BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Eastern Massachusetts, Maine, Rhode Island and Vermont
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of WSH Appliance Service, LLC?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

WSH Appliance Service, LLC

Phone: (978) 975-4329 Fax: (978) 975-4329 6 W Ayer St, Methuen, MA 01844 http://www.wshrepair.com View Additional Web Addresses

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

WSH Appliance Service, LLC services major appliances including washers, dryers,ovens.ranges, refrigerators, freezers,dishwashers,and garbage disposers

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that WSH Appliance Service, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for WSH Appliance Service, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on WSH Appliance Service, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 14, 2009 Business started: 01/01/2006 in MA Business incorporated: 10/15/2008 in MA
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. William S. Haneffant, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. William S. Haneffant, Manager
Number of Employees

5

Business Category

APPLIANCES-HOUSEHOLD-MAJOR-SERVICE & REPAIR WASHING MACHINES & DRYERS-SERVICE & REPAIR APPLIANCES-HOUSEHOLD-MAJOR-SUPPLIES & PARTS Appliance Repair and Maintenance (NAICS: 811412)

Products & Services

WSH Appliance Service, LLC offers the following product(s): Appliance parts and accessaries

Hours of Operation
M: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
T: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
W: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Th: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
F: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
S: Closed
Su: Closed
Method(s) of Payment
Cash
Checks
Visa
MasterCard
Refund and Exchange Policy
The business states they will warranty their labor for 60 Days and any purchased parts installed are warrantied for 90 days for any job preformed.

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/9/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: WSH Appliance LLC of Methuen, Mass. was contracted by Maytag and its warranty provider to effect repair to a microwave oven. The extended warranty provided that parts and labor were included. Upon preliminary diagnosis the technician reported that a 250v 20a fuse had blown and he didn't have any in his truck. He said the last one in his supply was used last week and it would take another week to obtain a fuse, an inexpensive (****'s has similar fuses, in a package of 5, for $7.60), commonly used and easily obtain part. The technician reported that even after replacing the fuse, the over-the-range microwave would have to be removed at a cost of $85 or removed by the customer. On calling the owner to verify this additional charge, I was informed that not only would the charge be $85 to pull the microwave oven, but there would be an additional charge of $85 for additional diagnostics which could not be performed on the technician's visit because the business doesn't equip repair technicians with such a basic and inexpensive part as a simple fuse for a common household appliance of the type the company purports to be able to service. Maytag, which contracted with American Assurant for warranty service, stated that the repairs would be made without any "absolutely no additional charge." The owner of the business insisted that he needed to be paid another $170 dollars to perform the work which I contracted for through Maytag and American Assurant. In essence, the company appears to be attempting to double-bill collect from both the warranty provider and the customer for the same service

Desired Settlement: Either finish the job at no additional cost or pay for a reputable repair firm to complete the work.

Business Response:

We received a dispatch from Assurant Federal Warranty for a "Not Working" microwave. The call was scheduled for 2/01/2012 in the AM. We were able to move this appointment up to 1/31/2012 in the PM, which the customer did agree to.  The tech arrived to the home and found an open fuse in the unit. He continued his diagnoses to find the cause of the blown fuse but could not complete the diagnoses without having the microwave uninstalled from above the range. 

The contract does not pay for a second man to uninstall any unit.  The customer was offered the option to have the unit assessable or pay for us to provide a second man for the regular service charge rate of $85.00.  This
is required to prevent damage in the home as well as protect our technicians from getting hurt trying to lift the microwave.  The contract will pay for the actual repair.  The customer refused this option.
  At no time was $170.00 mentioned.  I have been in touch with my contact at Assurant and confirmed that the contract does require accessibility of the unit and does not pay for the second man. 

We are not “double billing” but rather asking for a very reasonable compensation for the extra man. (This charge can be avoided if the consumer does uninstall the unit).  Since the contract is paying for the repair, there should be no need for WSH to pay for another company.

 

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns. I contracted with Maytag for a "Repair Plus One" contract.  I was told by four different Maytag agents that that for the $269 paid by me, the following would occur:
- My microwave would be COMPLETELY repaired with no matter what the part or what the repair.  No further payment would be required by me as the contract covered the repair in entirety.  I also offered to have my husband help, negating the need for another man, who was merely going to assist with removal, which I thought was more than reasonable, since per the terms of the contract as communicated by four Maytag agents, the $269 paid was my only responsibility.
- Maytag arranged the appointment with WSH, I did not.  The WSH agent indicated to my husband that it would be a week before we could get a fuse (identified as the defective part).  Interesting, as these fuses can be purchased at Home Depot in addition to many other outlets.
- The WSH repairman indicated that it would be another $85 to bring another man to remove the microwave from the wall.  Please know that Maytag was very aware this was a wall unit.  When I called WSH to communicate that per the Maytag conversations I owed no additional money for the repair, Kathy asked that I speak to the owner of WSH.  A very gruff, rather rude male engaged me on the phone and told me that not only would I owe an extra $85 for displacing the oven from the wall, that I also owed an ADDITIONAL $85 for the fuse, (again, a $7 part) and diagnostics to determine why the fuse failed.
- I called Maytag and finally was allowed to speak to the insurer, Assurance Solutions to demand cancellation of the fraudulent nature of the presentation of this contract.  I have also contacted American Express to ensure the charge is disputed and that the Maytag/Assurance Solutions are not paid.
- Also have filed complaints with the Office of the Attorneys General in Oklahoma (Assurance Solutions), Michigan (Maytag) and Massachusetts (WSH Appliance). 

I was told in NO UNCERTAIN TERMS that the $269 paid to Maytag would cover this repair completely.  It is a well-known fact that warranty contracts are generally no worth the paper on which they are written.  In this case; however, the repair would be real-time with no delay so there could be no question about who I spoke with and what was covered.  The abuse with which consumers must contend when they've been lied to (no other way to describe it...blatant lie) about warranty coverage has got to stop.  I am also calling the local television consumer reporters, whom I think will be interested.  They've no doubt heard other stories such as this, but this was so blatant, so bold that it deserves publication.  No one should have to deal with what they believe is a good faith transaction that so obviously was not.

Please let me know what you may require from me the response from WSH does not address the problem and I have to believe they are aware of the practices of both Maytag and Assurance Solutions.  The response from WSH is inadequate and unacceptable.


 

 

Business Response:

I stand by my original response to this issue which does address the issues as they pertain to our company.

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns.  I reject this explanation the owner of WSH appliance attempted to extract additional funds for the repair of our microwave in direct violation of the contractual terms covering this work.  

Further supporting my complaint is that I have received an apology from Assurent Solutions along with the credit that I had demanded as the terms of the contract had not been upheld.  Additionally, Whirlpool (Maytag) has continued to investigate my complaint which also involves the repair terms stated by WSH Appliance.  

The fact is that WSH appliance requested and additional $85 for removal of the microwave AND another $85 for diagnostics to identify why the fuse was blowing.  An additional $170 in violation of the terms of the warranty contract under which the repairs were to be completed.  Oh, yes....and the fuse that was "not on their truck and would take approximately a week to order and receive"?  Another repairman indicated it was "outrageous" to think that the item would not be stocked on an appliance repair van, my husband was able to locate one "off the shelf" at Home Depot and the cost was approximately $8.00.

No consumer should be subjected to the kind of treatment WSH so freely "dished out".  From their refusal to perform in accordance with the contract to their incredibly rude treatment of several questions and explanations of the terms as I understood it.  My rejection of the WSH response stands.
 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

9/26/2011 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On June 21, 2011, a technician from WSH Applicance Service came to our home to inspect our washing machine for a service call fee of $85. We were told we would be given a diagnosis and estimate after inspection. Before even touching the washer, the tech said to me that he already knew what the problem was and demanded I showed him what type of detergent I used. I handed him the bottle and told him I was very well aware that the machine required HE deteregent. He grumbled at me that 90% of the time that is the problem and assumed that would be the issue (user using wrong type of detergent). He then proceeded to tell me that again 90% of the time the problem with washers is consumer misuse and that it HAD to be from me overloading the machine. The washer is a front loading washing machine that measures the load and provides the appropriate amount of water for the load. The machine will not run if it is overloaded. After I opened the machine and had him listen to the sound he quickly diagnosed that the spin basket and drum bearing were gone and that the parts would be $500 to $600 plus labor totaling about $900 and that he would be calling back the next day with a more exact quote. I told the tech that the machine was only a little over a year old and he said, once again, well it's all in consumer use and to maybe try contacting the maker directly. During this $85 diagnosis call he never once took the machine apart. He arrived (per paperwork I signed) at 2:48 and left at 3:07...most of which of the time he was "yelling" at me for misusing the machine. Needless to say we never received a phone call with an estimate, despite that the invoice (which showed the times) also said will "call with estimate." After one week of no response, we called back. The man my husband spoke with did apologize to him (my husband) for how disrepectfully I was treated. He also said, it was his error (the man my husband spoke with) that we didn't receive a phone call and that A. he would speak with the tech because it was inappropriate business communication B. he would be giving us a call back with an estimate and C. he would see what he could do re: the charge of $85. (which was really for nothing since he never inspected the machine nor gave us an adequate estimate.) Since then we have had an electrician come to fix the problem. He said (prior to coming to look at it) that the price of the parts (drum bearing/spin basket) would be under $200 if that were truly the problem. Upon taking the machine apart, there was a nail that had gotten stuck. So, yes, I guess he was right....it was consumer usage that caused the problem, pockets didn't get emptied. Ultimately, it took less time to actually fix it than the $85 service call did. Thankfully I did not call them to come back to fix the machine at what would have ultimately cost me more than what we originally paid for the machine!

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive my $85.00 back since we received no service out of this service call. No phone call was made to us with quote, machine was not properly looked at causing misdiagnosis. All that was received for the $85 was insults regarding conusmer misuse!

Business Response:

We have sat down with the tecnician about the way this service call was handledand retrained him in his customer relations skills.  The estimate was presented at the time of service and we did not realize that the customer wanted another phone call to confirm that estimate.  When Mr. Wilson called, I did apoligize for this miscommunication. 

The $85.00 sevice charge is charged for the trip to the home as well as up to the first 30 minutes of diagnostics. Since the tech was not in the home for more than 30 minutes, there was no additional labor charges required.  This was explained at the time of scheduling and cannot be reimbursed.
 
The  customer did not contact our office until after he found the nail and admitted that he was told that it sounded like a defective bearing issue.  I would have been more than happy to rediagnose the call if ask to.
**** **

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********

[If you are rejecting the business's response please enter your rejection comments here.]I have attached a copy of the estimate which clearly shows in two areas both with *call w/estimate* starred. Since no return call was made with quote and time of when repair would be done, we called someone else after 7 days. I agree that the $85 was for a service call....but nothing was done on that call. Machine was not diagnosed correctly because it was not looked at it/taken apart, etc. Our intention was to have you fix the machine after confirming pricing and when it could be fixed. We did not receive that. If it can be explained to me what was received out of this service call, other than insults and a piece of paper that says will call, I will stop the complaint. Regardless, this has been extremely poor business practices, and I assure you we will not use you, nor refer you, for further appliance repair.

Regards,

********* ******

 

 

Business Response:

The customer called our office and scheduled an appointment with our office person.  The date and time window was agreed on.  We dispatched a service vehicle to the home.  The tecnician arrived on the scheduled date and within the time window agreed on.  We also include up to thirty minutes in the home for diagnostics.  The tecnician was in the home for twenty minutes so no additional charges were collected.  I cannot, and will not refund the service charge.

I have addressed the customer service issues with the tecnician and have apologized to the customer one more than one occasion for the miscommunication.  Since there were not parts installed, no labor collected and the customer has brought in another person that fixed the issue, I do not feel there is any other oppertunity too correct this issue.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********

[If you are rejecting the business's response please enter your rejection comments here.]

Regards,

********* ******

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

1