This business is not BBB accredited.

Dracut Appliance Center, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (978) 957-2300 Fax: (978) 957-6838 1112 Lakeview Avenue, Dracut, MA 01826 http://dracutappliance.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Dracut Appliance Center, Inc. specializes in the sale and repair of all home appliances.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Dracut Appliance Center, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Dracut Appliance Center, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 31, 1998 Business started: 01/01/1949 in MA Business incorporated 01/01/1949 in MA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Craig Moran, Vice President of Marketing
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Craig Moran, Vice President of Marketing
Number of Employees

10

Business Category

APPLIANCES-HOUSEHOLD-MAJOR-DEALERS APPLIANCES-HOUSEHOLD-MAJOR-SERVICE & REPAIR APPLIANCES-SMALL-DEALERS APPLIANCES-SMALL-SERVICE & REPAIR Appliance Repair and Maintenance (NAICS: 811412)

Hours of Operation
M: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
T: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
W: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Th: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
F: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
S: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Su: Closed
H: Closed
Method(s) of Payment
Cash
Check
Visa
MasterCard
Discover
American Express

Alternate Business Names
Dracut Appliance Center
Industry Tips
Choosing an Appliance

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Dracut Appliance Center, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1112 Lakeview Avenue

    Dracut, MA 01826 (978) 957-2300

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2100 Main Street

    Tewksbury, MA 01876 (978) 658-7330

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have purchased 4 appliances from Dracut Appliance over years. However, their handling of my service issues on a ********** dishwasher have made me a very unhappy customer. I purchase of a ********** dishwasher on 11/11/10, along with an extended warranty for 5 years. Almost immediately the dishwasher did not operate properly. Despite opening numerous service calls and having many technicians come, none of them fixed the problem. In fact, the second technician told me if they came back, they'd have to charge me, despite having the warranty. On 8/12/14 the dishwasher door latch broke and the dishwasher became inoperable. I opened a the third service call on the unit, and a technician visited 8/15/14, which resulted in an order for 6 parts to the unit, with the understanding that even if all these parts were replaced, it may not actually fix the underlying problem. Since this was the third call on the unit, I wanted a replacement. I requested a new unit, but was told that they had to put the order in and let "********** decide if it would cost more to fix it or replace it." I heard nothing from Dracut Appliance for a week, and finally called and spoke to "***" who claimed to be the manager. Again I repeated my request to be rid of the dishwasher that had NEVER operated correctly, and requested a credit towards a new dishwasher. He said he couldn't do that, and would check on the replacement parts. He called me on 8/28 to tell me he was hoping to have the parts on Tuesday (9/1), at which time I was to call back to schedule another service call. Again, we were not sure that these parts would indeed fix the problem. I had been without a dishwasher for 2 1/2 weeks by then, and was likely to have another week without it while we continued to wait for parts, and an available technician; all with out a guarantee that the unit would operate properly once the parts were installed. My family and I decided that enough was enough, and since there was no end in sight to the wait for a resolution, I purchased a new unit from another vendor. Apparently an extended warranty means making your customer wait incessantly for parts that may or may not help. It became clear that Dracut Appliance does not value its customers.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund on the price of the dishwasher and the extended warranty from Dracut Appliance. The unit was never operating fully, despite my having their service technicians out to service it on multiple occasions.

Business Response: ******,I’m sorry to hear you’ve had problems with your ********** dishwasher. After speaking with my team it appears this all started when you came into look for a new dishwasher.  This is when the sales team found you actually had a warranty on your old dishwasher and set up service for no charge.  I was very happy to hear they looked into this first before taking your money and the sale without taking the proper steps.   Looking at the records I do see we went outthere (4/11/11) for service 6 months after the unit was installed for a notcleaning complaint.  At that time wecleared out the chopper and the wash arms and the unit tested okay.   After that, on 6/8/2012 we went out thereagain for a no clean complaint.   There were no parts replaced at thistime.  The technician cleaned out thespray arms and chopper just as a precaution.  This call was paid for in full by the warranty company as was theprevious call.   A few years later, on 8/12/2014 we received acall about the door not staying close and not running properly.  This was the first complaint we receivedabout this specific issue.   Three dayslater on August 15th,  2014 an order was placed for theparts the technician believed were needed to fix the unit.  This is point where a problem occurred.  When a customer has an extended warranty weorder the parts needed for their repair through the warranty company.  At that point we have no control over howquickly or slowly they ship the parts to us. It is 100% in the warranty company’s hands.  Unfortunately, these parts took longer than we had hoped and on 8/28/2014 you spoke with our sales manager *** about this issue.  He instructed our associates in serviceto double check on the parts and pre-plan a call based on when the shipment wasgoing to arrive to us.  We planned ongoing out there September 2, 2014 but we received a call on the morning of September 2, 2014 cancelling the call. We ordered any parts that would be apart of the door latch on that unit. This was the first issue the unit had with the door not closing and theunit not starting.  Not only that but this last service call was coming up to four years this unit has been in use.  The manufacturer gives consumers a one year manufacturer’s warranty.  You were fortunate enough to purchase the extended warranty.   In order for us to fulfill our obligation toyou as a servicing dealer and to the warranty company as a credible business weneeded to be able to attempt a repair for your product.  In this case we were not given the chance toput the parts in that were ordered.  **** apologize for the parts taking so long but that was not the fault of Dracut Appliance Center.  Again, we have no control over how quickly the warranty company ships us parts.  After discussing this issue with our sales manager, service manager, and service team everybody did their job correctly and responded to your inquiries in a timely fashion.  I can’t apologize enough for the warranty company’s delay in getting us the parts. At this time I do not see a refund for a four year old dishwasher wewere not able to service being a feasible option.  

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #********. Please add your rejection comments below.  Regards, ****** ********  

Business Response: The customer has purchased a new dishwasher from another company before we had an opportunity to service it.  What else can we do?

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below.  I believe that Dracut Appliance intended to "wait me out" on this repair, with the hopes that I'd give up and purchase a new dishwasher. I question whether they ever intended to fix the broken appliance, or if they even proceeded with due diligence. How long is a client supposed to wait for them to receive parts before giving up entirely? I gave them plenty of time to service the dishwasher, and they were in no hurry to get this resolved.A search of BBB records shows this is a pattern for them. Right now, I would like to see a refund of at LEAST the cost of the extended warranty that I purchased. Said warranty was not worth the paper it was written on, as clearly it did not entitle me to any kind of extra service or repairs.Regards, ****** ********  

12/3/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a small under counter refrigerator from Dracut Appliances on 5/8/12 and on the same day purchased an extended 5 year warranty. Total of both approx. $1,500. Product stopped working 8/13 and requested service. Technician claimed compressor failure and ordered parts. 99% of phone calls from August through September are never returned by the service department. In October, I suggested a replacement of the refrigerator. The sales manager returned my call and informed me that the parts would arrive 10/31 and installation would be the following Friday. Subsequent phone calls are never returned. 11/20 we again suggested replacing the refrigerator. The sales manager claimed this was not an option and would call us back by days end. We informed dracut appliance that the end of the day without a phone call would result in BBB action.

Desired Settlement: Replace broken refrigerator with new or refund our $1500.

Business Response: The unit in question was purchased 5/8/2012.  The service call that took place occurred August 2013.  This was 3 months after the one year manufacturer warranty expired.  So at this point we have to file a claim through her extended warranty provider NSI.  We filed our claim immediately following the service call and put in an order for the compressor through ****** (the manufacturer of the refrigerator).  ****** has this order on file.  At this point we wait for the part to come in before we set up a service call with the customer. Usually the issue will get resolved in a timely fashion.  In this case the compressor never made it in because it was on back order from ******'s factory.  This is something that was made aware to us after Ms. ******* called the store on 11/19.  Unfortunately, we were given bad information from the factory that produces this refrigerator and the compressor was not available as they had promised.  On 11/19 *****, our service manager, put in a call and email in to ****** to find out what the status of the compressor is.  We are still waiting for an ETA.  We are a servicing dealer for ****** but we do not have authorization to replace units even when parts are on back order.  That is between the customer and the manufacturer.  Ms. ******* was given the option to call ****** (the company that produced the refrigerator) and request a replacement.  As the servicing dealer it is our job to order a part and then put the part in the broken unit.  In this case the part was not available from ****** so we are stuck in the middle of the mix.  Dracut Appliance did not produce this item.  Dracut Appliance sold this item.  Dracut Appliance could have been more aware of this part not coming in and that is something we were certainly work on moving forward.  With the hundreds of parts that come in per day it's very difficult to keep track of the ones that did not come in.  Again, that is something we need to do better.  We cannot authorize replacement of that unit after it has been out in the field for over a year.  ******, the manufacturer of the fridge, is the only one who has that authority.  We will continue to stay on top of ****** and get this part in ASAP.  

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

I was at no time provided with ******'s number as we would take our complaint and anger directly to them. 

2/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dishwasher was purchased brand new from this store. Multiple other products bougt as well. Dishwasher is just 8 months old. Issues began back in November. The dishwasher was not working. I called Dracut Appliance to come out and fix our dishwasher, as it has a 1 year warrenty. I was unable to get an appt for 2 weeks. At that time, a contractor had come to my house, and it was determined that a part was needed. On the second visit after another 2 weeks, it was determined that another part was necessary. The part was ordered, and it then took another 2 weeks to make an appt. This was the 3rd visit. At that point, once again, the part was incorrect, and still needed yet another part. The contractor left our home and ordered another part. The part had came in 1 week later, and an appt was made a little over a week from the last appt. Keep in mind that this is 7 weeks from originally calling about issues, and 4 visits. So, for our 4th visit, we had different contractor come to our home, he then diagnosed the issue, and had to order another part, he came to our house again for a 5th visit. Issue still not corrected, and we then had a 6th visit. At that time, the dishwasher was fixed. It took 3 months total, 6 visits, multiple phone calls, and complaints, but the dishwasher is now fixed. Dracut appliance was unable to extend the warrenty on thier parts and back up the work that was done on this troublesome dishwasher. So if issues where to arise in one more month, our warrent would be null and void.

Desired Settlement: Would like an appology for the issues that arised, as well as the poor workmanhsip that showed through given the mutiple visits needed. Would also like Dracut appliance to stand by their work and given an extended one year warrenty due to the product basically being defective.

Business Response: *******,
First I would like to apologize for the issues you ran into.  It's never our goal to upset customers.  From what I can see this unit was not actually purchased from us.  I have no records of a sale to you for that model.  I also have no records for a sale to that address.  I couldn't track it down by serial number either so unless I am missing something I'm pretty sure it was purchased elsewhere.  Regardless of where it was purchased from we are a servicing dealer.  I do apologize for the inconvenience for the wrong color control board was originally ordered.  The other problems that happened appeared to come after the control board was replaced.  Unfortunately sometimes when new control boards are put in they are capable of knocking out other parts that function within the dishwasher.  This was one of those cases.  Where the unit was not purchased at Dracut Appliance we really have no say over the warranty or what the manufacturer gives you for a warranty.  We do have a 90 day warranty on all the work we do so if there is a recurring issue within that time we can certainly take a look at it from there.  For service a 90 day warranty on the work is standard practice.  As much as I would like to say we are a perfect company we are not.  All we can do is take these instances and learn from them and hope they never happen again.  

Thanks
***** *****

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

I would also like to add that this dishwasher was bought at your company, as well as 2 stoves, 2 microwaves, and an additional dishwasher.  They were indeed bought at your company, and if you are questioning this, please feel free to contact *** ******* at ******* construction, as he buys his appliances at Dracut Appliance.  He bought all of the appliances for ******* *****/******** **** at Dracut Appliance.  So maybe you have it documented incorrectly, but I am certain that these appliances were purchased here.  Regards