BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Eastern Massachusetts, Maine, Rhode Island and Vermont
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of American Auto Transporters, Inc.?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

American Auto Transporters, Inc.

Phone: (781) 821-4660 Fax: (781) 821-5811 View Additional Phone Numbers 1033 Turnpike Street , Canton, MA 02021 http://www.shipcar.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

American Auto Transporters, Inc. is an automobile transport company.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that American Auto Transporters, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for American Auto Transporters, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

9 Customer Reviews on American Auto Transporters, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 8
Total Customer Reviews 9

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 21, 1985 Business started: 06/01/1980 in MA Business incorporated: 12/07/1982 in MA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

United States Department of Transportation
1200 New Jersey Ave, SE, Washington DC 20590
http://www.dot.gov/
Phone Number: 202-366-4000 / TTY = 1-800-877-8339
The license number is 385723.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Nicholas Hunter, President Mr. Michael George, Dispatch Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Nicholas Hunter, President
Number of Employees

4

Business Category

AUTOMOBILE TRANSPORTERS & DRIVE AWAY COMPANIES SHIPPING SERVICES General Automotive Repair (NAICS: 811111)

Hours of Operation
M: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
T: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
W: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Th: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
F: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
S: 8:00 AM - 12:00 PM
Su: Closed
Method(s) of Payment
Cash
Personal Check
Business Check
Cashiers Check
Money Order
MasterCard
Visa
American Express
Discover
Refund and Exchange Policy
Require $45.00 cancellation fee
Service Area
American Auto Transporters, Inc. provides their services in ALABAMA , ALASKA , AMERICAN SAMOA , ARIZONA , ARKANSAS , CALIFORNIA , COLORADO , CONNECTICUT , DELAWARE , DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA , FLORIDA , GEORGIA , GUAM , HAWAII , IDAHO , ILLINOIS , INDIANA , IOWA , KANSAS , KENTUCKY , LOUISIANA , MAINE , MARSHALL ISLANDS , MARYLAND , MASSACHUSETTS , MICHIGAN , MINNESOTA , MISSISSIPPI , MISSOURI , MONTANA , NEBRASKA , NEVADA , NEW HAMPSHIRE , NEW JERSEY , NEW MEXICO , NEW YORK , NORTH CAROLINA , NORTH DAKOTA , NORTHERN MARIANA ISLANDS , OHIO , OKLAHOMA , OREGON , PALAU , PENNSYLVANIA , PUERTO RICO , RHODE ISLAND , SOUTH CAROLINA , SOUTH DAKOTA , TENNESSEE , TEXAS , UTAH , VERMONT , VIRGIN ISLANDS , VIRGINIA , WASHINGTON , WEST VIRGINIA , WISCONSIN & WYOMING.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

American Auto Transporters, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1033 Turnpike Street

    Canton, MA 02021 (800) 800-2580 (781) 821-4660

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 800-2580(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations

This survey does not collect personally identifiable information.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: if there is a desire for inconvenience,anxiety,and non performance this company performed it. placed my vehicle at their repository on may 2 at 10:30 am in west palm beach fla,on may 21 at 4pm car arrived at****** mass.telephone calls resulted in excuse list number 21,1700 dollars for this service or any should result in some degree of satisfaction.i have done business with this concern and will no longer. i have six friends doing business with them who will cease also,american should change their name to an academy of learning customer relations for they have none,in my opinion they deserve a diploma for the worst company in my life that i have dealt with, ***** *****

Desired Settlement: NONE DESIRED -TAKING CUSTOMERS AWAY AND TELLING ANYONE I CAN PLUS WILL TAKE THIS TO MEDIA TO PROMULGATE CONSUMER BEWARE IS MY WAY OF GETTING BACK

Business Response: We have experienced heavy delays in April and May with the trucks loading at the terminals being behind schedule. This was an unfortunate situation and we worked on getting every car loaded and sent for delivery as fast as we can. We informed the customer of the situation and made no excuses. Attached is the customer agreement and in the agreement it states that we do not  guarantee delivery times and dates. We were in constant contact with terminals and truck drivers on delivery status and the information that was given to us we relayed it back to the customer. We strive in customer service and our customers are top priority.

Consumer Response:

 

 i read the contract and understood their problem of delivery.the issue is an unreasonable time to deliver on their service.communication between us was curt and excuse upon excuse.twenty days to deliver a vehicle is not acceptable to me.paying a sum for any service should have a completion so one returns again.

 

Business Response: We realize the time for delivery was long overdue. Although we do not make guarantees, we'd like to resolve this issue with  the customer. We have reached out to the customer and waiting to hear back from them. They have been a valued customer in the past and we would like for them to continue on with us.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service
12/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They charged me and my wife for door to door delivery of our automobile and did not honor the contract. They also mislead us on when the car was actually shipped and when it would be delivered.

Desired Settlement: I would like the additional money we paid for door to door delivery refunded.

Business Response: I have spoken with customer regarding this matter. He is not content with my offer. However, we have indeed provided service paid for. Weindicate door to door delivery keeping in mind that the carrier cannot get an 18 wheeler into gated communities or small/narrow side streets. Mr ******* was alerted at time of delivery that driver was unable to get into development in which he resides in. Mr ******* walked ½ mile down the road and driver met up with him in his vehicle after unloading off truck. In our contract it clearly states a driver will get as close as he can to the customers home. As for being mislead about delivery, we inform customers that to Florida the estimated delivery time is 4-6 days and we do not guarantee deliveries. The vehicle was dropped off in ******, MA 9/6/13 and delivered in ******, FL 9/13/13 within a reasonable time frame. Furthermore, Mr ******* indicated he spoke with a representative and was given misleading information and because he was unhappy with service I offered to discount next trip in which he declined. Services were rendered and time frame of delivery was very reasonable and this is not a valid dispute. Any other questions or concerns please contact our office.I have spoken with customer regarding this matter. He is notcontent with my offer. However, we have indeed provided service paid for. Weindicate door to door delivery keeping in mind that the carrier cannot get an18 wheeler into gated communities or small/narrow side streets. Mr ******* wasalerted at time of delivery that driver was unable to get into development inwhich he resides in. Mr ******* walked ½ mile down the road and driver met up withhim in his vehicle after unloading off truck. In our contract it clearly statesa driver will get as close as he can to the customers home. As for beingmislead about delivery, we inform customers that to Florida the estimated delivery time is 4-6 days and we do not guarantee deliveries. Thevehicle was dropped off in ******, MA9/6/13 and delivered in ******, FL 9/13/13within a reasonable time frame. Furthermore, Mr ******* indicated he spoke witha representative and was given misleading information and because he wasunhappy with service I offered to discount next trip in which he declined.Services were rendered and time frame of delivery was very reasonable and this isnot a valid dispute. Any other questions or concerns please contact our office.I have spoken with customer regarding this matter. He is notcontent with my offer. However, we have indeed provided service paid for. Weindicate door to door delivery keeping in mind that the carrier cannot get an18 wheeler into gated communities or small/narrow side streets. Mr ******* wasalerted at time of delivery that driver was unable to get into development inwhich he resides in. Mr ******* walked ½ mile down the road and driver met up withhim in his vehicle after unloading off truck. In our contract it clearly statesa driver will get as close as he can to the customers home. As for beingmislead about delivery, we inform customers that to Floridathe estimated delivery time is 4-6 days and we do not guarantee deliveries. Thevehicle was dropped off in ******, MA9/6/13 and delivered in ******, FL 9/13/13within a reasonable time frame. Furthermore, Mr ******* indicated he spoke witha representative and was given misleading information and because he wasunhappy with service I offered to discount next trip in which he declined.Services were rendered and time frame of delivery was very reasonable and this isnot a valid dispute. Any other questions or concerns please contact our office.I have spoken with customer regarding this matter. He is notcontent with my offer. However, we have indeed provided service paid for. Weindicate door to door delivery keeping in mind that the carrier cannot get an18 wheeler into gated communities or small/narrow side streets. Mr ******* wasalerted at time of delivery that driver was unable to get into development inwhich he resides in. Mr ******* walked ½ mile down the road and driver met up withhim in his vehicle after unloading off truck. In our contract it clearly statesa driver will get as close as he can to the customers home. As for beingmislead about delivery, we inform customers that to Floridathe estimated delivery time is 4-6 days and we do not guarantee deliveries. Thevehicle was dropped off in ******, MA9/6/13 and delivered in ******, FL 9/13/13within a reasonable time frame. Furthermore, Mr ******* indicated he spoke witha representative and was given misleading information and because he wasunhappy with service I offered to discount next trip in which he declined.Services were rendered and time frame of delivery was very reasonable and this isnot a valid dispute. Any other questions or concerns please contact our office.I have spoken with customer regarding this matter. He is notcontent with my offer. However, we have indeed provided service paid for. Weindicate door to door delivery keeping in mind that the carrier cannot get an18 wheeler into gated communities or small/narrow side streets. Mr ******* wasalerted at time of delivery that driver was unable to get into development inwhich he resides in. Mr ******* walked ½ mile down the road and driver met up withhim in his vehicle after unloading off truck. In our contract it clearly statesa driver will get as close as he can to the customers home. As for beingmislead about delivery, we inform customers that to Floridathe estimated delivery time is 4-6 days and we do not guarantee deliveries. Thevehicle was dropped off in ******, MA9/6/13 and delivered in ******, FL 9/13/13within a reasonable time frame. Furthermore, Mr ******* indicated he spoke witha representative and was given misleading information and because he wasunhappy with service I offered to discount next trip in which he declined.Services were rendered and time frame of delivery was very reasonable and this isnot a valid dispute. Any other questions or concerns please contact our office.I have spoken with customer regarding this matter. He is notcontent with my offer. However, we have indeed provided service paid for. Weindicate door to door delivery keeping in mind that the carrier cannot get an18 wheeler into gated communities or small/narrow side streets. Mr ******* wasalerted at time of delivery that driver was unable to get into development inwhich he resides in. Mr ******* walked ½ mile down the road and driver met up withhim in his vehicle after unloading off truck. In our contract it clearly statesa driver will get as close as he can to the customers home. As for beingmislead about delivery, we inform customers that to Floridathe estimated delivery time is 4-6 days and we do not guarantee deliveries. Thevehicle was dropped off in ******, MA9/6/13 and delivered in ******, FL 9/13/13within a reasonable time frame. Furthermore, Mr ******* indicated he spoke witha representative and was given misleading information and because he wasunhappy with service I offered to discount next trip in which he declined.Services were rendered and time frame of delivery was very reasonable and this isnot a valid dispute. Any other questions or concerns please contact our office.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

To settle the complaint American Auto Transporters did not offer to refund the additional money we paid them to delivered our vehicle to our home.  They did offer "not to increase our transport price the next time we use them to transport our vehicle”, which we feel is insulting and totally unfair.  Given the fact that they mislead us (lied) as to when our car was shipped, and left the vehicle ½ mile from our home we feel they should refund the home delivery charge.  

Business Response: We have provided services paid for by this client. We strive to provide the best service to our customers;during transport  delays and subtle changes our likely to occur. We provide estimated delivery dates and our carriers get as close to delivery address as possible within reason. Unfortunately this customer is not happy with service. We have several happy customers and where the customer had a bad experience I offered to discount next trip and hope to provide him the service he was looking for. Where he has rejected my offer I cannot offer any further compensation. He was charged for a service that was completed.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

After reviewing the facts American Express refunded us the additional money we paid for our front door delivery.  American Auto Transport offered a small discount on our next move but refused to refund the money they accepted for a service they did not deliver.  After speaking to the local driver we were told this happens very often with American Auto Transport and he gave us the name of another company to use in the future.  This is not a reputable company.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

10/15/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I selected American Auto Transporters, Inc to ship my car from ********* Md, to ********, Or, as they had a fair price and had the shortest expected delivery time. I set the pick up weeks in advance, and explained the importance to have the car picked up no later than Friday August 23rd. I was assured that would not be a problem, and scheduled the pick up date for Thursday August 22nd at their suggestion to provide a time cushion, with a delivery on 9/1. When they had not shown up by Friday afternoon I had to call American Auto Transporters to get an update, never once have they reached out to me proactively to provide information or apologize for their poor service. They explained that the car would not be picked up until Sunday. I was flying out to ******** on Saturday, so this was a major problem, fortunately I was able to find a neighbor who was available to meet with them. This could have gone very wrong. Earlier today, 3 days after the scheduled delivery time in ********, I reached out to American Auto Transporters again, and was met with a very poor customer service experience. American Auto Transporters' representative was surly, and belligerant and blamed the delay on customers and explained that this was my problem because I didn't read the fine print, they didn't guaranty delivery dates and my car would get their when it got there. The representative further went on to explain that I didn't understand the auto shipping business and said "have you ever been on a 12 car carrier", and when I said no, he told me I didn't know what I was talking about. This is not a company I would recommend anyone to work with in the future. Below was the email I received with my understanding of the terms of our agreement Dear Customer, Thank you for your request. The price is $1500.00. MD>OR The estimated transit time is 5-8 days after pick-up. If you have any further questions or you would like to place an order please contact customer service at ###-###-#### or if you wish to place an order online simply Click here. This quote expires in 30 days. Thanks, Customer Support, American Auto Transporters, Inc. **** ******** ****** ****** **. ***** ###-###-####

Desired Settlement: I would like to get the car here as soon as possible. I also believe that I am entitled to some consideration due to the inconvenience and additional cost associated by their poor performance. I would suggest a 25% fund, or $375.

Business Response: As all customers are informed we do not guarantee pick up or delivery dates outside our area such as MD To OR. We schedule according to availability of trucks. In this particular transport the driver was not able to pick up on 8/21 as customer requested but available to pick up on 8/23. The customer was flying out same day and in a cross country transport it is advised to have a secondary contact to release vehicle if in fact customer is leaving shortly after scheduled pick up date. The vehicle was delivered in a reasonable time frame and in same condition as pick up. We did advise customer of schedule ahead of time so that a secondary contact could be arranged.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

I received no notifications or warnings as claimed in the Auto Transporters response.  I would greatly appreciate it if Auto Transporters could present some kind of documentation that these communications were made.  Perhaps it is there policy to include these kind of disclaimers, but in this case the no notification was made.  It is true that the vehicle was finally produced in the same condition as received, but this was not done in a timely fashion.  I am very disappointed in their performance, and believe that they are guilty of false advertising.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

10/7/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I needed to transport **** ******** from New Hampshire to Florida. I contacted the American Auto Transporters,Inc because they told me that they can pic up my truck in the next couple days. That was great.\ They did come and pick the track up as they said, on 7/5/13, and delivery time supposed to be 4-6 days. That's what states on the contract that I had with company. After this time, I called, was Thursday 7/11/13. The owner of the company told me that had some problems. He did not told me the day will be delivering. I did said that I will need few days notice to take time from work, so I could accept the truck. Truck was not loaded on the hauler till Saturday 7/11/13 When I ask on the phone, guy told me that he don't care about anything that i have in contract. Also, he claim that he never told me that i will have truck by the end of the week. I have phone bill , and emails to prove that I tried contact the company many times. Got the **** finally on 7/17/13 Not the cheapest , but when they said pick up couple days and delivery 4-6 days I was sold. Looks like soon as they have a car, You have no choice but just wait. Don't matter what you've been told, or have in contract. 2 weeks Ooo, when they delivered, the truck could not get into my street, because of the trees, so lady on the phone told me that I would have to drive truck myself, with no tags no insurance for about 1.5 miles, Super nice driver have to say, and his helper. Great guys, maybe because they don't work direct for the company

Desired Settlement: Since took them twice more time to delivered then was in the contract I would expect return of the $450, what is half of the charge for the shipping.

Business Response: Mr ***** booked his order on 7/02/13. This was a rush order in which we processed immediately and picked up his jeep wrangler from his home in ** right away. We require 2 weeks notice for a transport order so that we are able to arrange truck load and schedules ahead of time. We are able to provide this quick service for pick up in ** because we are a local company and our customers like this service because they are sure car is picked up before they leave state. We do not make guarantees for delivery because schedules are based on availability of trucks. If a customer books well ahead of time they secure a spot on the truck. When we give a 4 to 6 day transit time to customer that is clearly stated as an estimated time frame upon loading onto the carrier. The vehicle was in fact loaded on 7/11 being that was the next available carrier with an open spot. Unfortunately I am unable to give a refund for the delayed transport because the service has been completed and drivers have been paid. What I can offer is to give a discounted rate on next trip to make up for unsatisfactory service and also suggest in order to have a pleasant experience that customer give us a 2 weeks notice to better accommodate their needs. We do the best we can as far as scheduling. If you may have any further questions or concerns, feel free to reach us at ###-###-####.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

So First of all, let me include here my emails with Mr.**** ******, about transport. You can notice a few things: 1. There is no word about any rush order...simple question when vehicle can be picked up...an answer fro Mr.******- as per company web site pick up time 24-48 hours 2. There is no word about 2 weeks notice requirement 3. There is no word about no guarantee with delivery 4. Ststement 4-6 days as you can see below is 4-6 days from pick up date. Not from loading!!! That means that you can pick up today and not load on the truck for month if there is no available truck?? That's not what ststes in the email and on the web site 5 There wasn't enywhere, email or phone conversation used word estimate delivery date! 4-6 days  means that on 6 day I should have vehicle with me 6.Statement of the business that " they can not refund because service has been completed and drivers have neen paid"  is just bunch of nonsense.Is that means that they would cut drivers pay to give me a refund??? In what word they live in??? Driver did his job, when to load the truck whe he was told, and was super nice.  From the beginning I talk with American Auto Transporters, not the driver, so all responsibility for the transport is on the business not on the driver. 7. Discounted rate on teh next trip will not work for me. For one, I moved here, and have no reason to transport another vehicle, I'm not a dealer who brings 5 cars a month. For two, if I do have to bring anything back : car, motorcycle or 4 wheelers, I will never again use this company.   This is all I have to say Thank you ** *****

Business Response: In emails it is clear that we provide estimated transit time of 4-6 days after pick up. The customer provided very short notice for pick up and we simply did our best to accommodate him. Unfortunately this customer is not happy no matter what we do and is asking for something we cannot provide. Services were rendered in a good time frame. All questions were answered and we were very clear with him over phone conversations regarding the list of points that customer is claiming were not discussed in emails. Our terms and conditions can be reviewed at ...http://www.shipcar.com/files/Vehicle_Condition.pdf 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

Delivery time WAS NOT 4-6 days after pick up. Pick up was done, then car was siding on the lot for a week, then loaded on truck and delivered. It was 4-6 days, but from the time the car was loaded on the truck, not from the pick up date.And since the company is trying send us to their web site clearly states there that pick up will be within 24-48 hours.  So short notice or not, company would pick the car up in two days anyway, just like it is on their web site.As Business call it " Costumer is not happy no matter what they do..." I could not agree more. I am not happy, because they didn't do nothing. They did not delivered on time, and they never called me to inform about any delays. First phone conversation was when they loaded car on big trailer, about week after car was picked up. That's how I found out about delay. There was ME who initiate all phone contact, and after few phone calls Owner of the company told me that he don't care about delay, that I should just worry about the fact that they may not even deliver my car. So yes I am not happy.I also don't understand why they can't just admit that that was their mistake. I did ask for refund of half of the money, and I thing everyone who would read all messages between me and business and know the details would understand why I ask for refund.To me This company is a scam and I will tell  all my friends from NH or other states not to use them when move to Florida.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

7/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought my van from an auction in Webster new Hampshire on 06/18 and called up nick same day to make a full payment of 1200 usd as quoted. My car was picked up from the auction few days late so I accrued storage few by the auction which I had to pay. Since the time I paid my quote and up till now, I have been calling them everyday and my car has still not arrived and is still at their office in Massachusetts. When I spoke to *###### on Friday he rudely asked me to be grateful that they have not been charging me storage fee at their lotAnd even asked for extra 200usd for the . Honestly, I think they are all bunch of dishonest people from their drivers to the people in the office especially **## himself. It is up to one month now, I have not received my car nor has it moved from their lot and I have paid them in full. Please in your own interest stay far away,very far away from them.

Desired Settlement: I want my van delivered to me immediately

Business Response: We have spoken to the client who submitted this review and have resolved the issue. Mr ***** ******* states he has made attempts to contact your offices to remove this review. His Phone number is ************ if you would like to call him directly to Confirm the removal of this posting.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

BBB Comments: The consumer indicated to BBB that the complaint was resolved.

3/27/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am TOTALLY disappointed with the quality of service I received from American Auto Transport. I have expressed this to the broker, a Mr. ****, who booked my transport as well as my credit card company to get my $150.00 back. After posting my move request, I was contacted by American Auto Transporters. I was told at that time my debit card would NOT be charged until my vehicle was actually picked up and en route to ******* Florida. It took several days for a transport truck to arrive. The driver was unable to fit my vehicle on his transport. I called American Auto Transporters the next day and they were unaware that my vehicle was not picked up. The driver did not call the broker but my card was debited for $150.00 anyway, even though my vehicle was not picked up. The broker told me that he would CALL me when another truck was en route to pick up my vehicle. After three days of not receiving a call I had to book another transport company to get my vehicle. That company came the very next day and picked up my truck. I called Mr. **** back and his attitude was very nasty. He informed me that because he sent a truck, I would not be refunded any money. I told him that to this day he has NEVER called me to tell me that another truck was coming. Another truck did come after 4 days but the DRIVER called me, not Mr. ****. By that time, my vehicle was already en route to ******* on a different carrier. I aslo informed him that he told me that he would NOT debit my card until my truck was on a transport and en route. That's not what he did. I never received any service from American Auto Transporters but, they still charged my debit card for $150.00 for doing nothing. American Auto Transporters

Desired Settlement: Refund-Check

Business Response: You are reviewing wrong company. We are American Auto Transporters Inc. in Canton, MA. The service you received is not part of our standard set up for transport and we do not have anyone by that name in our offices. We strive to provide exceptional customer service and you were most certainly not booked with our company.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

BBB Comments: The consumer indicated to BBB that the complaint was resolved.

8/21/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: an service orDer for a 2005 ****** was called in to be picked up from ** ****** drive on july 30 2012 at that time **** from American auto transport advised the truck will be picked up same day which is vital to why I choose this company. the car was not picked up so truck had to be moved to *** ******* ave in ******* Maine same zip code which is a local police station. the truck was supposed to be in Jacksonville on aug8 2012. When truck didn't arrive a follow up call was made and truck was then supposed to be in Aug 11 th.the truck didn't come another follow up was made and we were then advised it would be here on the 13th of aug.no one ever called to advise of any changes my daughter spoke with Mr ****** who was very rude and then to Mr ****** who gave a bunch of excuses and contuied to fast talk and say he has to find out why truck wasn't here yet. computation. was asked because what was said was not done,no follow up calls truck payment still has to be. made . the truck is being sold and this company has not yet delivered. the truck. pls asst.asst

Desired Settlement: Company to give back 300$ which is half of payment due the company having half of the month. and truck not being deliverd on time which we can't give truck to buyer.

Business Response: On July 30, 2012 *****,daughter of Ms ****** called our offices to arrange pick up of a ****** ** from Maine to Florida. This was a rush order and it was explained to her that we would do our best to pick up that day of placing order, and if not the following day. This was a request that had many obstacles. The pick up location was from a vacant home in which a relative of theirs had passed just recently and we needed to contact State police and local police in order to collect vehicle. However we picked up next day as told. Once we had possession of the vehicle it remained at our terminal in Canton to be loaded on next truck available. This vehicle is a fairly large unit and placement on a truck took a couple days but it was assigned and is departing from Canton 8/10 and estimated to arrive Monday 8/13. We do not make any guarantees on deliveries because situations as such as these can cause bit of delay but this vehicle was shipped in a two week period, which was a very reasonable time frame for such a complex transport. 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/30/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Over a month and a half ago I cancelled a request to ship my car shortly after I scheduled it. They said they would refund $840 of the charge they made to my credit card and would keep $45 for canceling. I have called them repeatedly over the last 6 weeks or so. I called them again this morning (I am calling them every 3 days at this point) and asked for my credit and told them that they should refund me the whole amount of $885 for the aggravation I am now being put through trying to get my money back.

Desired Settlement: I am credit the full amount of $885.

Business Response: We apologize for the delay. We cannot waive the Cancellation fee, standard procedure, we are charged for processing this credit card and the $45 charge is way below the fee we incur. However, This refund has been processed and the customer should see the adjustment on their next statement.

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********

I have waited long enough. I want it done now!

Regards,

******* *******

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.