Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Empire Hyundai, Inc.

Phone: (508) 673-7646 Fax: (508) 677-4640 428 Pleasant St, Fall River, MA 02721 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Empire Hyundai, Inc. is an automobile dealer offering new and used vehicles as well as repair services on automobiles and light truck work. They also offer body repairs.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Empire Hyundai, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 7
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

22 Customer Reviews on Empire Hyundai, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 13
Neutral Experience 2
Negative Experience 7
Total Customer Reviews 22

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 19, 2002 Business started: 01/01/2000 in MA Business incorporated 11/24/1999 in MA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Massachusetts Division of Insurance
1000 Washington Street Suite 810, Boston MA 02118-2208
Phone Number: (877)-563-4467 or (617) 521-7794 or (617) 521-7490 (TTD/TDD)
Fax Number: 617-753-6830

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Richard Torres, President Miss. Kasey Mathias, Internet Director Ms. Debbie Mello, Comptroller
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Miss. Kasey Mathias, Internet Director
Customer Contact: Ms. Debbie Mello, Comptroller
Principal: Mr. Richard Torres, President
Number of Employees


Business Category


Products & Services

Empire Hyundai, Inc. sells the following brand(s): Hyundai

Empire Hyundai, Inc. offers the following product(s): Body Shop Repairs of all sizes, New Vehicles, Parts, Used Vehicles

Hours of Operation
M: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
T: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
W: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Th: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
F: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
S: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Su: 11:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Method(s) of Payment
Personal Check
Business Check
Cashiers Check
Money Order
American Express
Debit Card
Refund and Exchange Policy
The business states that their refund policy is as follows: Parts- refund less 15% restocking fee. If paid by check 10 business days.
Service Area
Empire Hyundai, Inc. services consumers in Southeastern Massachusetts and Rhode Island. 
Industry Tips
Automatic Transmissions Automobile Body Repairing & Painting Automobile Repair and Services Automobile Repairs & Services - 5 Tips - Video Buying a New Car Buying a Used Car Finding a Reliable New Car - 5 Tips - Video Finding a Reliable Used Car - 5 Tips - Video Read Before You Sign

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Empire Hyundai, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 428 Pleasant St

    Fall River, MA 02721 (508) 673-7646


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/8/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: almost 1 year ago I purchased a new car from this dealer. the salesman told me he would get me in a brand new car for the same price as old car then shook my hand and said that is my word, promise it is the same as a contract. after hours of sitting in showroom and after salesmen went to my exwife who was with me and asked her to cosign for me. a different salesman ******** told me I have to pay an addl 80. mth and I can come back in 6 months and refinance to get the 80.00 back. I asked if a down payment or anything else is required for me to refinance and he said NO! I waited 8 mths figuring I could get payment even lower than the 80.00 but was told by the manager of finance there is no way I am getting refinance, credit issues, loan is less than a year old and never refinance at 6 mths and car is way over valued which the salesman ******** would of known when he talked to me. I told him what the salesman told me. the manager of finance then brought the salesman on file for the sale. forest s Thomas he identified ******** as the salesman who told me 80. and refinance in 6 mths he also said he was terminated and might be working on 44, route 44 car dealers. I left made complaint to Hyundai corp and was told the dealer **** ***** replied he will reach out to customer. week and a half goes by no one reached out. I called dealer was told to come in to talk to ****. never talked with ****. but 2 salesmen and a finance guy named **** ******** talked and tried to convince me the salesman never said anything like what I said. told to give him chance and see what he could do he will call thu/fri. fri told give him 3-4 days , no response. I called on 9th Monday only to be put to voice mail on 2 separate calls. called left complaint on **** ****** voice mail of how I am being treated and finance guy blowing me off. **** ******** called me back right away. told me to come in. I go in and he tells me they can do nothing. car is over valued, no down payment or trade. told him all salesmen lied to me so I would buy car and it is illegal sales tactics. get hand shake as good as a signed agreement, another tells me finance 6mths nothing required. My exwife is a witness to all the facts above. she was with me all the time I was there and went with me when left with car. she is willing to sign an affidavit. this has caused a very severe hardship for my household and cannot continue.

Desired Settlement: I want a refund of my 80.00 from the time I first went to dealership to refinance and then the mthly loan changed to what my previous car payment was which is 399 dollars and change.

Business Response: Hello ****, We did bring you into the dealership to try to get you out of your current vehicle. Unfortunately when you had traded in your Veloster for the ******* ** you had some negative equity which you had rolled over to the new loan and you also have some negative equity on your current vehicle which without any money down we cannot lower your payments at this time. As stated if you can come up with some money to put down we can work with the banks to see what we can do for you. Please call me if you have any additional questions. Thank You,*** ******** ************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below. Regards, **** *********    

Business Response: Hello Mr. *********,I understand this is not the response you were hoping for but unfortunately based on the current situation you are in due to the negative equity from the two vehicles this is where we stand. Please let me know if you would like to discuss further. You can reach me at *************Thank You,*** ********

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below.  [If you are rejecting the business's response please enter your rejection comments here. I will be sending my complaint onward. Regards, **** *********    

5/9/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: The firm uses classic bait and switch tactics. The price advertised through dealer affiliates is less than the true offered price. The ads make no mention of incentives being built into the new auto price. They insist on a visit to discuss terms they have no intention of meeting. It is dishonorable and possibly illegal.

Desired Settlement: I would like the business to change their advertising practices.

Business Response: Mr ******,I have the attached documents which are on our web site as well as all our paper advertising, all rebates are included in our advertised price.  It does also list all amount and to discuss with us to see if all the rebates are something you qualify for.  I'm sorry if you felt that you were misinformed, but we do provide all the information for your review.  Mr. ****** we want to earn your business please contact us for further discussion.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below.  I understand that their flyer and website specifically mention that the price includes incentives. The flyer and website seem purposefully misleading but not fraudulent. I, however, got the price from their listing on ******* *** Bank's "**** *********" without ever seeing their flier and website. I called and the price was confirmed. This service (of which Empire is an affiliate) specifically forbids building incentives into the advertised price of the car. It is part of the agreement that the dealer (Empire) entered into thus they should have knowledge of it. Nowhere on this page does Empire mention that the price is not as advertised. Any reasonable person using the **** ********* would think that the price listed was the asking price for the car. Advertising in this manner, without CLEARLY labeling included incentives, is considered FRAUD in MA and in most other jurisdictions.Empire should stop this false advertising and honor their prices. Regards,****** ******    

3/2/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I applied for a car loan and was told I was approved. I was told I would need to come back with pay stubs w-2 etc. and I put down $300. The sales person told me the deal would be on hold until I brought the required paperwork in. When I went back 2 days later I was told my loan was not approved as I was told. I needed another cosigner. When I said I had none they returned my original car I was trading in to me by simply asking for my keys to my new car. No word the deal was not going to happen. When I asked about getting my check back they stated they deposited it and I had to wait 10 business days to get a check cut for the reimbursement. I asked how that was even possible since I was told the deal was on hold pending receipt of my paperwork. The manager advised me to come back once I had evidence my check cleared the bank and they would give me a check at that time. I'm not sure why the check was processed within a day of being told the deal was on hold pending me bringing in the required paperwork

Business Response: Good Morning,After reviewing our Camera system, it appears that you were well aware that we would do the very best we could to earn your business.  We did have an approval  based on your credit the rate came back at 21% and the bank wanted a bigger investment from you and that would have required and additional $6000.00 as a down payment.  Ms. **** I can also see that your salesperson ******* handed you a receipt for the $300.00 deposit, I'm sorry that we  couldn't help but we did do the best we could do based on your credit.  Our policy is that we wait 10 business days for any personal checks to clear, if you provide me a print out of your bank stmt showing the check payable to us clearing with a beginning balance and ending balance reflecting I would be glad to refund your deposit.  If I can help in any way please let me know.  Again I'm truly sorry that we couldn't put you in the New Elantra, please don't be discouraged and if I can offer you additional assistance please contact me at the dealership.Sincerely,****** *****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below.  This is the first I am hearing of the additional money required down. The sales person and your finance person simply said they would call allied bank and the next thing I was told my old car was out in front. Basic common courtesy dictates I probably should have been given an explanation. I'm sure that is visible in your video recordings as well. Additionally Brendan told me under no uncertain terms I would receive my check and car back if the deal fell through. He guarenteed me that if the payments were not lower than my current loan I would get my car and check I took the time to ask him. I don't care about any of that. My concern is why my check was processed before my loan was approved. That's my gripe. Was I treated like a second class citizen in the fact no one said a thing to me about this 6000 ? Absolutely. But my major concern is the $300. I must now take time out of work to get reimbursed for money I feel you should not have processed until my loan was approved  Regards, ****** ****    

2/1/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My complaint is regarding false advertisement. I recieved a flyer from Empire Hyundai which included a scratch and win game. To my surprise I won an ***** Watch Sport. I called the 1 888 number as directed, I was asked for my "reservation number", put on hold, then told by ****** that I was in fact a winner! I then saw the same flyer later on that night, when I scratched that one, it was also a winning ticket, for an ***** Watch Sport. Skeptical I called the 888 number back and told them the situation, I was told again by ****** that yes, there were more then one winning ticket. The next day she called to confirm "my appointment", I told her I would be there. Still skeptical I called back, again I was told to come "claim my prize". When I arrived *****, I believe greeted me. I told him I was there to see ******. He said "******?..." I told him I was there to claim a prize, he asked me to "have a seat". He then proceeded to try to sell me a car, I figured while I was there I would hear what he had to say, expecting to walk out with my ***** Watch Sport. He asked for my ssn and checked my credit. Before he could get me to do a test drive I told him I had to leave. He handed me back my winning flyer and told me to bring it back...I told him I just wanted to claim my prize then and there. He proceeded to a desk, spoke with a women, who I assumed was ******. He then checked a chart on the wall to see what I had won...I was puzzled...there on the flyer it clearly said what I had won, but I figured he needed to double check. *****n then told me I had won a $5.00 gift card...I was confound and I was embarrassed, and I let them know how I felt. I was told that the "reservation number" is in fact the prize number, the winning number I had scratched originally meant nothing. I was skeptical from the beginning, I called multiple times to verify the legitimacy of this and each time I was told to "come in and claim my prize." After I left I drove to my mother's to find that she also had a "winning ticket".

Desired Settlement: I would like, at the least for myself to be awarded my prize of an ***** Watch Sport as stated on the promotional flyer from Empire Hyundai. But ideally, I'd like my mom and friend to be awarded theirs also, as stated on theirs flyers.

Business Response: Good Evening,I'm sorry that you feel this way.  I've attached one of your phone conversations with ****** and clearly she didn't state that you won and ***** Watch.  If you would like to discuss this further please feel free to contact me.  Thank you,****** *****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below. ****** could not have said verbatim that I won an ***** Watch because she knew that that was in fact not the prize I would receive when I arrived for my "appointment" to "claim my prize", as she stated.  What did in fact say that I had won an ***** Watch was the scratch and win game on the Empire Hyundai Promotional Flyer.  I have attached a picture.  I called more than once to verify the winning prize and the legitimacy of the game, each time I was told to come in and "claim my prize", therefore implying that the prize I had won was the prize I had mentioned and the prize shown on the flyer.  Regards, ******* ***** *****    

Business Response: Ms. *****,Our phone staff are taking appointments so that we have enough time to spend with all our customers.  Secondly, we want you to have a great experience when comming in to claim your prize, so when your in the market for a vehicle you'll remember the great experience and come back to purchase from us.  Thirdly, when contacting the dealership in reference to your prize our phone personnel are given a listing of the winning numbers they do not know what you have won.  The prize is revealed when you enter the showroom and check against the listing at our sales desk.  I'm truly sorry that you were disappointed in your prize.  Again if you should have any further questions or concerns please don't hesitate to contact me.Thank you,

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below. The winning number on the scratch and win game on the flyer from Empire Hyundai matched the ***** Watch, as I have previously attached. It's unfortunate that in order to bring potential customers in you have to mislead them. A simple "we'll see what you won when you get here" would have taken just as long as "come in and claim your prize" and would have been enough for me to know that this was in fact a scam. Again, I called empire multiple times to verify the legitimacy of this game and the prize shown, I was never told anything about another list of prizes, after stating more than once that my prize was an ***** Watch, I was told to "come in and claim my prize". ****** also had time to call me to make sure I was coming in for my "appointment" making it seem that more legit.  Regards, ******* ***** *****    

11/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We took delivery of a used 2012 Hyundai Elantra touring wagon with 24588 miles on it on October 15, 2015. On the following Monday, when trying to use the USB plug in the car, we discovered it was faulty. We called to schedule an appointment for that Saturday, but it was unavailable. The vehicle was then brought in for service on 11/5/15. At that time, the dealer wished to charge us $190 to fix the problem that was an issue at time of delivery. The dealer now claims that they do not want to fix the issue without charging us full price for it, stating that it is not covered under warranty since the first time the vehicle was serviced by it's prior owner was April 2012. The car should be fixed free of charge since the vehicle was purchased with this defect.

Desired Settlement: I would like the dealer to do the right thing and fix the problem free of charge.

Business Response: I will look into this and be back to you tomorrow.  Thank you,****** *****

12/28/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a car in august and was mislead about service issues. I contacted the general manager the day after it was purchased and he resolved the issue. I bought an extended warranty and *** insurance and told d them how i use my car for business. They failed to tell me there was no spare tire in the car and they offered me to purchase one for $300.00 and when i contacted them the next day they told me i have a road hazard warranty. I had a blowout and purchased a tire from National tire and battery and Hyandai told me they would reimburse me for the tire. When i went to the dealership, they had me waiting gor 45 minites and then was told that they would contact me on Monday. I was pressured into the sale and i aak for respect and top customer service when i go there.

Desired Settlement: I wantbthem to provide me with a spare tire at no cost to me and respect and exceptional customer service when i come

Business Response: Mr. ****** ******* purchased a new vehicle from Empire Hyundai in August of this year and stated at the time of purchase if his vehicle needed service he would need a loaner vehicle due to his employment obligations.  The sales manager agreed but explained he would need to call in to make an appointment for a loaner.  Mr ******* agreed and consummated the purchase.  The time of purchase all options where disclosed including the mobility kit which replaced the space saver spare.  Mr. Lechart at that point elected to purchase road hazard insurance in case he encountered a road hazard and damages a tire it would be paid by the insurance.  Mr. ******* had a tire blowout and was told to obtain a copy of the invoice for reimbursement.  Empire Hyundai promptly refunded the cost of the tire to Mr. *******.  Mr. ******* has made service appointments and did not show up at the dealership for services, at one point Empire had a technician wait for Mr. ******* after our normal closing time to accomadate his service request and again no show.  In closing Empire Hyundai has demonstrated superior customer service and would extend a 20% discount on a full size spare purchased from our parts department as a good faith gesture.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #********. Please add your rejection comments below.  Empire Hyundai neverexplained to me about the tire inflation kit. And i never missed an appt. I called when I was going to be late and was informed by the Service Manager they would leave a loaner with the sales man because they couldnt stay.  I waited 45 minutes when I dropped the invoice off to even be acknowledged and then they told me they wouldnt have it until the following MOnday. I had to go to the GM regarding the service loaners because the salesman and sales manager made false promises and nevertold the Service Manager. I want the donut for my car Regards, ****** *******    

Business Response: Empire Hyundai provides exceptional customer service to all it's customers and the most we are willing to do is offer you a 20% discount on the space saver spare tire.  We are sorry that we have come to an impasse but there will be no further negotiations.  I will notify the parts department of my offer that will be valid for 45 days.Thank you,******* ******President/Owner

8/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: It's unfortunate that I have had to resort to the Better Business Bureau to address the issues with my recent purchase, but I have waited 9 days for my two voicemails to be returned and I need to resort to other options. On April 18th, 2014 I traded in my 2005 ********* Impala with 170,000 miles for a 2012 ********* Malibu with 30,000 miles in hopes of avoiding repair issues that accompany higher mileage vehicles. As of August 5th, 2014 I have had to have my newly purchased Malibu serviced at Empire Hyundai 13 times, and my car is currently back in the shop for the 14th time. Without going into detail in regards to all of the service issues, the most alarming situation took place after having my car serviced for a loud noise I heard while braking. On Friday, July 18th I had my car serviced to address the aforementioned brake noise. Friday afternoon I picked up the vehicle after being told the issue was resolved, I drove home and I no longer heard the loud clicking noises when pressing on my brakes. On Saturday morning however, the noise had returned. By Sunday, July 20th, the noise had progressed. On Sunday night during my commute home from work, just after exiting the highway the caliper bolt fell out which caused the caliper itself to fall off and lodge into the wheel well. This made my vehicle completely inoperable. I called Hyundai to get my car towed to the service center, and I was informed it was my responsibility to have the car towed to the dealership myself. After personally calling AAA to have my car towed, and personally booking a car rental for the next morning so I wouldn’t miss work, my car was brought back to the service center. I had reached my breaking point after this last encounter where the outcome of the faulty service could have cost me much more than time and frustration if it had happened moments earlier. Understandably, any noise I hear when braking causes alarm because of my experience. My vehicle is currently back in the shop, for the 14th time, because while braking I am hearing the same familiar noise that I first reported before my terrifying incident. I left a voicemail on the owner of the dealership's cell phone twice but have not heard back. The staff at the dealership have always addressed my issues professionally and they have been understanding of each service request but I am extremely frustrated with having to bring my car back for the same recurring issues. I have owed used vehicles my whole life but this purchase was an exciting one for me because I was buying a like-new vehicle that I hoped would be a reliable car for years to come. Unfortunately that is not the case and I am very dissatisfied with the ongoing issues that can not seem to be resolved.

Desired Settlement: At this time I would like to explore the options of trading in this vehicle for a more reliable vehicle. I do however, have reservations that any vehicle purchased at this location would be serviced by the same technicians that are unable to diagnose and repair the issues I have had with my current vehicle. I would like to speak with someone about my options regarding a trade in or full refund for my purchase.

Business Response: We have made contact with Mr. ****** and he is scheduled to come into the dealership to discuss possibly trading out of his current purchase.

7/25/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/12/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My sister was in need of a car and seen an advertisement for Empire Hyundai. They were offering $5000 push , pull or tow. She fell for it as her car had died. When she was finally shown a car they inflated the price by $5K to cover the cost of their deal. As the day went on and she went to go though financing the computers allegedly crashed and could not get her the number. They told her to take the new car home and come back tomorrow to finish the paper work. That night as she was telling me everything I informed her I did think it was a good deal and something sounded funny. She agreed and decided not to follow through. The following afternoon when we went to return the car we found that her car was no longer there. They had already sold it to a whole sale company. This is less then 24 hours and no financial paper work has been signed. I While this was going on they were still sending different sales personnel over to her to force her into another car. After 30 minutes of the strong arm technique we finally left but we still do not have her *** back. We have been told it will be back there Monday , so here goes another trip to Empire.

Desired Settlement: At this point I will now have to make a 2nd trip down to Empire Hyundai to get back what should have been there the first time. I would like to be reimbursed for my gas which is 30 miles each way for a total of 120 miles. A settlement of $50.

Business Response: Mr. **********, I would be glad to address Ms. ***** ******* on the details of her car buying experience.  The deal that we have is in her name and I would like the opportunity to speak to her about any concerns she may have. Thank you, **** ******

4/15/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On March 22 2014 I went to go look at vehicles at Empire Hyundai . As I pulled up to the dealership a salesman was waiting outside, ***** ******.I proceeded to explain to him that I was interested in a Hyundai Veloster. I explained I was looking for a 2013 Model in Blue. He decided to bring me a 2012 used Veloster in Silver in which I test drove around the block I also stated I would like to test drive the Blue as well and he stated "They all ride the same" in which I stated "I would still like to drive the blue one as well". He begrudgingly went to get the 2012 Blue one. I test drove both and told him I was not 100% sure I was going to purchase a vehicle today. He started with the negotiation of the pricing and payments. I explained to him the payment amount I was comfortable with and I did not want to go to much more than that payment. I also stated I did not want to be upside with my payments because I owed a balance on my trade. I was there for over 3 hours trying to work out the numbers. Mr. ****** stated to me nothing would be rolled over and I would not be upside down. He asked for my credit card for leverage and took it with him when I stated "I didn't want anything on the card as and of yet", Mr ****** than took my card and charged $1,000 on my card without my permission and came back with the receipt and slid it on the desk I looked at him and said" What is this"? He then stated that was the receipt for the transaction of the tax,title,etc. I stated to him I didn't appreciate him putting the $1,000 on my credit card when I blatantly told him not to. Mr. ****** also went and put the plates from my vehicle onto the Hyundai and said "if you go to see financing they will get your payments lower". I was in shock for 1) because of the incident with the credit card and 2) him just changing my plates when I hadn't even agreed to the sale. I went to the finance department with ****** whom also specifically stated nothing would be rolled over from my previous loan and I wouldn't upside with my payments in which I repeated several times "I did not want the car if they were going to roll over all of my other loan". By this point I felt physically ill by the way I was being treated with their high pressure sales tactics. I did not feel at all comfortable with any of this. During the negotiation they had one amount and then when I went to sign it was a different amount several thousand dollars higher. They claimed this was all "finance fees". The next morning after inspecting my contract I realized how they much I had been brazenly lied to and mislead about the price of the vehicle and the rolling over of my loan. Also, if they thought I could afford the car why is it that they had to do 14 credit inquiries? (which has dropped my credit score ). I attempted to call the dealership to come to some sort of resolution about everything and was given the runaround where everyone didn't even want to speak to me. The sales manager I did speak to was condescending and felt no obligation to try and help me.

Desired Settlement: I want reimbursement of the $1,000 that was fraudulently charged on my credit card, the difference of the amount that they overcharged on my new loan from my old loan and $30 for the sticker I had paid for but decided to get somewhere else.

Business Response: I have reached out to Ms. ******* to contact us so that myself or ***** could address any concerns that she may have.  I left a message on the contact that we have on file for her, I'm awaiting a response.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

22 Customer Reviews on Empire Hyundai, Inc.
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart