BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Eastern Massachusetts, Maine, Rhode Island and Vermont
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Auction Holdings?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Auction Holdings

Additional Locations

Phone: (617) 746-9800 Fax: (617) 746-9801 38 Everett Street Suite 101, Allston, MA 02134 http://www.auctionzip.com View Additional Web Addresses

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Artfact provides web-based software, tools and services that connect 25,000 auctioneers with more than 23 million bidders in the world’s largest live auctions marketplace. With over 100,000 items for sale every day, bidders have access to a wide range of auctions types, including collectibles, art, antiques, real estate, equipment and estate sales from around the globe.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Auction Holdings meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Auction Holdings include:

  • Length of time business has been operating

Factors that raised the rating for Auction Holdings include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Auction Holdings
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 24, 2012 Business started: 12/02/2009 in MA Business started locally: 12/02/2009 Business incorporated: 12/02/2009 in MA
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Adrien Smith, Client Services Team Leader Ms. Stephanie Telesco, Customer Care Manager - US/CAN Mr. O'Neal Rowe, Vice President of Marketing
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Adrien Smith, Client Services Team Leader
Principal: Ms. Stephanie Telesco, Customer Care Manager - US/CAN
Number of Employees

77

Business Category

AUCTIONS ONLINE & INTERNET SHOPPING AUCTIONS-INTERNET Electronic Auctions (NAICS: 454112)

Method(s) of Payment
Visa
Mastercard
American Express
Alternate Business Names
Artfact AuctionZip Invaluable
Industry Tips
Five Steps to Building an E-Commerce Site - Video Online Shopping Online Shopping - 5 Tips - Video

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Auction Holdings has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    113 W Pitt Street Suite C

    Bedford, PA 15522

  • 38 Everett Street Suite 101

    Allston, MA 02134 (617) 746-9800

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been trying since August 2013 to be removed from AuctionZip.com's mailing lists and yet I still get emails everytime ** ***** ********** and ******** *** lists a new auction. I emailed customer support on August 16, 2013 and May 29, 2014 asking to be removed from all mailing lists. Both times I was told I was. I still am receiving this email at least once a week.

Desired Settlement: Removal from all email lists and a cessation of emails from AuctionZip.com.

Business Response: Dear *****,I sincerely apologize for any frustration caused by the emails you’ve continued to receive from AuctionZip. Please be assured that we take your privacy very seriously. We have checked with our technical team and confirmed that your email has been unsubscribed and added to our suppression list. The email address unsubscribed is: *******************Please don’t hesitate to contact us should you receive another email, or with any further questions or concerns. You can contact us by emailing customercare@auctionzip.com or calling ************.Thank you,--******** **** **********

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #********. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved.  Regards, ***** ****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

8/11/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am a newcomer to the Invaluable Web site, an Internet auction platform which connects bidders with Seized Assets Auctioneers (SAA). I called Invaluable 7/4/14 6:30 a.m., but it was closed. I tried to used the Live bidding site, but was confused and could not figure out how to enter a bid. An absentee bidder is allowed to place a set price, but for the Live bidding, there is no way for anyone to enter the price one wants. On the Invaluable site, I asked for my husband's help. He did not realize that I had already registered. He clicked around the Bid Now area several times without any response, but then suddenly it showed that I won Lot***,*****, a ring, at $3,500 which I have no interest in. I called Invaluable ASAP and spoke to Riley who advised me to e-mail and left message with SAA. On 7/7/14 got email from **** **** at SAA asking me to pay a (1) 18.5% buyer's premium fee of $647.50 plus a 15% restocking fee of $525.00 for a total of $1,172.50 or (2) pay in full $4,452.95 and take it as a credit for future bidding. Later on 7/4/14 2 p.m., I proceeded to bid on the item I wanted and was shocked. On 7/7/14 I called Invaluable to find out details of the bidding history, ******, gave the following: Starting bid was $2,250, two absentee bids of $2500 (one was mine), next bid $11,000 was erroneously attributed to me, others at $12,000, $13,000, $14,000, $15,000, sold at $16,000. ****** said it was sold, but "pass" on the record. My actual absentee bidding before the live bid was $1,000. Because of the bad experience with the ring, I was careful to click only once at $2500 during the Live bid. In short, the Invaluable site is inaccurate and has dangerous glitches that attributes very high bids to bidders which they never submitted. On 7/7/14 I told Jaime from SAA about the horrible experience on the 2nd bidding. He located the bidding history and admitted that he was aware that Invaluable has a software glitch. He said that in that case if I had won, they would not have charged me.

Desired Settlement: I request that SAA cancel the first auction and remove all charges on my account because the Live bid auction site of Invaluable is confusing and error prone, putting consumers at risk for charges and fees that they are not aware of without protection against computer glitches.

Business Response: Dear ****,Thank you for contacting us. I'm sorry to hear that you have had a confusing experience on our site. To be able to place any kind of bid in an auction that is listed on our site, a user must first request approval to bid from the auction house holding the auction by agreeing to the auction house's terms and conditions. This is mandatory before any bids can be placed on site, either through our live platform of through the absentee bid system. Seized Asset Auctioneer's terms and conditions state that should a winning bid be cancelled after the sale they do request either the Buyer's Premium and re-stocking fee or the full price for a future credit. I understand that you bid in error, and that you have been in communication with the auction house regarding this error. While Invaluable does not have the final say over the cancellation of a sale, which is the right of the auction house, we are happy to help in any communication we can. Please let us know if you require further assistance in communicating with the auction house to cancel the sale of Lot 295, and which option from their terms you would like to pursue. Based on our system records, I can see on your account that your only other recorded absentee bid with Seized Assets was on lot *** in their 07/04/2014 auction for $50.00 USD (Lot ***: 14KT White Gold 35.00ctw Ruby and Diamond Necklace FJM3442). Based on the bidding history for this item, our records show that the auction house did begin the live bidding on the item at a low value of $6, at which point your bid was submitted on increment up until $8. At this point, the auction house clerk changed the requested price for the item to $1500.00 and the bidder proceeded from here and the item was ultimately sold to another bidder on a different platform. In reference to your description, this does not sound like the lot or situation you have described, however it is the only other lot that we have record of you placing an absentee bid on with Seized Assets. So that we can further assist in explaining the bidding history for the lot you described, could you please provide us with the lot number from the auction?We have had our technical team confirm that no technical errors or glitches with live or absentee bidding have occurred on our site during the time frame you have described. However, I would like to provide further clarity into what may have occurred during your experience on our site, and assist in a better future bidding experience for you. Could you please provide the other lot numbers and sale date for the items in your initial inquiry? Most Sincerely,Invaluable Customer Care***************************************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below. Thank you for your prompt response and your offer to help, but the information you have is wrong.  The auction in question is not Lot***, but is Lot***, item no:******.  The Invaluable customer service rep will not tell me the bid history over the phone as she previously did.  Instead, she asked me to go into my account to view it.  But I have not been able to access my account because I have been locked out ever since I reported this incident to BBB.   In any case, I was wondering, how is it possible that the Seized Assets Auctioneer (SAA) house clerk was able to change the requested price on the lot from $8 to $1,500 during the auction?  Isn't that kind of unfair to the auction process? Others on the Internet have complained about SAA selling the same over-appraised items week after week with the same starting bid of  $1. I called SAA on 7/3/14, the day before the auction, to inquire about how to bid.  ***** told me there is no on-site auction at SAA. He advised me to call Invaluable and participate in the Live Bidding online because absentee bidder will always be outbid.    I request that SAA cancel the first auction and remove all  charges on my account because the Live Bid auction site of Invaluable is confusing and error-prone, putting consumers  at risk for charges and fees that they are not aware of, and without protection against computer glitches or house clerk changing the bidding price.   Finally, what is your name and your position at Invaluable?? Regards, **** ***  

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********.  On 7/25/14 Fri.,1:45pm ******, Invaluable, ************** customer rep called and wanted to know the ****** bag, lot number***.  She found it and told me that I bid. $11,000 (see detailed in original complaint, different from ******, another rep's quote), I told her that was incorrect.  She was to send me email about the bid history of Lot 295 for the ring I won. On the phone she told me the bidding on lot *** start from $1, floor started $2250, $3250, and ended at $3500. I finally received email from her at 3:21 pm on the bid history. She typed and ADDED in $250 bidding increments of: $2250, $250(her typo for $2500), $2750, $3000, $3250, $3500. (See separate email forward to you.).  I asked her who wrote the response to my BBB complaint.  It was written by her superior ******, director of customer service. She refused to give me ******'s last name. There is no resolution of my complaint and  I am waiting for further written response. Sincerely yours, **** *** Regards, **** ***    

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********.  In response to your reply dated 7/30/14, it seems that ****** ******, operation manager at BBB did not forward the following message to you.I do not understand why in your response you can only find lot*** and lot***. I am going to REPEAT the following information. On7/25/14 Fri.,1:45pm ******, Invaluable customer rep called and wanted to know the ****** bag, LOT NUMBER***.  She found it and told me that I bid $11,000. I told her that was incorrect. She would send me email about the bid history of Lot*** for the ring I won.On the phone she told me the bidding on lot 295 started from $1, floor started $2250, $3250, and ended at $3500. I finally received email from her at 3:21 pm about the bid history. She added in $250 bidding increments of: $2250, $250(her typo for $2500), $2750, $3000, $3250, $3500.  You claim there is no technical error in your system, but you are unable to find all this information now. Perhaps you can ask ******.  On 7/5/14 I spoke to ****** at Invaluable to report my shocking experience.  She said their site can be very fast and thanked me for my feedback. On 7/7/14,  I called Invaluable again, because I want to know details of the bidding history, and got the following bidding history information from ******.   I  asked her how to "view history" for lot 372 on 7/4/14. She gave me the step-by-step, but I still  could not view the "bid history."   On the phone, she verbally told me the following info, but could not  email me the bidding history.  She said I start bidding at $2,250. $2500 didn't get accept, because two absentee bids at $2500. Then she said I bid $11,000.  (I did not), others bid  $12,000, $13,000, $14,000, $15,000, and the item was finally sold at $16,000. But  when I review the sell status of this item, it said, "Pass,"  which means it was not sold.  My actual bidding before Live was $1000.  Because of the bad experience with the  ring, I made sure that I clicked ONCE on the Live bidding at $2500.  It did not respond, but the next second the Live bid number was $2750.  Then it showed that my bid was $11,000.  I was shocked, but the bidding kept going and luckily did not finalize at $11,000.  Please ask ****** about this one to help you find it.At this time SAA does not have any communication with me or BBB in ***** *******, *****. despite several requests from BBB. As you stated in your response, Invaluable does not have the final say over the cancellation of the sale, which is the right of the auction house, YOU ARE HAPPY TO HELP IN ANY COMMUNICATION.  You can help me by letting the owner of SAA, Drew Donen, know that I wish to cancel the transaction.  Your prompt attention and cooperation will be greatly appreciated.Are you ******, director of customer service? Regards, **** ***    

Business Response: ****** ***** 2:02 PM (1 minute ago) to me  Hi ******,   Thanks for taking the time to speak with me just now.   As I mentioned on the phone, our company provides the web platform and software for auction companies to list their sales on our site and for users like **** *** to bid and participate in those sales. However, the entire post-sale process of dispute resolution, payment, shipping, and coordination on won items or cancelled sales is entirely through the auction house.   Our business does not have any way to track whether payment has been processed for a user, or whether the auction house the ability to cancel the auction. We are happy to confirm if there were any technical issues and help a user communicate with an auction house, but ultimately the resolution will need to happen between the buyer and the auction house.   Please let me know if you need any more information on this, or anything else.   Sincerely,   -- ****** *****

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the information provided by all parties, BBB determined that the business handled the matter appropriately, and no further action was needed.

6/22/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have just opened an account with Auction zip and was advised by Auction Zip that I could use Square Up, I already had an account with square up and it has been 2 years since the last time I used square up before this week. I was advised by an ****** ***** and ***** ******* from Auction zip that we could take payments over the phone with Square Up. We used the Square Up payment process the way that Auction Zip Representatives advised. I had to go back and have all my customers pay thru pay pal, because Square Up would not honor payments and currently still holding buyers payments, The problem that arose is, the one payment that supposedly could not pay with pay pal happen to be for over $4600, which Auction zip charged a 3% commission on regardless if I actually got the money or not. When I explained to auction zip that it is not fair that they charge me 3% for auction that I did not get paid on, they simply stated that they can only give me credit toward the expense of another Auction. Why would I want to have another auction if I am having too many problems collection money. But they seem to have people who act like they are going to pay you so that they make their percentage on the sale and then, give you advice on a payment option that did not work and allowed the payments to be cancelled. So that they make a big commission on a payment that does not exist.

Desired Settlement: Change policy, so that they can monitor which auction bidders pay and don't pay like, **** does, so that the sellers are refunded appropriately and not trapped into paying for another auction. Why would I want to pay for another auction when I am only losing money?

Business Response: Dear*****,

Thank you for getting in touch with us regarding your concerns. We're sorry to hear that you have had trouble processing payment through Square Up. I do apologize if there was any mis-communication, but AuctionZip is not affiliated with nor integrated with Square Up so any use of this separate service would have needed to be done completely outside our system. My apologies if your interpretation of any conversations had regarding collecting payment turned out differently. 

In your AuctionZip Live! agreement you did agree to pay the AuctionZip listing fee and commission the first business day after the auction, which is why we collected payment when we did. As both ****** and ****** on our Customer Care team have gone through with you to date, if you are having trouble collecting payment from a bidder we offer a dispute process against the buyer which allows you to receive the 3% commission collected as a credit towards your account. Of course, we are always happy to assist you in reaching out to any buyers you are having trouble contacting for payment. Please do let us know if we can help you reach out to a particular buyer to resolve payment. 

Again, I do apologize that you have had a poor experience with payment collection. Please let us know if we can assist you in contacting any buyers. 

Best Wishes,
Invaluable and AuctionZip Customer Care

Consumer Response:

 

 

 

Business Response: Hi *****,

Thanks for reaching out again. We didn't see any text or message that came with your rejection of our response to you. To date I believe multiple Customer Care representatives have reached out to try and assist with your concerns in addition to my response. If you are still upset we'd like to make sure that we can assist with your concerns in whatever way possible. An account manager will be reaching out to you shortly. 

Best Wishes,
Invaluable and AuctionZip Customer Care

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i signed up for an account and now they send me daily emails. i have contacted the company on several occasions over the past few months to stop the emails and they assured me they did but they keep coming. i then asked for my account to be closed and remove from their system and they again assured me they did and i would no longer receive emails and they still keep coming. i have no issues with the company other than they will not stop sending emails daily.

Desired Settlement: i want emails to stop coming to my email account

Business Response: Dear ****, Thank you for contacting us. I am sorry that you have had issue with receiving emails you do not want! I have checked our system and ensured that you are on all suppression lists and should not receive any further emails or advertisements from AuctionZip. I also ensured with our technology team that there was no hold-up preventing this functionality, and they confirmed with me that you should no longer receive any notifications from us regarding auction alerts or item advertisements.  Please do not hesitate to let us know if you have any further questions or concerns by emailing customercare@auctionzip.com or by calling us at ************.  Best Wishes, Invaluable | AuctionZip

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved. 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

5/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased an item through this online platform. The item was represented as an original item but was a reproduction/copy. I asked this company for help in obtaining a refund and was ignored and then banned for life.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund for the reproduction item and for the State Attorney General to investigate this practice of selling reproduction items as original.

Business Response: Dear Mr. ***********,Prior to bidding on this item, you registered to bid with the auction house J James Auctions and Appraisals through the Invaluable website. In this process you agreed to the auction house's terms and conditions which expressly state:4. All property is sold AS IS/WHERE IS and all sales are FINAL.  Announcements made the day of the sale take precedence over online descriptions and printed matter.  There are no warranties, expressed or implied, with regard to age, condition, quality, functionality, value, rarity or provenance of the property offered for sale by J. James Auctioneers & Appraisers  or any representative thereof.  All valuations are considered estimates, and in no way constitutes a warranty or guarantee of any kind.5. It is the responsibility of the bidder to fully examine the property prior to placing a bid and judging the item(s) for his or her own protection.  Condition Statements are provided as a courtesy to our clients and represent the general observations of J. James Auctioneers and Appraisers.  Under no circumstances should a condition report be interpreted as a warranty or guarantee of any kind. J. James Auctioneers and Appraisers shall be held harmless for any error or omission. The absence of a condition statement does not imply that the lot is in perfect condition or completely free from wear and tear, imperfections, or the effects of aging.By agreeing to these terms and conditions prior to bidding, and then placing a bid you agreed to the understanding that if successful with your bids you would be legally obligated to pay for the item and understood the auction house's statements on condition. The auction house has reported that they have no record of you attempting to obtain more information on the condition of this item prior to the auction, and our system also holds no record of this. We also have on file from the auction house that after you received the item, making no attempt to receive additional condition information prior to the sale, you attempted a refund and when the auction house referred to their terms and conditions which state that they do not provide these you became verbally abusive and threatened bodily harm to the auctioneer. At Invaluable and AuctionZip we strive to provide a safe and productive environment for our auction houses and our bidders. It is our company policy to deny access when threatening and aggressive behaviour from any of our members (auction house or buyer) occurs and we are supplied a police report, which the auction house has provided to us. Sincerely,Invaluable |AuctionZip

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint. Thank you Invaluable-AuctionZip for your reply. I did agree to the terms and conditions by default by bidding on these items.  However, the rules on a website do not preclude state fraud statutes.  There are laws to protect consumers and these should be adhered to.   You have made an issue of this police report that **** ***** of the said auction house has filed.  This report was not a matter that the officer felt should have been followed up on hence he never contacted me as it was not taken seriously.  I only learned about it through your company.  This was an attempt by an auction house that you represent to discredit me and my business. Also, I may add that the auction house that you represent filed a non-payment report for this item, while I have proof that can be provided that I paid fully for my lots prior to them being shipped to me.  I think this can attest to the who is filing reports that are truthful and non-truthful.  Once I learned of the report, oddly not through the police but through a third party I immediately contacted the police to clear my name so to speak and answer any representations on the report that were not factual.   The police officer also added to the report that your company had banned me for life with no right of appeal based on this incident.   I add there was no threatening or aggressive behavior on my part. I have contacted the States Attorney Generals of New York and Mass. to pursue this further as you have treated me unjustly and I will pursue this.

Business Response: Dear Mr. ***********, Thank you for your reply. As mentioned in our previous response, it is company policy to take police reports provided to us very seriously and to disallow any users involved in such interactions from using the site any further. Regarding the condition of the item, it is the responsibility of the buyer to inquire as to the condition of the item for auction prior to bidding on the item. It is at our attention that the auction house filed a non-payment report on your account only after you had contacted PayPal to withhold the submitted payment on the items after you were already in possession of them. Bidding on an item after agreeing to our terms and conditions of service is a binding contract that you agree to pay for the item as won, and that you understand and are in agreement with the condition of the piece. The auction house believes the item in question to be of unquestionable authenticity and has had several professionals review the item at hand prior to offering it for auction. Please also see our company’s terms and conditions of service regarding transactions, bids, and the valuation of items: 1.7 Invaluable not involved in auctions/release. We are not involved in actual transactions between users of the Sites or any "External Sites" as defined in section 5.1 below (whether such users are auction houses, appraisers, art or antiques dealers, trade members, curators, educators, antiques professionals, collectors or other third parties affiliated with Invaluable). We have no control over the quality or legality of the items displayed on our Sites or the truth or accuracy of the descriptions of such items, upcoming auction events or auction results displayed on our Sites. In the event that you have a dispute with any parties arising out of your use of the Sites you hereby release Invaluable from claims, demands and damages (actual and consequential) of every kind and nature, known and unknown, suspected and unsuspected, disclosed and undisclosed, arising out of or in any way connected with such disputes.  2.1.02 Release. Notwithstanding section 1.7 above, because we are not involved in the actual transaction between buyers and AHs, in the event that you have a dispute with an AH, you release Invaluable (and our officers, directors, agents, parent, subsidiaries, joint ventures, and employees) from claims, demands and damages (actual and consequential)of every kind and nature, known and unknown, suspected and unsuspected, disclosed and undisclosed, arising out of or in any way connected with such disputes. If you are a California resident, you waive California Civil Code Section 1542, which says: "A general release does not extend to claims which the creditor does not know or suspect to exist in his favor at the time of executing the release, which if known by him must have materially affected his settlement with the debtor."  We reserve the right to remove any user we see fit from using the site, in regards to dispute, non-payment, and company policies. Please note that due to your refusal to pay for the item, as well as the legitimate police report on file we have removed your access from our site and suspended your accounts. Most Sincerely, Invaluable | AuctionZip Support

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

I can see that nobody at your company seems dealing with my complaint in an objective manner.  It would seem that an intern or outsourced employee is reading from a script and is replying to the issue here.  The message you are sending is that buying through your company is no better than buying an item on craiglist where it is buyer beware and that is unethical.  I understand that ebay and your company plan to combine in online sales and I do not feel this will be a good fit as while ebay provides a high degree of buyer protection your platform provides none and seems to portray anyone who complains as a crackpot and conveniently bans them from your site. It would be nice if I could get an intelligent response from upper management and not somebody cutting and pasting terms from your site.  

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

7/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Deep Creek Lake Auction, LLC was hired by me, following an extensive interview , to sell items at my home. I signed a contract in which the second line reads as follows: " The Auctioneer hereby agrees to use his professional skill, knowledge and experience to the best advantage of both parties in preparing for and conducting the auction." The auctioneer sold, to himself, employees and/or family members valuable items of mine for as little as $1.00; including, but not limited to a fully functioning television and a brand new air conditioner! I was also told that they needed 5 days of set up for a fee of $350; The set up took place on Thursday June 20 and Friday June 21 for a total of about 5 hours! I was also told that I would pay 3 employees the day of the auction for three hours for a total of $96-the fee the day of the auction turned out to be $256!. They brought additional people-more than necessary and even brought their grandchildren on all three occasions, one of whom is a two year old. I was terrified he was going to get inured or fall in the pool. They created a lot of confusion, they placed personal that were not for sale in the auction-unpacked several boxes with dozens of items in each and then shoved everything back into my shed, loose-even on top of garbage that I had bagged for disposal. This is one of, if not the biggest bait-and-switch outfits I have ever seen. They will not take nor return any of my phone calls.

Desired Settlement: I would like to see your BBB logo taken off their website. I would like my advertising money given back-$400. I would also like to get back the $350 set up fee and the $256 I paid for their "help and expertise". I would further like to recover the $41 auctioneer fee, and a $35 bank fee for stopping payment on the $235.20 check I wrote TO THEM after the auction-I actually lost money that day.

Business Response: Dear *****,
Thank you for reaching out to us. My sincerest apologies that you had a less than satisfactory experience with one of the auctioneers who uses our site! 

Please note that AuctionZip is a venue, and is not involved in any matters of sale between auction consignor, auctioneer, or buyer. Our site provides a free listing service for auctioneers to advertise and publish their upcoming auctions for sale. Because of this, we maintain a neutral status to all complaints regarding outside contracts and interactions between auctioneers and their business partners. We strongly encourage you to contact the auction house directly with your complaints, as they may be able to assist you in reconciling your concerns. 

They can be reached at the information below:

Deep Creek Lake Auction
Phone: 301-501-2985
Email: info@deepcreeklakeauctions.com

Again, I am very sorry for your experience with this auction company. Should you have any further questions regarding AuctionZip's services please don't hesitate to contact us at feedback@auctionzip.com. 

Most Sincerely,
****** *****
Director of Customer Care
Artfact | Invaluable |AuctionZip

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

I have attempted to reach them and they do not respond. Were I you, I would remove them from my site, as the BBB logo affiliated with their business and name gives sellers a false sense of security when choosing them to prep and conduct auctions.Thank you for your help and prompt attention! I do understand why you are not able to help in the recovery of any monies; I will seek a Courts help with that.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

5/5/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received an advertisement from auction zip.com for a online rare coin auction which I placed several bids and won several items and paid the auction house they advertised for thousands of dollars for the coins and auction fees which I found auction zip receives a percentage of I never got what I paid for from the auction house they represented and I have had a hard time contacting the seller from the information they have provided I feel like they have miss lead me to thinking I could purchase rare coins from the auction house they endorsed and now I have spent all of my money I had on a scam that auction zip endorsed I think it is a sham that their business denies to claim any responsibility for the representation of a fraudulent auction house that they claim to have screened and endorsed as legitimate businesses because off there site I have lost all of the money I have and now I cant pay my bill because I fell for some scam that they set up

Desired Settlement: id like to receive the coins I purchased or if I don't receive them id like to get the money I paid to the auction house and auction zip back so that I can have the money I need to pay my bills

Business Response: Dear Mr. ******,
Thank you for your patience. My sincerest apologies that you have had trouble with Double D Auction company. 

As our team discussed with you on the phone, AuctionZip.com is a venue for listing auctions and we work with auction companies to provide software  to run their live sales on AuctionZip.com. Because of this, we are not directly involved with the collection of payment of shipping of won items. 
 
Due to the volume of complaints and reports we have received from AuctionZip.com bidders regarding Double D Auction and ******* ********, it is our impression that this auction house is acting inappropriately and may be acting fraudulently. AuctionZip.com has not been able to reach or contact ******* ******** directly to resolve these matters. We have been working with the Canadian RCMP directly to contact this auction house and investigate ******* ********, as well as assist the large number of users who have encountered difficulty with payment and receiving their items.
 
As the RCMP continues their investigation, they have recently encouraged us to have any users who have not received their items from Double D Auction, and who have had trouble with payment methods, contact them directly. The more information the RCMP has regarding affected parties, the more they may be able to assist in resolving the matter.

To reach the Manitoba RCMP we have been working with, you can contact Cst. R.A. ******* ****** using the information below:
 
******* **** RCMP Division
Box ***
******* **** MB    
*** ***

************
************

My apologies again for any trouble you have experienced. Please don’t hesitate to contact us with any further questions or concerns regarding Double D Auction or AuctionZip.com.

Sincerely, 
****** *****
Head of Customer Care
Artfact|Invaluable|AuctionZip
support@auctionziplive.com
617-746-9800


BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Simply they continue to send emails daily and the unsubscribe option is completely hidden on their website. I have asked them to remove me several times and they do not respond. They have my credit card information on file, but their website security does not inspire belief in their security.

Desired Settlement: Stop contacting me every day. Get a functioning unsuscribe feature on their website, for the thousands of people like me they spam every day. These are off the shelf software solutions and should take less that 30 minutes to deploy, unless they really need to misrepresent how many customers they have. Remove any credit card information of mine they have in thier system, they are a hackers dream regarding website security,and their certified software is a concern. Contact me and the BBB when they have done these things.

Business Response: Dear Mr. *******,
Please be assured that we at AuctionZip take your privacy veryseriously.  We have unsubscribed you from all mailings per your request. Would you please contact support@auctionziplive.com if you receive another email?
Bear in mind that email opt-outs are based on recipient email address and may take up to five business days to process.  The emailaddress unsubscribed is:  *********@*****.com
 
If you continue to receive emails from AuctionZip, that will be because you have a different email on file which forwards to the email above. If you let us know the originating email address, we would be happy to unsubscribe that address as well. Please note that all cards associated with your account have been de-activated as well. 

Sincerely,
****** *****
Head of Customer Care
617-746-9800





BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/21/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: RM Sales Auction & ***** General Merchandise- ***** forfeitures-collectibles February 17, 2013, 12:30 PM EST | Saint Marks, FL, US Lot 1A | 1967 **** ******** NO RESERVE REGARDLESS OF PRICE Auction Title: General Merchandise- ***** forfeitures-collectibles Auction Date: February 17, 2013, 12:30 PM EST Auction House: RM Sales Auction & ***** Location: 30 Fire Escape Road Saint Marks, FL, US, 32355 Phone: 850-222-7575 Email: rayauction@yahoo.com RM did not honor the on line sales terms and will not honor my bid cap placed on line item prior to bid opening. sold above vehicle for same price as my bid cap. my bid was in place prior.

Desired Settlement: accept my bid and deliver vehicle as i was the highest bidder

Business Response: Dear Mr. *******,
Thank you for contacting us, and for your interest in AuctionZip. We are sorry to hear you were not successful in winning an item you were interested in! 

We noticed that you were recently able to find resolution by discuss this matter on our auctioneer's forum. Please note for future situations that the auctioneer does have the final discretion on which bids are accepted and all matters of sale. Therefore, should you have questions or concerns in the future we urge you to contact the auction house directly. 

Should you have any further questions or concerns regarding this situation, or your AuctionZip account please don't hesitate to contact us at support@auctionziplive.com or by calling us at 617-746-9800. 

Sincerely,
****** *****
Head of Customer Care
Artfact/Invaluable/AuctionZip

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

BBB Comments: The consumer indicated to BBB that the complaint was resolved.

1/26/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: AuctionZip is knowingly enabling fraudulent sellers. I notified ******* ****** several times and was ignored. I received an email from ******* ****** ****** ****** ***** ******** ********************* *** **** **** *** ***** * ******** ** ***** *'I talked to my boss and told him the situation, as a matter of fact I even forwarded him the email that you sent me. He is out of town for an auction in Florida and will not be back until Tuesday. He will get with you by Wednesday at the latest. I’m sorry. We haven’t been ignoring you or this matter, he just has been very busy. If you have any other questions or issues, please let me know.'' I did not receive a follow up and the fraudulent sales continued to completing.

Desired Settlement: I never received a follow up, fraud took place and continues to take place on the auctionzip.com website. Since this is commonplace for auctionzip.com and continues to occur, a desired outcome seems well out of reach. Next time, I will go straight to the police and FBI and file a fraud reports because obviously auctionzip.com does not give a zip! Example, Scorpion Auctions http://www.auctionzip.com/cgi-bin/auctionview.cgi?lid=1105160 is still selling *********** cards and numerous other sellers too. Auctionzip does not do enough to prevent large scale fraud.

Business Response: AuctionZip does not tolerate fraud of any kind, and we do all that we can to help anyone who is concerned that an auction house listing on our site is of the highest quality. Our sites allow auctions to run live sales on our sites, and using our software, but we do not actually sell any goods, or conduct transactions with customers. In a case where a customer has an issue and contacts out Support team, we typically first ask that they contact the auction house directly. When contacted, our Support team provides any user with infringement concerns with the attached form, which is returnable to us, and we look to address with the auction house.

While we do everything in our power to ensure that every user has a good experience, we do not sell any goods, or do any transactions for items for sale at auction. Auction houses listing sales on our site are required to pay listing fees, and we vet them to the extent possible to ensure they are of the highest quality.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********

I was ignored and watched fraud take place on your site.  It is not my job to police your for profit service.  You were notified multiple times and did NOTHING!

Regards,

***** *********

 

 

Business Response: Dear *** **********

Thank you for responding to us.

So that we may further assist you in resolving your concerns, we require some further information about your particular circumstance. Please contact our Customer Care department at your earliest convenience so that we can look into the matter further. You can reach us by email at support@auctionziplive.com, or by calling our phone number at 617-746-9800. Our business hours are 8:30am-5:30pm EST Monday-Thursday, and 8:30am-4:45pm EST Fridays. Please feel free to direct your inquiries to our head of Customer Care, Adrien Smith. 

We look forward to hearing from you and assisting you further.

Sincerely,

Adrien Smith
Customer Care
Artfact/AuctionZip/Invaluable

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved