This business is not BBB accredited.

NorthRiverOutfitter.com

Phone: (888) 676-4932   http://www.northriveroutfitter.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Northriveroutfitter.com is an internet retail store offering clothing for men, women, and children. The company also sells pet accessories, sunglasses, and shoes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for NorthRiverOutfitter.com include:

  • 18 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • 2 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved

Factors that raised the rating for NorthRiverOutfitter.com include:

  • Length of time business has been operating

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

18 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 11
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 18

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

6 Customer Reviews on NorthRiverOutfitter.com
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 4
Total Customer Reviews 6

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 31, 2009 Business started: 01/01/2006 in MA Business incorporated 05/04/2009 in MA
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Meg Smith, Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Meg Smith, Manager
Number of Employees

5

Business Category

CLOTHING - RETAIL SHOES-RETAIL JEWELRY-COSTUME SUN GLASSES & SUN GOGGLES CHILDREN, INFANTS AND TEEN WEAR-RETAIL CLOTHING Other Clothing Stores (NAICS: 448190)

Service Area
NorthRiverOutfitter.com provides their services in ALABAMA, ALASKA, AMERICAN SAMOA, ARIZONA, ARKANSAS, CALIFORNIA, COLORADO, CONNECTICUT, DELAWARE, DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA, FLORIDA, GEORGIA, GUAM, HAWAII, IDAHO, ILLINOIS, INDIANA, IOWA, KANSAS, KENTUCKY, LOUISIANA, MAINE, MARSHALL ISLANDS, MARYLAND, MASSACHUSETTS, MICHIGAN, MINNESOTA, MISSISSIPPI, MISSOURI, MONTANA, NEBRASKA, NEVADA, NEW HAMPSHIRE, NEW JERSEY, NEW MEXICO, NEW YORK, NORTH CAROLINA, NORTH DAKOTA, NORTHERN MARIANA ISLANDS, OHIO, OKLAHOMA, OREGON, PALAU, PENNSYLVANIA, PUERTO RICO, RHODE ISLAND, SOUTH CAROLINA, SOUTH DAKOTA, TENNESSEE, TEXAS, UTAH, VERMONT, VIRGIN ISLANDS, VIRGINIA, WASHINGTON, WEST VIRGINIA, WISCONSIN, WYOMING.
Additional Information

BBB contacted the business for additional information about the business' ownership, operations, and procedures on 1/23/2015, 2/3/2015, and 2/17/2015.  As of 2/23/2015, BBB did not receive a response.

Industry Tips
Clothing Jewelers and Jewelry Stores Shoes - Retail

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

NorthRiverOutfitter.com has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of F.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview
X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/8/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order with http://www.northriveroutfitter.com on April 9, 2016. Upon receipt of my order I discovered one of the items was not the sized I had ordered. I contacted the company via info@northriveroutfitter.com that day, April 22, 2016. I did not receive a reply. I contacted them at the same email address again on May 10, 2016, and also at orders@northriveroutfitter.com. I received no reply. On May 11, 2016 I contacted them at *************************** and did not receive a reply. On May 13, 2016 I contacted them at all three email addresses previously listed and still did not receive a reply. I finally was able to get in touch with someone who works for the company by messaging the North River Outfitter ******** page. On May 16, 2016 meg@northriveroutfitter.com reached out to me with a *** return label to ship the incorrect item back to them for a refund. I have not heard from her or the company since. There has not been a reply to my email requesting refund status. I have filed a complaint with my credit card company since I do not trust this company will process the refund.

Desired Settlement: I would like a prompt refund for the merchandise returned.

5/18/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: NorthRiverOutfitter.com is the scam website. December 30, 2015 I have ordered items and made all payment to them. Order #: ***** & Total Amount: US$512.40 Their estimated shipping date was February, 2016. They has never send items or send my money back to me. I have sent serval their on-line “Shipping and Order Inquiries” form http://www.northriveroutfitter.com/shipping-and-order-inquiries/ and e-mail. Unfortunately, they have never reply any words at all.

Desired Settlement: Send all items to me to finish the order *****.

Business Response: We are terribly sorry for the miscommunication.  The shoes had been ordered with ***** and are delayed - we just called them and they are finally in production and due for delivery in 10-12 weeks.  If the customer would like to wait we will overnight them upon delivery to our warehouse, or if he would like to cancel we will refund his card.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #********. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved.  Regards, ***** ********

4/16/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered an item 23 days ago that has not been delivered or sent. When I first placed the order, I was told the item was not available in the color I ordered, but that it was in another color. I promptly replied that the other color would be fine. I have reached out to customer service many times and have been told it has shipped twice now, but it has not been shipped. I have now been given in invalid shipping code. I have been lied to by the business. My credit card has been charged. I believe I have been scammed. Below you will find my communication. NBOX Messages from NRO are shown below. Click "Send Message" to reply. RE: ORDER #***** 24th Aug 2015 @ 4:14 PM NRO Said: Hi ******, Thank you for your recent order! Unfortunately we have sold out of the item you selected in Channel Blue. We do however, have Electron Blue and Navy Blue available for immediate shipment. Please let us know how you wish to proceed. We are terribly sorry for any inconvenience this caused. Please note your credit card has not been charged. Best, NRO ORDER #***** 24th Aug 2015 @ 5:06 PM You Said: Navy blue would be fine. Thanks. RE: ORDER #***** 25th Aug 2015 @ 8:40 AM NRO Said: Hi ******, Your order has been changed and will ship in 3-5 business days. Thank you! *** UPDATE? 2nd Sep 2015 @ 1:21 PM You Said: Has this shipped? I am concerned about the delay. RE: UPDATE? 4th Sep 2015 @ 9:06 AM NRO Said: Hi ******, I am so sorry for the delay! You item is being picked and pulled. Our warehouse shut down for a few days to do inventory since so many items had sold so quickly because of the sale. We will send it with complimentary overnight. Thank you for your patience! Best, *** UPDATE 9th Sep 2015 @ 4:53 PM You Said: I ordered an item on August 24th, was told it was no longer available, re-ordered- and still have not received my order despite being told it was shipped overnight. This purchase was intended to be a birthday gift for someone. I do not want to cancel my order, but expect an update and apologetic resolution. I fully intend to escalate this transaction if it is cancelled or not discounted. My account has been charged for almost 16 days now. I feel scammed, how can you fix this NRO? I look forward to your reply. ****** RE: UPDATE 10th Sep 2015 @ 12:08 PM NRO Said: Hi ******, We're terribly sorry for the delay! There have been issues with the warehouse and getting things to us. I have confirmation that your item is arriving tomorrow, and we will overnight it for Monday delivery. We sincerely apologize for all the trouble, and really do appreciate your patience. Thank you! NRO UNACCEPTABLE 14th Sep 2015 @ 4:48 PM You Said: I ordered this as a gift on 8/24/15. Although I understand in times of sale companies may be overwhelmed, my card was charged and I expected my order to be treated with the same courtesy as any other time I have shopped with you. While you have had quick responses, you stated the item would be shipped overnight on two different occasions now, and it hasn't. You have quite frankly, lied. I had to contact you again to receive yet another prompt response that the item would be shipped overnight, while I was under the impression it already had been taken care of. I have already shown the recipient a picture of the gift I chose, so I cannot cancel this order. However, I will soon be disputing these charges and reporting this to the Better Business Bureau if this situation isn't rectified immediately. I have been more than understanding on my end and hope this can be resolved. SHIPPING NUMBER 16th Sep 2015 @ 3:28 PM You Said: The shipping number you have given me is not valid. I replied to the email with an attached image of the link leading to a *** website which states the tracking number is invalid.

Desired Settlement: Delivery of item, additional discount or credit for delay as this was intended as a gift that is long past due, and full acknowledgement of lying to customer on two occasions.

Business Response: This item was shipped and delivered. The customer was also spoken to via the phone, internal message system, and ******** to update on the delay.

3/4/2016 Delivery Issues
9/18/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ordered sunglasses 7/14. My credit card was billed that day and as of 8/28 I still do not have sunglasses. I have called and now I can only get a recording to leave a message which is never returned.

Business Response: We sincerely apologize for the delay!  According to our tracking the sunglasses were delivered on 9.4.  We are terribly sorry it took so long to get the glasses to the customer - there were inventory issues, however we were finally able to ship them out.  We thank you for your patience, and in case you would ever like to shop with us again we have applied a $25.00 store credit to your account.  Thank you!

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #********. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved.  Regards, *** *******

8/16/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ordered a gift card special months ago and was instructed when I called to use it by providing the number in the "special instructions" section of my order. I did so but my credit card was still charged for the full amount but I didn't want to go through the hassle of changing the payment method, etc. since I would still be able to use the gift card on a future order. NRO was completely unresponsive to consequent emails asking how I should actually go about making sure the gift card would be applied to my next order, and they are never available during the hours they say they are on the chat feature. I finally called NRO again after months of emails and ******** messages to explain my issue and ask how I could use the gift card money. They said they would convert it into online credit on my account which they did, yet the order I placed had not been processed or shipped 2 weeks after submitting it with my credit. I AGAIN called NRO and a woman said she would apply my credit and yet I am still here waiting 23 days after placing my order after what has in total been a months-long process to try to use this credit. This has been the most horrific customer service experience I have ever had.

Desired Settlement: Getting the items I ordered would sure be nice.

4/26/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order for a pair of shoes on March 13, 2015. By the 18th I still hadn't gotten a shipping notification. I reached out via email with no response. I reached out several times through their online forms up until now, April 10, 2015 and again by email. I called once, and they said they would overnight the product to me. I still do not have my product, nor response to my email and website contact. This is the 2nd time I've had a problem with poor customer service and extremely delayed shipping.

Desired Settlement: I would like this order cancelled and my $200 store credit refunded as I have no intentions of making any future purchases with a company that treats their customers so poorly.

Business Response: We are terribly sorry for the delay.  The shoes the customer ordered were backordered from the vendor.  They have been delivered, please see the *** tracking number below. ******************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below.  I'm not merely disappointed in the delay, had you been up front and honest from the beginning. Why couldn't you tell me that they were back ordered? I'm also perturbed NRO ignored all of my requests for updates online until I filed a complaint. This is the second order I've had problems with. I'm not satisfied with an apology merely for the delay, and the fact that they've been delivered to my empty house as I travel very frequently. If I order something, I should get it in a timely manner or be advised if there's a problem, not ignored. Regards, **** ********  

1/29/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 11/23/2014, I ordered a product from the company's website. I took into account the Thanksgiving holiday, however, when I had not heard back from the company in several days, I contacted the company on 12/2/2014 to see if the order had shipped. When I did not receive a response, I sent another message requesting to cancel my order. On 12/4/2014, I received an email that the product had been shipped even after I requested that the order be cancelled. As soon as the product arrived on 12/5/2014, it was returned to North River Outfitters, and the product was received on 12/8/2014 by the company. On 12/22/2014 I sent a message to the company requested a refund for the product, as I had not yet received one. On 12/31/2014, I received a response that I would receive store credit. The customer service that I received throughout the entire experience was terrible, including non-responsiveness and no acknowledgement at all about my request to cancel the order prior to shipping. The company should honor requests to cancel orders prior to shipment.

Business Response: Below are the messages between NRO and the customer, ********* ******.  The customer ordered the jacket on sale on November 23rd.  Before being able to complete the transaction the customer checked a box below our return policy indicating she had read it and understood that sale items cannot be returned for a refund, only story credit or exchange. On the 24th, the day after the order, we messaged the customer indicating the jacket would ship in about 3 business days.  When items are being pulled from other warehouses we offer an estimate on the time it will take for shipment.  On December 2nd the customer asked when her item would ship as the status was of the order, which she could see when she logged into send the message, was still "awaiting shipment".  Later in the day, about 4-5 hours later, the tracking number for the item was sent (it is an automated message sent with tracking when the number is entered).  The item was delivered two days later on the 4th.  The customer was issued a store credit for her return because the item returned was purchased at a discount.  We kept in touch with the customer throughout the entire transaction.  


All of these messages had to have been viewed by the customer because she had to log into her account to send the replies and her inquiries.  

The store credit in the amount of $389.00 will not expire, and can be used on any of the items on the site.  If the customer has any questions regarding merchandise we are happy to assist her with the purchase.


Re: Order #*****
Hi *********, 

Thank you for your recent order! Your Patagonia jacket is being packaged for shipment, and will leave our warehouse in about 3 business days. As soon as it is picked up you will receive tracking information.

Thank you!
NROadmin24th Nov 2014 @ 12:15 PM

Has Order Shipped?  
Hi, I am writing to find out if this order shipped or I need to re-order. Please let me know!
[Customer]2nd Dec 2014 @ 11:27 AM

Shipment #***** items @ 2nd Dec 2014 Tracking #: ******************

Order Returned Over 3 Weeks AgoHello,

I returned the jacket in this order over three weeks ago, and my credit card has not yet been refunded. If there was a problem with the return please let me know. 

If you do not respond to this message (I have had communication issues with your company throughout the entirety of this order), I will be disputing the transaction with my credit card company and filing a report with the Better Business Bureau. 

Thank you for your attention to this matter.

********* ******
[Customer]22nd Dec 2014 @ 11:01 AM


Re: Order Returned Over 3 Weeks Ago
Hi *********, 

Your store credit has been applied to your account. Please note it does not expire, and can be used on any of the items on the site.

Best, 
NRO
admin31st Dec 2014 @ 3:32 PM









11/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/29/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On January 4th, 2014 I placed an order for a pair of pants. I explicitly paid for 2 day shipping via UPS. After receiving a confirmation e-mail stating my order was shipping, then waiting an entire week I haven't received my purchase nor any kind of e-mail regarding its status even after numerous phone calls and e-mails sent. I am quite dissatisfied with the service enough to the point where I don't even wish to have the product anymore. All I desire is a full refund of the price I paid for the item. I feel completely scammed out of my money and it has caused me an extreme amount of frustration and anguish.

Desired Settlement: This business has a duty to uphold by giving me a full refund for the price of my original purchase, as well as an apology for such a negative experience in trying to get into contact with them.

Business Response: Hi Mr. *****,  We're sorry for the delay - the pants were supposed to have shipped and we are looking into it.  We received an email from you at 9:15 last night, and you filed this complaint shortly there after, leaving no window for us to rectify the issue.  We are closed at night and do not open until 9am.  We are cancelling your order and refunding your card. Best,  NRO

1/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 11/17/12I ordered ******* ******** Jacket 11/29/12NRO sent email outlining shipping delays due to an unexpected high number of orders. Provided the following commitments: Outlined January as an expected delivery time, Assured future weekly email correspondence over product status, Promised Next Day Air as shipment Offered a $30 store credit as an apologyDec.-Jan.NRO provided no updates1/28/2013I requested that my mailing address be changed via the messaging systemReceived no confirmation that my address was actually changed.Jan - Feb.I called at least 4 times during business hours to clarify shipment since no update had been provided. Also tried the chat function on the website. I received no response the first 3 times I called and no response from the chat feature. When my call was answered, the person assured me that the jacket would arrive in the next month or so and fixed my address.3/25/2013I placed order for a hat and attempted to use to the store credit to purchase. The code for the store credit did not work, and thus I called. Once again, I had to call over a period of several different days to get someone to answer. 4/4/2013After 11 days with no shipping confirmation for the hat, I sent a message via the message system to ask about the message that I saw online, Awaiting Payment.The message I received in response: This status just means that we are still processing the order. I believe we are currently trying to locate that product in our warehouse. We should have an update for you very shortly. Thanks again for your patience! 7/2/2013First unsolicited message updating the status on the jacket that once again promised overnight shipping. (This message was a welcome Surprise!!) 8/27/2013Shipped Jacket on August 26th via UPS Ground9/4/2013Received Jacket to find that it was a different, cheaper version of the one that I had ordered.9/11/2013Submitted a return request for the jacket. No response given. No RMA given.

Desired Settlement: Since September, I have tried to reach out directly to the store owner and have had no response to my calls or emails. To resolve this issue, I would like a full refund for both the jacket and hat plus shipping costs and taxes paid. This totals to: $860.00

Business Response: We are terribly sorry this order has not been refunded.  We requested the credit card info for this purchase on Nov.19 (see attached) when the customer alerted us that it had not completed.  We do not store credit info for security reasons.  As soon as the customer sends their credit card information, a Visa ending in ****, we are happy to complete a refund for $799.00.  The customer was never charged for the hat he ordered, and we cannot refund customers for more than what they are charged, as that is money laundering.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint. This complaint remains unresolved. Per NRO's instructions in their response on December 13th, I emailed them the credit card information needed to issue a refund.  I did this the day that I received their response. I have been waiting to respond to the BBB's follow-up inquiry, because I wanted to give NRO time to transfer the funds.  I just checked my credit card, and to date, nothing has been transferred.

11/20/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company charged me $895.00 on January 4, 2013 for an item I never received. I contacted them monthly asking for an update on my order, and they kept telling me it was coming and thanking me for my patience. (Because of their poor communication, I filed a complaint agains them, *******, with the BBB on July 9, 2013). I finally notified them by both direct email (on October 9, 2013, to ***@northriveroutfitter.com) and their website message system (on October 16, 2013) that I wanted to cancel my order and wanted a refund immediately. I received responses on both dates that my order would be canceled, and I still have not received a refund. I have sent several further emails to '***' asking when I could expect my refund, and all have gone unanswered.

Desired Settlement: Immediate refund.

Business Response: I (***) have requested the customers credit card information to refund the order, and have not received it.  Without the credit card info I cannot refund the customer.  We do not save credit card information beyond 30 days for security purposes. As soon as I receive it, the refund will be processed. As for the ****** order, we have many customers waiting for these handmade pieces, even customers who placed orders over a year ago.  Unfortunately ****** is a small operation in the UK and we are at their mercy for production, and are working as quickly as possible with them to get the items to customers.  

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint. No one at North River Outfitters ever contacted me asking for my credit card information in order to process a return.  The attached email is the last communication I have ever received from ***, despite responding to the email three times asking her when I could expect my refund.  I am certainly not going to provide this business with my credit card number via email, and there is no way to get in touch with them by phone.  At this point, I would think the safest and most timely resolution would be for them to send the money to my ****** account, which is linked to ********@***.com.

Business Response: We cannot refund payment to a source we did not charge initially, that is considered money laundering.  You can send a message through our internal site when logging in, which is secure, or call ************ between the hours of 10am and 5pm and a customer service rep can take the information.  

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint. I provided my credit card information via their secure website, and they charged me another $895.00.  So now they owe me $1790.00.  I have never had such incredibly poor customer service.  This business is corrupt and should be shut down.

11/20/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a notice that they had shipped out my order #***** 8 days ago. However, I have never been able to track the actual shipment which was linked to me. As of now it has not been received by me and they immediately charged me for the pair of ******** I bought. I have tried to contact them to no avail.

Desired Settlement: I want my order delivered and I want some sort of compensation for the terrible service and late delivery. I have received no word from them even after e-mailing and calling them.

Business Response: Below is the ***** tracking number indicating the item was received.   ***************

11/18/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had purchased 3 pairs of sperry topsider shoes from the retailers website and recieved a confirmation that my order was placed. They had been advertising them on the site at half off and i thought it was a great deal. The next day I called several times and finally got through hoping for a tracking number as I needed semi-casual footwear sooner rahter than later and had actually been shopping on Nordstrom's website right before placing the order with North River Outfitter. When I finally got through to the store, I spoke with a manager who was in my opinion not friendly and all she told me was that the order would be cancelled due to a mistake in THEIR system. no attempts were made to provide an alternative product even when I had asked or even had offered to purchase the shoes without a discount code that I had used. Given the nature with which they handled business and no attempts to reconcile the situation, I am filing this complain

Desired Settlement: I would like the business to either provide the originally ordered products at the price I had purchased them or if that is not possible to contact the manufacturer or look through their inventory to provide comprable products at a comprable price.

Business Response: The deal this customer is referring to is a coupon code we provided to our existing customers for a purchase over Columbus Day.  Without our consent someone posted the deal sale site called "slickdeals".  This caused our online store to be flooded with over 700 orders for Sperrys.  The shoes were already marked 50% off, and the coupon code provided an additional 20%.  The volume of these orders caused our site and inventory system to crash.  None of the orders were charged when their order was placed.  We had to cancel over 600 of the orders, as we did not have the inventory.  There was absolutely no way we could have anticipated this type of volume.  This happened over a weekend when we were closed, and on Monday and Tuesday we informed all of the customers who's orders could not be filled, and cancelled them.  We're sorry the customers did not get what they wanted, however we never approved any type of posting on slick deals.  We never charged this customer, and we're sorry for the inconvenience.  We do not have the inventory to fill his order, like over 600 people who we have contacted and spoken to.  

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint. I contacted the company originally and even offered them to drop the coupon code since I needed the items. The fact that it was posted on a deal website has no merit in response to the complaint. I merely placed an order which was confirmed as received and then they subsequently cancelled it without any attempt to remedy the situation.  they have offered no resolution and are merely stating their own inventory issues and computer problems rather than try to honor a purchase made through their website  

Business Response: There is nothing more we can do for this customer.  We do not have the inventory, and we never charged his card.  In fact, when he placed the order and we attempted to authorize the card to see if the funds were available, the card was declined.  Therefore, even if we did have the inventory, we would not have been able to process the order.  Attached is a screen shot of the authorization being declined.  We never took or authorized funds from this customer. We cannot assist him any further, sometimes inventory runs out and we are unable to fill orders, it happens with small businesses and we are sorry for the inconvenience.  

Consumer Response: It may have been a computer error or may have been a hand entry error when it came to authorizing the card as the card was lost around that time and the issuing bank issued a replacement. regardless, i was never contacted like i had been like every other time there was a billing problem for an alternative form of payment. The bottom line is I placed an order and it was recieved and in my opinion are refusing to honor it or help beyond saying we are sorry we are out of inventory. I had to call the business to get a tracking number and only then was I informed the order was cancelled. in my opinion, they have not remedied the situation one bit. if billing is the issue, i am more than happy to provide an alternative form of payment. I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.  

10/29/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a pair of womens boots, this summer. They were mens boots, very poor product. I tried to complain but there is no live telephone person and they never return calls. if you email them they send an auto response saying they will get back to you in one business day They Never do! I returned the boots and never received an acknowledgement or receipt and have never received any more info regarding refund.

Desired Settlement: I want my money back as all reasonable online websites do.

Business Response: We have looked into this order and the item the customer purchased was men's boots.  We do not sell the women's version, and they are only available in the men's category.  We also sent an email to the customer explaining this, and that they were new, not used as she had stated.  All of the boots came directly from the vendors warehouse.  Below is a copy of the correspondence.  Furthermore, we did not receive the boots back, no RMA was issued to this order, which is required for a return, as stated on the returns form sent with the package.  Items without RMA's are not accepted to our facility, and rejected to the carrier.    

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

10/16/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order with North River Outfitter.com on September 1st 2013. The order number was *****. It was for two tins of Barbour Thornproof dressing. I received the delivery about a week later but only one tin of the dressing was delivered. I immediately contacted the company via telephone and had to leave a voicemail. There was no call back. I have since e-mailed them several times and left voicemail messages (they never, ever answer the phone and the chat feature on their website has never been operational when I try to use it, even when it is supposed to be operational) and I have never received a response nor has my second tin of dressing for my jacket been delivered. I know that this is for an item that is only $15, but the point is that they have taken my money and not provided adequate service.

Desired Settlement: I don't mind if I get a refund of $15 or my second tin of Thornproof dressing, but I would like either, please.

Business Response: We're terribly sorry you did not receive the 2nd can.  It will be shipped out tomorrow, and tracking will be provided when it leaves our warehouse.  Thank you or your patience!

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved. 

8/27/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a store credit from North River Outfitters on a gift card from a returned purchase made on 7/3/13. On 7/5/13 I attempted to make an online order using the gift card - however, their online ordering system would not process the gift card. Eventually (they do not pick up the phone nor do they respond to my voicemails) I was able to speak to a manager who told me that their system could not process the gift card and could I give them the gift card number again. I did so and was told at that time that my order was processed and that my order would ship. Two weeks later I had not received the pants and I contacted them again after a number of attempts (via Chat and then Voice) and was told that my gift card would not process and that they would have to check with the retail store that issued it if it was valid. Considering that they told me that order had already been processed two weeks prior I found this explanation inconsistent. Upset about being lied to prior, I asked for a refund as a resolution to my problem, they refused - yet I can not complete my order with the gift card they gave me. I am so fed up with their lies and constant explanations but inability to resolve the situation that I would like a full refund for $106.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund of $106.00 (the value of the gift card) I do not trust this company and judging by their D- rating and lack of accreditation as well as a number of online reviews of other customers having similar problems.

Business Response: The customer received his items on August 5th, at 3:44pm(tracking below).  Furthermore, the customer repeatedly told customer service representatives that they were an "idiot" via our chat feature, and over the phone told the online manager to "**** off" then "**** you" when they called to assist him.   UPS tracking: 1Z62F3*********365

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # *******. I never received the items although the tracking info does indicate that they were delivered to my address - unfortunately, I was on vacation during the week which they arrived.  It would have been helpful to let me know when you shipping the items and include a tracking number via email and/or phone - instead the first I learnt that you shipped the item is via the BBB response.  This has been a very frustrating experience due to lack of communication on NRO's part. Regards, *********** *********  

8/19/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On June 28, I ordered two pairs of shoes (same style two different sizes) and a dress from NRO. The dress and one pair were to be shipped to me; the other pair of shoes was to be shipped to my daughter in Alexandria, VA. They confirmed the order right away. On July 9, I received an email update on my order; it was awaiting shipment. Shortly after, I received a phone call that the size 6 1/2 shoes would be shipped later. On July 10, I received email notification that the order was shipped. I received my shoes and dress, but my daughter did not receive her shoes. I was billed for the entire shipment. Later in July I emailed the company with a question, but received no response. I have attempted to use their online chat feature and usually find it unattended. I have called customer service repeatedly, but my calls go only to voice mail, and they are not returning my messages. I spoke with an online manager yesterday, ***, and she promised to call me back...but she did not. I have verified through their store location that the shoes I ordered are available in their inventory, I simply cannot get anyone to help me.

Desired Settlement: I want the **** ****** mid wedges size 6 1/2 delivered to my daughter right away at the address I supplied in the order.

Business Response: The customer placed an order for 2 pairs of shoes and a dress, and was informed there would be a delay with one of the pairs of shoes.  The customer chose to wait for the pair delayed.  The other two items were shipped and recived.  After speaking with someone on our chat (attached), and receiving an email (attached) regarding the delay, the customer contacted our retail location in Boston.  The sales person who she spoke with incorrectly told the customer that the size 6.5 she was looking for was available.  Unfortunately the 6.5 is not instock in any of our stores, we have the surrounding sizes 6 and 7.  The customer has also been refunded for the purchase (transaction id **********) of $92.50.  We have also told the customer we would let her know when the shoes arrive.  We apologize for the delay, and any inconvenience this caused.
 












Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

This language is rather formal; I am really requesting that they ship the size 6 sandals rather than issue me a credit for 94.20 (these sandals were on sale when I made my initial purchase, and they are now more expensive).  My dissatisfaction derived from the information I received that the store I contacted had the size 6 1/2 in stock.  I do understand how the sales associate could have incorrect information.If NRO will ship these sandals to ***** *****, ********** ******** ******, **** ****** Street, **********, VA *****, I will be satisfied and withdraw my complaint.  She has a vacation coming up at the end of the month, so I would appreciate it if they were shipped to her right away.

Business Response: We have re-charged the customer $95.20, and sent the size 6 to the address requested.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

NO, they sent a different style shoe to the address requested.  The shoe I ordered was a **** ****** mid wedge gold sandal. They shipped a flat gold sandal.  No shipping documents were included in the shipment so these incorrect shoes can be properly returned. Please send the mid wedge, not the flat gold sandal in size 6 to the address requested. Also advise how to return these incorrectly shipped shoes.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

6 Customer Reviews on NorthRiverOutfitter.com
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart