BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Eastern Massachusetts, Maine, Rhode Island and Vermont
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Hub Spot?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

HubSpot offers inbound marketing software that helps businesses get found on the internet by the right prospects and convert more of them into leads and customers. HubSpot helps your company get found by your best qualified prospects in search engines, blogs and the blogosphere, and social media. Once these qualified visitors are on your website, HubSpot helps you convert more of them into leads and paying customers through landing pages, lead intelligence and marketing analytics.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Hub Spot meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Hub Spot include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Hub Spot
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 20, 2010 Business started: 06/01/2006 in MA Business incorporated: 07/09/2007 in MA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Brian Halligan, CEO Mr. David Stack, CFO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brian Halligan, CEO
Number of Employees

200

Business Category

SOFTWARE PRODUCTS MARKETING PROGRAMS & SERVICES MARKETING CONSULTANTS INTERNET MARKETING SERVICES Marketing Consulting Services (NAICS: 541613)

Products & Services

Hub Spot offers the following product(s): HubSpot Inbound Marketing Software

Service Area
Hub Spot provides their services in MASSACHUSETTS.
Alternate Business Names
HubSpot, Inc.
Industry Tips
Domain Name Services Helping Customers Find You - Video Internet Marketing Services Is Your Digital Marketing Outdated? Is Your Digital Marketing Outdated? - Video

Additional Locations

  • 25 1st St Fl 2

    Cambridge, MA 02141 (888) 482-7768

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Communication/Mass Email
  • - eQuote
  • - Communication/Mass Email
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hubspot signed me up for a yearly contract without informing me that it was a yearly contract. I have cancelled my card and they continue to bill me for the service. Make sure when you sign up with these scammers that they tell you its a one time payment and not for the year otherwise they will continue to bill your account.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting a refund for the payments made after the first payment and a cancellation of my account. This is

Business Response: We have discussed the matter with the customer and issued a refund for the period in question.  We believe the issue is resolved.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/12/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Here's a breakdown of my experience with Hubspot I hired a local marketing agency in my hometown. The agency gave me a quote with a monthly rate and explicitly stated that I could leave the contract at any point without any consequences. In the contract, I was quoted a $300/month rate for a third party service/tool (hubspot) that the agency requires to do their work. No mention of any locked in term with them. Because I had never heard of Hubspot, I did some research. I checked their pricing page (http://www.hubspot.com/pricing#?currency=USD) which states the monthly rates of the service (no mention of yearly). Further still, I contacted a sales rep to clarify exactly what the service did and what I could expect. Again, I was quoted the monthly rate and no mention of annual contract. The local marketing agency sent me the link to pay for Hubspot services. I followed the link, accepted the terms of service, and paid $300. 3 months later, I decided to cancel the contract with my local marketing agency. They brought to my attention that I had signed a year long contract that I couldn't back out of with Hubspot ($300/month). I've contacted Hubspot directly and they're unwilling to budge. They have no contract with my actual signature on it, only evidence that I ticked a terms of service box. My argument is that their language and methodology is so obviously deceptive. Nowhere on their pricing page does it mention the year long contract. Their sales rep never mentioned the year long contract. The only place it's mentioned is in the fine print, in ambiguous language, right before you make the payment. I've also found around the web many other customers who have had a similar experience. I feel like I was totally deceived during this entire process. I don't want a refund for the months I've used, but I'd like to be able to exit my contract based on the above experience. IT would be nice if Hubspot changed their pricing page and sales strategy to be a bit more transparent with their customers.

Desired Settlement: Cancellation of my contract

Business Response: I am sorry about your experience.  When purchasing software, or anything for that matter, you should be given clear and accurate information regarding terms.  I will make sure that you are allowed to cancel your contract.  Feel free to email me directly at fauger@hubspot.com if you'd like to discuss this further.  I'd be happy to set up a phone call.  If price was the only reason for your cancellation, I'd like to make up for your bad experience by working with you to find a way to keep you on the software at a price that you feel is fair.



BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My company, ************** ****, pre-paid $9,410.00 for a year of HubSpot services on 3/27/2013. I chose to pre-pay in order to get a discount. The sales rep, *** ********, assured me on the phone that I could cancel at any time and receive a refund of the pro-rated portion of services not received. Due to technical issues migrating my website to HubSpot, the service did not become operational until May 8, 2013. On May 14, 2013 I called HubSpot to cancel the remaining services because ************** **** will no longer actively market its services , and therefore there is no need for HubSpot in-bound marketing services. The reason for this change is that I accepted a full-time position with a different company. HubSpot refuses to refund any part of the $9,410.00 I paid, even though I only consumed $270.00 worth of service for HubSpot Migration Services. For a micro-business like ************** **** where I am the only employee, the sum of money paid for which NO services will actually be rendered is huge. I expect people to act with integrity and honor their word. Clearly, the sales rep told me an untruth. As the previous owner of Online Trading Academy Colorado where I had employees and at other companies where I was an executive, whenever a customer was told something incorrect by my employee, I stood by the customer. I gave a refund and apologized for my employee's bad behavior. That's how companies build a good reputation and grow profitably. I want a refund of $9,140.00 for services that have not and will not be rendered.

Desired Settlement: Due to technical issues migrating my website to HubSpot, the service did not become operational until May 8, 2013.

Business Response: ***** and I spoke today by phone and reached an agreement to resolve the complaint.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/14/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My specific problem is that I want a total refund. I found the hubspot material on the internet. I studied the ads and then contacted the company. The contact person was ****** ********. He explained the service and I was interested. He was also very sure to tell us that Google was an investor, and that they backed them because of how good the service was. There are 3 levels of "service". Basic for $200. monthly, Professional for $400 monthly, and Enterprise for $700. monthly. For the 2 larger packages there is a Training package that is $2000. The very fact that the prices are shown as monthly packages is misleading. The charges are billed per annum, all upfront. After reviewing the 3 packages with us ****** naturally guided us towards the enterprise package. This is the $9600. package. The hubspot site actually says that is the one most appropriate for the largest users, not small businesses such as our businesses. The "package" suitable for businesses with less than 100 contacts per month. is the smallest package. At the onset we explained that we had no email or inbound marketing program, and that we had zero contacts per month. We were steered to the most expensive package. ****** is a good pitchman. Since the Hubspot site features a 30 day free trial, (http://www.hubspot.com/free-trial/) with no credit card or payment required, I felt at ease. But ****** immediately began telling us that the free trial excludes so many of the tools and features, training, integration etc., that it would not be useful to us. His job was to sell us. Close the deal. The initial sale was $9600. upfront. When he saw I was not biting he went to a 6 month instead of a one year commitment to close the deal. I believe that is the classic "bait and switch". The website boasts the benefits of the "30 day free trial" and the salesman then contacts you to explain that isn't going to work for you. That is the sales model. If I were to have the 30 day trial I never would have paid for the package at all. After signing up and paying the 6 months in advance ($4200) Plus the training or consulting fee $1200), I found out what I got. The salesman, during our calls, went out of his way to emphasize that if we were not willing to spend 5 hours a week working with the program,it would not help. I have a full time web designer all around IT professional working on my premises. For the first 5 weeks, he worked almost 40 hours weekly to integrate the hubspot program and create landing pages, and do INITIAL setup work with the program. I was very angry that the "5 hours weekly" was such an exaggeration. Had I seen the scope and cost of the program, the true amount of work, I would not have purchased it. As my frustration grew, I called and explained that dissatisfaction, and I was directed to a ****** ******. I explained all and he was very nice, but ultimately not returning my calls. He offered no help except niceties. The $5400. we paid did include a certain amount of "training or consulting". When I discussed the problem with that individual, **** *****, the training sessions were no longer forthcoming. I feel that we were steered away from the "30 day free trial" because that is just the best way to bait and switch. Furthermore we were sold on a level that is inappropriate for the size of business that we are. We are now not even getting responses from their "complaint " person. I certainly feel were were sold based on a bait and switch, and the whole program was misrepresented. I want a refund. I

Desired Settlement: $5,400. refund.

Business Response: We have reached a settlement with this customer.

Consumer Response:

I listened to Mr ******'s continuing (1.5 hrs) sales pitch and I repeatedly asked for a refund. At his insistence we scheduled another telephone conversation. After another half hour I again said I still wanted a refund, and he agreed to submit my request to "finance" where they would consider my request and "get back to me" within 24-48 hours with the specifics of a partial refund. Today  I received an email from Mr. ******, saying " Per our last conversation, I have requested a refund from finance. I will have details for you shortly".  As of this time there is no offer on the table, let alone an accepted offer.


Business Response: We have issued a refund as requested by this customer.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.


BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

3/21/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: One of the things (we thought) we were paying for with HubSpot is their World Class, Industry Leading support. The service is designed to make Inbound Marketing easy for the little guy, who doesn't have an IT Support team working with us. For the first two months of service, this seemed to be working out just fine. Once everything seemed to be working correctly, we asked if it would be alright to cancel our previous web hosting service. We were told that we would have to make sure that our email was set up elsewhere - which we did - and then we could go ahead and cancel our old account. We are very cautious, so we asked a few times, and were given the response about email again. In all of the conversations and threaded emails that we still have and have re-read time and time again - nowhere did they mention any complications due to our domain privileges. HubSpot doesn't handle domain work. If you're the average small business without an IT Support team working for you, you probably don't even know the difference between Domain Registration and Web Hosting. I thought they were completely intertwined. Surely, someone with Industry Leading World Class support wouldn't overlook something so easy to confuse for a small business… but they sure did. When we cancelled our account with the old Web Hosting/Domain Registry company, our website was completely derailed. Seeing as the other company also handled our DNS, our emails were now mis-routed and were bouncing back to the sender. We couldn't "un-cancel" our other account and were forced to set up a brand new account with the old company. We were hit with various set up fees as well as cancellation fees from canceling it before. We had to set it up as if it were a new web site. This process had our site and email out of commission for about 48 hours. Our AdWords campaign was sending people to an "Error 404" page, while we still paid for their clicks. We also had a well established web site, which had been active for about ten years - that now appears to Google as a "new" website, losing rank. This is the opposite of what we got HubSpot for to begin with. They are supposed to boost our web presence and increase our rank, but this set us back a long way in terms of our progress. The day that our website went down, we had a meeting with our Account Supervisor. We had to reschedule it due to the web crisis we were facing. We told him what happened and how we were completely flustered trying to get things back on track. When he finally wrote back (30 hours+ after we contacted him on a Thursday) - he said that he was going to look into it and try to figure out what happened. Sometime the next week he suggested a meeting to discuss what happened. We explained everything. We were asked what we thought would help to settle the issue. For the immeasurable damage to our website and the uncountable amount of bounced emails (all of which could have been much needed business in our slow season), we told him that one month free of charge would be fair. After waiting around while they "Looked into it" some more, the resolution offered by HubSpot was to keep our prices and rates exactly the same and to not do anything in line with what we requested. He said that our contractual rate was due to increase by $100 (which had never been discussed prior to this incident) and rather than charge us more money, they would continue to charge the same. To us, it sounds like they screwed up and gave bad advice. When it came back around to them, they decided that we should have been paying more money, but they would give us a deal by keeping things the same. ******* business practices, at best. Now to cap it off, we're stuck in this contract with them. We were trying to make the most of it - continue with the program and get the most out of the money we're spending. I submitted a ticket to their customer support last Friday, 2/17. It is now the following Thursday, 2/23 and they have not bothered to respond to that ticket. Being stuck in a contract is one thing, but we should still be treated with respect as customers. When we have an issue and we bring it to support, we expect an answer. Before we "stirred the pot" at HubSpot, we could expect a return on our Support Tickets in an hour. Next day at worst. Now it's going on a week with nothing. I've brought that up with our Account Manager and he kept saying that he would make sure they took care of it right away. That was Tuesday, two days ago. The question remains unanswered. I've never filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau in the past, but I feel like I'm walking around in circles waiting for them to take care of a situation that they don't want to bother with.

Desired Settlement: We think that we should be compensated one month fee from HubSpot. We think that trying to tell us that we're due for a price bump that they will hold off on is egregiously wrong and does not settle this matter whatsoever. It's time for HubSpot to man up and do what is right by their customer. We would like to be able to say that HubSpot took a serious problem and was able to completely turn it around. We would like to be able to continue with them after our contract is expired. Aside from these issues we've had, there are great tools with the HubSpot service and we can see the value to that. However, if they think it is a good, honest business practice to give bad advice that cripples our website, offer no support in reaping the damages, and no compensation for our time or money wasted on the issue - we will not be able to work with them any longer.

Business Response: As a software vendor, HubSpot provides technical support to our customers for issues related to our products and services, which in this case includes website hosting but not domain registration services.  The incident described in this complaint was not the result of any failure or defect of HubSpot software or services.  

However, we recognize that domain registration is a potentially confusing topic for small businesses and that we could have done more in this instance to clarify how to seamlessly transition a site to HubSpot.  We helped them resolve the issue with the third-party vendor.  Also, in order to maintain good will with the customer, we have provided a pricing adjustment for the remainder of their contract term equal to the amount requested.  We have also responded promptly to all of the customer's subsequent support requests and are committed to providing on-going service to this and all of our customers in accordance with our terms of service.

Consumer Response: I should have responded sooner, but after much consideration, I reject their offer.

In their response to us, they claim that they helped us resolve the issue with the third party (eHost, the company who handles our domain registration). That simply isn't true. As soon as I discovered the issue that we had, I contacted HubSpot support to see what was going on. Their support told me "Oh wow, that's really bad, you shouldn't have been told that," and then told us that we had to talk to eHost to fix it. Beyond that, HubSpot offered no assistance in resolving the issue.

If we had been told when we first signed up for service that they can bump up our contract price even if we aren't seeing the desired results, we never would have signed up for service. The fact that this tidbit coincided with the other issue makes it even more unsettling for us. If we were seeing some undeniable results, it would be a completely different story, and we would see the value in the service. Without the results though, the proposed price increase just feels like a slap in the face.

We truly believe that getting a refund for the $200 monthly payment isn't a lot to ask. Frankly, the issue has gone on long enough. We'd like to just put everything behind us, but I just can't help but think their proposed settlement of not-increasing the price feels a lot like they are just keeping things exactly the same with no resolution.

Also, before we submitted a complaint to the BBB, we tried to contact everyone. It says right on the BBB page that HubSpot's complaint contact is ***** *****. We tried to contact him directly about an issue that we thought was very serious, and he passed us off to someone else. We just feel like we've been getting the runaround and nobody wants to go above and beyond to really settle the matter with us.

We hope that someone will step up and come up with a more reasonable resolution to this. Thank you,

**** ******
Relocation Consultant
*** **** ****** ***
*********************** ************************ ***********0

 

 

 

Business Response: We have discussed the situation with the customer and have reached a mutually agreeable settlement of this issue.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1/22/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have told the salesman *** that we are not interested probably 10 times now, literally. He keeps calling for some reason even after i tell him to put us on their DO NOT CALL LIST. Very unethical and would never do business with them AT ALL. I am in sales too, and I contact somebody 3 times ONLY if I cannot reach them. If I reach them and they are not interested, that is it, I do not contact them again.

Business Response: Hi. I am the VP of Services at HubSpot, and I'd like to apologize for the experience you had with us recently. We have discussed with *** this situation and provided some coaching to him. We have also opted you out of our communications and put you on our "do not call" list, so you will not be contacted anymore. I sincerely apologize, and wish you the best of luck. If you'd like to discuss this further, please email me at *****@hubspot.com

Best regards,
*****

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1