Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

American Auto Transporters, Inc.

Phone: (781) 821-4660 Fax: (781) 821-5811 View Additional Phone Numbers 1033 Turnpike Street , Canton, MA 02021 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.shipcar.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

American Auto Transporters, Inc. is an automobile transport company.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that American Auto Transporters, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for American Auto Transporters, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on American Auto Transporters, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 21, 1985 Business started: 06/01/1980 in MA Business incorporated 12/07/1982 in MA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

United States Department of Transportation
1200 New Jersey Ave, SE, Washington DC 20590
http://www.dot.gov/
Phone Number: 202-366-4000 / TTY = 1-800-877-8339 or 855-368-4200
The number is 385723.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Nicholas Hunter, President Mr. Michael George, Dispatch Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Nicholas Hunter, President
Number of Employees

4

Business Category

AUTOMOBILE TRANSPORTERS & DRIVE AWAY COMPANIES SHIPPING SERVICES General Automotive Repair (NAICS: 811111)

Hours of Operation
M: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
T: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
W: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Th: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
F: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
S: 8:00 AM - 12:00 PM
Su: Closed
Method(s) of Payment
Cash
Personal Check
Business Check
Cashiers Check
Money Order
MasterCard
Visa
American Express
Discover
Refund and Exchange Policy
Require $45.00 cancellation fee
Service Area
American Auto Transporters, Inc. provides their services in ALABAMA, ALASKA, AMERICAN SAMOA, ARIZONA, ARKANSAS, CALIFORNIA, COLORADO, CONNECTICUT, DELAWARE, DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA, FLORIDA, GEORGIA, GUAM, HAWAII, IDAHO, ILLINOIS, INDIANA, IOWA, KANSAS, KENTUCKY, LOUISIANA, MAINE, MARSHALL ISLANDS, MARYLAND, MASSACHUSETTS, MICHIGAN, MINNESOTA, MISSISSIPPI, MISSOURI, MONTANA, NEBRASKA, NEVADA, NEW HAMPSHIRE, NEW JERSEY, NEW MEXICO, NEW YORK, NORTH CAROLINA, NORTH DAKOTA, NORTHERN MARIANA ISLANDS, OHIO, OKLAHOMA, OREGON, PALAU, PENNSYLVANIA, PUERTO RICO, RHODE ISLAND, SOUTH CAROLINA, SOUTH DAKOTA, TENNESSEE, TEXAS, UTAH, VERMONT, VIRGIN ISLANDS, VIRGINIA, WASHINGTON, WEST VIRGINIA, WISCONSIN, WYOMING.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

American Auto Transporters, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1033 Turnpike Street

    Canton, MA 02021 (800) 800-2580 (781) 821-4660

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had two cars picked up from Mass and shipped to Tampa Florida, everything was good in the beginning, they said they will pick it up at a certain day/time and they did, from that point it went down. The drivers(**** and one other person) who came to pick up the cars went around by *** and marked it for scratches in the front and back, I didn’t see any scratches and asked them why did they mark, they said to feel the bumper underneath, I felt the bumper underneath and found it was rough under the front bumper but was smooth in the back, so I said they should remove the marks they had in their BOL for the back since it does not have any. They agreed and scratched it from the BOL. Now the cars were taken away and was supposed to be delivered on Aug 6th as per the email from the carrier, no email/phone on that day and two days later they brought it in, not a big deal since I had a rental car. I walked around the car and found scratches in the rear of my car, like if another car name plate hit my car, I showed it to the driver and said this is not how I shipped it, he was upset but asked me to write it down in the notes, which I did and he took off. Now I called the American Auto transporters and reported the scratches, they asked me to take pictures and send it to them, which I did. No response, 2 days later the carrier called me and said that is how the car was when picked up. Now this upset me and told him to look at the BOL when picked up. They were to get back to me, no response, so I called again to the American Auto transporters office and was looking for ******** ******** since he was the one who took the order, immediately when he knew I called him, he said the claims manager will talk to me, his name was ****** *******, he said the car was delivered exactly how it was picked up, I asked him did he see the BOL when it was picked up and he said the drivers who picked up the car marked them but then I forced them to scratch it off. I told him clearly there were no scratches when it was picked up and it is their responsibility to get it fixed, and he said NO.

Desired Settlement: I want the business to repair the damages caused to my 2014 *** during shipment.

Business Response: We at American Auto haven taken necessary action to validate the consumer’s alleged claim. After thorough review and touching base with all parties involved and it is clear that they are claiming damage that was preexisting. At the time of pick up, a vehicle condition report was assessed and scratches and/or damages were documented. During this time, the consumer refused to sign the paperwork and demanded the driver to remove the scratches noted on the bumper of the vehicle. This immediately raised a red flag for a potential claim. A second driver was present to witness this manner and how it was handled. The consumer submitted a claim which included pictures showing the same scratches that were documented at the time of pick up but was demanded to be taken off record. The carrier delivering the vehicle reported the same scratches on their report before transporting the vehicle to the consumer’s destination address.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I do not agree with the business that I had refused to sign the paper work and demanded the driver to remove scratches.When the car was picked up, the driver marked the car for scratches on both front and back and that did not make any sense since the car did not have any scratches both in front and back. On questioning the driver, they said they feel the scratches under the bumper not outside, so I touched under the front bumper and felt scratches and I touched in the back there were no scratches and explained this to the driver and THEN ONLY THE DRIVER himself removed it from the paper work. At no point was the driver convinced to remove the scratches from the paper. The fact is the American Auto had some point after they picked up the car from my house damaged it before the carrier picked it up, and that is why the carrier who picked up the car from American Auto location have it clearly marked in their paper work. Since American Auto do not want to pay for the damage that they had caused they are now coming up with false information and blaming the customer. Regards, ******** **********  

Business Response: The fact that the driver originally marked the scratches on the vehicle condition report and the carrier marked the same thing, clearly states there was scratches on the vehicle before we transported the vehicle. Nor our company or the carrier are at fault for the damages and should not be hassled over this situation. The driver on the first pick up along with a second driver both saw the scratches. Please read the disclaimer on our company letter head attached. The consumer should place a claim on their own insurance.

Consumer Response: There were no scratches on the vehicle when it was picked up and the business knows it clearly. The fact that the drivers blindly mark the car for scratches when the customer questions it, they striking it off, clearly shows that this is a practise that the business follows to defend themselves down the line when they damage the car, as is in my case. The business stubbornly blaming the customer after damaging the customers car is exasperating and shows their bad business ethics that they follow for the last 25 years. Regards, ******** **********  

3/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am filing this complaint due to the lack of action on the part of American auto transporters getting a check to me for the damage they are responsible for to my vehicle. My 2009 black ****** **********, , was transported by American Auto Transporters in ******, Ma to ***** **** ********, *** *****, Fl.. On Wednesday February 7, 2015 upon pickup, it was brought to my attention that the rear right light was broken, as well as damage to the lift gate. I got 2 seperate estimates and faxed them to American Auto transporters, on January ,12,2015. Auto craft in ****** Florida estimated the damage to total $852.92 and ***** ******* ********* **** total estimate for repairs is $806.15. I have called numerous times, as well as emailed. They have yet to call or forward a check for the preliminary estimate. They always say, "that they are working on it." At this point I am forced to submit this complaint, in order to receive the money for the damages to be repaired.

Desired Settlement: I expect to receive a check for the preliminary repairs to be done, and timely response if further correspondence is required.

Business Response: We have reached have been in contact with the customer and the carrier has reached out to them as well. The carrier apologized for the delay and sent out a payment to the customer regarding the claim.

2/17/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contracted with American Auto Transporters, Inc to ship my car to Florida. I told them the car had to arrive by February 1, 2015 (the day we arrived by plane). They sub-contracted to a carrier named **** *** ********* who picked up our car on January 23. We got one or two messages saying that the carrier truck broke down but should be fixed soon. After about a week (and after we had already arrived in Flortida) we got a message that the truck was still inoperative and that they had contracted with a different carrier . We were told the car would arrive by Wednesday or Thursday. When it did not arrive by Thursday, we called and were told it should arrive by the "weekend". Finally on February 7 (Saturday) the car arrived at their terminal in Fort Meyers, 6 days late. We were without our car, many of our clothes and some of my prescription medications for that time. Meantime we h.ad to rent a car at the airport. My rental bill for 6 days was $475. We later learned that our car had sat it a terminal in Ohio for almost a week before American had the presence of mind to shift it to a new carrier. They totally disregarded our costs and inconvenience, and frequently did not return our messages. PLEASE, DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY.

Desired Settlement: $500

Business Response: The customer was notified by our company and the carrier company explaining the set back with delivery. We have reached out to him on several occasions keeping him updated with the situation. It's unfortunate that back to back carriers broke down and pushed the delivery of the customer's further than expected. Our terms and conditions state that our company and the carrier do not guarantee delivery on any any particular schedule.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below. Their terms and conditions state clearly that they accept no responsibility for any collateral damage. I guess its the norm in this business. But they do have a responsibility to monitor the progress of their shipment and expedite it to meet my needs. My car was picked upon January 23, 9 days before my flight date. Apparently it then sat at a terminal in Ohio for about 10 days while the carrier attempted to repair his vehicle. It should have been transferred to another carrier as soon as they were aware of the problem. They were oblivious to my problem and collateral costs. They had a business obligation to find new carriers in a much more timely manner. They took the lowest cost approach while my costs skyrocketed. That is negligent. Regards, ******* *****  

Business Response: As it states in our terms and conditions, mechanical issues with the carrier are not covered and each customer is given a copy of the contract. Carrier breakdowns are an unforeseeable event and we acted on the situation right away trying to get the vehicle assigned to another truck. In no way do we take an order from a customer and ignore them when problems occur. We make sure each order is followed up and made it's way to its destination.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below.  I agree that American Auto Transport has no" legal" responsibility (according to their terms and conditions). But they have a moral responsibility to "share in my pain". They did poor job of monitoring the performance of their selected carriers as my car sat in OHIO for about 10 days and I had to pay to rent a car. I am merely warning others to be advised not to use them. ******* *****  

6/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: if there is a desire for inconvenience,anxiety,and non performance this company performed it. placed my vehicle at their repository on may 2 at 10:30 am in west palm beach fla,on may 21 at 4pm car arrived at****** mass.telephone calls resulted in excuse list number 21,1700 dollars for this service or any should result in some degree of satisfaction.i have done business with this concern and will no longer. i have six friends doing business with them who will cease also,american should change their name to an academy of learning customer relations for they have none,in my opinion they deserve a diploma for the worst company in my life that i have dealt with, ***** *****

Desired Settlement: NONE DESIRED -TAKING CUSTOMERS AWAY AND TELLING ANYONE I CAN PLUS WILL TAKE THIS TO MEDIA TO PROMULGATE CONSUMER BEWARE IS MY WAY OF GETTING BACK

Business Response: We have experienced heavy delays in April and May with the trucks loading at the terminals being behind schedule. This was an unfortunate situation and we worked on getting every car loaded and sent for delivery as fast as we can. We informed the customer of the situation and made no excuses. Attached is the customer agreement and in the agreement it states that we do not  guarantee delivery times and dates. We were in constant contact with terminals and truck drivers on delivery status and the information that was given to us we relayed it back to the customer. We strive in customer service and our customers are top priority.

Consumer Response:

 

 i read the contract and understood their problem of delivery.the issue is an unreasonable time to deliver on their service.communication between us was curt and excuse upon excuse.twenty days to deliver a vehicle is not acceptable to me.paying a sum for any service should have a completion so one returns again.

 

Business Response: We realize the time for delivery was long overdue. Although we do not make guarantees, we'd like to resolve this issue with  the customer. We have reached out to the customer and waiting to hear back from them. They have been a valued customer in the past and we would like for them to continue on with us.

4/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

4 Customer Reviews on American Auto Transporters, Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart