6/16/2015 I subscribed to the DeleteMe service in 2013. This year I did not want to renew my subscription. When DeleteMe automatically charged my bank account the annual fee of $129 on 6/9/15, I logged in to my account in order to cancel the subscription. The following is stated in the FAQs section of the DeleteMe website: "You can cancel at any time, for any reason, and we’ll refund the remaining months of your payment." As of today 6/16/15, I have been unable to reach DeleteMe's customer support through every contact method listed on their website and have been unable to confirm that my subscription is cancelled. THIS IS UNACCEPTABLE AND UNPROFESSIONAL. However, there is no clear link on their website that allows you to cancel your subscription after you log in. I clicked on all three of the tabs listed, "Subscriptions," "Account Info" and "Orders," and hunted for a delete or cancel option. Nothing. Finally, after reading through their FAQs numerous times, I found the following info: << To cancel your subscription, just head into your Account Settings and click on the "Downgrade Membership" button at the bottom right of the box. Your subscription will be immediately cancelled, and you'll lose access to service features. >> This is completely untrue and confusing. There is no "Account Settings" link or "Downgrade Membership" button. However, under the "Account Info" page, there is an option at the bottom listed as "Delete Account." After clicking on this button, the next page reads, "The account and all submitted content will be deleted. This action cannot be undone." This is confusing as it is not clear if one is truly canceling their subscription to the DeleteMe service or simply deleting the online account. After clicking the delete button to confirm, the next page read, "User record deleted. All submitted content from [user name] has been deleted." After this I was unable to log in to my account, receiving this message after I attempted, "Sorry, ******@gmail.com is not recognized as a user name or an e-mail address." Therefore, this lead me to conclude that I deleted my online account. However, it was completely unclear if I actually cancelled my subscription to the DeleteMe service. I received NO email from DeleteMe or Abine Inc, confirming that I had cancelled my subscription. Their website states, "Use our website's chat program to talk live with a customer care representative, email us at ******************, or call us at ***** ******** during our office hours Monday through Saturday, 9am - 6pm Eastern Standard Time." I attempted to reach customer support using these three methods: 1. The DeleteMe "LiveChat" link does not work. After clicking on the link, a pop up box appears, which reads, "This Department no longer exists." 2. I called the Customer Service number ***** ******** on Fri 6/12, Mon 6/15 and Tue 6/16 during the business hours listed. Every time that my call connected, I immediately was put on hold with music. No menu options were stated, only music as soon as my call connected. After a couple of minutes, an automated recording stated that no one was available to take my call and the call was then disconnected. After 6pm ET today 6/16/15, I finally was given the option of leaving a voicemail. The recorded message stated that customer service would contact me on the following business day. I left a voicemail. I have very little confidence that it will be returned. 3. I emailed DeleteMe at ****************** on Fri 6/12/15, requesting confirmation of my subscription cancellation and a full refund of the $129 subscription renewal fee. I received an automated email, confirming receipt of my email to DeleteMe. It read, "Thanks for contacting Abine support. We will get back to you as soon as possible. Premium members receive expedited support, typically within 24 hours. Free users will be answered in 1-3 business days." I have NOT received a reply to my email from Abine support as of today, 6/16/15, which is 2 business days later. I had a Premium membership with hefty annual fee of $129. According to their own words, I should have received a reply to my email on Mon 6/15/15. In summary, Abine Inc's customer support is completely non-existent, unprofessional, a joke. They clearly do not wish to have any contact with their customers. It should be a red flag that they are not BBB accredited. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THAT YOU DO NOT SUBSCRIBE TO ANY OF ABINE INC'S SERVICES....UNLESS YOU WISH TO BE CHARGED INDEFINITELY FOR THEIR SERVICES WITHOUT THE ABILITY TO REACH THEIR CUSTOMER SUPPORT.
This customer had a NEGATIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by Anna H. on 6/16/2015 | Submit a Customer Review
X

Comments

Comment from the Business Hello, I will not go into as many details as I did when responding to your complaint, but as I said: our subscriptions are recurring and this is detailed in our Terms of Service which are agreed to while registering for any of our services. We do provide options to cancel and we do strive to respond to customer complaints and concerns in a speedy manner. In this case, the support hours were not correct (they are actually Monday-Friday 9am-5pm EDT - I have submitted an update for the support hours on this BBB listing as well) and you were apparently attempting to use a specific live chat link that was redirecting to an old link - which has since been fixed. You had emailed us on Friday, 6/12 at 6:01pm and we responded to you on Wednesday, 6/17 at 11:03am - stating that a refund had been issued. That's a longer response time than we would like, but sometimes it's unavoidable due to support volume. That said, we are truly sorry that you had such a terrible experience and had so much trouble trying to get in touch with us (and we are additionally sorry that your opinion of us as a business has become so negative). The refund should have posted to your account by now. by on 6/23/2015

Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
5 people found this review helpful .
11/19/2014 The product offered is a wonderful concept, however the service provided is atrocious. Most of them are clueless,and will give incorrect answers just for the sake of answering; their tutorials are a joke. They claim to give priority to premium customers, with an email turnaround of 24 hours, but it's not true. They make excuses that they are re-vamping, and that all other issues are secondary (very poor management decision.) They refunded a large dollar amount back to my account that shouldn't have been. I alerted them, and the answer given was that it was free money to the customer (not having to be repaid) all because they didn't have a clue how to locate and fix the bug. I worked with one who is now a past employee to fix the problem, or one could still get free money from them. This is no way to run a business; extremely immature staff.
This customer had a NEGATIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by Consumer on 11/19/2014 | Submit a Customer Review
X

Comments

Comment from the Business Hi ****, thanks for your feedback. First and foremost, we strive to answer all premium tickets within 24 hours and do so 99% of the time. I'm sorry to hear you were forced to wait longer than 24 hours, but it's not that we are being deceptive by any means, it's just hard for us with a small team to answer all premium tickets within 24 hours 100% of the time. Regarding the large refund that you had received, you emailed our team on February 5 about this incident. **** emailed you back that same day, and told you that this was a known bug, but that you could keep the money. If you'd like me to forward you this chain, I'd be happy to do so. Being in the payments business, it is expected that we will incur some small losses due to bugs or other miscellaneous problems. Think of a credit card company that incurs huge losses due to fraudulent charges on their cardholder's credit cards. Unfortunately, these losses are just the nature of the business. When you say "they make excuses that they are re-vamping", we are in fact revamping our entire product to be far less buggy with more features. Therefore, individual bugs may have fallen by the wayside. We have just released the build where MaskMe users can migrate to Blur (this new, less buggy product), so perhaps the issues that you've had would have been resolved with this migration. by on 11/19/2014

Report Abuse Your return comments sound impressive, but they don't negate the fact that your customer service is one of the poorest I have ever experienced. No need to make me relive the long hours spent in showing you how to fix your own bug. How ironic that you are able to make an immediate response when you've been reported to the BBB, but couldn't get to it previously. Where DID you find the time? by Consumer on 11/19/2014

Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
7 people found this review helpful .
6/12/2014 Company is using misleading popups to make you think that you are just masking CC info but they are actually purchasing a prepaid card for the amt. you are purchasing with the vendor.
This customer had a NEGATIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by William W. on 6/12/2014 | Submit a Customer Review
X

Comments

Comment from the Business Hi *******, We try to make Masked Cards are transparent as possible, but we definitely understand it can be difficult to understand. When you create a Masked Card, you are purchasing a prepaid gift card (that you don't need to use your real name or address on) to use on an eCommerce website. It is a way to protect your real credit card, by not having to use it on a website and worry about their security / privacy practices. Does that make sense? I'm really sorry this wasn't clearer when you tried to use Masked Cards, but we would love if you would give us another shot. Thanks for giving it a try, and please feel free to email me directly at ********************* if I can help walk you through anything at all. Best, **** by on 6/12/2014

Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
3 people found this review helpful and 3 people did not find this review helpful.