BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Eastern Massachusetts, Maine, Rhode Island and Vermont
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Avon Auto Brokers, Inc.?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Avon Auto Brokers, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (508) 584-0577 Fax: (508) 584-8667 159 Memorial Drive, Avon, MA 02322 http://www.avonautobrokers.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Avon Auto Brokers sells, services and repairs pre-owned vehicles, both foreign and domestic, with four locations in Avon and Brockton.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Avon Auto Brokers, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Avon Auto Brokers, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

26 Customer Reviews on Avon Auto Brokers, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 24
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 26

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 01, 1997 Business started: 01/01/1987 in MA Business incorporated: 05/19/1998 in MA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Dana Nessen, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dana Nessen, Owner
Number of Employees

4

Business Category

AUTOMOBILE DEALERS-USED CARS AUTOMOBILE & TRUCK BROKERS AUTOMOBILE REPAIRING & SERVICE Used Car Dealers (NAICS: 441120)

Hours of Operation
M: 9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
T: 9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
W: 9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Th: 9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
F: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
S: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Su: 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Industry Tips
Automatic Transmissions Automobile Body Repairing & Painting Automobile Repair and Services Automobile Repairs & Services - 5 Tips - Video Buying a Used Car Finding a Reliable Used Car - 5 Tips - Video Read Before You Sign

Additional Locations

  • 109 Memorial Drive Rte 28

    Avon, MA 02322

  • 159 Memorial Drive

    Avon, MA 02322 (508) 584-0577

  • 8 Montello Street Rte 28

    Brockton, MA 02301 (508) 584-9100

  • 985 Belmont Street Rte 123

    Brockton, MA 02301 (508) 584-4500

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The vehicle 2003 ******** **** was purchased in Massachusetts, one week after we purchased the vehicle the door lock failed to work properly; it began to bounce up and down instead on a single lock. I contacted the dealership and was told to bring it in on a Friday, I called spoke with *** and stated I was on my way. I arrived 15 minutes later and the vehicle repair shop was closed. I wrote a letter into the shop and the owner called and requested I bring the vehicle the following Friday, I drove up in the morning and their was no record I was due in. When I tried to reach the owner on his cell phone he failed to return my phone call. I was NEVER offered an extended warranty by **** the salesman and the owner stated that they do not have to offer a warranty unless it was requested. I have owned the car less than one year and spent over $3000 in repairs that should have been fixed prior to my purchase. Most of the work would have been covered under warranty if I had been offered one. I am extremely dissatisfied. I have tried to trade the car in and it is virtually impossible based on the amount that currently wrong with it.

Desired Settlement: I would like to return the vehicle and obtain another vehicle of similar quality or to be reimbursed the price of the repairs that would have been covered under the warranty if I was offered one at the time of purchase.

Business Response: Mr. ****** bought this car over a year ago.  He is filing a complaint as of 7/18/2013.  All his facts are false.  He never contacted the owner at all, **** never got a call from him.  **** never knew this customer had issues with the car.  Mr. ****** was offered an extended warranty at the time of sale, he failed not to take it.  He must be complaining about items that are not covered under any warranty.  If you have any questions, please contact **** ****** at (***) ********.  Thank you.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.  

Hello, I am disputing the reply that was issued from the business, Avon Auto Brokers.   On 09/20/2013 I received a phone call from **** ******** stating he was the General Manager and would like to meet with me regarding my complaint to the BBB. We set up a meeting on Monday between myself, ****, and **** ****** the owner. During the meeting we discussed that **** the car salesman I purchased the car from did not at any point offer myself a warranty, even though I asked. The car was supposed to be picked up on Wednesday at the time of purchase but was pushed until Saturday. Saturday was extremely busy and I was pushed aside to go through a essentially sign the paperwork with a brief explanation.   On 09/23/2013 during the meeting with **** and **** we were promised that the car would have a full reconditioning, 12 months of free oil changes, the rear axle work that needed to be completed, as well as half of the repairs be reimbursed. **** asked to keep our file of records to review and he would mail it overnight back to us the next day. On 09/24/2013 at 1:57 PM I received a phone call from **** and requested I return his call. I called him back five times at the number he left and also called **** at the office three times and no one answered or returned my phone call.   ****'s response was that I am a liar and basically made the entire warranty issue up. Well I brought my fiancé with me a witness to there poor business practices. This is unacceptable. During the meeting with ****, the owner, we were informed his friends works at BBB and that is essentially why his rating is so high. His friend is able to intercept the complaints. I would like this matter looked into, Avon Auto Brokers essentially took ownership of our maintenance records and will not return our phone call. Feel free to contact myself at ************ or my fiancé ******* ***** at ************.  Thank you

Business Response: On September 20, ******* and ****** came to the dealership at 159 Memorial Drive to discuss the issues with their vehicle. Within the warranty period they had problems with their locks. We cut them a check for almost $500.00 for the repair. They were extremely happy when they left the dealership. Any questions please call **** ****** at (508) 326-1000.

Consumer Response: I have tried to close out this issue twice via fax. We are extremely pleased with the outcome from **** and Avon Auto Brokers. I would LIKE TO WITHDRAW MY COMPLAINT. This has been a wonderful business to work with. Thank you.

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved. 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

BBB Comments: The consumer indicated to BBB that the complaint was resolved.

12/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I purchased the car I mentioned there were several issues with the car when I took it for a test drive. I was assured that all of the issues would be resolved. When I finally took delivery of the car which they claimed was serviced at a *** dealership. I immediately noticed that the oil level was low, and the issues I mentioned still existed. I made arrangements to bring the car to their mechanic who not only told me that the car was perfectly fine, but that the oil was "all filled up". When I took the car from him, my issues still were present, as well as oil level was lower than when I dropped it off, the oil fill reminder light went on. At this point I shrugged off the dealer and decided to handle the rest myself since they clearly were not capable of helping me in any way. After paying to service the car myself, and get some of the issues including missing pieces in the interior, and issues getting me floormats which I had negotiated prior to sale. In August my car overheated on me, and I brought it to the nearest *** dealership which found I needed to replace the water pump. They also noted that the valve cover gaskets were leaking and also oil cooler gasket is seeping oil. Even with this information I still had resolved to simply fix the problems myself since it was clear they were not going to help me. In July I had the car re-aligned since I replaced the tie rod ends and found that the car suspension had been modified. This was directly against the agreement with Avon that I was purchasing a factory stock ***. In August my car had starting issues, and then refused to start. I contacted Avon at this point and attempted to see if we could resolve this issue. Avon promptly tried to stuff me into another car and did not try to make it right. I then took the car and paid a large chunk of money to get the car fixed. The car was fixed for a week before the same issue came up again.

Desired Settlement: I would like Avon to take their car, and give me back my entire purchase price of $17000 so I can buy a proper *** from a reputable dealer.

Business Response: The customer purchased the vehicle on January 24th, 2012. The customer had no issues with the vehicle at the time of the sale. The vehicle also passed state inspection. He had a 60 day, 2500 mile limited used warranty under Massachusetts law. The customer contacted us in August 2012 concerning an issue with the vehicle.  The vehicle is clearly out of the stated warranty period.  Thank you.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/25/2012 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i bought a vehicle on the first of this month, was promised delivery within a few days. ive been given every story by the salesman ******* ****** that he could possibly come up with including the vehicle did not pass inspection due to its condition, id like to know how they know that when it isnt even registered and ive held a ma. inspectors lic. in the past and i went through the vehicle before i signed papers on it, the vehicle is in good shape .i was told that the trucks throwout bearing was being replaced by ******* ******, i was told that when they recharged the airconditioner that it blew out the seal on the blower motor, this cant happen, the blower motor is inside the firewall and the airconditioner system is completely separate from the fan blower motor. i recently found out that the vehicle was sold to me with no title, they got the title on the 15th of this month and met with me to have me sign, they dated the title for the first of the month, i argued about that, he took the title from me and told me he would have the vehicle registered for the 17th. i got a call last night from the dealer telling me he had someone else he had to handle first and that he would get to me soon. the lemon law is running out on this vehicle, i havent taken delivery of the vehicle and the loan company i financed this vehicle through will be expecting payment on something i havent taken delivery of yet. im tired of being lied to about the truck, i just want to know the truth

Desired Settlement: i would like delivery of the vehicle, id like other people to be notified of the business practices so they can make their decision on whether they do business with this company or not, id like in writing an extension of the lemon law from the date of delivery, and a written apology from the owner of the company, i want a new carfax showing all the work the say they did to it

Business Response: We have received the complaint # 9221208 and have been in touch with Mr. ******* At this time Avon Auto Brokers has taken back the 2002 Jeep Wrangler and we are looking to place Mr. *******into another vehicle. Mr. *******is very happy with this decision. If you have any questions, please call me at ###-###-####. Thank You.


Consumer Response: i have read the response, i did finally take possession of the jeep and the day after i took possession, it had to go to my mechanic to be looked at because it didnt shift properly, i had him go through the entire truck to find anything that needed attention to make them fix it while it was still in warranty. the transmission i knew about when i bought it, **** ****** told me it would be fixed before delivery, nothing that was told to me that was going to be fixed was done, my mechanic said the 2nd gear synchrinizer in the truansmission was messed up, the throw out bearing was making noise, it had a small coolant leak when he did a pressure test and the frame was starting to rot to the point where it was unsafe. the frame was freshly painted over and pieces of metal were flaking off it around the rear section by the wheels. i called **** ****** and he did not want to do anything about this at first, he kept telling us we had to call their shop to have it repaired. we kept asking for the owners phone number and he would not give it to us, finally he gave us a number and told me it was the owners, it turned out to be his service department. my mechanic got on the phone with their shop and told them what all the problems were, within an hours time we had calls back from **** ****** and then the owner of the dealership.  at this point i was offered for them to either  turn the truck in as a wash or they would fix the problems and patch the frame, my mechanic advised me that i should get rid of the truck due to the rotting frame. he showed me that the metals were very thin around where the suspension bolts to the frame and that was a common spot on these vehicles to rot. i turned the jeep in that friday since i wasnt working that day. when i got to the dealership to drop off the jeep and pick up my trade in piece, we noticed right away that the doors to my bronco were wide open and the windows were down, the interior was soaking wet from the rain and the battery was almost dead to the point the truck wouldnt start because the doors were open which i believe was intentional, i didnt recieve all my keys back, there were two missing for the door and ignition, it was argued that was all i gave him.  on trade i gave them the keys off my keychain and the keys off my fiancees keychain, 6 in all, 2 for the ignition, 2 for the doors,2 for the back window, i got 1 door, 1 ignition and 2 back window keys back. i had to get a jumpstart because they left my doors open. at this point **** ****** told me i had to go to the other location to talk to the owner of the company, i did. the owner told me that they didnt know the frame was rotted, i brought up the point that the original pictures of the jeep we took to show my fiancees parents what we were getting showed a section of the frame that was dirty looking and showed a little rust and the truck now had nice fresh paint on the whole frame. i was told that they do that to all their cars because it is new england and people like having things that are nice and shiny, not dirty looking. i glanced around his lot and saw a few trucks that were there that the frames were able to be seen without going up to them, none of them were painted, i let that go because i just wanted out of there at that point, he told me he wanted to sell me another car and he said he was going to sell it to me at the price he paid for it just to make things right but first i had to retract my original complaint to the bbb and tell you things were alright. he told me he was going to send me a gift card to a restaurant for 100$ and he was going to call me that following sunday to meet him at an auction to pick out the vehicle i wanted because there was nothing on his lot that i wanted from him but he kept stressing that i had to retract my complaint to you asap. i did recieve the gift card from him but he never called me as promised, i didnt plan on going down there in the first place though just on the fact i didnt want to do business with them again based on the way they handled the first car i bought off them and the fact that he stood there and lied to my face about painting every frame of all his vehicles when i know it was just to cover up the fact they sold me a pile of rot    

Business Response: We have received the complaint #9221208 and have been in touch with Mr ******. At this time Avon Auto Brokers has taken back the 2002 Jeep Wrangler and we are working to place Mr ****** into another vehicle. Mr ****** is very happy with this decision. If you have any questions, Please call me at ###-###-####

Consumer Response: i have reviewed the business response and reject it, they have been in touch with me once in which the owner told me he was getting me a car, lied to me about what was going on and told me he was doing everything to get me into a jeep through him. since i have brought the jeep back to him and taken possession of my trade piece, he has listed my trade in that i now have back on his website as up for sale and posted the carfax on it for everyone to view, to me this is false advertising, he does not even have possession of this vehicle anymore,  it was also posted after i took it back, another auto sales place told me this is a common practice in the autosales industry called bait and switch, i have copied the ad he has up for my vehicle and sent it to the brockton enterprise along with what they have done, i am not happy with them or their business practices. the owner stated that he was going to get me a car at wholesale price and take care of everything and not charge me any extra, the vehicles he offered me were at full retail price, ive been told by them that they were going to call me on certain days and did not hear from them,  i do not want to do business with this company and would not recommend them to anybody, and i really do not appreciate them telling people that i am happy with this situation. 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

1