pre-paid $9,410.00 for a year of HubSpot services on 3/27/2013. I chose to pre-pay in order to get a discount. The sales rep, *** ********, assured me on the phone that I could cancel at any time and receive a refund of the pro-rated portion of services not received. Due to technical issues migrating my website to HubSpot, the service did not become operational until May 8, 2013. On May 14, 2013 I called HubSpot to cancel the remaining services because ************** **** will no longer actively market its services , and therefore there is no need for HubSpot in-bound marketing services. The reason for this change is that I accepted a full-time position with a different company. HubSpot refuses to refund any part of the $9,410.00 I paid, even though I only consumed $270.00 worth of service for HubSpot Migration Services. For a micro-business like ************** **** where I am the only employee, the sum of money paid for which NO services will actually be rendered is huge. I expect people to act with integrity and honor their word. Clearly, the sales rep told me an untruth. As the previous owner of Online Trading Academy Colorado where I had employees and at other companies where I was an executive, whenever a customer was told something incorrect by my employee, I stood by the customer. I gave a refund and apologized for my employee's bad behavior. That's how companies build a good reputation and grow profitably. I want a refund of $9,140.00 for services that have not and will not be rendered.

Desired Settlement: Due to technical issues migrating my website to HubSpot, the service did not become operational until May 8, 2013.

Business Response: ***** and I spoke today by phone and reached an agreement to resolve the complaint.