9/18/2014 they have posted something on my report i didn't order i don't even know where the charges have come from
This customer had a NEGATIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by MAD MAN on 9/18/2014 | Submit a Customer Review
Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
2 people found this review helpful .
6/6/2014 I've been working hard on rebuilding my low credit score over the past year. I've watched my credit reports, and methodically paid off any outstanding debts that I owed, even building credit by paying my current bills regularly and on time. My husband and I want to buy a house. Currently, to qualify for a conventional mortgage loan, a score of 620 or better is needed. My score was finally up to a 650. Not great, but better than it once was, and high enough to qualify for the loan. When our mortgage lender attempted to get us approved, my score came up as only 610! Baffled, I ran to my credit report, only to see that one week prior, a derogatory mark appeared from "West Bay Acquisitions, LLC" out of Rhode Island. The original creditor was supposedly "BMG Music Service". The date given was from just a couple of months ago. I haven't done business with BMG Music Service for many years, so I called West Bay Acquisitions to ask about it. They said the debt actually stemmed from a purchase made 8 years ago, in 2006. I asked why they just now reported it to the credit bureau. The lady said "we've been trying to reach you, but without luck". So? that still doesn't explain why it took 8 years to hit my credit report. I never got a phone call, a letter, a bill, nothing. Plus, the date on the credit report shows from a couple of months ago, which makes it look like a fresh mark against me instead of one that is many years old, which matters to lenders. I asked her to be specific about the charge. She said it was for a cd. I asked for the artist and title of the cd. She said it was "Various Artists". Hmmmm...how conveniently vague and generic. I would pay the measly $35 debt in a heartbeat to get this off my credit report, but the damage has already been done and I'm not convinced that they would even remove it from my report. I think this is a scam, which makes me not want to pay the money because of principle. This company cost me the ability to buy a HOUSE! Why do the credit reporting agencies allow this scammer continue to ruin lives?
This customer had a NEGATIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by Heather W. on 6/6/2014 | Submit a Customer Review
Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
2 people found this review helpful .
3/6/2014 I received numerous letters and bills from this collection agency. I did manage to pay them but almost felt harassed.
This customer had a NEGATIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by randi-may p. on 3/6/2014 | Submit a Customer Review
Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
1 person found this review helpful .
2/5/2014 West Bay called me in the spring of 2013 telling me I owed them $111.00 for a previous bill in 2004. Even though I felt that I didn't owe that bill, I sent them a check for the $111.00. West bay said if I didn't that it would affect my credit Score if I didn't. I now see that a non payment to them is still on my credit report, Which convinces me I didn't owe it in the first place. What a scam.
This customer had a NEGATIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by Larry F. on 2/5/2014 | Submit a Customer Review
Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
3 people found this review helpful .
9/9/2013 I found out about West Bay Acquisitions because I had a $27 hit on my credit that knocked my score down from the high 700s to the low 600s. This occurred after one "KD" (Key Derogatory) hit on my credit! I called WBA and they told me it was due to a delinquent payment from 2007 for ********** ***** associated to ******. While I remember ordering books from them for a friend's child, I felt I would have paid for them as well. When I saw the negative complaints here on BBB, I decided to dispute. I put in a dispute with ******** (credit report company) and they declined it. So I called West Bay Acquisitions back and they said I needed to submit a dispute in writing to them. I mailed my dispute last Wednesday and they closed the account on my credit report this Monday. Less than a week. My credit score is back up to the high 700s. While this is such a scam, I will say the customer service rep was very polite and the process was relatively painless. However, I cannot imagine what would have happened to my credit score had I not randomly pulled it to check!
This customer had a NEGATIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by Karen C. on 9/9/2013 | Submit a Customer Review
Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
6 people found this review helpful .
1 2