Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

First Hyundai specializes in selling new and used automobiles, parts, and has a service department for repairs and collision.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that First Hyundai meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for First Hyundai include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 16 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

16 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 16

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

14 Customer Reviews on First Hyundai
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 14
Total Customer Reviews 14

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 28, 2007 Business started: 07/01/2007 in MA Business incorporated 09/09/2013 in MA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Joseph Ruggiero Jr., President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Joseph Ruggiero Jr., President
Number of Employees

52

Business Category

AUTOMOBILE DEALERS-NEW CARS AUTOMOBILE DEALERS-USED CARS New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Hours of Operation
M: 7:30 AM - 8:00 PM
T: 7:30 AM - 8:00 PM
W: 7:30 AM - 8:00 PM
Th: 7:30 AM - 8:00 PM
F: 7:30 AM - 6:00 PM
S: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Su: 11:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Method(s) of Payment
Cash
Personal Check
Business Check
Cashiers Check
Money Order
MasterCard
Visa
American Express
Discover
Refund and Exchange Policy
The business states customers who pay or leave a cash or credit card deposit will receive Full refund pending Management approval with in 5 business days of approval.  Customers who pay or leave a deposit in the form of a personal check will receive full refund after 10 Business days with Management approval. Cash and check refunds will be paid back to customer in the form a business check.  Credit Card refunds will be credited back to the original card used for payment or deposit.
Service Area
First Hyundai provides their services in CONNECTICUT , MAINE , MASSACHUSETTS , NEW HAMPSHIRE , RHODE ISLAND & VERMONT.
Industry Tips
Buying a New Car Buying a Used Car Finding a Reliable New Car - 5 Tips - Video Finding a Reliable Used Car - 5 Tips - Video Read Before You Sign

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

First Hyundai has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 270 East Washington Street

    N Attleboro, MA 02760 (508) 699-4700

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/13/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased my car at the dealership in May 2014 at that time I purchased a tire road hazard insurance the sales person explained to me if I had any issues with the tires( which my tires are low profile tires) to come to back to the dealership and they would take care of them until my mileage reached 100000 thousand miles. I thought that it sounded good so I agreed to purchase the insurance. There was a time I got a nail in my tire and the dealership explained that it wasn't covered, on a other occasion I had a bubble in the tire. Again I took it back to the dealership again being told that insurance wouldn't cover the tire. Had to purchase a new tire which cost me more money. Upset and confused I asked what this insurance covered. Another Hyundai dealership told me that I could cancel the insurance but I had to go back to First Hyundai. So I ended up deciding to cancel the insurance on 4-22-2015 ( The person at the dealership just wanted me to sign a blank form and he would fill out the rest later, I explained that was not acceptable because how do I know what he would put on the page.) He told me that he was too busy even though I waited my turn to be seen. The following day he did eventually fill the rest out and he emailed me a copy of it for my records. Explained to me that takes about 6 weeks and the money after they prorated the mileage it would go on the balance that I owe on my car and again I was ok with that. After many calls and voice mails left, to check the status on the claim but I ever got a call back.. After I had surgery and time to heal giving them plenty of time to have the claim completed. Called the dealership on Oct 15, finally I was able to speak to ******* a manager, again I explained my issue and he told me to give him some time to look into the claim at that time I told him that I would send him a copy of the cancellation form trying to make it a little easier for him to resolve this problem. Well today 11/6 called him to follow up.. He told me that nothing was done because he states that he never got the email even though I didn't get a return email stating it didn't go though or he never called me stating that it wasn't received.. The dealership should already have their copy I was only sending another copy to make it easier on him. ******* was rude and told me that nothing was done and that I wasn't his only customer. I do understand that but I do except my issue to be resolved after 7 month. I told him that I would contact the BBB and his response " good luck with that" and hung up on me.

Desired Settlement: I think I should be able to get the full amount that I paid for the insurance because nothing was ever covered and the inconvenience of having to wait the time to have the issue resolved.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #********. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved. I would accept the refund I would like to be made aware of the total amount of the refund and when to expect that. 

Business Response: I have contacted the customer to offer our sincerest apologies and get the cancellation of the road hazzard plan completed.We are processing a refund check and I will call the customer to let her know when that can be expected. ***** ***** Customer Relations

11/13/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was charged $159.95 on 5/22/2013 for an AC leak dye charge that I was told would be refunded if they found the issue to be covered under warranty. They said the AC was fine that it just needed to be re-charged. Two days later, the AC stopped working again. Brought my husband with me when I went back, they found that there was a leak in the AC, which was covered under warranty. When I asked for my refund of the $159.99, I was told by the Service Manager, ***** *******, that they could not do that but could give me a credit for future service. I explained to ***** that I was told I would get a refund but he refused and kept saying they would give me a credit. I have been back twice for oil changes and the service people are rude, they tell me my car needs repairs or parts replaced that I don't need repaired/replaced. I went to First Hyundai on 9/5/2015 for a scheduled oil change. When I arrived, the Customer Service person was rude and told me I was not on the schedule and it would be a minimum of an hour an a half wait AND it would take an hour for the oil change. I drove over 30 minutes to go to this dealership, which is out of my way because I still have a credit balance with them. I do not trust their service personnel to fix my car properly. I just want my credit balance (approx. $90) returned to me.

Desired Settlement: I want my credit balance of approximately $90 returned to me.

Business Response: Our Service Manager ** ******* offers his sincere appologies and would like to reach out to the customer via phone to come to a favorable customer resolution. He will try to contact the customer 10/14/2015 (wednesday).

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below.   Hello,I am writing in response to my BBB complaint that was closed (Complaint ID# ********.  I still have yet to get resolution from First Hyundai about my issue. Can I have the complaint re-opened?Thank you,***** *****      

Business Response:  We feel customer satisfaction is important for our continued success. Therefore we agree the customer should be given her request; the refund of the balance of store credit. A check has been generated and will go into the mail today.Sincerely,***** *****Customer Relations 

9/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2012 ******* ******* ******* **** from First Hyundai in ***** ********* on 03/15/12. I purchased the vehicle as a brand new car. On Sundary, August 23, 2015 I went to buy a new car at ****** *****, *************. When we discussed my 2012 ******* as I trade-in I told them that the car had never been in an accident. ****** ***** ran the car fax and it showed that First Hyundai offered the vehicle for sale on 12/20/11. On 02/23/12 the car fax noted the following : "*** ********* Damage Report. Accident reported involving right front impact with another motor vehicle . ****** began reporting this information on 06/18/12." On 08/23/15 the NADA average trade in for my car was $10,075. The ***** **** **** value was $10,297 and the ****** trade in value average was $10, 361. Due to the notation of a car accident, that was I was never made aware of by First Hyundai, I was only given $8750 for my 2012 *******. I called first Hyundain at 12:20pm on 08/26/15 and spoke with *****. I explained what had happened and that I wanted them to reimburse me $1547.00 difference since they never told me the brand new car I had purchased from them was in an accident. ***** stated that he understood what I was saying and that he would look into the ****** but that there wasn't anything they can do. I am very upset by First Hyundai's misrepresentation of the car I bought from them. I don't think any consumer would ask for a ca fax on a new vehicle and even if I had inquired nothing would of showed up because ****** didn't begin reporting the information until 06/18/12. I should've have been told that the car was in an accident when I was at the delearship buying the vehicle so I could've made an informed decision about purchasing it.

Desired Settlement: I feel that First Hyundai owes me the difference between $10,297 (KBB averange trade in) and the $8,750 I got for the 2012 ******* at ****** *****. I would like First Hyundai to pay me $1547.00 and to have full disclsoures to all their future customers.

Business Response: Dear Customer,After consulting with ******* ****** ** ******* I believe the ****** report of an accident 02/23/2012 , is an error.  I have been provided with information from ******* ****** ** *******, as follows:                             1/12/2012 Your vehicle left Korea aboard the vessel ******** ***.                             3/02/2012 The  ******** *** arrived at port in *** ******.                             3/08/2012 The vehicle was loaded onto a carrier truck                             3/10/2012 Your vehicle arrived at First Hyundai                             3/10/2012 We stocked in the vehicle and performed an inspection                             3/15/2012 You took delivery  At no time in February was your vehicle ever in *** ********* or involved in an accident prior to your ownership.  We have submitted paperwork requesting ****** to correct the reporting error. I must state; First Hyundai did not misrepresent the condition of your vehicle. We sold  you a NEW vehicle- never damaged.   I did reach out to you today and left a message. If you have any questions, feel free to call me.  We do feel sorry that this unfortunate reporting has caused you frustration.  ***** *****  Customer Relations  First Auto Group  

Consumer Response: Before I can accept this claim as resolved I will like a letter from First Hyundai sent to me stating exactly what they wrote to the better business bureau and I would like the updated ****** Showing that the accident has been removed from the 2012 ******* Regards, ****** ******    

Business Response: To update -- We received information from ****** Friday late afternoon; which was passed along to the customer via phone message. ****** did appologize for the error made.The accident in question was not to the New vehicle that the customer purchased here. The February 23rd 2015 accident was to a vehicle the customer owner prior to the First Hyundai vehicle. The ****** company research showed the accident followed the Vehicle tags/plate instead of the V.I.N. number. This error has been corrected. We feel we have helped the customer resolve an error not made by our company.

Consumer Response: I am asking for a letter from First Hyundai to be sent to me stating all the information they provided verbally and to attach the ****** they got Friday afternoon. A correction is the accident was 2/23/12 not 2/23/15. Regards, ****** ******    

7/30/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sold 2010 ***** ******* to this dealership on July 17th prior to moving to ******** (currently making my way across the country; address listed isn't good until 8/1) and still haven't received payment from dealership despite them listing it for sale on their website. We signed the sales paperwork a little after 5 on the 17th and we were told that accounting had left for the day so they promised us they would mail is a check via overnight delivery on Monday the 20th. As we were moving we were told that it wouldn't be a problem to send the check to our in-laws in Illinois where we would be visiting on our way out to ********. They didn't send the check until Thursday the 23rd and they sent it to our old address in ******* ************* despite the purchase and sales saying to send the check to address in Illinois (we have a copy of the sales agreement stating such. As we are currently driving across the country sightseeing, I finally got them to agree to wire the funds to our bank account and they assured me it would be in my account today. When I didn't receive funds by 4:00today, I contacted them and was told that they had to cancel the check that they sent to the wrong address which requires a 48 hour hold so they can't wire the fund until at least Wednesday. This is their mistake and it is not acceptable to me. I believe that it is their responsibility to wire the funds tomorrow especially since the paperwork was signed 10 days ago and they havey car listed for sale on their website. They certainly wouldn't allow me to take a car off of their lot and not submit any payment for 10+ days. I need to buy a new car this week and need the funds.

Desired Settlement: Pay fund owed as they are currently committing fraud

Business Response:   We understand your frustrations. It is our Bank policy; wire transfers must be done in person. The Dealer Principal did go to the bank Monday to wire transfer the funds to the customers account. Our Bank strongly suggested we wait 48 hours to make sure the check sent is in fact cancelled. We appologize for the necessary steps we must take.  Our Dealer Principal will return to the bank and wire transfer the funds to the customers account after consulting with the Bank Manager. Have a safe journey to your new home.               

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below.    Regards, ******* ******    

Business Response: My Dealer Principal assures me the funds transfer will be completed before close of business today.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #********. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved.  Regards, ******* ******

6/21/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In September of 2014 I paid to have my tires rotated. I had one tire that was marked. I have time stamped photo evidence that this particular tire was marked before I paid to have my tires rotated at First Hyundai. When I brought my car to my usual mechanic to have my oil changed he told me my tires had never been rotated. I told my mechanic it was done in September 2014 but that one of my tires was marked so I could check. When we inspected the tire, I saw that the marked tire had not been moved. It was then that I realized that my tires had not been rotated in September 2014. I called immediately 4/16/15 to try to resolve the issue. I was told I needed to speak with another person. I have called and left messages 9 times since that day. I also went in person but was told the service Manager was not there. I was able to speak with the Service Manager who directed me to the Director of Fixed Operations. I called and left a message. I received one phone call but was unable to answer because I was at work. I was able to get in touch with Director of Fixed Operations. At first he tried to re-direct me to the Service Manager. When I told he I had already spoken to him he then told me he could not give me a refund even though the services were not performed because it happened in September 2014. I was told “good luck" filing a complaint with the BBB.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded. I do not wish to have a store credit. I do not want to return to First Hyundai for any services because I do not trust that the services will be performed. I also do not feel comfortable returning especially after the Director of Fixed Operations told me "good luck" with filing a complaint and hung up the phone on me.

Business Response: On 9/12/2014 First Hyundai Performed an oil change and tire rotation along with 2 recalls and a complimentary multipoint inspection on ******** ******* 2011 ******. First Hyundai is not in business to charge a customer for a service that was not completed. If ******** ******* marked her tire, why is she waiting until now to notify us about it? However, we have offered for the customer to return back to First Hyundai so we could inspect the vehicle with her to determine if the tires were not rotated. We have offered to rotate them again if she would like. We have also offered to give her a store credit even though we feel strongly that her tires were rotated on 9/12/2014. First Hyundai is offering to do this for customer satisfaction. It is also noted on the multipoint inspection that the technician noticed she had rubber valve stems on her tires and her Tire Pressure Monitoring System indicator light was illuminated on the dash due to 2 tire sensors missing. (If the technician didn’t rotate her tires than why would he note this?) We also gave her a $26.34 discount on that service visit and she was responsible to pay $33.79. First Hyundai doesn’t believe we should have to refund $24.95 back to the customer 8 months after a service was completed but will be glad to issue a credit or another tire rotation as the customer watches it be performed. Attached is a copy of ******** ******* Multipoint inspection report and her invoice showing the discount applied and what she paid.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below. 

Although First Hyundai claims they are "not in business to charge a customer for a service that was not completed” I was charged for a service that was not completed in this instance. First Hyundai refuses to admit that an honest mistake was made in this case.I notified Frist Hyundai that my tires were not rotated as soon as it came to my attention. When I brought my car to my regular mechanic who happens to be BBB accredited and A+ rated he informed me that my tires had NEVER been rotated. My tire was marked and also showed wear consistent with tires that had not been rotated. I contacted First Hyundai the same day.  It took almost a month to even speak to anyone directly before my request for a refund was denied.  I did not accept the offer to rotate my tires. Since I had my tires rotated by my mechanic in April 2015 it would not make sense to have First Hyundai rotate them again in May 2015.Although they “feel strongly” that the tires were rotated the fact is that they were not rotated on 9/12/2014. The mechanic would not need to rotate the tires to know that 2 tire sensors were missing. First Hyundai already had this information from a previous multi-point inspection and it is noted on the invoice dated 5/17/2014.The information of a discount to what I paid is irrelevant to the issue at hand. The problem is I paid for a service and drove my car for 7 months believing it was completed. Rather than acknowledge that there was a mistake made I was given the run around for a month before I spoke to someone. When I spoke to someone I was offered a service I no longer needed. I have neither the time nor the desire to return to First Hyundai to watch while a tire rotation is performed. The service was not completed and for that I ask for a refund.

Regards,

******** *******

 

 

Business Response: Due to the fact we have not seen this vehicle since September 2014, and the customer is not returning back to the Dealership for inspection of the marked tires First Hyundai stands by the offer we have made to have the tires rotated again or receive a store credit for the future.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below.  I do not want a credit for a service that was not performed.  Since there was an oversight and the tire rotation was not performed I would like a refund.I do not want a credit for service. This drawn out process for something that could have been handle promptly and courteously has ensured that I will not return to First Hyundai for any service on my car. Since I will not return to the business a store credit is not useful.Regards,******** *******

6/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a vehicle from First Hyundai and after being in service for almost 2 weeks, not everything was fixed that they agreed would be. A representative hired by First Hyundai came to work on the windshield and cracked it. After 3 unreturned phone calls to the service manager (*****), and one to the President (***) about the problem I finally got the Service manager (*****) live the next day and was told I had to talk to the Sales Manager (***) and was connected to him, I requested that a new factory windshield was to be put in the car and was told that he could not make that decision and that they were not obligated to do that and he would get back to me. He did get back to me stating that this would be done., Now 2 weeks later I have placed two phone calls to the Sales Manager (***) as well as one to the President (***) of the company who I have already called with no return phone calls. I left my name, phone number, reason I was calling and the time of day I called on all occasions. I have never had any company that I have done business with in my life that just completely ignored repeated phone calls from a customer. There has been no one from First Hyundai that has reached out to solve this problem.

Business Response: This morning I reached out to the customer to listen to his complaints. The day before the complaint was registered the customers windshield was replaced. So all of the customer requested repairs have been performed to the satisfaction of the customer.As a Dealership we continue to grow; we review and update policies to better assist our customers.We very much appreciate our customers honesty with how they were treated and sincerely appologize for any mistreatment they may have received.Hopefully all parties involved will become more customer-conscious moving forward.Sincerely,***** *****Customer Relations Manager

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #********. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved. I do hope that my complaint will still be visible on your sight so that other people can view it before they make a decision to do business with this company. They did resolve my immediate issue but still left feeling very unsatisfied. Regards, **** **********

5/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sent the following email to Mr. ******** (President and General Manager at First Hyundai). Never received a response after sending the same email numerous times. I am now requesting further assistance from the Better Business Bureau. Mr. ********, I have been in contact with Hyundai Motor Finance and Customer Affairs Hyundai Motors USA. They say I should reach out to 'you' (President and General Manager), once again. I feel like I am going in circles and getting no where with my dealings with your Sales Manager. The salesperson we dealt with when we turned in our 2012 Elantra and leased a 2015 Elantra was 'fired' less than a month after we leased our new Hyundai. The Sales Manager, is being downright unreasonable to the point of being dishonest. My husband and I feel we were deceived by your dealership! The (now fired) salesperson we dealt with did a walk around on the 2012 Elantra we were turning in. He told us there was minimal damage on that vehicle. He assured my husband and I that the wear and tear fee on that vehicle would be entirely waived or absorbed by First Hyundai. We also handed in a spare tire that we purchased from First Hyundai for that vehicle. It did not come with that car when we leased it. If the salesperson hadn't agreed to this, we would have had the 'minor' wear and tear on that car taken care of for much less than $543.47 before handing it in to First Hyundai. We believe First Hyundai is responsible for the action of their employee, with whom we had a 'binding, verbal agreement' with. Therefore, First Hyundai should be liable for the $543.47 due on the invoice we received from ******* *******.

Desired Settlement: Would like First Hyundai to honor the 'binding verbal agreement' and pay the $543.47 invoice we received from ******* *******!

Business Response: To Whom it may concern,******* and ****** ******** turned in their Hyundai lease vehicle and opted to re-lease a new Hyundai Elantra on December 13th, 2014. Hyundai’s lease end process involves using a third party company to inspect the vehicle to protect themselves from any excess wear and tear on the vehicle per the original lease agreement, as well as to protect the customer from extraordinary charges that doesn't concur with the actual condition of the vehicle. During this inspection, they concluded there is $499 + tax worth of excess wear and tear that the Mr. and Mrs. ******** is liable for.This amount owed wasn't known or discussed during the negotiation of the new lease. The sales manager who negotiated the deal never implied (verbally or written) that we would pay such charges nor did our finance manager. As a fail safe to ensure this issue doesn't happen at First Auto Group, we have every customer sign a document called a “We Owe" stating if we owe the customer anything after the sale. Mr. and Mrs. ******** signed the “we owe" stating that nothing else was owed or promised. We searched through all documentation presented, discussed, and signed and there is no evidence of this excess wear and tear fee being waived. As previously stated, we didn't even know the amount of the excess until a month after the deal was finalized.In response to not returning e-mails, we did respond to everyone of Mrs. ********s emails in a timely manner. As the General Sales Manager of First Auto Group, I am employed to look into all sales matters and all customer concerns or issues.  I personally had descriptive e-mail dialogue with Mrs. ******** on 1/24/15, 1/30/15, and 2/5/15. Mr. ******** is and was aware of the issue and we tried to offer solutions for her problem.The first solution was to contact the third party company that Hyundai uses to dispute the amount of the damage on the vehicle. In an e-mail Mrs. ******** states my husband“ My husband and I would have had the “minor” wear and tear on that car taken care of for much less than $543.47, before handing it in to First Hyundai."   Instead of following through on that suggestion, She wants us to pay it.We value Mr. and Mrs. ******** as our customers and want them to be our customers for life. As a token of our gratitude for their continued business we offered to enroll them in our "First For Life Friends and Family Plan" which gives them 50% off Oil & Filter Changes, Tire Rotations, Wiper Blades, State Inspection Stickers, and much more. I wish there was more we could do to help in this matter aside from paying a bill that we never agreed to.Thank You and feel free to contact me at anytime.******* ****** Jr.  ************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below. To Whom It May Concern,First of all, my husband and I negotiated this whole deal with a sales associate only..."Mr. ***** *******"!  I don't recallever talking to or even meeting the sales manager during that whole process!  We went from wrapping up the deal with Mr. ******* to meeting with the finance person.  While sitting with Mr. ******* to negotiate a deal, we were undecided about leasing a new vehicle from First Hyundai or going elsewhere.  Mr. ******* asked "what would it take for you and your husband to lease a new vehicle with us today"?  We told Mr. *******, we would lease the new vehicle that day "if the wear and tear fee (on the car we were turning in) would be waived or absorbed by First Hyundai.  Mr. ******* did a walk around on that car and we all agreed the wear and tear was minimal.  He then said the wear and tear would be taken care of, if we agreed to take the new vehicle.  This was a verbal agreement between Mr. ******* and my husband and I (which we feel was binding and legal)!  By the way, we found out Mr. ******* was "fired" from First Hyundai, less than a month after we made that deal with him!I contacted ******* ***** ******* and ******* ******* regarding this matter.  They both said First Hyundai was the responsible party to try to negotiate with.  I went back and forth numerous times with the general sales manager and frankly got nowhere with him.  Tried to contact the owner, Mr. ******** via many emails with no response from him.  Finally, contacted the Better Business Bureau and Massachusetts Attorney General Office.  On April 7th, The Office of the Attorney General contacted me, stating:"Despite our efforts to mediate your complaint against First Hyundai, we were unable to get the results you desired.  The merchant didn't respond to our calls or fax".On April 16th, The Better Business Bureau responded to my complaint submitted on Feb 22nd stating: "Unfortunately, First Hyundai has decided not to reply to your complaint #********.  BBB can't force the business to respond to this complaint and BBB has closed the complaint as No Response". My my husband and I feel we were deceived by the salesperson, Mr. ***** ******* and believe First Hyundai is responsible for the action of their dishonest (fired) employee!  Regards, ****** ********    First of all, my husband and I negotiated this whole deal with a sales associate only..."Mr ***** *******".  I don't recall ever talking to or even meeting the sales manager during that whole process!  We went from wrapping up the deal with Mr. ******* to meeting with the finance person.  While sitting with Mr. ******* to negotiate a deal, we were undecided about leasing a new vehicle from First Hyundai or going elsewhere.  Mr. ******* at that time asked "what would it take for you and your husband to lease the 2015 Hyundai Elantra" from him that day.  We told Mr. *******, we would take the car today, if the wear and tear fee would be waived or absorbed by First Hyundai.  Mr. ******* did a walk around on the car and we all agreed the wear and tear was minimal on that vehicle.  He then said the wear and tear fee would be taken care of, if we agreed to take the new vehicle.  This was a verbal agreement between Mr. ******* and my husband and I (which we feel was binding and legal)!  By the way, we found out Mr. ******* was fired from First Hyundai less than a month after we made that deal with him!  I contacted ******* ***** ******* and ******* ******* regarding this matter.  They both said First Hyundai was the responsible party to try to negotiate with.  I went back and forth numerous times with the sales manager and frankly got nowhere with him.  Tried to contact the owner, Mr. ******** via many emails with no response from him.  Finally contacted the Better Business Bureau and Massachusetts Attorney General's office.   On April 7th, The Office of the Attorney General contacted me, stating "despite our efforts to mediate your complaint against First Hyundai, we were unable to get the results you desired.  The merchant didn't respond to our calls or fax"!  On April 16th, The Better Business Bureau responded to my complaint submitted on February 22nd stating: Unfortunately First Hyundai has decided not to respond to your complaint ##********. BBB can't force the business to respond to this complaint and BBB has closed the complaint as No Response. This complaint will be publicly reported on the business's BBB Business Review for 36 months.  My husband and I feel we were deceived by Mr. ******* and believe First Hyundai is responsible for the action of their dishonest (fired) employee!First of all, my husband and I negotiated this whole deal with a sales associate only..."Mr ***** *******".  I don't recall ever talking to or even meeting the sales manager during that whole process!  We went from wrapping up the deal with Mr. ******* to meeting with the finance person.  While sitting with Mr. ******* to negotiate a deal, we were undecided about leasing a new vehicle from First Hyundai or going elsewhere.  Mr. ******* at that time asked "what would it take for you and your husband to lease the 2015 Hyundai Elantra" from him that day.  We told Mr. *******, we would take the car today, if the wear and tear fee would be waived or absorbed by First Hyundai.  Mr. ******* did a walk around on the car and we all agreed the wear and tear was minimal on that vehicle.  He then said the wear and tear fee would be taken care of, if we agreed to take the new vehicle.  This was a verbal agreement between Mr. ******* and my husband and I (which we feel was binding and legal)!  By the way, we found out Mr. ******* was fired from First Hyundai less than a month after we made that deal with him!  I contacted ******* ***** ******* and ******* ******* regarding this matter.  They both said First Hyundai was the responsible party to try to negotiate with.  I went back and forth numerous times with the sales manager and frankly got nowhere with him.  Tried to contact the owner, Mr. ******** via many emails with no response from him.  Finally contacted the Better Business Bureau and Massachusetts Attorney General's office.   On April 7th, The Office of the Attorney General contacted me, stating "despite our efforts to mediate your complaint against First Hyundai, we were unable to get the results you desired.  The merchant didn't respond to our calls or fax"!  On April 16th, The Better Business Bureau responded to my complaint submitted on February 22nd stating: Unfortunately First Hyundai has decided not to respond to your complaint ##********. BBB can't force the business to respond to this complaint and BBB has closed the complaint as No Response. This complaint will be publicly reported on the business's BBB Business Review for 36 months.  My husband and I feel we were deceived by Mr. ******* and believe First Hyundai is responsible for the action of their dishonest (fired) employee!First of all, my husband and I negotiated this whole deal with a sales associate only..."Mr ***** *******".  I don't recall ever talking to or even meeting the sales manager during that whole process!  We went from wrapping up the deal with Mr. ******* to meeting with the finance person.  While sitting with Mr. ******* to negotiate a deal, we were undecided about leasing a new vehicle from First Hyundai or going elsewhere.  Mr. ******* at that time asked "what would it take for you and your husband to lease the 2015 Hyundai Elantra" from him that day.  We told Mr. *******, we would take the car today, if the wear and tear fee would be waived or absorbed by First Hyundai.  Mr. ******* did a walk around on the car and we all agreed the wear and tear was minimal on that vehicle.  He then said the wear and tear fee would be taken care of, if we agreed to take the new vehicle.  This was a verbal agreement between Mr. ******* and my husband and I (which we feel was binding and legal)!  By the way, we found out Mr. ******* was fired from First Hyundai less than a month after we made that deal with him!  I contacted ******* ***** ******* and ******* ******* regarding this matter.  They both said First Hyundai was the responsible party to try to negotiate with.  I went back and forth numerous times with the sales manager and frankly got nowhere with him.  Tried to contact the owner, Mr. ******** via many emails with no response from him.  Finally contacted the Better Business Bureau and Massachusetts Attorney General's office.   On April 7th, The Office of the Attorney General contacted me, stating "despite our efforts to mediate your complaint against First Hyundai, we were unable to get the results you desired.  The merchant didn't respond to our calls or fax"!  On April 16th, The Better Business Bureau responded to my complaint submitted on February 22nd stating: Unfortunately First Hyundai has decided not to respond to your complaint ##********. BBB can't force the business to respond to this complaint and BBB has closed the complaint as No Response. This complaint will be publicly reported on the business's BBB Business Review for 36 months.  My husband and I feel we were deceived by Mr. ******* and believe First Hyundai is responsible for the action of their dishonest (fired) employee!First of all, my husband and I negotiated this whole deal with a sales associate only..."Mr ***** *******".  I don't recall ever talking to or even meeting the sales manager during that whole process!  We went from wrapping up the deal with Mr. ******* to meeting with the finance person.  While sitting with Mr. ******* to negotiate a deal, we were undecided about leasing a new vehicle from First Hyundai or going elsewhere.  Mr. ******* at that time asked "what would it take for you and your husband to lease the 2015 Hyundai Elantra" from him that day.  We told Mr. *******, we would take the car today, if the wear and tear fee would be waived or absorbed by First Hyundai.  Mr. ******* did a walk around on the car and we all agreed the wear and tear was minimal on that vehicle.  He then said the wear and tear fee would be taken care of, if we agreed to take the new vehicle.  This was a verbal agreement between Mr. ******* and my husband and I (which we feel was binding and legal)!  By the way, we found out Mr. ******* was fired from First Hyundai less than a month after we made that deal with him!  I contacted ******* ***** ******* and ******* ******* regarding this matter.  They both said First Hyundai was the responsible party to try to negotiate with.  I went back and forth numerous times with the sales manager and frankly got nowhere with him.  Tried to contact the owner, Mr. ******** via many emails with no response from him.  Finally contacted the Better Business Bureau and Massachusetts Attorney General's office.   On April 7th, The Office of the Attorney General contacted me, stating "despite our efforts to mediate your complaint against First Hyundai, we were unable to get the results you desired.  The merchant didn't respond to our calls or fax"!  On April 16th, The Better Business Bureau responded to my complaint submitted on February 22nd stating: Unfortunately First Hyundai has decided not to respond to your complaint ##********. BBB can't force the business to respond to this complaint and BBB has closed the complaint as No Response. This complaint will be publicly reported on the business's BBB Business Review for 36 months.  My husband and I feel we were deceived by Mr. ******* and believe First Hyundai is responsible for the action of their dishonest (fired) employee!First of all, my husband and I negotiated this whole deal with a sales associate only..."Mr ***** *******".  I don't recall ever talking to or even meeting the sales manager during that whole process!  We went from wrapping up the deal with Mr. ******* to meeting with the finance person.  While sitting with Mr. ******* to negotiate a deal, we were undecided about leasing a new vehicle from First Hyundai or going elsewhere.  Mr. ******* at that time asked "what would it take for you and your husband to lease the 2015 Hyundai Elantra" from him that day.  We told Mr. *******, we would take the car today, if the wear and tear fee would be waived or absorbed by First Hyundai.  Mr. ******* did a walk around on the car and we all agreed the wear and tear was minimal on that vehicle.  He then said the wear and tear fee would be taken care of, if we agreed to take the new vehicle.  This was a verbal agreement between Mr. ******* and my husband and I (which we feel was binding and legal)!  By the way, we found out Mr. ******* was fired from First Hyundai less than a month after we made that deal with him!  I contacted ******* ***** ******* and ******* ******* regarding this matter.  They both said First Hyundai was the responsible party to try to negotiate with.  I went back and forth numerous times with the sales manager and frankly got nowhere with him.  Tried to contact the owner, Mr. ******** via many emails with no response from him.  Finally contacted the Better Business Bureau and Massachusetts Attorney General's office.   On April 7th, The Office of the Attorney General contacted me, stating "despite our efforts to mediate your complaint against First Hyundai, we were unable to get the results you desired.  The merchant didn't respond to our calls or fax"!  On April 16th, The Better Business Bureau responded to my complaint submitted on February 22nd stating: Unfortunately First Hyundai has decided not to respond to your complaint ##********. BBB can't force the business to respond to this complaint and BBB has closed the complaint as No Response. This complaint will be publicly reported on the business's BBB Business Review for 36 months.  My husband and I feel we were deceived by Mr. ******* and believe First Hyundai is responsible for the action of their dishonest (fired) employee!Sent from my ****

2/12/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I purchased my vehicle from First Hyundai on January 10th, I took spot delivery of my pre-owned 2012 Hyundai ****** *** on the same day. When I returned on Monday, January 19th to sign paperwork, I was less than thrilled with the experience. I had managed to get my own financing through my own bank, but I was told by my salesperson they could probably "beat the rate". After being told on Saturday that I would "be fine", I cancelled my initial loan request from my credit union and come in Monday night to find they had me financed at 3.6%, when the rate I had was 3.25%. This was not even the biggest issues for me. The biggest issue (aside from the ridiculous $395.00 document fee) was the $199.00 VIN glass etching that was on my paperwork. VIN etching, by law, is an OPTIONAL add-on. I was told that it was mandatory and that it is done to every car that comes onto the lot. Any other dealership offers it as a service add-on but I was told that I had no choice. I am sure that this glass etching was done by the previous owner, yet I had to pay for it again? I spoke with *******, a Sales Manager today, who was incredibly rude to me and told me no one forced me to buy a car there. Additionally, he said I wasn't paying for the VIN etching only, but the insurance policy that comes with it. Again, that type of insurance is optional and it is one that I have turned down at every car sale. When I asked him if the etching had been done previously he said I had to research "on my own" and find out. I'm willing to let go of the 3.6% rate but honestly, after being treated the way I was and not getting a reasonable explanation as to why I had to pay for a "mandatory" glass etching, it is clear to see they are acting unethically and quite frankly, illegally.

Desired Settlement: I would either like the $199.00 taken off of my loan or, since I put down $2000.00, I want a refund check of $199.00.

Business Response: Tell us why here... Thank you for your business and we'd like to clarify the issue regarding the VIN Etching. We etch every single vehicle that we offer for sale, regardless of if it was etched from the previous owner. It is a completely separate etch number and separate policy.When you asked if the previous owner etched it, there wouldn't be a way for someone to know without physically looking at the vehicle as we don't documentif the previous owner etched it. Each etch number is specific and is not something that is passed on from the previous owner to the new owner like a hard added item such as a remote start or door edge guards.The benefits of VIN etching far outweighs the $199.00 cost. I'm not sure if anyone properly explained what the insurance policy protects you from, but it could be worth over $6000.00 to you! However, if you're adamant against it and you don't see the value in it, we will refund you  $199.00Also, are you aware you're enrolled in First For Life? Which gives you complimentary Oil Changes, Tire Rotations, Windshield Wiper Blades, Inspection Stickers, and much moreas long as you own the ******; just for purchasing a vehicle from us? If not, please call us and we'll go over the details of the program.Once again, Thank You for your business and I look forward to hearing from you soon at ******************* ****** ***?

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #********. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved. I would like to state for the record and in response to Mr. ******'s comments, that I was never told about being automatically enrolled in a program with free oil changes, stickers, wipers, tire rotations, etc. I was told free stickers on a yearly basis but that was it. This is another way of demonstrating the many key communication issues this dealership has with its sales staff. A little tip for you sir, I work in sales and I make sure I know exactly what I am selling and how I am selling it, a key point that your employees should adopt. Do you know that I inquired about the VIN etching? Your sale person could not properly explain it to me, so he deferred me to your finance person, and your finance person deferred me back to the sales person when I asked again. Some of your people are selling it as a warranty, others as insurance. No one seems to know what the heck it is, so why would I feel comfortable buying it? The bottom line is that I didn't want it or the "protection" that comes with it.I look forward to seeing my refund check go to my lien holder and I thank you for complying with my request to refund me $199.00 for an optional policy. Regards, ***** *****

1/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Friday, January 2 I brought them a car to appraise for them to purchase under the Autotrader Guaranteed Trade-in of which they are a member. We agreed on a price and I was told by the used car manager that the owner was out until Monday, therefore they would not be able to give me a check on the spot. We agreed that I would come back on Monday to complete the paperwork and I would receive a check at that time. I reconfirmed by text message with one of their internet specialists that I could arrive anytime between 12 Noon and 7PM on Monday, give them the car and leave with a check. When I arrived with my wife driving her car behind me on Monday, January 5, they said that the office was closed and I could leave the car and receive a check another time. This was not what we agreed, and I feel that they disrespected my time and the costs of me coming down there with two cars from 45 miles away. I am not inclined to leave them with the car, title and keys in the hopes that I will receive payment at a later time if they are unable or unwilling to honor our agreement.

Desired Settlement: The dealership should either reimburse me for my time and mileage that they wasted, or come to me with a check and pick up the car from my location.

10/23/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a vehicle from First Hyundai in***** ********************** on 9/10/2014 and paid all registration fees. The state allows only 7 days to register a vehicle after purchase. To date First Hyundai has notified me that my vehicle has not been registered as yet since they do not have the title. How can a dealership sell a vehicle when they do not have the title in their possession? This state of events means I now have a car which I cannot drive since it is not registered and has resulted in additional costs in my commute to work.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be compensated for the additional costs I have incurred in using alternative transportation. Since the dealership is unable to register my car they should make me whole and return me to the state I was in when I first walked through their doors. This means the return of my trade and all monies paid and they can have their car back.

Business Response: After speaking with the customer; the matter has been resolved.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. The business considers the matter resolved because I advised them I no longer want to have anything to do with this company. My car was finally registered after 2 weeks had passed. I paid for the emissions test out of my own pocket and had to wait over a week for reimbursement and only received it after I called to inquire about payment. They advised the check was in the mail after I called and I received it 2 days later. I only consider this matter resolved because I now have a registered car I can drive without fear of being pulled over by the police and no longer have any reason to deal with this company in the future. Regards, ******** *******  

Business Response: I PERSONALLY SPOKE TO THIS CUSTOMER AND HE ASSURED ME HE WAS NOT SEEKING WHAT HE HAD STATED IN THE RESOLUTION STATEMENT. WE UNDERSTAND HE IS NOT SATISFIED AND WILL NOT BE SATISFIED WITH ANYTHING OFFERED. WE SEEK TO MAKE ALL OUR CUSTOMERS HAPPY AND SATIFIED WITH THEIR SALES,SERVICE & PARTS PURCHASES.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #********. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved.  Regards, ***************

9/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My daughter went to this dealership to purchase a vehicle, she was specifically asked if I her mother would sign for the loan. We told them absolutely not and that I was only willing to be the co-signer. ******* was trying to build her credit and I was not willing to help if I was anything other that the co-signer on her loan. This dealership put the paper work thru with me as the owner and my daughter the co-owner and we did not realize until after the fact. When I called and spoke to *** ****** I was told the finance man was no longer there due to his "work ethics" and that *** totally agreed and understood and would call Wells Fargo to ask about changing the names. He also said this was how they did things it was a "joint acct" I explained that was never discussed with us and we never had the chance to end the deal if that was the only way they could help my daughter. We would have looked at other options as I clearly did not want to be the owner of another vehicle and was only willing to be the co-signer. *** has never called me back regarding this situation and this situation has also estranged my daughters relationship with me. I would like the dealership to explain why they allowed this when we specifically said NO.

Desired Settlement: why treat people this way and deceive 2 woman trying to buy a vehicle.

Business Response:  We are very surprised to receive this comment. My research shows me the complainant's daughter is the registered owner of the vehicle. It is a joint account; if you need to assign titles to the
signatory's of the loan there is a primary and a secondary. Customarily the primary is usually the person with better credit thus securing a better loan rate; resulting in a lower monthly payment.

At the time of delivery/vehicle pick up the customer(s) sign paperwork and explanations are given with each document.  No one is ever pressured to sign any paperwork without full explanation and total understanding.

Your lending institution can change the billing address if you want the bill to go to another location; that can be achieved with a simple phone call. Unfortunately, we are prohibited to provide this service to our customers. The loan applicant(s) are the only ones allowed to make such a request.

In closing, we care about ALL of our customers and hope our response has made a positive impact.
?

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #********. Please add your rejection comments below. 

[If you are rejecting the business's response please enter your rejection comments here.] We were never explained this was to be a JOINT acct. We were specifically asked if I would sign for the loan and I said NO. We were NEVER explained upon signing. I also asked about ALL the inquiries and was told they were "soft" credit checks. YOU went to many institutions and these were hard inquiries! My daughter came into the dealership to ask about getting a loan so she could rebilled HER credit and the conversation was for her mother to only co-sign her loan.
IF you had explained the only loan she could secure was a joint loan we would have went elsewhere!!! We were never given proper information. AS for the address what has that got to do with my complaint? Where do I ever mention the "address"??
Elaine

Regards,

****** *******

 

 %3

Business Response: We have conducted a complete investigation into your complaint/comments. At this time, we feel we have tried to answer your questions. I think we need to refer you to Wells Fargo for any additional
explainations.

9/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 4/17/14 I purchased a car from this dealership do to miscalculations they overcharged me for registration and tax fees by the sum of $53.50. I spoke to the new manager on 4/21/14 in regards to this and several non related problems I was told refunds had to be processed and I would get a check in the mail shortly. On 7/22/14 I called and spoke with **** he told me he had to pull paperwork and he'd call me back after no response, I called and spoke to ***** who told me the check was ready just waiting to be signed by the owner, this was on Wed. he'd told me I should have by end of week. I waited until the following Wed. and called back left a message for ***** he never called back I then called ******* ******* had to leave another message explaining my problem I still am waiting for a call back or my money. I believe after almost 4 months they have had ample time to refund this money

Desired Settlement: I simply want my refund of $53.50

Business Response: We sincerely apologize for this oversight. The customer is due a refund for over payment of taxes/registration. Today we have send out the desired refund for overpayment- $53.50.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #********. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved.  Regards, ****** ******

6/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My car went in for a routine oil change, safety recall fix and a multi-point inspection that is listed as including all belts, etc. When I started my car after it went in with no problems, there was a loud rattling. I drove it out of the driveway and immediately turned around and back into hyundai. They looked at it and told me my driving belt pulley was broken (which wasn't broken when I brought it in). After about 45 minutes of them looking at it further, the manager ***** came out with my pulley broken and admitted they actually snapped the metal on it. after admitting to breaking the pulley on the drive belt, which thus destroyed my AC compressor by breaking the bearing on the clutch, they refused to pay for the ac compressor, then told me my vehicle was safe to drive, which it wasn't. I in order to not fight, agreed to pay for the part if it is needed, but they didn't have it so i had to wait. The manager told me it would be perfectly safe to drive while waiting, i just wouldn't have air conditioning. which was untrue. The clutch seized and actually melted the drive belt. The very next day I ended up having to pay to tow my vehicle back to them, $52 for the tow. ***** was not working that next day but the manager on duty said yes, the clutch seized and I was given false information and that everything would now be taken care of by Hyundai, that they will fix everything on them. They have my car for a week, with me getting a comped rental. The manager ***** called me Thursday night now telling me again I have to pay the $405 for the part they broke and he refuses and won't either discount my bill for the tow or reimburse me. He then refused to work with me on picking up my vehicle and returning theirs so I wouldn't miss a mandatory job interview/orientation, so now I lost the job. I tried to work with this manager and all he did was threaten me with police having me arrested (on Thursday night I told him I could be there late friday night or first thing saturday morning and he told me he would report the car stolen, that i have til noon on friday or else). He also said "I can't even prove that they did break the parts in my truck so he "doesn't care" and refuses to pay for the part and refuses to either discount my bill or reimburse me for the $52 tow it cost to return my vehicle to them after I was advised it was safe to drive. I am requesting that they pay for the ac compressor as well as the cost of the tow that was broken due to their mishap of snapping my drive belt pulley and resulting issues from driving it after they said it was safe, which was a false statement.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting that they pay for the ac compressor (a refund of $405) as well as the cost of the tow ($52) that was broken due to their mishap of snapping my drive belt pulley and resulting issues from driving it after they said it was safe, which was a false statement.

Business Response: Mr. **** ***** arrived to First Hyundai on 6/20/2014 to have an oil change and a recall (*** ******** -UNDERBDY CORROSION TREATMNT) performed. During that time our Hyundai certified technician performed a Free Multipoint inspection on his vehicle which consists of a visual inspection of the vehicle. Technician recommended 4 tires and a headlight bulb that was not working. Customer declined repairs at that time and left the facility. Customer arrives later on with noise coming from vehicle. First Hyundai took vehicle into shop to diagnose free of charge and determined that noise was coming from A/C compressor that was seizing up as it spins. While diagnosing our technician broke the tensioner that needed to be removed in order to perform the diagnostic. First Hyundai explained to customer what we broke and also let the customer know that we would replace the tensioner free of charge but that he would be responsible for the A/C compressor as that component has nothing to do with an oil change or underbody treatment recall that was performed and was totally coincidental. First Hyundai sympathizes with customer and offered to install his A/C compressor free of charge but he would be responsible for the cost of the part. Mr.***** was also given a Rental vehicle free of charge while we had his vehicle so he would have transportation which Mr. ***** was holding hostage if his repairs were not covered free of charge. At that time we let Mr. ***** know that if he didn't return the rental vehicle that we would have no choice but to call the local authorities. Mr. ***** returned his vehicle on 6/27/2014.
 
First Hyundai replaced the tensionor that our technician broke free of charge.
First Hyundai installed the A/C compressor at no charge for labor and customer was responsible for the part. Savings of $196.20 First Hyundai also didn't charge any labor to Charge A/C after compressor was replaced. Savings of $152.60 First Hyundai provided rental vehicle at no charge for 7 days. Savings of $245.00
 
At this time First Hyundai feels that they went above and beyond trying to help Mr. ***** and will not reimburse for A/C compressor but would like to cover the cost of the $52.00 tow bill.
 
Mr. ***** can contact First Hyundai at anytime to be refunded for $52.00 tow bill.
 

Consumer Response:  I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved. However, I would like to clarify a few lies in the response from First Hyundai that should be noted.  First, I did not leave for a period of time and return later. I turned my truck on, pulled out of their driveway, heard the noise and turned around at the gas station 2 buildings down (the safest spot to do so) and pulled right back into Hyundai, then they spent 5-10 minutes outside looking under the hood, then opened up the new work order. The timelines on the bill I paid for the new new work order would clearly show that.  Secondly, I did not at any time hold their vehicle "hostage".  Hyundai Called me on Thursday evening telling me my vehicle was ready and I can pick it up anytime.  I told them the earliest I would be able to get it at the time they called would be late friday afternoon due to a mandatory job orientation that I had at 9am on Friday Morning.  They then threatened me and told me I couldn't keep their service vehicle for that long, that I had no rights and they would call the cops, despite my rental agreement having no end date.  I tried to explain that I would be there as soon as my interview was done, and that is when the service manager told me he'd have me arrested and if I didn't return his vehicle and pay for mine first thing friday morning, that he would call the police, report the car stolen and take further action.  Also, the only reason my A/C Compressor went is because they messed up the drive belt pulley, which caused un-due pressure to the clutch and bearing on my A/C compressor.  First Hyundai did not at any point in time go above and beyond to help me, as I had to fight and argue at every step in order for them to take responsibility for their actions.  They admitted to you in the email that they broke my pulley, however, spun it around to make it look like their actions were after the fact which was not true.  They also overcharged me for the A/C Compressor in the first place.  I made calls to 2 other Hyundai dealerships about the cost of the A/C compressor and both dealerships quoted the same price of $379.92, yet First Hyundai charged me $399.97 for a part that THEY broke.  Their customer service is rude and discourteous and they refuse to take responsibility for their error, which reflects poorly on the entire dealership, not just the service department.

3/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: First Hyundai installed a rack & pinion for $1300. Right after the ESC off light was illuminated. I went back to tell them the ESC off light was on right after they installed the rack & pinion and it was never on before we had the work done. The service tech said it was a separate problem and they would have to charge an additional $100 to do a diagnostic. I left aggravated, I wasn't going to pay another $100! Not long after that the air bag off light went on. Then the car was leaking power steering fluid. I took the car back and they said it was a defective part meaning the rack & pinion. They installed the second rack and the the ESC off and the air bag off lights were illuminated and the horn didn't work. I took it back and said it was t their problem. It was a separate issue. I never had a problem with these lights until they worked on the car, but First Hyundai still refuses to fix it. Oh they said that the whole air bag unit needed to be installed for $1000. I had another mechanic look at the car and he said it was a small part for $100 plus labor. First Hyundai Service techs are lying and trying to scam us to purchasing more than the car needs. I am furious after already spending all that money to have the rack fixed. I will never purchase another car from them and I will tell my family and friends not to go there either unless they fix what they damaged!

Desired Settlement: I want First Hyundai to fix the ESC off and air bag off lights so that they are working properly and fix the horn free of charge. It was there mistake to begin with. Also, I have proof that they made the mistake - the rack & pinion was at a 360 degree angle to the left. So it was installed misaligned!! And that is what caused the lights to come on.

Business Response: First Hyundai would like to take this opportunity to apologize for this issue.   Customer previously came into the Hyundai Service department stating there was a Power Steering leak on September 5, 2013.  Our service department diagnosed the problem and let the customer know that the car needed a Steering Rack.   Customer opted to perform the work and First Hyundai Service Dept replaced the Steering Rack.  On September 13, 2013 the customer returned with the ESC (Electronic Stability Control) Light.  The service Dept told the customer we needed to diagnose the problem and the customer refused the Diag.  Customer returned to service with a Power Steering Leak on October 10, 2013. Upon diagnostics from the Service Dept, they discovered that the Power Steering Rack that they had previously installed had an internal failure.  Unfortunately this issue was not visible upon installation of the New Rack.   When leak was confirmed the technician pun in a new Power steering rack and provided customer with a loaner vehicle while car was being repaired.  The customer was not charged for any services on the October 10th visit.  On December 19, 2014 customer returned for the ESC and Air Bag light.  Service department diagnosed the Air Bag light for no charge. Diag revealed that the Driver’s Side Air Bag Resistance was too high.  This resulted in the Air Bag needing to be replaced.  The customer declined the Air bag repair.  Customer also still declined the ESC diag.  At this time, First Hyundai feels that they have done what they can.  Customer has refused services to fix the car that have been diagnosed. 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

When First Hyundai offered to fix the mistakes they made after the repair of the first installation of the rack & pinion, they wanted to charge $100.00(diagnostic) for each problem.  We had already paid $100.00 for the diagnostic and $1300. for the rack why should we pay more for the ESC off light when it was clearly their error?Then they informed us it would cost one thousand dollars for the air bag.  And that is the reason we refused to have First Hyundai fix the car.

Business Response: If the customer still has an ESC Light or Airbag Light on the first hyundai will Diag those issues and waive the $109 Diag fee.  We wil also offer 10% off anyadditional repairs. As a reminder, the powersteering Rack come with a 12 month 12000 mile warranty which is why the defective rack was replaced at no charge.  Please feel free to contact ****** ********* at ************ with questions or concerns. Thank you

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

The rack and pinion that was originally installed was bad, so you installed a new one.  The one you replaced should have a 12 month warranty!  Also, I forgot to mention the air bag light is part of a recall, so that should be fixed for 0.

11/12/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A detailed record of the events has been sent to the general manager (*** ********* **). On 9/3, I purchased a car from this dealership & was told the car would be available by 9/13. The car did not actually become available until 10/16. However, during this time period I was responsible for making payments on a vehicle that I didn't actually have in my possession. After dealing with multiple issues, I finally received an email that the car was ready. I attempted to pick up the car on 9/28; however, after driving the car less than 2 miles from the dealership, I had to turn around because the air conditioning was not operating correctly on the driver's side. Between 9/3 and 10/16, there are numerous email and phone correspondence between myself and sales agents (****** *******, **** ******), sales managers (***** *********, *** ******) and another representative (*********). On numerous occasions, these agents told me they were going to follow-up with me regarding different issues and I never received follow-up. When I was unable to pick up my car on 9/28 after driving there, I was told they would delivery my call to me because of my inconvenience of having to drive 2 hours to pick up a car for a second time. This never happened and I waited two days after the date the car was supposed to be delivered before I showed up at the dealership to just pick up the car myself. When I questioned the sales manager (*****), he stated that he had passed it off to **** and had assumed it had been done. You would think a black ***** in the front of the Massachusetts Hyundai dealership with a Virginia plate would stick out and he would notice that it hadn't been delivered. My experience with this dealership, its team members, and their ability to provide quality service has been HORRIBLE and I will NEVER purchase a car nor will I ever recommend this business to ANYONE! To make things worse, during this time, they sent me 2 emails asking how I liked the car & that they hoped I was enjoying it!

Desired Settlement: Due to your companys inadequacy, I request immediate reimbursement of $583.50 (loan payment 1.5 months). As I did not have the vehicle in my possession, had to provide myself with transportation over the last 1.5 months, and was required to travel twice to pick up the car to obtain delivery, I believe this gesture of providing quality customer satisfaction (your mission statement) is warranted. This would be a small step in the right direction of quality service.

Business Response: First Hyundai would like to apologize for the inconvenience to this customer.  First Hyundai tried to make this buy seamless.  Unfortunately it did not go as planned.  We apologize for the lengthy Registration process.  Unfortunately Virginia Registrations take longer than our normal local registrations do.  First Hyundai also tried to deliver the car on numerous occasions to the customer; however she was busy and unable to meet for delivery. Customer stated that she needed to be present at her home for us to drop off.  The times just didn’t line up for all parties. First Hyundai would like to apologize and have sent a check to the customer for her desired amount. The check will be mailed to the customer on Friday November 1, 2013. We have also attached a detailed account from the sales department.

7/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: First time making a purchase at this dealership and it has to be the worst I have ever made! My wife, myself and my son were at this dealership to purchase a 2008 ****** ******, took the vehicle for a test drive and when back at the dealership decide to make the purchase, pay the asking price and all I wanted was 2 new front tires since the ones on the vehicle were bad. When applying for a loan I was told that the finance guy had to step out to get his son a prescription and it only should take an hour, well, after 2 1/2 hours went by we were finally seen by someone, just then one of the sales manager came to see us and tell us that didn't have the tittle in hand and it only should take a couple of days to get it. After spending almost 3 hours at this dealership I thought it would be silly to leave and shop for another car, and we decided that 2 days wouldn't be a big deal! The following Wednesday 6/12, I called the dealership and spoke to the sales manager and he apologized for taking so long, he was expecting to have the tittle the next day, so, finally Friday 6/14, I called and told them that I was going to pick up the vehicle and they would have to put dealer plates on it, since my son had to start a job the following Monday. I spoke to the salesman the following Tuesday 6/18, and asked him where were my plates, and he said " I'm just a salesman, If you have a complaint call the sales manager!" That's what he did, left me a massage on 6/18, saying that the tittle left California, and that I should have the car registered by the end of the week 6/21. Today, I finally had enough, I have purchased many vehicles but this dealership is by far the worst experience I have ever had, they should never had the vehicle for sale on the lot, nobody should ever buy a car put $3,000.00 as a down payment and wait over 2 weeks to have the registered, not to mention that every time I called there they were rude, specially the salesman.

Desired Settlement: I want this car inspected, registered and the plates delivered to me, since I went to the dealership twice!

Business Response:

First Hyundai would like to take this opportunity to apologize for the inconvenience you suffered.  We have received a corrected title and have registered the customer’s car.  We had the car delivered to the customer and all should be taken care of at this time.  We hope that this concludes the matter and if there is anything else we need to take care of please feel free to contact our General Sales Manager at ************.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

14 Customer Reviews on First Hyundai
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart