5/8/2016 Very negative. They display their car rental charge without showing the drop off charge as part of the cost. The drop off charge only appears on a voucher they email you later, and even then it only appears in a separate section apart from the cost. Very purposely misleading to show a lower price than will actually be charged. Will never rent a car from this organization again due to their misleading business practices.
This customer had a NEGATIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by A. R. on 5/8/2016 | Submit a Customer Review
Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
10/8/2015 Attention! Even if you have ordered a car with the refundable excess option for peace of mind, in the event of an accident, do not be sure that you are protected with autoeurope.eu. As long as the accident not happens it may seem that you are dealing with a sweet company, which will reimburse your money back, if needed. Unfortunately, it is not so. My experience has shown that they are happy to take your money for this extra service, which is not intending to provide, actually. We have suffered an accident with no injuries. Neither third party was involved, nor third party property was damaged. The rent terms, written in the voucher, indicated the have to inform the local car rental company about the incident. A local supplier told us that since there are no victims and the car is still on the run, no further action is necessary and we can continue our vacation, just to report the incident to the office of the supplier on car return and to fill out the necessary documents. Contacting police was uniquely required only and solely when third party involved, which not took place in our case. Nothing of the happened was not part of exclusions listed in the voucher. After checking all documents provided, a local car rental company (****) has fully paid all expenses for the repair caused by the accident damage. The only thing left is to get the refund of excess from autoeurope.eu, paid by me to ****, according to the rental agreement. Imagine my disappointment when more than 2 months after the car return, our claim was refused. The reason for reject was absence of police report among our documents. All my attempts to point autoeurope.eu that their own rental terms and conditions do not require such a report, in this particular case, were in vain. All my reasoning mails answered by same answer: "You did not provide a police report, so, we have to deny your claim." All my arguments were simply ignored. It is obvious that the company is not going to refund nothing, under any ridiculous, and not a legitimate excuse, using the fact that the client, living in other country, can not do nothing. At the moment, I'm looking for an international lawyer who would help me get my money back. I hope my case will help you to avoid troubles. P.S.: It is important to clarify – later on, delving into their website, in the "help" section I found an indication that the police report is indeed required in any case. But, as I mentioned above, my rental voucher was definitely not consist such formulating.
This customer had a NEGATIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by Vladimir R. on 10/8/2015 | Submit a Customer Review
BBB Verified Reviewer
X

Comments

Comment from the Business Our terms and conditions for the refundable excess product, for this Norwegian client booked through our Euro system, states very clearly, a police report must be obtained when the damage is over €300.00Euro. Although, we have made exceptions in the past, based on the circumstances. In this instance, the client did not get a police report and caused over $17,500.00USD in damage. As such the claim was denied. by on 11/10/2015

Report Abuse This is a good example of what kind of answers you will have, instead of money. First of all, the aforementioned sum (~EUR 16,000) was already fully paid by ***** rental car provider (the insurance owner) after checking this insurance case. Car rental broker Auto Europe just have to reimburse the deductible (~EUR 2000). Their terms does not require a police report at all, when no 3rd party involved in accident (my case). Auto Europe continuing to charge that the terms require that, which is just a lie! By the way, it is unclear what they suppose to do with this police report, in case I would provide it (despite the terms not require that)? Why they speak about grade of damage? It is not their business. by Vladimir R. on 11/10/2015

Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
2 people found this review helpful and 1 person did not find this review helpful.
10/2/2015 We contracted through ************** Auto Europe for a 92-day lease buy-back vehicle. I will submit a more thorough report in the near future, but for now consider this a warning to stay clear of this company. We contracted for a specific vehicle, and have all of the documentation to support the contract, for a 508 SW Select Diesel at a USD deposit cost of $4,414.03. The car was to have, among other amenities, electric seats with massage unit, specifically to suit my husband's health issues. We could have leased a different vehicle, but this vehicle met our needs. As a result, we have had diminished use of the vehicle; he has been unable to drive and/or participate in sightseeing events pre-planned to celebrate our 50TH WEDDING ANNIVERSARY. We arranged to fly into Gatwick/London, but then found that they only deliver at Heathrow. We had to rent a car for two hours from Europcar (hmmm) at a cost of $168 USD on top of the $39.40 USD we paid through ***********, to drive to Heathrow. We had to pay a $400 USD charge to have the ******* delivered to Heathrow AND HAVE PAID ANOTHER $400 FOR THEM TO RETURN THE VEHICLE TO FRANCE!. Their representatives were supposed to call or e-mail and tell us about pick up information, which they never did. Our vehicle manual was supposed to be in English; it came in French. The vehicle was supposed to be a Select, at arrived as an Allure. After many repeated attempts to correct the situation, which we in the U.S. call "bait and switch", we were informed by ******** representative that the vehicle we paid for was actually not available and that there was nothing that could be done. We are still in GB until the end of November, and when we get home we have a demand letter written and we intend to instruct our attorney to file suit. The vehicle delivered to us is a major step down from what we paid for, and for that we will seek damages and compensation. For now, do not do business with this company. We regret that we have.
This customer had a NEGATIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by Mary on 10/2/2015 | Submit a Customer Review
Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
8/3/2015 I rented a van through Auto Europe for a specific time and location. When I arrived at the location, the van was not available and the agents were evasive about the time a van would be available. The agent offered us a car to use until the van became available. Based on the car offer, I was confident the wait would not be short. We needed to be elsewhere at I specific time so I inquired at other rental car locations about availability. One had a vehicle available that would accommodate our group. Prior to booking at the new location, I confirmed with the agent that since the van was not available I could cancel. He confirmed. Upon my return I had not received a refund and since learned Auto Europe declined to refund the money I had prepaid. I am now disputing with them and the CC company.
This customer had a NEGATIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by Disappointed on 8/3/2015 | Submit a Customer Review
X

Comments

Comment from the Business When Mr. ******* travel agent contact us after they returned home, we opened a customer service file to verify non use with the rental car company. In the meantime, they opened a credit card dispute and we were charged back for the entire rental amount. As we were able to confirm non use we accepted the charge back and Mr. ****** received all prepaid funds by on 10/24/2015

Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
12/2/2014 We booked a rental car through autoeuro who charged $ 650 in advance for a 15 d car rental and quoted $ 450.00 for one way fee. when we picked up the rental car from Stockholm Airport on 5/11/2014, the one way fee was quoted ~ 200.00 higher than autoeuro's quote. we were told this extra fee will be refunded to us and the remaining balance will be charged to our Credit Card after the car is returned at Oslo. So, We have been expecting ***** to charge our credit card. 3 months later, we recieved an invoice in swedish which charge us ~ $ 800 one way. a few days later, a charge of 323 Swedish Krona occured in our credt card from *****. We assumed ***** would charged the remaining balance later. so we did not take any action but wait. in Oct, we received a letter from an collect agency damanding the $ from us. our complaints are 1) why the co waited for so long to charge the balance. If our credit card company denied paymetn, they can contact us. Instead, they send us the bill in a language which we don't understand. worse than that, the case was sent to collect agent(Hanterarna), which is outrageous which ruins our credit score(Our credit score is among top 1% in USA. We always pay our bills) 2) autoeuro has not been honest about the price quote. they give customer the quote with many hidden charges. this has been a terrible expericence we had with autoeurope. will never use their service again. hope this review will help others not to fall into the same trap. We wired 6387.50 SEK to *****(see attached) a couple days. since you have charged us 323 SEK on 9/13/2014 for unknow reason. We believe we were over charged(our total out of pocket so far is over $1500 USD for a small car, 2 Week). Please sent whatever you own us back to us. We demand you to contact ********* to withdraw the collection process. We refuse to pay what so called "Debt collection fee " because this is ***** fault. why ***** take so long for your to charge the rest of the bill which cause our credit card company to refuse payment. why ***** didn't tell us our if Credit card company refused to pay?(we didn't change account number). Why ***** send us a letter we don't understand?
This customer had a NEGATIVE experience with this business.
by Paula L. on 12/2/2014 | Submit a Customer Review
X

Comments

Comment from the Business We were contacted by our client, and confirmed an error had been made. We requested the rental documents from *****. Once the amount was confirmed, we refunded our client for the overcharge and apologized for the error. Regarding the debt collection. this is a new issue and we will reach out to our client for the information so that we may mediate on their behalf, with *****. by on 12/16/2014

Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
1 2