This business is not BBB accredited.

Telestial.com

Phone: (888) 310-4168 Fax: (617) 737-3041 View Additional Phone Numbers 27 Drydock Avenue, 5th Floor, Boston, MA 02210 http://www.telestial.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Telestial.com, also known as e-kit.com offers telecommunications services to businesses and recreational travelers.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Telestial.com include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 19 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

19 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 16
Total Closed Complaints 19

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

5 Customer Reviews on Telestial.com
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 4
Total Customer Reviews 5

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 24, 2007 Business started: 04/25/2001 in MA Business incorporated 03/01/1999 in DE
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Massachusetts Department of Public Utilities
One South Station, Boston MA 02110
http://www.mass.gov/eea/grants-and-tech-assistance/guidance-technical-assistance/agencies-and-divisions/dpu/
Phone Number: 617-305-3500
Fax Number: 617-345-9101
DPU.Administration@state.ma.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John Diamond, President Mr. Ricardo Donoso, Administration Manager Mr. Andy Guzman, Customer Administration Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Diamond, President
Principal: Mr. Ricardo Donoso, Administration Manager
Principal: Mr. Andy Guzman, Customer Administration Manager
Number of Employees

48

Business Category

CELLULAR TELEPHONE SERVICE E-COMMERCE TELECOMMUNICATIONS SERVICE PREPAID PHONE CARDS-RETAIL

Method(s) of Payment
MasterCard
Visa
American Express
Discover
Online
Refund and Exchange Policy
The business states that their refund policy is as follows: Unconditional 7 day refund for returns in original packaging.
Alternate Business Names
Ekit.com, Inc.
Industry Tips
Five Steps to Building an E-Commerce Site - Video Five Steps to Building an E-Commerce Site for Your Small Business Read Before You Sign

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Telestial.com has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    27 Drydock Avenue, 5th Floor

    Boston, MA 02210 (888) 310-4168 (800) 707-0031

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a phone on June 8, 2014 for a Cruise. The phone did not work on the cruise. I called customer service while on the cruise to report the defective phone. They told me to return the phone when I got back home. I called and email for an arthorization number to return the phone. No one answered me until August 2014. Te purposely waited until the return deadline through paypal expired. Everytime, I called they told me someone will call me back.I recieved the following email from them and I returned the phone. They email me saying nothing is wrong with the phone and the phone was sent back to me. I sated to them the email does not list a conditional return. They returned the phone and refused to refund me.Please help-----Original Message----- From: Customer Service mobile@ekit.com To:************@aol.com Sent: Mon, Aug 18, 2014 10:52 am Subject: From The mobile TeamDear******,We write in reference to your refund request.We wish to advise you that a refund of US$50.00 will be provided upon return of the item.Please send the package to:ekit *** ************ ****** ** ******* ***,******, MA ***** Your return number is*****.Kind regards,****Customer Service Representative

Desired Settlement: -----Original Message----- From: Customer Service mobile@ekit.com To: ****** ******@aol.com Sent: Mon, Aug 18, 2014 10:52 am Subject: From The mobile TeamDear******,We write in reference to your refund request.We wish to advise you that a refund of US$50.00 will be provided upon return of the item.Please send the package to:ekit *** ************ ****** ** ******* ***,******, MA***** Your return number is*****.Kind regards,****Customer Service Representative

Business Response: A $50.00 refund check has been sent out.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #********. Please add your rejection comments below. 

[If you are rejecting the business's response please enter your rejection comments here.]

I reject the offer.  This company stated they will refunded my $50 owed for the phone.  However,  the  company  decided to deleted sim card balance of $25.00 without even telling me.  The account now has a $3 dollars balance.   I was told the account is maked in big red letters to closed out the account. The customer service stated  this account is a problem account . Is this company going to refund me the balance of the sim card also? I went out town this weekend ,what if  I had a an emergency out of the County and I was relying on this service.  I called again to find out why (outof town) why it was locked and I was told this account was forced closed due to customer issues.  They immmediatley  locked my account after I contated BBB without telling me.   There was no reason to lock the account. My account is in good standing. I have a valid credit card on file for auto recharge. This is why consumers are afraid of making complains against companies because of they will backlash covertly.
****** ******
Dear ******,
That question we are not sure of. The head of the refunds
department has recently personally taken over the case after the
BBB complaint was filed.
He is the only person who is able to advise. We have asked him to
address the matter of the locked account, however, he will not be
in the office until Monday unfortunately.  We will not have a
reply til then. We can see the account has under $3 remaining.

We have asked him to action this as soon as he is in the office
and to update your ticket, if not respond to you directly.
We apologise that we will not have further details until Monday.
Kind Regards,
*****Customer Service


On 9/25/2014 10:26 PM, ******@aol.com wrote:

Thanks. Please advise as to why my global number is locked and
Balance was wiped off?
-----Original Message-----

From: Customer Service <mobile@ekit.com>

To: ****** <******@aol.com>

Sent: Thu, Sep 25, 2014 09:45 PM

Subject: Re: From The Mobile Team -*****

Dear ******,
Thank you for contacting customer service.
A $50 refund check will be issued as previously advised. 
Checks are usually only sent once per month on the 15th.
Please have some patience. We apologise for any
inconveniences.
Kind Regards,
*****Customer Service

On 9/25/2014 9:38 PM, ******@aol.com wrote:
****** ******

 I was notified that my account on my Sim card was closed out
in red letters stating customers issued*****. I will
contact better business Bureau again. My account was  not
refundEd now there is money due to me for my Sim card and
cell. I will forward all documents to them on how my account
is marked. Clearly this is a backlash towards me.

 

Business Response: The customer required a $50.00 refund to be satisfied in closing this case. However, this is an amount that they were not entitled to as the refund is for a phone that is in their possession and they refused to return. In addition, the phone is fully functional.

A check has been sent out in order to close this case, see attached.

In our perspective this case is resolved.

9/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Avoid using Go-Sim or E-Kit International Phone Service. Also known as Telestial Wireless. This company will steal your funds if you don't use your phone within a (6) six month period. They could care less about the customer. If you complain they just say those are their terms and dismiss you. It is a horrible company! Please don't give them your business. I have learned my lesson and I hope to warn the unsuspecting public to avoid this unscrupulous company. They took my $55.54 and won't give it back or allow me access to it unless I pay them an additional $30.00. What a ripoff!

Desired Settlement: I just want to be able to use the funds on my account that I paid. I have $55.54 on my account that I can not access unless I pay an additional $30.00. That is wrong.

Business Response: Hello *******,

We have reinstated your balance of $55.54. Please keep our expiry policy in mind. If you do not use our service for a total of 6 months your balance will expire. If the balance does expire you will be required to recharge with a minimum of $30.00 to get the expired balance reinstated again. We have made an exception and reinstated it for you without an additional recharge needed.

Happy Travels!

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #********. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved. 

Regards,

******* *****

8/22/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been a customer of Telestial for several years, having purchased at least two phones and multiple *** cards from them. I also had the automatic recharge service from them. Last February, I received an unsolicited offer to replace my world *** card with a new one-rate card upgrade at no expense. I opted to get this card, but when I put it into my phone, it didn't work (my previous card had been automatically cancelled whenI received this card). Getting ready to go to ****** in May, I wanted to make sure everything worked right, so called their customer service center. We spent almost two hours on the phone, and the card would not work, no matter what we tried. I even tried both phones I had because they said one was too old to take the card. Nothing worked. Because of my time constraints, the associate said she would forward my problem to IT and they would contact me within 24 hours. They didn't. When I called back, another associate said that IT got back to them, and said it was a phone issue. I told them that the **** card registered properly, it just wouldn't go through, and asked for a replacement to be sent. I was told that I would have to contact IT, and go through the very same 2-hour procedure I'd just been through. By this time, I was very upset, and asked to speak to a manager....they said I'd have to wait 20 minutes. So then I said I wanted to cancel my account, and refunded the money on my recharge account. The person said it would be done, and to wait a month to see the refund. In late July, I still did not receive the refund, and called again. I was told that the billing department had rejected the refund because I had had an inappropriate phone to use the card...which was completely untrue. This associate, ******, even agreed with me, and said he would fix things within 24 hours and get back to me, after I told him I'd be contacting the BBB if something wasn't done. He never got back to me. Not only am I out of the 33 dollars on my account, but I had to buy another card for ****** and have it sent Express mail because of the time issue. Then this card cost me more because of roaming fees, etc. This may not be a lot of money, but principle is involved here. I was solicited for this new card, and ultimately lied to several times, and ultimately inconvenienced through no fault of my own. I hope you can help me.

Desired Settlement: 1. An apology 2. Refund of account as well as some remuneration for my expenses and stress to get a new card.

Business Response: Response to customer:

Hello,


We are sorry for the inconvenience and frustration you have encountered. Unfortunately it seems that your older handset is incompatible with our newly updated *** cards. Keep in mind that we upgraded your *** card at no additional cost to you and the old *** card is still usable if the new *** card is not working well with your handset.

We are unable to honor a refund request as your last transaction was more than one year ago. We recommend that you use the old *** card in your old phone which you have said works well.

Regards,
**** ******
Customer Administration Manager

Consumer Response:

 

The response from *** ****** is unacceptable for two reasons:
 
1.  The card did work ...at least partly in my ***** phone; and
2.  They have put me off for so long, my complaint was eliminated because of their expiration date.
 
I plan to tell everyone I know about this disingenuous behavior.  You should be ashamed, *** ******.

******* ** ********
Professor, Communication
******* **** ***
****** ******* *** ************ **** ******** ***** ** ***** ******  ************
Regards,

 

******* ********

 

 

Business Response:
Response to your rejection.

1.  The card did work ...at least partly in my ***** phone.

The phone and new *** was deemed incompatible, even if it was partly working. That is the reason you encountered issues with the service. The solution would be to use the old *** which did work fully.


2.  They have put me off for so long, my complaint was eliminated because of their expiration date. 

The complaint was brought to our attention on May 12, 2014. Still close to a whole year from your last transaction. Your transaction of $100.00 has already been used and per our terms and conditions we do not refund partially used balances.

We are sorry the new *** did not work for your trip. A solution has been provided. A refund is not possible due to the date of the transaction.

Regards,
**** ******

Consumer Response:

 


I will not ever use your service again.  The lack of response from my initial complaint was horrible.  I always was the person to initiate the action.  Further, once the new card was put in, my old one was voided...at least that was my understanding from one of your customer care associates.  Your fine print apparently releases you from legal responsibility; but if you look at my records, you will see that you have lost a good customer as well as those I will pass the information to.  Enjoy the small claim..you've lost more in the long run.[
.]

Regards,

 

 

 

4/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: An amount of $50.00 was deposited into an ******** account for my daughter ****** ******** for prepaid phone service while traveling. She did not use the balance remaining of $48.78 because she no longer needs the service at home. I have requested a refund for the balance now for several months and ******** aka Telestial.com refuses to send the refund to me. They continually have the same reply: Dear ******, Thank you for contacting customer service. Your funds are not eligible for a refund, unfortunately. Your last recharge was 31 months and that transaction is far too old to be refunded. Feel free to contact us with any further questions or comments. We apologise for any inconvenience. Kind Regards, ***** Customer Service This account was in case Leslie needed to use it for emergencies while traveling overseas. This is unacceptable that they would keep the funds because it had be awhile since being used. They money does not belong to them and nothing was said beforehand to make it clear that there was a time limit or that I would lose money put into the account. I would have never used their service if I would have known that.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund of $48.78, which is the balance on my ekit.com account as soon as possible. I have been asking repeatedly since the beginning of February and started well before that. Also, I want to know if $48.78 is worth another ding against your company? Please sent payment to ****** ********* **** ********* **** ****** ** ****** ***** **** *** ******* * ** ***********

Business Response: Hello,

Unfortunately per our terms and conditions, your balance expired due to inactivity and is no longer refundable.


********************************************************

"Expiration and Service De-Activation

Phonecards
Any credit balance in your account will expire if you have not made a
call using your account for a period of six (6) months. The credit
balance may be re-instated by Customer Service, if you recharge your
account within six (6) months."

"Return/Refund Policy

Phonecards
ekit.com does not offer refunds for phonecards. Any remaining credit
on a phonecard should be used by making local and international calls,
and will expire after six (6) months of inactivity."


You have recharged more than 10 times online, each time you check a box agreeing to our terms and conditions.

Regards,

Consumer Response:

 I don't remember clicking on anything that said that.  All I did was add funds to the account when the account was low.  That is it.  They have no right to keep funds that belong to their customer.   If they are saying that they have it set up to not give refunds, then a customer is not allowed to terminate the phone service and get a refund.  This is unethical and I believe it is illegal. 

Regards,

 

 

 

Business Response: Hello,

I have attached a screenshot of what the customer sees every time they add funds to their account.

They have to agree to the terms and conditions before the transaction is processed.

Terms of conditions can be found below:
********************************************************
Besides the fact that the service is non refundable, the transaction the customer is trying to dispute is over 2 years old!

We have on record that the customer filed a BBB complaint on July 18th, 2013 because the balance expired. As a gesture of goodwill we reinstated her balance at no extra cost. We warned the customer via BBB that if they failed to use the service within a 6 month period their balance will expire again.

As the customer is not following the terms after plenty of warnings, we do not feel that this customer is entitled to a refund or further credit.


12/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is the text of my 1st email to them.... I have made several attempts to reactivate this SIM card since being advised on Sept 28 that the account was in danger of being deactivated with 2 different phones. On my first attempt I inserted my SIM card into a phone on Oct. 27 which I thought was sufficient since the expiry date was 10/28 . On 11/3 I received a second email notifying me of the following and based on this line The credit balance in your account will not be affected. I assumed that the account was still active and my balance was still there. Email #2: Your US Number +1********** will be removed shortly. Your Global (United Kingdom) number +*********** will not change. The credit balance in your account will not be affected. To avoid this you can extend the life of your US Number by simply making a call or sending a paid text message within the next 7 days. Alternatively you can also indefinitely extend the life of your US Number by paying a fee of 50c per month. Simply visit www.*******************, sign in with your number and PIN, scroll over 'My account' in the top menu, click on 'Account details' and follow the prompts. At the end of each month, payment for the next month is automatically deducted from your credit balance. You can cancel the monthly payment at any time by cancelling your US Number. If your US Number is removed, you will automatically get a new US Number when you use the service again (as long as you do so within 12 months of last having used the service). The new US Number will be sent to you via text message. Today I attempted to verify that the account was activated in preparation for usage on a trip while overseas and I inserted the SIM card into a phone, I received a text informing me that “To make a call and receive cheaper calls, turn your phone off, then on and enter 3 followed by the PIN” which I did. This again indicated to me that the service was active so I attempted to send a text message to my current US number and received nothing so I logged into the account to verify if the system was showing that a text was sent and to my surprise saw that not only do I not have a US or UK number (which I don’t really care about) but my account balance has been removed and my account is now inactive - I was under the impression that the balance was tied to a number evidence by the fact that the US number changes but the UK number does not AND the fact that I was able to log in with the UK number. I have called your customer service line and I am now being told that my balance of $86.01 that was on the account is no longer mine to use and I cannot activate the SIM card unless I now spend $30.00 to replenish the same SIM account that is now showing as inactive. Needless to say I am now extremely upset and consider this a breach of ethics and bad faith since I attempted to activate the card on what is now 2 occasions. I spoke first to agent **** who has told me that there is nothing that can be done and that my balance will not be refunded to me and speaking to anyone else is meaningless and won’t do any good a statement I consider to be sorely lacking in proper customer service etiquette. After literally screaming at that agent to be transferred to a supervisor as this an unacceptable response I was transferred to **** Agent id **** who while briefed on my case by the other agent insisted that I should have read the pamphlet which advises that no refunds will be given and that my recourse for receiving any type money is only to purchase another card and then the old balance will be transferred over. I also pointed out to your agent that since this card is not the correct size for my current phone and is somewhat useless to me his response was for me to mail the card in so that they can cut it down to size and ship it back to me this. Once again I am now livid as this an unacceptable way to do business, any company that I call up where I have a balance if I am closing the account my money would have been refunded to me in your case you agents are telling me that this will not occur and to soothe me over I should purchase a new card, add $30.00 to a deactivated account and oh possibly ship them my card so that it can be cut to size - still for an account that has no service. Unacceptable and unprofessional!!! In addition today’s poor service I have had issues with getting reliable service on the card while using it overseas. I initially purchased this card to be used for overseas travel in areas that I was not familiar with and I have had nothing but problems with using it – issues I was willing to overlook until today. I have had issues such as not receiving the call backs when making phone calls, text messages not arriving or not being delivered despite sending them several times over and then not showing as undeliverable. Thankfully, I was not in any dangerous areas but this lack of service has caused me to lose rental car service due to delayed arrivals and not being able to contact the company, missed pickups which left me stranded in a foreign airport for over 4 hours after arrival as we could not contact individuals nor could they contact me. I should point out that none of these issues was due to poor cellular service in the areas where the phone was being used as I eventually gave up and borrowed another passengers phone to use and in two separate instances purchased a local SIM card for use in my phone and in another used my US phone to make extremely expensive calls. These issues are the sole reasons for not using your card as often when travelling and why it was set up as a backup for emergencies should my now other very reliable cellular alternatives fail to work. I think it is misleading for your organization to send emails stating that the numbers will be deactivated while sending another email stating that your credit balance will not be affected and worse give the advice that I was given. I am greatly disappointed by your service and your agents response to this issue and I am simply asking that since your company failed to uphold your part of the “contract” by providing me with sloppy service as a gesture of good faith that you can refund me the $86.01 balance on my account to my card or offer another acceptable resolution. You (meaning your agents) have failed to respond in a manner that is consistent with good customer service and I for one will make it a point to tell everyone that I know not to use your service and file a formal complaint with the BBB and the *** about my dealing with your organizations if this is not resolved satisfactorily. I sincerely hope that this issue can be resolved in satisfactory manner and I look forward to getting a satisfactory response from your company. I am happy to discuss this further my contact information is below. ========================================================== First response to me which i found unacceptable Thank you for contacting customer service. We are very sorry to hear of the issues using the service and with the recent exchange with customer service. We generally send two types of notices. One is regarding the US number specifically and one regarding the balance expiring if you have gone about 5 months without using the service. Since there was no charged activity as required and outlined in the agreed to terms of service, the balance expired after 6 months. To regain this balance you can add $30 to the account OR you can purchase a new sim. You do not need to add $30 should you purchase a new sim. We are currently offering free shipping with the international sims like you have. Should you purchase any of these we can credit the expired amount onto the new sim which you can request at any size. ************************/ You can use the code ******** to receive a 10% off as well. As far as a refund back to the credit card, that would not be possible. $50 of those funds were added 8 months ago and the rest about 20 months ago. These transactions are far too old to be refunded unfortunately. Customer service is available 24/7 every day of the year. We even have toll-free numbers where we can be reached from landlines and payphones in the event the phone itself cannot be used. Feel free to contact us with any further questions or comments. We again apologise for any inconvenience or negative experience encountered. Karin G. Evening CS Supervisor ===================================================== My response back to them Thanks for your response. However I still find this unacceptable, I am not asking for a refund to my credit card although that would be an acceptable response. At this point I am asking for my SIM card to be refunded back the amount and the card reactivated so that it can be used without me having to pay an additional amount of money, in this case $30, or purchasing a new card which I don't need (As someone who works in the technical field I am quite capable of modifying my SIM card for the size required for my phone). If I add $30.00 additional to the card then I will be in the same boat again it seems with always having a balance that your company will confiscate if I don't "activate" despite the fact that I have an available balance on the account to use. Also I realize that you have several numbers available to be contacted at while travelling however when I experienced my difficulty it was impossible to contact the people I needed to so I assumed that would have been the case with your company's number in fact looking back at my accounts limited text message history I saw where I was able to send text messages to individuals who were not even the same country as I was who then acted as an intermediary for me and contacted the people who I was trying to get ahold of. That I might add was the final straw in attempting to make this card the go to card while travelling. If this cannot be resolved by you can you please escalate this to the next level I noticed that several reviews have been written about this same issue by others and their cases were resolved I am hoping for the same as well. ========================================================== My current response... As I stated before we attempted to activate on 10/27 by sending several text messages and it obviously failed to keep the account active. I did not realize that it had failed until today since as of 11/3 I was sent email not stating that the amount of the balance was removed or that I needed to spend an additional $30 to reactivate but that I would be losing the USA number and that my balance was still in effect. I find this misleading if I had known that the card had not been activated on 10/27 I would have immediately rectified the situation by calling your customer service. Since your position is not to reactivate or even to escalate to your own finance dept but leaving it up to me to do so which I also find unacceptable then I will file a formal complaint with the relevant authorities. ================================================================================

Desired Settlement: At this point after going around with the customer service agents requesting a refund/activation of the card again I now find that this experience makes me not want to continue to do business with them so while i was initially not requesting a refund to my credit card i am now requesting this amount of $86.01 be refunded to me in any form that they so choose as long as it is not a gift/debit card.

Business Response: There is an expired balance of USD$86.01.The customer was advised to make a charged call or text BEFORE the account expired. According to the complaint, the warning was read and understood but no action was taken until AFTER the balance expired.The last credit card transaction on record was done on March 17, 2013.Terms and conditions state: "Any credit balance in your account will expire if you have not made a call using your account for a period of six (6) months.The credit balance may be re-instated by Customer Service, if you recharge your account within six (6) months.Customer agreed to these terms by checking a box when recharging the account.The last date of usage on record is March 17, 2013.The customer will need to recharge with a minimum of $20.00 and we will re-instate the expired balance of USD$86.01.Terms and conditions:******************************************************

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # *******.  As I have stated to the representatives of the company, a call and text message was attempted on the 27th, the day prior to the expiration (based on their records the card was made inactive on the 28th at midnight) I incorrectly assumed that the card was still activated since we received nothing back stating so - no failed text message indicator, no call back and certainly no email to reflect that my previous attempt was no good. If anything, the next email from the company, which was wholly misleading, showed that I still had an active balance and that I needed to make a call/send a text in order not to lose the American phone number. I am not sure why the company would still continue to send out emails requesting that you do activities for the card if it was now inoperable/unusable.Again all I was asking is for the card to be reactivated and my balance placed back on it without me having to pay $30 to do so as was suggested or to purchase another card and then have the company transfer over that previous balance as was offered to me. I think the company is using misleading business practices and really should not be allowed to do so. I have noticed that several other members of the public have filed formal complaints about this company and similar issues and as I have now discovered, you cannot rely on the company  and the SIM card --  while travelling as it has failed me several times overseas when attempting to use it more times than it works, and even here in the USA there are obvious issues where you hope that it would work flawlessly. I was very hopeful that this was a company that could be used for calls/texting while overseas and wished I had read more reviews about this company before purchasing a SIM this experience so far has left a bitter taste in my mouth and hopefully by filing this complaint others will be forewarned.  

Business Response: The balance of $86.01 has been re-instated.Please remember the terms and conditions.You must use a charged service once every six months in order to keep the account from expiring. Failure to do so will result in the balance expiring.You can check your calling and billing history online at anytime to verify the charge.Any issues using the service, contact customer service available 24/7.************************************Have a nice day.

9/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I returned a defective/unusable cellular phone and received a promise of a $49 refund from ***** in customer service for ekit.com. A second customer service rep (*****) confirmed my home address and stated they would issue a refund check. To date, I've not received any refund and I mailed the phone USPS back to the company (address as above) on 7/29/13. I have the several emails documenting this activity.

Desired Settlement: Mail refund check to ****** ****** immediately.

Business Response: A refund check is scheduled to be mailed out this week in the amount of $52.81 USD.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved. 

9/13/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We rented a phone from this company to use in France. The online description of services says that calls in France are free. They were not. They also said that all incoming texts are free. However, our families could not text us and we were unable to text them throughout the 3 wk. trip. When I called to complain I was told that there is a number our family would need to access first in order to call or text us or they would have to pay international rates to call or text us. In three weeks we were only able to make three calls because of problems with service. When I called to complain I was told that I needed to manually search for a service provided each time we traveled to a new location. I did this but the phone would indicate only "limited service" so that we could not call aprox. 75% of the time making us resort to using a payphone at one time. We do not feel that the online advertisement truthfully indicates what the service and phone really provides. When I called to ask for a full or partial refund, they company said that they would and that it would appear as a refund on my credit card statement. That was 3 weeks ago and there has been no refund. It is case # *****

Desired Settlement: at least 75% refund for the rental cost and the extra minutes that we had to purchase.

Business Response: The refund request was rejected as the customer used up the balance during their trip.1 month ago(25 Jun 2013, 08:13 UTC) Outbound call from customer's mobile phone in France (Cellular) (region prefix +336) to +*********** in France (cellular) using gateway gw8.lon2 (Profile: Global (Jersey)) 3.00 minutes @ USD$ 1.4900/min USD$4.47 1 month ago(28 Jun 2013, 06:27 UTC) Payment Credit card payment mobile_recharge - IVR USD$30.00(credit) 1 month ago(28 Jun 2013, 07:09 UTC) Outbound call from customer's mobile phone in France (Cellular) (region prefix +336) to +*********** in Franceusing gateway gw7.lon2 (Profile: Global (Jersey)) 1.00 minute @ USD$ 0.9900/min USD$0.99 1 month ago(28 Jun 2013, 07:13 UTC) Outbound call from customer's mobile phone in France (Cellular) (region prefix +336) to +*********** in Franceusing gateway gw8.lon2 (Profile: Global (Jersey)) 5.00 minutes @ USD$ 0.9900/min USD$4.95 1 month ago(28 Jun 2013, 15:38 UTC) Outbound call from customer's mobile phone in France (Cellular) (region prefix +336) to +*********** in United Statesusing gateway gw8.lon2 (Profile: Global (Jersey)) 3.00 minutes @ USD$ 0.9900/min USD$2.97 1 month ago (28 Jun 2013,  15:42  UTC) Outbound call from customer's mobile phone in France (Cellular) (region prefix +336) to +*********** in United Statesusing gateway gw7.lon2 (Profile: Global (Jersey)) 1.00 minute @ USD$ 0.9900/min USD$0.99 1 month ago (28 Jun  2013, 15:44 UTC) Outbound call from customer's mobile phone in France (Cellular) (region prefix +336) to +*********** in United Statesusing gateway gw8.lon2 (Profile: Global (Jersey)) 2.00 minutes @ USD$ 0.9900/min USD$1.98 1 month ago(28 Jun 2013, 15:46 UTC) SMS / Text Message to +***********From France (Cellular) (region prefix +3368) (Profile: Global (Jersey)) 1 message @ USD$0.79 USD$0.79 1 month ago(28 Jun 2013, 15:48 UTC) SMS / Text Message to +***********From France (Cellular) (region prefix +3368) (Profile: Global (Jersey)) 1 message @ USD$0.79 USD$0.79 1 month ago(28 Jun 2013, 15:49 UTC) SMS / Text Message to +***********From France (Cellular) (region prefix +3368) (Profile: Global (Jersey)) 1 message @ USD$0.79 USD$0.79 1 month ago(28 Jun 2013, 15:58 UTC) Outbound call from customer's mobile phone in France (Cellular) (region prefix +336) to +*********** in United Statesusing gateway gw8.lon2 (Profile: Global (Jersey)) 2.00 minutes @ USD$ 0.9900/min USD$1.98 1 month ago(30 Jun 2013, 13:05 UTC) Outbound call from customer's mobile phone in France (Cellular) (region prefix +336) to +*********** in Franceusing gateway gw8.lon2 (Profile: Global (Jersey)) 3.00 minutes @ USD$ 0.9900/min USD$2.97 1 month ago(3 Jul 2013, 10:26 UTC) Outbound call from customer's mobile phone in France (Cellular) (region prefix +336) to Special Service - customer service using gateway gw7.lon2 (Profile: Global (Jersey)) 3.00 minutes @ USD$ 0.0000/min USD$0.00 1 month ago(3 Jul 2013, 10:34 UTC) SMS / Text Message to +***********From France (Cellular) (region prefix +33660) (Profile: Global (Jersey)) 1 message @ USD$0.79 USD$0.79 1 month ago(3 Jul 2013, 12:16 UTC) Outbound call from customer's mobile phone in France (Cellular) (region prefix +336) to +*********** in United Statesusing gateway gw7.lon2 (Profile: Global (Jersey)) 1.00 minute @ USD$ 0.9900/min USD$0.99 1 month ago(7 Jul 2013, 20:14 UTC) Outbound call from customer's mobile phone in France (Cellular) (region prefix +336) to +*********** in United Statesusing gateway gw8.lon2 (Profile: Global (Jersey)) 4.00 minutes @ USD$ 0.9900/min USD$3.96Total UsageUSD$29.41 Current Account BalanceUSD$5.59As a goodwill gesture we will refund their Rental excluding shipping. Cell Phone Rental (KIT ****)2013-06-19 to 2013-07-15PREPAID RETURN SHIPPING LABEL PRICE 58.00Refund Receipt: Date Aug 14, 2013 9:23 AM PST Amount $58.00 Method Credit Card Processed by: AndyGuzman Reason Escalation / Partner Complaint Ref Number **********

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

8/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 2/7/13 I ordered an Italy TIM SIM Card that provided the ability to advance register for the service so that it would work as soon as you landed in Italy. They asked me for scans of my passport 3 TIMES (2/8, 2/11 and 2/14). I understood a copy of the passport was required for the registration but didn't know why I was contacted three times by different service agents. This made me nervous so I called on 2/15 and they confirmed everything was received and would be processed so that my SIM Card would work on arrival in Italy on May 12th. I paid a significant premium ($49) for a pre-paid Italy SIM Card (TIM) as I needed to meet a Villa Owner upon arrival who had to drive quite a distance to meet me and transfer the Villa key -- it was imperative she could reach me (or me reach her) to arrange a time as soon as I arrived in Italy. I wanted the peace of mind to have the TIM SIM card registered and working when I hit the ground. I followed all the advance registration instructions – filled out the paperwork, emailed scans of my passport, etc. and was assured by the customer service rep it would work when I arrived on Sunday the 12th of May. Well, wrong!!!! The card would not work when we arrived in Italy on May 12th and we couldn’t find a TIM store at all that evening. As a result, I had to wait 2 hours for the Villa Owner to arrive (after I had traveled 21 hours, mind you) because I couldn’t get her called until I finally bought an International Phone Card and was able to call her. All of this shouldn’t have happened since I invested $50 to avoid this very scenario. Finally, the next day, I paid a steep cab fare to go to a neighboring town to work with a TIM store to get the card registered as know local places in ******** could help me -- I had to work directly with TIM since I already had the card. The TIM store in ******** said Telestial never registered the card. This is quite unfortunate as this is the whole reason we pre-bought the card before traveling. I shouldn’t have had to do this and it cost me quite a cab fare, not to mention the delay, frustration, etc. I've contacted the company for a refund numerous times and have been treated unprofessionally and they have promised a refund I've never received. Here is a timeline of the events attempting to resolve my claim: 5/26 (day returned from Italy) - I sent e-mail message outlining complaint. 5/26 - **** from Telestial Customer Service sent me an e-mail "I have gone ahead and forwarded a report of your issue to our refund department to see if they would be willing to credit a portion of your purchase for the inconvenience. Once they review the claim and make a decision, you will be contacted via this email address about the resolution." 6/3 - I sent a follow-up message inquiring as to status. 6/4 - Aya from Telestial Customer Service sends me a message "We write in reference to your refund request, report [*****]. We apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused. Your refund request has been approved upon return. Please send us the complete original packaging, including all components, quoting the Return Number [*****]. Incomplete packages may result in delay in the processing of your request." 6/5 - I sent letter, SIM card and all original packaging to company as requested at my own expense. 7/2 - I sent follow-up e-mail requesting status. 7/2 - ***** from Telestial Customer Service sent e-mail stating "You should be hearing back from us by the end of the week." 7/6 - I did not hear back from them by end of week so I sent a follow-up e-mail requesting status and expressing continued disappointment for unethical and unprofessional conduct. 7/8 - Adelmar from Telestial Customer Service sends e-mail "We wish to advise that your refund request has been approved. However, your order is over 90 days old. We will have to send out a refund check to you. Can you please advise a mailing address where to send it to?" 7/8 - I send the mailing address which I'd already provided with the package I returned. 7/21 - I follow-up via e-mail AGAIN inquiring about the promised refund. No response yet.

Desired Settlement: I want a total refund of the $49.15 I paid.

Business Response: Hello *******,

You have already been approved for a full refund of $49.15 USD for the troubles you have encountered. A refund check has been scheduled to be mailed out this week.

-Telestial Team

Business Response: Hello *******,  You have already been approved for a full refund of $49.15 USD for the troubles you have encountered. A refund check has been scheduled to be mailed out this week. -Telestial Team

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

I was asked to respond within 10 days and I am doing so. Unfortunately, as of today, we still have not yet received the refund that has been promised so we cannot accept this matter as resolved.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # *******. I was asked to respond within 10 days and I am doing so. Unfortunately, as of today, we still have not yet received the refund that has been promised so we cannot accept this matter as resolved. Regards, ***** ********  

Business Response: A refund check for 49.15 USD has already been mailed out.

Business Response: A refund check for 49.15 USD has already been mailed out.

8/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased this phone for my daughter to travel abroad with on a school trip June 20, 2013. From the first day the phone would not hold a charge and the only way she could call home was while plugged into the wall. I paid $64.90 for the phone including shipping. I immediatly contacted the compamy to advise of the phone issue. They told me upon her return I should call and request a refund . The representative said she logged extensive notes. She also explained that I would still be responsable for the initial shipping. I agreed. She explained any money left on card would be refunded as well .Upon her return I called to inquire about the return , I was told that they aren't going to refund me because she actually got to use the phone. I disputed and they eventually offered me a "good faith " partial refund of $40.00. This is unacceptable

Desired Settlement: I am requesting a full refund of the purchase price of $49.00 plus the $8.00 left on the sim card and a prepaid label to return the item

Business Response: Customer has been refunded $57.00.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

I have NOT recieved a refund. I have checked with my financial institution and there is no pending refund. Please advise

Business Response: Transaction Receipt Merchant: ekit USAFifth Floor, 27 Drydock AveBoston, MA 02210 Merchant Number: ************ Transaction type: Refund Transaction date: 2013/08/01 19:34:07 GMT+0 Sequence Number: *************** Transaction ID: None Processor Response Code: None Authorisation Response Code: None Authorisation Response Message: None Amount: USD$-57.00 ekit Account: ********** ekit Account Name: ***** ********* Credit Card Number: ...**** Name on Card: ***** ********* Expiration Date: **/**

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

I still have NOT received a refund nor is one pending with my financial institution    

8/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a SIM card and data package from Telestial before a trip that I would be taking in early July. The total for this purchase was $67.70. I paid and received the items I had purchased. Upon traveling, the services were unavailable. I called the customer care center which kept me on the phone for an hour, but they were unable to help me get my services working. When I returned from my trip, I called Telestial asking for a refund for the services that I never used because I was unable to do so. They respond with a report that they said would help me get my refund. It has been almost a month, 4 phone calls, and 2 emails later, and I have not received any refund from them. On my first call to complain for a refund, I was told that I would definitely receive one because they could see that I did not use any of the services. They said it would only take 14 business days, and it has been way longer than that. When I do call, the customer service team just puts me on hold for long periods of time without the intention of receiving my telephone call. In one email, I was asked to send back the SIM card along with the original packing. As a customer, I did not keep the original packaging and wrote in a booklet that they send with the SIM card. They asked me to pay this shipping. This shipping of the SIM card and booklet (with writing in it) would cost more than the actual contents of the shipment.

Desired Settlement: I did not use the services, the company was unable to help me use the services, so I would like a refund for the services that I did not use. I do not believe I need to send them back what little I have remaining of the package (the SIM card and booklet). This refund would total $67.70.

Business Response: Your order has been refunded in full.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

7/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I prepaid for a long distance phone card from ekits.com for my daughter while traveling. I live in California, and the law states that the pre-paid phone card credits do not expire, but ekits emailed me the response that the reason the balance of $48.78 was deleted was from an expired phone card. They said it expires after 6 months and they wanted a global phone number. This balance owed to us is simply an online credit that is used with an account number and password that my daughter uses while traveling. She is traveling again by this weekend and I was upset that she won't have this important tool to communicate in emergencies. I would like the original balance of $48.78 reinstated immediately.

Desired Settlement: I would like the prepaid phone card credit to be reinstated to my online account immediately.

Business Response: Your balance has been reinstated due to this complaint, however the policy still stands. We recommend using your service once every 6 months to avoid your balance from expiring.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

12/1/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My daughter purchased an International cell phone w/sim card in July 2010. In August 2012 we reactivated the cell phone before my daughter left for France for fall semester abroad. In August 2012 we reactivated 2 separate numbers with 2 different rates for this international cell phone: #1 - US number: *** *** **** #2 - International number: *** *** *** ***. We were told the rates were for calls: From France to the US (using the International Number): $0.49 a minute From France to the US (using the US Number): $0.19 a minute It was further explained that calls made to the International # *** *** *** *** made from a US landline are received free on the International Cell phone. I have spoken to customer service @ 888-513-8804 multiple problems about reception problems with the International Number and repeatedly explained that I was having problems connecting with the International Number and making uncharged calls to my daughter's phone. The company explained that any problems with International reception may be due to the fact that the phone needs a new Sim card . Today I was speaking to my daughter on the International Number when a recording came on saying that I was running out of time and then I was cut off. I put more money on the phone and then immediately called the company and asked how it was possible that the phone could run out of time when the call should have been free for my daughter to receive - since I made the call from my home landline. The person that I spoke to said the rates had changed and receiving a call was no longer free. I expressed my total frustration with the phone and the fact that there had been a rate change that we were unaware of. As soon as my daughter returns home we will throw out this phone and never use this company again. The service is poor and the idea that the phone can receive free calls from a US land line is totally false.

Desired Settlement: I want a refund for the call minutes that my daughter received on her global number: *** *** *** *** from my home landline number: ************. Thank you, ******** ******** (***) ********

Business Response: Unfortunately with your service it is no longer free to receive calls on the global number as initially advertised in 2010. Rates are subject to change without notification, so we understand your frustration. We agree to honor your request for $100.00 refund on your minutes. The two recent transactions of $50.00 were refunded today and you should see it on your next updated statement.  Again, we apologize for any inconvenience caused.

10/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was EXTREMELY disappointed at the service from our phone while in *****. We purchased the phone to use for emergencies while on vacation in ***** and were only able to make 1 call.We were able to make a call from ****, then when we needed the phone in ******, all we kept getting was the words limited service and we were no able to make ANY calls when we needed to? I don't understand why I was sold a phone that I was assured would work in ***** then did not?When we returned to ****, we still had nothing but Limited Service and no call would go through; all it kept telling us was "Unable to Perform Function"?Basically we were sold a useless piece of plastic; I am VERY disappointed in your products and service.Upon our return to *** we contacted eKit via e-mail and were told the following: Dear *******,Thank you for contacting customer service.I'm very sorry to hear of the trouble you experienced while using our service .Are you still in *****? If so please either dial *** from your mobile or call us from an ******* landline at ********* so that we may provide assistance and troubleshoot the issue with you.If you have already returned from *****, you can call us ###-###-#### and explain to us the exact issues that occurred and we will then file a refund request on your behalf. I understand you needed the service while you were travelling and we want to help make this right for you.We look forward to hearing from you.Kind Regards, **** Customer Service Representative I contacted customer service via the provided telephone number and was given the run around for over 10-minutes. Finally I was told, this is not our problem, you need to call RailEurpoe and talk with them. With that, the customer service rep. began to laugh at our issues and told us we should have called when we were in *****. I asked how we could call without a working phone? I replied back to the customer service email indicating my disgust with the poor service and responsibility.

Desired Settlement: We should be refunded our $39.00 USD that was spent for a product that did not work. At this point I do not see that happening and I want other consumers to be made aware of this scam.

Business Response: Hello *******,

We agree with your dispute and desired settlement.

We have communicated your request to Rail Europe as they have charged your credit card. They have refunded the purchase price of the phone package and are sending you a separate email of this notification.

We apologize for any inconvenience caused.

Have a nice day.

10/1/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a Passport Plus SIM card ($36 including shipping) and tried to use it in Europe in July 2012. I was unable to make calls with the SIM card and the Telestial customer service was unable to help me while I was abroad. When I returned to the US in early July 2012, I called Telestial to ask for a refund. They indicated they would contact me with 21 business days, which did not occur. As such, I called Telestial and they apologized for not contacting me. They indicated that the product was likely defective asked me to send the SIM card back to their warehouse, promising a full refund. I sent back the product on August 13 and received a refund of $30.45 (shipping was not refunded). I thought it was unfair to charge customers shipping for a defective product, so I e-mailed Telestial customer service to ask for a refund of the shipping. Though they initially tried to refuse, they finally agreed to send a check for $5.55 back to me on August 27. The following is the e-mail: > A check for 5.55 will be sent out. > > > We apologize for the inconvenience. > On September 8, I contacted Telestial via e-mail again because I had not received a check. A customer service representative replied: > The refund check was already sent on 9/7/2012. If you need further assistance, please feel free to contact us. Kind regards, I never received this check. On September 18, I sent a firm e-mail to Telestial asking them for a refund of the shipping cost that they had promised. There was no response, and I am now forced to take this up with the BBB.

Desired Settlement: I request a refund of $5.55 to the credit card that I used to purchase the item. This is the amount promised to me in our correspondence. I also hope that Telestial will take this opportunity to seriously re-evaluate its commitment to customer service. It is absurd that I had to spend hours trying to get a refund for the product, and even more absurd that I have had to resort to the BBB to get them to honor their promise to refund the shipping.

Business Response: Hello,

Your $5.55 USD refund check should arrive this week. We apologize for the delay, refund checks normally take longer than a standard refund back to your credit card. In addition, shipping is normally non refundable, but an exception was made on your case.

Regards,
****

Consumer Response: In regards to complaint #*******: Telestial did ultimately mail me the check for $5.55 as I requested.  In that sense, I accept their response to resolve my complaint.

Unfortunately, their response to my complaint reflected their abysmal commitment to customer service, as it did not address the fact that it took over 3 months for me to get a refund for the original item and a check for the shipping, the fact that their customer service representatives continually made promises that they did not intend to keep, and the fact that it took a letter to the BBB to get them to fulfill their promises.  I certainly will never patronize Telestial again, and I would highly discourage anyone else from doing so as I am not wholly convinced that they are a honest company.   

9/21/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A year ago I bought Telestial Wireless solution eKit. I put $20 on my account. I was not able to use the since that time. SIM card doesn't work - no connection to service provider. When I call Customer Support in August 2012, I was told that they have a new agreement wich not work with my cell phone. The promised to send me a new SIM card which supposed to work with my mobile phone. Today, Sep 7, 2012 I've gotten a new SIM card. The phone is still not working - there is no connection to any service provider. Same situation as was with old SIM. I called Customer Support (Sep 7, 2012 at approx. 3:30 - 4:00 pm) and talked to a woman whose name was ****** ** ****** She was rude and incompetent. She told me I will not get my money back. I never had such bad service.

Business Response: We have refunded $20.00 back to your Visa ending in *****

Have a nice day.

9/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased an international sim card for one of my cell phones. The sim card didn't work and after hours on the phone, I was issued a replacement. The replacement ultimately did work, but took 6 months for it to finally get to me (although they claim the product was shipped far earlier). Furthermore, I had to test the product with the company's agents, including calling my home number. These minutes were deducted from my account, so I wasted expensive international minutes that I had paid for troubleshooting their product that was faulty. They gave me back some of the minutes, but not all of them. I'm overall displeased with the service and the company's handling of the situation.

Desired Settlement: I would like all of the minutes spent troubleshooting this product by making calls to my home number to be refunded (it's only about $2-3 worth, but there is a principle here). I would also like some sort of apology for the hours spent on the phone trying to deal with the defective product they had sent me.

Business Response: Hello,

Please provide me with your mobile SIM number in order to investigate your claim.

Regards,
**** ******
Customer Administration Manager

Consumer Response:

The message I received simply said that my message was being sent to the business and did not address my complaint. Thanks.

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

Business Response: As you have not replied with the SIM number in question. We have applied a $5.00 credit to one of your accounts. We apologize for any inconvenience caused.

Consumer Response:

The number is ************* and the US number is ************

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.


 

 

7/9/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a global phone with a Sim card from this company for my travels in Europe for the purpose of communicating with people in the states and in Europe while I was gone. I also had purchased additional minutes, costing $50.00. This was done before I left on my trip. The phone was then set up with tech support and supposedly operational and ready to go. Once I reached my destination in Italy, I found that I was not able to use this phone about 50% of the time and when I did use it, the service was very poor and I could not hear the person I was calling. When I made my calls I put in my pin number then tried to make my call and I would receive an error message "Operation not permitted". I tried time after time and still received this. I moved to different areas and still received this message. I could not call customer support because I could not make a call. And I did not have access to another phone. This also prevented me from calling my hotels en route to confirm my reservations and calling the airline when I needed to. When I returned home I called the company but they would do nothing to compensate me. This company is not good and I will tell other people as I am a travel writer.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund for the cost of the cellular phone in the amount of $29.90.

Business Response: This has been refunded on 6/28/2012 - see refund receipt below:

Ref Number **********
Date Jun 28, 2012 9:43 AM PST
Amount $29.90
*******

6/28/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a SIM card for use with my unlocked *** ******** band phone, to perform phone and messaging (SMS) functions per Telestial's advertisements. Cost was $62.71, but the SIM card would not send or receive SMS messages on my phone (******* ***** *) which conforms to Telestial's specs. I emailed them from France to let them know that the essential functions which require SMS messaging, including checking of remaining phone minutes, topping up of minutes, and of course messaging to other phones, were disabled. Telestial's response: get on an expensive phone line to speak with them. One attempt at this found only French-language voice mail,
and no help and no resolution. Net result: product did not work as advertised and there was no customer support available.

Desired Settlement: Refund of $62.71 to my credit card

Business Response:

This has been refunded on 6/28/2012 - see refund receipt below:

Date Jun 28, 2012 9:47 AM PST
Amount $62.71
Ref Number **********

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response resolves the monetary portion of the complaint referenced.   However, the aggravation associated with the complaint (loss of time, telephone charges incurred attempting to reach Telestial "customer service," deprivation of phone service due to inoperative SIM card) reach beyond the monetary compensation.  Furthermore, BBB should be concerned that its services are used as a substitute for Telestial's own customer service to prevent or resolve such problems.

6/5/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received the phone on May 25, 2012 and returned it May 26, 2012 @ 9:30:54 am after purchasing it May 23, 2012. The reason for return was that I got what I pay for 19.99 special that couldn't deliver what it was suppose to do. The problem that I am having are customer reps. On May 25, 2012 @6:45 pm I called to get a solution to the problem I was having with the phone, the rep hung up. The second call was to suppose to be handle by someone name EBO who made out a report gave me a report number if it's legitimate and told me I would have a refund within 2 maybe 3 days upon receipt of the phone. That's when I made two phone calls on June 01, 2012 at 9:10am and 9:18 am and spoke with a ********* if that's his real name to check on the status of the return. The first call he hung up on me when we were getting to the heart of the problem. The second call he refuse to give me his name when I ask for it then after 2 or 3 minutes he gave it to me after repeated request to speak with a supervisor. We went from talking one on one to a supervisor takes over and all of a sudden the same scenario is repeated to me. She can't hear me but it's funny how you can hear no problem in getting my money. But for a return everybody is deaf and need hearing aids. Due to the way this is being handled poorly I might add I called my credit card company to initiate a complaint and I will next forward a copy of this email to the Better Business Bureau (BBB). Since this is the way you do business you leave me no choice but to do it your way. You are the ROLE MODEL!

Desired Settlement: Refund my credit card total amount after everything I've gone through with this companies sales reps.

Business Response: This was refunded on June 1st - see refund receipt below.

Refunds
Date     Jun 01, 2012 8:42 AM PST
Amount     $47.89
Method     Credit Card
Processed by:    **********
Reason     Escalation / Partner Complaint
Ref Number    **********

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.  I have been checking my credit card and to date I have yet to see the credit. So therefore I can not accept their word that it was credited back to my account until I see it. The matter won't be closed for me until I see the refund on my card. And as of writing this I did check my card and there are no signs of credit posted to this account.

 

 

Business Response: This is the refund reference number - Ref Number     **********.  Depending on the bank, it can take up to two weeks for a credit to become available. This has been refunded on our end on June 1.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.