Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Boston Orthopedic & Respiratory Equipment LLC

Additional Locations

Phone: (617) 337-5133 Fax: (617) 337-5242 View Additional Phone Numbers 175 Main Street, Charlestown, MA 02129 http://www.bostonorthoresp.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Boston Orthopedic & Respiratory Equipment LLC specializing in personal medical care supplies to consumers. The business products include crutches, walkers, electric scooter, electric beds and more.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Boston Orthopedic & Respiratory Equipment LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Boston Orthopedic & Respiratory Equipment LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 07, 2012 Business started: 11/15/2010 in MA Business started locally: 11/15/2010 Business incorporated 11/15/2010 in MA
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Igor Gildshtein, Principal Mr. Seval Yelaun, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Igor Gildshtein, Principal
Principal: Mr. Seval Yelaun, General Manager
Number of Employees

5

Business Category

CHAIRS-ORTHOPEDIC & LIFT SHOES-ORTHOPEDIC SCOOTERS - MEDICAL WHEEL CHAIRS TOILET PARTITIONS & ACCESSORIES THERMOMETERS SCOOTERS - REPAIR SAFETY EQUIPMENT & CLOTHING HEALTH CARE SERVICES-SPECIAL NEEDS HEALTH & WELLNESS CANES BEDS – ELECTRIC & ADJUSTABLE BATHS-EQUIPMENT & SUPPLIES MEDICAL EQUIPMENT & SUPPLIES ORTHOPEDIC APPLIANCES HOSPITAL BEDS-RENTING HANDICAPPED/DISABILITY DESIGN-ELECTRIC POWER CHAIRS HANDICAPPED/DISABILITY DESIGN-ELECTRIC SCOOTERS HANDICAPPED/DISABILITY DESIGN-ACCESORIES All Other Specialty Trade Contractors (NAICS: 238990)

Products & Services

Boston Orthopedic & Respiratory Equipment LLC sells the following brand(s): Ali-Med, Bell-Horn, Curad, Drive, Dynatronics, GF, Golden, Invacare, Karman Healthcare, Lumex, McKesson, Pride, SAI, Select

Boston Orthopedic & Respiratory Equipment LLC offers the following product(s): Bed & Bath, Hospital Equipment, Lift Chairs, Mobility, Nursing Home Equipment, Power Beds, Power Mobility, Power Wheelchairs, Safety, Surgical supply, Wheelchair Service & Parts, Wheelchairs

Refund and Exchange Policy
The Business States: 18 Month Warranty on Power Mobility Products and Beds.
Service Area
Boston Orthopedic & Respiratory Equipment LLC provides their services in MASSACHUSETTS.
Alternate Business Names
B.O.R.E. Medical Supply
Industry Tips
Medical Alarms, Systems & Monitoring Shoes - Retail

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    175 Main Street

    Charlestown, MA 02129 (617) 337-5133 (800) 854-6370

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6 Dexter Row

    Boston, MA 02129

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I own a Power Chair. The chair needed some repairs and I contacted this company after being referred to them. As this chair was a "donation" it did not have an owners manual. I requested one and was not given one after being told I would. The repair work that was done in my opinion was satisfactory however as I am disabled I need this chair to be mobile, so I left the lack of owners manual go-I was instructed how to use the new charger as this was part of the work that I was told needed to be replaced, along with the batteries. I was also told that fairly soon the motor or motors would need to be replaced, "and I would know when this part needed replacing or repairing. This occurred and I again called the company, they took the chair and Allegedly the company received the incorrect part. I was dealing with a man named ******* asked for his last name and the companies receptionist told me she did not know his last name-I found this odd however I again trusted them to continue with the repair. I had to constantly call to get updates as to when I would receive the chair returned etc-I was told "because I was a regular or good customer I would get a discount and because I had appointments etc they would supply me with a free loaner scooter". A week or less after the chair supposedly received a new L motor and axle the chair was not working up to what I felt was satisfactorily-and I tried to contact them, as well as I involved my Dept of Mental Health Social worker Ms **** *****(*** *** ****)-I felt as if I was being lied to, and not treated with respect and talked down to; the amount of money I paid this company was a lot (I am on SSDI as I am 100% disabled) and the chair was behaving and running worse than before ANY of the repairs were done-Ms ***** phoned this Seval man and she called me and told me (this was on 7/3/13) that the following Monday 7/8/13 they would be picking up my power chair, supplying me with a free loaner scooter and the work would be done at no charge-My responsibility wa to phone them the a.m. 7/8/13. I called shortly after 9 a.m. and was asked if I could wait til the following Wed 7/10 as "the car was broke"(theirs)-I phoned Ms ***** to tell her this-Wednesday I waited all day and all afternoon and I called them and was told they are busy and she has to call the driver and then my worker told me they would pick up the chair between 6-7 pm-at 8:33 pm I was in my bedclothes and ill and was headed to sleep. apparently I didn't hear my phone but found a card from their driver in my door-this is a secure building so I have no idea how he got up to my apt on the 8th fllor-i have NOT heard from this company-Friday 7/12/13 Ms ***** met with me at my apartment and I was quite stressed and upset as I spent all week waiting for these people-they never phoned me-so she had prepared a letter to the owner an **** **********, and faxed it to him. I STILL have yet to have my scooter/power chair repaired andit is running slower and it doesn't take a charge like something w.a new charger and batteries in my opinion should-thus I do not trust that this scooter will take me where I ordinarily would go with out possibly getting stuck. I am disabled-or I wouldn't have the chair nor need to use it-they gladly took my money and I have no way of knowing if in fact the work was done and now it is quite hot out and I cant walk far (I have degenerative disc disease amongst other musculo/skeletal chronic pain issues) I can walk but it is not predictable and I need a working powerchair- I have all my receipts and Ms ***** has tried to have them respond and do the repair they promised, or at least return her fax or calls.

Desired Settlement: I would like this power chair in working order; I can not afford to take it else where however at this point I do not really trust this company-***** ****** is allegedly the manager but he speaks to me as if I am not an intelligent consumer-I feel taken advantage of, nor do I frankly trust they will in fact now do the work that needs to be doing-nor that they really have ever done the work that I have receipts for; If this company doesn't want my business I would like a full refund and I will utilize those funds and take the scooter elsewhere-other wise I have a chair that is not working properly that I do not have the funds to have it repaired. The 1st time I phoned The Wheelchair express / Boston Orthoped/Resp Equipment I was glad to see the driver as he was employed by a company that takes me to some medical appts-I have not seen or spoken with him since....I spoke with Ms ***** this afternoon and she is expressing her frustration as she works for the Comm. of MA and one would think the owner in good faith would at least communicate with her or myself-hence my mistrust....AND, I also do not feel a driver showing up(no call telling me he was running late and or was 8:33 pm ok?) is appropriate-This is an elderly/disabled building owned by HUD and The ******* Housing Authority. My medical condition involves lack of disc space and chronic pain-while there are other consumers who "are far more disabled" than myself-this isn't something that should be told to me as a reason for not being treated with respect and following business practices.

Business Response: 7/22/2013 Compliance Team had a careful review over the file. Administration had left a meesage with the Social Worker in order to address the issue. Boston Orthopedic Respiratory Equipment LLC corporate policy directs the warranty only on the parts installed. The wheelchair the customer has is over five years old where the manufacturer's warranty is void since the chair is considered old. BORE technical support will make additional attempts to resolve the issue


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Boston Orthopedic & Respiratory Equipment LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)