BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Eastern Massachusetts, Maine, Rhode Island and Vermont

This Business is not BBB accredited

Telestial.com

Phone: (888) 310-4168 Fax: (617) 737-3041 View Additional Phone Numbers 27 Drydock Avenue, 5th Floor, Boston, MA 02210 http://www.telestial.com View Additional Web Addresses

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Telestial.com, also known as e-kit.com is a global provider of integrated communications and internet services, designed to keep travelers in touch.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Telestial.com include:

  • 25 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Telestial.com include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 25 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Reviews  are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

25 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 18
Total Closed Complaints 25

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

5 Customer Reviews on Telestial.com
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 4
Total Customer Reviews 5

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 24, 2007 Business started: 01/01/1999 in MA Business incorporated: 03/01/1999 in DE
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Massachusetts Department of Public Utilities
One South Station, Boston MA 02110
http://www.mass.gov/eea/grants-and-tech-assistance/guidance-technical-assistance/agencies-and-divisions/dpu/
Phone Number: 617-305-3500
Fax Number: 617-345-9101
DPU.Administration@state.ma.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John Diamond, President Mr. Ricardo Donoso, Administration Manager Mr. Andy Guzman, Customer Administration Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Diamond, President
Principal: Mr. Ricardo Donoso, Administration Manager
Principal: Mr. Andy Guzman, Customer Administration Manager
Number of Employees

48

Business Category

CELLULAR TELEPHONE SERVICE E-COMMERCE TELECOMMUNICATIONS SERVICE PREPAID PHONE CARDS-RETAIL

Method(s) of Payment
MasterCard
Visa
American Express
Discover
Online
Refund and Exchange Policy
The business states that their refund policy is as follows: Unconditional 7 day refund for returns in original packaging.
Alternate Business Names
Ekit.com, Inc.
Industry Tips
Five Steps to Building an E-Commerce Site - Video Five Steps to Building an E-Commerce Site for Your Small Business Read Before You Sign

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    27 Drydock Avenue, 5th Floor

    Boston, MA 02210 (888) 310-4168 (800) 707-0031

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 707-0031(Phone)
X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

4/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: An amount of $50.00 was deposited into an ******** account for my daughter ****** ******** for prepaid phone service while traveling. She did not use the balance remaining of $48.78 because she no longer needs the service at home. I have requested a refund for the balance now for several months and ******** aka Telestial.com refuses to send the refund to me. They continually have the same reply: Dear ******, Thank you for contacting customer service. Your funds are not eligible for a refund, unfortunately. Your last recharge was 31 months and that transaction is far too old to be refunded. Feel free to contact us with any further questions or comments. We apologise for any inconvenience. Kind Regards, ***** Customer Service This account was in case Leslie needed to use it for emergencies while traveling overseas. This is unacceptable that they would keep the funds because it had be awhile since being used. They money does not belong to them and nothing was said beforehand to make it clear that there was a time limit or that I would lose money put into the account. I would have never used their service if I would have known that.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund of $48.78, which is the balance on my ekit.com account as soon as possible. I have been asking repeatedly since the beginning of February and started well before that. Also, I want to know if $48.78 is worth another ding against your company? Please sent payment to ****** ********* **** ********* **** ****** ** ****** ***** **** *** ******* * ** ***********

Business Response: Hello,

Unfortunately per our terms and conditions, your balance expired due to inactivity and is no longer refundable.


********************************************************

"Expiration and Service De-Activation

Phonecards
Any credit balance in your account will expire if you have not made a
call using your account for a period of six (6) months. The credit
balance may be re-instated by Customer Service, if you recharge your
account within six (6) months."

"Return/Refund Policy

Phonecards
ekit.com does not offer refunds for phonecards. Any remaining credit
on a phonecard should be used by making local and international calls,
and will expire after six (6) months of inactivity."


You have recharged more than 10 times online, each time you check a box agreeing to our terms and conditions.

Regards,

Consumer Response:

 I don't remember clicking on anything that said that.  All I did was add funds to the account when the account was low.  That is it.  They have no right to keep funds that belong to their customer.   If they are saying that they have it set up to not give refunds, then a customer is not allowed to terminate the phone service and get a refund.  This is unethical and I believe it is illegal. 

Regards,

 

 

 

Business Response: Hello,

I have attached a screenshot of what the customer sees every time they add funds to their account.

They have to agree to the terms and conditions before the transaction is processed.

Terms of conditions can be found below:
********************************************************
Besides the fact that the service is non refundable, the transaction the customer is trying to dispute is over 2 years old!

We have on record that the customer filed a BBB complaint on July 18th, 2013 because the balance expired. As a gesture of goodwill we reinstated her balance at no extra cost. We warned the customer via BBB that if they failed to use the service within a 6 month period their balance will expire again.

As the customer is not following the terms after plenty of warnings, we do not feel that this customer is entitled to a refund or further credit.


BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is the text of my 1st email to them.... I have made several attempts to reactivate this SIM card since being advised on Sept 28 that the account was in danger of being deactivated with 2 different phones. On my first attempt I inserted my SIM card into a phone on Oct. 27 which I thought was sufficient since the expiry date was 10/28 . On 11/3 I received a second email notifying me of the following and based on this line The credit balance in your account will not be affected. I assumed that the account was still active and my balance was still there. Email #2: Your US Number +1********** will be removed shortly. Your Global (United Kingdom) number +*********** will not change. The credit balance in your account will not be affected. To avoid this you can extend the life of your US Number by simply making a call or sending a paid text message within the next 7 days. Alternatively you can also indefinitely extend the life of your US Number by paying a fee of 50c per month. Simply visit www.*******************, sign in with your number and PIN, scroll over 'My account' in the top menu, click on 'Account details' and follow the prompts. At the end of each month, payment for the next month is automatically deducted from your credit balance. You can cancel the monthly payment at any time by cancelling your US Number. If your US Number is removed, you will automatically get a new US Number when you use the service again (as long as you do so within 12 months of last having used the service). The new US Number will be sent to you via text message. Today I attempted to verify that the account was activated in preparation for usage on a trip while overseas and I inserted the SIM card into a phone, I received a text informing me that “To make a call and receive cheaper calls, turn your phone off, then on and enter 3 followed by the PIN” which I did. This again indicated to me that the service was active so I attempted to send a text message to my current US number and received nothing so I logged into the account to verify if the system was showing that a text was sent and to my surprise saw that not only do I not have a US or UK number (which I don’t really care about) but my account balance has been removed and my account is now inactive - I was under the impression that the balance was tied to a number evidence by the fact that the US number changes but the UK number does not AND the fact that I was able to log in with the UK number. I have called your customer service line and I am now being told that my balance of $86.01 that was on the account is no longer mine to use and I cannot activate the SIM card unless I now spend $30.00 to replenish the same SIM account that is now showing as inactive. Needless to say I am now extremely upset and consider this a breach of ethics and bad faith since I attempted to activate the card on what is now 2 occasions. I spoke first to agent **** who has told me that there is nothing that can be done and that my balance will not be refunded to me and speaking to anyone else is meaningless and won’t do any good a statement I consider to be sorely lacking in proper customer service etiquette. After literally screaming at that agent to be transferred to a supervisor as this an unacceptable response I was transferred to **** Agent id **** who while briefed on my case by the other agent insisted that I should have read the pamphlet which advises that no refunds will be given and that my recourse for receiving any type money is only to purchase another card and then the old balance will be transferred over. I also pointed out to your agent that since this card is not the correct size for my current phone and is somewhat useless to me his response was for me to mail the card in so that they can cut it down to size and ship it back to me this. Once again I am now livid as this an unacceptable way to do business, any company that I call up where I have a balance if I am closing the account my money would have been refunded to me in your case you agents are telling me that this will not occur and to soothe me over I should purchase a new card, add $30.00 to a deactivated account and oh possibly ship them my card so that it can be cut to size - still for an account that has no service. Unacceptable and unprofessional!!! In addition today’s poor service I have had issues with getting reliable service on the card while using it overseas. I initially purchased this card to be used for overseas travel in areas that I was not familiar with and I have had nothing but problems with using it – issues I was willing to overlook until today. I have had issues such as not receiving the call backs when making phone calls, text messages not arriving or not being delivered despite sending them several times over and then not showing as undeliverable. Thankfully, I was not in any dangerous areas but this lack of service has caused me to lose rental car service due to delayed arrivals and not being able to contact the company, missed pickups which left me stranded in a foreign airport for over 4 hours after arrival as we could not contact individuals nor could they contact me. I should point out that none of these issues was due to poor cellular service in the areas where the phone was being used as I eventually gave up and borrowed another passengers phone to use and in two separate instances purchased a local SIM card for use in my phone and in another used my US phone to make extremely expensive calls. These issues are the sole reasons for not using your card as often when travelling and why it was set up as a backup for emergencies should my now other very reliable cellular alternatives fail to work. I think it is misleading for your organization to send emails stating that the numbers will be deactivated while sending another email stating that your credit balance will not be affected and worse give the advice that I was given. I am greatly disappointed by your service and your agents response to this issue and I am simply asking that since your company failed to uphold your part of the “contract” by providing me with sloppy service as a gesture of good faith that you can refund me the $86.01 balance on my account to my card or offer another acceptable resolution. You (meaning your agents) have failed to respond in a manner that is consistent with good customer service and I for one will make it a point to tell everyone that I know not to use your service and file a formal complaint with the BBB and the *** about my dealing with your organizations if this is not resolved satisfactorily. I sincerely hope that this issue can be resolved in satisfactory manner and I look forward to getting a satisfactory response from your company. I am happy to discuss this further my contact information is below. ========================================================== First response to me which i found unacceptable Thank you for contacting customer service. We are very sorry to hear of the issues using the service and with the recent exchange with customer service. We generally send two types of notices. One is regarding the US number specifically and one regarding the balance expiring if you have gone about 5 months without using the service. Since there was no charged activity as required and outlined in the agreed to terms of service, the balance expired after 6 months. To regain this balance you can add $30 to the account OR you can purchase a new sim. You do not need to add $30 should you purchase a new sim. We are currently offering free shipping with the international sims like you have. Should you purchase any of these we can credit the expired amount onto the new sim which you can request at any size. ************************/ You can use the code ******** to receive a 10% off as well. As far as a refund back to the credit card, that would not be possible. $50 of those funds were added 8 months ago and the rest about 20 months ago. These transactions are far too old to be refunded unfortunately. Customer service is available 24/7 every day of the year. We even have toll-free numbers where we can be reached from landlines and payphones in the event the phone itself cannot be used. Feel free to contact us with any further questions or comments. We again apologise for any inconvenience or negative experience encountered. Karin G. Evening CS Supervisor ===================================================== My response back to them Thanks for your response. However I still find this unacceptable, I am not asking for a refund to my credit card although that would be an acceptable response. At this point I am asking for my SIM card to be refunded back the amount and the card reactivated so that it can be used without me having to pay an additional amount of money, in this case $30, or purchasing a new card which I don't need (As someone who works in the technical field I am quite capable of modifying my SIM card for the size required for my phone). If I add $30.00 additional to the card then I will be in the same boat again it seems with always having a balance that your company will confiscate if I don't "activate" despite the fact that I have an available balance on the account to use. Also I realize that you have several numbers available to be contacted at while travelling however when I experienced my difficulty it was impossible to contact the people I needed to so I assumed that would have been the case with your company's number in fact looking back at my accounts limited text message history I saw where I was able to send text messages to individuals who were not even the same country as I was who then acted as an intermediary for me and contacted the people who I was trying to get ahold of. That I might add was the final straw in attempting to make this card the go to card while travelling. If this cannot be resolved by you can you please escalate this to the next level I noticed that several reviews have been written about this same issue by others and their cases were resolved I am hoping for the same as well. ========================================================== My current response... As I stated before we attempted to activate on 10/27 by sending several text messages and it obviously failed to keep the account active. I did not realize that it had failed until today since as of 11/3 I was sent email not stating that the amount of the balance was removed or that I needed to spend an additional $30 to reactivate but that I would be losing the USA number and that my balance was still in effect. I find this misleading if I had known that the card had not been activated on 10/27 I would have immediately rectified the situation by calling your customer service. Since your position is not to reactivate or even to escalate to your own finance dept but leaving it up to me to do so which I also find unacceptable then I will file a formal complaint with the relevant authorities. ================================================================================

Desired Settlement: At this point after going around with the customer service agents requesting a refund/activation of the card again I now find that this experience makes me not want to continue to do business with them so while i was initially not requesting a refund to my credit card i am now requesting this amount of $86.01 be refunded to me in any form that they so choose as long as it is not a gift/debit card.

Business Response: There is an expired balance of USD$86.01.The customer was advised to make a charged call or text BEFORE the account expired. According to the complaint, the warning was read and understood but no action was taken until AFTER the balance expired.The last credit card transaction on record was done on March 17, 2013.Terms and conditions state: "Any credit balance in your account will expire if you have not made a call using your account for a period of six (6) months.The credit balance may be re-instated by Customer Service, if you recharge your account within six (6) months.Customer agreed to these terms by checking a box when recharging the account.The last date of usage on record is March 17, 2013.The customer will need to recharge with a minimum of $20.00 and we will re-instate the expired balance of USD$86.01.Terms and conditions:******************************************************

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # *******.  As I have stated to the representatives of the company, a call and text message was attempted on the 27th, the day prior to the expiration (based on their records the card was made inactive on the 28th at midnight) I incorrectly assumed that the card was still activated since we received nothing back stating so - no failed text message indicator, no call back and certainly no email to reflect that my previous attempt was no good. If anything, the next email from the company, which was wholly misleading, showed that I still had an active balance and that I needed to make a call/send a text in order not to lose the American phone number. I am not sure why the company would still continue to send out emails requesting that you do activities for the card if it was now inoperable/unusable.Again all I was asking is for the card to be reactivated and my balance placed back on it without me having to pay $30 to do so as was suggested or to purchase another card and then have the company transfer over that previous balance as was offered to me. I think the company is using misleading business practices and really should not be allowed to do so. I have noticed that several other members of the public have filed formal complaints about this company and similar issues and as I have now discovered, you cannot rely on the company  and the SIM card --  while travelling as it has failed me several times overseas when attempting to use it more times than it works, and even here in the USA there are obvious issues where you hope that it would work flawlessly. I was very hopeful that this was a company that could be used for calls/texting while overseas and wished I had read more reviews about this company before purchasing a SIM this experience so far has left a bitter taste in my mouth and hopefully by filing this complaint others will be forewarned.  

Business Response: The balance of $86.01 has been re-instated.Please remember the terms and conditions.You must use a charged service once every six months in order to keep the account from expiring. Failure to do so will result in the balance expiring.You can check your calling and billing history online at anytime to verify the charge.Any issues using the service, contact customer service available 24/7.************************************Have a nice day.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

9/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I returned a defective/unusable cellular phone and received a promise of a $49 refund from ***** in customer service for ekit.com. A second customer service rep (*****) confirmed my home address and stated they would issue a refund check. To date, I've not received any refund and I mailed the phone USPS back to the company (address as above) on 7/29/13. I have the several emails documenting this activity.

Desired Settlement: Mail refund check to ****** ****** immediately.

Business Response: A refund check is scheduled to be mailed out this week in the amount of $52.81 USD.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved. 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

BBB Comments: The consumer indicated to BBB that the complaint was resolved.

9/13/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We rented a phone from this company to use in France. The online description of services says that calls in France are free. They were not. They also said that all incoming texts are free. However, our families could not text us and we were unable to text them throughout the 3 wk. trip. When I called to complain I was told that there is a number our family would need to access first in order to call or text us or they would have to pay international rates to call or text us. In three weeks we were only able to make three calls because of problems with service. When I called to complain I was told that I needed to manually search for a service provided each time we traveled to a new location. I did this but the phone would indicate only "limited service" so that we could not call aprox. 75% of the time making us resort to using a payphone at one time. We do not feel that the online advertisement truthfully indicates what the service and phone really provides. When I called to ask for a full or partial refund, they company said that they would and that it would appear as a refund on my credit card statement. That was 3 weeks ago and there has been no refund. It is case # *****

Desired Settlement: at least 75% refund for the rental cost and the extra minutes that we had to purchase.

Business Response: The refund request was rejected as the customer used up the balance during their trip.1 month ago(25 Jun 2013, 08:13 UTC) Outbound call from customer's mobile phone in France (Cellular) (region prefix +336) to +*********** in France (cellular) using gateway gw8.lon2 (Profile: Global (Jersey)) 3.00 minutes @ USD$ 1.4900/min USD$4.47 1 month ago(28 Jun 2013, 06:27 UTC) Payment Credit card payment mobile_recharge - IVR USD$30.00(credit) 1 month ago(28 Jun 2013, 07:09 UTC) Outbound call from customer's mobile phone in France (Cellular) (region prefix +336) to +*********** in Franceusing gateway gw7.lon2 (Profile: Global (Jersey)) 1.00 minute @ USD$ 0.9900/min USD$0.99 1 month ago(28 Jun 2013, 07:13 UTC) Outbound call from customer's mobile phone in France (Cellular) (region prefix +336) to +*********** in Franceusing gateway gw8.lon2 (Profile: Global (Jersey)) 5.00 minutes @ USD$ 0.9900/min USD$4.95 1 month ago(28 Jun 2013, 15:38 UTC) Outbound call from customer's mobile phone in France (Cellular) (region prefix +336) to +*********** in United Statesusing gateway gw8.lon2 (Profile: Global (Jersey)) 3.00 minutes @ USD$ 0.9900/min USD$2.97 1 month ago (28 Jun 2013,  15:42  UTC) Outbound call from customer's mobile phone in France (Cellular) (region prefix +336) to +*********** in United Statesusing gateway gw7.lon2 (Profile: Global (Jersey)) 1.00 minute @ USD$ 0.9900/min USD$0.99 1 month ago (28 Jun  2013, 15:44 UTC) Outbound call from customer's mobile phone in France (Cellular) (region prefix +336) to +*********** in United Statesusing gateway gw8.lon2 (Profile: Global (Jersey)) 2.00 minutes @ USD$ 0.9900/min USD$1.98 1 month ago(28 Jun 2013, 15:46 UTC) SMS / Text Message to +***********From France (Cellular) (region prefix +3368) (Profile: Global (Jersey)) 1 message @ USD$0.79 USD$0.79 1 month ago(28 Jun 2013, 15:48 UTC) SMS / Text Message to +***********From France (Cellular) (region prefix +3368) (Profile: Global (Jersey)) 1 message @ USD$0.79 USD$0.79 1 month ago(28 Jun 2013, 15:49 UTC) SMS / Text Message to +***********From France (Cellular) (region prefix +3368) (Profile: Global (Jersey)) 1 message @ USD$0.79 USD$0.79 1 month ago(28 Jun 2013, 15:58 UTC) Outbound call from customer's mobile phone in France (Cellular) (region prefix +336) to +*********** in United Statesusing gateway gw8.lon2 (Profile: Global (Jersey)) 2.00 minutes @ USD$ 0.9900/min USD$1.98 1 month ago(30 Jun 2013, 13:05 UTC) Outbound call from customer's mobile phone in France (Cellular) (region prefix +336) to +*********** in Franceusing gateway gw8.lon2 (Profile: Global (Jersey)) 3.00 minutes @ USD$ 0.9900/min USD$2.97 1 month ago(3 Jul 2013, 10:26 UTC) Outbound call from customer's mobile phone in France (Cellular) (region prefix +336) to Special Service - customer service using gateway gw7.lon2 (Profile: Global (Jersey)) 3.00 minutes @ USD$ 0.0000/min USD$0.00 1 month ago(3 Jul 2013, 10:34 UTC) SMS / Text Message to +***********From France (Cellular) (region prefix +33660) (Profile: Global (Jersey)) 1 message @ USD$0.79 USD$0.79 1 month ago(3 Jul 2013, 12:16 UTC) Outbound call from customer's mobile phone in France (Cellular) (region prefix +336) to +*********** in United Statesusing gateway gw7.lon2 (Profile: Global (Jersey)) 1.00 minute @ USD$ 0.9900/min USD$0.99 1 month ago(7 Jul 2013, 20:14 UTC) Outbound call from customer's mobile phone in France (Cellular) (region prefix +336) to +*********** in United Statesusing gateway gw8.lon2 (Profile: Global (Jersey)) 4.00 minutes @ USD$ 0.9900/min USD$3.96Total UsageUSD$29.41 Current Account BalanceUSD$5.59As a goodwill gesture we will refund their Rental excluding shipping. Cell Phone Rental (KIT ****)2013-06-19 to 2013-07-15PREPAID RETURN SHIPPING LABEL PRICE 58.00Refund Receipt: Date Aug 14, 2013 9:23 AM PST Amount $58.00 Method Credit Card Processed by: AndyGuzman Reason Escalation / Partner Complaint Ref Number **********

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

8/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 2/7/13 I ordered an Italy TIM SIM Card that provided the ability to advance register for the service so that it would work as soon as you landed in Italy. They asked me for scans of my passport 3 TIMES (2/8, 2/11 and 2/14). I understood a copy of the passport was required for the registration but didn't know why I was contacted three times by different service agents. This made me nervous so I called on 2/15 and they confirmed everything was received and would be processed so that my SIM Card would work on arrival in Italy on May 12th. I paid a significant premium ($49) for a pre-paid Italy SIM Card (TIM) as I needed to meet a Villa Owner upon arrival who had to drive quite a distance to meet me and transfer the Villa key -- it was imperative she could reach me (or me reach her) to arrange a time as soon as I arrived in Italy. I wanted the peace of mind to have the TIM SIM card registered and working when I hit the ground. I followed all the advance registration instructions – filled out the paperwork, emailed scans of my passport, etc. and was assured by the customer service rep it would work when I arrived on Sunday the 12th of May. Well, wrong!!!! The card would not work when we arrived in Italy on May 12th and we couldn’t find a TIM store at all that evening. As a result, I had to wait 2 hours for the Villa Owner to arrive (after I had traveled 21 hours, mind you) because I couldn’t get her called until I finally bought an International Phone Card and was able to call her. All of this shouldn’t have happened since I invested $50 to avoid this very scenario. Finally, the next day, I paid a steep cab fare to go to a neighboring town to work with a TIM store to get the card registered as know local places in ******** could help me -- I had to work directly with TIM since I already had the card. The TIM store in ******** said Telestial never registered the card. This is quite unfortunate as this is the whole reason we pre-bought the card before traveling. I shouldn’t have had to do this and it cost me quite a cab fare, not to mention the delay, frustration, etc. I've contacted the company for a refund numerous times and have been treated unprofessionally and they have promised a refund I've never received. Here is a timeline of the events attempting to resolve my claim: 5/26 (day returned from Italy) - I sent e-mail message outlining complaint. 5/26 - **** from Telestial Customer Service sent me an e-mail "I have gone ahead and forwarded a report of your issue to our refund department to see if they would be willing to credit a portion of your purchase for the inconvenience. Once they review the claim and make a decision, you will be contacted via this email address about the resolution." 6/3 - I sent a follow-up message inquiring as to status. 6/4 - Aya from Telestial Customer Service sends me a message "We write in reference to your refund request, report [*****]. We apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused. Your refund request has been approved upon return. Please send us the complete original packaging, including all components, quoting the Return Number [*****]. Incomplete packages may result in delay in the processing of your request." 6/5 - I sent letter, SIM card and all original packaging to company as requested at my own expense. 7/2 - I sent follow-up e-mail requesting status. 7/2 - ***** from Telestial Customer Service sent e-mail stating "You should be hearing back from us by the end of the week." 7/6 - I did not hear back from them by end of week so I sent a follow-up e-mail requesting status and expressing continued disappointment for unethical and unprofessional conduct. 7/8 - Adelmar from Telestial Customer Service sends e-mail "We wish to advise that your refund request has been approved. However, your order is over 90 days old. We will have to send out a refund check to you. Can you please advise a mailing address where to send it to?" 7/8 - I send the mailing address which I'd already provided with the package I returned. 7/21 - I follow-up via e-mail AGAIN inquiring about the promised refund. No response yet.

Desired Settlement: I want a total refund of the $49.15 I paid.

Business Response: Hello *******,  You have already been approved for a full refund of $49.15 USD for the troubles you have encountered. A refund check has been scheduled to be mailed out this week. -Telestial Team

Business Response: Hello *******,

You have already been approved for a full refund of $49.15 USD for the troubles you have encountered. A refund check has been scheduled to be mailed out this week.

-Telestial Team

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # *******. I was asked to respond within 10 days and I am doing so. Unfortunately, as of today, we still have not yet received the refund that has been promised so we cannot accept this matter as resolved. Regards, ***** ********  

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

I was asked to respond within 10 days and I am doing so. Unfortunately, as of today, we still have not yet received the refund that has been promised so we cannot accept this matter as resolved.

Business Response: A refund check for 49.15 USD has already been mailed out.

Business Response: A refund check for 49.15 USD has already been mailed out.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

8/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased this phone for my daughter to travel abroad with on a school trip June 20, 2013. From the first day the phone would not hold a charge and the only way she could call home was while plugged into the wall. I paid $64.90 for the phone including shipping. I immediatly contacted the compamy to advise of the phone issue. They told me upon her return I should call and request a refund . The representative said she logged extensive notes. She also explained that I would still be responsable for the initial shipping. I agreed. She explained any money left on card would be refunded as well .Upon her return I called to inquire about the return , I was told that they aren't going to refund me because she actually got to use the phone. I disputed and they eventually offered me a "good faith " partial refund of $40.00. This is unacceptable

Desired Settlement: I am requesting a full refund of the purchase price of $49.00 plus the $8.00 left on the sim card and a prepaid label to return the item

Business Response: Customer has been refunded $57.00.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

I have NOT recieved a refund. I have checked with my financial institution and there is no pending refund. Please advise

Business Response: Transaction Receipt Merchant: ekit USAFifth Floor, 27 Drydock AveBoston, MA 02210 Merchant Number: ************ Transaction type: Refund Transaction date: 2013/08/01 19:34:07 GMT+0 Sequence Number: *************** Transaction ID: None Processor Response Code: None Authorisation Response Code: None Authorisation Response Message: None Amount: USD$-57.00 ekit Account: ********** ekit Account Name: ***** ********* Credit Card Number: ...**** Name on Card: ***** ********* Expiration Date: **/**

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

I still have NOT received a refund nor is one pending with my financial institution    

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

8/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a SIM card and data package from Telestial before a trip that I would be taking in early July. The total for this purchase was $67.70. I paid and received the items I had purchased. Upon traveling, the services were unavailable. I called the customer care center which kept me on the phone for an hour, but they were unable to help me get my services working. When I returned from my trip, I called Telestial asking for a refund for the services that I never used because I was unable to do so. They respond with a report that they said would help me get my refund. It has been almost a month, 4 phone calls, and 2 emails later, and I have not received any refund from them. On my first call to complain for a refund, I was told that I would definitely receive one because they could see that I did not use any of the services. They said it would only take 14 business days, and it has been way longer than that. When I do call, the customer service team just puts me on hold for long periods of time without the intention of receiving my telephone call. In one email, I was asked to send back the SIM card along with the original packing. As a customer, I did not keep the original packaging and wrote in a booklet that they send with the SIM card. They asked me to pay this shipping. This shipping of the SIM card and booklet (with writing in it) would cost more than the actual contents of the shipment.

Desired Settlement: I did not use the services, the company was unable to help me use the services, so I would like a refund for the services that I did not use. I do not believe I need to send them back what little I have remaining of the package (the SIM card and booklet). This refund would total $67.70.

Business Response: Your order has been refunded in full.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

BBB Comments: The consumer indicated to BBB that the complaint was resolved.

7/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I prepaid for a long distance phone card from ekits.com for my daughter while traveling. I live in California, and the law states that the pre-paid phone card credits do not expire, but ekits emailed me the response that the reason the balance of $48.78 was deleted was from an expired phone card. They said it expires after 6 months and they wanted a global phone number. This balance owed to us is simply an online credit that is used with an account number and password that my daughter uses while traveling. She is traveling again by this weekend and I was upset that she won't have this important tool to communicate in emergencies. I would like the original balance of $48.78 reinstated immediately.

Desired Settlement: I would like the prepaid phone card credit to be reinstated to my online account immediately.

Business Response: Your balance has been reinstated due to this complaint, however the policy still stands. We recommend using your service once every 6 months to avoid your balance from expiring.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

BBB Comments: The consumer indicated to BBB that the complaint was resolved.

12/1/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My daughter purchased an International cell phone w/sim card in July 2010. In August 2012 we reactivated the cell phone before my daughter left for France for fall semester abroad. In August 2012 we reactivated 2 separate numbers with 2 different rates for this international cell phone: #1 - US number: *** *** **** #2 - International number: *** *** *** ***. We were told the rates were for calls: From France to the US (using the International Number): $0.49 a minute From France to the US (using the US Number): $0.19 a minute It was further explained that calls made to the International # *** *** *** *** made from a US landline are received free on the International Cell phone. I have spoken to customer service @ 888-513-8804 multiple problems about reception problems with the International Number and repeatedly explained that I was having problems connecting with the International Number and making uncharged calls to my daughter's phone. The company explained that any problems with International reception may be due to the fact that the phone needs a new Sim card . Today I was speaking to my daughter on the International Number when a recording came on saying that I was running out of time and then I was cut off. I put more money on the phone and then immediately called the company and asked how it was possible that the phone could run out of time when the call should have been free for my daughter to receive - since I made the call from my home landline. The person that I spoke to said the rates had changed and receiving a call was no longer free. I expressed my total frustration with the phone and the fact that there had been a rate change that we were unaware of. As soon as my daughter returns home we will throw out this phone and never use this company again. The service is poor and the idea that the phone can receive free calls from a US land line is totally false.

Desired Settlement: I want a refund for the call minutes that my daughter received on her global number: *** *** *** *** from my home landline number: ************. Thank you, ******** ******** (***) ********

Business Response: Unfortunately with your service it is no longer free to receive calls on the global number as initially advertised in 2010. Rates are subject to change without notification, so we understand your frustration. We agree to honor your request for $100.00 refund on your minutes. The two recent transactions of $50.00 were refunded today and you should see it on your next updated statement.  Again, we apologize for any inconvenience caused.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was EXTREMELY disappointed at the service from our phone while in *****. We purchased the phone to use for emergencies while on vacation in ***** and were only able to make 1 call.We were able to make a call from ****, then when we needed the phone in ******, all we kept getting was the words limited service and we were no able to make ANY calls when we needed to? I don't understand why I was sold a phone that I was assured would work in ***** then did not?When we returned to ****, we still had nothing but Limited Service and no call would go through; all it kept telling us was "Unable to Perform Function"?Basically we were sold a useless piece of plastic; I am VERY disappointed in your products and service.Upon our return to *** we contacted eKit via e-mail and were told the following: Dear *******,Thank you for contacting customer service.I'm very sorry to hear of the trouble you experienced while using our service .Are you still in *****? If so please either dial *** from your mobile or call us from an ******* landline at ********* so that we may provide assistance and troubleshoot the issue with you.If you have already returned from *****, you can call us ###-###-#### and explain to us the exact issues that occurred and we will then file a refund request on your behalf. I understand you needed the service while you were travelling and we want to help make this right for you.We look forward to hearing from you.Kind Regards, **** Customer Service Representative I contacted customer service via the provided telephone number and was given the run around for over 10-minutes. Finally I was told, this is not our problem, you need to call RailEurpoe and talk with them. With that, the customer service rep. began to laugh at our issues and told us we should have called when we were in *****. I asked how we could call without a working phone? I replied back to the customer service email indicating my disgust with the poor service and responsibility.

Desired Settlement: We should be refunded our $39.00 USD that was spent for a product that did not work. At this point I do not see that happening and I want other consumers to be made aware of this scam.

Business Response: Hello *******,

We agree with your dispute and desired settlement.

We have communicated your request to Rail Europe as they have charged your credit card. They have refunded the purchase price of the phone package and are sending you a separate email of this notification.

We apologize for any inconvenience caused.

Have a nice day.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

10/1/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a Passport Plus SIM card ($36 including shipping) and tried to use it in Europe in July 2012. I was unable to make calls with the SIM card and the Telestial customer service was unable to help me while I was abroad. When I returned to the US in early July 2012, I called Telestial to ask for a refund. They indicated they would contact me with 21 business days, which did not occur. As such, I called Telestial and they apologized for not contacting me. They indicated that the product was likely defective asked me to send the SIM card back to their warehouse, promising a full refund. I sent back the product on August 13 and received a refund of $30.45 (shipping was not refunded). I thought it was unfair to charge customers shipping for a defective product, so I e-mailed Telestial customer service to ask for a refund of the shipping. Though they initially tried to refuse, they finally agreed to send a check for $5.55 back to me on August 27. The following is the e-mail: > A check for 5.55 will be sent out. > > > We apologize for the inconvenience. > On September 8, I contacted Telestial via e-mail again because I had not received a check. A customer service representative replied: > The refund check was already sent on 9/7/2012. If you need further assistance, please feel free to contact us. Kind regards, I never received this check. On September 18, I sent a firm e-mail to Telestial asking them for a refund of the shipping cost that they had promised. There was no response, and I am now forced to take this up with the BBB.

Desired Settlement: I request a refund of $5.55 to the credit card that I used to purchase the item. This is the amount promised to me in our correspondence. I also hope that Telestial will take this opportunity to seriously re-evaluate its commitment to customer service. It is absurd that I had to spend hours trying to get a refund for the product, and even more absurd that I have had to resort to the BBB to get them to honor their promise to refund the shipping.

Business Response: Hello,

Your $5.55 USD refund check should arrive this week. We apologize for the delay, refund checks normally take longer than a standard refund back to your credit card. In addition, shipping is normally non refundable, but an exception was made on your case.

Regards,
****

Consumer Response: In regards to complaint #*******: Telestial did ultimately mail me the check for $5.55 as I requested.  In that sense, I accept their response to resolve my complaint.

Unfortunately, their response to my complaint reflected their abysmal commitment to customer service, as it did not address the fact that it took over 3 months for me to get a refund for the original item and a check for the shipping, the fact that their customer service representatives continually made promises that they did not intend to keep, and the fact that it took a letter to the BBB to get them to fulfill their promises.  I certainly will never patronize Telestial again, and I would highly discourage anyone else from doing so as I am not wholly convinced that they are a honest company.   

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

9/21/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A year ago I bought Telestial Wireless solution eKit. I put $20 on my account. I was not able to use the since that time. SIM card doesn't work - no connection to service provider. When I call Customer Support in August 2012, I was told that they have a new agreement wich not work with my cell phone. The promised to send me a new SIM card which supposed to work with my mobile phone. Today, Sep 7, 2012 I've gotten a new SIM card. The phone is still not working - there is no connection to any service provider. Same situation as was with old SIM. I called Customer Support (Sep 7, 2012 at approx. 3:30 - 4:00 pm) and talked to a woman whose name was ****** ** ****** She was rude and incompetent. She told me I will not get my money back. I never had such bad service.

Business Response: We have refunded $20.00 back to your Visa ending in *****

Have a nice day.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased an international sim card for one of my cell phones. The sim card didn't work and after hours on the phone, I was issued a replacement. The replacement ultimately did work, but took 6 months for it to finally get to me (although they claim the product was shipped far earlier). Furthermore, I had to test the product with the company's agents, including calling my home number. These minutes were deducted from my account, so I wasted expensive international minutes that I had paid for troubleshooting their product that was faulty. They gave me back some of the minutes, but not all of them. I'm overall displeased with the service and the company's handling of the situation.

Desired Settlement: I would like all of the minutes spent troubleshooting this product by making calls to my home number to be refunded (it's only about $2-3 worth, but there is a principle here). I would also like some sort of apology for the hours spent on the phone trying to deal with the defective product they had sent me.

Business Response: Hello,

Please provide me with your mobile SIM number in order to investigate your claim.

Regards,
**** ******
Customer Administration Manager

Consumer Response:

The message I received simply said that my message was being sent to the business and did not address my complaint. Thanks.

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

Business Response: As you have not replied with the SIM number in question. We have applied a $5.00 credit to one of your accounts. We apologize for any inconvenience caused.

Consumer Response:

The number is ************* and the US number is ************

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.


 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

7/9/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a global phone with a Sim card from this company for my travels in Europe for the purpose of communicating with people in the states and in Europe while I was gone. I also had purchased additional minutes, costing $50.00. This was done before I left on my trip. The phone was then set up with tech support and supposedly operational and ready to go. Once I reached my destination in Italy, I found that I was not able to use this phone about 50% of the time and when I did use it, the service was very poor and I could not hear the person I was calling. When I made my calls I put in my pin number then tried to make my call and I would receive an error message "Operation not permitted". I tried time after time and still received this. I moved to different areas and still received this message. I could not call customer support because I could not make a call. And I did not have access to another phone. This also prevented me from calling my hotels en route to confirm my reservations and calling the airline when I needed to. When I returned home I called the company but they would do nothing to compensate me. This company is not good and I will tell other people as I am a travel writer.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund for the cost of the cellular phone in the amount of $29.90.

Business Response: This has been refunded on 6/28/2012 - see refund receipt below:

Ref Number **********
Date Jun 28, 2012 9:43 AM PST
Amount $29.90
*******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/28/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a SIM card for use with my unlocked *** ******** band phone, to perform phone and messaging (SMS) functions per Telestial's advertisements. Cost was $62.71, but the SIM card would not send or receive SMS messages on my phone (******* ***** *) which conforms to Telestial's specs. I emailed them from France to let them know that the essential functions which require SMS messaging, including checking of remaining phone minutes, topping up of minutes, and of course messaging to other phones, were disabled. Telestial's response: get on an expensive phone line to speak with them. One attempt at this found only French-language voice mail,
and no help and no resolution. Net result: product did not work as advertised and there was no customer support available.

Desired Settlement: Refund of $62.71 to my credit card

Business Response:

This has been refunded on 6/28/2012 - see refund receipt below:

Date Jun 28, 2012 9:47 AM PST
Amount $62.71
Ref Number **********

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response resolves the monetary portion of the complaint referenced.   However, the aggravation associated with the complaint (loss of time, telephone charges incurred attempting to reach Telestial "customer service," deprivation of phone service due to inoperative SIM card) reach beyond the monetary compensation.  Furthermore, BBB should be concerned that its services are used as a substitute for Telestial's own customer service to prevent or resolve such problems.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/5/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received the phone on May 25, 2012 and returned it May 26, 2012 @ 9:30:54 am after purchasing it May 23, 2012. The reason for return was that I got what I pay for 19.99 special that couldn't deliver what it was suppose to do. The problem that I am having are customer reps. On May 25, 2012 @6:45 pm I called to get a solution to the problem I was having with the phone, the rep hung up. The second call was to suppose to be handle by someone name EBO who made out a report gave me a report number if it's legitimate and told me I would have a refund within 2 maybe 3 days upon receipt of the phone. That's when I made two phone calls on June 01, 2012 at 9:10am and 9:18 am and spoke with a ********* if that's his real name to check on the status of the return. The first call he hung up on me when we were getting to the heart of the problem. The second call he refuse to give me his name when I ask for it then after 2 or 3 minutes he gave it to me after repeated request to speak with a supervisor. We went from talking one on one to a supervisor takes over and all of a sudden the same scenario is repeated to me. She can't hear me but it's funny how you can hear no problem in getting my money. But for a return everybody is deaf and need hearing aids. Due to the way this is being handled poorly I might add I called my credit card company to initiate a complaint and I will next forward a copy of this email to the Better Business Bureau (BBB). Since this is the way you do business you leave me no choice but to do it your way. You are the ROLE MODEL!

Desired Settlement: Refund my credit card total amount after everything I've gone through with this companies sales reps.

Business Response: This was refunded on June 1st - see refund receipt below.

Refunds
Date     Jun 01, 2012 8:42 AM PST
Amount     $47.89
Method     Credit Card
Processed by:    **********
Reason     Escalation / Partner Complaint
Ref Number    **********

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.  I have been checking my credit card and to date I have yet to see the credit. So therefore I can not accept their word that it was credited back to my account until I see it. The matter won't be closed for me until I see the refund on my card. And as of writing this I did check my card and there are no signs of credit posted to this account.

 

 

Business Response: This is the refund reference number - Ref Number     **********.  Depending on the bank, it can take up to two weeks for a credit to become available. This has been refunded on our end on June 1.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

BBB Comments: The consumer indicated to BBB that the complaint was resolved.

5/4/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: phone did not work on recieving, called ekit they said they would mail out new sim card -waited, did not recieve, called ekit and they said request was not "logged" and sim was not sent, it was to late to get it sent in time for trip to europe(it's purpose) asked for refund 4/3/12 and just getting delay tactics after supervisor said they would refund

Desired Settlement: will return phone in original packing and on their receiving the phone they credit my credit card minus handling charge

Business Response: We need the customers order number or global phone number to investigate.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/21/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: INVOICE INFORMATION: Order *********. Apr 9, 2012 1:10 pm ********* **** Terminal ****** ***** 2012-04-13 to 2012-06-08 1 335.44 Subtotal 335.44 Shipping 27.90 Order Total 363.34 This unit was delivered on Tuesday, 04/10/2012 at 6:01 P.M. per UPS tracking number: ******************. 2 phone calls were made to Telestial that day to process a return but the customer service was tardy. The unit was RETURNED unopened the following day, Wednesday 4/11/2012. Per the Invoice the rental period begins on 4/13/2012. However, I was refunded $231.52 of the total rental of 335.44 In other words, Telestial took an unauthorized amount of (335.44 - 231.52) = $103.80. I can email the invoice to you. Along with the UPS tracking number, the invoice is all the evidence you need. A complete cash refund is expected excluding the overnight air-ship fee.

Desired Settlement: A complete refund is expected. Maybe tough times but stealing is not the way to go.

Business Response: This was customer negligence regarding the rental period, and not reading the rental terms clearly. However, we have refunded the customer for the amount in question as a gesture of goodwill.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and disagree that it is customer negligence but do accept the refund. I fail to understand how I could owe 1/3rd of the rental amount if I had the unit in my possession for less than 24 hours and returned it unopened. That's odd. Please close complaint as I have received a full refund minus shipping and that's fair.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

2/13/2012 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased $20 of long distance service credit. I used $2 back in 2011. To my surprise the remaining $18 has now been "absorbed" by the company and they won't honor the remaining $18 of phone credit I expected to have on my recent trip. They require another purchase ($20) now to honor the $18 they owe me. That seems illegal. In California, where I reside and ekit is doing business (by selling me long distance credit) credits never expire (by law). I thought it was also federally illegal to have credits on "pay as you go" credit cards disappear -- and that's essentially what this is that I purchased: a $20 phone card usage credit. I've been an ekit customer for many years, used their long distance phone pre-paid phone service many times when abroad, and long distance "credit" purchases never expired in the past.

Desired Settlement: I don't anticipate traveling again soon so a refund of the $18 credit is appreciated OR a PERMANENT ekit $18 that does not expire... I believe it's illegal for someone to pre-pay credit and then have that credit disappear if unused within a certain time-frame. thank you.

Business Response: We have reinstated $20 on customers calling card account (Account # **********) - we have adjusted this customers account to a 'special' account, where the balance will never expire.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/31/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Have made many trips to Europe with our *** phone and Telestial SIM cards without incident. But on our trip to France 9-10/11 we couldn't get our SIM card to work for any texting (which was our communication preference). I sent multiple messages (none of which went thru) and made multiple phone calls to Telestial but they failed to fix our problem. And, we were charged for each attempted message and had to buy a recharge - $30 minimum. Got home and contacted Telestial. They repeatedly refused to refund out $30 recharge cost. Had to file a dispute with the credit card company we used and got thatrefund in the end! We'll never do business with Telestial again!!!!!!!!

Desired Settlement: I want a refund of the $5 SIM card purchase cost.

Business Response: This transaction is over 90 days old, we cannot refund transactions that old back to the credit card. We will gladly mail out a check for $5 once an address is confirmed.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I wish to advise you that I have reviewed the response submitted by Telestial and accept their offer of a 5.00 refund to cover the purchase cost of their SIM
card. Their offer provides the easiest and quickest way for me to get a refund of my full purchase costs.  This closes out my BBB complaint #********
***** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

12/13/2011 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: More precisely, the product was the wrong SIM card for the specified phone. On April 17, 20011 I ordered a SIM Card for my ******* t-139 cellphone compatible with phone service in ******, *****. Arriving in ******, I unlocked my phone and installed the Telestial SIM card. When I attempted to call, I got a "no network" reply. Calling Telestial Help on a pay phone, I was told that my phone was incompatible with ******* service. On my return to *******, I talked with ***** at Telestial and was given a case #***** and told to expect a response within 48 hours. After no response in two weeks, I again called Telestial and was told to return the SIM card. On July 19, 2011 I mailed the SIM card to Telestial asking for a full refund and postage. Telestial has not responded.

Desired Settlement: Refund of $29.00 plus postage

Business Response: A check for $ 38.90 has been mailed out to this customer on 12/13/11.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #*******. Regards, ******* *****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

12/12/2011 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: More precisely, the product was the wrong SIM card for the specified phone. On April 17, 20011 I ordered a SIM Card for my ******* ***** cellphone compatible with phone service in Venice, Italy. Arriving in Venice, I unlocked my phone and installed the ********* SIM card. When I attempted to call, I got a "no network" reply. Calling ********* Help on a pay phone, I was told that my phone was incompatible with Italian service. On my return to Seattle, I talked with Pablo at ********* and was given a case****** and told to expect a response within 48 hours. After no response in two weeks, I again called********* and was told to return the SIM card. On July 19, 2011 I mailed the SIM card to Telestial asking for a full refund and postage. Telestial has not responded.

Desired Settlement: Refund-Check

Desired Outcome:

Refund of $29.00 plus postage

Desired Settlement: refund of $29 plus postage

Business Response: On August 18th our customer support staff called and emailed this customer to no availability asking to confirm a shipping address where we could send out a refund check for the amount in question; we never got a response. Please allow me to apologize for any inconvenience caused. If you provide us with an address we will make out a check immediately for the total amount of $38.90.











Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]







Better Business Bureau:







I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint ********.







Regards,







*******  *****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

11/18/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid for a sim card. I received the sim card but it needed to be registered. The company said "registration takes up to 72 hours (3 business days) but 24 hours is customary". I requested the registration 7 days ago. I have yet to receive it. I have called customer service for 3 days in a row and they tell me the same thing, I'll get it tomorrow. I have yet to receive it. I can't use it, it will cost me to send it back and I need it badly as I am without a phone. I don't know what to do or who to call at the company.

Desired Settlement: Please register my sim card and send me the telephone number so I can use it.

Business Response: customer should have been given the number yesterday. The number is:**********

The delay was related to the supplier in Spain. We are only a re-seller of these domestic products and the suppliers are the ones who have to allocate numbers, register products ect. Apologies on behalf of the delay but there were some technical issues on Lebaras part.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # *******.

[If you are rejecting the business's response please enter your rejection comments here.]

Regards,

******** *********

 

 

Business Response: The SIM card was activated and we notified the customer of their phone number which was ****************

In our perspective we have honored the customers desired solution which was:

A)Activating your SIM
B)Providing you with your mobile number

The above was completed on Aug 23, 2011, and a follow up email was also sent to you notifying you of the phone number.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #********

Regards,

******** *********

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

11/18/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company is involved with these other two outfits, everything leads back to Telestial.com. http://www.unlockingcodesforphones.com and http://www.uniquephones.com/eKit.html Having placed an order and paid for it I received nothing and even some links say service suspended. To the best of my knowledge Telestial is the owner and operator of Unique Phones and Unlockingcodes for phones as any promotion comes from Telestial.

Desired Settlement: Return of my payment taken from my Visa card.

Business Response: Apologies on behalf of the customer. We are actually just a partner with unique phones and unlocking codes for phones. We do not use the same payment terminal and are not affiliated with them. This is the first complaint we've gotten regarding our partnership with the unlocking providers, and will investigate further. In the mean time, the customer needs to contact unlocking codes/unique phones for their refund. They can also file a charge dispute with their credit card company.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********

Thank you but Telestial.com is actively working with and promoting two companies, Unique Phones and Unblockingcodesforphones on their site.
As Unique Phones has had numerous complaints and now seems to be out of business it's ridiculous to think that Telestial does not know and still encourage customers to use
those sites.
The paper trail is a loop back to Telestial.
I have tried for days to get a response from Unique Phones without any reply.
These fly by night companies always relied on the customers to give up and trying to get a refund from their Credit Card companies.
Anyone can still go to the Telestial site and be referred to the other two sites, in my book this does not qualify for a better business.


Regards,

*** ******

 

 

Business Response: The website http://www.uniquephones.com is no longer a valid URL. The company has changed their site from to http://www.unlocking.com/.

We are owners of http://www.unlockingcodesforphones.com/, and here we do offer a link to http://www.unlocking.com/.

We are not owners of http://www.unlocking.com/.

We are two separate companies and are solely partners.

On the same site we also include a link to http://www.amazon.com/.

This does not mean we are owners of that site, solely partners in business linking each others websites for the same purpose.

We cannot be held responsible for another companies business practices. We apologize for any misunderstanding, however we still recommend filing a charge-back if you are unsatisfied with your purchase as a solution.

Consumer’s Desired Resolution:
Return of my payment taken from my Visa card.

Unfortunately our company cannot reverse a charge if the transaction was not done with our company initially.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********

[If you are rejecting the business's response please enter your rejection comments here.]

Regards,

*** ******

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

10/12/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased the ********* ********* extra sim card plus added $10 to the sim. According to the fact sheet this cell phone would keep me in touch while in Italy with my family from anywhere. "Make calls from over 180 countries and over 280 cruise ships." NOT TRUE. Made three calls to the support number in Italy (support personal were very nice), had to remove battery, wait, manually got thru roaming, which never received a great signal. (********* **** *** ****). Was only able to make one call with the help of the 2nd support person. Was never able to connect to home after that. Finally the third call, I ask for a refund and removed the battery and put the phone away. It was very frustrating. I then paid for using email and phone service. I did call them on return asking for a refund and again had a very nice rep. After spending some $78.80 which included shipping cost to me, I was told that I would receive a refund of $25.17 and that I would have to pay for the return, so now we looking at about $15 and they would evaluate the phone???. I think the advertisement saying it would work throughout Italy (and wherever) is false advertising. It did not pick up signals, without the help of support I would not have been able to place the one call that was managed. ********* needs to stand behind their products and service and advertisements. This has been a very frustrating and disappointing experience. ***** ** ********* *** *********

Desired Settlement: Refund my total (including shipping). I feel they advertised falsely.

Business Response: We have refunded the customer is full, for a total of $68.80 - they do not need to return the phone back to us, they only spent $68.80, not $78.80 as requested. Refund should be posted to customers account within a few business days. Please reverse.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint ********.

Regards,

********* ***********

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1