BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Eastern Massachusetts, Maine, Rhode Island and Vermont
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Small Dog Electronics, Inc.?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Small Dog Electronics, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (802) 496-7171 Fax: (802) 496-6257 View Additional Phone Numbers 100 Dorset St, South Burlington, VT 05403 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.smalldog.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Small Dog Electronics, Inc. sells and services Apple Macintosh computers, iPhones, and iPods from multiple retail stores and a vibrant ecommerce website, Smalldog.com.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Small Dog Electronics, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Small Dog Electronics, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

7 Customer Reviews on Small Dog Electronics, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 4
Total Customer Reviews 7

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 26, 1997 Business started: 01/01/1995 in VT Business incorporated: 01/01/1998 in VT
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Don Mayer, C.E.O. Mr. Hapy Mayer, C.O.O. Mr. Edward J Shepard, Marketing & Design Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Don Mayer, C.E.O.
Number of Employees

41

Business Category

COMPUTERS-DEALERS COMPUTERS-TRAINING COMPUTERS-SERVICE & REPAIR Computer and Computer Peripheral Equipment and Software Merchant Wholesalers (NAICS: 423430)

Products & Services

Small Dog Electronics, Inc. sells the following brand(s): Apple, Belkin, Canon, Chill Pill Audio, Lacie, M-Audio, Pro Tools, Sony, Toshiba, Viewsonic

Small Dog Electronics, Inc. offers the following product(s): Apple Computer Products and Accessories, Apple computers, iPhone accessories, iPods, Peripherals for Mac and PC.

Method(s) of Payment
Cash
Personal Check
Business Check
Cashiers Check
Money Order
MasterCard
Visa
American Express
Discover
Debit Card
Refund and Exchange Policy
Business states that their refund policy is as follows: Please note that ALL mail-order returns must be shipped back to our Waitsfield headquarters: 1673 Main Street, Waitsfield, VT 05673. Unopened item(s) may be returned in the original unopened package within 15 days of your purchase for a full refund in the amount of the then-current price or your original purchase price (whichever is lower, less shipping charges where appropriate). Opened item(s) may be returned within 15 days for STORE CREDIT ONLY. Certain restrictions and exceptions apply. Shipping charges to return the product are your responsibility. Product must be unregistered with complete packaging and support material and ready for sale as a new product. Another shipping charge will be assessed against substituted merchandise. Upon the return of an item within the return policy we will verify all parts are included and ensure that there is no user-caused failure of the item.  At retail locations most often this will happen ‘while you wait,’ but in the unlikely event that a service technician is required to examine the item and the service department is closed, we will ask that you either leave the item with us or return when the service department is open so that we may assess the item prior to issuing a refund, credit or exchange. Refunds for returned merchandise will be made in the form that payment was made. If payment was made by credit card, refund credit must be issued the same credit card as was used for the purchase. If payment was made by cash or check, Small Dog Electronics will issue refund payment by check within 7-10 days. NO CASH REFUNDS will be made at Small Dog Electronics retail stores. Opened software, special orders, configure-to-order computers (CTOs), iTunes and Small Dog Electronics gift cards are not returnable. Special-order custom configurations (CTOs) are subject to restrictions. Most CTOs are not returnable; please reference our full CTO Disclaimer below for more information. Please contact us at support@smalldog.com with any questions about our return policies. Small Dog Electronics reserves the right change these polices without notice. All merchandise that is dead on arrival will be replaced free of additional charge (except for international orders, where the cost of shipping is the customer’s responsibility) within 7 days of receipt. In the case of factory-refurbished Apple products, replacement of DOA products may also be obtained from their customer support at 800-SOS-APPLE.
Alternate Business Names
Hammerhead
Industry Tips
Computer Software - 5 Tips - Video Computers - Software and Services

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 511-6227(Phone)
X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Communication/Mass Email
  • - Technical Support
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was dealing with customer service regarding a problem with a printer I had purchased that was not compatable with my iMac, even though I had been told it was when I had made the purchace. I had express a desire to have technical support help me correct the problem and was offered to schedule a consultation for $98/hour (with 25% off). I was not impressed by an offer to be charged to help fix a problem with a printer that I had specifically been told by the salesman would not be a problem. After refusing the offer to pay for a consultation I have not heard from anyone at SDE, I guess that if you don't accept their lame offer of paying for assistance to fix something that they had said would not be a problem the next course of action is to ignore the complaint completely.

Desired Settlement: I would like a free consult (limited to one hour if need be) to help me get the printer to work with my computer, as a small business owner I would also like the contact information of one person at the company who I can consult with regarding future equipment and software needs, that actually knows what they are talking about and cares enough to spend a few minutes talking with me about which of their products and services would best fit my needs. So far I have not been able to find that person at this company

Business Response: We have been attempting to contact the customer to resolve the issue.  The printer is compatible, the customer needs some consulting to set it up properly.  We are ready to provide that assistance

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was dealing with customer service regarding a problem with a printer I had purchased that was not compatable with my ****, even though I had been told it was when I had made the purchace. I had express a desire to have technical support help me correct the problem and was offered to schedule a consultation for $98/hour (with 25% off). I was not impressed by an offer to be charged to help fix a problem with a printer that I had specifically been told by the salesman would not be a problem. After refusing the offer to pay for a consultation I have not heard from anyone at SDE, I guess that if you don't accept their lame offer of paying for assistance to fix something that they had said would not be a problem the next course of action is to ignore the complaint completely.

Desired Settlement: I would like a free consult (limited to one hour if need be) to help me get the printer to work with my computer, as a small business owner I would also like the contact information of one person at the company who I can consult with regarding future equipment and software needs, that actually knows what they are talking about and cares enough to spend a few minutes talking with me about which of their products and services would best fit my needs. So far I have not been able to find that person at this company

Business Response: I am sorry the Mr. ******** is having difficulty with the ***** ****** that he purchased from Small Dog Electronics.   This mutli-function printer is compatible with the *** Operating systems up to and including 10.8.2 ******** ****.   The proper drivers for the printer can be downloaded for free from the ***** Web site at:  http://goo.gl/*****

It is always necessary to check the manufacturer's web site for the current drivers for the particular printer and ***.   These free downloads are offered by ***** and all printer manufacturers. If Mr. ******** has the correct drivers from ***** and is still having difficulty with his printer, he is welcome to call our tech support line at 802-496-7171 for assistance or the ***** tech support line.

I am happy to be the point of contact for Mr. ********, however, we cannot offer free consulting and set-up service unless there is further difficulty once the current printer drivers are installed.

*** *****
CEO


Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

I do not understand why customer service was not able to offer the same easy solution and it took this long to start to solve the problem, the printer still doesn't work on the Windows side of the **** and the driver disk that came with the printer seems to be a permanent part of the computer now, it won't eject, but I have had enough of trying to make this work at this point, it shouldn't require a paid consultation to make this all work. The reason I called SDE in the first place was to be able to purchase technology that would work seamlessly together without a lot of fuss. I actually called the sales people twice to make sure this printer would work with my computer before I purchased it.  

For the lack of a little bit of technical help and customer service people that respond in a timely manner with helpful advice I have taken my business elsewhere at this point. 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

BBB Comments: The consumer indicated to BBB that the complaint was resolved.

3/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a set of Chill Pill audio speakers, via Groupon, on 2/21/12. Since purchasing the speakers, the tab that allows me to pull out the cord that connects the two individual speakers has snapped off, lodging the cord inside of one of the speakers. I have been unable to dislodge the cord. Since the product packaging boosts a one year warranty, I would simply like to take advantage of this and acquire a working set of speakers. I've tried emailing the company at both email addresses listed on their website on multiple dates (11/14/12 & 1/2/13) without response. Today, I was able to locate a phone number under the FAQ section of the website, but this number (###-###-####) is not a working number.

Desired Settlement: I would like a replacement set of speakers.

Business Response: We received a consumer complaint today regarding your purchase of Chill Pill speakers last year. You indicated that you have not been able to contact our company regarding this issue for some time and that you could not locate our contact information on the website. I am sorry to hear that you had trouble connecting with our warranty support team. Here is a link to our refund section where you will find our email as well as our toll free phone number. https://cp.hammerheadcase.com/privacy#return I was able to locate the number you referenced in your complaint which as you stated can be found under our FAQ section.  You were absolutely right that it was incorrect.  I am having it changed to match the number provided in the refund/warranty section of our website.  The email address found there is correct and was tested to make sure that emails are being received.  As far as we can determine, it is functioning correctly. In any case, I would be happy to replace these speakers for you.   Should you experience any future issues, please feel free to use the above link to bring you to the refund/warranty information on our website, or you can email me directly.   I will be shipping the new product shortly to the address provided in the complaint: ********* ********** ****** ********** ****** ** ***** Please let me know if this not the correct address.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #*******. Regards, ********* ******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

2/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I brought my iphone 4s into Small Dog December 20th around 10am to have them replace my screen it was cracked. The phone worked fine, in fact I was using it when I walked in to let people know I wouldnt have a phone for a day or two. I was told it was 160 and would take 24 to 48 hours. I paid, signed and left. I called Saturday afternoon over 48 hours later and was told by a tech it wouldnt be ready until next week. I explained that was unacceptable I was told it would be done. I was hung up on. I called back and asked to talk to a manager, after holding 20 minutes I was told it would be done in the next few hours. I got a call and went to pick up. I was handed my phone and noticed it said searching, I tried to text and make calls nothing worked. I waited while they looked and about a half hour later was told it was a carrier problem and that ****** must have shut off my service. They sent me to ******. They tell me at ****** that everything was good on their end and I tolf them Small Dog changed my screen they said they must have broken the internal antenae. I drove back to Small Dog they were closed. The next day I went in and was told "your going to be ****** but hes not here" I wasn't sure who HE was. I asked for the Managers number. I called 2 times no reply. I called again and asked to please talk to someone. ***** said go in and they will give me a new phone. I said I also want a refund and was told I would have to wait until next week to talk to him. I go to small dog again the day of snowstorm. He tells me he will only give me a new phone if I give him my old phone. I have over 2000 pictures of my children on it. He tells me I can go home back it up and come back. He wanted me to drive 40 minutes one way in a snowstorm, back it up and drive 40 min back. I leave. The next day I email ***** and he emails me back saying all he can do is swap phones but he will not give me a refund because the new phone costs them money. Today is the 8th day with no phone. I have 3 children I need a phone. I drove to Small Dog in those past 8 days numerous times. I had to send my ** year old son to ****** skiing for the first time in his life until 8pm with no contact number for me. I had no Christmas present for my mother because the company I ordered it from has tried to contact me for days to tell me they ran out of size I ordered. I had no way to check my bank account. I couldnt visit family for Christmas because I couldnt call them. I think the fact that Small Dog wants me to pay them 160 for breaking my phone and leaving me without one for over a week, yet tells me that since the new phone costs them money then I should be happy with that?? I paid for a service I didnt recieve and was treated very poorly. I didnt want a new phone didnt ask for a new phone.

Desired Settlement: I think that Small Dog needs to replace my phone because THEY broke it and should refund me the 160 I paid to have them replace my screen in 24 to 48 hours. I do not think that is unreasonable with what they have put me through.

Business Response: Ms. ******* brought her iPhone in for repair of a broken screen.   Our Apple Certified technicians replaced the screen.   Ms. ******* complained about loss of signal and felt that it was damaged during the screen replacement.   It is our experience that a drop of an iPhone of sufficient force to damage the screen may also create other issues.    We have replaced hundreds of screens and this one was not different.

Because Ms. ******* was not satisfied we offered her a swap out of a replacement iPhone at our cost.   This is a substantial cost to us (over $300), yet we wanted the customer to be happy with our service.    Ms. ******* not only refused that offer for several days, but also insisted upon a refund for the repair of her iPhone and demanded to keep her old iPhone as well.

At all times, my staff was polite, explained the various options and was respectful.   On the other hand, Ms. ******* and her boy friend swore at our technicians, threw objects at the store when exiting and were rude in interacting on the phone. When Ms. ******* was given the option of a refund or replacement iPhone, the boyfriend came into the store and caused quite a scene.   He refused to sign the paperwork for the swap of the iPhone, refused to leave the store and continued to swear at technicians and store management.   It was necessary to call the police to escort the boyfriend from the store.   He swore at the police officers on the way out of the store.

We very strongly feel that the customer has been given a more than adequate resolution to this complaint with the provision of a replacement iPhone out of warranty and at the expense of Small Dog Electronics.   This is especially true since the iPhone was clearly subject to abuse (dropping) and had a damaged screen to begin with.   We do not feel any other action is warranted under the circumstances.

*** *****
CEO
Small Dog Electronics

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

I brought my phone in with a cracked screen and had been using my phone for days. There was nothing wrong with my phone EXCEPT the cracked screen. I made phone calls as I was dropping my phone off to let people know I wouldn't have a phone. One of the men I talked to admitted the phone was broken while being fixed. As far as not being treated with any disrespect, I was hung up on by the first person I talked to about picking up my phone. I was left with no phone or a call back for days. They knew they broke my phone and intentionally made me wait until "next week" which is exactly what the first man I talked to told me and why I first became upset and was hung up on because I was told 24 to 48 hours. I paid 160 to have my screen replaced and instead was handed back a broken phone over 48hours later after being hung up on and having to talk to a manager. I am disputing paying for a service I didn't receive. I also dispute that they gave me a phone to make me a happy customer. They had to give me a new phone because they broke mine and try knew that and by the time I finally got the new phone I was definitely not a happy customer. Also the amount of time after I knew they were going to give me a knew phone and when I got one was only a day because I needed to back it up on my laptop and I wasn't going to drive back and forth in a snow storm twice in one day. I never asked or wanted a new phone. I wanted what I paid for which was Small Dog to replace screen. As far as my boyfriend swearing I was not there but I can only assume him like myself had had all we could possibly take from Small Dog and with all they put us through we had a horrible Christmas. As I said not having my phone ruined a lot of things and was a huge amount of stress at the holidays. It could have been prevented on the first day I tried to pick up my phone. I have never been treated so poorly in any of my retail experiences. This is my second time using them and second time to be sadly disappointed. I would love to challenge the fact that they say they didn't break antennae if need be.

Business Response: Ms. *******'s rebuttal offers no further information.  We did not break her phone, we went out of our way, despite her disrespectful behavior, to resolve the situaiton by providing a new iPhone.   We are comfortable with our position here and feel we have gone well above the norm for customer service.

*** *****
CEO

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

I am not going to back down. I was treated very poorly by this business and didn't receive what I paid for. I was left without a phone by fault of their technicians and instead of taking care of their mistake in a timely manner they treated me poorly and made me wait for over a week. When you pay for a service you should receive what you paid for. That is my position. I received a broken phone an then wasn't given a new one for over a week. 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

1