BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Eastern Massachusetts, Maine, Rhode Island and Vermont
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of State Road Auto Sales, Inc.?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

State Road Auto Sales, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (508) 672-4026 Fax: (508) 672-4037 851 State Road, Westport, MA 02790 http://www.stateroadauto.com/

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

State Road Auto Sales, Inc. specializes in the sale of cars, luxury automobiles, trucks, and commercial trucks. They have a BUY-HERE/PAY-HERE program where the customer initially pays a down payment on the vehicle and then makes weekly payments until the vehicle is paid in full.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that State Road Auto Sales, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for State Road Auto Sales, Inc. include:

  • 14 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for State Road Auto Sales, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 14 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

14 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 14

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

10 Customer Reviews on State Road Auto Sales, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 5
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 5
Total Customer Reviews 10

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 22, 1993 Business started: 01/01/1987 in MA Business incorporated: 01/01/1988 in MA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Antonio Almeida, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Antonio Almeida, Owner
Number of Employees

6

Business Category

AUTOMOBILE DEALERS-USED CARS AUTOMOBILE & TRUCK BROKERS Used Car Dealers (NAICS: 441120)

Method(s) of Payment
Cash
Business Check
Cashiers Check
Money Order
MasterCard
Visa
Debit Card
Automatic Bank Withdrawal
Service Area
State Road Auto Sales, Inc. provides their services in MASSACHUSETTS & RHODE ISLAND.
Massachusetts, Rhode Island
Industry Tips
Buying a Used Car Finding a Reliable Used Car - 5 Tips - Video Read Before You Sign

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

State Road Auto Sales, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2238 S Main St

    Fall River, MA 02724

  • 327 State Road

    Westport, MA 02790

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    327state rd

    westport, MA 02790

  • 851 State Road

    Westport, MA 02790

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/10/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a used 2005 **** ***** ******** from State Road auto and when we test drove the vehicle the check engine light was on so I told the salesman to get that fixed and checked out ok b4 I take delivery of the vehicle and it did go away the check engine light. A few weeks later the light came back on so I brought it back to State Road and the technician said it was a valve cover that needed to b replaced so then it stood there for a day and got fixed and the engine light got cleared ..Then a month after the warranty was no longer in tact the engine light comes back on so I bring it back to state road and even b4 I spoke to have it fixed the technician said oh it's no longer under warranty, so then I brought

Desired Settlement: It to ******** and they put it to the machine to check the issues and all the previous times that the engine light came on state road only cleared the light without fixing the issue ............I want my vehicle fixed the right way and without the light just being cleared

Business Response: In regards to this complaint, the customers is correct the vehicle was leased in October of 2013 and if the customer called for the first time in January of 2014 the vehicle was out of warranty.  State Road Auto will not do any repairs on vehicles that are not under warranty. The customers are responsible for any maintanace or repairs after the warranty expires.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/6/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: State Road Auto consistently states I am late on my bill, but not offer a itemized billing system. They have repossessed my vehicle for the second time in two months. They are asking for $700 fee just to get my vehicle. I pay $110 a week, and I was unaware that I was three weeks late ( only owing $330) and they gave me no warning, yet just came and took my car in the wee hours of the morning. I just put new tires and a battery in this vehicle. They are unwilling to work with me, and state I have no choice but to pay over $1100 to get my jeep back. They do this weekly payment to put you in a bind, I only owed $330, and they could have knocked on my door to get the money and not just take my car. They are absolutely a crooked place, and feed off of people that are a few weeks late on a WEEKLY payment plan They refused to give me a copy of the contract via mail, or nothing in writing to my late payment or attempt to collect or reposses I also want to note that they register the car in their names, and they make it near difficult to get plates returned to RMV

Desired Settlement: I want my vehicle back with only the payments that I OWE no additional fees. OR I want my $700 tires and New battery back and they can keep the JEEP as I really do not want to deal with these people any more. I want them to return the plates to the RMV so my insurance can be cancelled.

Business Response: State Road Auto Sales gave *** ****** a courtesy call on 12-5-13 stating that her account was past due and going into repossession status on 12-6-13 if payment wasn't received. *** ****** can get the vehicle back with a payment of $1100.00.
 If *** ****** needs another copy of her contract and payment schedule we will mail it to her at the address we have on file. If *** ****** doesn't want the vehicle back all she has to do is bring in our key to the vehicle and sign off on the contract
 to terminate it and we will return our plates to the RMV.


 Thank you 

Consumer Response:

 

[I want a copy of my contract and ALL THE PAYMENTS I HAVE MADE SINCE PURCHASE I requested this upon the last repossession and did not get it.  I also want a reason behind the additional $400, being asked]  And I want where it states in writing in my contract.  I also want to point out you only lowered my payment by $10 a week, I never signed an ok to this to increase my loan time, ******** never contact me back regarding this.  I only owed $330 that is shameful business practice.

 

 

 

Business Response: As state in the first response State Road Auto Sales will mail a duplicate copy of the contract and payment schedule to *** ******. As for the amount requested by State Road Auto Sales for *** ****** to pick up the vehicle
 it is stated on the contract (Section M). It's common sense if a payment amount is lowered by any amount it will automatically increase the length of the contract. State Road Auto Sales was trying to help *** ****** at the time
 of need by lower her payment per her request but since there is an issue State Road Auto Sales will put her payments back to $120.00.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

[I just received the paperwork finally last night.  I still don't see where it states State Road Auto will add an additional $400 to pick up the vehicle.  If State Road Auto is calculating the lower payments, of $10 a week, starting on 8-30 then that would only be $150 extra over the past 15 weeks.  Also If State Road Auto had actually applied my payments to the principal and not the late fees, I WOULD NOT BE THREE WEEKS LATE  this is unfair business practice. I want my vehicle back for ONLY what I owe for payments, no repo fee.  I will have no problem taking this to court. State Road Auto has handwritten notes system and you can't make heads or tales to what has been paid or why they keep giving a late fee.

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

1/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2011 Toyota Corolla from state road in December 2012. First off, this was a big mistake. I was never told about a buy out at the end of my payments and wish I had just gone to ******** **** **** who's buy here pay here program is better with no hidden fees. I was recently in a car accident that is going to require $7500 in repairs. I was told by a rep at State Road that I was only allowed to have my car repaired at *&* auto on ******** ** in ********. I was told by many insurance reps that this is illegal and that I can have my car repaired wherever i want. I stated this to the woman on the phone and she said that I initialed a box on my lease agreement that makes this legal and that I can only take the car there and no one else. I have heard from a very trusted source that State Road is making money from insurance claims like this because the body shop is charging State road auto less than what they are claiming to the insurance company. I want to take my car to the body shop of my choice, not where this scam artist company wants to make an extra buck from my insurance.

Desired Settlement: I want to take my car to the shop of my choice not where this joke dealer is going to get a better deal because they have it in with the repair shop. If this is not allowed than I will be contacting a lawyer and might possibly terminate my lease because what the are doing is lillegal.

Business Response: Ms. ******** did not purchase the 2011 Toyota Corolla she has a lease to own contract with State Road Auto Sales. Our contracts does not have any hidden fees, Ms. ******** received a copy of the contract that was signed on 12-14-12 that  states the terms and the buy out balance. Ms. ******* can not take our vehicle to just any body shop which is clearly stated on the contact. Any of our vehicles that are involved in any accident have to be towed into State Road Auto Sales and  we will repair  them at any one of our body shops, is the only way we know that all the repairs are done correctly on our vehicles.  

Thank you  
* *******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I currently was making payments on a03 ***** ****** for tha past 2 yrs from this carauto shop my truck recently wasn't working I brought it to anotha place they said my trucks junk wouldn't even start &so I wasn't tryna fix it being I only had a 30 day warrantee on it which ran out long ago so I decided to give it back to tha dealership tha time had my truck repaired which was a few hrs from me calling for them to pick it up it started by then tha co sent a tow to pick it up I called to get my truck I was gona pay what they said I owed iu was ina rear of 4 wks plus my curent 2 wk oaymnent I was willing to pay I do that amt til they said I had to pay a 700.00 xtra towards a buyout price & continue to make my normal payments so I checked my conbtract to see if it was in writing which its not then tha woman ******* tells me if they want they can charge me tha tot buyout which is $60000 & sum then wen I tried to trade it wit tha same co.they tell me im upside down which means my truck is worth less what im paying for it & its worth noyhing not even to trade I would have to come up wit anoitha $2500 for tha vehicle I was interested in so I got robbed out of something id be payting for tha next 3yrs & worth pennies I feel robbed ,cheated so forth I want all my $$back since this place is crookit I did go ahead an get a lawyer attorney **** ******xxx-xx-xxxx

Desired Settlement: whatever ive pd I want back because im paying fir something that in all rewality I pd off last yr fair to say

Business Response: Ms. **** leassed a used 2003 *** ***** with 122,181 miles in 2-6-2012. This vehicle had a 30 day warranty. On October 22, 2013 Ms. **** called our office to have us go pick up the vehicle because she was terminating her account.  The vehicle ws towed back to State Road Auto from *******, Ma by ***** Towing. Ms. **** called to say she wanted the vehicle back which she could of gotten as long as she paid $1395.00. Ms. **** decided not to pay and signed  to terminate her account and got all her belonging from the vehicle. Ms. ****'s contract ends on 8-15-2014. Customer who terminated their contract do not get any refunds they actually have to pay State Road Auto Sales a termination  fee plus any outstanding balance.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/28/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Thursday August 15. 2013 I stopped at State Road Auto Annex with my mom to look at cars. Shortly after arriving I spoke to *** ******** (salesman) regarding a 2012 Yaris. I informed *** that I had a down payment of $5,000.00 if he could give me an idea of what the payments and length of loan would be. He figured out on his phone $55.00 a week for 2 years. He asked if I had $100.00 for a deposit to hold the car, I told *** no that I would be back on Saturday August 17th with my husband. On Saturday August 17th I arrived at State Road with my husband and proceed to check out the car. *** came out and we took the car for a test drive after deciding this was the car I wanted to purchase we sat down and talk I told *** I had the $5,000.00 cash and I would be trading in my car. He told me the most he could give me for my car was $500.00, he then proceed to fill out a receipt I left $100.00 down payment and went to the bank and returned with a bank check for $4,900.00. He filled in these figure on the receipt including the trade in. The amount left due was $4364.00 which was to be a loan he stated the duration of the loan would now be approx. 73 weeks at $55.00 per week to be paid at State Road. I was given an RMV-1 form which was filled out by Joe, he said take it to your insurance and return with it stamped he would go to the registry and the car would be ready for 5:00 pm Monday August 19th. Monday August 19th hours before I was going to pick up the car I decided to google and search State Road Auto Annex. To my surprise there were many negative reviews, as a matter of fact there was not one positive one. As I begin to read I found out at the end of these loans there was going to be a buy out price. I called *** @ 5********* and asked him about the buy out price, he said he could not explain it and I would need to speak to someone in the office. I called the office and asked them about some kind of buy out price, she said yes at the end of my loan I would still owe $2,400.00 I told her I was never told about a buy out price. I understood this to be a LOAN, not a LEASE. I told her I would be there to pick up my deposit and car. I arrived about 20 mins after with my husband and told them I wanted a check. The lady in the office said the Yaris had already been registered and she had to call the owner. He wanted to continue to make a deal. I told the lady to just give me a check, she returns to the window with a check for approx. $4,600.00 saying the Yaris had already been registered and I would loose my deposit. I told her I should not loose my deposit because the terms I had with *** was for a loan not a lease. I left with my check. I am taking the time to contact you because I don't want this to happen to anyone else. I am looking for my $100.00 deposit back, since I am not looking to purchase another car from them under these terms. I now need another title and I am out the registration fee. Sate Road sold or was trying to sell me a car under false advertisement and false agreement.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund for the money that I have lost, I would like The BBB to inform the public of what they are doing, poor business practice and to post this on The BBB web site to inform others.

Business Response: In regards to the complaint from Ms. ********, State Road Auto Sales has a buy out on all our contract per law. As for the $100.00 non refundable deposit for Ms. ********, State Road Auto Sales will make an exception and refund it back to her.
 Ms. ******** would need to contact us if she wants us to mail it to her.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #*******. Regards, ****** ********

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: basically I have a 2010 ****** ***** and this company says that I didn't pay my car note on time, never called me, wrote me a letter or anything but I did wake up to my car being gone...after getting to the office to pick up my car I realized it had a very foul odor. Not sure if it is toxic, dangerous and no one wanted to take a look at it for me. My car was clean in and out the day before. when I let the office personnel know she responded with "oh well we don't allow them to eat or drink" however she never checked with anyone she just assumed. every question I asked she responded with a different answer when I raised my voice to get her name and title she answered with "WHO DO YOU THINK YOU'RE TALKING TO?!?!" I repeated to her that I was the customer and she in essence works for me. Her last response to me was "GO TO HELL". my hope was merely that they'd look into it or at least pretend to but they were unwilling. I don't understand what their level or standard of customer service is. when I went the next day to talk to the actual supervisor she said if you talked that way to me (as in I had no right to raise my voice) I would tell you to go to hell too......I WAS DISGUSTED. My goal at the time was to enlist into the military but their attitude made me wonder what it is that I was thinking wanting to keep people like them safe. I AM APPALLED BY THEIR LACK OF PROFESSIONALISM AND MANNERS. I then was asked to get out in front of other customers. Never Again Will I Ever do business with this company SIMPLY because of who they employed. there was however a very nice salesman despite their reputation who kindly escorted me to my car and opened the door for me.

Desired Settlement: I feel that I am entitled to a written apology from some person named **** and ********* the supposed supervisors.

Business Response: State Road Auto Sales attempted to call Ms. ******* in regards to her account being (4) payments past due and in repossession status but her number was changed and she didn't updated her information with us and the vehicle was repossessed. Ms. ******* did come in to pick up the vehicle and I, ********* made an agreement to accept less then the total due plus an agreement to pay extra weekly until the account was current. The next day I, ********* was notified of Ms. ******* complain of the odor in the vehicle so I did contact our repossession company and they said no one ate or drank in the vehicle. Ms. ******* did come back the next day but not to complain of the odor any more but to verbally abuse my assistant in front of two customer who are willing to disclose their names if needed. If it wasn't for our salesman who walked Ms. ******* out she would of been escorted out by the police. If anything Ms. ******* owes us an apology and to our two customers that were in shock of how she was acting. 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

Business Response: State Road Auto Sales was nice enough to put Ms. ******* on an agreement instead of requesting the full amount due to pick up the vehicle that was repossessed.  If anyone needs to apologize it would be Ms. ******* to  the two customers that were in the office at the time

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

4/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I leased to own a 2005 ******** ******** from State Road Auot sales. It was suppose to be ready March 9, 2013 for me the pick up. I called on March 9, 2013 to inform the salesman that I was coming to pick up the car. He informed me the wrong car part was sent so my Car wouldn't be ready until Monday March 11. After picking the car up 50 miles from my house the next day the check engine light came on and I noticed strange noise from the car. I took the car for safety inspection and it FAILED I also got a used car diagnostics down. Which I was inform my tire was lose, Catalystic converter needed to be replaced, wheel bearing need to be replaced, spare tire also loose, and brakes. I immediately call the salesman *** ******** who sold me the car. He was very shallow he didnt answer he tetxt me and asked if I could contact the mechanic. The mechanic was rude and hung up on me. After 30 mins of callingthe main office and the saleman The mechanic calls me back to apologizes and telles me the earliest he can fi my car would be on Monday March 18, 2013. I droped the car off Sunday the 18, 2013 so it can be the first car he works on Monday. On Monday the salesman didnt call me until 6pm monday evening to tell me my car was fixed. I asked him was all the repairs done that were on the other auto repair shop diagnostic sheet. He reassured that it was and was apologitic about me having to return for this issue. I had to wait until Tuesday 3-19-2013 to pick up car. The next day I noticed that the car was still making the wierd sound and the wheel bearing were never replaced. I call the salesman no answer and he didnt return my phone call. I call the RUDE mechanic he tells me he cant repair it until Monday March 25, 2013. Once again I have to take my newborn out the house drive 50 miles and wait on my car to get fix. I have accrued 200 extra miles on my car from driving back and forth to the dealer and also wasted $65 in gas. This company prolongs everything so that warranty can run out and they not be responsible.

Desired Settlement: I would like my car to be fully repaired and my warranty extended for an extra 90 days or I would like to return the car and get my money back.

Business Response:  State Road Auto Sales will repairs any issues that is under warrenty on her vehicle. We will only give an addition 30 day warranty on the repairs only.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

The key to get into car was never repaired it cost over $200 from dealer to get a key I would like the key and the alarm repaired like the sales man *** said it would be    

Business Response: The office was not aware of any issues Ms. ********* was having with the key that we got from the auction, if Ms. ********** wants to come in we can have our locksmith work on it.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

I will not come back in I would like to go to the closet dealer to have this done the *** ******** was definetly aware of the situation

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

1/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I leased an 03 ******** back in April. when talking with the salesman, **, i asked if the vehicle had been involved in any accidents. He assured me that the vehicle had a clean history. I was aware that the car needed a vacuum hose, a rim, and some piece to the headlight, I'm not sure what the name of it was but the headlight did not work. I was told that I could leave the car there and pick it up the following week or just bring it back when the parts came in. I opted to bring it back in. When i brought the car on the scheduled day, which was two weeks later, the mechanic *** had it all day. I hadnt heard from him so i called late afternoon. He told me come on down and pick up the car. When I got there, he informed me that he had ordered the wrong parts and we would have to reschedule for the following week. Slightly irritated, I agreed. The following week, i brought the car back down to westport, and AGAIN, after having the car all day, he had the wrong parts. This was aggrevating as I live 40 minutes away, took two different days off of work for no reason, and had to find a ride there and back both times. A week later i got the headlight fixed, the vacuum hose and rim still have not been replaced. In September, my wheel bearings on the passengers side were gone. With all the troubles I had previously had with the shop, I did not have the time or the means of transportation to play this game with them again, so I got it repaired on my own. Well $300 later, the car was fixed and about to be repo'd because i couldnt afford the car payments at that point due to the repair. When I called the dealership to inform them that i had spent $300 to repair the car, they told me i needed to speak to the mechanic, who then told me I needed to speak to the office. After the run around, I clearly seen that I was in no way going to be compensated. In October, the rear break line went. Again, I paid for this out of pocket because there was no way or time for me to play the game with the mechanic/dealership. Well, here we are in January and low and behold we have more problems. While driving home on the highway last night, doing 70 mph, my serpentine belt got wrapped in itself from all the frayed pieces on it and stopped, causing my car to shut off. I did manage to get into the breakdown lane before the car died. Once again, I take the car to be fixed. A simple serpentine belt being replaced led to finding out that the tension pulley was completely gone. It was just a bearing-like piece the belt was running around. So, I had that replaced as well. Needless to say, my car is sitting in my driveway, still unable to start. I have run out of money and means to fix the car. I was told that this car has the need for a lot of work, it was clearly in a car accident by looking under the car, and the things going wrong with the car did not happen over the past few months. It is credited to a long period of time of the car going without upkeep. Where I have only had the car for nine months, clearly the dealership did not keep up on the maintenance. I tried to call the dealership a few times today, each time unsuccessful. The phone would either ring busy or go to voicemail. I did send an email with no response. Buying a car from a dealer, you wouldn't assume it would require a lot of time, money and work. Nevermind I do not feel safe nor comfortable in the car.

Desired Settlement: I think that the dealership should replace my car with something comparable. Obviously not another ********, but something that is nice, dependable, and most importantly safe. I do not feel that repairing the car is worth it nor would it make me feel any more safe driving it.

Business Response: In regards to Ms. ****'s complaint, Ms. **** leases a used 2003 ******** in June of 2012 with a clean title.  All the repairs while under warranty were fixed by the mechanic except for the rear-end because the part didn't come in on time. There wasn't any parts ordered in error by the mechanic but the company did send us the wrong rim. When the rear-end part came in the mechanic was unsuccessful in contacting Ms. **** to inform her. In October of 2012 the vehicle was repossessed by State Road Auto Sales and that's when the mechanic was able to notify Ms. **** that he had the rear-end part for the vehicle. Ms. **** never brought the vehicle back to have the rear-end fixed and the part is still here. Ms. **** had a 30 day warranty from date of lease as for any other issues Ms. **** is having right now unfortunately the veichle is no longer under warranty. State Road Auto Sales will not exchange the veicle for another for Ms. ****.

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

the mechanic was fully aware there is a vacuum seal that needed to be replaced as well as the rim. It's not done because your mechanic had the car for Two Separate days and couldn't manage to get the right parts, whatever the reason may be. There is no way he couldn't contact me all that time. There was a ONE WEEK period in mid September my phone wasn't working. So unless he was calling once a month, I don't know what the problem was. As for the issues with the car, how do you explain how wheel bearings, a brake line, a serpentine belt, and a tension pulley all go in less than a year and you want to take no responsibility for it at all? This is not simple wear and tear, this is a piece  of trash car. And when a mechanic, licensed, looks at my car and there is visual body evidence of poor body work, its clearly been in some type of incident. I understand the warranty is expired, but this is extremely different circumstances. The car is sitting at a garage completely immobile, will not even start.  I do not have anymore money to sink in to this deathtrap for repairs. So you are basically telling me, that not even a year later,  I am shit out of luck and you can not help me at all?  That is poor customer service, horrible business, and all in all just bad practice 

Business Response: The mechanic still has the part for the rear-end at State Road Auto Sales and is waiting for Ms. **** to drop off the vehicle to have it fixed. As far as any other issues Ms. **** is having she is responsible for any other repairs because the vehicle is no longer under warranty.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a 2005 **** ******** ****** from state road auto after owning car for three months the transmission had issues which cost me $1300 shortly after that I fixed the ******** converter which cost me another almost $1000.00 and I am not without a truck again due to it having transmission issues again. State Road will not work with me on this issue of a truck that was defective In the first place when they sold it to me.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to either repair what they sold to me or an exchange with no hassle. I have out a lot of monies into this car within one year and I believe I was lied to about car and it's issues that it had.

Business Response:

In reply to this complaint I spoke to Ms. ***** on 12/26/2012 and as she did inform me of her transmission problem however the ***** ******** isnt under warrenty with us.   Ms. ***** started a lease with us on 5/16/2011  and has made payments for the last year and a half.  She is a great customer and the mechanic is willing to diagnos the problem with the vehicle.  if it is the transmission if she comes up with half the money we put her on an agreement to pay extra on her account for the other half of the repair.  We gave her this option and she turned it down.  also on the compaint it says her sales person was ***** transmission. Ms. ***** did mention that she had work done on transmission about 6 months ago at ***** transmission which has nothing to do with us.   if she had her transmission done by ***** we did advise her to go back to ***** as to why she is already having issues with something they fixes.   any questions feel free to call us at 508-672-4026

thank you
******** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was told my plates had been returned no more then a week after my car was repossessed. When I called the insurance company they hadn't been returned until September 28, 2012, almost two months after the car was taken. Now I owe the insurance company over one thousand dollars because they did not return the plates on time. They were also never really returned, they were swapped.

Desired Settlement: The business needs to do what they say they're going to do. This is a business that needs to be investigated.

Business Response: Ms. ******** leased a vehicle with State Road Auto Sales that was repossessed on 8-16-2012. State Road Auto Sales holds the vehicle for 5 days from the day of repossession for the cutomer to pick up the vehicle or come in to collect their belonging and return our keys to the vehicle so we can return the plates.Ms. ******** never came in to return our keys so on 8-23-2012 State Road Auto Sales cleaned out the vehicle and returned the plates to the Ma DOT. Ms. ******** still owes State Road Auto Sales a past due balance which she received a notice for.

Consumer Response:

My plates were never returned. They were transferred on 9/25/2010 

Business Response:

State Road Auto Sales has a receipt from the regisry of motor vehicles stating that the plates have been returned. If the customer would like a copy all she has to do is come in to our office with our key to the veichle and we can give her a copy of the receipt, or she can go directly to the registry of motor vehicles and request a copy.

Consumer Response:

I don't have the key, and I should not have to return it seeing as you already charged me $250 dollars for it.  I did go to the RMV myself and my plates were never RETURNED.  They were TRANSFERRED on 9-28-12.  They should have been returned over a month before that.  Because my plates were never returned, I was unable to cancel my insurance until that date, causing me $1000 in charges.  You can feel free to mail me the copy of the reciept you have, I'd love to see it since I've already seen one from the RMV.  You should have picked up your key when you repo'd my car.  You probably would just print out a fake copy of a plate return receipt seeing as how when I came in with my social security papers they said to lie and say I get unemployment because it's easier.  Then they proceeded to have a copy of someone elses unemployment statement and put my social in place of theirs.

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

3/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The first problem is with the key I received for the car when I purchased it was not the main key for the vehicle there for I was without a car for three days because it was not recognizing the chip in the key when I called state road I was hung up on several times after being yelled at and told I need to pay for my car to be towed there and if the problem is the key ( wich it was ) I would then have to pay for that as well. The second problem is the liar sales associate who reassured me that as long as my car was never towed away for late payment I would not have to pay the transfer fee at the end of my car payment .Once again I get the same rude girl who says the owner is in brazil and shes the manager and she will be charging me an extra one hundred dollars on top of my last paymnet . False statements to get you to buy with confidence and then extremely bad customer service after theyve already collected money from you. I will never purchase another vehicle or recommend anybody to purchase from this so called buisness.

Desired Settlement: I would like to make my last car payment minus the $100 transfer charge like I was told I would be able to do after three long years of payments.

Business Response: Ms. ****** did lease a 2004 ****** ****** with State Road Auto Sales on February of 2009. Ms. ****** signed a contract with State Road Auto Sales. Ms. ****** also initialed (Section J) on the back of the contract that states there is a $100.00 documentation fee at end of lease. The account is past due it should have been paid off in full on 1-13-2012. As far as the key State Road Auto Sales gave Ms. ****** the only key we got from the auction. Ms. ****** did not have a good account she bouched 2 checks which she did clear up after. We will not waive the documentation fee.



Thank you
* *******

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # *******.

[ My acct was always in good standing with state rd I had always made my payments sometimes weekly sometimes biweekly my vehicle was never picked up for nonpayment or late payment. I was told by the sales person altino who sold me the car that as long as my car was never picked up there would be no fee when transferring the title . This so called manager has no customer service skills did not replace the defective key that they gave me and actually hung up on me several times when I called re:the key. I didn't call them anymore after the way I was treated I knew they were not interested in helping me. I had to purchase a new key from ****** ********* and pay to activate it. The next call to state rd was to inquire on my last payment and transferring the title when I was again brushed off by this rude woman and told it didn't matter what the sales man told me she was charging me the $100 fee there is no one I can speak to above her the owner was in brazil. I don't believe this is o.k and they shouldn't be able to get away with taking an extra $100 at the end of sales agreements because they know they most likely be seeing another dollar from the customer do to the poor experience they had in dealing with such a place. I also don't believe it's o.k for a company to lie to the  for extra money. ]

Regards,

********* ******

 

 

Business Response: State Road Auto Sales did not charge Ms. ****** any extra fees. State Road Auto Sales only charged what was in the contract, attached is a copy of Ms. ******* contract where she initialed (Secton J) Option To Purchase at Lease End that states there is a lease end documentation fee of $100.00 and we also have her signature at the bottom of the contract. Ms. ****** has a copy of this contract.


Thank you

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # *******.

[I'm just repeating myself over and over again, the $100 is supposively charged if your vehicle was picked up for non payment late payment and obviously that didnt happen with me I will repeat again if need be and my $100 should be returned to its rightful owner wich is me thank you and while we are at it you should refund me the money I had to spend on  because you gave me a defective key I can send you the receipt for that as well .]

Regards,

********* ******

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

12/28/2011 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband and I purchased a 2006 Black Jeep Commander Limited from State Road Auto on 2/17/11. Before the purchase was completed we had pointed out all the repairs and requests we had to the vehicle. There was a dent in the drivers side door, the tires needed to be replaced, fluids needed to be changed, alignment needed to be done. I also pointed out to the sales rep, ***, that there was a chip in the front bumper and a crack in the rear bumper. The only thing they did before we picked up the vehicle was fix the dent in the driver door. My husband then took the vehicle to get the inspection on 2/19/11 and it was rejected due to safety for the 2 front tires because they never replaced them when we first got the vehicle as we had asked. He took it back to State Road Auto and was then argued with over the validity of the rejection. It did result in State Road finally paying for 2 front tires and inspection passed. The cd player in the vehicle never worked since we purchased it and again that was something that i pointed out. On 6/2/11 my husband and i brought the vehicle to a service station and paid over $300.00 to have the fluids changed where we were informed the transmission fluid had not been changed in years according to the technician it was extremely dirty and should have been changed a long time ago. Again this is something that I had requested at the time of purchase that was never done. On 7/7/11(4.5 months later) my husband and I returned the vehicle to state road auto in better condition than when i was delivered to us. On 7/21/11 I received a letter from state road looking for payment for $300.00 early termination fee, and an additional $950.00 in damages. These damages they are claiming are the chip in the front bumper and the crack in the back bumper of which we informed ***, our sales rep, about originally. They are also trying to charge us for the 2 rear tires now stating that they would not pass inspection. When I brought the vehicle back the wear indicators on the 2 rear tires were fine and the tires would have passed inspection. Also, according to the paper work that they sent me it was dated 2 weeks after i returned the vehicle and it had been in State Road Auto's possession. I also have a carfax report that i obtained 9/13/11 that shows the vehicle was leased to a new owner 8/26/11 and passed inspections on 8/30/11 but it had an additional 1600 miles on it from the time i returned it on 7/7/11. So between 7/7/11 and 8/26/11 an extra 1600 miles of wear and tear was put on that vehicle. I am willing to pay the $300.00 early termination fee but I am disputing the additional $950.00 that State Road Auto is trying to collect in damages that were there from day one. I would also like to say that I have gone to state road auto twice now to try to resolve this issue with out having to involve outside sources. The first time I went was just after I received the letter from 7/21/11 and I spoke to Jennifer in the office. Jennifer then lied to me and stated that they had pictures from my insurance company showing no damages on the car. The reason I now this to be false information and a scare tactic i because I went back to state road on 9/13/11 and spoke with Margaret who is the office manager and was told no they have no such thing and never did have that. Ireceived a letter from a collection agency which is why I went in 9/13/11 and offered to make the $300.00 Early Term Fee right then and there which she refused and also refused to work with me and refused to let me speak with anyone higher.

Desired Settlement: So between 7/7/11 and 8/26/11 an extra 1600 miles of wear and tear was put on that vehicle. I am willing to pay the $300.00 early termination fee but I am disputing the additional $950.00 that State Road Auto is trying to collect in damages that were there from day one.

Business Response: Mr. ******** leased a 2006 Jeep Commander from State Road Auto Sales on February of 2011. The vehicle was serviced and the dent on the drivers door was repaired. As for the tires the cutomer is allowed to go to any service stations for inspection and (2) tires failed inspection and State Road Auto replaced them. Mr. ******** terminated his contract on 7-7-2011 after putting over 5700 miles on the vehicle and with damages to the front and rear bumpers. State Road Auto mailed a notice to Mr. ******** for the outstanding balance for the termination fee and damages to the vehicle, which Mr. ******** was suppose to call or come in and make a payment arrangement within 30 days or we would sent it to collection. Ms. ******** came in but only to dispute the damages but according to the  inspection done by Mr. ******** insurance company which Mr. ******** has a copy of clearly states there is no existing damages to the vehicle when the vehicle was delivered to them. Jennifer did tell Ms. ******** thet we could get a copy from the insurance company but there was no need to because the cutomer has one already. If Mr. ******** would like to make a payment arrangement for the $1,250.00 he would have to contact the collection agency which has his file already.


Thank You
* *******

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # *******.

I am aware of the 7 point inspection paper and what it says.  The reason I did not have State Road Auto fix the bumpers was due to the fact that it was minor damage that i verbally informed *** our sales rep about.  I was aware that i was purchasing a used vehicle and did not expect it to be in pristine condition.  We put down $2377.00 for down payment between trade in and cash,  we also paid $95 for excise tax for the full year of 2011 of which I only had the vehicle for 4.5 months and if it was a normal process we would have received money back from the excise tax (which we did not) since we did not have the vehicle for a full year.  We have always paid on time and there was never a problem with any of our checks.  I was also been lied to and feel i was pressured and rushed into the sale because when we originally saw the vehicle on the lot in late january of 2011 (buried under snow and parked in the gravel in the back which very well could account for the 2 bumpers) we spoke with Joe and were told that the vehicle was just repossessed and we would have to wait 3 weeks due to them needing to give the previous owner 21 days to recover the vehicle.  Only 1 week later we got a call from *** stating if we were still interested to come in.  We then went and looked at the vehicle which is when we pointed out the damages and went for a test drive.  At that time we put down $100 cash to hold the vehicle.  3 days later my husband received a call from Joe stating that we needed to come in immediately to give the full down payment or the previous owner was going to pay to get his vehicle back.  We did as he said and went over the damages again with Joe.  Come to find out from the Carfax report they had the vehicle there since Nov 2010 and so therefore we were lied to about it being just repossessed and lied to about us needing to rushed to get the money to them and I feel that was done to get the sale.  We have gived them $135 per week for 20 weeks totalling $2700.00 for the period of time we had the vehicle along with the $2377 down payment along with the $95 excise tax.  That is a total of $5172.00 that they have gotten from us and I will not pay the $950 in damages that were there when I took the vehicle.  After sitting in the snow and gravel since Nov 2010 with the weight if the snow which could have very well caused the crack in the back bumper and the gravel lot could very well have cause the chip in the front bumper I refuse to be held responsible for something that I did not cause.  I have spoken with the collection agency and have requested date stamped photographic proof of damages before and after being fixed.  Seeing as how they have already sold the vehicle that would leave me under the assumption that they fixed everything. Again I am more that willing to pay the early termination fee of $300.00 but again I will not pay for something that was caused by someone else.

Regards,

****** ********

 

 

Business Response: State Road Auto doesn"t want to make any adjusments, balance is due in full.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # *******.

I have done all I can to try and work with State Road Auto.  It has taken them now 6 weeks to respond to my last complaint and i find that reprehensible.  State Road Auto has not tried to work with me in any way and has not provided me with any sort of photograpic proof as requested or even responded to my specific conplaints made against the company or its business practices.  Considering the number of complaints against this company, many of which are the same or similar to my own, I am thoroughly suprised that the BBB allows them to be accreditted.  I stand by my previous statements.  I am willing to pay the $300.00 early termination fee and absolutely will not pay more.

Regards,

****** ********

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

12/16/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: About 2 months ago I bought a 2008 ford escape, it had to be fixed 3 times because the warning light saying transfer case (get it fixed immediately). After 3 times it wasn't fixed, so the dealer said bring it back, we'll give you another vehicle. That was fine, they did all the paperwork. The dealer said they needed 2 days to do the all around check up before i took the vehicle. Thats fine, we picked up the vehicle Tuesday night. The vehicle acted fine. Today, Friday, I took it for an inspection sticker, it failed. The reason it failed was the emergency brake wasn't working, I was not a happy camper. Now if the all around check up was done, wouldn't the dealer have checked all things associated with passing to get an inspection sticker. Now I have to bring this vehicle back next week on wed to get it fixed, I have to take time out of work because i don't have another vehicle to get to and from work. It would be real nice if they gave me a loaner or paid for a renter car. **While the ford escape was being fixed the 3 times, it would be gone for a almost a week each time, and i had to get a rent a car.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund for not having the ford escape for time it was being fixed the 3 times and a rent a car for wednesday so i don't have to worry about my job with all the time i have had to take to get rides.

Business Response:
        State Road Auto Sales followed the Leased Used Vehicle warranty procedures. Under the warrenty we do not loan any vehicles while the customer's vehicle is being repaired and we do not reimburst the customer for any rentals

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********

Un fair business practices, and for a consumer paying for a car, the car is being fixed and gone for periods of time, I had to pay money out for a rental and didn't get reimbursed.  A legitimate and caring car dealer would have taken care of the consumer.
Regards,

**** ********

 

 

Business Response:

We, apologize for any inconvenience but we here at State Road Auto followed procedures.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/7/2011 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: we purchased a 2003 altima from state road the day we picked it up the check engine light was on they said it was nothin they could find wrong with it the machine wasnt giving off a code come to find out the problem is a wiring problem that cannot be fixed and they would not trade car or refund money instead they came up with bogus fee s and we had to pay an extra 500.00 TO OWN THE LEMON CAR THAT DOES NOT RUN we also had a claim in arubella insurance for there client hitting our car the insurance notified state road auto( margarite) and she recieved the check in the mail in state roud auto name and did not even notify us that she had the repair check i had to call the insurance company to find out what happened to the check.she refused to give us the check until we gave her the last payment of 90.00 the check was 131.00.

Desired Settlement: there business should be shut down .

Business Response: State Road Auto Sales did not lease a vehicle to ******* **** ********** State Road Auto Sales did lease a vehicle to a customer by the name of ****** ********* and Mr. ********** was informed of any situations that involved his account and the vehicle he leased with us.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1