Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Abine, Inc.

Phone: (800) 928-1987 Fax: (617) 345-0028   View Additional Email Addresses http://www.abine.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Abine, Inc. specializes in software that allows people to maintain their right to online privacy and maintain, and/or regain control over their personal information.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Abine, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Abine, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 13 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 5
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 13

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

9 Customer Reviews on Abine, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 6
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 9

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 03, 2012 Business started: 01/01/2009 in MA Business started locally: 01/01/2009 Business incorporated 06/19/2009 in MA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Rob Shavell, CEO Mr. Andrew Sudbury, CTO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Rob Shavell, CEO
Number of Employees

17

Business Category

COMPUTERS-SOFTWARE & SERVICES SOFTWARE PRODUCTS SOFTWARE DEVELOPMENT Other Computer Related Services (NAICS: 541519)

Method(s) of Payment

Cash
Personal Check
Business Check
Cashiers Check
Money Order
MasterCard
Visa
American Express
Discover
PayPal

Service Area
Abine, Inc. provides their services in ALABAMA, ALASKA, AMERICAN SAMOA, ARIZONA, ARKANSAS, CALIFORNIA, COLORADO, CONNECTICUT, DELAWARE, DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA, FLORIDA, GEORGIA, GUAM, HAWAII, IDAHO, ILLINOIS, INDIANA, IOWA, KANSAS, KENTUCKY, LOUISIANA, MAINE, MARYLAND, MASSACHUSETTS, MICHIGAN, MINNESOTA, MISSISSIPPI, MISSOURI, MONTANA, NEBRASKA, NEVADA, NEW HAMPSHIRE, NEW JERSEY, NEW MEXICO, NEW YORK, NORTH CAROLINA, NORTH DAKOTA, OHIO, OKLAHOMA, OREGON, PENNSYLVANIA, PUERTO RICO, RHODE ISLAND, SOUTH CAROLINA, SOUTH DAKOTA, TENNESSEE, TEXAS, UTAH, VERMONT, VIRGIN ISLANDS, VIRGINIA, WASHINGTON, WEST VIRGINIA, WISCONSIN, WYOMING.
United States
Industry Tips
Computer Software - 5 Tips - Video Computers - Software and Services

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Abine, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • PO Box 410009

    E Cambridge, MA 02141

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I subscribed to the DeleteMe service in 2013. This year I did not want to renew my subscription. When DeleteMe automatically charged my bank account the annual fee of $129 on 6/9/15, I logged in to my account in order to cancel the subscription. The following is stated in the FAQs section of the DeleteMe website: "You can cancel at any time, for any reason, and we’ll refund the remaining months of your payment." As of today 6/16/15, I have been unable to reach DeleteMe's customer support through every contact method listed on their website to confirm that my subscription is cancelled (live chat, phone, email). This is unacceptable and unprofessional. Their website states, "Use our website's chat program to talk live with a customer care representative, email us at deleteme@abine.com, or call us at ###-###-#### during our office hours Monday through Saturday, 9am - 6pm Eastern Standard Time." The live chat customer support option on the DeleteMe website does not work, stating "This Department no longer exists." I emailed DeleteMe at ********@abine.com on Fri 6/12/15, requesting confirmation of my subscription cancellation and a full refund of the $129 subscription renewal fee. I received an automated email, confirming receipt of my email to DeleteMe. It read, "Thanks for contacting Abine support. We will get back to you as soon as possible. Premium members receive expedited support, typically within 24 hours. Free users will be answered in 1-3 business days." I have not received a reply to my email from Abine support as of today 6/16/15. I was a Premium member. The customer support phone number is not answered during their stated business hours, despite numerous calls. I called the Customer Service number ###-###-#### on Fri 6/12, Mon 6/15 and Tue 6/16 during the business hours listed. Every time that my call connected, I immediately was put on hold with music. No menu options were stated, only music as soon as my call connected. After a couple of minutes, an automated recording stated that no one was available to take my call and the call was then disconnected. After 6pm ET today 6/16/15, I finally was given the option of leaving a voicemail. I have not received a reply to my voicemail from Abine support as of today 6/16/15.

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive a reply to my email or a returned phone call from Abine Inc, confirming that my subscription to their DeleteMe service is cancelled. I wish to receive written confirmation of my cancelled DeleteMe subscription from Abine Inc, either by mail or email. I would like a full refund of the $129 subscription renewal fee, charged to my account by Abine Inc. on 6/9/15.

Business Response: We apologize for this incredibly poor experience. Unfortunately, when you sign up for our DeleteMe service, you have to agree to our Terms of Service, which state that it is a recurring subscription and is renewed automatically. That said, we have no interest in preventing users from cancelling if they would like to do so.The inability to reach us boils down to a few issues: our actual support hours are 9am-5pm Monday-Friday Eastern time. We've updated this info in multiple places, but apparently it was missed somewhere. I see the BBB listing is still showing the incorrect hours, so I just submitted an update to correct them. Also, we did recently have a bug where the live chat link that is specifically available while logged in to DeleteMe directs to an older chat link. This bug was fixed - somewhat coincidentally - the day this complaint was received.In addition, I see that you had emailed our support email on Friday, 6/12 at 6:01pm, which unfortunately meant the email remained unread until the following week. One of our DeleteMe operators responded to you on 6/17 (the following Wednesday) confirming that a refund had been issued. That said, it is certainly unfortunate that it took 3 business days for you to receive a response, especially after so many unsuccessful attempts to get in touch with us. To reiterate the reply sent through our support email on 6/17, the $129.00 was refunded to you on 6/17 and should have posted to your account by now. We are truly sorry for the unacceptable experience and if you need to forward these exchanges to your bank to have them remove the overdraft fee, please feel free to do so.

7/1/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: *** ********* company Abine has stolen thousands of dollars from me. They refuse to dispute any transactions I have made with their company, as they were acting as a proxy for my credit card. What this means is that I purchase a "virtual disposable credit card online" or in Abine's terms, a "masked card" and I utilize the masked card to make purchase online to protect my identity. The problem with this issue is that when merchants refunded my virtual card, it was never forwarded to my REAL CARD. I have reached out to their company for MONTHS regarding these refunds. All they do is send me information that discourages me getting my refund back by saying "they will work with my bank to collect the money"....ARE YOU KIDDING ME?!?!?!? I spent WEEKS BREAKING DOWN CHARGES SO YOU'RE GOING TO YOUR BANK to get MY MONEY BACK. *** *******, the company's lead partner stated in MULTIPLE conversations that their system is not setup to handle returns back to the respective credit card. Why would you even OFFER A SERVICE LIKE A MASKED CARD if your system cant handle refunds. This company has repeatedly stated "they can help" only to turn thing back on me to make me do more work than I should be doing in regards to DISPUTING THESE CHARGES. You need to DISPUTE THESE CHARGES WITH YOUR PARTNER BANK. As I purchased A VIRTUAL CREDIT CARD THROUGH YOU!!!!! I HAVE records of well over 20 emails from **** (customer service rep at abine's blur department which offers the masked card) and *** ******* the CEO/partner.

Desired Settlement: REFUND THE THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS YOU STOLE FROM ME AND YOU CAN DISPUTE IT THROUGH YOUR BANK OR TRANSFER THE FUNDS DIRECTLY TO ME!!!

Business Response: This user's claims are unfounded and the user has never been able to provide a single specific detail as to why they are due further refunds from Abine. They only claim there are "discrepancies" and demand additional money from Abine. Abine has been incredibly cooperative, manually reviewing all transactions and providing the user with every possible detail we have available (in addition, Abine has already refunded over 50% of what the user has spent with our company).When the user is asked to provide specific details as to what refunds they believe they are due or why, they refuse to provide any details and instead insist that Abine is withholding information (despite Abine providing considerably more info than the user ever has provided).In summary, we believe this user was using our service to engage in fraudulent behavior and we are currently investigating this case through various legal channels. We can provide no further details at this time.

5/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i signed up for abine for the 1 month free trial. i used the account thoroughly and fine until the free trial was over. after the free trial I paid for the yearly membership which was $39. after paying suddenly i was not allowed to use some of the premium features. i contacted abine and i was only told the following by **** via chatroom "Your premium subscription was cancelled and refunded yesterday, along with any outstanding masked cards." no one has told me chat why, no one has responded by email and i was ignored in the chatroom. a refund is being issued to my card but i want to kno why i can no longer use my account! i dont think its fair and that is not how you do bussiness. i understand now why the companys status with the bbb is revolved! i do not recommend this company to anyone. if you want to mask your email (which is a free service) then maybe you should use it for that. but you are still at risk of them closing your account for no apparent reason. the costumer service is bad. dont pay for a premium service.!

Desired Settlement: i would like to give me a logical explanation instead of just being ignored. that is not how you do bussiness. i would also like the company to retrain their employees as far as comuster service goes. i also think that the company needs to reconsider the reaosn behing revolking somsone from using the service. there is a lot for the 'desired outcome'

Business Response: This user has been linked to multiple accounts that were used for potentially fraudulent reasons. Many months ago, this user (under a different name) demanded that refunds be sent a second time, despite the refunds already being sent successfully. The user then engaged in a lengthy email thread in which very unprofessional and rude language was used by the user. The user claimed we were a fraud/scam.

Despite having such an incredibly poor opinion of us, the user than signed up with us again under the same name. Any due refunds were sent, and the user's account was closed again. The user then continued to sign up multiple times, to the point of using different names for the accounts in an attempt to go unnoticed. Abine continued to close down the accounts as soon as they were discovered. In every situation, Abine issued refunds to the user if they were due.

**** ****** (the name used for this account) was told via chat the reason for the account closure on 4/29/15:

"****: [10:47:28 AM] Your account is clearly linked to previous accounts that have been linked to fraud. [10:48:02 AM] Yes, it took our company about a month to realize that this account was associated with the old accounts that you've created"

**** ******'s $39.00 charge was voided the same day it was paid (4/27/15) so Abine never actually charged the user for this amount. Abine also issued multiple refunds to the user on the same day.

Simply put: Abine does not want this person (or related persons) using our service again, and based on their interactions with Abine, their opinion of the company and the language directed at the company, we believe that this person should not want to do business with us either. Despite this, they continue to try to use our services and complain when they are not able to. 

We have attached a transcript of the chat conversation from 4/29.

4/7/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was purchasing an item from ***** ******** and the masked card message came up . I thought it might be a good idea to mask my card but nothing was stated of the cost of $45.00 that was charged to my debit card. I also cancelled the sale because of this. I contacted Albine by email and have not received an answer to cancel and credit my account the $45.00.

Desired Settlement: I would like the $45.00 refunded to my card and make sure they do not charge the account at any time in the future. The way they do this is really bad business and not to respond is even worse!!

Business Response: Hello - I have just issued you a refund for $45, which you should see back in your account in 2-5 business days. I have also searched our support emails and was unable to find an email from you but I do apologize if you had an email go unanswered!

Consumer Response:  Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #********. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved.   I just want to make sure they do not charge my account in the future. Regards, ***** ******

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below.  I would like to reject Abine's solution as they have not reimbursed my $45 as was promised on 1/13/15.  They said my account would be credited within  5-7 days. Regards, ***** ******    

Business Response: Our sincere apologies for this unpleasant experience. I see that we stated we had issued a refund to your credit card on 01/08/2015, but for some reason, this refund was never processed.This was caught by our support team in March, and the $45.00 was successfully credited to your credit card on 03/17/2015 at 4:32pm EDT. This credit should have posted to your statement by 3/25 or sooner.We have also completely cancelled your account and deleted any billing info. You will not see any further charges. Once again, we apologize that this very easy-to-solve problem became so delayed and complicated to an unacceptable degree.

4/6/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I tries out one of their products, a credit card masking system, and the site told me that I had at least 1 free trail of the product. I tried the product out , once, and then, I found a charge for 47.58 on my bank account today that was charged to me on Jan 28th (?). I NEVER signed up for the product, I only tried it out as the company said I could. I have been trying to contact them at various numbers all afternoon and I get a message that states that"no one is available to take my call-goodbye". And that's it! I cannot contact them nor can I remove the product from my computer or can I disable my credit card from their website!! I need help contacting these people because I THINK they might be trying to pull a scam and I want my money bank, my credit card info eliminated, and my account CLOSED PERMANENTLY!! Please, help!

Desired Settlement: I would like the 48.00 charge refunded to my account and for SOMEONE in a supervisory role to contact me to straighten this out and assure me that the account will be closed and my CCd info will be destroyed!!

Business Response: Hello -

I do apologize for the delay in getting back to you. Our team has refunded this $48.14 charge, today, 3/20. You will see these funds returned to your account in 2-5 business days. 

Best, 
*** 

2/3/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
1/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After ordering Abine's services, I received a confirmation of my order but no further information about how to proceed. I emailed the company the next day asking for assistance. I received no response. I emailed 2 more times over the next 3 days, all with no response. On the third day, I called the number listed on the website. The number goes directly to voicemail.

Desired Settlement: Full refund to credit card

Business Response: Hello -

We do apologize for the delay in getting back to you. On Monday 1/19, our support staff emailed you in response to your question about how long it takes to see results. You had informed us that you had issued a chargeback, which means we are not able to issue you a refund. If you rescind the chargeback, we will be able to issue you a refund. 

Here is the 1/19 email: Hello *****,
all accounts are processed and your first report is run 30 days after your date of sign up. This means essentially, that if you signed up on Jan 13th, we would contact you on Feb 12th. I apologize that you did not receive any response from emails you were sending. Were you sending them through this support channel or emailing directly to ********@getabine.com ?
Thanks,

We can either expedite your account or issue you a refund once you rescind the chargeback. 

Best, 
**** 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

The company offered a prompt refund. Thank you. 

Regards,

***** ******

12/23/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was online and was going to place an order. I did not complete the order and I cancelled it yet Abine Inc still charged my checking account $12.88. It is funny because I cpuld not ind any way of contacting them except via email. I decided to get on the BBB website to file a complaint and I found what is "suppose" to be an 800 number for Abine Inc. Funny because I have called the 800 number you have for Abine Inc. 5 times and what happens is the call goes into playing music. After waiting on hold listening to this music for about a minute or so message comes on stating "sorry no on is available to take your call. Good-Bye" What a scam. I called the company that I was gong to place the order with "*********" and I told them Iw as charged but I never placed the order. They looked and found no order for me in the system they could not even pull up my name or anything. So I was charged for an order that I id not place and there is no way for me to contact this scam of a company to get my $21.88 refunded back to my debit account. I want a number to contact them and I want my $21.88 refunded asap. Thank You

Desired Settlement: I want my $21,88 refunded back into my account asap.

Business Response: Hello,You can call us any time at ###-###-####. If you ****** "Abine phone number" this number will pop up, I'm sorry you had trouble finding it. Please call us and we will refund your money asap. Best, Abine 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below.  the number that pops up is ***** ******** I have called for a couple of weeks and I een left message. No one answers or returns my calls.]I will call this numberbut I want my $21.88 reffund. Regards, ***** *****  

11/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company is 100% fraud. There mask email and auto address fill-in works great but that was not my primary use for their service. I shop online often and needed 'Mask Cards'. Out of 12+ mask cards I created, only 2 were accepted by **** ****t and ********. All of the rest of the companies (*******, *****, *** **** & ****** *) could not 'verifed' card numbers and consider it as a fraudulently online orders. The stores could not issue me a refund for ANY of the cards so I had to go back to Abine. The credit card associated to Abine was closed and the bank account was frozen due to a fraud non-related to Abine. Apparently Abine 'issued me a refund' for ONLY 4 cards and basically said that my bank had the money and its not their problem and to have the bank contact them. I sat down with a personal banker and they showed me NO payments are allowed at all whatsoever to my card or account AT ALL because that account is frozen and NO ONE from the fraud department will talk to them or me. Although Abine showed me that they DID refund me for 4 cards; ABINE DOES NOT UNDERSTAND that you cannot refund money to a closed account or a closed credit card! Abine simply cannot understand that whatsoever!! So basically I am suppose to wait til my OLD account is offically closed to HOPEFULLY recieve a refund. EVERY time ask for a refund from these people; I am promise a future date then I AM GIVEN ANOTHER STORY. ITS NOT FAIR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Desired Settlement: I want my money. I want the money back that I cannot use because Abine does not offer anything I need. I want other people to be AWARE of using Abine service; espeically with Mask Cards. I also want their employees to be educated more with their job.

Business Response: Hi ****** - I see no record of you reaching out to our support staff based on the email address you have provided.  Please email me : ****@abine.com and I will be able to issue you a refund for any unused Masked Cards and your subscription fee.  Thanks,  **** 

9/2/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I cancelled back on August 12th and I got an email confirming my cancellation. I receive a message on August 19th stating they had issues with my card. I replied to their email stating that I cancelled a week prior. I got an auto message stating they would get back to me within three days, but they never did. I got billed on August 22nd. I tried contacting their customer service via chat and via email and have yet to get an answer back. When I log in, it states that my account is cancelled but why am I still getting billed?

Desired Settlement: Refund my $5 back to my account. I no longer need your services.

Business Response: Hi ***** - It looks like you emailed us on 8/25, and ******** closed your account and refunded the $5.00 charge. ******** made it clear on 8/26 that your account is now closed, and the money is refunded, so I think you're all set here. Let me know if we can help with anything else. Sorry for the inconvenience.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #********. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved.  I told the better business bureau to cancel this ticket before I got a response from you but it sea like they didn't relay that information. I did hear back from******** though. Thanks.  ***** *****

7/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a year's subscription to Abine's service Delete Me in October 2013 to remove my personal information from a list of websites. In the initial months of the subscription, they worked on removing information and sent progress reports. However, service issues began in February 2014 when the report sent listed that my information had been removed from some websites, which was not the case when I checked the sites myself. I emailed the address provided (********@abine.com) in February 2014 with links to the websites where my information was still visible asking them to remove. I did not hear back from that email so followed up with phone calls. I left voicemails with no call backs. I followed up with an additional email in June 2014 asking for a cancellation along with a refund based on the service not meeting expectations and no responses from the business received. I have yet to receive a response from this email either. I also attempted to tweet the owner @********** and the @***** Twitter handle asking for a response to my complaints. Again, no response.

Desired Settlement: Due to the service not being received and no response from the business to resolve, I am requesting a full refund of $129 for the year's subscription purchased.

Business Response: Hi *********,

I'm terribly sorry about this issue. This is actually very strange: we cannot find any record of you contacting Abine (no voicemails and no emails to*******@abine.com or********@abine.com) since November 2013. None of our support staff or DeleteMe team members can find any record of your communication.

This is the first complaint of this type we've ever seen, and we communicate with many customers on a daily basis, so I know that customers normally get quick and helpful responses from us. If you would like a $129 refund for your annual service, we can certainly take care of that for you. Please email********@abine.com AND CC me so that I can make sure either your refund or questions are taken care of. My email is********@abine.com. 

Again, I'm really sorry for this trouble, and I look forward to resolving your issue quickly.

Thanks,
****

Consumer Response:

5/16/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Since mid-2013, I have subscribed to the free Abine "Mask Me" program that is described as "securely storing your information" (e.g. logins, passwords) and that by sync'ing one's data one can gain access to one's saved login information from "anywhere" (e.g. any computer). I regularly sync my data and over the course of the past 15-18 months have reinstalled "Mask Me" on my home computer using my account password and established password ****. Note that NO ONE has access to my home computer except me. HOWEVER, on 18 Mar 2014 I sync'd my data. My account password **** was a variation of "exV" and a couple of other symbols/characters known only to me. Later that morning I attempted to login to my Mask Me account to be greeted (per se) with a login failure !! Upon clicking the password **** link, it was "******". I NEVER changed anything and my established password (that correlated to the "exV" and a couple of characters) did not work. Approximately 4 Apr 2014, Abine finally responded to my frantic "contact us" forms and "******" advised resetting my password. That would make me lose my stored data. After removing and reinstalling this ******* add-in, I was somewhat able to login but STILL do not have access to my stored account login information. It is "encoded" and undecipherable. Since the 4 Apr 2014 contact, Abine has NOT responded to emails regarding HOW my pw changed without my consent. This has caused me great stress on an already weak heart as I relied upon Abine's touted "Did you know? www.maskme.com gives you access to your saved logins from anywhere. Score!" is a blatant bit of incorrect information. Many of my account logins used their "masked" email addresses as well as the stored passwords. This has caused stress in having to "revalidate" account information with various merchants since I didn't have access to the information I relied upon Abine storing.

Desired Settlement: 1. I want access to my stored accounts in a "readable" form. 2. I want Abine to explain how/why my password and **** changed on their end as I never (ever !!!) changed it to "*** ***". 3. I would like Abine to be more forthcoming about this being able to access one's account from "anywhere" when that isn't true.

Business Response: Hi there, Our development team is hard at work looking into this issue. It is a very new issue that has only affected 2-3 other people as far as we know, so you might be able to imagine that it has been hard for us to reproduce and get to the bottom of. I promise we are looking into it and will touch base as we have more questions or as soon as we figure it out. I'm so sorry that this is causing you stress. ****

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

My issue is still PENDING with the business as per their response.  Accordingly, I expect it to remain open (please see the business response).  If necessary, I request BBB arbitration.    

Business Response: Hi *****,  Your account should now be in readable form with the correct ****. Please try to login now. We apologize for the inconvenience.  Best,  ****

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

NO -- my login issue is NOT (repeat, NOT) resolved.  See attached screenshot.  I am LIVID.  I want Abine to fix my issue so I can login and gain access to my stored userIDs and passwords.  My password "****" is - again - NOT "******".  I last sync'd my accounts today, 4-22-2014.

3/11/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 02/24/2014, I purchased Abine's premium "MaskMe" subscription, for $45.00 for a year. This morning, 02/25/2014, I received an e-mail stating that my subscription had expired. Then they said I had cancelled my subscription WHICH I HAD NOT!!! Clerks at the company (******, ****, ***), claim they don't know what is going on with my subscription. They claim that a refund was processed; however, my credit union has no record of any refund in progress. The clerks further state that there are NO managers at work today (02/25/2014). This makes me suspect that some clerk at the company may be messing with my account in order to steal my identity, or else that their servers have been hacked.

Desired Settlement: I want someone IN MANAGEMENT with the company to contact me with a FULL explanation as to who authorized the cancellation of my account, or else what has happened that their computer / servers cancelled my account.

Business Response: *******, who heads up our fraud department, has spoken with **** a few times through phone and email. They straightened out the whole situation around the cancellation on 02/26. During that discussion, **** understood that we found his account suspicious as the credit card verification from his bank indicated that his card was not a legitimate number. He has since re-registered for a Premium MaskMe account and has been using it. He also indicated to us that he will request to remove this complaint.

Consumer Response: I received several phone calls and e-mails back from Abine, I think before they even received the complaint I had submitted.  I am satisfied with their explanation of what occurred.  I think it's partially a 65 year old brain trying to interact with a very young company - the communication lines were a bit fuzzy at first.  If it is possible to remove my complaint from the system, great, if not, please mark it as being closed with customer fully satisfied with the company response (and they even gave me a discount for my problems).  Thank you


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

9 Customer Reviews on Abine, Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart